Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Intercom

Intercom

Overview

What is Intercom?

Intercom is an AI-first customer service platform that enhances the customer experience and improves operational efficiency, built on a single AI system with three major components: AI Agent, AI Copilot and AI Analyst (coming soon) to deliver customer service.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Love Intercom!

10 out of 10
April 06, 2024
Incentivized
We use it to handle all incoming correspondence from customers, including some social media integrations, and we also use it to handle all …
Continue reading

High Cost, Low Value

3 out of 10
April 01, 2024
Incentivized
we use it on the home page and in the service section. <br>the product is pretty good, but the customer service and post sale support is …
Continue reading

Intercom review

10 out of 10
March 29, 2024
Incentivized
We use Intercom as our go to help desk, communication with our customers across two different apps and a website. I can't imagine our …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Email support (109)
    8.8
    88%
  • Ticket creation and submission (107)
    8.3
    83%
  • Ticket response (113)
    7.7
    77%
  • External knowledge base (117)
    7.5
    75%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Essential

$39

Cloud
per month per seat

Advanced

$99

Cloud
per month per seat

Expert

$139

Cloud
per month per seat

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.intercom.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Incident and problem management

Streamlining ticketing and service restoration processes

8.2
Avg 7.9

Self Help Community

Features that allow customers to self-service for support issues.

7.4
Avg 7.7

Multi-Channel Help

Features related to providing customer service and support via different communication channels. Communications are organized by ticket/customer/channel for the convenience of agents.

8.1
Avg 7.6
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Intercom?

Intercom brings AI-first Customer Service to improve experiences for customers, support agents, and managers. The AI-first platform is built on a single AI system, with three major components:

AI Agent: Customers no longer wait or get deflected. AI Chatbot provides instant responses, 24/7, to most questions. Only complex interactions transition to tickets.

AI Copilot: Agents no longer manually, slowly look things up. AI Copilot is ever-present, connected to all data and systems, and provides information in real time. Instant ramp time for new agents, and agents needing to know new things.

AI Analyst (Coming soon): Leaders no longer manually compile reports without full coverage. AI Insights proactively provides a holistic view across 100% of conversations, with clear suggested areas of improvement.

Intercom states that customer service teams from more than 25,000 global organizations, including Atlassian, Amazon and Lyft Business, currently use Intercom to deliver efficient and personal customer experiences at scale.

Intercom Features

  • Supported: Operational efficiency: Uses AI, Bots and Rules to reduce support costs by freeing up support teams from repetitive questions and tasks.
  • Supported: Productivity: Helps to ensure service teams only work on high value questions in a collaborative Inbox.
  • Supported: Solves known customer issues by helping them before they get in touch: Sends proactive messages to get ahead of known issues and reduce inbound support volume.
  • Supported: Customer engagement by providing direction: Shows customers what to do next without waiting for them to contact support and ask.
  • Supported: Customer satisfaction through conversational support: Answers questions immediately in the channel they arise, or the channel that customers prefer.
  • Supported: Cohesive customer service: Supports working together in one platform.

Intercom Screenshots

Screenshot of AI Agent - The agent resolves 50% of support volume.Screenshot of AI Copilot - A personal AI assistant for every support agent.Screenshot of Omnichannel inbox - AI-enhanced to increase productivity.Screenshot of Tickets - Intercom tickets are designed for collaboration so complex issues are resolved faster.Screenshot of Help Center -  The help center powers AI and self-serve support.Screenshot of Workflows - Automations are built using the Intercom no code visual builder.

Intercom Video

Intercom Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesArabic, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, Bulgarian, Catalan, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, German (Formal), Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latviski, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Simplified Chinese, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and Англи хэл (Mongolian).

Frequently Asked Questions

Intercom is an AI-first customer service platform that enhances the customer experience and improves operational efficiency, built on a single AI system with three major components: AI Agent, AI Copilot and AI Analyst (coming soon) to deliver customer service.

Zendesk Suite, Freshdesk, and HubSpot Service Hub are common alternatives for Intercom.

Reviewers rate Email support highest, with a score of 8.8.

