SolarWinds ipMonitor Reviews

55 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 01, 2021
Rekha Yadav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds ipMonitor is being used as simple fault and availability monitoring of our remote network devices IP and some of the critical application services and URLs. This tool has a wider visibility in terms of operations as there is a quick response team aligned and monitoring objects very closely and 24*7 of business critical components.
Read Rekha Yadav's full review
April 30, 2021
Dylan Eikelenboom | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds ipMonitor is a monitoring tool for all devices in your internal network. We use it for checking the performance of the devices, as well as monitoring for unknown/rogue devices in the internal network. Any new device in the network will be added to our ipMonitor tool.
Read Dylan Eikelenboom's full review
April 29, 2021
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ipMonitor is being used to monitor the availability of network devices, servers and services remotely. Although, SolarWinds ipMonitor is not being used much our customers there are very few which are using still this is not a bad feedback since SolarWinds has other monitoring products are are quite effective and hence ipMonitor is very less used.
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
April 29, 2021
Arnab Mukherjee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds ipMonitor provides basic Network and System Monitoring for small to medium n/w's. We have used it for monitoring equipment only for some of the departments (IT). It is used for troubleshooting network and system problems. It does not provide all the functionalities what SolarWinds NPM provides.
Read Arnab Mukherjee's full review
June 10, 2021
Srinivas Reddy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our current organization has different departments [that] have more than one monitoring tool. As of now, our organization goes with the size of the applications, servers capacity and work load, and the nature of the applications to decide which monitoring tool is best fits. In our current It sector, it is medium range and better suited for SolarWinds ipMonitor. Most of our applications in our sector are light to medium range and have virtual servers of low CPU and memory configurations. ipMonitor suits applications run under less CPU and memory related servers. This [tool] consumes fewer resources and gives optimum results
Read Srinivas Reddy's full review
June 01, 2021
Emma Jones Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds ipMonitor is used at the level of the entire infrastructure of our business network. It helps us to carry out the monitoring of each of our network devices, servers, and applications, which facilitates us to observe their performance and to be able to find where, how and when critical problems occur in our network. Its interface is simple and very easy to use and gives the advantage of being able to view, from a single console, the status of the entire infrastructure that is monitored 24/7. We not only observe performance but also we are aware of any device that wishes to harm the network.
Read Emma Jones Smith's full review
April 30, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently we use SolarWinds ipMonitor as one of the tools to monitor and analyze incoming and outgoing traffic from our networking devices. It's also used to show our NOC operations as well as send out alerts of up/down devices.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using SolarWinds ipMonitor, in addition to other SolarWinds modules such as Application monitor and Network Performance monitor, since 2017 as our global solution for monitoring.
It's been used to monitor connectivity status (response to ping, usage, availability) of thousands of network equipment and servers from all our sites in more than 40 countries. It's also configured to alert the proper technicians/analysts/teams responsible for each equipment.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2020
Mike Mozola | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have utilized IP monitor for smaller network projects for over the past 10 years and it has assisted with giving some visibility into the network and reporting that we were able to produce for burn-in monitoring to successfully complete projects. I have also used ipMonitor in addition to the Orion Network Performance Monitor for local monitoring on a safety system in case access to the centralized management system is unavailable.
Read Mike Mozola's full review
June 10, 2020
Paul Cheng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ipMonitor to help oversee the status of dozens of network devices across our organization by keeping track of things like performance, space and uptime. It saves the need to have to have to log in to every device to determine the status of a particular device. It's like having your own automated NOC.
Read Paul Cheng's full review
June 04, 2020
Brian Maull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use IPMonitor to monitor all of our servers, both production, and test for various things such as response to ping, resource usage, service availability, and to alert the proper staff when needed.
Read Brian Maull's full review
July 26, 2019
Jeremy Mayfield | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used to manage the IP addresses in the infrastructure. It helps manage the DNS zones and monitors for errors. Its allows us the ability to monitor each VLAN zone to better understand how well we are managing sprawl and rogue devices. We have found it to be very useful.
Read Jeremy Mayfield's full review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use ipMonitor in our platform and infrastructure teams almost exclusively, though other users are able to view the data when needed. We use the application to alert for unresponsive services, the F5 pool status, if a server can ping, and the various other ways that a system or server can fail and that make sense to monitor.
Read this authenticated review
October 24, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using it within the IT office to monitor uptime of equipment and services. This has significantly helped to improve uptime and response time as needed. We are very happy with the product and would recommend it. I am sure there are other products that have more bells and whistles but SolarWinds ipMonitor does more than people think.
Read this authenticated review
July 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We were looking for a little more out of our server monitoring and out wanted something off the shelf, and ipMonitor was a perfect fit. Easy server configuration, light weight, not overly demanding on resources and the support staff Solarwinds are great to deal with should you have an issue.

