Microsoft IIS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 02, 2021
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IIS to host web applications for both internal and external use. Years ago we made the switch from traditional desktop apps to web applications. When the decision was made to do so, we leaned on the Microsoft .Net platform and IIS as our choice for web technology. We have a plethora of custom web apps, and IIS is currently hosting our home grown ESB.
  • Easy to setup
  • Easy to maintain
  • Works well with build/release pipelines in Azure devops
  • Angular/node apps don't run on IIS, or at least we never figured out how. Rather we ended up using nginx.
  • There are still occasional memory leaks - check your recycle settings!
  • If you have very heavy usage for web APIs, IIS requires regular restarts for reasons unknown.
IIS as a web application server is perfectly suited for .net, .net core, asp.net applications. Our core ESB runs on IIS and has hundreds of gigabytes of data moved through it every day spread across millions of transactions. We have other mission critical applications that deliver our results to patients and doctors relying on IIS web application servers. If you stay in the Microsoft development stack, IIS is a top tier, efficient, and reliable web server.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
June 02, 2021
Scott Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS is being used as a centralized web farm management tool for my company. We deploy and manage web sites and applications across large farms of web servers from a centralized location. Microsoft IIS makes it easy to centrally deploy and manage the configuration and content across a bunch of different web servers.
  • Delegated remote management.
  • Admin tool center is great.
  • Scalable web infrastructure when needed.
  • The installation process had bugs.
  • The pricing structure was confusing.
  • The diagnostic tools could have a better UX.
Depending on your needs a company, Microsoft IIS may or may not be a great solution. In the case of my company, we do not have a ton of security protocols to go through like some other companies. Take for example, a government agency or maybe health care, which has numerous data privacy restrictions that need to be considered.
Read Scott Kennedy's full review
May 13, 2021
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage several internal monitoring websites that keep a track a of different threads and pieces of work that out OCR software is running. It allows us to host a variety of these websites across the business to manage different applications within the service. The business problem is addresses is that it allows us to easily host and change these monitoring websites to suit our business needs.
  • Easily available on MS products.
  • Lightweight with no frills application suitable for most machines.
  • Works as it should 99.9% of the time.
  • Application and UI are outdated.
  • Convoluted to use for those not familiar.
  • A set up wizard would be a nice touch.
We found it most suited for hosting our lightweight internal monitoring sites. The host environment easily handles the load and the websites are able to be maintained and hosted with little fuss. Familiarity with the software is required to do anything complicated but once you get the hang of it, it becomes a straight forward tool for hosting.
Read Ben Williams's full review
April 29, 2021
Paolo Carzaniga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my department we are using Microsoft IIS on Window Server 2012 R2 for several internal web site and web service. Most of those applications are written in ASP .NET and with ISS very easy to publish.
  • Ease websites deployment
  • Strong integration Microsoft SQL
  • Microsoft Active Directory Authentication
  • Poor security
  • Application pools difficulties
I consider IIS a good solution when you have to publish internal web applications, but I feel to suggest to use other system, for security reason,if you need to go outside your organization.
Read Paolo Carzaniga's full review
March 30, 2021
Fahad Khalil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using Microsoft IIS on Windows Server for local deployment and hosting of our applications, web services and websites. It is directly being used here by myself as an IT Manager and my IT staff members while all other people at our organization are being benefited from it by using locally deployed / hosted applications, web services and websites. The software development people of our organization are happy with it for its integrability and capability to be integrated with Team Foundation Server (TFS). It has made QC easier and faster with local deployment / hosting.
  • logs are well maintained to trace and track the problems
  • local deployment / hosting of services, applications and websites
  • integration with Team Foundation Server (TFS)
  • integration with Active Directory
  • low maintenance required
  • easy to setup and use
  • very stable
  • rewriting of URLs
  • maintaining sessions
  • seeks improvement in performance
  • seeks security enhancements
  • error messages are not appropriate to accurately represent the actual error.
  • dependent on windows
  • not preferable for other than .Net applications
I will recommend Microsoft IIS to my colleagues and friends for being satisfied with its features, stability and easy to use interface. It is best for local deployment and hosting of applications, web services and websites. The software develops are happy for its capability to be integrated with Team Foundation Server (TFS).
Read Fahad Khalil's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a Microsoft based organization... we use .NET Framework C#, azure, teams, outlook etc etc. [Microsoft] IIS is our first choice for an internet web server. But even if we weren't so Microsoft focused, it's hard to find an easier to use product than IIS. Installation, usage, configuration is easy, without any lack of functionality.
  • The user interface is very clean and intuitive
  • The is almost no learning curve
  • Installation is very easy
  • There are some hidden and not very easy to find configurations that would have been better if completely left out, like machine.config. I understand the idea, but sometimes things are easier without trying to make things easy for you.
  • After 15 years of usage I still don't understand why IIS sometimes complains that I already used my *.domain https certificate for another website in the same domain.
  • There are too many versions... IIS should be a product with almost no other functionality than being a web server. It's not necessary to have imcompatible versions.
[Microsoft IIS is] well suited for any scenario... I can't imagine a scenario where it's not suited. Compared to apache of any other server, IIS is what this kind of application is supposed to do: be simple! Of course, there might be scenario's where you want a leaner or modular product with a web server that works for just one application, but in my opinion that is never an advantage, since a centrally managed application is always faster to use, and speed is, in the end, the only thing that matters in IT.
Read this authenticated review
May 20, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deploy all of our .NET web based apps on Microsoft IIS. We are using these apps for our many of our core business applications which require maximum uptime. IIS is a great web server with many options and configurations to help deliver web based applications to a large pool of end users!
  • Scaling
  • Connections
  • SSL
  • Authentication and Security
  • Configuration
  • Connection Strings
  • Could be a little hard to use if you are just starting out
  • Has many configurations options you learn about when you hit an issue
Microsoft IIS is great for easily serving up web applications! Any developer can easily write a quick web based app and deploy it for end users to access with a few clicks of a button as long as they have the access they need! Since developers have access to dev environments/servers, they can easily deploy their apps and test everything and configure it based on the needs of the application and just provide the configuration file once ready for production use.

