InterSystems IRIS

InterSystems IRIS

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.3 out of 100
Top Rated
InterSystems IRIS

Overview

Recent Reviews

Advanced Integration Platform

8 out of 10
January 17, 2022
Our team likes the ease of use to update and manage the database of InterSystems IRIS Platform. We can put a large amount of different …
Continue reading

Fast, Solved and Cheap System

8 out of 10
November 28, 2021
InterSystems IRIS is a high-speed and user-oriented platform. Being a cloud-based system is one of its best features. A system that …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Popular Features

View all 9 features

Database security (29)

8.1
81%

Performance optimization tools (29)

7.9
79%

User management (29)

7.9
79%

Database change management (29)

7.7
77%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of InterSystems IRIS, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is InterSystems IRIS?

InterSystems IRIS is a complete cloud-first data platform that includes a multi-model transactional data…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

2 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is DBeaver?

DBeaver is a universal database management and development tool from the company of the same name. DBeaver is available free through its community edition (Apache 2.0 license) and through commercial editions, available with upgrades and customer support.

What is Neo4j?

Neo4j is an open source embeddable graph database developed by Neo Technologies based in San Mateo, California with an office in Sweden.

Features Scorecard

Database Development

7.6
76%

Database Administration

7.8
78%

Product Details

What is InterSystems IRIS?

InterSystems IRIS is a complete cloud-first data platform that includes a multi-model transactional data management engine, an application development platform, and interoperability engine, and an open analytics platform.

It is is the next generation of InterSystems' data management software. It includes the capabilities of InterSystems Cache and Ensemble, plus new capabilities that aim to to make it easy to build and deploy cloud based, analytics-intensive enterprise applications with greater performance and scalability.

InterSystems IRIS provides a set of APIs to operate with transactional persistent data simultaneously: key-value, relational, object, document, multidimensional.


Data can be managed by SQL, Java, node.js, .NET, C++, Python, and native server-side ObjectScript language.


InterSystems IRIS includes an Interoperability engine and modules to build AI solutions. InterSystems IRIS provides features for horizontal scalability (sharding, ECP) and provides High Availability features, Business intelligence, transaction support, and backup.

InterSystems IRIS Features

Database Development Features

  • Supported: Version control tools
  • Supported: Test data generation
  • Supported: Performance optimization tools
  • Supported: Schema maintenance
  • Supported: Database change management

Database Administration Features

  • Supported: User management
  • Supported: Database security
  • Supported: Database status reporting
  • Supported: Change management

InterSystems IRIS Integrations

InterSystems IRIS Competitors

InterSystems IRIS Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, Docker
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesAfrica, Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Mexico, Middle East, Germany, India, Japan, Europe, South America, UK, USA
Supported LanguagesCzech, German, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is InterSystems IRIS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Database security highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses InterSystems IRIS?

