Ivanti Service Manager

Ivanti Service Manager

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat)

Overview

Recent Reviews

Great product and easy to use

9 out of 10
December 14, 2021
Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) is currently being used by the company for ticket creation and resolution services. We use in the …
Continue reading

Great ITSM product

10 out of 10
March 16, 2021
Whole organization is using the application for Information Services incidents and service requests. Addresses all needs for IS requests …
Continue reading

eyebrow raising

8 out of 10
January 16, 2021
Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) helped in evaluating vulnerabilities and helped with security fixes.
We have a few Mac's and were …
Continue reading

Great ITSM Solution

8 out of 10
January 26, 2019
We use Ivanti Service Manager to log and manage incidents, service requests, problems, knowledge and configuration items
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 13 features

Organize and prioritize service tickets (18)

9.2
92%

ITSM reports and dashboards (18)

9.1
91%

Self-service tools (17)

8.3
83%

ITSM collaboration and documentation (17)

8.1
81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Ivanti Service Manager, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Ivanti Service Manager?

Ivanti offers the Ivanti Service Manager, powered by Heat. Ivanti is the company that resulted from the merger of Heat and LANDESK in January 2017. Heat Software, formerly FrontRange offered a range of ITSM solutions and was a very well-known vendor in this space offering both SaaS and on-premise…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

18 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ServiceNow IT Service Management?

ServiceNow is a fast-growing service management provider that went public in 2012. Built on the ServiceNow Now Platform, the IT Service Management bundle provides an agent workspace with knowledge management, and modules supporting issue tracking and problem resolution, change, release and…

What is Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk)?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of…

Features Scorecard

Incident and problem management

8.4
84%

ITSM asset management

8.9
89%

Change management

9.1
91%

Product Details

What is Ivanti Service Manager?

Ivanti offers the Ivanti Service Manager, powered by Heat. Ivanti is the company that resulted from the merger of Heat and LANDESK in January 2017.

Heat Software, formerly FrontRange offered a range of ITSM solutions and was a very well-known vendor in this space offering both SaaS and on-premise configurations, competing with BMC Remedy, IBM SmartCloud, ServiceNow, and Cherwell Service Management.

Ivanti Service Manager Competitors

Ivanti Service Manager Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Ivanti Service Manager?

Ivanti offers the Ivanti Service Manager, powered by Heat. Ivanti is the company that resulted from the merger of Heat and LANDESK in January 2017. Heat Software, formerly FrontRange offered a range of ITSM solutions and was a very well-known vendor in this space offering both SaaS and on-premise configurations, competing with BMC Remedy, IBM SmartCloud, ServiceNow, and Cherwell Service Management.

What is Ivanti Service Manager's best feature?

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets and Change requests repository highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Ivanti Service Manager?

The most common users of Ivanti Service Manager are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Government Administration industry.

