Intuit Payroll Reviews

44 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 03, 2021
NAKIA EPLEY | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have a couple bookkeeping clients that run both a retail store, and multiple coffee shops. I helped them implement and set up their QuickBooks, first for keeping track of expenses and finances, then as they began hiring employees, I moved them to Intuit Payroll to manage everything. We utilize the tax payment functions, form preparation & filings, and year end W2s.
  • Setup for both the business and employees was VERY easy.
  • Tax Liabilities & Form Preparation.
  • Ease of use in the ability to guide my clients through using all its features.
First the cost is very competitive and reasonable, for what we use it for. Each coffee shop has about 5-6 employees, and the costs only incur as a per-check that is run basis instead of a large flat fee for services we won't use.
Direct deposit feature is our must-have, the pay dates are super reliable and we have never had any issues with transmission, or taxes not being sent, etc.
Read NAKIA EPLEY's full review
April 22, 2021
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intuit Payroll is a standard offering and natural candidate for businesses engaged with any other Intuit offerings, such as QuickBooks Online or Desktop. We have a relatively small team operating in a needlessly complex state, so payment to employees and management of payroll-related benefits and documentation for personnel and tax purposes can get hairy. Integration with our preexisting accounting products was certainly a bonus.
  • Scheduled or manual payments to employees works well
  • Direct deposits or cheque options is helpful
  • Tax document management was surprisingly low in pain
  • Customer support for payroll went above and beyond
  • Intuit products across the board are unfairly priced for small businesses.
  • 2020 special conditions were confusing and slow to roll out due to pandemic legislation.
You'll probably end up on Intuit Payroll if you have a Quickbooks product. You're in their sales funnel already, and with all your bookkeeping already existing within an Intuit product, you'll find this takes a lot off your plate. If you're not a Quickbooks user, you may want to shop for a dedicated software that has a cleaner interface and more competitive price.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
November 06, 2020
William Dyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We loved Inuit Payroll for 20 years but the past 2 years they are terrible. They mistakenly filed our 940 forms twice in 2019 for the same quarter, and then when they file the second one they send you a notice that your payroll was rejected because "SOMEONE" (ah it was you.... dumb a...) filed it. We went through hell last year, getting this resolved and their customer service sucks....bad. We were left to solve the problem on our own. My QB consultant warned me that Intuit payroll is screwing everything up and I should switch to ADP. But, no I did not listen and now they did the same mistake this year. Intuit Payroll why don't you just go out of business or better sell to ADP or Paychex and stop torturing your clients
  • Easy to use and works most of the time, but when you need customer service. Their CSR's go ghost or cannot help you
  • Accountable Customer Service Reps
  • CSR with authority to do anything
  • Better Systems without glitches
e loved Inuit Payroll for 20 years but the past 2 years they are terrible. They mistakenly filed our 940 forms twice in 2019 for the same quarter, and then when they file the second one they send you a notice that your payroll was rejected because "SOMEONE" (ah it was you.... dumb a...) filed it. We went through hell last year, getting this resolved and their customer service sucks....bad. We were left to solve the problem on our own. My QB consultant warned me that Intuit payroll is screwing everything up and I should switch to ADP. But, no I did not listen and now they did the same mistake this year. Intuit Payroll why don't you just go out of business or better sell to ADP or Paychex and stop torturing your clients
Negative 1 they either go ghost or have no authority to get things done
Read William Dyer's full review
October 15, 2020
Elizabeth Matter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I provide payroll services for my clients and have been using IOP. I own my own business and have no employees myself, so I am the only one who uses it. IOP doesn't address business problems, it creates them.
Because of all the reasons I mention, I would not even choose "1" on the scale of "how likely are you to recommend IOP to a colleague". I would not and do not recommend them anymore. And in fact, when I was speaking to a client of mine today, they stated that "Quickbooks S!*#s" and I agreed. Across the board this company is failing miserably with their customers.
Again, I would rate this a 0!!!!! IOP no longer provides support. IOP only provides excuses and ways that their customers can work for them for free while they continue to take our money.
Read Elizabeth Matter's full review
March 04, 2020
Steve French | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an advisor and use Intuit payroll in client companies. It is a company of 10 employees and contractors
  • Payment of taxes is on time and accurate
  • It handles paying Independent contractors well
  • The W-2 and 1099 process is smooth
  • The integration with Quickbooks doesn't work
  • The problem resolution process is very clunky
  • I'm not aware of the ability to integrate with HR tools
Intuit Payroll is great for companies who want a full-service payroll- filing taxes included
They are easy to reach but sometimes aren't that knowledgeable.
Read Steve French's full review
February 28, 2020
Paula Byrd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I prefer using all the Intuit products for my bookkeeping and tax services because integration and data integrity is maintained. Both having to manually key or export/import different file types increases time management and efficiency. Generally, there are integrations and/or apps that can help clients with any reporting, tracking, or accounting issue that may come up.
  • Ease of use
  • Reliability
  • Updates
  • Customization
  • Some safeguards are difficult to correct after the fact
  • If an error is made, corrections can't be made and causes reconciliation issues
Well suited for small to medium-size businesses with routine or normal types of earnings. The software significantly reduces discrepancies that arise when the user(s) are unfamiliar with the pay types utilized. Companies with reimbursement policies or other forms of compensation should always seek a professional or company to ensure compliance and adherence to reporting regulations.
The customer support personnel have always walked me through the steps they need to take to assist me. Never rushed through anything. Always exceptionally thorough, answering all my questions and even sharing my screen visually (I have control, not them). It actually helps me to resolve future issues and questions, if they should arise.
Read Paula Byrd's full review
October 24, 2019
Kiara Elder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This program is used by the accounting office for payroll purposes. It is easy to use and was easy to implement. Very little learning curve. Easy to add new people and subtract old.
  • Direct deposit
  • Unlimited payroll runs
  • Updating timesheets for accuracy
  • When it's down it takes a bit to get it up and going again.
  • Not for the computer illiterate.
  • Getting help can be a chore with their call centers.
Great for 1099 workers and W2 workers, easy to get started and has a great online portal for employees. It has a bit of a learning curve which can be annoying for those who are less than computer literate. Great for accuracy.
It can be difficult to get someone on the phone that you understand.
Read Kiara Elder's full review
November 28, 2018
Melanie Haas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Intuit Payroll to pay both contractors and salaried employees.
We were using it for certain and specific individuals in the company.
It was very nice for submitting time sheets for the hourly employees, and having the contracted workers be able to show what they were bringing in.
I loved that we could log online to access the employees side of things as well as the management side of things.
We really liked the fact it took away from clocking in and using paper.
  • Online access
  • Ease of use
  • Timesheets
  • Multiple users
  • App
We used it for a small business so I am unsure of how accurate it would be for a larger scaled office.
I believe it was pretty easy to use for salaried employees, and it was a little more difficult for our contracted workers.