IIS can, however, be a little difficult to use for new developers. It has many configurations, but easy to find the documentation.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft IIS is being used by my organization to serve business and scientific applications for users in the organization and externally. The applications are a mixture of ASP.NET, .NET MVC, and more recently .NET Core. It is an integral part of our IT services, and each instance often serves over 10 applications.
  • Microsoft familiarity
  • Already on most Windows machines
  • Fairly easy to setup a .NET application in it
  • Fairly robust
  • Complicated to configure if it's not out of the box
  • Shuts down app pools and applications after a certain amount of non-use time and makes it hard to stop this behavior--this makes running scheduled tasks with something like Hangfire in your app more difficult (you often need to pull this out into a Windows service or something), which I think is unnecessary
  • Quite slow when compared to modern open-source servers
  • Logging errors and things in EventViewer is hell--considering EventViewer on an under load Windows server can barely draw itself in under five minutes
  • Unlikable interface
Microsoft IIS is well suited if you already have the expensive Windows Server infrastructure--it will already be on there, most likely (or not very hard to get on if it isn't). If you are going to serve static sites or some kind of .NET (including Core) application, it is the obvious choice. If you are going to serve a PHP or Node.JS application behind it, I wouldn't--I'd recommend getting all the better and free tools like Linux, NGINX, Apache, etc. to do that for you--you'll save money and time.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2020
Karl Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Microsoft IIS is utilized as part of our Siebel and other intranet web applications to support the Canadian Immigration System. It is used across the entire department for applications utilized worldwide.
  • Integrates with Active Directory to provide single sign-on with out prompting for a password
  • Simple and easy to deploy
  • Security Patches are included as part of OS Patching
  • Nothing comes to mind--product works as expected.
Microsoft IIS is great for Intranet, where all users are on Windows and they require access to web sites that can be controlled by Active Directory groups.
Lots of support and articles from both Microsoft and third parties.
Read Karl Brown's full review
September 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS is being used by our organization to host all of our internal and external web sites and applications. All users in our company use IIS by using our applications. We are using IIS for both simple and complex applications which the company relies on. A big problem it has solved is allowing us to integrate it with TFS allowing for seamless and highly efficient changes to occur on our applications when requested by the business.
  • A big advantage that we use all the time is reviewing the logs that automatically get generated in IIS. It has helped us troubleshoot various problems in our applications over the years.
  • IIS integrates really well with Visual Studio and TFS. We are able to quickly deploy new applications and changes to applications when requested by the business.
  • IIS has proven that it is easy to configure and maintain with minimal effort.
  • There have been times where we have been concerned about the security vulnerabilities that IIS has been exposed to.
  • Logging in IIS is good but at times the error message are quite vague or point us in the wrong direction. More succinct and clear error messages would be nice.
  • Configuring IIS as a reverse proxy server has too many steps and is confusing at times.
We have used IIS to host our applications for decades and we are very happy with it. One thing we have used IIS for is as a reverse proxy server. All of our external traffic runs through it and it acts as an added layer of security and obfuscation from external attacks. We are also able to finely control traffic through the server.
IIS has a really good user community which has helped us out in the past. When we were setting up our initial reverse proxy server using IIS, we found help from the community that pointed us in the right direction. We also have had good help from third-party vendors who are experts in IIS which have been a huge support for us.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2019
Rahul Dhangar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft IIS for specific requirements on client deliverables. Certain projects require us to implement Microsoft IIS for overall project hosting and delivery. Microsoft IIS is very easy to install, and its GUI is very informative. The Microsoft Server facilitates implementation of SQL database seamless. It is very useful due to its simplicity for small projects which primarily require CRUD operations in SQL.
  • Troubleshooting problems is very easy due to the server logs, which are maintained by default in Microsoft IIS.