Reviews

(1-19 of 19)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ivanti Service Manager to provide a self-service solution for internal customers, record Incidents and Requests, manage our Change process, and are looking into additional options provided by the product such as Knowledge Management, Problem Management, and Project Management. Self Service is used company-wide, with Incident/Request/Change Management used by multiple Information Services teams, both within and outside of the IT portfolio.
  • Customization - can't find a workspace that does what you want, build your own! Don't like the page layout, update it to look just how you want it!
  • Automation - build workflows and let the system handle tedious or long processes. No need to have constant manual intervention to move the process along. Workflows can do everything from sending emails to generating tickets, get approvals, update objects, and more.
  • Self-Service is user-friendly and can be customized to provide alerts, show announcements, provide self-help articles in addition to allowing customers to perform standard incident or request creation.
  • Visual reporting - no need to spend hours writing and rewriting SRSS reports that are outdated by the time your staff look at them and are difficult to interact with. The Analytic Metrics workspace is easy to use to create graphs/charts, is interactive, and self-updates so you're always looking at recent data.
  • The Analytic Metrics workspace is a great easy-to-use alternative to standard SQL reporting, and is a relatively new feature that still has room for improvement and growth.
  • The Project Management workspace is relatively new and still has room for improvement and growth. It does not replace Microsoft Project, but if you spend some time customizing it, you can come close.
  • I'd love to see more ITIL framework built into the product. You can build ITIL practices into the product, however it would be nice to have more of ITIL prebuilt.
Ivanti Service Manager can be customized specifically to your business needs. The pre-built product has tons of features, from Incident Management to Service Management to Change Management, Knowledge, Problem, Costing, and more, so it is possible to use the product out of the box with very little customization. ISM is very flexible and adaptable, so unless you won't do customizations, you can make the product fit your needs.
The ISM Cloud desk is always friendly and supportive. They respond quickly whether you log a ticket in the portal, or post a question to the Community Forums. Service Desk agents are extremely knowledgeable about the product, and have often been able to solve issues for me without needing to escalate.
Jesse Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across many different business units. The primary features we use are basic help desk (Incident), Problem, Change, Reporting, Service Requests, Knowledge Base, automation between Ivanti Asset Manager EPM, and other Ivanti products.
  • Request offerings
  • Task workflows
  • Help desk for individual business units
  • Automation between products
  • Update sequence doesn't match the other products; must install every incremental update
  • On-prem does not get the same love as cloud. Features are available years after they are released to cloud customers
  • The product's architecture is going through a maturing phase. For cloud this is not as much of an issue, but for on-premises customers, this can be painful to go though.
Companies that like to use automation customize the experience for their internal/external customers as well as the ability to scale out. If you want and really need the ability to follow ITIL standards, Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) is a fantastic solution for you. ISM is that perfect fit for companies that also want to track changes, problems, and escalate requests on their help desk, and complete tasks with minimal interaction and time wasted on the customer's end. Asset Management is an optional module for companies that would use that feature set. For those who would use the two parts together, the product goes up to an entirely new level!
Support has been amazing. They are knowledgeable, respectful, efficient, and friendly. When something doesn't go according to plan, they go above and beyond to make sure your issues are resolved. I have come to think of them as an extension of my team!
Michael Abraniuk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) is completely customizable and can be process driven.
  • Excellent product for multiple departments (IT, HR, etc.) to use service requests.
  • A lot of work at the front will pay off at the end.
  • Since it can do so much, it is hard to decide what you want it to do at the start.
  • If you are implementing it, take your time to decide which of the modules you need (Incident, Service, Problem, Change, etc.) and implement those. Get used to them and then expand.
  • Gives too many notifications out of the box but those can be turned off or removed.
  • Customized service requests
  • Customized dashboards
  • Customized processes
  • Too many notifications out of the box
Well suited: Equipment request from a catalog, password reset where authorization is required, software change requests
Less appropriate: Project management tasks
Support is very responsive
George Velianitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Ivanti Service Manager in our company in order to provide the end users with a robust tool to submit their requests and report any incidents. The inclusion of Configuration Items helps us organize and administer the thousands of devices and systems registered. By using workflows and approvals in the request offerings, we also provide a solution towards managing / structuring business processes.
  • Workflows help optimization of processes
  • Handling big amounts of data
  • Variety of customization options
  • Performance
  • Quality check before new versions are released
  • Search functionality
Ivanti Service Manager is well suited when a variety of systems and/or processes are used, providing a common interface for the end user to find knowledge articles or documents and submit requests and queries.

