TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/dN/0A/71X42CQ3RGFC.JPEGThe reigning champion in front-end IDEsOur development team is utilizing IntelliJ WebStorm along with the other applications in the Jetbrains Toolbox. Typically, we use it when we are developing front-end libraries, such as Node.js modules, or other Javascript libraries and applications, all the way through to complete websites in some cases. We move over to PhpStorm or another tool if we need a server-side dynamic language, however.,The coding assistance provided by WebStorm is the best around. It facilitates very rapid development without having to hunt through documentation all day. The breadth and depth of plugins, both from JetBrains and from the community, is incredible. There are plugins to do practically anything. It's cross-platform, and using the JetBrains Toolbox makes it so it can auto-update seamlessly without me needing to worry about it. The amount of languages and types of projects it can support is pretty staggering.,WebStorm can be slow to start up, particularly if it has to reindex the site, it can end up slowing my entire computer down for a little while. This is compounded with having a lot of plugins active. WebStorm can be very resource-intensive. It will happily eat up as much memory as you give it, at least to a point. This is fine if you have a beefy development system, but if you don't have a lot of memory or other resources available, WebStorm can sometimes run quite slowly. Once in a while, using "Find in files" doesn't find certain text strings that do exist within project files. It's pretty rare, but it has caused a hassle a couple of times.,10,WebStorm has contributed to us standardizing our development workflow and processes amongst the team, which allows us to more easily work together on projects and build efficiencies that save us time and money throughout our daily work. WebStorm is a standard in the development world, and often developers we bring on are already familiar with JetBrains tools. Less training means new developers can start bringing in revenue sooner, paying for the license cost in no time. Using WebStorm allows our developers to spend less time hunting through the code and looking up documentation, and more time actually writing code and moving projects forward.,PhpStorm, IntelliJ IDEA, Eclipse, NetBeans, Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio IDE, Atom and Komodo IDE,IntelliJ IDEA, PhpStorm, PyCharm, Node, React, Drupal, WordPressWebStorm: A costly but reliable Javascript developerIn the current organization, WebStorm is used by folks who are into web development. It is mainly used by web developers who need the enterprise features that WebStorm offers like quick code generation, debugging, and easy integration to version control like Git. It is primarily used by people who are into development of new javascript frameworks.,Webstorm is suitable for development in new JS frameworks like Angular and reacts with drastic improvement in recent years. It helps in the seamless debugging of test websites. Integration with Git is a breeze. A Git rebase is made so simple and trivial by the integrated merge tool.,As with many more Intellij products, it is a memory hog. It is very resource intensive process. Being a simple JS editor , it has a very high cost. So there will not be a big adoption especially when there are competing open source products offering at per functionality. The code completion can be a little improved.,7,Good for IntelliJ product users who are accustomed to the usual interface, saving in adoption time. Being a JS editor, it could have been a little cheaper, especially when there are comparable free tools in the market. Its integration with version control is excellent resulting in seamless collaboration and unintended code loss.,Sublime Text,Sublime Text, AtomIntelliJ WebStorm, a great tool to develop in an efficient wayHere in my organization, we use IntelliJ to deploy internal and external front-end web applications using Angular. We use this software across all of or web developers and we really love it. WebStorm helps users to create faster and more efficient code and the fact that ReSharper is integrated in this software is just amazing.,Integrates with ReSharper. Cross-platform. Quick to set up. They know what we want as programmers.,CPU Consumer. Expensive. This software is proprietary and cannot be modified.,9,Quick way to develop. Intellisense helps users to avoid a lot of code issues, so less time spent on debugging.,Visual Studio IDE,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft Visual Studio Code, SlackThere's nothing bad that can be said about IntelliJ WebStorm if your web dev project leans on JavaScriptCurrently, it is not listed as a corporate application that we use internally across all departments, but I believe some departments, including ours have purchased single or multi licenses for IntelliJ WebStorm. Within our department we do custom development, support and administration of enterprise web applications to support our corporate internal services. For us, WebStorm was the most practical IDE for us to use, as it accommodated all of our needs to do custom web development. We work a lot with JavaScript (NodeJS, Archibus API), so it's extremely useful for this. As well, we use Gitlab and the built-in plugins for WebStorm allow us to do everything within the IDE, instead of using multiple apps.,Plugins -- especially the Git integration Debuggings for JavaScript, which is very customization. Ability to use Flow Lots of cool syntax highlighting and code styling.,A problem I have with a lot of IDEs is that they seem to go over-kill. Although not entirely a con, a dumbed down version of WebStorm would be useful. Subscription based license,10,As an individual, who works on solo development for certain projects, WebStorm has allowed me to streamline my releases. I've been consistently saving enough time to provide clients with package releases earlier than planned.,Microsoft Visual Studio Code,Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Eclipse, SQL Developer, Notepad++,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Vendor Reputation Third-party ReviewsReviewLocal File history is a blessing. Code Debugging is very smooth. Best part is auto correct options. If you write the wrong, syntax it gives you a hint of what you should use instead.,Integrated Version control system saves me lots of time to resolve conflicts and see different systems side by side. Customisable theme options are very cool and I can work in low light as well.,Sometimes auto formatter creates big problems It's not free. You can have the trial version for a month, but the price is little bit high.,8,It reduces my development time compare to other IDE. There are n numbers of tool for web development but this one is best among all.,C2 ATOM, Visual Studio IDE and IntelliJ IDEA
Unspecified
IntelliJ WebStorm
47 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