We had some employees who were not as good at the computer, so it was harder for them to adjust to.
Read Melanie Haas's full review
September 12, 2018
Jake Douglas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Intuit Payroll in its various forms for almost all of our payroll clients. All of our team members use it and some of our clients are trained to use it as well through their own login. We originally began using it for its integration with QBO, simplicity of use, and quick Direct Deposit turn-around. There is, of course, the benefit of being able to access it anywhere.
  • The top feature for me is the 24-48 hour direct deposit turn-around. Intuit Payroll has the feature for quick payroll turn-around.
  • Once it is setup, it is easy to use. It only takes a few clicks to process a payroll.
  • There are various price points for the various Intuit Payroll products. It means Intuit offers a solution for several different types of businesses depending on the needs and how involved you want to be.
  • My biggest issue is that they do continue to raise their prices on a regular basis and it makes people feel stuck when there are so many clients already using the system.
  • They do not support roaming employees, so employees that cross over into various tax jurisdictions in one pay period pose a challenge for calculating taxes and pay.
  • The setup can be a bit daunting still if you are not familiar with the system or the various taxes and requirements for reporting.
Intuit Payroll is great for small businesses needing to have a fairly hands-free approach to payroll. If you are an accountant managing multiple clients, it is simple enough and the price point is tolerable. You do have the option for the clients to pay the subscription as well.