It is less appropriate when used as a large database as the indexing requires effort and the performance is not optimal.
Initial response is usually fast, but solving issues takes longer than expected and most of the times it is not clear what exactly the issue is and when it is going to be solved. It would be helpful to know if there are already complaints by other customers regarding new issues, so that we know that we are not alone and that Ivanti support is already aware of the problems.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) is currently being used by the company for ticket creation and resolution services. We use in the IT department, HR, payroll, security, IT security, and supply, to name a few.
  • Ease of use
  • Great customer service
  • Executive sponsor and support
  • Supportive sales team
  • Do not rush products till they are fully ready
  • Work to customize more
  • Offer different ways to download cloud data
Great product with an easy-to-use tool. Training for the user community is minimal. The techs can use it quickly and, since it is a cloud app, it can be reached from any location. We are in the process of expanding the Ivanti footprint more with the use of Neurons and the remote control agent.
The best support team of any of my vendors
Gregor Anton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager (ISM), formerly HEAT, is an ITSM ticketing tool that our clients use for Incident Management, Change Management, Release Management, Knowledge Management, Problem Management, Service Requests, Self Service Portal, Project Management, Event Management, CMDB, Configuration Management, Asset Management (ITAM), and workflow automation, worldwide in Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Europe, and Asia, for fortune 200 multi-national companies in a multitude of sectors such as government, banking, financial services, insurance, and engineering, to name just a few.
  • 100% ITIL Process Compliance.
  • Dashboards, Reporting, Analytics.
  • Workflow Automation.
  • Holistic Overview of IT Health.
  • Easily customizable.
  • Self Service customer portal.
  • Integration (ERP, CRM, EPM, SCCM, Discovery Tools, Softchoice, Active Directory).
  • HR Automation (Onboarding, Offboarding, Changes).
  • Change Control including Change Notifications.
  • Asset Scanning, Asset Management, Asset Integration.
  • Policy and Contract Management.
  • Software Inventory and Software Entitlement.
  • Procurement Integration (Purchase Orders, Invoices, Shipments, Packing Slips, Product Catalog).
  • Approval Workflows.
  • Audit Capabilities.
  • Knowledgeable consultants are difficult to find, even the most senior consultants lack the in-depth knowledge and expertise that companies like mine bring to the table.
  • Ivanti and Ivanti Business Partner consultant rates are extremely high and lack expert knowledge and experience.
  • Product support outside of United States and Canada.
  • Project Management Module is under utilized and over customized.
  • Workflow automation and integration require seasoned consultants to fully utilize to their potential.
Ivanti Service & Asset Manager (ITxM) with the help of experienced consultants is well suited for progressive companies interested in bringing their service desk and IT operations to the next level with a holistic approach and overview, implementation of workflows and automation to streamline processes and enable the Service Desk and IT to work on the business instead of in the business.
Ivanti Support does a reasonably good job at support but lacks hands-on consulting expertise and ability to raise enhancement requests. Ivanti outsources all their project to business partners, so experience will vary. Working directly with an experience ISM Consulting company like a19 consulting overcomes many obstacles and hurdles faced with business partners.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool in out IT department, with over 80 staff. We are currently looking to expand the use to HR, Health Records and Facility Management. Ivanti Service Manager allows us all to get the work done as efficiently as possible!
  • Customization is key! It is able to almost fit any scenario we throw at it, allowing us to fit the tool to us rather then the other way around.
  • Knowledge module needs some work, especially the built in editor.
It’s able to fit almost all of the scenarios we give it, but we find it hard to manage workflow for multiple corporations.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat)] to facilitate all of our MSP style functions including ticketing, knowledge base, asset tracking, project planning and budgeting. We use this internally across our entire customer base. My main job functions are dealing with the project management and budgeting systems.
  • Issue Tracking
  • CI management
  • Alerting
  • Implementation can be cumbersome and you really need someone who understands the system to customize it to your business
  • The update process has been buggy and introduced new issues with each update.
If you were a MSP looking to integrate your systems into a single system I would recommend [Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat)]. You really need someone who is strong with databases and integration to get the most out of the system, so either expect to pay an implementation specialist or employ your own as there is a lot of customization that needs to take place. We have had to add many custom fields and setup alerting on them to make this work for our business, but once it has been setup it was worked very well.
March 16, 2021

Great ITSM product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organization is using the application for Information Services incidents and service requests. Addresses all needs for IS requests and allows us to track our tasks, incidents, service requests, changes, etc.
  • Customizable
  • Good community
  • Great Support
  • Reliable
  • Quicker Updates
  • Less Errors
  • More Calendar Functionality
Suitable for all Information Services needs and highly customizable for other departments such as payroll, human resources, etc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It first started as for us as an IT ticketing system but we soon realised the capability of the platform and began deploying it across the organisation as an Enterprise Service Management system. It's now being used by over 100 teams between various departments including Human Resources, Finance, Facilities, ICT, Professional Services etc. It's enabled us to provide a platform for many services which have until now been served through paper forms and emails.
  • Configurability. Imagination is your only limit at times.
  • Workflows. You can automate (semi or fully) complicated processes
  • Ability to expand. You're not locked down to the out of the box modules, you can create your own to serve your specific use cases with relative ease.
  • New features aren't always road tested and sometimes it feels like it's up to the users to be the beta testers.
  • Limitations to being cloud hosted. While it's certainly preferrable, there's some more advanced/niche features you miss out on which you would otherwise have had access to were you on-prem.
It's a great system for anyone between wanting something that's just plug-n-play that works out of the box, or someone who wants to shape it to make it their own, and do things their way. It's easy to build your processes into the system, or you can just run with how it's been preconfigured. One of it's limited features is document management. While the system will allow you to upload documents to a record, it's purely storage. It's not suitable for processes that require document processing functionality.
The support we've had from Ivanti has been excellent. While we might not always get the answer we want, they always take the time to listen, to test and troubleshoot and do their best to solve the problem or help us find a suitable workaround.
January 16, 2021