IntelliJ WebStorm Reviews

IntelliJ WebStorm
47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 47 vetted IntelliJ WebStorm reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Ben McClure profile photo
February 07, 2019

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "The reigning champion in front-end IDEs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our development team is utilizing IntelliJ WebStorm along with the other applications in the Jetbrains Toolbox. Typically, we use it when we are developing front-end libraries, such as Node.js modules, or other Javascript libraries and applications, all the way through to complete websites in some cases. We move over to PhpStorm or another tool if we need a server-side dynamic language, however.
  • The coding assistance provided by WebStorm is the best around. It facilitates very rapid development without having to hunt through documentation all day.
  • The breadth and depth of plugins, both from JetBrains and from the community, is incredible. There are plugins to do practically anything.
  • It's cross-platform, and using the JetBrains Toolbox makes it so it can auto-update seamlessly without me needing to worry about it.
  • The amount of languages and types of projects it can support is pretty staggering.
  • WebStorm can be slow to start up, particularly if it has to reindex the site, it can end up slowing my entire computer down for a little while. This is compounded with having a lot of plugins active.
  • WebStorm can be very resource-intensive. It will happily eat up as much memory as you give it, at least to a point. This is fine if you have a beefy development system, but if you don't have a lot of memory or other resources available, WebStorm can sometimes run quite slowly.
  • Once in a while, using "Find in files" doesn't find certain text strings that do exist within project files. It's pretty rare, but it has caused a hassle a couple of times.
If you're developing front-end web applications or JavaScript libraries, I think using WebStorm is a no-brainer. The only time I would not use WebStorm for something like that is if I have a reason to move over to PhpStorm, or the full JetBrains IDEA Ultimate. But even in those cases, I'm using the functionality from WebStorm as plugins in the other JetBrains IDEs. I don't think there is any better option for an IDE for front-end development.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag profile photo
January 09, 2019

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "WebStorm: A costly but reliable Javascript developer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the current organization, WebStorm is used by folks who are into web development. It is mainly used by web developers who need the enterprise features that WebStorm offers like quick code generation, debugging, and easy integration to version control like Git. It is primarily used by people who are into development of new javascript frameworks.
  • Webstorm is suitable for development in new JS frameworks like Angular and reacts with drastic improvement in recent years.
  • It helps in the seamless debugging of test websites.
  • Integration with Git is a breeze. A Git rebase is made so simple and trivial by the integrated merge tool.
  • As with many more Intellij products, it is a memory hog. It is very resource intensive process.
  • Being a simple JS editor , it has a very high cost. So there will not be a big adoption especially when there are competing open source products offering at per functionality.
  • The code completion can be a little improved.
Client-side debugging can be easily done from within WebStorm. It can be used to write code in Angular, React and other different Javascript frameworks. The git integration is excellent. The git rebase operation is supported by a robust merge tool. WebStorm being an enterprise product has a cost and it can be optimized to be a little lightweight and fast.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Dave Otis profile photo
December 18, 2018

