Jamf Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
122 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 93)

Isidoro &quot;Roy&quot; Jovero | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Still the Apple MDM king

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our Macs company-wide. In the past, we didn't have a centralized management tool at all. We looked into using MobileIron for Mac management, only to find out that their feature set was severely lacking on the computer side. While we're still working out the kinks in our specific deployment, we find that what we have now is vastly better than what we were doing.
  • FileVault2 key escrow
  • Remote lock/wipe
  • Clunky UI
  • Only the first account created is managed when using pre-stage enrollment.
Our previous computer deployment workflow was extremely manual. We were leveraging Migration Assistant to image machines but quickly ran into hurdles as MA was a 1:1 process. We then started using Mac Deploy Stick, which allowed us to image more computers at once but was still very manual. With Jamf, deployment is much more automated and we're slowly getting closer to zero-touch. It may just be our current deployment, but we still have to get hands-on with the computers. We also have to verify certain settings in the JSS prior to turning the computers on, in order to ensure proper pre-stage enrollment.
Read Isidoro "Roy" Jovero's full review
Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used to manage nearly 400 Mac OS and iOS devices across our organization. We use it to manage various user access privileges and to push out specific script packages across our devices. It has been cost-effective and relatively easy to use. Jamf Pro has saved use time and been an excellent MDM for us.
  • Managing macOS and iOS devices.
  • Good UX/UI.
  • Script package delivery.
  • Training and support.
It is well suited for small to medium size organizations with a consistently updated fleet of Mac OS and iOS devices. If you are looking for an MDM that helps with security and inventory control, it needs some support. Support has been slow and lacking proper response, but I have seen improvements. IT staff needs to know the product well.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
Adam Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf across all of our company, as well as other divisions within our parent company. At our company, we manage over 1400 Macs with JAMF Pro to deploy custom packages and scripts to help end-users get software automatically, as well as from a Self Service catalog, rightly named "Self Service." We can also use it to enforce security patching to keep all systems protected from vulnerabilities.
  • it's easy to set up policies and deploy software to a group of users.
  • It's great for building reports on your ecosystem for C-Level execs.
  • There's lots of customization and community to help with software patching and security patching.
  • There is still no feature for properly patching T2 chip-enabled Macs. Admins must set up custom-built scripts to get around this functionality miss.
  • I wish there were easier ways to set up templates for policies and scripts that were built in. I've had to come up with a few workarounds to accomplish this need.
  • The deferral options are rather limited. While the text is customizable, options beyond default set times are very limited.
JAMF is a must-have for any company with at least 300 Macs or greater. There are so many things that can be leveraged from JAMF's DEP enrollment process, to policy deployments and security patching. If you have a smaller Mac environment, something like Munki or DeployStudio may be better suited for your needs.
Read Adam Martin's full review
Michael Conners | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our entire fleet of Macintosh systems and iPad devices. These devices are used throughout the college. If we have any Apple products here, we manage them with Jamf Pro. As for the problems we address, it is to create a consistent environment for our students and employees. The idea is to offer the expectation that no matter where you go, the systems behave the same.
  • Deploying applications
  • Configuring system settings
  • There is no best practice, each user installment is unique so, therefore, it's called better practice.
  • At times, it feels there could be too much content, too much information.
When fully integrating this with Apple's device enrollment program it is a perfect marriage. Additionally, when I need to make changes on the fly, Jamf Pro is extremely flexible. It literally is a framework that we can poke around in and customize to match our specific needs. I have yet to find a reason to NOT recommend it to anyone, unless of course, you don't need to vast power it offers because your installation is only a couple of Macs.
Read Michael Conners's full review
Michael Vogel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JAMF Pro is used to manage all the Macs at our organization which accounts for about 10% of our user base and is growing. We use it to manage and deploy accounts on our Macs and to update and push software out to them.
  • JAMF handles the initial deployment very well, allowing uniform environments to new users.
  • JAMF makes monitoring the state of the user base and the software very easy.
  • JAMF makes supporting and troubleshooting better with tools.
  • JAMF needs better patch management and the ability for automated and timed patch management.
  • JAMF needs to become a more whole solution with less use of other tools to augment JAMF.
  • Better support for local account management for zero touch deployments.
Jamf Pro is well suited for any business with a Mac majority environment and where an organization wants to monitor and maintain multiple Macs in a professional way, as well as giving a uniform user experience for both new users and existing users. Seamless support and easy application installation without the need to put in passwords. A one-stop-shop for both support and maintaining a Mac environment.
Read Michael Vogel's full review
Wm Luke Priest | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Jamf Pro to manage a fleet of public Mac labs, including both desktops and Macbook laptop carts. We are fully integrated with Apple DEP and VPP via Apple School Manager. We are still working to implement iOS management, as well as fleshing out our Self Service Store.

