iMovie Reviews

53 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Andy Fuller | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

You're Spielberg. You just don't know it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iMovie is used by me personally as a quick, intuitive way to piece together movie projects when other editing software is not available. It has the essential tools you'll need to produce polished video on the fly. They've compressed an impressive amount of features into a small app. The biggest problem it addresses is the need to produce video in-the-field without access to your laptop.
  • Clip selection - simply start a project and tap which clips you want to include.
  • Transitions - it sounds simple, but simple transitions between clips in a phone app are great.
  • Titles - good options for text over your video.
  • The clip trim feature is a little imprecise - but you have to expect that with your thumbs doing most of the editing, not a mouse.
iMovie is a great solution for folks who can't have access to some of the more robust video editing platforms. After a little time learning the app, you can really get a sense for just how many assets it has. You can add music from your own collection, titles, themes, more. And of course your own videos and photos (complete with Ken Burns pan!). And since it's in your phone, easy upload to your social platforms is available.
Read Andy Fuller's full review
Rene Agredano | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

Even a novice can make a great video with iMovie

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create product reviews and social media to highlight stories for our Tripawds community. Two people in our organization use it, one is more experienced with it than the other. We love that it can be used on the desktop or our phones, and both versions are just as intuitive and easy to use.
  • Works similarly with both desktop and mobile version
  • Intuitive functions make it easy to use for novices
  • Easily shares to social media platforms
  • Love the auto-save feature
  • When used on a smaller desktop screen, the menus are difficult to view.
  • I would love to have more integration with YouTube music choices when creating movies.
  • I would like it to more easily integrate with iCloud library (I have to move photos from there to my desktop, as far as I know).
When our main graphic designer's workload became overloaded, a novice user on our team (me) was able to learn iMovie on the fly (first on the phone and then on the desktop) to create short promotional videos for our community. We loved how it took very little training to do so. Now our graphic designer is free to do more complex projects.

We can't think of a time when it is less appropriate; it's a pretty awesome tool.
Read Rene Agredano's full review
Nicole (Burke) Rosario | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

A Great Video Editing Tool for Personal and Corporate User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iMovie is a free application that comes right out-of-the-box on any Mac laptop. We use the software for everything from quick updates for staff, videos for our lobby monitor and web spots. It is easy to use, makes great videos and is definitely a go-to tool for our business.
  • Easy to Use
  • Powerful
  • Inexpensive
  • Better title graphics (more control over placement, size, etc)
Well suited for internal videos, slide shows, web commercials, etc.
Read Nicole (Burke) Rosario's full review
Joel McAfee | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

iMovie - Enabling Mac Users Everywhere to Edit Video

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iMovie is not an app I would recommend for use within a business setting unless the video editing required is basic. Cut, paste, export, etc... That said - in a world where more people have a Mac computer than ever before - Apple provides the built in ability to edit video in a very accessible manner. It's very user-friendly for new users to pick it up, and very easy for an Apple based organization to implement it. It gives the power of video editing to the everyday person across your organization.
  • File management. This is one of the tricky things that is not a benefit if you are a pro user, however iMovie has a built in file management system that makes sure all the files you are using in your edit are carried along with the project file. It's easy to lose these files as it typically requires manual organization - however iMovie does it for you, automatically.
  • The editing UI is designed for a modern generation. No longer are we connected to the manual cutting and pasting of the moviola era, it's a drag and drop friendly platform for the digital generation.
  • Auto save is another huge feature. You never lose progress due to forgetting to hit command + S.
  • Audio for video editing is a bit limiting. A pro user would feel limited, but the average person can pretty well do what they need in iMovie and that's what matters for this platform.
  • The design of the UI could use some updating so it doesn't feel so bubbly. This may purely be an aesthetic concern, and maybe the old style makes it more approachable, but i'd prefer to see a more slick design so you don't feel like you are using a kids program.
  • If you ever want to share the project or manually manage files, it can be a bit difficult to figure out. Fortunately Apple allows you to import a project from iMovie into FCPX if you ever want to be upwardly mobile.
If you or your organization need to perform some simple video editing tasks but don't need the feature set of a pro-editor - the free with a Mac iMovie is the way to go. It's a true gateway into the FCPX universe but not necessarily something you have to invest a ton of time to learn and put to use.
Read Joel McAfee's full review
Nicole Glover | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

