Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Intercom

Intercom

Overview

What is Intercom?

Intercom is an AI-first customer service platform that enhances the customer experience and improves operational efficiency, built on a single AI system with three major components: AI Agent, AI Copilot and AI Analyst (coming soon) to deliver customer service.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Love Intercom!

10 out of 10
April 06, 2024
Incentivized
We use it to handle all incoming correspondence from customers, including some social media integrations, and we also use it to handle all …
Continue reading

High Cost, Low Value

3 out of 10
April 01, 2024
Incentivized
we use it on the home page and in the service section. <br>the product is pretty good, but the customer service and post sale support is …
Continue reading

Intercom review

10 out of 10
March 29, 2024
Incentivized
We use Intercom as our go to help desk, communication with our customers across two different apps and a website. I can't imagine our …
Continue reading

Good Product

9 out of 10
March 26, 2024
Incentivized
I use Intercom to receive messages from customers and "chat" with them. The customer came to us asking technical and product questions …
Continue reading

Works good!

8 out of 10
March 08, 2024
Incentivized
I work at Customer Success and use Intercom as a tool to communicate with my clients. I use quite a few features. Through snoozing, I plan …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Email support (108)
    8.8
    88%
  • Ticket creation and submission (106)
    8.3
    83%
  • Ticket response (111)
    7.9
    79%
  • External knowledge base (116)
    7.4
    74%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Essential

$39

Cloud
per month per seat

Advanced

$99

Cloud
per month per seat

Expert

$139

Cloud
per month per seat

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.intercom.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Incident and problem management

Streamlining ticketing and service restoration processes

8.1
Avg 7.9

Self Help Community

Features that allow customers to self-service for support issues.

7.3
Avg 7.7

Multi-Channel Help

Features related to providing customer service and support via different communication channels. Communications are organized by ticket/customer/channel for the convenience of agents.

8.2
Avg 7.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Intercom?

Intercom brings AI-first Customer Service to improve experiences for customers, support agents, and managers. The AI-first platform is built on a single AI system, with three major components:

AI Agent: Customers no longer wait or get deflected. AI Chatbot provides instant responses, 24/7, to most questions. Only complex interactions transition to tickets.

AI Copilot: Agents no longer manually, slowly look things up. AI Copilot is ever-present, connected to all data and systems, and provides information in real time. Instant ramp time for new agents, and agents needing to know new things.

AI Analyst (Coming soon): Leaders no longer manually compile reports without full coverage. AI Insights proactively provides a holistic view across 100% of conversations, with clear suggested areas of improvement.

Intercom states that customer service teams from more than 25,000 global organizations, including Atlassian, Amazon and Lyft Business, currently use Intercom to deliver efficient and personal customer experiences at scale.

Intercom Features

  • Supported: Operational efficiency: Uses AI, Bots and Rules to reduce support costs by freeing up support teams from repetitive questions and tasks.
  • Supported: Productivity: Helps to ensure service teams only work on high value questions in a collaborative Inbox.
  • Supported: Solves known customer issues by helping them before they get in touch: Sends proactive messages to get ahead of known issues and reduce inbound support volume.
  • Supported: Customer engagement by providing direction: Shows customers what to do next without waiting for them to contact support and ask.
  • Supported: Customer satisfaction through conversational support: Answers questions immediately in the channel they arise, or the channel that customers prefer.
  • Supported: Cohesive customer service: Supports working together in one platform.

Intercom Screenshots

Screenshot of AI Agent - The agent resolves 50% of support volume.Screenshot of AI Copilot - A personal AI assistant for every support agent.Screenshot of Omnichannel inbox - AI-enhanced to increase productivity.Screenshot of Tickets - Intercom tickets are designed for collaboration so complex issues are resolved faster.Screenshot of Help Center -  The help center powers AI and self-serve support.Screenshot of Workflows - Automations are built using the Intercom no code visual builder.

Intercom Video

Intercom Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesArabic, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, German (Formal), Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latviski, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and Англи хэл (Mongolian).

Frequently Asked Questions

Intercom is an AI-first customer service platform that enhances the customer experience and improves operational efficiency, built on a single AI system with three major components: AI Agent, AI Copilot and AI Analyst (coming soon) to deliver customer service.

Zendesk Suite, Freshdesk, and HubSpot Service Hub are common alternatives for Intercom.

Reviewers rate Email support highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Intercom are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(653)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 262)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mateus Mateus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently in my company we use Intercom to create and manage user segmentations, monitor their engagement in our solution, create and manage communication campaigns for events, courses, rich materials, product news and everything else that is necessary to communicate with our users.
In addition, we also manage all onboarding of new users with the support of pop up, tour and checklist tools.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it strictly for support. We have it built into our application and have the chat bubble on the screen for logged in users. We also use the tool frequently for banner announcements to our customers.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom for three primary cases. The first use as as a help center, developing a number of articles explaining how to best use our product. To complement these articles, we create tours and tool tips to help users out during their use of the product. Secondly, we use Intercom to track users and send them emails about changes, outages, and feature updates. Lastly we use Intercom to live chat with users when they have questions or encounter any problems.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom to chat with our customers and assist in trouble shooting products, explaining in detail about products and create quotes. This is our main instrument for communication and it is used daily. We use the side conversations email, snooze and creates cases functions.
April 10, 2024