  • Awesome integration with Visual Studio and dot NET applications.
  • Best performance with Microsoft tools and services, because of its native nature with them.
  • Microsoft IIS' performance, in comparison with lean web-servers like Nginx and Apache, has a lot of room for improvement.
  • Since it is a non-open source solution and a proprietary Microsoft software, it is tied with Microsoft Windows OS, which is prone to new security vulnerabilities on a frequent basis.
  • The logging of errors is very vague in nature sometimes, which makes it difficult to get to the root cause of the error, and means it takes more time in debugging.
Well suited for small websites which need to be hosted on the same environment without getting into the trouble of managing services differently. Clustering is a costly offense if you want to deal with a high volume of data, because of IIS' costly licensing for the server, and the OS also makes it less favorable.
Read Rahul Dhangar's full review
August 20, 2019
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Microsoft IIS throughout our organization. We are using Microsoft IIS for internal sites, external private sites and public .com sites. We are utilizing all sorts of authentication methods with all of these sites, Windows auth, forms auth, anonymous auth, and SSO. We also have a number of web services in Microsoft IIS.
  • Microsoft IIS is very good at quickly and easily starting up a website
  • Microsoft IIS is excellent at hosting .net sites, this makes development and deployment seamless
  • Microsoft IIS is great for multiple domains pointing to the same sites
  • Microsoft IIS security could be more straightforward
  • Security can be difficult if you want to use a 3rd party claims authentication
  • Custom Handlers can be difficult to manage
Microsoft IIS is perfect for spinning up a new website. You can manually set everything up or create scripts to automate the process. Microsoft IIS also works great with Microsoft Azure DevOps continuous Integration and deployment services. This makes Microsoft IIS a powerful tool for hosting as you can automate every aspect of deployment.
Microsoft IIS is a a solutions that has been around a very long time. As such there is a wealth of support information out on the internet. From Microsoft to 3rd party forums and blogs you can find any solution that you may encounter. If you can't find it you can always you Microsoft premiere support for your issues.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
August 12, 2019
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft IIS across the whole organization as a web server for our web projects. IIS is basically a requirement for those running web servers on Windows. We are using IIS to host multiple .NET web applications and websites.
  • IIS is easy to configure, quick to get up and running.
  • Ability to work with PowerShell
  • Separation of application pools for shared environments
  • Built in scalability options
  • Although it supports other technologies than .NET, it's not a straightforward process
  • Log files are difficult to find and read
  • Depends on Windows Server
Microsoft IIS is suitable for those that work with .NET applications and other Microsoft technologies.
We have never used customer support for Microsoft IIS. We usually search for questions in users communities.
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
November 27, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build a business web application to support operations which are hosted on Windows servers using IIS. I would say that our utilisation of IIS is probably considered fairly basic with it running .Net websites using winforms and some re-write rules, nothing too grandiose but it meets our needs and has rarely been a cause for concern.
  • Website hosting.
  • URL rewriting.
  • Session hosting.
  • Limited built-in diagnosis.
It goes without saying that it is well suited to hosting websites built on a Microsoft technology stack, but we also have a couple of PHP websites running using the plugin that run very well.
As mentioned earlier there is so much documentation or guides or stack overflow questions out there that someone will have faced the same or very similar scenario to what you are going through that you will almost certainly find a solution to what you are after.
Read this authenticated review
August 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft IIS across the enterprise as an offering for web servers on Windows machines. We use it to host several of our enterprise workloads as well as some of our smaller web properties. IIS has been a staple of our stack for many years.
  • Handle a decent amount of loads
  • Easily configurable
  • Simple UI to customize for different applications
  • Is memory-intensive
  • Has multi-threading issues
  • Cannot be used for connection pooling by itself
I would recommend it if you use a Windows environment and have to utilize a medium processing load. If you have high availability loads, I'd recommend a more simplified webserver like Nginix or Apache. They provide a better threading model for resources.
