TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/aN/4N/C4RQH3LWTZD5.PNGIon Interactive LiveBall - A developers landing page and a/b testing dream!I have used Ion Interactive LiveBall in 3 different companies, all with slightly different implementations. But in the end, LiveBall excels at rapidly creating landing pages with highly dynamic content and flexibility. It is a very unique platform for creating landing pages that honestly I have yet to see another platform that can be used to create content like you can on LiveBall as quickly or easily. So all of the companies that I have worked with used LiveBall to rapidly prototype and deploy landing pages for multiple domains, multiple marketing campaigns, for reporting and analytics of those campaigns, and to keep it all in one spot.,Ion Interactive allows you to rapidly prototype landing pages for multiple domains and keep your marketing campaigns organized. This tool allows for a lot of customization and flexibility. You can create forms for your landing pages. And do you need to connect to an API? Yep it is quick and easy. Do you need to have the submitted forms email to someone in your company? No problem. Do you need to create custom thank you pages for your campaign? It does that too. Do you need your landing page to show different content to different users based on different parameters? Once you get the hang of it, this is a breeze. Do you need to do all of these things together? It does that quickly and easily too. Do you want to code sets of templates that can be re-used with just minor tweaks? This platform can take a very basic base template, and allow you to rapidly edit this template (think child themes), to be customized for each campaign and then be re-used whenever necessary.,The learning curve in Ion Interactive is a bit tough for some people. The support team is great and whether you are a developer or a marketer and wanting to use this platform, they will have several one on one sessions with you to get you in and get you moving. However the learning curve is a bit tough since this does work quite differently than most web platforms. If you do not have a developer to create your custom themes and custom frameworks, the graphic user interface is good, but with any non-custom solution, sometimes it can limit things a little bit.,9,Rapid prototyping and re-purposing of past campaigns with few tweaks and edits needed. Ability to make changes on the fly even for live campaigns. The ability to A/B test absolutely everything, and easily find conversion factors that matter and then implement those changes in future iterations of content!,WordPress, Adobe Business Catalyst and Drupal,WordPress, Adobe Business Catalyst, Email on Acid, Optimizely, Visual Website Optimizer, SiteSpect,Ion Interactive Liveball is a very different type of system compared to most CMS systems, you essentially create a page, and then tie it to one or multiple URL's, So from that perspective it takes some time to get to know and figure it out, once you do it is amazing being able to make one page and have it running on 12 URL's at the same time, the dynamic properties it can utilize also help to make this very powerful and elegant once you get the hang of it! The system has a large number of highly editable templates that can be used, this allows most users to get up and running fairly quickly. Some of the concepts are unique so that is the biggest stumbling block since it does behave differently than most other types of CMS systems. In this system many pages utilize forms or different scripts that you can use and re-use on multiple pages. Having these containers that are already created and working exactly as expected allows users to rapidly copy an existing page, make small modifications or updates and re-use components from other pages. When this is done you have new pages created literally within minutes and set to live on new traffic sources (URL's) if you want.,My biggest gripe with Ion is a bit unusual. When a user starts to get into the deeper complexities of Ion, there can literally be 20+ places you might have to look to find a rogue script, action, or rule that is causing certain behavior. So since this problem can happen in so many places, if people do not stay consistent with how they are building and utilizing things it can become very tedious to find some small piece of code causing an undesired action to occur. Ion can be used in very simple, or very complex ways using multiple datalayers, getting data from API services, and more. So sometimes when someone asks for a simple edit, but you have to go and follow a trail of breadcrumbs to find out the information is kept in a datalayer, find the datalayer information and make the edit, people have a hard time accepting that to change a single word it can take 30 minutes or even more. However very few people utilize Liveball in this way so for most implementations it is not that big of a problem. They don't truly have a test environment, and it is not really possible to implement one, but you can create an item and send it to a dummy or test URL, so while they don't have a test environment there is a decent work around, but this is a pain point for many people and companies using Ion.,8Ion Gets It Done.We wanted a platform that would enable us to create bespoke interactive content in-house. While we are new customers to Ion the first round of gamified and interactive content we've crafted has been well received both internally and with our customers. There's a lot to learn in the platform - the user interface isn't necessarily intuitive, but once you learn the ropes it all starts to come together. I also have to say, support for the Ion side has been top notch