Love Intercom!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom for reactive and proactive support. We need to be able to consistently and effectively communicate with our customers and make it simple and easy for them to reach out to us. We were using a different product that made it hard to filter our proactive messages effectively and didn't have as much functionality and our customers weren't having a great experience. We switched to Intercom to better create multiple campaigns, like product updates and onboarding paths.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Fastpaced, continously developing, intelligent and UX friendly. Intercom cements itself as one of the great ones out there when it comes to customer support and customer engagement. It has become one of the most important pillars in our business, not only for providing customer support, but also to gather analytics from customer usage. There's then also the endless integration opportunities, where the integration towards crm is the most outstanding one. Highly recommend Intercom for your business.
April 06, 2024

Love Intercom!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to handle all incoming correspondence from customers, including some social media integrations, and we also use it to handle all published articles for our help center. This is especially helpful as customers have access to help themselves before needing further assistance from us, which is a win win for everyone.
April 01, 2024

High Cost, Low Value

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use it on the home page and in the service section. <br>the product is pretty good, but the customer service and post sale support is terrible. the Cust Success Rep refuses to give his contact info and you always have to escalate the issue to his manager for a response. time will tell if they will remain with us past contract renewal, but at the moment i would vote against. PS&gt; their integrations are very limited... check carefully if need any APIs.
March 29, 2024

Intercom review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom as our go to help desk, communication with our customers across two different apps and a website. I can't imagine our product without Intercom anymore. It solves a major challenge for us - communicating with our customers efficiently. We love everything about it - from the routing conversations feature, to letting us update our customers about the current status in the product, etc.
March 26, 2024

Good Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Intercom to receive messages from customers and "chat" with them. The customer came to us asking technical and product questions that we address through internal investigation, like for example issues they have, new features, etc.
Dineshan Sithamparanathan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We mainly use Intercome to support and engage customers across the web and mobile. Intercom's conversational interface and workflows make communicating with customers easy and natural. The breadth of integrations with complementary tools has extended Intercom’s capabilities for us. Being able to incorporate solutions like Slack is the core of our stack makes Intercom more than a standalone application.
March 08, 2024

Works good!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I work at Customer Success and use Intercom as a tool to communicate with my clients. I use quite a few features. Through snoozing, I plan further contact with each customer. As an organization, we use FIN. I also use filtering. Can't forget about macro too.
Eileen Romito | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been using Intercom for 3 years to support the users of our SaaS platform and it's integral to our day to day ability to keep our customers happy. We absolutely love how easily it integrates into our application directly, so to the user their experience is seamless, and on our end we have all of the information we need about that contact right at our fingertips during the course of the interaction. In the end, this increases product adoption among the real estate agents that work under our real estate brokerage customers.
Branden Abushanab | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Intercom has significantly helps our organization scale our CS (customer success) operations. We have streamlined all of our internal operations using the new tool and are grateful to the Intercom's team in supporting our team's growth. The tool is incredibly easy to learn and train on.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom for its knowledgebase and support functionality. It addresses our need for a centralized system with access for both our support people and our partners support people as we scale.
I love the automations, the AI functionality and ease of building our knowledge base. It's also been easy to set up and to manage permissions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Intercom for all customer communications and marketing emails. We strongly leverage the in-app communication and the help article feature. At this time, we do not use the chatbot feature, but we would be interested in it in the future. We used to use the rules feature, and I am trying to update these so we can use the platform more efficiently. I really enjoy Intercom as its interface is very easy to use and comfortable to learn. The addition of AI tools also helps make communication with customers on all scales (short & quick, to long and drawn-out) very easy to manage and complete. I don't have too much feedback in terms of recommendations, as we currently do not use enough of the features to critique them.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
There are three issues we wanted to solve using intercom:1. Multilingual support page/support2. Collection and analysis of user behavior logs3. Securing a means of communication with users who do not respond via email. Currently, there are still some parts that have not been completely resolved for 2, but most of 1 and 3 have been achieved.
February 19, 2024

Hard to top!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Intercom is used to host our help center and our live chat functionality. The tool allows us to easily host guides in multiple languages and supports our 2500 global clients. Without Intercom, we'd really struggle to viably return support messages to this volume of clients.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Setting up Customer Service Management, Chat and Email ticketing support, creating internal and external knowledge base and integrating different third-party software to connect data from another software and do the transaction through Intercom. The only issue that I can think of, whenever we need support, the response from your customer service does not respond right away.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
WE USE INTERCOM TO SOLVE OUR CLIENT'S DOUBTS USING OUR GOLF MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE -SAAS- THAT IS QUITE COMPLEX TO CONFIGURE. SO, WE RECEIVE OUR CLIENTS' DOUBTS AND PROBLEMS, AND WE TRY TO SOLVE THEM WITH THE LEAST HUMAN INTERACTION POSSIBLE.
February 12, 2024

Intercom review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Intercom to handle conversations related to app subscription issues. Refunds, malfunctions, suggestions, problems with log in. I need to help customers to solve their issues so they can use the app the best way possible. We also use Intercom to understand who are the non renewal customers and communicate with them.
Return to navigation