As I mentioned earlier, the roaming employees pose the only major challenge for Intuit Payroll. If you have employees that cross into multiple jurisdictions in one pay period (or frequently), Intuit Payroll will likely not be right for you.
Read Jake Douglas's full review
April 24, 2018
Shaina Saadaie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software is good and bad. It is really user-friendly and guides you through the setup process. We offer this software to be used for our clients. Some clients have had frustrations with it because it places to hold on funds before it distributes them. The taxes have also been a problem in the past because you have to manually take them out sometimes. This is a great starter software program to go with if you would like to do everything yourself. If you want it automated, you might consider another software program.
  • User-friendly with setup
  • Easy to navigate
  • Lots of options for payroll
  • Manual tax withdrawal
  • More alerts on to do's
  • Reasonable priced
Great for a start-up company with only a few employees. Once you get more employees, it gets tougher to manually address all of the tasks you need to do to run an effective payroll. It is user-friendly with the setup process so at least that helps get you started.
Read Shaina Saadaie's full review
September 28, 2016
Laurence Sarner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intuit Payroll is being deployed and supported to various clients. The client size varies substantially from single employee businesses to organizations with up to 100 employees. Intuit Payroll fills a business's need to process payroll in house versus outsourcing to an outside vendor. Generally, the complexity of payroll with federal and state withholding taxes, social security and reporting fringe benefits requires that some sort of software infrastructure is needed to support the complex calculations and reporting that go into this accounting function.
  • Great integration with QuickBooks accounting software.
  • Good reporting functionality.
  • Great ease of use/navigation/data entry flow.
  • I believe the integration around some non-Intuit software is limited (ie. CRM systems, etc.).
  • Additional fees for sending contractor Form 1099s.
  • Pricing not extremely competitive although bundled discounts if used in conjunction with QuickBooks accounting software.
I believe the ideal scenario is when you are already using the Intuit family of products and the payroll bolts on to your existing QuickBooks infrastructure. Payroll software products have been around a long time, and this is a very competitive niche. Most of the companies do a good job of filing taxes promptly, reporting W-2 items properly, providing good reports, etc. Where you might really get some extra efficiency and benefit is the fact that the payroll is woven into the accounting system, creating one seamless enterprise solution. Also, where it might be less appropriate is in a really simple use case such as a one person company where there aren't complex fringe benefits to deal with. In that scenario, you can set up the ACH debits directly with the state agency and the IRS and possibly file your own 941, 940, W-2/W-3 and state equivalent forms. Of course, if you're willing to do this and are good with details, you can save yourself some money.
Read Laurence Sarner's full review
June 03, 2016
David Worrell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a contract finance and accounting firm, and we use various flavors of Intuit Payroll both internally and for our clients.
We've watched the progress over the years as Intuit moved to QuickBooks Online and made various changes to Intuit Payroll. Like any payroll solution, it is designed to reduce man hours in the accounting department, speed payment, and assure legal compliance.
  • Integration with QuickBooks Desktop. This is the key strength of IP... it is a complete, native integration and let's you maintain all employee records and time keeping in QuickBooks
  • Job Costing. Another key differentiation -- some payroll outsources say they do true job costing (by work or item code). Don't believe them. If its' not integrated with your accounting system, you will not get "TRUE" job costing. You can get costs ASSIGNED to jobs (which may be fine), but you won't get item level detail in QuickBooks from anyone but Intuit.
  • Variety of Payment options. Use Direct Deposit or manual checks... or whatever you want. Since its in QB, you can make payments any way you want.
  • Cash Flow. This is both good and bad, but IP will not take taxes out of your bank account until they are due. That's different than some other providers that want assurance that you have the tax payments available at the moment you push "SUBMIT."
  • Intuit FULL SERVICE PAYROLL, which is an online version of their product, no longer does Job Costing. See the notes under my Benefits section --- this could be a deal breaker.
  • There are a lot of flavors to choose from, which can be confusing for the buyer. Assisted Payroll, Full Service Payroll and Online Payroll all have small differences. Some (may) work only with QuickBooks Online.
  • Locks you Into QuickBooks. I'm not aware of any other integrations, so if you switch to Sage or something (but why would you!?!) you could lose much of the capabilities you get from IP.
Intuit Payroll is perfect for the 2 to 20 employee company that is running QuickBooks and is willing to keep payroll in-house. Contractors and professional service companies can keep true job costing in-house and inside the accounting system, which is key to accurate reporting. It's also perfect for any shop with salary-only employees, since that kind of payroll is dead simple.
But its not a "simplistic" tool -- It will handle all kinds of deductions, including 401ks and health insurance. And since its integrated to QB, you get the proper costing of those items without even trying. (Other providers make you import a GL file that creates a journal entry -- which may not give you what you expect.
It's not recommend it for a larger company that needs more complete HR solutions -- go to a PEO like TriNet or Insperity instead.
And worst of all, if you are using the QB Desktop connected version, you do not have access to any time-keeping portal, so all employees must submit their timecards manually (Or have a QB User set up to allow them to punch directly into QuickBooks), which is a less-than-ideal situation for a larger shop.
Read David Worrell's full review
December 02, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is very small and we don't have the personnel that would have the time to do payroll, taxes, and end of year W-2s. We researched many different payroll solutions and kept coming back to Intuit. It is very easy to use and we have not experienced any issues.