eyebrow raising

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat) helped in evaluating vulnerabilities and helped with security fixes.
We have a few Mac's and were looking to see if we could even implement the service with Linux Clients.
  • Asset management on workstations.
  • Software updates were completed with the latest security fixes.
  • Remote assistance can be implemented expediently.
  • Had a little trouble sending some files remotely a few times, but it could have been on our end.
  • The system was a little different from what we were used to. We had to drill down into the program a bit more than expected.
  • We couldn't tell if some of our older machines were having problems with it, or if it was the program itself.
The work environment we use has some older machines as well as newer machines we are in the process of upgrading and researching new software that is compatible with what we have until we can make a full transition. Hopefully, we will have replaced all our older equipment in a few months to keep in step with the demand for our clientele that will be working from home.
The Ivanti Service Manager has proven to be essential for our gradual transition. We are researching various software and hardware options to suit our needs.
Cameron Council | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager was being utilized as a ticketing and accountability tool to manage work within a 35 member IT department. It was being used to log tickets for a Helpdesk, and Classroom Support department as well as track major projects for Network and Infrastructure, Information Security, Card Management, Development, and track purchases and inventory. The plan was to implement this product for is project tracking and automation features to better track and monitor projects to ensure accountability as well as provide automation for purchasing new equipment and providing support.
  • High level visibly, ISM allows for instant visibility of projects and tickets to allow upper management visibility and metrics.
  • Automation, the built-in automation tools allow for several steps to be automated to take out the manual click work for some repetitive tasks.
  • User Empowerment, ISM provides a user portal that allows the user base to log issues as well as check on the status of their issue from anywhere they have a network connection.
  • The software is technical, very technical. A 4-day training is needed in order to administer this software properly.
  • Customization, but almost to a fault. The software allows for endless customization which can be nice but if someone does not know what they are doing they can quickly break the software by editing or deleting the wrong business object.
I feel that in a Helpdesk or support level department this system is great. Ticket monitoring and visibility provide accountability. The inventory management feature is also in order to automate support requests when certain hardware issues are flagged. The implementation of a local agent on each PC being managed requires a deployment software like PDQ or Altiris in order to easily get the agent on all items. I think for large organizations of 1000+ employees this software is ideal. This software could be a bit overkill for smaller to medium-sized companies.
Just call them up and you'll see. I don't know what it is about that Colorado support office but everyone is always in a good mood and they are so very knowledgeable about the product. Ren was my go-to, her technical knowledge is solid.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager is used for managing tickets in our Business Support Centre as well as Incident, Problem and Change Management within our IT Service Desk.
  • Very easy to perform administrative tasks, which helps reduce time to market significantly
  • Intuitive interface
  • Great out of the box offerings aiding to hit the ground running
  • Can improve on product support in EU
  • Scaling the Workflow/Business Rule engine to handle higher volumes
IT Service Management / Automation of Service Delivery
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager is used by our internal facing customer service departments such as IT and facilities. All departments use the software as end users and it is used to manage projects, tickets, and work order requests. We are also doing some automation work such as AD account provisioning and reoccurring tasks such as air filter replacements or other timed maintenance needs.
  • Self service portal allows for users to enter their own data anytime
  • Reminders keep priority issues remembered and focused on
  • Automation abilities do exist. We provision AD accounts based on HR information.
  • Automation could be a little more built in and accessibility
  • Managing service requests and incidents are two separate areas
  • Project management is the weakest of the 3 tenants
It is very well suited for break/fix and service requests. Both of these are handled very well and allow for catalogs to help categorize and sort end user requests automatically. The project management is not well suited and other products do it better for sure. It can be used but again others are better.
January 26, 2019

Great ITSM Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ivanti Service Manager to log and manage incidents, service requests, problems, knowledge and configuration items
  • Workflows make assigning service requests and tasks very efficient
  • There’s a lot of flexibility and customization options
  • The ability to pull information in from other sources helps reduce redundant work
  • Hopefully this has changed, but when we implemented the tool we had 4 different analysts work with us, because the previous ones quit. None of them passed the knowledge off so we had to start over each time.
  • The backend can be a little messy at times. It can be difficult to disable or remove a field because it’s tied to so many different modules.
Beginning pain point aside, Ivanti is a great tool, especially if you need something on-premise. It helps follow ITIL and other ITSM standards
Daniel Cogny | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ivanti Service Manager was brought in to my organization as an IT Service Management tool, to better support the HelpDesk clients (the rest of the organization). But, once established in IT, other departments that offer internal services showed interest in maintaining a catalogue and being able to get reports on their performance.