iMovie is a must for green screen!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it in the Technology Department to easily edit our school's Senior Speech presentations. It is also the best choice for all of our different green screen projects. I haven't found anything else that is as user-friendly or has the functionality to do what is needed for our green screen needs.
  • Green screen editing
  • Easily split movies
  • Easily trim start and end of videos
  • The "Share to YouTube" feature always seems to freeze
  • Not easy to figure out/remember how to split a clip, but can it easy to do once you figure out the shortcut
  • A little confusing on how to add music
Anytime you are doing a green screen project, I would highly recommend. Also, perfect for simple editing of videos. It is a bit much to figure out for younger students, so it is better suited to at least middle grades as far as an independent project. And I would recommend "Share" as a file.
Read Nicole Glover's full review
Cedric Haynes | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Best choice - quick and fast

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iMovie is my go-to video editing program right now. The interface is easy to use, importing files is pretty straightforward and the timeline is very familiar as with other programs. I like the fact that it comes with Apple/Mac computers and for the most part, remains stable under most conditions. Problems it solves? Well, when I need to edit a video that contains noisy audio that needs to be replaced with dialogue, music or both, iMovie handles the task with ease.
  • Separating audio track from video.
  • Importing pics, video, and other media types.
  • Trimming scenes down to specific timeframes.
  • It can be slow when rendering video for uploading to social media, video channels etc.
  • Can crash at times when the processes become too overwhelming.
  • Most video cameras are supported. Recommendation: Check beforehand to be sure yours is compatible!
iMovie has come through in a pinch for editing music videos, memories, and other business presentations. Podcasting is easier to accomplish with iMovie because of the built-in templates. I probably could afford Final Cut Pro or Adobe Premiere but for now, iMovie is doing its job with little to no problems. The problems that I have encountered were easily resolved with either a restart of the program, or reboot of the computer.
Read Cedric Haynes's full review
Ali Rauch | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 15, 2019

IMovie is great for newbies!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When we need a quick and simple video that incorporates photos, video footage, and music, iMovie is the quickest way to create it in a flash. You can even let it do "the work" by letting some of the default settings come into play, but if you need minute details changed, you also have the power in your own hands. It's great and intuitive.
  • Intuitive process to make it easy for a novice.
  • Default settings to make the process easier when in a rush.
  • Adding music and headlines is super easy.
  • Sometimes the default settings of how it zooms into a photo make it act the way you don't want, and that can be frustrating. It's like they've made it so easy that when you get better and want to get detailed on custom changes, it won't let you.
  • There are limited headline and text options. Wish they could do custom text/font options.
  • If they had a built-in library of background music to choose from, it would make life so much better.
When making a year in review photo collage video, it's an amazing program that is easy and fast. When trying to make a high-quality commercial, it feels a bit too juvenile.
Read Ali Rauch's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2019

iMovie -- One of the hidden value adds of having a Mac

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have extensively used iMovie for producing videos that go on YouTube and Vimeo. We have also created a specific education focussed YouTube channel where 4 producers collaborated to get over 100 videos live in two months. All of these videos were edited on iMovie. I have also used iMovie for personal hobby projects.
  • Easy to manage the timeline and drag and drop clips and effects.
  • Immediate preview and captioning of videos.
  • Easy to edit the audio, one click to remove background noise, etc.
  • It's so much easier than other low-end softwares to sync audio in cases where audio and video were recorded separately.
  • The white balance on iMovie isn't as powerful, and it is better to get the lighting and settings right when shooting rather than editing in iMovie.
  • The overall management of raw clips that you imported for your videos can be a little tricky once you cross a few dozen videos.
iMovie is very well suited for beginners and semi-professionals who don't want to get in-depth into video editing but want to produce quality content. It is surprising how many people pick up and start churning out decently well-made videos from iMovie within a few hours of tweaking around. In the old days, it was the movie maker on windows that did the trick for several people, but iMovie is a professional software when compared to likes of Windows Movie Maker. In fact, even the likes of Filmora doesn't offer a lot in comparison.
Read this authenticated review
Catheline Shin | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