The support for the tool can be pretty bleak. The savior is that there is a large customer community and users out there are vested in responding to and supporting each other. I've googled many solutions when needed to a problem I couldn't solve on my own or with Microsoft's help.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2019
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I and my IT department currently and previously use Microsoft IIS as the main web server solution for internal and public-facing websites. In a Microsoft environment, I think, this is the best option for the web server. Easy to deploy the server, easy upload websites. Didn't have too many issues with Microsoft ISS, simple to use, saves time on deployment. Our current IIS environment contains not only internal and external websites but several web services that interact with third-party services for identity, fraud detection, etc.
  • Easy to deploy and minimum time for the first startup.
  • Supports a large variety of web technologies.
  • Easy website and applications management.
  • The best integration with Microsoft AD for user authentication.
  • It is regularly patched.
  • For some web applications, it takes additional time to configure IIS to make a website work.
  • IIS logging - it is not the strongest side of the product.
  • Compared to Apache or Nginx, IIS uses way more system resources.
  • Even with regular patches, IIS has many vulnerabilities.
Microsoft IIS is well suited for simple website hosting and for more complex web application setups as well. Granular security features allow you to make your web site or app to be protected as much as possible. Plus by default the best integration with other Microsoft services like Active Directory, WSUS, SCCM, etc. However, if you need just a basic website that is not based on MS components, open source solutions like Apache or Nginx could be better and cheaper (based on Linux).
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
April 13, 2017
Kiran Kumar Pariti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My IT department is using the IIS server and we manage this for using the webservices as well as multiple websites. Not much problem with IIS and is simple to use, efficient and time saving. We can host the websites using this so that the other team or developers can access this. We can also restrict the users and make the privacy settings authenticate the users accordingly. We can also give the privileges and user rights depending on the hierarchy.
  • Easy access
  • User authentication
  • Multiple websites
  • We can browse and check the website then and there itself
  • [To] Stop and start running the applications are so simple in IIS
  • IP Masking or websites URL masking
  • Extensions
For multiple applications, IIS is the best suitable software. Comes with Windows (if you install a patch file). Easy to install. Navigation is so simple that a mid level programmer can understand. Supports almost all the Webservers. Managing the websites and the applications is so simple. When hosting the application it takes its default port number instead of specifying.
Read Kiran Kumar Pariti's full review
May 27, 2016
John Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IIS in a number of different ways. Some of our homegrown .NET apps run internally on our network as well as several other boxed software installs that require the use of IIS. Our current setup involves about 6 servers all running the latest version of IIS and they seem to be easy to work with and are patched fairly regularly by our staff.
  • Very easy to deploy new sites.
  • Great integration with Visual Studio .NET.
  • Easy to troubleshoot.
  • The SQL integration is also fairly seamless.
  • It seems like they don't do new version migrations easily. Newer versions of IIS have required that we change our web.config files to exclude certain portions.
  • Error messages can be vague if you didn't write them in yourself.
  • I would like there to be a way to snapshot instances of IIS without having to snapshot an entire server. Not as a pass/fail test but more as a consistent backup for site hacks and malware.
It is perfect for small dev projects where you would like to put the data into SQL. Put IIS together with SQL Express and you have a fairly robust application space for free! If you are passing along a big data site I don't think that IIS would be your best bet. It does offer clustering, which is the IIS answer to high volume, but that can get pricey with multiple server instances and licensing for the OS.
Read John Glenn's full review
December 02, 2015
Aaron Hartzler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Micorsoft IIS is being used as our main web server for internal applications as well as hosting external web sites of which we have a least half a dozen or so. It is being used or rather consumed across the company as one of the main applications which drives the business. It allows our users to access one of the main applications very easily through the web and on mobile devices.