Currently is used by 6 other departments, with some more showing interest too.

Besides the Service Management part, it is also being used as an Asset Management tool, allowing us to better control our assets.
  • Customization. It is highly customizable, our system looks nothing like the out of the box (OOB) one!
  • Flexibility. We are using it in several departments that offer completely different types of services, it is handling all of them well.
  • Support. Their support is always available, and they are very knowledgeable, they got me out of a few bumps on the road.
  • Customizable design. It uses web technologies for the front end, I would like to be able to get a full CSS control over its looks. To be fair, it currently has some "branding" capabilities (colors, logo, letter font), but I miss the option of design the form of the text boxes, for example.
Perfect if you offer services (internally or externally), it will allow you to keep track of the work done, but also of the customer satisfaction (I love the in-house surveys).

It has a lot of built-in connections, but building new ones might be overwhelming, so make sure your current software/processes are compatible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
There are a handful of deploys for different service lines in our company. It serves as a call and issues tracking system with a custom requirement in place for each instance. Our service line, in particular, is the only known one in our company that integrates the Service Manager application with the Ivanti Voice product.
  • Very good at allowing a service line to configure the product to suit its needs. This is important so as to not have to craft operations around the technology, but the other way around!
  • A high level of flexibility to implement a great deal of automation. The product gives end users access to pre-defined or custom business rules and workflows as well as the ability to implement other forms of time savers!
  • There is a very comprehensive Help guide for end users and administrators alike. Quite often I have found the most obscure 'How To's' in this guide rather than needing to call into support or search out information on the Ivanti site.
  • There are times when various browsers and the product don't always cooperate. We have seen from time to time on-screen controls not operate as expected with certain browsers.
  • Customizing controls such as forms, grids, fields, etc. is not very intuitive. Lots of research can be required to accomplish even the simplest tweak.
  • Very limiting in the ability to import/export large amounts of data via the Application Administrator. The process itself of importing data via the product is not intuitive.
This product is an ideal tracking tool for contact centers like a technical support desk, IT Service Desk, or other incident management type of support service. The out-of-the-box capabilities it has to make sure 'incidents' don't fall by the waist side once created is extensive. The product is not ideal in my opinion for a shop that does not require a high-level of structure to tracking service center activity (smaller organizations that may otherwise use other tracking alternatives like custom web solutions developed in-house or equivalents).
March 01, 2018

The HEAT is on.

Christian Storb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With HEAT Service Management many of our customers manage numerous service interactions every day across the whole organization. HEAT Service Management includes Incident Management, Problem Management, Change Management, Knowledge Management, Workflow Automation, Release Management, Service Level Management, Event Management, Availability Management, Financial Management, Portfolio & Project Management and much more.
  • HEAT Service Management is available on-premise and in the Cloud.
  • HEAT Service Management has received certification from Pink Elephant and Serview for 13 ITIL processes,
  • HEAT Service Management provides a lot of integration capabilities. It's easy to create integration links between HEAT SM and existing systems and data sources via Web Service Interfaces (SOAP, REST).
  • No chatbot for Self Service available.
HEAT Service Management (HEAT SM) is well suited when Customers need to extend service management capabilities to other areas of the business. HEAT SM delivers rich functionality right out of the box and allow users to configure them to meet their exact requirements. It is also possible to develop completely new business-level functions. Powerful graphical application configuration and development tools are included in the platform for this purpose.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Desk Software for tracking Incidents, doing reporting and other necessary services for a client.
  • Full service Service Desk Management capability.
  • SQL connectivity to allow for external reporting.
  • Can be customized with a programmer.
  • Specified to follow ITSM Standards.
  • Can provide Asset Management.
  • Difficult to customize and for field validations.
  • Can be a slow performer and the older version tends to crash sometimes.
  • Needed more current interfaces and other features which may be in later versions.
Scale of the operation, resources available to handle difficulties and db admin functions and training process are crucial to a successful implementation. It can do what a Service Desk needs, but the older version in place needed lots of improvements. Be sure that the capabilities fit the organizational needs.