since the word go. They are always available and willing to work with us to troubleshoot any problem - from complex data migration to advice on what template would work best for a new concept. I'm excited to see how much of an impact with can make with Ion going forward.,The Ion support team - both during implementation and as we've been building experiences - has been exemplary. They are always available, engaged and enthusiastic. One aspect of the platform that we've loved from the beginning is the customized design template that is built into the platform. Our in-house designer particularly loves this feature as it saves her hours of time when it comes to designing individual assets. She can go in and add polish and style without having to start from scratch every time. The metrics are also incredible. You can really examine and analyze them from several different angles. Automation, Content and our business lines each view the metrics from a different perspective so this has been an especially helpful feature.,Ion University, while stacked with a wealth of information, is difficult to navigate from a troubleshooting perspective. The tutorial videos are all very helpful, but they are also very long. Sometimes I would want to search for how to address a particular issue I was struggling with and it would be a two-minute segment buried in a 45-minute video. Again, getting back the self-guidance side of things. I think a lot of the tutorials are set up in a way that makes sense to Ion, but not as much to the end user. I think the controls admins use when creating new users could be a bit more straightforward.,9,So far the impact has been positive, but as we are new to the platform that opinion is based on relatively few interactive assets. There hasn't been any negative reactions or impact from Ion as of yet, but as I said before it's still early for us in terms of usage (less than a year). We do really appreciate the level of complexity and customization available in the platform.,SnapApp,ProofHub, Curata, Sprout SocialSo far, so good! But it's technology, so ya know... waiting for the other shoe.Currently, our marketing department is using ion interactive to stand up interactive landing pages to support our lead gen campaigns. This is a great and scalable solution for us to link to different kinds of dynamic content we've produced around each campaign and organize it in a way that makes sense to the consumer.,I love that ion interactive autosaves. So many of these platforms leave me terrified of disconnection or closing my laptop. This WYSIWYG actually works. I've yet to have a translation or code glitch. Fast load times are a huge bonus, as well as mobile-optimized display.,The organization of the catalog leaves something to be desired. It's not very straight forward and it looks dated. The editing tool can sometimes be wonky, zooming instead of opening an edit box. Matching styles requires a paste to match style. From what I can tell there's not a direct button or a global style push.,9,We are relatively new to ion, but so far it has enabled us to take some of the heavy lifting off of design, saving us overhead money. This is helping us communicate content to the sales team in one uniform, easy to use place. This is encouraging cross collaboration amongst revenue teams.,Uberflip,Marketo, SugarCRM, HubSpotIon is a true problem solver!Ion is being used to create interactive media for our website, quizzes for the web and informative interactive eBooks to educate potential clients. It provides an easy and fast way to translate ideas in an engaging way. We love how easy it is to build and publish projects in a matter of days with this platform.,The training and support are the most important resources. If you have any questions and problems - Ion support is always there during business hours. Analytics. Ion provides the ability to track everything directly in the platform so you know exactly where the user is going. Ease of use. Once you complete the training, you can start right off the bat and dive right into the platform to produce new material.,I think that the platform could be a little more intuitive. I don't think you can jump in without the training - some areas need an explanation. I can't believe that they do not have a back button! If you accidentally move something, want to try something new really quick. You can only undo if you delete something. Personally, I think the interface is a little dated looking.,8,Projects that would have taken weeks to code can be completed in a matter of days! We can really dig into the analytics right away to see exactly where the customer journey is. Having a friendly support team to help really makes this platform welcoming.,,Adobe Photoshop, ContentKing, WrikeFun with IONOur organization uses ION to up level static content into interactive experiences that drive users downloads and conversions. We find that our customers appreciate and respond better to content they can interact with. Our company designs these experiences directly on the ION platform and works with ION developers to implement a design.,Easy templates for our design team to work in, templates gallery to share with prospective clients. A responsive and supportive team at ION. Customization beyond the standard template to enhance design and responsiveness.,It is not obvious how or where to upload pictures and images within the template.,8,ION helps our team track conversions of users on interactive experiences. We're able to see metrics that help us know what experiences are actually working to get people to our products.,Microsoft Office 365, Slack, Skype for Business
Unspecified
ion interactive
188 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