Review: "IntelliJ WebStorm, a great tool to develop in an efficient way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here in my organization, we use IntelliJ to deploy internal and external front-end web applications using Angular. We use this software across all of or web developers and we really love it. WebStorm helps users to create faster and more efficient code and the fact that ReSharper is integrated in this software is just amazing.
  • Integrates with ReSharper.
  • Cross-platform.
  • Quick to set up.
  • They know what we want as programmers.
  • CPU Consumer.
  • Expensive.
  • This software is proprietary and cannot be modified.
IntelliJ WEbstorm is suited to develop our front-end web application, but this product is not really appropriate to develop our back-end application.
Read Dave Otis's full review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

Review: "There's nothing bad that can be said about IntelliJ WebStorm if your web dev project leans on JavaScript"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is not listed as a corporate application that we use internally across all departments, but I believe some departments, including ours have purchased single or multi licenses for IntelliJ WebStorm. Within our department we do custom development, support and administration of enterprise web applications to support our corporate internal services. For us, WebStorm was the most practical IDE for us to use, as it accommodated all of our needs to do custom web development. We work a lot with JavaScript (NodeJS, Archibus API), so it's extremely useful for this. As well, we use Gitlab and the built-in plugins for WebStorm allow us to do everything within the IDE, instead of using multiple apps.
  • Plugins -- especially the Git integration
  • Debuggings for JavaScript, which is very customization.
  • Ability to use Flow
  • Lots of cool syntax highlighting and code styling.
  • A problem I have with a lot of IDEs is that they seem to go over-kill. Although not entirely a con, a dumbed down version of WebStorm would be useful.
  • Subscription based license
If you're doing any kind of Node development, WebStorm is an essential tool. In my experience, it's also been a valuable asset when using Angular and React. A lot of web dev IDEs do not provide much debugging for JavaScript, and this is where WebStorm just destroys other IDEs. They have the best JavaScript debugging features I've ever used.

It's hard to say that WebStorm is less appropriate for anything, as it's one of JetBrains tailored IDEs. It is literally an IDE exclusively designed for JavaScript languages (although not limited), so it plays a specific role and does this extremely well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

IntelliJ WebStorm: "Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Local File history is a blessing. Code Debugging is very smooth. Best part is auto correct options. If you write the wrong, syntax it gives you a hint of what you should use instead.
  • Integrated Version control system saves me lots of time to resolve conflicts and see different systems side by side.
  • Customisable theme options are very cool and I can work in low light as well.
  • Sometimes auto formatter creates big problems
  • It's not free. You can have the trial version for a month, but the price is little bit high.
It is very easy to adapt for any user.
Read this authenticated review
heather collins profile photo
June 19, 2018

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "Excellent IDE for web development"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company adopted the use of IntelliJ Webstorm roughly three years ago. As our web apps transitioned from the older style Java, JSP based architecture to more Reactive and Javascript style we felt the need to use an IDE that would provide our greatest support in that direction. Webstorm is used in our software development department as the IDE of choice for web and front-end development. Most of our front-end development is done in Angular and Vue.
  • This IDE offers full support for JS frameworks and comes equipped with Git, bash terminal, debugger and auto-linter.
  • No additional plugins are required to work with frameworks such as React, Stencil and AngularJS
  • Docker integration plugin is another great feature that we use regularly in our department.
  • It would be ideal if the IDE was made free of cost like Visual Studio Code from Microsoft. That would really boost its adoption by developers.
  • We've run into issues with using Karma debugging for our test execution framework.
  • The product can be heavy in terms of resource consumption.
Like its name suggests, the IDE is ideally suited for front-end web development work. It comes with native support for typescript language. We've managed to have remote debugging enabled for our applications by using different plugins and it has sped up the development work considerably.
Read heather collins's full review
No photo available
May 08, 2018