The most common users of InterSystems IRIS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (48)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 29)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We create ERP software primarily for the millwork industry. We need a database that performs well whether our customer has five end-users or a thousand. InterSystems IRIS (and before it, Cache) scale well both in performance and cost. It provides everything you need to create your own applications, including plenty of options for interoperability with other systems and built-in business intelligence tools. It is a multimodel database in which the various models are always synchronized. Even using its own prepackaged IDE, you are free to develop in ObjectScript, Python, SQL, javascript, and Java. For object-oriented programmers like me, it's very easy to pick up and learn everything you need to know.
  • Intuitive
  • Reliable
  • Interoperable
  • Scalable
  • Flexible
  • Licensing
  • Documentation of certain features
  • Pricing
IRIS is well-suited to a wide range of applications, especially where database performance and scalability are a must. If you're in health care, this is definitely the product for you. There are versions of it with built-in support for a lot of healthcare industry standards. If you're only creating a very small application and aren't expecting it to grow, you're probably overshooting with IRIS, however even in those cases, there is a community edition that may be more appropriate.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use InterSystems IRIS as a cloud-based database together with its multi-model transactional data management engine that allows me to interconnect systems with great ease, as well as flexible access to the different types of data that we deal with in the company. It also provides an application development platform, which I use with a VSCode implementation that seems wonderful to me. It has an interoperability engine that allows us, in a visual way, to carry out multiple processes within the application in a very visual and interactive way.
  • Low maintenance required
  • Good interconection with other systems
  • Database Gestion
  • Multi connection
An appropriate scenario based on our experience is that it allows communication with multiple health machines and has a centralized database, which allows managing all kinds of data structures and is simple to use. A less appropriate scenario has been the use of IRIS to bypass the intended sector.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use InterSystems IRIS to develop solutions to interoperability problems within hospital trusts. The solutions I develop allow for more efficient working systems within hospitals which leads to better patient care. The InterSystems engine contains a great many tools to enable me to fulfill this role and a huge amount of documentation to enable me to learn and use the systems effectively.
  • HL7 interoperability.
  • Documentation.
  • REST API integration.
  • Updates to ObjectScript compiler.
  • Some areas of documentation are missing/sparse.
It is well suited to taking hospital patient data and automatically routing it to demographic systems as well as the intended destination. It can perform a great many operations on the data automatically to suit the hospital's needs, and thus reduce labour costs for the hospital on an ongoing basis.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using it with Visual Studio code for database integration for my client's project.
  • Integration over cloud
  • Value for money
  • Low maintenance required
  • Some issues with Java connection sometimes, which can be improved
  • Product has a few security vulnerabilities with Apache
  • Performance can also be improved a bit
I am using InterSystems IRIS for application integration and database integration with Visual Studio code for my client's project. It is well suited for the project where people are not experts, as it requires less maintenance and less coding skills.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team likes the ease of use to update and manage the database of InterSystems IRIS Platform. We can put a large amount of different data in a single stable database that can be queried by several different platforms. It is also quite stable and works well in our organization.
  • Amazing for complex data consumption
  • Easy to use interface
  • Competent support and large community
  • Hard to work with platform for beginner
  • Valid documentation and tutorials are hard to find
  • Not easy [to] configure security with a out-standard configuration
I find the speed of the database to be the most attractive feature. The time it takes to run queries is much faster than others with similar database functions. It is able to integrate with all of our back-end systems and has been beyond stable in our on-prem environment. Overall interface can be improved a bit.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The use of InterSystems IRIS within the company has contributed to the improvement in the information analysis, storage, organization and flow control processes through defined channels, providing fluidity in the use and management of information. In the commercial area, it has raised productivity to 100% while maintaining the reliability of the information through a solid, accurate, and reliable database. At the same time, cloud storage is optimal, providing security and protection of confidential data.
  • cloud storage, providing support and data security.
  • information analysis and autonomy in processes
  • high performance database management
  • simplify your most demanding data-intensive applications.
  • makes it easier to build high-performance
  • creation and interface with users to access the system.
  • more defined information flow schemes.
  • increased security with cloud storage
1. It is well suited in the area of information analysis, database creation and information protection in the cloud, allowing the clearest and most efficient information to be obtained.

2. The storage security has to be improved and the interface with the end user the creation of the user is quite slow.
December 08, 2021

Gem for Data Management

Priya Kakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I found InterSystems IRIS is one of the best [tools] for data management in an organization. Easy to use interface and provides high performance for managing data. You can easily execute database operations very quickly and reliably. It is easy to integrate with [another system] for providing [large-scale] deployment to the customers.
  • Database operation is really quick[.]
  • You can easily integrate it with other machine learning applications[.]
  • It supports all programming language hence it's a gem for all developers[.]
  • Interface can be improved a bit[.]
It is best suited in the scenario where a single interface is required for providing [a complete end-to-end] solution to the customers. You don't need [a] separate platform to write code or [perform] database operations. All you need is InterSystems IRIS software and you are done. You can also use analytics functionality which is one of the greatest [features] which many customers need for their solution[.]
December 08, 2021