ion interactive Reviews

ion interactive
188 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 188 vetted ion interactive reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 123)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jonathan Hodak profile photo
August 07, 2018

Review: "Ion Interactive LiveBall - A developers landing page and a/b testing dream!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Ion Interactive LiveBall in 3 different companies, all with slightly different implementations. But in the end, LiveBall excels at rapidly creating landing pages with highly dynamic content and flexibility. It is a very unique platform for creating landing pages that honestly I have yet to see another platform that can be used to create content like you can on LiveBall as quickly or easily. So all of the companies that I have worked with used LiveBall to rapidly prototype and deploy landing pages for multiple domains, multiple marketing campaigns, for reporting and analytics of those campaigns, and to keep it all in one spot.
  • Ion Interactive allows you to rapidly prototype landing pages for multiple domains and keep your marketing campaigns organized.
  • This tool allows for a lot of customization and flexibility. You can create forms for your landing pages. And do you need to connect to an API? Yep it is quick and easy. Do you need to have the submitted forms email to someone in your company? No problem. Do you need to create custom thank you pages for your campaign? It does that too. Do you need your landing page to show different content to different users based on different parameters? Once you get the hang of it, this is a breeze. Do you need to do all of these things together? It does that quickly and easily too.
  • Do you want to code sets of templates that can be re-used with just minor tweaks? This platform can take a very basic base template, and allow you to rapidly edit this template (think child themes), to be customized for each campaign and then be re-used whenever necessary.
  • The learning curve in Ion Interactive is a bit tough for some people. The support team is great and whether you are a developer or a marketer and wanting to use this platform, they will have several one on one sessions with you to get you in and get you moving. However the learning curve is a bit tough since this does work quite differently than most web platforms.
  • If you do not have a developer to create your custom themes and custom frameworks, the graphic user interface is good, but with any non-custom solution, sometimes it can limit things a little bit.
If your company has multiple domains, tons of marketing campaigns, and the desire to have highly customized content, then it is probably a very good choice. Also if your company needs for landing pages to be extremely flexible in how they function and utilize dynamic content, then this tool is definitely a strong candidate.

If you simply want to build a website, this tool really is not for that. This tool is a bit expensive, they market this only to enterprise clients for a reason!
Read Jonathan Hodak's full review
Taylor Bornstein profile photo
June 27, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Ion Gets It Done."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted a platform that would enable us to create bespoke interactive content in-house. While we are new customers to Ion the first round of gamified and interactive content we've crafted has been well received both internally and with our customers.

There's a lot to learn in the platform - the user interface isn't necessarily intuitive, but once you learn the ropes it all starts to come together. I also have to say, support for the Ion side has been top notch since the word go. They are always available and willing to work with us to troubleshoot any problem - from complex data migration to advice on what template would work best for a new concept.

I'm excited to see how much of an impact with can make with Ion going forward.
  • The Ion support team - both during implementation and as we've been building experiences - has been exemplary. They are always available, engaged and enthusiastic.
  • One aspect of the platform that we've loved from the beginning is the customized design template that is built into the platform. Our in-house designer particularly loves this feature as it saves her hours of time when it comes to designing individual assets. She can go in and add polish and style without having to start from scratch every time.
  • The metrics are also incredible. You can really examine and analyze them from several different angles. Automation, Content and our business lines each view the metrics from a different perspective so this has been an especially helpful feature.
  • Ion University, while stacked with a wealth of information, is difficult to navigate from a troubleshooting perspective. The tutorial videos are all very helpful, but they are also very long. Sometimes I would want to search for how to address a particular issue I was struggling with and it would be a two-minute segment buried in a 45-minute video.
  • Again, getting back the self-guidance side of things. I think a lot of the tutorials are set up in a way that makes sense to Ion, but not as much to the end user.
  • I think the controls admins use when creating new users could be a bit more straightforward.
Ion is great when you want to create an experience for your customers that is a bit more creative and hands-on. Their quizzes and assessments are particularly interesting, as the many formats make it possible for you to target different audiences with a type of content that will appeal to them.

That said, if you're looking for something very simple - say a survey to push through social channels - I might recommend something more basic that you can get done quick and dirty.
Read Taylor Bornstein's full review
Aubyn Scolnick profile photo
June 05, 2018