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "A Smart IDE"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IntelliJ WebStorm is used extensively at our product development department as the IDE of choice for web and front end development. IntelliJ has a great reputation for creating enterprise quality software and WebStorm is no different. At our company most of the front end development is done in AngularJS and Angular. This IDE offers full feature support for both frameworks and comes equipped with Git, bash terminal, debugger and auto-linter.
  • Provides full feature support for native JavaScript as well as frameworks like Angular, React, Stencil etc.
  • The IDE provides support for auto-linting which is a handy feature to have in order for teams to produce good standardized code.
  • The built in terminal is very handy if you want to deploy the code using Webpack server.
  • The IDE is fairly resource intensive. It has gotten better in the newer versions but still hogs around 500MB at minimum.
  • We've constantly had issues with using the debugger to function correctly while running our Karma tests.
  • The IDE is not free like Visual Studio Code or Eclipse and the cost can be a bit prohibitive for young startups.
The IDE is best suited for JavaScript front end development. It has good support for typescript language as well. The IDE has a wide variety of plugins or add-ons that can be installed to extend functionality although the most regularly used ones are pre-installed. If you are looking for an IDE that handles both back end and front end languages then you might want to consider VS code from Microsoft. The fact that WebStorm is not free might make it less appealing for some developers too.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2018

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "Excellent IDE for web development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a full stack developer. I used Webstorm for javascript and typescript development. Webstorm IDE gives the ability to enable tslint and jshint. I also use it to run karma tests. It is a strong tool that gives you intelligent code completion, on-the-fly error detection, powerful navigation, and refactoring.
  • warning for tslint errors
  • warning for compilation error
  • refactoring ( rename file or class with all his dependencies)
  • Not free :(
Very recommended tool. Excellent IDE for a web developer.
- This IDE offers full support for JS/TS frameworks and comes equipped with Git, bash terminal and debugging options.
- No additional plugins are required.
- Support framework like angular and React
Read this authenticated review
Rahul Chaudhary profile photo
December 05, 2017

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "I love my IntelliJ <3"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IntelliJ Webstorm as the primary development editor for our development purposes. We mainly code in NodeJS and Angular and this was a perfect fit for JavaScript editor. We initially tried many other editors such as Atom, Eclipse, but none of them were giving us the full experience we wanted. Purchasing WebStorm was the best decision we took, because since then we have all the tools we need in one place. We use WebStorm as an editor, debugger, version control, database views, terminal, code-beautifier, linter, and what not.
  • This is the only editor in my opinion which gives you the full development experience if you want to code in JavaScript.
  • WebStorm supports many different linters including "standards". This has been such a blessing for our team. All our PRs look perfect now.
  • WebStorm is very good in design. I love coding in it.
  • It has terminal built right into it. I know many other editors also provide this, but I really like how seamlessly the terminal works out of the box.
  • Most of the plugins you will ever need is already installed right off the box. I haven't installed anything new so far.
  • The rename/reformat functions are very intelligent. I feel very confident renaming something new.
  • There is a "validation" inspector which reports anything as small as spellings. This helps us keep our codebase very-very clean.
  • The auto-complete feature is the worst/weakest thing about WebStorm. It definitely works very much like other editors (not bad when compared to other editors), but I expected more intelligence.
  • It does not natively supports many frameworks (like mocha if I remember correctly), which is okay because obviously they cannot support everything, and you have the option to install the library-support. But the auto-complete/function-definition is very bad. The library-support only adds method calls from the "TypeScript" version. E.g. if a method abc() is defined in a library, but the typescript version that WebStorm downloaded does not have that method, it shows a warning. I would like WebStorm to scan my node_modules and use method-signatures from there instead of typescript signatures.
  • The profile exporter will only export language settings. However I would like WebStorm to also export other settings such as right-margin length and any other setting that I might change. In-fact I would like the profile to be version-controlled locally so that I can keep track of what changes I made over the time period.
Well suited for:
1. Full featured development environment.
2. Cutting edge support for latest frameworks.
3. An out of box program which just works.

