InterSystems IRIS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 22, 2021
Gabriel Tureck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is still in the process of migration. We have had Caché for much longer, however, all paths lead to this change. They took a tool that was already good and stood out from the rest, and turned it into a fantastic tool now. Regardless of this, at this moment we work exclusively with InterSystems, which guarantees us an unquestionable quality.
  • Velocity.
  • Security.
  • Integrity.
  • IDE platform.
IRIS, and that comes from the time of Caché, works very well with hospitals, medical data, which need agility and an immediate response for access. Of course, it is not limited to the medical area, and works well with any area, however, the biggest highlight is in the hospital area.
Read Gabriel Tureck's full review
March 20, 2021
Lucas Soares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are migrating the Caché system to IRIS in some departments. I believe that the trend is, over time, to migrate the entire company. Caché has always been the basis of the entire company, but IRIS came to replace it. The tendency is for this to happen naturally, not least because IRIS managed to further improve what was already very good.
  • Security.
  • Agility.
  • Easy to work.
  • Not having an IDE platform.
I got to know the tool when I started working. And, researching in forums and with co-workers, the use of Caché / IRIS in the health area is just fantastic. A robust and extremely fast database. Access security allows us to work with sensitive data in a smooth way. And these factors, in the health area, are fundamental.
Read Lucas Soares's full review
February 22, 2021
Josnei André Tschoeke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Caché for some time here at the company, and now we are migrating our software to this new IRIS platform. We are using it in part of a system that we provide maintenance and evolution.

The Program is a DMS (Dealership Management System). We are gradually migrating the system so that it can have more fluid screens, and with IRIS this is very practical, since it allows the integration of open technologies / frameworks.
  • The database, which is one of the best in the market, with tools available for creating BI and API.
  • A redesign of the portal's administration screens and making some dark themes available to the studio.
  • With this platform is relatively easy to manage and deploy.
  • For now, I don't see any aspect where improvement was needed.
One point that is triggered the best tool on the market, is in data processing. It is capable of processing BI data in a very expressive way.
Read Josnei André Tschoeke's full review
January 05, 2021
Vinay Salvanca | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is being across the whole company, and it's been great for us so far. We mainly use it for customer management, vendor management, and as an integration platform. InterSystems IRIS has given us great performance despite having a quite bulky database. Being in the e-learning industry, we have a lot of data coming from multiple sources about students, schools, colleges and all sorts of examinations. The database performance of InterSystems IRIS has simply been remarkable.

  • Database management
  • Customer service is exceptional
  • Security
  • API development
  • Requires trained staff
  • Better tutorials could be made available
  • Takes time to learn how to use the database properly
InterSystems IRIS is a very advanced platform for database management, and it requires a good amount of training before one can properly use the software. Our main problems being solved are query management and database handling. InterSystems IRIS also offers a remarkable amount of security, which helps us work on confidential data hassle free, so that's a plus for us.
Read Vinay Salvanca's full review
December 18, 2020
Vinicius Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The InterSystems IRIS is used across the whole organization, all
the company's work revolves around at the InterSystems IRIS. The
problems at the company is about corrections and the support system, and not only that is also supported on systemns that use InterSystems
IRIS as support.


