TrustRadius
Microsoft IIS is an application server and infrastructure.Microsoft Windows IIS is a great application host for first timers or for complex deploymentsIIS is being used to drive an internal NodeJS application within our department and is used widely throughout the rest of our company for other internal services. The primary driving force behind using it is the ease of integrating Windows Single Sign-On for all of our internal sites.,Windows Authentication for Single Sign-On makes managing permission easier by using custom Active Directory groups Serving static site files is incredibly easy Allows for easy binding of ports and hostnames Ease of integrating SSL certificates,Configuration of NodeJS application took effort with some undocumented loopholes Deploying a NodeJS app with Single Sign-On was challenging when it came to asynchronous requests as OPTION requests do not include authorization and needed to be approved in an automated fashion prior to the NodeJS application being called,7,As a service offered on any version of Windows, IIS is a great, relatively free (with the cost of Windows) option to host web applications without needing extensive effort or training.,Apache Web Server and Nginx,Apache Web Server, NginxCommon assests in IIS ServerMy IT department is using the IIS server and we manage this for using the webservices as well as multiple websites. Not much problem with IIS and is simple to use, efficient and time saving. We can host the websites using this so that the other team or developers can access this. We can also restrict the users and make the privacy settings authenticate the users accordingly. We can also give the privileges and user rights depending on the hierarchy.,Easy access User authentication Multiple websites We can browse and check the website then and there itself [To] Stop and start running the applications are so simple in IIS,IP Masking or websites URL masking Extensions,9,If we modify or host the application, every time we need to restart the IIS server.,Microsoft SQL ServerIIS ReviewIIS serves a multiplicity of uses for us. It provides internal resources and applications for staff and products for our customer base. The application provides us easy access to multiple internally-developed and vendor-supplied applications for our various internal departments and ready access by our customers to our various products and services.,Ease of management. IIS is relatively easy to install, configure, monitor and troubleshoot.,Security. IIS is a large application, with known vulnerabilities and a relatively large attack surface. Monitoring and logging. While much of the IIS infrastructure is easily interpreted, more meaningful error messages would be very useful. Arcane event/error messages that are only meaningful to the publisher are not especially useful to a business managing the product.,8,IIS is enabling us to rapidly deploy and maintain new products for our staff and customers. It is difficult to assign an ROI on such efforts, but we have seen improvements in our Net Promoter Scores - both internally and externally - as a result of these efforts.,,Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, VMware ESXi, VMware NSXIIS - Should be first choice for .Net web applicationsIIS is used for most publicly-facing web properties in the organization, as well as a number of internal-only line-of-business web applications (used organization-wide and per department) and the corporate SharePoint.,Ease of configuration. IIS Manager provides access to almost all of IIS functionality via an easy to use GUI. Centralized Certificate Store means SSL certs can be centrally stored and referenced by various IIS installs. Strong user base means issues can often be resolved quickly via forums, etc.,Some settings are not accessible via the GUI. This can obfuscate changes made directly by some application. Setting up impersonation for security can be difficult.,9,Low cost of installation, as it is already included with Microsoft Server Ease of installation and maintenance, with few to no ongoing issues Can be difficult to configure on per-application basis, for complex web service access and security needs, so must account for extra time in deployment,Apache Tomcat,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL ServerTo IIS or not to IIS?We use IIS in a number of different ways. Some of our homegrown .NET apps run internally on our network as well as several other boxed software installs that require the use of IIS. Our current setup involves about 6 servers all running the latest version of IIS and they seem to be easy to work with and are patched fairly regularly by our staff.,Very easy to deploy new sites. Great integration with Visual Studio .NET. Easy to troubleshoot. The SQL integration is also fairly seamless.,It seems like they don't do new version migrations easily. Newer versions of IIS have required that we change our web.config files to exclude certain portions. Error messages can be vague if you didn't write them in yourself. I would like there to be a way to snapshot instances of IIS without having to snapshot an entire server. Not as a pass/fail test but more as a consistent backup for site hacks and malware.,8,It has provided a free platform to host several of our in house developed applications. We have also had to spend a lot of time moving from 6 to 7.5 with code changes that were built into the latest releases. When it comes to boxed software we typically choose to load the application on IIS, when given the choice, due to its ease of install and mostly hassle free deployment. We have had some difficulty tracking down problems in the past but the newer versions seem to help out more with troubleshooting.,Apache Tomcat and Nginx,WhatsUp Gold, Networker, EMC VNX
Unspecified
Microsoft IIS
53 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Microsoft IIS Reviews