I do it with iMovie

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is primarily used by Advancement to create videos for marketing, event recordings, and development work. Classroom teachers, and particularly students are also avid users because they find it easy to create demos, recordings of presentations, and show off their current work.
  • Easy to use. It doesn’t get any easier than iMovie IMHO. The drop and drag interface is fairly intuitive. No need for a giant manual to get started.
  • Just enough tools. For the layman you need to know where to drop in audio, title screens, transitions, etc. no more, no less. It’s not the most sophisticated but it can get the job done quickly.
  • You can use it on multiple interfaces. For example, I use iMovie on my iPhone, iPad, AND my Mac and it’s all rather seamless. You can start a project in one place and pick it up somewhere else. Now that’s flexible.
  • Exporting. You’d think this would be more intuitive but the language Apple uses is a little bizarre...you can choose to save it as a theater project or as a file but it’s not super clear.
  • Fine tuning. Sometimes you need an exact moment where to stop audio and start a person talking and it can be difficult to get that level of detail to match up.
  • Tutorials. It would be nice for iMovie to have some quick and dirty tutorials for you to take within the software as many others do but as far as I can tell there is no such thing.
Making a cinematic film? Use Adobe. Making a quick film with titles or splicing several clips together? Use iMovie.
Read Catheline Shin's full review
Dave Becker | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Easy to Use, Inexpensive, No Frills Video Editing

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iMovie in our Marketing Department to help us create videos quickly. The great thing about iMovie is that it's very user friendly. We often will have someone from another department who wants to make a video quickly, but has no experience with video editing software. iMovie is a wonderful resource for them to use because it takes very little training to use and gets the job done.
  • When combining clips of audio or video, all you have to do is drag and drop the content. It's very easy to use.
  • You can export your finished video into the most commonly used video formats and resolutions, making it really easy to share your videos with others and online.
  • iMovie saves your projects as you work on them, so you can work on multiple projects at once or save the work of several users on one computer.
  • iMovie is a very inexpensive option for video editing software, especially when you aren't looking for cinematic results.
  • It takes a long time to export videos from iMovie. Depending on the length of the project you're working on, it could take a few hours.
  • There are a decent amount of effects and transitions to use, but the customization of them is lacking.
  • iMovie is only available for Apple devices. Windows has other options, but if you're used to iMovie and have to switch to a Windows computer, you might miss the user-friendliness that came from iMovie.
iMovie is really helpful if you're just getting into video editing, or if you just need to combine some clips together into a finished product. It takes very little training to get started on, so it's easy to train employees to use it quickly. If you are serious about video editing, I would recommend looking at something more robust than what iMovie has to offer. For basic projects, it's great.
Read Dave Becker's full review
Dan Talvi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2019

Effective, but has its limitations

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the Audio / Visual Coordinator for a multi-campus religious organization, iMovie was one of the applications used to produce weekly video material for our weekly services, online content, promotions & marketing, and community service. In conjunction with Adobe Photoshop for graphics, iMovie was used to assemble weekly sermon videos for YouTube. It was also used to create sermon bumpers and other mini-movies related to weekly sermons. In addition to sermon materials, iMovie was used for editing short promotional videos promoting special events on our Facebook and other social media pages.
  • Easy to Use
  • Free (with compatible Mac)
  • iPhone and iPad (iOS) version available
  • Only available on Mac (no Windows version)
  • Lacks advanced video editing functionality
As effective as it is, iMovie is specifically geared towards hobbyists and beginning video editors. Compared to other video editing software, iMovie lacks the features, functionality, and (most specifically) control that others provide. However, what it does, it does well-- allowing users to assemble basic video productions easily and fluidly with an easy-to-learn interface.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
Jason Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

iMovie can help small business owners compete

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Although I'm a small business consulting firm, iMovie has helped me compete in the marketplace.