Inter Systems IRIS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Inter Systems IRIS is used in our organization to be able to create and provide a new database for our personal use and access. Since its a multi-model transactional data management engine, everything is very easy and accessible. The programming and the data input to the system [are] just a breeze when it comes to working with this platform.
  • Provides Backup and Recovery[.]
  • It has Multiple Programming Languages Supported[.]
  • The ability of Data Migration[.]
  • Permission restrictions
The database is massive and it allows for an [increasing inefficiency]. When assigned to a self-performance analytical engine, real-time [decision-making] is allowed. Plus the BI capabilities and creating APIs [are] as simple as can be! What I like most is the reliability it has to offer. The Software provides a great overall user experience.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
it is a fantastic platform the helps me to upload a large amount of data and media management and integrate with multiple applications simultaneously executing [at] a fast speed on a secure way [without] compromising our [client's] personal information, data can be managed by SQL, java, nodes.js, .NET and multidimensional.
  • The speed of performance is good and fast and reliable[.]
  • Having an [immense] amount of features integrated with the solution[.]
  • Its easy to use and fully documented, and has a learning platform[.]
  • Its not easy configure security with a out-standard configuration[.]
  • Would like to see more features to support the Developers.
  • You need to copy paste classes to the fields instead of a rolldown in some cases[.]
[The] platform can solve a lot of modern problems, [creating] REST interfaces is very [easy] and [open] a lot of possibilities, there are too [many] other solutions as the connection with NodeJs. Resuming this is a great tool in all aspects, the management is very easy and understandable to everyone, unless you configure the admin settings properly at the beginning you'll get a lot of permission restrictions later.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have worked with InterSystems IRIS in several organizations. InterSystems IRIS is a great application that has helped these organizations to operate efficiently and profitably. This software has collected, integrated, managed, and analyzed data, which has improved decision-making in those organizations. As a result, their strategies and visibility have improved, which has increased revenue as well.
  • InterSystems IRIS operates efficiently, therefore, it does not crash often. However, if there are any issues with the software they are resolved in a short period of time since InterSystems IRIS' support team is very responsive.
  • InterSystems IRIS collects and analyzes data, which improves decision making.
  • InterSystems IRIS is very secure. Therefore, the company's data is protected.
  • There should be better tutorials so that people can learn how to use the application correctly and derive their benefits from using the application.
  • The administration portal is difficult to use, therefore, this should be improved.
  • The number of themes in the application should be increased.
InterSystems IRIS is well suited for organizations that want to use data to increase efficiency and profitability. The InterSystems IRIS does a great job at collecting and analyzing data, which can help organizations to make better decisions. Consequently, organizations can develop better strategies that will increase their revenue, if they utilize this application.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is a high-speed and user-oriented platform. Being a cloud-based system is one of its best features. A system that facilitates rapid data processing and quick action. In my opinion, I recommend that users who use this type of use definitely use this system. Its interface is definitely not difficult to use, it has an easy and understandable appearance.
  • A quick watch system
  • Cloud-based operation
  • See everything as all in one
  • Minor system bugs
  • Sometimes server lags
We were able to monitor our data on our server very quickly via IRIS and take quick action in our most critical time regarding the events. Apart from that, since it works in real-time, I was able to view our data in the most accurate way. When we presented to another brand, the IRIS interface was very organized, so I could easily use our data on the presentations without making any changes to it.
Kyle Wagner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is our primary database backbone and utilized in all aspects of our organization. We have written Object Script to provide the business layer to our home grown accounting, procurement, distribution, warehouseing systems. The flexibility of InterSystems IRIS has allowed us to tackle any challenge and desire our company has facced, allowing us to interface with other systems, provide access to our data across multiple platforms and perform with the speed required to meet our needs.
  • Connecting with mutliple vendor platforms and systems allowing us to consume and provide data as needed.
  • Allowed us to implement our own RESTful api engine to server data to our internal applications.
  • Setting up their recommendations for high availability allow us to perform server maintenance with minimal down time to our users.
  • InterSystems documentation has some room to improve but has been on the right track over the last couple of years.
  • InterSystems needs to find a way to get more developers in volved so that it is easier to find help when searching for ObjectScript developers.
  • Sometimes if feels like system features are forgotten about without being completed. What is a hot idea and new feature one year becomes half baked and forgortten about going forward. Example: High availability/mirrored environment with the use of Productions.
Intersystems is well suited for creating a data structures to fit a specific need and then provide the capability to load or export that information to whatever systems need it. InterSystems IRIS may not be the best if there are not users/developers available to build the systems nessesary to access the data and understand what it is and how to utilize it. Requires a more technical expertise than other platforms.
The InterSystems WRC has always been helpful and responsive. The folks I have spoken with are always understanding of our needs and questions and regardless of if the question is simple or complex we are always met with the same professionalism and helpfulness every time. I have no hesitations contacting InterSystems for help!
October 26, 2021