ion interactive Review: "So far, so good! But it's technology, so ya know... waiting for the other shoe."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our marketing department is using ion interactive to stand up interactive landing pages to support our lead gen campaigns. This is a great and scalable solution for us to link to different kinds of dynamic content we've produced around each campaign and organize it in a way that makes sense to the consumer.
  • I love that ion interactive autosaves. So many of these platforms leave me terrified of disconnection or closing my laptop.
  • This WYSIWYG actually works. I've yet to have a translation or code glitch.
  • Fast load times are a huge bonus, as well as mobile-optimized display.
  • The organization of the catalog leaves something to be desired. It's not very straight forward and it looks dated.
  • The editing tool can sometimes be wonky, zooming instead of opening an edit box.
  • Matching styles requires a paste to match style. From what I can tell there's not a direct button or a global style push.
As a former digital marketing manager, figuring out how to put together a landing page quickly and scalably that doesn't interfere with your website or SEO is critical. This solves that issue, allowing for ungating content for only the right audience, and having a reference point for future campaigns.
Read Aubyn Scolnick's full review
Josh Howe profile photo
June 13, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Ion is a true problem solver!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ion is being used to create interactive media for our website, quizzes for the web and informative interactive eBooks to educate potential clients. It provides an easy and fast way to translate ideas in an engaging way. We love how easy it is to build and publish projects in a matter of days with this platform.
  • The training and support are the most important resources. If you have any questions and problems - Ion support is always there during business hours.
  • Analytics. Ion provides the ability to track everything directly in the platform so you know exactly where the user is going.
  • Ease of use. Once you complete the training, you can start right off the bat and dive right into the platform to produce new material.
  • I think that the platform could be a little more intuitive. I don't think you can jump in without the training - some areas need an explanation.
  • I can't believe that they do not have a back button! If you accidentally move something, want to try something new really quick. You can only undo if you delete something.
  • Personally, I think the interface is a little dated looking.
With the built-in quick starts - you are never far from completing a project. The micro themes make it really simple to come up with an idea and publish that idea later that afternoon. The ability to have everything templated and ready to go makes this a huge competitive advantage.
Read Josh Howe's full review
Emily Pierson profile photo
May 23, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Fun with ION"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses ION to up level static content into interactive experiences that drive users downloads and conversions. We find that our customers appreciate and respond better to content they can interact with. Our company designs these experiences directly on the ION platform and works with ION developers to implement a design.
  • Easy templates for our design team to work in, templates gallery to share with prospective clients.
  • A responsive and supportive team at ION.
  • Customization beyond the standard template to enhance design and responsiveness.
  • It is not obvious how or where to upload pictures and images within the template.
ION is ideal for taking static e-Books and transforming them into an interactive and engaging experience. The analytics provided by ION are what really set this platform apart from others. I would not use ION templates if the experience needs to be highly customizable or have elaborate features requiring additional development.
Read Emily Pierson's full review
No photo available
June 19, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Great Landing Pages Without The Programming"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ion interactive to create fantastic landing pages that we leverage for lead generation. Through the use of its simple interface, we are able to create landing pages for our campaigns that guarantee the highest ROI possible.
  • Create landing pages fast
  • WYSIWYG Editor that allows you to add visual elements easily
  • Responsive pages for different types of devices
  • SVG's can be difficult to work with
  • Unable to export a web page HTML for use in other platforms
  • Tutorials are a bit basic to create truly stunning landing pages
Ion Interactive is very well suited for creating Landing Pages for your Paid or Social campaigns. It can also be used to create interactive infographics with relative ease and flexibility. The best way is to plan out a page as you would normally do so with wireframes, and then once it's built adding in the interactive elements that take your landing page to the next level.

It is not well suited for creating entire web pages (although it is possible).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Ion is a Great Value Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion is used as our landing page and form development tool for our organization. We like this tool for its ease of use and expandability.
  • Offers templates allow us to utilize a single template to copy from and change it up with ease
  • Support is responsive with helping out to determine what we can do to expand our offering.
  • Although many times we have to pay for support to implement our changes they are very well suited to do the job.
  • The ability to copy page rules would be a nice expansion on their offerings.
  • Sometimes the small details take a long time to fix because the tool does not let you copy page rules.
  • Some of the help features are basic in nature and could be more in depth to help the individual solve their own issues.
ion is very well suited for an organization that needs to build a lot, fast by using the templates. However, changing back-end configurations is sometimes more challenging and requires you to pay support for project work.
Read this authenticated review
Jesse Bond profile photo
February 07, 2018

Review: "ion interactive, a great shortcut for interactive web content--if you have an on-staff developer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, we are using Ion Interactive in the creative services (subset of marketing) department to create interactive landing pages, quizzes, and assessments to have more engaging online destinations to send our potential customers and hopefully get them closer to a sale. The biggest problem it addresses for us is that we are a very small team, and we don't have the manpower available to create the interactive websites that our internal clients desired--so Ion is an effective shortcut for us, only requiring a single designer/developer to build what we need.
  • large template library
  • easy to re-use chunks of things you build in other projects
  • great chat support
  • no revert option/revision history if you make a bad mistake
  • some simple styles that should be just there for you have to be made through custom CSS
  • some of their template options have some pretty bad designs and are not usable beyond a basic functionality level/have to be completely reskinned
It is a great gap filler for a team like ours who don't have enough development manpower to keep up with interactive webpage demands but has at least one person knowledgeable enough in HTML/CSS and design to use a GUI and code where necessary to achieve the desired outcomes. If you do not have someone on staff who has that level of web development knowledge, it would probably not be nearly as useful to your team--however, if you have a lot of budgets to work with, Ion will build entire project for you at an additional cost.
Read Jesse Bond's full review
Tim Gonzalez-Smith profile photo
January 16, 2018

ion interactive Review: "I'm married to ion but now I have another relationship on the side."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ion interactive to extend our media optimization strategies, ensuring our clients' investments are working from pre-click to conversion confirmation. ion interactive allows us to work smart: nimble, fluid, and forward-thinking. We've launched thousands of landing experiences and helped increased client revenues by the millions. Some prospects have issues with the proxy set up, others aren't always willing to add more tags to their sites, but none of them ever complained once we've got things going.
  • Lookup tables and server-scriptlets let us create hundreds of dynamic local pages from a single template. This allows us to optimize performance in one place and positively affect all of the locales.
  • ion interactive has worked overtime to keep the technology fresh and have managed to sustain a quality user experience throughout all the evolution. Being able to offer out of the box experiences that are flashy, light-weight and totally customizable helps our speed to market positioning and makes our overall creative approach that much more efficient.
  • The lack of a decent mobile interface has been an issue. Sometimes we have client issues or data worries that can't be solved from a hand-held.
  • There have been some extra cool features in the platform that, as power users, we've uncovered in a variety of ways. We aren't creative-less WYSIWYG users and it can be a burden to dig and dig for something that isn't openly documented when trying advanced integrations or the like.
We've never been able to integrate ion interactive in a capacity to really affect the lower ends of the funnel. In many cases, we'd prefer to start optimizing e-commerce experiences at the end of the funnel and follow the money back up to the top. We use different partners for that type of work, leaving ion interactive for top of the funnel, high-level optimizations.
Read Tim Gonzalez-Smith's full review
Leah Jakaitis profile photo
January 15, 2018

ion interactive Review: "ion-ically great choice for reporting and deployment capabilities"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion interactive is used for its landing pages at my organization. Landing pages are primarily built and deployed by our development department, with other departments (including data/analytics, media, and account management) making adjustments on an ad-hoc basis. A/B testing is straightforward, and pages can be set up and launched quickly. As senior data analyst, I have been especially happy with ion because of its exhaustive data collection capabilities and its ability to parse and export said data into a CSV. Especially of note is ion's ability to capture data (interaction, engagements) from users that don't ultimately convert, which gives insight into how to optimize conversions and use of specific landing pages.
  • ion collects data on both converted AND non-converted users of the landing pages. This is great because it allows insight into the customer 'journey'/use for non-converted users, and identify optimization points.
  • ion allows tags to built into landing pages, which let users' experiences be captured in a variety of ways. For instance, if a user clicks a link or opens a lightbox, those events are captured.
  • ion integrates with a number of platforms, including CRM systems and SQL instances. This makes gathering and manipulating data much more straightforward.
  • ion should have lifetime client exports that don't require exporting global respondents/all client data.
ion is well suited for producing multiple landing pages. It offers powerful tracking capabilities and - as a result - insight into user behavior, conversion/engagement, and how different campaigns may perform. A/B testing is straightforward and readily deployed. Pages can be built quickly and customized to client and vendor specifications.

It is not well-suited for one-off or single-use landing pages. Its built-in data gathering and reporting capabilities are powerful and an asset to the platform.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Rachel McIntyre profile photo
December 28, 2017

Review: "Ion Interactive Grabs and Holds attention!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have four graphic designers that use Ion Interactive to design online magazines, newsletters, and landing pages for a variety of clients that we serve. Ion's unique customizable features allow us to use the software different to best serve each clients needs. We love the interactive element that Ion provides, making our client's customer's more engaged with their message.
  • Ion has amazing interactive features that really captivate the readers. Attention span for adults in 2017 is less than 5 seconds so keeping ahold of their attention is extremely important!
  • We like all of the different templates and color palettes that Ion has, it's great being able to start with each client's colors ready to go and not have to rebuild each time
  • We LOVE the chat support. It has been a huge help to us and we highly recumbent engaging with chat support to learn more about ion capabilities.
  • Adding a link in text is very difficult and we feel it could be made so much more simple
  • Understanding the dashboard and analytics can be tricky. It would be helpful to have more tutorials for that end of ion
  • Having a more streamlined way to choose a template or a theme would be helpful - maybe a questionnaire to see what you're looking for and where to start?
Very well suited for interesting newsletters and one-off landing pages that you want to stand out. Anything that requires gaining and constantly recapturing audience attention - with each new interactive element you draw your audience back in making them stay with you and be part of your content rather than checking out so quickly. Not suited for a full permanent company website.
Read Rachel McIntyre's full review
Roger Scholbrock profile photo
December 28, 2017

Review: "Ion Interactive builds content driven results"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ion for some of our corporate clients' marketing needs, connecting web based marketing to their email and direct mail campaigns. the ease of using the predesigned styles and templates makes it efficient and quick with the schedules we work within.
  • The pre established templates speed up the work
  • The tracking features really allow us to modify and update sites as the user experiences data comes in
  • Creating fluid and mobile designs is a snap
  • IT NEEDS an undo button
  • The GUI is very programmer like...a more designer friendly GUI will make it easier to use
  • Simple program scripts to grab and use would eliminate tech support calls
It is fantastic when you need hard numbers on the results you get from the data. It's amazing to see how effective your content is being, and allows you to modify it for better data delivery
Read Roger Scholbrock's full review
Cara Westhouse profile photo
April 11, 2018

ion interactive Review: "ION's Customer Service and Flexibility are awesome!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses ION to create, manage, and test landing pages for our clients. We currently use it on 3 main clients to develop dynamic, personalized pages that convert media leads.
  • Flexible templates - ability to create pages to meet clients' needs without being forced into pre-created templates. this helps us to make changes to constantly meet our client's needs
  • Excellent customer service - this is one of the greatest things about working with ION. They have a wealth of knowledge on their support pages, but also have people who are available to answer questions and troubleshoot through issues. They are extremely responsive and helpful whenever we need something. We don't see this with other technology providers.
  • Undo button - it would be great if there was an undo button so that when you make a change that you don't like, or accidentally remove something from a page you have the option to revert back to the previous version.
  • The reporting could be more user-friendly and intuitive. We currently have to export reports to Excel and slice and dice the data to get the insights we need.
  • Heat mapping and click mapping would be a useful layer on top of the current reporting. This would help to see where people are interacting most, and easily pinpoint areas of opportunity.
ION works well for creating and optimizing landing pages. It helps with managing dozens of page templates and performing A/B tests and optimizations on the pages.
Read Cara Westhouse's full review
Krista Suchy Lohse, MBA profile photo
April 06, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Great tool for media landing pages"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ion to support a client's digital media strategy. ion has the most robust tool as compared to the providers I vetted and great customer service that I have not found anywhere else.
  • Customer service support is technically minded and answers questions immediately
  • The Interactive content allows for a unique page experience I did not find with other drag and drop providers
  • Training and support articles are vast and helpful
  • The tool definitely has a learning curve but once you get the hang of it it's very easy to use
  • The custom build fee is one standard fee, it is not based on the level of effort or time put behind the build
  • I was surprised to find out there is a $250 fee for SSL certificate integration, this is high for the effort needed
  • There is no undo button, I tend to save versions of a page when I feel it's in a decent place so I don't lose time in page build
We use ion to support digital media and it suits our needs perfectly. We can dynamically show content to certain groups of people to give a personalized experience. The landing pages can get tedious designing for individual screen sizes but I know the effort makes the landing pages look more professional than if we had gone another route.
Read Krista Suchy Lohse, MBA's full review
Hattie Holm profile photo
April 06, 2018

User Review: "ION Interactive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team manages and builds landing pages for our clients. Through ION, we execute A/B tests to gather learnings and optimize the landing page experience for our clients' visitors. We have constructed platform recommendations and competitive reviews, and have utilized ION for more than 5 years.
  • ION's customer support is superb. They always respond promptly and actually jump into the creative to help understand what's going on and recommend solutions. They're extremely knowledgeable in the platform.
  • Desktop and mobile setup are not responsive, so you can't forget to build out both version of pages. This can get frustrating at times, as some content may appear in different places than desktop.
  • There is no undo button, so you better get used to copying your creatives! There have been many times where we accidentally deleted the wrong item on the page and had to rebuild everything from scratch. There are rare instances where the page allows you to undo your most recent action, but there is no pattern with that appearing.
If you have complex landing pages that you want to redesign, manage, test, etc., this is a great platform to use. There are numerous functionalities with this platform - some that you learn from interacting with the support team. No matter what scenario you are going after, the customer service will top any other platform that you are considering.
Read Hattie Holm's full review
James Dilgul profile photo
April 06, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Easy to learn - lots of functionality"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ION to create landing pages and micro-sites for specific campaigns and products. During my time at both Iron Mountain and BCA Research, it has, and is, being deployed to allow marketing teams more autonomy and creative control over the execution of campaigns that require landing pages; without the need of a development team to make alterations through our primary CMS.
  • Fairly simple to learn the basics
  • Surprisingly feature-rich, once you know where you look
  • Robust back-end; can plug into most CRMs and marketing automation platforms.
  • Fairly fiddly; it can take some time getting used to placement boxes and containers
  • Lack of a robust undo feature. Deleting something presents you with a tiny undo box which vanishes after a few seconds. Miss it, and you miss your window to undo that 1 action.
  • Greater on-page SEO tools and recommendations would be useful
As you might expect, ION is best suited to creating single landing pages or micro-sites for specific campaigns or events - not full commercial sites/experiences. Ideally, these landing pages would be used for paid search, display, and social, campaigns as the platform is not particularly well geared towards search engine optimization.
Read James Dilgul's full review
Justina Lister profile photo
March 26, 2018

ion interactive Review: "How I can create and publish landing pages in one day"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing department currently uses Ion Interactive to easily create microsites for marketing purposes. For example, we create contest landing pages that are limited by terms & conditions. We also create landing pages for eBooks, whitepapers, and infographics. Ion Interactive is great at helping us get landing pages created very quickly.
  • Allows for a lot of customization, and there are a lot of options and features to use to create a landing page that captures attention.
  • Chat support is great.
  • Ion Interactive is great at quickly implementing changes, keeping your landing page up to date when changes are necessary.
  • It's a tough product to learn. Not very intuitive when you first start building out landing pages.
  • There is no undo button!
  • Simple tasks like adding in text links, and changing spacing can be very difficult. As a marketer, and not web dev, it can be very frustrating trying to figure out how the widgets work.
ion interactive is a great choice for companies that have multiple marketing campaigns and have the need to customize content. It's also great if you have the need to build out landing pages quickly.
Read Justina Lister's full review
Oscar Daniel Valencia Medina profile photo
February 13, 2018

ion interactive Review: "ION for user friendly web page"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To be able to use such an easy and user-friendly platform for web development is fantastic. For digital marketing, the name tells everything, we need to keep track of users' recommendations in order to maximize results and performance inside our web pages. For that capacity and as a non-experienced web developer I thank ion.
  • User-friendly
  • Easy reporting
  • Great chat service for issues
Lead gen web page development 100% sure that this is the correct tool.
Read Oscar Daniel Valencia Medina's full review
Abraham Nord profile photo
February 05, 2018

ion interactive Review: "ION is great for end to end management of stand alone landing pages"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using ion for our B2B clients in conjunction with the paid media efforts that we are managing for them.
  • ion is great for rapid, iterative deployment and testing of landing pages
  • ion is great for interactive content
  • The user interface of the console could be further improved for better organization and usability
ion is great for landing pages where we manage the entire funnel from generating clicks, optimizing engagement, and managing the conversion and lead flow into clients' systems.
Read Abraham Nord's full review
Dee Triggs profile photo
January 19, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Great Content Building"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ion to create eNewsletters and microsites for our clients. The design department is the only users. It resolves the need for quick turn around and some analytics.
  • Templates that are available to use.
  • Ease of uploading items for use.
  • Navigating through the build.
  • Gather reports for our clients on the analytics.
  • Cannot make PDFs of the creative performance.
  • Overall analytics needs to be improved because our clients are asking for more details that just summaries.
Creating a microsite in a day for client that had a tradeshow they want people to go to for gathering email addresses.
Read Dee Triggs's full review
Tim Gossett profile photo
January 16, 2018

Review: "Ion Interactive/LiveBall-An excellent all-around product from start to finish"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize this for management of our campaigns within the Liveball platform. This is specifically designed with the idea of pulling in content and managing not only the design of the pages we utilize for lead generation, but also the analytics and in-depth reporting to show how the campaigns are converting in a very granular fashion.
  • Setup and design of pages is relatively easy
  • Customer service is very responsive
  • Ability to learn on the fly and help/support knowledgebase is excellent
  • Design at times can be not intuitive
  • The ability to get to reporting can be a bit difficult based on how many clicks it takes
  • Expanded reporting to give even more functional use would be great.
This was something that I was not involved in, as I am more of an end user and gatherer of information from the system itself. However, with hindsight being 20/20, my suggestion would be to ask for a demo that explicitly shows building of pages and how that translates into reporting on the page and the capabilities. In some ways, Ion Interactive is almost a "beast" for users that don't need as much power.
Read Tim Gossett's full review
Kelly Saux profile photo
January 15, 2018

ion interactive Review: "An absolute must!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ion interactive may be the most underrated marketing tool in existence. If you run an online business, you owe it to yourself to use this tool. ion interactive is the most flexible page builder and A/B testing platform. We operate our e-commerce in a best in class platform (Demandware), but when it comes to quickly launching A/B tests, ion interactive is the place we do all our testing. It's an advanced platform, which is fully responsive and allows us to easily iterate without any developer support. It's a tool any tech-savvy marketer can take advantage of to create complex experiences with conditional logic, dynamic substitutions, cohesive branding, widgets, data flow to your analytical tools or ESP, etc. If there was only one tool I could purchase to grow my business, ion interactive is the one I would choose without blinking.
  • Flexibility, Analytics, Always improving the platform
  • Undo features
Direct response and content marketing testing puts ion interactive at its best! It's really geared towards marketers and can easily be managed without developers. Make sure to create a solid response theme that can be applied across experiences so that you can have consistent branding.
Read Kelly Saux's full review
Benjamin Hale profile photo
January 10, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Interacting with Ions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ion Interactive for all our landing pages. This is mainly used for the marketing department and it helps us create landing page tests and collect data to create informed decisions on what is working and what is not. The Ion Interactive tools and ability to pull in additional data from our UTMs helps us track a potential students path from click to enrollment.
  • Ion Interactive works well for data collection and management.
  • We like how this product helps us quickly duplicate landing pages and make changes on the fly.
  • We like how Ion Interactive makes it simple for both experienced and inexperienced web developers to make changes to our landing pages.
  • We wish there was an easier way to make changes without it being always on a live site, as this has caused issues with typos or mistakes.
  • Some of the landing page creation tools seem a bit dated.
  • Dashboard visuals could be updated.
Ion Interactive is well suited for making landing pages with accurate record keeping and the ability to connect to different APIs, and it can be up and running quickly. It is also great for managing and maintaining these pages to help keep track of what is working and what is not working.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
Ken Ugel profile photo
January 09, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Great Webpage Creator and Manager"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ion interactive for specific clients' webpages, landing pages, mobile pages, and emails. It is currently only used in the performance content department, which is responsible for creating content for our clients. We are able to put our designs and creations together and onto ion interactive, and have the client help add links, clickTags, TFNs, Promo IDs, etc. This allows for the project to be created, tested, and pushed live very quickly rather than many back-and-forth communications that would be present in basic workplaces.
  • Organizing campaigns, portfolios, and creatives.
  • Flexible editing within the creative studio.
  • Testing and pushing creatives live while giving thorough analytics and reports.
  • The layout and design of its main interface.
  • Easier to use frameworks; they always seem harder to edit and configure to function properly with Ion's creative studio capabilities.
  • Missing the ability to gather emails for a database.
ion interactive is great for website creatives: editing, testing, and pushing live.
Read Ken Ugel's full review
Annie Koelker profile photo
January 08, 2018