All trends show that video marketing is on the rise and iMovie is easy to use quickly and efficiently.
  • Easily make high-end trailers with templates.
  • Quickly convert video from your phone and easily upload to your computer or YouTube.
  • Overlay audio tracks in minutes rather than hours.
  • It would be nice if iMovie had a quick meme function with templates.
  • I also recommend iMovie keep updating their templates on a more regular basis.
Well suited for any small business owner that is wanting to make videos a regular part of their marketing.

Not well suited for PC users.
Read Jason Stein's full review
Jackie Bassett | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2018

Captures Your "Inner Spielberg"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do a lot of research and video interviews of millennials, as they find their "Who I Am." Our Chief Creative Officer, Chris McCarthy, was getting interviews with celebrities and CEOs who were remote. So we used Zoom. But Chris wanted to be even more creative, writing his own songs to the videos and adding in voiceovers that would enhance the experience for the audience and the interviewees.

It was difficult to choose the right tech that would be powerful, yet super easy to work with. We went to the Apple store, got some training in a demo, and we were up and running the very next day! I use it now too.
  • Editing precisely so you can cut, then test for perfect, then re-cut from the original without losing anything
  • Enhance the experience of the original video and craft even more content from the outtakes.
  • Easy to use - lets you create fearlessly, as you don't have to worry that you'll lose what you created and you can "just create".
  • My OS X was outdated for the version of iMovie we needed. So we had to Google how to match HW with SW without buying an entire new Mac. There should be some easier options for when this happens. We ended up using Chris's iPad as it was much newer.
  • We'd like to see even more tutorials for the things we can do now. Voice-overs and adding music were easy, but it's pretty intense SW and learning by video is the best option.
  • We had an mp4 video we were working with and we learned the hard way that it's best to always go back to the original. The challenge was, the original had a ton of edits and the changes we needed to make in the last iteration were miniscule. It seems there should be a much cleaner way to do that without losing clarity in the last video.
Every video can be made better using iMovie. You get to really personalize any video for any audience this way. We had a fishing video of a young girl making a great catch, and it could be used for many audiences as it captured her deserved pride that she exceeded her uncle's fish catch. We can now add songs that are more melody, and re-edit to add fierce competitiveness. Basically you can shoot a video once, and then edit endlessly, allowing repurposing and personalization any way you wish.
Read Jackie Bassett's full review
Chris McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Start with Great Video, Then Personalize It With iMovie.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Video content attracts and deeply engages an audience like no other can. We use IMovie to personalize all of the video content we create. A lot of video content is taken, then repurposed when we need to tell a great story to the ideal audience looking for exactly that.

IMovie let’s us do that simply and effectively, again and again. Most of our IMovie work is done by me as I am the Chief Creative Officer and I use it for our target audience, but we do use it internally to as a communication tool.
  • Celebrity interviews and out takes. We host celebrity interviews as sources of inspiration for our millennial audience. We do a lot of editing, and we love to use the out takes as both learning tools, and sources of great humor to post on social media.
  • IMovie is so easy to use, that it helps us invest much more time on the creative artistic side, and less on getting the tech to do what we bought it to do.
  • Great video begins in one’s eye, first. If we capture that right first, then a simple editing tool is all we really need. IMovie does exactly that, while we focus on improving our eye for great video.
  • Some features take getting used to, like syncing voice edits with visual. I might suggest they make it more intuitive for 1st timers, beyond just a video tutorial.
Focus on capturing great, purposeful video content whenever you see it! Consider taking lots of great video, long before you need it. IMovie will then let you do simple edits to further personalize it from there.
Read Chris McCarthy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2018