Best in the business

Aadeeb Siddiqui | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Intersystems IRIS for some time now and are quite satisfied with the performance so far. It provides a single stack environment within the core of the system to derive business intelligence and unstructured data capabilities. We are impressed with its potential to develop strong business objects. IRIS offers a higher level of integrated functionality and a robust connectivity engine to the users.
  • Allows to manage data by Java, SQL, node.js, .NET, C++, Python, and others.
  • Includes Cache database and facilitates prompt monitoring of the incoming/outgoing messages.
  • Provides an array of API to operate with transactional persistent data.
  • Single stack environment for providing business intelligence into the core of the system.
  • Transactional support is commendable
  • Arduous to modify the generated reports.
  • New technology difficult to understand and implement.
  • UX in the administration should be more simplified.
Intersystems IRIS offers a strong mechanism for creating API and an open analytical program. I shall anytime recommend it for storing data the fastest way. For deploying cd based analytics, it offers InterSystems Cache and Ensemble and allows you to run the analytics intensive applications with much ease, and derive better performance and higher scalability.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use InterSystems IRIS on all our IT worldwide installations across several departments. Currently used as our Healcare DB in our diagnostics laboratory installations. It serves as a communication hub and lab monitoring to communicate with all the other equipment including laboratory analyzers, other middleware, hospital IT solutions, lab IT solutions and several other hosts.
  • New docker releases
  • Fast database
  • Configurability
  • Simplification
  • Lack of consistency across decisions
Complex installations where you will have a base monolith to build your application around will work well, having lots of interoperability possibilities. Not so well suited for simple solutions, where you want to decentralize and have small services and don't need high interoperability integrated into the solution out of the box.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[InterSystems IRIS] is used by our department in executing and implementing otherwise difficult queries on a huge data set. It is high-end and interoperable, thus making integration efficient and easier. This helps us lower the total cost of ownership, reduce the amount of repetitive coding saving a lot of time, and yields better ROI.
  • Data Analytics
  • Complex SQL Queries
  • Interoperability
  • Less tutorials/learning material available publicly
  • Requires training
  • Not very common and popular
[InterSystems IRIS] is most suited for financial and medical institutions where the data is enormous and security related to them is everything to avoid fraudulent activities. It will not serve its purpose where the data load is not that much; smaller organizations with less complex situations can't use it to its full potential.
May 23, 2021

Intersystem IRIS

Ahmad Sajid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using InterSystems IRIS to build high performance systems. We also use the machine learning aspects of the IRIS as well to get some recommendations and to predict the future patterns as well. After using IRIS it helps us save lot of time as we have to write less codes and effective system.
  • Easy to build high performance systems
  • Machine learning enabled
  • Less maintenance
  • Need more documentation
  • Some places are complex
This is very useful in building complex applications as this is less maintenance and less code is to be written. This also needs less resources. So this is another advantage.
This is less useful when developing small applications as the time spending for developing small applications using InterSystems IRIS is waste.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems [IRIS] technologies serve as the backbone of many of our product offerings over the years. It is a reliable and fast Database, that allow us to offering quickly innovative solutions in record time. It is not limited only to just a database, it is a complete package that offers high-performance database maintenance, interoperability, and analytics features all built-in from the ground up to date, which simplifies the most complex data-intensive applications
  • It's performance and scalability to all our outdated redundant systems.
  • Integrated interface between objects and SQL
  • Interoperability
  • High performance data platform
  • Intersystems technology is not that popular
  • It can still be relatively challenging to hire expertise with in depth knowledge of InterSystems technologies.
InterSystems IRIS is well suited to public cloud platforms, healthcare industry, has a massive scalability to deal with huge amount of data, as well as on-premises deployment. The need for very large transnational workloads, with the need to interconnect to numerous systems in a variety of protocols, in a complex, sensitive environment, InterSystems IRIS is the perfect decision.
The support is excellent and accurate.
April 01, 2021