The main problems it addresses are ease of access, not having to have a fat client installed for particular applications, ease of manageability for web applications and websites, easy to troubleshoot, easy to maintain and perform system maintenance.
  • Ease of access for users.
  • Not having to have a fat client installed for particular applications; just access from browser or mobile device.
  • Ease of manageability for web applications and websites.
  • Easy to troubleshoot.
  • Easy to maintain and perform system maintenance.
  • Many many features, functions, and very customizable.
  • Simplify the user interface. It has basically stayed the same and certain things/pieces are cumbersome to get to.
  • Not much else, it does a good job for what it was made to do.
Key questions to ask are:

What are you trying to do? If simply hosting a website, there are other solutions to do this that are simpler and more cost effective. If you are using some vendor's application and needing to push it out via web/mobile, then Microsoft IIS is a great tool for the job.

What is the level of security needed? If just simple security, then there are other solutions to do this that are simpler and more cost effective. If more granular and complex security needs are at hand, then Microsoft IIS offers extensive security customization regarding access, accounts, ports, etc.

What type of administration and management are you looking to give? If you want a one time "set it and forget it" type environment, then Microsoft IIS can be it for you. Or if you have something that needs to be constantly changed and updated, Microsoft IIS also offers the flexibility and speed to keep your environment going in a fast paced businesses.
Read Aaron Hartzler's full review
December 02, 2015
payton climer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within our department, Microsoft IIS is being used as a web server for sites that require Windows based components. Our main use for Microsoft IIS is for sites that use the ASP.NET framework. However, we also use IIS for Microsoft systems management software. Which includes both System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM ConfigMgr 2012) and Windows Server Update Services (WSUS). Microsoft IIS allows for us to better host our Windows based components than current open source solutions.
  • Microsoft IIS provides an in depth GUI that helps for managing sites.
  • Native support of the ASP.NET framework for web applications. Overall this has given us better compatibility than a Apache/Mono setup.
  • Since it's a Microsoft product, it's natively better integrated with our Windows based environment (Active Directory).
  • The performance of Microsoft IIS is always slightly behind more lean web servers like Apache and NGINX.
  • Microsoft IIS is locked to the Windows Operating System. For some components (SCCM and WSUS) you are essentially forced to use IIS, instead of a more open source Apache or Mono solution.
  • Security concerns over Windows IIS web servers. While this isn't directly the fault of IIS, since issues usually occur from vulnerabilities within the Windows OS.
  • IIS is closed source, which does remove customizability and the ability for the community to review the code base. An open source web server will usually has less exploits, since the code base can be reviewed and debugged by anyone.
Microsoft IIS is well suited in several different situations. If the native support and better compatibility with ASP.NET framework sites is needed, it's better to use a Microsoft IIS web server.
Running Microsoft Systems management tools like WSUS and SCCM, you are required to use a IIS web server. Also, IIS might be slightly easier for anyone not experienced with a web server. Especially with the relative ease of install on any modern Microsoft Windows OS.