Microsoft IIS
53 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 53 vetted Microsoft IIS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 10, 2018

Microsoft IIS Review: "Microsoft Windows IIS is a great application host for first timers or for complex deployments"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS is being used to drive an internal NodeJS application within our department and is used widely throughout the rest of our company for other internal services. The primary driving force behind using it is the ease of integrating Windows Single Sign-On for all of our internal sites.
  • Windows Authentication for Single Sign-On makes managing permission easier by using custom Active Directory groups
  • Serving static site files is incredibly easy
  • Allows for easy binding of ports and hostnames
  • Ease of integrating SSL certificates
  • Configuration of NodeJS application took effort with some undocumented loopholes
  • Deploying a NodeJS app with Single Sign-On was challenging when it came to asynchronous requests as OPTION requests do not include authorization and needed to be approved in an automated fashion prior to the NodeJS application being called
Well suited when utilizing Windows servers that require multiple sites to be deployed and you don't want to employ multiple services to run different applications
Read this authenticated review
Kiran Kumar Pariti profile photo
April 13, 2017

Microsoft IIS Review: "Common assests in IIS Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My IT department is using the IIS server and we manage this for using the webservices as well as multiple websites. Not much problem with IIS and is simple to use, efficient and time saving. We can host the websites using this so that the other team or developers can access this. We can also restrict the users and make the privacy settings authenticate the users accordingly. We can also give the privileges and user rights depending on the hierarchy.
  • Easy access
  • User authentication
  • Multiple websites
  • We can browse and check the website then and there itself
  • [To] Stop and start running the applications are so simple in IIS
  • IP Masking or websites URL masking
  • Extensions
For multiple applications, IIS is the best suitable software. Comes with Windows (if you install a patch file). Easy to install. Navigation is so simple that a mid level programmer can understand. Supports almost all the Webservers. Managing the websites and the applications is so simple. When hosting the application it takes its default port number instead of specifying.
Read Kiran Kumar Pariti's full review
No photo available
April 12, 2017

Microsoft IIS: "IIS Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS serves a multiplicity of uses for us. It provides internal resources and applications for staff and products for our customer base. The application provides us easy access to multiple internally-developed and vendor-supplied applications for our various internal departments and ready access by our customers to our various products and services.
  • Ease of management. IIS is relatively easy to install, configure, monitor and troubleshoot.
  • Security. IIS is a large application, with known vulnerabilities and a relatively large attack surface.
  • Monitoring and logging. While much of the IIS infrastructure is easily interpreted, more meaningful error messages would be very useful. Arcane event/error messages that are only meaningful to the publisher are not especially useful to a business managing the product.
IIS is excellent for integrating web resources for existing Microsoft products, especially Exchange. It is formidable at deploying applications, especially for internal use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 28, 2017

Microsoft IIS Review: "IIS - Should be first choice for .Net web applications"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS is used for most publicly-facing web properties in the organization, as well as a number of internal-only line-of-business web applications (used organization-wide and per department) and the corporate SharePoint.
  • Ease of configuration. IIS Manager provides access to almost all of IIS functionality via an easy to use GUI.
  • Centralized Certificate Store means SSL certs can be centrally stored and referenced by various IIS installs.
  • Strong user base means issues can often be resolved quickly via forums, etc.
  • Some settings are not accessible via the GUI. This can obfuscate changes made directly by some application.
  • Setting up impersonation for security can be difficult.
For all .Net based web applications on a Windows server infrastructure, IIS is the first choice. For bundled, third-party apps, it usually makes more sense to use the web server the app comes with (Apache, etc).
Read this authenticated review
John Glenn profile photo
May 27, 2016