iMovie is perfect for beginners and simple clips!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used specifically by the Design department for advertising our app game, creating a demo video for the App Store and splicing together game footage.
  • iMovie splices film together quickly and simply
  • It provides great basic transitions
  • Lining up music or sound to film is fast and easy
  • More detailed look at footage to know where to cut
  • A numbered or ticked timeline would be very helpful
  • A less confusing interface for newer users
iMovie is perfect for basic video and audio splicing. Great for producing videos such as karaoke singalongs, basic demo videos, etc. I would not recommend for serious, in-depth editing.
Read this authenticated review
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2018

iMovie: The people's video editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use iMovie to edit my videos for all purposes: corporate, personal, and for social media. The biggest business problems that it addresses are the cost and learning curve. iMovie comes free with all Mac operating systems. It is also easy to use, therefore a short learning curve. It is fairly intuitive--more so than most editing suites and it has some very advanced features such as green screen, picture-in-picture, audio separation, titling, transitions, and much more. iMovie has an interface that is very similar to Final Cut Pro, Adobe Premiere, and other costly video editing programs. If you need to transition to one of those at some point, you should have a much shorter learning curve. iMovie can import most video formats but exports files as .MOV, which is a high-quality format, but the files can become very large. I use iMovie because of its cost, its versatility, its advanced features, and the many tutorials available at apple.com and on YouTube. If I need a particular solution, chances are good that someone has posted an article, a video, or both on the topic. I've never been disappointed with iMovie yet.
  • iMovie provides a simple interface that allows me to have full control over all aspects of an edit line including transitions, titles, audio, and video. I can adjust all the above with simple mouse movements.
  • iMovie produces high-quality video in multiple resolutions.
  • It can ingest multiple video, audio, and graphics types.
  • I would like to see more and better titling pages. The current titles, while nice for a lot of applications, leave me a little cold when producing more professional videos.
  • I wish iMovie had better credits pages. It seems to only have one and its not great. It works in some cases but I'd prefer multiple choices for credits.
  • iMovie needs an audio and video sync capability. I know this is a very advanced feature but it is a really needed one.
I recommend iMovie for those who are getting started in video editing and even for seasoned videographers. It can handle a lot. For very advanced things, you'll probably have to move to a more sophisticated package but iMovie can do a lot of different things--some of which are advanced. It is well-suited for corporate videos, home movies, art films, and just about any scenario. It is probably not appropriate for feature-length films or where you need a lot of fancy special effects.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

Review: iMovie

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used iMovie a bit in college, and then recently reoriented myself with the software to be more familiar with its use and modern practicality. iMovie can act as a quick internal software for fast video exporting. iMovie can also be used by amateur editors looking to learn a tiny bit about video production and editing workflows.
  • iMovie is free for Mac users which makes it easily accessible for those interested.
  • iMovie is a great tool for someone who has never touched editing software before. The interface is arguably not user-friendly, but for its purposes, it can get the job done.
  • iMovie could be a viable option for someone who is looking to shoot some video and quickly drop it into a timeline. The caveat here being you won't want to do much editing at all inside of iMovie. If all you want to do is have a free editing application, maybe including a quick title or two, iMovie can get the job done.
  • iMovie includes a library of sounds, transitions, and basic titles. This allows users to quickly use a pre-generated title or transition that looks somewhat professional. The downside is these are all terribly generic features and can be quickly spotted by anyone who has even a lick of video editing experience.
  • iMovie does not make it easy to export videos. Users can share to online social platforms (Facebook, Twitter, etc.), export to an internal iMovie feature called "theatre", or export a generic file from the software. It's not possible to be specific in your export codec (i.e. you can't choose h.264 or others) and you definitely cannot choose if you'd like a .avc, .mp4, .mov file for export. It's all determined inside the software. A tiny bit of choice could make iMovie more viable, but as it stands, it's far too simplified for most kinds of professional use.
  • I stated earlier that iMovie will shine for dropping a clip into the timeline and then heading to export. There is no razor blade tool here, so if you want to cut the video together, you'll need to duplicate your clip multiple times and trim it for jump cuts. If you want to place multiple clips next to each other, still no razor, but you can drop each full clip into the timeline and then trim it to your desired length. It's certainly a chore. There is an interface to do slightly more complicated editing, but it's jumbled and unintuitive.
  • Importing isn't as easy as dragging and dropping clips into the editor. Of course, it wouldn't be! You'll need to import clips manually through the editor by navigating your computer's hard drive inside the software and finding what clips you need. To make matters worse, you can't import certain Sony video files, and you can't import Illustrator or Photoshop files like you could with Adobe products. Any sort of professional editing will devolve into a nightmare when using iMovie.
For the amateur editor looking to pick up a few skills or familiarize themselves with editing applications, iMovie can just barely do the job. I'll likely recommend a trial of Premiere Pro or the NLE included in DaVinci Resolve. iMovie can do very, very, very simplified editing tasks, and it might be right for family videos or cutting the beginning and end of live video or event.