Highly recommend Intuit payroll services.
  • Files your taxes correctly.
  • User-Friendly - Easy to set up new employee and payroll information.
  • Currently I do not know of any features or functionality that I would like to see change.
Very good for small businesses.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to run our payroll and filings. [It's] Used by the finance department.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to use. It steps you through everything.
  • Reduces cost from needing to outsource payroll functions to a firm or having a payroll dept.
  • Sometimes there are filings that need to take place outside of the Intuit platform. It would be easier if everything could be done inside the system.
  • It would be great if there could be an automated payroll run with an email that has a button to approve it in one click.
  • Automated filings with email approval.
Intuit Payroll is great for any business that has a small or no payroll department. It’s particularly great for smaller businesses. It may be less appropriate for very large or global businesses.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Intuit Payroll to roll all payroll function for our organization including salaries, hourly wages, overtime, bonuses, severance pay, and reimbursements. We also use Intuit Payroll to assist in our Company sponsored benefit programs. It provides a single place to find information about our employees and their benefits and wages.
  • Intuit Payroll manages all our different payroll cycles and alerts our team when it is time to process
  • Intuit Payroll calculates and maintains all tax related accounts and disburses appropriately
  • Intuit Payroll allows us to maintain a digit employee file with all relevant information pertaining to our staff.
  • I would love to be able to keep a history log of employee raises and past salaries/pay rates
  • It would be helpful to have an audit of our payroll systems to ensure we are properly accounting for all expenditures
I've only used Intuit for one company, but It worked really well in maintaining different payroll schedules. We have hourly employees and salaries employees and process these payrolls on different pay schedules.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to start using Intuit Payroll because we had a team of employees located throughout Texas and we needed a way to make sure they were correctly paid on payday without any mailing delays. I was in charge of the HR and accounting functions of small non-profit of roughly 20 employees. This was a perfect fix for a company of our size and it addressed the need to offer direct deposit.
  • Calculating correct payroll totals with proper tax and deduction calculations
  • Provided the solution for easy direct deposit set up
  • Allowed you to do payroll remotely in case of in-climate weather situations
  • I really felt like it was such a huge improvement from running paper checks on Peachtree that I did not see a need for improvement when using it
I think it is great for a small business owner that wants to outsource payroll processing without the major cost component. It is rare to find any company doing in house payroll anymore because software like this is worth it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
7.2
Support for external payroll vendors (5)
5.8
Off-cycle/On-Demand payment (3)
8.7
Benefit plan administration (5)
6.7
Direct deposit files (8)
8.9
Salary revision and increment management (7)
7.7
Reimbursement management (8)
7.9

What is Intuit Payroll?

Intuit Payroll is a small business payroll option available as a standalone software product, as an add-on with Intuit's popular QuickBooks product suite, and also as full-service payroll outsourcing.
Categories:  Payroll

Intuit Payroll Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Core22.50 + $4 per employeeper month
Premium37.50 + $8 per employeeper month
Elite62.50+ $10 per employeeper month

Intuit Payroll Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Intuit Payroll?

Intuit Payroll is a small business payroll option available as a standalone software product, as an add-on with Intuit's popular QuickBooks product suite, and also as full-service payroll outsourcing.

What is Intuit Payroll's best feature?

Reviewers rate Direct deposit files highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses Intuit Payroll?

The most common users of Intuit Payroll are from Small Businesses and the Accounting industry.