The most common users of Intercom are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(657)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 265)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to understand UI
  • Many different features that add convince to our work, like leaving notes for example.
  • Everything is working quickly and efficiently without any bugs.
  • I really like that you can email people through Intercom, it's very convenient.
  • I think the most annoying part is when you need to change a team for a closed conversation, which results in opening the conversation again.
  • Sometimes, data about a person talking to you takes a lot of time to load.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Chat - embedded in app and accessible
  • Support Articles - easy to serve and surface to customers
  • Easy to use GUI. Very intuitive.
  • Product Tours were initially difficult for us to use as we have a wildcard in our URL but this seems like it might be resolved.
  • There are only three layers to the help desk, more would be nice.
  • I'd love to see more outreach from Intercom. We get the generic messages, but I don't know that I've ever had a real human connect with me about our account.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Intercom Fin AI is an amazing boost for our CS team. The answers Intercom Fin provides are so well worded and have helped resolve a lot of questions our customers have.
  • Creating product tours is really easy and intuitive, and though we haven't launched them yet I'm excited to measure their impact on our customer journeys.
  • Being able to target users very specifically by using filters and custom attributes allows us to get our messaging to the right audience and tailor our onboarding experiences.
  • Sometimes our proactive support shows up differently for different users, and I don't really understand why. It's nice that you can see what step someone had an issue on, but it's not always clear how to fix that.
  • I'd love to see a quicker customer support reply time than a few hours, as sometimes I get blocked by an issue and have to wait for it to get resolved.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • I like the way we can integrate our application's data into Intercom and make rules from that data.
  • I like the way it tracks support conversations, even if the user has logged off.
  • It's been very reliable, and I don't recall ever having an outage.
  • When a customer gets an email from Intercom and replies to it, often, that email address becomes the default email address for my name in their contact list. So in the future when they email me, instead of going to my email address, it goes to Intercom. I mean, I get the message, but these are conversations that aren't necessarily support related, etc.... I get this is a complicated issue. It involves how the user uses their email client, etc... But I've occasionally been frustrated by it.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Creating articles
  • Creating/Tracking emails
  • Allowing for live chat, and letting those chats be auto assigned to representatives in our company
  • More customization in email and article creation
  • Tooltips seem to regularly lose their placement
  • I wish it would stay in dark mode across all aspects of the platform
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • It organizes the conversation threads with users very well, keeping all the relevant information on a single screen.
  • allows you to customize the interface to make the operator's work easier
  • It has many reporting options to analyze the results
  • shortcut key combinations
  • more search options among conversations
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • organizes multiple chats
  • provides extensive details of account information
  • provides great shortcut options
  • give better alert options when customer is responding in chat
  • add different color options for backgrounds to separate menus
  • add pop up chats to separate chat window
April 10, 2024

Love Intercom!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ability to filter audience
  • Very spiffy proactive support tools
  • User friendly interface
  • Excellent communications about Intercom product updates
  • I don't handle this directly, so take this with a grain of salt, but it seems like the integration process can be intense just based on second hand information
  • Would love to see some Hubspot integration!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Reporting has improved dramatically over the past year
  • Take feedback from their users and implement the changes
  • Organizes teams and flows easily
  • Macros and shortcuts are easy to use
  • Merging accounts and the duplication of messages
  • Making chat vs. email more clear
April 06, 2024

Love Intercom!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Respond to any issues in a very quick manner.
  • The organization of the platform is very clear and things aren't hard to find.
  • There are rarely any technical issues so everything always goes smoothly.
  • Grouping conversations together in the inbox if they're from the same email address would be nice. We have several customers who like to send multiple messages so if they could automatically group, that would be awesome.
  • Have the ability to add an integration to link to the most recent order associated with their account would be awesome.
  • Along the same line, have a link to access their account in our customer database software.
  • The ability to delay sending the email. So say up to 60 seconds, so we can undo the message and edit anything if we notice a typo or something right after we hit send.
April 01, 2024

High Cost, Low Value

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • requires you to work without their support
  • does not provide you with help post support
  • limits the APIs you can work with
  • Much better customer support
  • Your dedicated success rep should provide their contact info
  • invest in launch, versus going straight to more add on sales (then they call you right away)
March 29, 2024

Intercom review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Help desk features - live chat with customer support
  • Routing and handling many conversations / tickets at the same time
  • Analytics of each individual customer support agent
  • Pricing - it is not a cheap product and more features could be included in lower tier packages
  • Customer segmentation is not as simple as I would like it to be
  • For being a help desk / customer support company, they are not the fastest at responding to any questions we might have
March 26, 2024

Good Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Real-time communication
  • Easy to use
  • Clear interface
  • Sound notification when a message comes
  • Organize messages in categories
  • Better sound alert when a message comes
  • Ability to change messages after sent
Dineshan Sithamparanathan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Bot and the al powered features
  • Centralize customer data and ability to integrate
  • Great user-centric design and the ability to integrate with a variety of tools.
  • Need to solve the latency issue
  • Bit expensive and complex for solo and small business
February 29, 2024

Intercom

Josh Rosen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Organized messages
  • First in, first out
  • Displaying images
  • Macros pre-established to reduce repetitive typing
  • Area to view closed messages
  • Undo option remaining longer after closing messages
  • Ability to mark messages as unread
Branden Abushanab | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Workflows -> customizing the user experience
  • CSAT (customer satisfaction score) -> very easy to collect data and analyze
  • Help Center Article creation
  • Reporting and analyzing data from the tool is very easy
  • The ability to merge conversations would be nice.
  • Customizing the survey for CSAT a bit more would be nice.
  • Being able to send over survey ratings using the Slack integration where a link to open conversation would be nice.
  • A daily CSAT high level overview email would be nice.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ease of adding articles and creating collections
  • AI responses
  • Ticketing!
  • Jira integration
  • My only feedback is making articles and collectiosn easier by connectign to google drive, I need to maintain our documents locally and having to copy and paste and reformat into Intercom is time consuming.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Sort and manage in-app conversation.
  • Leverage specific tags and filters to allow seamless transitions between products.
  • Allow great visibility between users and leads.
  • Possibly better languages support.
  • Don't use enough feature to provide RFI.
  • Nothing to add.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Ease of searching, filtering and exporting users
  • Users can be identified and registered by company.
  • We can send messages to individual companies and users.
  • Customizability of showing/hiding the support chat widget - Some of it is currently supported, but code implementation is required for things like displaying it on your body when you press a specific button on the site.
  • I can't get logs for some users, but I don't know the cause.
  • Help page design is poorly customizable
Return to navigation