Not well suited for:
1. There is no "free" version of this editor. You have to pay yearly fee, but that is very cheap in my opinion.
2. Look for different editors for different languages. This works best for NodeJS and frontend stuff.
3. Small startup companies. I have heard the prices are very high per developer which small companies cannot afford. But I am sure if you just talk to the support team, they can give you a discount.
Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
Tristin Davis profile photo
November 07, 2017

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "Excellent for new Javascript developers or anyone trying to learn a supported framework!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IntelliJ WebStorm in our web development department for its wonderful support for Vue.js.
  • Vue.js is our primary use of WebStorm. It provides excellent IntelliSense and framework support for our primary architecture.
  • Our secondary use for WebStorm is for JQuery based applications.
  • WebStorm is a bit heavy. At any given point it needs between 700 MB and 800 MB to function efficiently.
  • At time, the IDE may go a little haywire and require a restart to function properly again.
  • Better framework documentation in the editor would be a welcomed addition.
If you need one of the supported framework's support in your editor then IntelliJ WebStorm is an excellent editor. It will "save you from yourself" in many areas and ease the learning curve for many frameworks.
Read Tristin Davis's full review
Foster Haines profile photo
October 25, 2017

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "Incredible JetBrains Product"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebStorm is being used in my team as we are the only area of the organization that is working on Node/JS applications. WebStorm address the business problem of needing a JavaScript IDE without the overhead and significantly cheaper licensing model compared to Visual Studio. My team and I are more productive and efficient at JavaScript development as a result of using WebStorm.
  • JS intellisense
  • Easy to add plug-ins for the IDE
  • Seems to be responsive and fast in the editor and debugging mode
  • Seems to take a while to load up the IDE initially - I've seen this on both MacOS and Windows 10
WebStorm is well suited for JavaScript application development. I've enjoyed JetBrains ReSharper for VS for many years now and WebStorm takes all that familiarity and applies to it's own JavaScript IDE. While the layout differs from VS, I still feel comfortable and familiar with WebStorm.
Read Foster Haines's full review
Swapnil Pharate profile photo
December 19, 2017

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "IDE for complete full stack web development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s an individual's choice to use Webstorm for development. It’s not mandatory or imposed by any department.
  • Number of languages supported
  • Number of web frameworks supported
  • Smart editing
  • Debugging
  • Integration with other tools
  • Little slow while opening files for the first time
  • Opens new window if you open file from outside
  • Costs money
Full stack web development socially for startup where all latest web frameworks and languages are being used for development
Read Swapnil Pharate's full review
No photo available
November 29, 2017

IntelliJ WebStorm Review: "JetBrains makes great products, and WebStorm is no exception."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am the senior developer for our company and I use WebStorm for all web (i.e. JavaScript) development. I've used PyCharm for a number of years and when I came across a web application I needed to develop, I checked out JetBrain's options. WebStorm was their offering for web dev so I naturally tried it out. I absolutely loved it and purchased it right away. I use it almost daily now and am a huge fan and it really improved my workflow.
  • Provides all the standard IDE benefits (code completion, object awareness, etc.).
  • Allows for modules and libraries to be added to projects.
  • Has the same standard interface that JetBrains has really perfected so it's a natural move from PyCharm to WebStorm.
  • I haven't run into a situation where I'm unable to figure out how to do what I want. I haven't come across any negatives yet.
The only place where you might not want to use it is if you are making a single file or a very very small project that could otherwise be handled in notepad. Using an IDE in this situation might be an overkill.

But all our code is saved to GitHub so there's no reason not to use it.
Read this authenticated review

IntelliJ WebStorm Scorecard Summary

About IntelliJ WebStorm

IntelliJ WebStorm Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No