Jama Connect Reviews

94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Great Requirements Management Tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The versatile filters in Jama make it easy to look at the requirements you're particularly interested in.
  • Bidirectional trace views make it easy to digest how items are traced and identify improperly linked items.
  • Jama's search function is difficult to use. It typically finds results that are completely unrelated to what I was searching for.
  • It would be nice if projects could have project-specific relationship rules. For instance, if you could base a new project's relationship rules off of a different one, but then customize it for that specific project without having to create a whole new set of relationship rules.
Read this authenticated review
Erik Bluemner | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Brilliant and Flexible Requirements Management Tool, Rigid and Limited for Other Uses

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama organizes requirements extremely well into logical hierarchies.
  • Jama uses a general requirements structure that is highly customizable.
  • Jama's test management is weak for allowing medical device companies to manage verification efforts to meet the FDA's 21 CFR 820.30 design controls.
  • Jama still doesn't understand and give enough tools to integrate part 11 compliance.
Read Erik Bluemner's full review
Marc Bodocco | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Jama Connect as a transformation facilitator to improve Requirement and Test management implementation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • In a system of systems way we appreciate a lot JAMA Connect capabilities for items reuse and synchronization.
  • Jama Connect provides a high level of features for people collaboration that is key for ensuring a good level of project stakeholders approval and working as a team.
  • Basic dashboard capabilities are missing to highlight RM and TM progress on a weekly basis.
  • There is no existing JAMA connector with Tableau Software that will allow to access Jama Database and build the customized reports each project could be interesting in depending of their context.
Read Marc Bodocco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

JAMA Connect Requirement Management Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • To create, modify and remove customized templates using MS Office.
  • Customization of item types and item fields.
  • Add more advance formatting options.
  • Fix issue with date import. JAMA Connect changes the date to be one day ahead.
Read this authenticated review
Nikhil Turaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

A good way to maintain requirement: Jama

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Requirement Traceability.
  • Baselines and Versioning.
  • User Profile and Access controls.
  • Review Center is a very useful feature.
  • Will suit all sizes of organizations to maintain and Manage their projects.
  • The reporting feature is very useful.
  • The Text Editor is not convenient. Has a learning curve.
  • Review Center still needs work as numbering for selected items in a review is still an issue.
  • Once a review is published, the new item cannot be introduced into the review. Requires the review to be republished.
  • JIRA connector is no longer inbuilt and requires expensive third-party tools from OPS HUB or Tasktop. Maybe cost prohibitive for Small and Medium Enterprises.
  • Jama Cloud users cannot customize their own reports. Will need to reach out to Jama help with customization.
  • The Search feature within Jama still needs work. Especially within a review.
  • It is still unclear what will happen to all our data if we choose to end our contract with Jama. How can we read our data.
  • It does not export well into Word documents as the formatting and alignments are always out of sync.
Read Nikhil Turaga's full review
Thai Trinh, CSM | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

Jama will help with your client relationship!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama provides traceability, not only with defect logging, but also with changes made to the requirements (versioning).
  • Ease of use/user friendly UI.
  • Cloud version of Jama has proven to be very convenient.
  • The newer versions of Jama seemingly do not show reviews with just the sections that have been changed. This makes navigation difficult as you have to go through each section to see if there have been changes made.
  • Jama connector used to come free for defect tracking (interfaced with JIRA), but now it does not so the process has become manual.
Read Thai Trinh, CSM's full review
Jacob Gibbons | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2019

Jama works great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Allows for integration of existing documents to item types.
  • Allows for capturing the review process of requirements and items.
  • Overall traceability from start to finish on product development.
  • Risk Management function did not come standard so we didn't get to use it.
Read Jacob Gibbons's full review
Cynthia Nieves | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Requirements collaboration at it's finest

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks changes
  • Collaborate between organizations
  • Provides up-to-date content.
  • Once an approval or sign-off is received the page(s) do not automatically update and need to be transitioned.
  • Highlight feature does not always work.
  • It would be a nice functionality if a page had the ability to change color in the tree in order to call out a section as needed.
Read Cynthia Nieves's full review
Amandeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Jama Connect