  • Intersystems Iris has all the healthcare interoperability Standards included and it's very easy to develop.
  • There are some nice features on top on the old monolith that are really great, as docker support. Intersystems seems to be very proud about the product, they are doing a lot of pushing and promotion.
  • If you need a quick install and deployment, needs docker, and this tech is not available in all customers.
  • The only thing is that the documentation is a little bit weak but you have the Intersystems Community to get questions answered
  • They could improve the usability of the administration portal
High speed in processing large amounts of data, for sure is the best
benefit I have found. In addition to making available a large
documentation that can support its use. Problems with CSP Gateway is a great scenario to work with InterSystems IRIS. When you need a backend that needs to be able to handle Big Data, this is your system to choose.
Read Vinicius Silva's full review
April 01, 2021
Larissa Prussak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We only work with InterSystems, so we used the Caché for a long time. We are currently migrating to IRIS, we have already done tests internally and now we are migrating client applications, and the difference is already noticeable, IRIS is really better.
  • Security
  • Easy to work
  • A redesign of the portal's administration screens
  • For my use, I don't see any improvement
Surely the speed in data processing, can benefit everyone.
Read Larissa Prussak's full review
November 19, 2020
Francisco Lopez de las Heras | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, we are using Intersystems IRIS as integration platform, usign HL7 message from laboratories and process them in a unique point to process all of them. Each laboratories connect with his reports of patients, and integrate within the insurance database. I don't need an extra application to operate. I can integrate a new laboratory in few minutes.
Also, we use IRIS as REST API server to connect to insurance information (patient, reports, etc..) and it adds an extra security for confidential data.
  • Quick integration with HL7.
  • Provides a robust platform for API REST.
  • Quick access for database.
  • High security, integrate OAuth, internal user and password access, etc.
  • Complex language to develop.
  • Needs a special staff to manage as administrator.
  • A lot of security via roles that is could be a bit complex.
Well suited
All about integration, HL7 or FHIR. Don't need to develop extra code because the most used is integrated and is very easy to use.

Less appropriate
Use as html server and display pages. The pages code is very complex, if you want to use to display html pages or create a web application, it's better to use other language (such as Angular) and try to integrate the code.
The support team is the best in the world. All you need they can help you. The documentation is very good, but the support team can help you in less than 24h (some hours if it's very urgent).
Also, there is a great developers team in a good community that can help you in several languages (English, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.).
Read Francisco Lopez de las Heras's full review
November 13, 2020
Nadyan Pscheidt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the company I work for, we use InterSystems IRIS as a data manager. We develop an ERP System for a big truck manufacturer dealers in Brazil, so we have a lot of data about all sorts, truck parts, tools, customers, workers and so on.
  • Fast reading and writing data
  • Simple storage architecture
  • Great performance for ML
  • Better documentation
  • More examples
  • Maybe some youtube tutorials
The solution is very well suited for scenarios with lots of data, because this is what it is designed for. It is a great tool for data analysis and Machine Learning applications in which you need a great amout of information, and the more the better. In this cases, InterSystems IRIS will do the job nicely.
The support is great, whenever you have a question or a problem, you receive all the attention you need to overcome the trouble.
Read Nadyan Pscheidt's full review
March 03, 2021
Guilherme Augusto da Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We [have worked] with InterSystems [IRIS], since IRIS [was] released. We [have] done tests with our internal applications and started to implement upgrades to clients in Brazil. We like a lot of this tool because we have a great usage of Iris with new technologies, like SAAS on AWS, docker,etc.
  • Multidimensional database
  • Work with new technologies
  • Work as integration tool with Ensemble
  • Improvement of globals
  • Improvement with SQL
In Healthshare, it is the best implement as possible, but [InterSystems IRIS] works will all type of applications, even as [an] integration tool. We have clients with all types of implementations, like commercial applications, sales systems, even an inventory control. For [InterSystems] IRIS, there is no specific scenarios to work with, they work fine in all.
Read Guilherme Augusto da Silva's full review
November 12, 2020
Christian Radoll da Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use InterSystems IRIS throughout the company. It assists us in migrating legacy code, solving customer problems through systems development, and creating APIs in a simple and fast way.
  • The support provided by InterSystems was great when I needed to ask some questions about the characteristics of IRIS.
  • It provides several tools that enable the development of BI and API's applications according to the customers' needs.
  • Docker support.
  • The database is robust and offers excellent performance even with a large amount of information.
  • The usability of the administration portal could be better.
  • InterSystems' technology is still not very common, so it is difficult to recruit experienced professionals.
It is recommended for the development of complex applications, as it offers everything needed to build a stable and robust product. In addition, it has tools such as Docker and allows the creation of APIs, which will meet market demands. In a scenario where the development team has no experience with InterSystems technology, the learning curve can be steeper than when using other tools. However, the benefits end up paying off.
The support is excellent, with attentive professionals who assist in solving all types of problems. The community, despite being small, is very active and also contributes to eventual doubts.
Read Christian Radoll da Silva's full review
February 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
InterSystems IRIS is being used at multiple branches of our company. It started with departmental implementation but in the last few months we have upgraded other departments. Almost all our departments have already implemented InterSystems IRIS and we are loving the secure features it offers us.
  • Database management
  • Security
  • API support
  • Brilliant interface
  • Good customer support
  • Requires training
  • Admin portal is difficult to use
  • Cache studio needs improvement
  • Slightly costly
We are using InterSystems IRIS mainly for our database management. Since we are a financial institution, security is of utmost importance to avoid fraud and data breaches. InterSystems IRIS provides us with confidence and secure means of usage. It is quite easy to develop and works well with legacy codes.
Read this authenticated review
December 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used InterSystems IRIS only in a few departments at the time, but it was still under expansion for more departments. We used it mainly for creating APIs and BI and communication purposes. Some features that set IRIS apart from others was the support to open technologies and database access.
  • Query Management
  • Database
  • Creating APIs
  • Administration portal
  • More themes could be great
  • UI is confusing
The rapid development of solutions make it useful for solving customer problems. Parallel query execution is a tool which makes IRIS better than other alternatives. Using IRIS was a little confusing at first, and takes good amount of time to get used to the platform, especially for beginners. Training is recommended.
Read this authenticated review
December 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole company.
Servicing subsidiaries in seven countries in Middle / Eastern Europe in their local language even in Cyrillic writing.
It is used for vendor and customer management, order processing, and fulfillment.
This also includes support for all kinds of e-commerce and a Webshop, and more facility support activities.
  • Performance of the DB is just incredible.
  • There are practically no technical limits to development.
  • I never found a situation to say impossible.
  • You need qualified experts to release the full power of this DB.
  • It is not easy to find these experts in the Central European area.
  • You need to accept that you sometimes might need to educate your developers yourself.
Though there is some focus in Healthcare, the product is used in all kinds of business.
Whether sales and marketing, or transport storage management, or access control and restaurant management, logistics, [etc.]
My personal slogan is: "Forget the rating IMPOSSIBLE!"
You rather have to take care not to reinvent some wheel just because it is possible.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Version control tools (12)
7.7
Test data generation (13)
8.0
Performance optimization tools (13)
8.4
Schema maintenance (12)
8.0
Database change management (13)
8.3
User management (13)
8.4
Database security (13)
8.7
Database status reporting (13)
8.3
Change management (13)
8.3