IRIS: Fast and safe

Larissa Prussak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We only work with InterSystems, so we used the Caché for a long time. We are currently migrating to IRIS, we have already done tests internally and now we are migrating client applications, and the difference is already noticeable, IRIS is really better.
  • Security
  • Easy to work
  • A redesign of the portal's administration screens
  • For my use, I don't see any improvement
Surely the speed in data processing, can benefit everyone.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is still in the process of migration. We have had Caché for much longer, however, all paths lead to this change. They took a tool that was already good and stood out from the rest, and turned it into a fantastic tool now. Regardless of this, at this moment we work exclusively with InterSystems, which guarantees us an unquestionable quality.
  • Velocity.
  • Security.
  • Integrity.
  • IDE platform.
IRIS, and that comes from the time of Caché, works very well with hospitals, medical data, which need agility and an immediate response for access. Of course, it is not limited to the medical area, and works well with any area, however, the biggest highlight is in the hospital area.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are migrating the Caché system to IRIS in some departments. I believe that the trend is, over time, to migrate the entire company. Caché has always been the basis of the entire company, but IRIS came to replace it. The tendency is for this to happen naturally, not least because IRIS managed to further improve what was already very good.
  • Security.
  • Agility.
  • Easy to work.
  • Not having an IDE platform.
I got to know the tool when I started working. And, researching in forums and with co-workers, the use of Caché / IRIS in the health area is just fantastic. A robust and extremely fast database. Access security allows us to work with sensitive data in a smooth way. And these factors, in the health area, are fundamental.
Guilherme Augusto da Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We [have worked] with InterSystems [IRIS], since IRIS [was] released. We [have] done tests with our internal applications and started to implement upgrades to clients in Brazil. We like a lot of this tool because we have a great usage of Iris with new technologies, like SAAS on AWS, docker,etc.
  • Multidimensional database
  • Work with new technologies
  • Work as integration tool with Ensemble
  • Improvement of globals
  • Improvement with SQL
In Healthshare, it is the best implement as possible, but [InterSystems IRIS] works will all type of applications, even as [an] integration tool. We have clients with all types of implementations, like commercial applications, sales systems, even an inventory control. For [InterSystems] IRIS, there is no specific scenarios to work with, they work fine in all.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Caché for some time here at the company, and now we are migrating our software to this new IRIS platform. We are using it in part of a system that we provide maintenance and evolution.
The Program is a DMS (Dealership Management System). We are gradually migrating the system so that it can have more fluid screens, and with IRIS this is very practical, since it allows the integration of open technologies / frameworks.
  • The database, which is one of the best in the market, with tools available for creating BI and API.
  • A redesign of the portal's administration screens and making some dark themes available to the studio.
  • With this platform is relatively easy to manage and deploy.
  • For now, I don't see any aspect where improvement was needed.
One point that is triggered the best tool on the market, is in data processing. It is capable of processing BI data in a very expressive way.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is being used at multiple branches of our company. It started with departmental implementation but in the last few months we have upgraded other departments. Almost all our departments have already implemented InterSystems IRIS and we are loving the secure features it offers us.
  • Database management
  • Security
  • API support
  • Brilliant interface
  • Good customer support
  • Requires training
  • Admin portal is difficult to use
  • Cache studio needs improvement
  • Slightly costly
We are using InterSystems IRIS mainly for our database management. Since we are a financial institution, security is of utmost importance to avoid fraud and data breaches. InterSystems IRIS provides us with confidence and secure means of usage. It is quite easy to develop and works well with legacy codes.
January 05, 2021

Wish we had IRIS earlier

Vinay Salvanca | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is being across the whole company, and it's been great for us so far. We mainly use it for customer management, vendor management, and as an integration platform. InterSystems IRIS has given us great performance despite having a quite bulky database. Being in the e-learning industry, we have a lot of data coming from multiple sources about students, schools, colleges and all sorts of examinations. The database performance of InterSystems IRIS has simply been remarkable.

  • Database management
  • Customer service is exceptional
  • Security
  • API development
  • Requires trained staff
  • Better tutorials could be made available
  • Takes time to learn how to use the database properly
InterSystems IRIS is a very advanced platform for database management, and it requires a good amount of training before one can properly use the software. Our main problems being solved are query management and database handling. InterSystems IRIS also offers a remarkable amount of security, which helps us work on confidential data hassle free, so that's a plus for us.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used InterSystems IRIS only in a few departments at the time, but it was still under expansion for more departments. We used it mainly for creating APIs and BI and communication purposes. Some features that set IRIS apart from others was the support to open technologies and database access.
  • Query Management
  • Database
  • Creating APIs
  • Administration portal
  • More themes could be great
  • UI is confusing
The rapid development of solutions make it useful for solving customer problems. Parallel query execution is a tool which makes IRIS better than other alternatives. Using IRIS was a little confusing at first, and takes good amount of time to get used to the platform, especially for beginners. Training is recommended.