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tabular representation of data
  • Easy to access
  • A smarter way to represent and store your requirements.
  • If we attach any file to any field we get the information of the last editor below the attachment. But if we don't do any attachments and make any changes we get the information on another page. If we could get the editor name on the page itself it will be much easier to access the name of the person who last edited.
Read Amandeep Singh's full review
Joshua Harlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Jama Connect for the win!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama Connect is great for establishing version control. No more messy "tracked changes" issues within Microsoft Word documents!
  • Jama Connect links similar requirements information together with ease. This really helps when several updates are needed for different requirements or plan provisions.
  • Jama Connect is very user-friendly!
  • There are lag time issues, specifically with Internet Explorer.
  • While the tool is user-friendly, a more robust library of FAQ's or "how-to" instructional videos would be helpful.
Read Joshua Harlow's full review
Edgar Quinones | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

One-stop shop to organizing requirements and boost team productivity.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama is great for organizations that handle large-scale project requirements as well as helping to clearly see any updates made to a specific requirement.
  • The ability to share requirements directly to the page with a URL is a great feature that we use a lot in our company.
  • The ability to have the client sign off on individual requirements is a great feature that we use as a standard now.
  • The one area that I have seen issues in is that getting to the open projects that are pending sign off has been difficult. The default hides them so you have to know to go up and change the defaults to find the signoff requests that are open. Other than I can't really think of anything else.
Read Edgar Quinones's full review
Adrienne Carey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2019

Jama- a nice thought but not worth the clicks

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • From what I have heard, there is effective version control (can't lose work due to others editing at the same time).
  • Good organization.
  • In edit mode, there is good functionality similar to Microsoft Word.
  • Would like to be able to edit all in one place. When converting everything over from a Word document, there is endless clicking, opening/closing of tabs, etc. At least for the first time putting everything into Jama, I wish it could be less opening/closing of the million different pages we need to fill individually.
  • Not intuitive for creating new sections/pages.
  • Too many panes- headers, titles, footers, etc. that make the page look so messy, and the content pane itself is too small. The actual meat of the page seems to get lost.
Read Adrienne Carey's full review
Stephen Czerniej P.Eng, PMP® | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2019

Jama - Communication and Data Views Positive Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Requirement traceability and relationship flow. There are many different ways to show your coverage, flow of requirements, and where they are in a larger perspective of the project.
  • Review communication through the review engine is particularly well done.
  • Ease of using the system - the ergonomics is excellent. My users have an easy time getting used to working with otherwise complicated structures and organization.
  • The ability to pull information from different angles is excellent. The filters are very useful and other products don't compete here like Visure, Doors, etc...
  • The initial dashboard is very limited in functionality and views. The bar charts and pie charts are useful but quite cumbersome given you have to specify your filters beforehand. This is very important in my opinion as this is the top level summary that 90% of your management will only look at.
  • Coverage explorer - only 150 items at one time. This should be expand to all...
  • Verification and Validation need improvement on being able to package and coordinate test runs, cycles, and platform variations of these items. This is a bit cumbersome and difficult for beginner users to get used to.
  • It is very annoying and counterproductive that the users have to directly click "logout" to open up licenses. Admins can't boot people out of the system actively to fix if someone has to go home. You have to wait for 2hrs + for their license to expire.
  • Create/Edit licenses not defaulting to collaborator licenses is also very annoying for admins especially during very large concept stage input/reading efforts into Jama.
Read Stephen Czerniej P.Eng, PMP®'s full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2019

Good cloud-based requirement management and evolution solution, with room to improve processes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having access to requirements from everywhere in the world.
  • Requirement reports for document-centric parts of the development.
  • Support for online reviews and discussions.
  • Cloud-based installations don't have full access to all reporting tools.
  • Online reporting templates are not too customizable.
  • Glossaries are not first-class citizens in Jama; it should be possible to link to glossary entries directly from requirements, and vice-versa.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2019

Jama Connect First Impression

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Centralized location for coordinating requirements and test cases.
  • Ability to capture various stakeholder comments and extract real time status.
  • Ability to create relationships between various products to facilitate impact analysis.
  • Real time interface with DOORS and Cameo EA.
  • Ability to create custom metrics such as pie charts, bar graphs, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2019