What is InterSystems IRIS?

InterSystems IRIS is a complete cloud-first data platform that includes a multi-model transactional data management engine, an application development platform, and interoperability engine, and an open analytics platform.


InterSystems IRIS provides a set of APIs to operate with transactional persistent data simultaneously: key-value, relational, object, document, multidimensional.


Data can be managed by SQL, Java, node.js, .NET, C++, Python, and native server-side ObjectScript language.


InterSystems IRIS includes an Interoperability engine and modules to build AI solutions. InterSystems IRIS provides features for horizontal scalability (sharding, ECP) and provides High Availability features, Business intelligence, transaction support, and backup.

InterSystems IRIS Features

Database Development Features

Has featureVersion control tools
Has featureTest data generation
Has featurePerformance optimization tools
Has featureSchema maintenance
Has featureDatabase change management

Database Administration Features

Has featureUser management
Has featureDatabase security
Has featureDatabase status reporting
Has featureChange management
Additional Features
Has featureInteroperability
Has featureSharding
Has featureMulti-model transactional data management engine

InterSystems IRIS Integrations

InterSystems IRIS Competitors

InterSystems IRIS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

InterSystems IRIS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat
Email

InterSystems IRIS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Docker
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Africa, Asia, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Mexico, Middle East, Germany, India, Japan, Europe, South America, UK, USA
Supported Languages: Czech, German, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian