SolarWinds ipMonitor Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 01, 2021
Rekha Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The way SolarWinds has clubbed the features and capabilities in SolarWinds ipMonitor is not available in other 3rd party or native tools. Even if they are available then they are very costly. I think SolarWinds is positioning ipMonitor so as to test their footprint on SaaS world with these small scale monitoring tools such as Loggly, ipmonitor, AppOptics which is a good sign to enter the SaaS based monitoring solution.
Read Rekha Yadav's full review
April 30, 2021
Dylan Eikelenboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Both alternatives were great offerings, but were too extensive for our business needs. We needed something that had very low set-up costs, was easily usable, and did all the basics we need; performance metrics analysis, rogue IP detection, network mapping. In the end, along with the reasonable price point, SolarWinds offering won out.
Read Dylan Eikelenboom's full review
April 29, 2021
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Although there are very less SaaS based tools available in the market, SolarWinds is somewhere in middle as compared to other tools such as LogicMonitor and ScienceLogic. Reason being the timing of the product launch and features enhancement. However current capabilities in SolarWinds SaaS products is improving day by day still it requires some more time to become a mature product including ipMonitor. Appoptics is doing great but the competitors are doing much better in terms of marketing, feature set etc.
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
April 29, 2021
Arnab Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (npm)
SolarWinds NPM provides more functionalities than ipMonitor. It is for medium - large enterprise and provides lots of monitoring options.
Read Arnab Mukherjee's full review
June 10, 2021
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Every product or software has its own pros and cons. Every organization has its own standards and check list to find the product which best meets their goal. Obviously, cost is also one of the factors, including efficiency. Our organization always explores the best products in the market [to find one that] meets its expectation.
Overall, ipMonitor tool is cost-effective, easy to install, less resource consumption, high efficiency in pinpointing the network related issues and its performance monitoring, easy to set alert system and highly reliable and great support attracts our organization to go with this.
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
June 01, 2021
Emma Jones Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

LogicMonitor is software with a fast-loading interface, with integrated alerts, so establishing them is simple due to its pre-configurations. However, SolarWinds ipMonitor [has] more complete characteristics because its interface is modern and easy to use. It offers fast and continuous monitoring 24/7 and has automated repairs which are of great help to shorten the downtime of the business infrastructure, that is why we have decided to keep it.
Read Emma Jones Smith's full review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have run Zabbix in the past and while it is a great and very flexible tool (much more than SolarWinds), it is also an Open Source tool that depends heavily on the community. When it comes to more complex environments and global implementations with business critical applications, we could not rely on the community to support us.
SolarWinds is a leader on monitoring industry and has a great support.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2020
Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I had some limited exposure to Zabbix that was provided by the client for monitoring the existing network. I found it not as informative as I previously experienced using ipMonitor and we were preparing for a network migration. I ended up setting up remote monitoring using ipMonitor on a laptop and successfully migrated the network.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
June 10, 2020
Paul Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

ipMonitor is easier to set up and is straightforward. The other products seem to require getting a bit more into the weeds to get everything to work correctly. It was more work than I was willing to do and opted to just go with an off-the-shelf solution that could get my objectives met quickly.
Read Paul Cheng's full review
June 04, 2020
Brian Maull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have been using IPMonitor for over a decade. We have looked at other products in the past, but none of them have provided enough reason to even consider switching.
Read Brian Maull's full review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I feel that ipMonitor does not provide the granularity or level of configuration we require for our teams. We actually are looking at other means of customizing our monitors using the products listed, which I think will provide my teams with the ability to create better alerts that can be customized easier and can provide more depth of monitoring and alerting.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not evaluated other products recently.
Read this authenticated review
July 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

These are only a few of what we looked at, and at the end of the day it came down to cost, low footprint, and ease of use. I have suggested SolarWinds to anyone who asks what we use.
Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are some great free or low-cost tools out there. It all depends on your budget and size. We have used a wide variety of products over the years but we recently switched our entire monitoring backbone to SolarWinds products only. They cover just about everything and ipMonitor is great for monitoring the environments we spin up in tests.
Read Rob Bates's full review
February 01, 2019
Mike Maner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Pasessler PRTG and ManageEngine OpsManager. Both are good products, but aren't really monitoring products, they are more management products with monitoring built in. The smaller footprint of ipMonitor, as well as the historical data storage options, were a better fit for our organization.
Read Mike Maner's full review
February 11, 2019
Jason Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used simple scripted monitoring tools before, used IP monitor until we upgraded the enterprise to one scalable tool that can replace and upgrade per SLA SOX compliance standards. I moved to a larger company (much larger) and we don't use SolarWinds here. We use WUG which has its perks but nowhere near the support, tools, community, and overall simplicity. It has helped me noticed how nice SolarWinds was and is.
Read Jason Martin's full review
February 04, 2019
Glen Nason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Used ipMonitor for 7 years. Switched recently to Idera because of larger feature set and monitoring capabilities not available on IPmonitor. For tasks that both products can do, I still prefer IPmonitor.
Read Glen Nason's full review
February 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

IpMonitor is easy to set up and has a clear and easy reading interface. It's user-friendly for entry-level technicians. The price is good.
However, for big enterprises, PRTG Network Monitor might be a better solution.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds ipMonitor is well thought out and includes many more advanced capabilities. Spiceworks functions in a more basic manner where the tools feel more entry level rather than for professional use.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds ipMonitor is an easier solution and allows for a rapid configuration change without all the extra bells and whistles that you can find in SolarWinds Orion.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used numerous free solutions that provide minimal and focused response. Solar Winds has a much larger scope in the resolutions it provides to us.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (11)
8.5
Network monitoring (24)
8.9
Alerts (24)
8.5
Network mapping (20)
8.1
Customizable reports (24)
7.2

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor?

SolarWinds ipMonitor is a centralized monitoring tool. It offers a lightweight program for agentless monitoring from a single console for performance and availability of networks, servers, and applications. IpMonitor can be up and running in minutes for out-of-the-box visibility into systems environment through a web interface. IpMonitor offers some automation, including network auto-discovery and remediation actions.

SolarWinds ipMonitor Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features

Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports

SolarWinds ipMonitor Screenshots

SolarWinds ipMonitor Video

Watch Overview of ipMonitor

SolarWinds ipMonitor Downloadables

SolarWinds ipMonitor Competitors

SolarWinds ipMonitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
ipMonitor -2500 Monitors$5770installation
ipMonitor - 1000 Monitors$2620installation
ipMonitor - 500 Monitors$1570installation

SolarWinds ipMonitor Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds ipMonitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor?

SolarWinds ipMonitor is a lightweight performance monitoring tool. It enables monitoring from a single console and out-of-the-box visibility, with some automation available.

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor's best feature?

Reviewers rate Network monitoring highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses SolarWinds ipMonitor?

The most common users of SolarWinds ipMonitor are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.