Microsoft IIS Review: "To IIS or not to IIS?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IIS in a number of different ways. Some of our homegrown .NET apps run internally on our network as well as several other boxed software installs that require the use of IIS. Our current setup involves about 6 servers all running the latest version of IIS and they seem to be easy to work with and are patched fairly regularly by our staff.
  • Very easy to deploy new sites.
  • Great integration with Visual Studio .NET.
  • Easy to troubleshoot.
  • The SQL integration is also fairly seamless.
  • It seems like they don't do new version migrations easily. Newer versions of IIS have required that we change our web.config files to exclude certain portions.
  • Error messages can be vague if you didn't write them in yourself.
  • I would like there to be a way to snapshot instances of IIS without having to snapshot an entire server. Not as a pass/fail test but more as a consistent backup for site hacks and malware.
It is perfect for small dev projects where you would like to put the data into SQL. Put IIS together with SQL Express and you have a fairly robust application space for free! If you are passing along a big data site I don't think that IIS would be your best bet. It does offer clustering, which is the IIS answer to high volume, but that can get pricey with multiple server instances and licensing for the OS.
Read John Glenn's full review
Aaron Hartzler profile photo
December 02, 2015

User Review: "Microsoft IIS is a solid solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Micorsoft IIS is being used as our main web server for internal applications as well as hosting external web sites of which we have a least half a dozen or so. It is being used or rather consumed across the company as one of the main applications which drives the business. It allows our users to access one of the main applications very easily through the web and on mobile devices.

The main problems it addresses are ease of access, not having to have a fat client installed for particular applications, ease of manageability for web applications and websites, easy to troubleshoot, easy to maintain and perform system maintenance.
  • Ease of access for users.
  • Not having to have a fat client installed for particular applications; just access from browser or mobile device.
  • Ease of manageability for web applications and websites.
  • Easy to troubleshoot.
  • Easy to maintain and perform system maintenance.
  • Many many features, functions, and very customizable.
  • Simplify the user interface. It has basically stayed the same and certain things/pieces are cumbersome to get to.
  • Not much else, it does a good job for what it was made to do.
Key questions to ask are:

What are you trying to do? If simply hosting a website, there are other solutions to do this that are simpler and more cost effective. If you are using some vendor's application and needing to push it out via web/mobile, then Microsoft IIS is a great tool for the job.

What is the level of security needed? If just simple security, then there are other solutions to do this that are simpler and more cost effective. If more granular and complex security needs are at hand, then Microsoft IIS offers extensive security customization regarding access, accounts, ports, etc.

What type of administration and management are you looking to give? If you want a one time "set it and forget it" type environment, then Microsoft IIS can be it for you. Or if you have something that needs to be constantly changed and updated, Microsoft IIS also offers the flexibility and speed to keep your environment going in a fast paced businesses.
Read Aaron Hartzler's full review
payton climer profile photo
December 02, 2015

Review: "Microsoft IIS - Good for certain situations"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our department, Microsoft IIS is being used as a web server for sites that require Windows based components. Our main use for Microsoft IIS is for sites that use the ASP.NET framework. However, we also use IIS for Microsoft systems management software. Which includes both System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM ConfigMgr 2012) and Windows Server Update Services (WSUS). Microsoft IIS allows for us to better host our Windows based components than current open source solutions.
  • Microsoft IIS provides an in depth GUI that helps for managing sites.
  • Native support of the ASP.NET framework for web applications. Overall this has given us better compatibility than a Apache/Mono setup.
  • Since it's a Microsoft product, it's natively better integrated with our Windows based environment (Active Directory).
  • The performance of Microsoft IIS is always slightly behind more lean web servers like Apache and NGINX.
  • Microsoft IIS is locked to the Windows Operating System. For some components (SCCM and WSUS) you are essentially forced to use IIS, instead of a more open source Apache or Mono solution.
  • Security concerns over Windows IIS web servers. While this isn't directly the fault of IIS, since issues usually occur from vulnerabilities within the Windows OS.
  • IIS is closed source, which does remove customizability and the ability for the community to review the code base. An open source web server will usually has less exploits, since the code base can be reviewed and debugged by anyone.
Microsoft IIS is well suited in several different situations. If the native support and better compatibility with ASP.NET framework sites is needed, it's better to use a Microsoft IIS web server.
Running Microsoft Systems management tools like WSUS and SCCM, you are required to use a IIS web server. Also, IIS might be slightly easier for anyone not experienced with a web server. Especially with the relative ease of install on any modern Microsoft Windows OS.