Read this authenticated review
February 19, 2019
Rob Bates | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

ipmonitor is geared towards smaller environments. It's a great alternative product if you need additional monitoring on certain environments, which might fall outside your core monitoring platforms. We already use a lot of the SolarWinds products across the organization. We needed to monitor some DEV environments that we didn't place under our main monitoring umbrella.
Read Rob Bates's full review
January 25, 2019
Christian Gaarn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire organization is using IPmonitor for the monitoring of servers and some services, via SNMP and Ping.
Read Christian Gaarn's full review
February 11, 2019
Jason Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds was brought into our PROD/DEV environments. The infrastructure was growing and we needed a solid product with back end support. A plus is the ability to rescale with a shopping cart full of free tools and further products you can add to the overall package. The NetFlow analyzer was awesome when it came out, we could see everything all shown as traffic flows. The ability to monitor Network, Hardware, and Databases for an infrastructure spanning 4 DC's and 3 different office's spread over hundreds of miles. They are constantly adding tools and features with a community forum that is always growing in depth, with solutions and support.
Read Jason Martin's full review
February 04, 2019
Glen Nason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Department level. Monitoring about 80 servers. Configured to monitor ping, selected services start/stop, CPU and RAM levels, notify engineers of trouble or impending trouble.
Read Glen Nason's full review
February 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have been using SolarWinds IpMonitor for about three years to monitor our infrastructure, mostly for network devices and servers. It is very easy to set up and configure, and I strongly believe is an affordable tool for small and medium businesses price wise.
IpMonitor is a tool we use to display vital system sensors on a wall TV screen in our IT department. It has a pretty informative interface with only the details we need for our operations.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our IT department uses SolarWinds ipMonitor for full network visibility. It allows us to keep tabs on the performance of our network devices and applications. We can configure alerts through various types of notifications to determine when issues arise.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We leverage SolarWinds ipMonitor in one of our data centers to ensure critical services and servers are operational in both our DMZ and internal network. The system proves accurate and immediate alerts, so our technicians can mitigate any downtime we are experiencing.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SolarWinds is used in the Technology department to analyze network traffic flow for all switches throughout the district.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (11)
8.5
Network monitoring (24)
8.9
Alerts (24)
8.5
Network mapping (20)
8.1
Customizable reports (24)
7.2

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor?

SolarWinds ipMonitor is a centralized monitoring tool. It offers a lightweight program for agentless monitoring from a single console for performance and availability of networks, servers, and applications. IpMonitor can be up and running in minutes for out-of-the-box visibility into systems environment through a web interface. IpMonitor offers some automation, including network auto-discovery and remediation actions.

SolarWinds ipMonitor Features

Network Performance Monitoring Features

Has featureAutomated network device discovery
Has featureNetwork monitoring
Has featureAlerts
Has featureNetwork mapping
Has featureCustomizable reports

SolarWinds ipMonitor Screenshots

SolarWinds ipMonitor Video

Watch Overview of ipMonitor

SolarWinds ipMonitor Downloadables

SolarWinds ipMonitor Competitors

SolarWinds ipMonitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
ipMonitor -2500 Monitors$5770installation
ipMonitor - 1000 Monitors$2620installation
ipMonitor - 500 Monitors$1570installation

SolarWinds ipMonitor Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds ipMonitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor?

SolarWinds ipMonitor is a lightweight performance monitoring tool. It enables monitoring from a single console and out-of-the-box visibility, with some automation available.

What is SolarWinds ipMonitor's best feature?

Reviewers rate Network monitoring highest, with a score of 8.9.

Who uses SolarWinds ipMonitor?

The most common users of SolarWinds ipMonitor are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.