In any kind of professional setting, iMovie will damn you. It's not going to do anything complicated and you're better off convincing your manager to drop money on software that will work for you, not against you.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
Sam Jacob Dev | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2018

Starter Editing suite/Simple Controls/Easy on-boarding

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
iMovie is being used for editing our various shoots in the hotel property or any related ad campaign. One of the main reasons for using this product is their simplicity and the no cost to the company as the software. Since the only investment that one should make is for the Mac that again would be used for other purposes of mobile iOS development etc.
  • Simplicity of every controls in the editing flow
  • Easy onboarding no need of special training for the software
  • Lots of default templates that are readily available and can be used for the workflow.
  • Performance of the iMovie can be made little better as a whole
  • While exporting the finished movie, sometimes it takes a longer time to convert to the needed format. Great if they integrate that into the iMovie.
  • Overlapping of the video cuts for crossfade and cross dissolve can be made better visually on the timeline.
iMovie is best if your organization is just trying out with few simple video post-production projects. For more professional grade projects I would still recommend running final cut pro. Also, iMovie is well suited for smaller video projects and to have quicker throughput for the video projects that you are running on. In case of bigger production level projects, I would not recommend this.
Read Sam Jacob Dev's full review
Cliff Fontenot | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

The Best Software For Simple Video Editing (Not what you think!)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use iMovie to edit videos that we put on Youtube that get millions of views every day. We use it not only because it is low cost but because it is the simplest, cleanest interface that doesn't need a Ph.D. in video editing to use. It obviously isn't as advanced as Adobe video editing software but it is good enough for what we need. Maybe eventually we will upgrade to something more advanced once we have a need but if it ain't broke don't fix it at this point.
  • It makes it clear where one cut happens and how it works in the whole video.
  • Makes adding music and volume simple.
  • Zooming in and out of the whole video is easy.
  • Adding sound effects is very intuitive.
  • It doesn't do split screen very well.
  • Combining multiple videos into one doesn't work at all.
  • Green screen videos as well are clunky and tough to do well.
iMovie is well suited for simple video editing. I.e. making cuts in videos, adding sound effects, simple effects like transitions, changing view angles, cropping and other simple operations. Where it falls down is doing advanced tasks and filters (They are very limited in the filter department). I love it though because it does the simple things well.
Read Cliff Fontenot's full review
Rich Ferris | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2018

Works well for tutorials and marketing content.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use iMovie to create step-by-step SaaS platform tutorials and also marketing videos.
  • The trimming tools cut very precisely down to fractions of a second.
  • I like the speed up/slow down feature as it doesn't distort the video at all.
  • It exports to several different delivery platforms.
  • I wish I could manipulate the placement of text over video.
  • It could use more/better title slides.
  • The available backgrounds are not really usable for professional content.
I think it's a great tool for someone who doesn't have the budget for an expensive professional video editor. But it suits my needs for tutorials and marketing content.
Read Rich Ferris's full review

About iMovie

Apple offers iMovie as a video editing platform supporting video creators with high quality effects, support for 4k resolution, audio editing, and other features supporting the creation of videos and movies.
Categories:  Video Editing

iMovie Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No