However, for sites that don't require Microsoft components. It's going to be more beneficial to run a Linux web server. This is because you will get better performance, better security, and the large community support behind open-source projects like Apache and NGINX.
Read payton climer's full review
Leo Brewer profile photo
December 22, 2015

Microsoft IIS: "IIS, a Quick and Impartial Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many applications leverage Microsoft IIS within my current organization and in previous places of employ. I currently manage SafeNet Authentication Manager, Thycotic Secret Server, and other applications that use Microsoft IIS as it's web server.
  • Support of application integration is a strength, many COTS applications are supported by Microsoft IIS.
  • Microsoft IIS on the Windows Server 2012 R2 platform is very configurable.
  • Easily configured for Active Directory authentication.
  • Compared to Apache, Microsoft IIS has a large memory footprint.
  • Microsoft regularly changes it's administrative utility, sometimes drastically, which causes a learning curve one version to the next.
  • With some applications you need to spend quite some time tuning Microsoft IIS to bring it to an acceptable level of performance.
Many commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) vendors only support Microsoft IIS, in these cases I would not recommend trying to make it work with other platforms such as Apache. If you are in a primarily Microsoft Windows Server environment, I would recommend using Microsoft IIS as opposed to trying to make Apache or other web platforms run on Windows. If you have an abundance of Linux knowledge in-house and the application supports Apache, I recommend using Apache on Linux as a more optimal use of resources.
Read Leo Brewer's full review
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP profile photo
December 11, 2015

Microsoft IIS Review: "IIS, keeping up with the opensource servers with its own strengths."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft IIS to run several in house applications that were used for supporting our technical support department. These applications were written in ASPX.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Very easy to manage with the Microsoft IIS GUI.
  • Quick to load the applications.
  • Better custom logging generation line with Apache or Nginx.
Microsoft IIS is less suited for running a few generic websites as the resources consumed are more than some of the open source servers. However, when it comes to dynamic web applications Microsoft IIS shines.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
Peter Quale profile photo
December 03, 2015

Microsoft IIS Review: "The Only Software I've Used Continuously for 20 Years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We consider IIS a critical desktop application on all Windows machines. It is simply the best platform for rapidly testing scripts, prototyping tools, and automating many of our menial day-to-day tasks.
  • The IIS SEO Toolkit is aging very well, and is still an important tool in our everyday website testing.
  • IIS makes it very easy for us to test URL rewriting and reverse proxies in advance of launching changes on live websites.
  • Website speed is so critical and IIS makes testing performance optimization strategies painless and quick.
  • Honestly, improvements over the years have been right in-line with our needs.
  • We're I to ask for anything, we'd love an IIS extension for the Log Parser Studio. Perhaps I'm just lazy.
Having used Microsoft IIS with most languages and database platforms, I would not hesitate to recommend it for any organizations with a strong Microsoft background.
Read Peter Quale's full review
No photo available
March 28, 2016

Microsoft IIS Review: "IIS for Application Hosting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft IIS is an integral part of any infrastructure and in my own, counts for a significant portion of internal and external application delivery. As a tried and true web server platform, we confidently trust this server extension with some of our most important web applications.
  • Largely expandable to meet different security requirements.
  • As a Microsoft product, documentation and other support resources are widely available.
  • High availability and robustness lead to low administrative overhead
  • Logging may be a little tricky without appropriate parsing tools.
  • Application pools may be misconfigured when built by an application. Sometimes manual performance tweaking is necessary.
  • Update cycle could be a little tighter but not a legitimate complaint
In my opinion IIS is far more appropriate with internal web applications ONLY because the alternative UNIX equivalents feel more secure by nature when working with public facing resources.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2015

Microsoft IIS: "Basic Review from and MSP"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a managed service provider (MSP) that manages web applications for our users. Our perferred method of hosting is using Microsoft IIS.
  • Excellent Logging
  • Ease of use
  • Management of Application Pools (ie, the ability to gracefully recycle a single site)
  • SMTP relays only work in IIS6. Even when I'm on server 2012 R2 (IIS8) I have to install IIS6 management console to use a relay.
  • Not an IIS issue, but IIS has to be installed on Windows which is a performance hog compared to linux/Apache.
For us Microsoft IIS makes the most sense so our support team (front line Tier 1) can perform simple tasks that don't have to go to my team. The GUI interface and extreme ease of use makes Microsoft IIS our go-to.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (8)
8.5
Security management (12)
7.8
Administration and management (12)
8.5
Application server performance (12)
6.8
Installation (12)
7.2
Open-source standards compliance (8)
5.4

About Microsoft IIS

Microsoft IIS is an application server and infrastructure.

Microsoft IIS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No