However, for sites that don't require Microsoft components. It's going to be more beneficial to run a Linux web server. This is because you will get better performance, better security, and the large community support behind open-source projects like Apache and NGINX.
Read payton climer's full review
December 22, 2015
Leo Brewer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many applications leverage Microsoft IIS within my current organization and in previous places of employ. I currently manage SafeNet Authentication Manager, Thycotic Secret Server, and other applications that use Microsoft IIS as it's web server.
  • Support of application integration is a strength, many COTS applications are supported by Microsoft IIS.
  • Microsoft IIS on the Windows Server 2012 R2 platform is very configurable.
  • Easily configured for Active Directory authentication.
  • Compared to Apache, Microsoft IIS has a large memory footprint.
  • Microsoft regularly changes it's administrative utility, sometimes drastically, which causes a learning curve one version to the next.
  • With some applications you need to spend quite some time tuning Microsoft IIS to bring it to an acceptable level of performance.
Many commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) vendors only support Microsoft IIS, in these cases I would not recommend trying to make it work with other platforms such as Apache. If you are in a primarily Microsoft Windows Server environment, I would recommend using Microsoft IIS as opposed to trying to make Apache or other web platforms run on Windows. If you have an abundance of Linux knowledge in-house and the application supports Apache, I recommend using Apache on Linux as a more optimal use of resources.
Read Leo Brewer's full review
December 11, 2015
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Microsoft IIS to run several in house applications that were used for supporting our technical support department. These applications were written in ASPX.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Very easy to manage with the Microsoft IIS GUI.
  • Quick to load the applications.
  • Better custom logging generation line with Apache or Nginx.
Microsoft IIS is less suited for running a few generic websites as the resources consumed are more than some of the open source servers. However, when it comes to dynamic web applications Microsoft IIS shines.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
December 03, 2015
Peter Quale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We consider IIS a critical desktop application on all Windows machines. It is simply the best platform for rapidly testing scripts, prototyping tools, and automating many of our menial day-to-day tasks.
  • The IIS SEO Toolkit is aging very well, and is still an important tool in our everyday website testing.
  • IIS makes it very easy for us to test URL rewriting and reverse proxies in advance of launching changes on live websites.
  • Website speed is so critical and IIS makes testing performance optimization strategies painless and quick.
  • Honestly, improvements over the years have been right in-line with our needs.
  • We're I to ask for anything, we'd love an IIS extension for the Log Parser Studio. Perhaps I'm just lazy.
Having used Microsoft IIS with most languages and database platforms, I would not hesitate to recommend it for any organizations with a strong Microsoft background.
Read Peter Quale's full review
August 10, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS is being used to drive an internal NodeJS application within our department and is used widely throughout the rest of our company for other internal services. The primary driving force behind using it is the ease of integrating Windows Single Sign-On for all of our internal sites.
  • Windows Authentication for Single Sign-On makes managing permission easier by using custom Active Directory groups
  • Serving static site files is incredibly easy
  • Allows for easy binding of ports and hostnames
  • Ease of integrating SSL certificates
  • Configuration of NodeJS application took effort with some undocumented loopholes
  • Deploying a NodeJS app with Single Sign-On was challenging when it came to asynchronous requests as OPTION requests do not include authorization and needed to be approved in an automated fashion prior to the NodeJS application being called
Well suited when utilizing Windows servers that require multiple sites to be deployed and you don't want to employ multiple services to run different applications
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IIS serves a multiplicity of uses for us. It provides internal resources and applications for staff and products for our customer base. The application provides us easy access to multiple internally-developed and vendor-supplied applications for our various internal departments and ready access by our customers to our various products and services.
  • Ease of management. IIS is relatively easy to install, configure, monitor and troubleshoot.
  • Security. IIS is a large application, with known vulnerabilities and a relatively large attack surface.
  • Monitoring and logging. While much of the IIS infrastructure is easily interpreted, more meaningful error messages would be very useful. Arcane event/error messages that are only meaningful to the publisher are not especially useful to a business managing the product.
IIS is excellent for integrating web resources for existing Microsoft products, especially Exchange. It is formidable at deploying applications, especially for internal use.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (20)
7.6
Security management (28)
7.4
Administration and management (28)
8.1
Application server performance (28)
8.4
Installation (28)
8.9
Open-source standards compliance (17)
6.0

What is Microsoft IIS?

Microsoft IIS is an application server and infrastructure.

Microsoft IIS Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft IIS?

Microsoft IIS is an application server and infrastructure.

What is Microsoft IIS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Installation highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Microsoft IIS?

The most common users of Microsoft IIS are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.