All in one

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Can have access to a number of clients using the same credential.
  • A stream option is available for any quick Jama related chat/ queries with colleagues working on the same project.
  • An advance Search option is also available apart from the regular search bar.
  • Compare Options is available for comparing new and old versions.
  • Daily notifications alerts from Jama for any recent changes or updates on your work email.
  • I felts that some icons are too small in size that sometimes it's difficult to find them.
  • UI has scope for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Detailed and user-friendly

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama provides each member of our team with organized and detailed documentation. We can add all of the information we need in a very structured way that is user-friendly.
  • Jama helps our teams know we are looking at the latest and greatest requirements. It is easy to know which document is the latest and easy to see what changes were made to each version.
  • Jama allows us to store a mass of information. Previously our teams relied on excel documents to store our requirements. This was very limiting to what we could do and how much data we could store. Jama has helped us upload many detailed requirement documents without lagging.
  • Jama could make it easier to toggle between different projects or search between multiple projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

First Try Then Believe - Jama Connect - Make Your Project A Success

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One can access all its client projects with a single set of credentials.
  • Advance search option is also available apart from regular search in a project which makes an easy job to filter for items.
  • Compare option is available for the versions to compare the updates made on previous requirements.
  • Recent activities and chats of other colleagues working on the same project can be seen.
  • Most important is the HELP icon that enables you to understand the workflow in Jama Connect.
  • Some additional tutorials can be added in the HELP icon that could make the user familiar with all of the functionality of Jama Connect.
  • Many icons are too small to find in the first place. Need a visual tutorial to know about their functionality in detail.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Great and Effective Tool that Fosters Collaboration, Change Request

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to track change.
  • Great way to obtain and store the client's digital approval.
  • Great with version control.
  • Table Properties: some we need to adjust the border or lines as that of Excel, I haven't located this feature.
  • Spell Check: adding a feature next to the bold and italics buttons.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Jama Jammer!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • HTML formatted documentation can be built using the WYSIWYG editor with the ability to dive into HTML when I want.
  • Hierarchical organization of data provides well organized data.
  • Linking of data provides a reduction in documentation work when common requirements are repeated between multiple documents.
  • Reviews offer an easy way for users to get feedback on their documentation.
  • I'd like to see an easier way to track my recent work and go directly to my work from the completed reviews.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Jama: simple and streamline

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Jama helped us with coordinating in a very effective way with its notification methods on a common goal or a piece of work. Every user feels connected through it no matter they are accessing it from.
  • Users can comment, asks questions and communicate like they are doing it in a small forum and express their ideas to further improve the process.
  • Connections between similar documents in a project greatly reduced the effort of navigating between pages and provides a smooth transition.
  • Accents can be added to explorer items for any new sub items added or for any recent modifications for easy identification.
  • Page layouts can be modified further for easy and comfortable reading of large documents and to export any particular part of it.
  • More export options can be added like images and PDFs.
  • Exported items can be directly attached with the email with the Jama navigation tree to share with new users as required.
  • Should enable users to add charts and images that help in describing the requirements effectively.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

The Best

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Starting from the login page, the authentication is done very well, it is user-Friendly.
  • It is soo quick and error-free, incorporating the ACID properties.
  • Highly Secure
  • User-friendly
  • The first thing would be the session time out duration.
  • The pop-up blocks.
  • Line of sight of the items being displayed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2019

Crisp Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Updates made can be easily tracked
  • User friendly
  • We can save a large amount of data.
  • The tool is good. I didn't get any missing functionally in it.
Read this authenticated review

About Jama Connect

Jama Connect is a product development platform for requirements, test and risk management. Companies developing complex products, systems and software, can define, align and execute on what they need to build, reducing lengthy cycle times, effort spent on proving compliance and wasteful rework.

Jama Connect Features

Has featureJama Connect
Has featureJama Risk Management Center

Jama Connect Screenshots

Jama Connect Videos (2)

Watch Jama Software + Spaceflight

Watch Jama for Jira Integration

Jama Connect Downloadables

Jama Connect Integrations

Jira Software, Rally Software (formerly CA Agile Central), AA Projekts, AFuzion, ANSYS, Carahsoft, Intercax, LDRA, OpsHub Integration Manager, Sodius, Tasktop, TraceTronic, VectorCAST, Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center), TestRail, Zephyr, Collabnet VersionOne, Azure DevOps Server (previously TFS)

Jama Connect Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Jama Connect Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
70%

Jama Connect Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jama Connect Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No