ion interactive Review: "Work with the grain, or spend lots of time."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're an advertising agency using ION primarily for our largest client. Our goal using Ion is to easily create interactive content without the time and expense of a developer. We're also able to re-purpose existing content by putting it into an Ion experience. And from there, we can quickly pull pieces from within ION and use it for additional experiences. The tracking is also extremely helpful in providing a tangible ROI calculation to our clients.
  • It's easy to add images or video.
  • Applying a theme to any template is super quick and easy.
  • The reporting is wonderful!
  • It is difficult to hyperlink text within body copy, which seems to be an easy concept.
  • There is no way to undo an action unless you delete content.
  • It's impossible to consistently, vertically center type.
It is extremely intuitive if you don't have a specific design to replicate. For example, an infographic that is a printed piece WILL not look the same in ION. If you try to replicate, you will go insane. However, if you have a quick, down-and-dirty experience where you can utilize the templates - without a ton of modification - you will have tremendous success!
Read Annie Koelker's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ideation (91)
7.8
Content collaboration (85)
7.7
Content hub (96)
7.8
Forms / Gated content (97)
8.2
Embedded CTAs (100)
8.4
Content distribution (86)
8.2
Content promotion (80)
8.2
Content automation (83)
7.7
Audience profiling and targeting (83)
7.5
Closed-loop tracking and reporting (88)
7.9
Content performance analytics (107)
8.0
Campaign optimization dashboard (97)
7.8

About ion interactive

ion is an interactive content platform that provides the scalable foundation to grow from one interactive experience to one thousand interactive experiences. The vendor’s value proposition is that with ion, interactive content development complexity, long timelines, high costs and maintenance problems are replaced with freedom and agility.

The vendor says that by using their interactive content marketing solutions, marketers can cut through the clutter — creating, testing and measuring engaging interactive content marketing without development. Additionally, the vendor says every type of data-driven experience — quizzes, assessments, calculators, configurators, solution builders, interactive white papers, interactive infographics — can be launched in hours or days instead of weeks or months.

ion’s interactive content marketing platform is a web-based software-as-a-service (SaaS) solution that empowers marketers to rapidly deploy, test and measure all types of interactive content without costly, complex and time consuming development.

ion interactive Features

Content Creation Features
Has featureIdeation
Does not have featureApproval workflows
Has featureContent collaboration
Does not have featureContent calendar
Does not have featureNetwork for content licensing/production
Does not have featurePayment/Resource management
Content Publishing Features
Has featureContent hub
Has featureForms / Gated content
Has featureEmbedded CTAs
Has featureContent distribution
Has featureContent promotion
Has featureContent automation
Content Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureAudience profiling and targeting
Has featureClosed-loop tracking and reporting
Has featureContent performance analytics
Has featureCampaign optimization dashboard
Does not have featureCompetitive analytics
Does not have featureContent production analytics
Has featurePage-level engagement analytics

ion interactive Screenshots

ion interactive Videos (6)

ion interactive Downloadables

ion interactive Integrations

ion interactive Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Managed Services + SaaSCustomper year

ion’s Build Anything SaaS platform provides organizations with an entirely new and agile interactive content marketing capability. It enables non-technical marketers and designers to create, test and measure an unlimited number of all types of interactive content marketing experiences. It includes unlimited seats, experiences, tests, customization, phone and email support, analytics and more.

ion interactive Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

ion interactive Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

ion interactive Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English