Jamf Pro is currently an ITS management tool. We love the ability to automatically push out application packages, PPCP approvals, wifi profiles, corporate SSL certs, etc., with a single tool. We are looking forward to adding even more application packages and expanding our use of Self Service as a customer-facing service.
  • Excellent Apple Integration -- Jamf does a great job implementing new Apple features on day 1
  • Legacy tools such as Jamf Admin and Jamf Remote are still very valuable
  • JamfNation is the BEST part of Jamf! The community discussions have had every answer I have needed so far.
  • Terms and Conditions and other legal paperwork has changed three times in the last year
  • Layout and organization of the various settings and configurations can be confusing
If you have a fleet of Apple equipment, Jamf Pro is a must have tool! Apple's enhanced security has drastically reduced the access administrators have to manage their devices without an MDM, and Jamf gives you access to all the MDM functions Apple has released.

If you don't have Apple equipment, Jamf isn't useful. Jamf Pro is an Apple MDM; that is all.
Read Wm Luke Priest's full review
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used by our organization to manage all of the companies apple devices. It allows us to manage self-service when users need a specific application, instead of going into the apple app store they can directly download pre-purchased applications through self-service. It also allows us to deploy updates or remove applications through a command.
  • Mobile device management.
  • Self service.
  • Training.
  • There hasn't been any issues at this time for us.
Jamf Pro is well suited to be able to manage your companies apple devices through MDM. There are tons of things you can do with Jamf Pro from self-service, deploying updates, removing applications, locking devices down if need be. One beneficial thing that it helped us do this year was prevent users from upgrading to Catalina, before testing to make sure no compatibility issues would happen with the applications we use.
Read Johann Davila's full review
Joe Olinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our nearly 10,000 Apple devices. Everything from macOS, iOS, iPad OS to AppleTVs. This program cuts down on the number of people needed to do mundane tasks by allowing us to automate common tasks.
  • Simplifies large Apple deployments
  • Support is amazing
  • Build some type of inventory system into it.
Jamf Pro is the best at what it does: managing large deployments. They offer solutions for small deployments as well. They continue to update the features and listen to customer feedback on what we want to see added.
Read Joe Olinger's full review
Rod Padua | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

Jamf works

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to distribute specific software to our many Apple products. It allows us to monitor, manage and maintain all of these machines remotely. We are able to keep the machines and company safe without having to physically touch the machines that are issued to our users as well as the iPads in the office.
  • Distribute software to Apple products
  • Monitor specific machines for missing software
  • Monitor software for updates
  • Provides capability to remote wipe machines if needed
  • Easier ways to create filters for searching
For companies such as ours, Jamf is great because 90% of our laptops issued to our users are MacBook Pro. If a company is 60% Mac and 50% PC, then, it isn’t as well suited for them.
Read Rod Padua's full review
Steven Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using JAMF in conjunction with Apple Business Manager across our whole organization. Central to everything Apple is an Apple ID -- for buying and registering hardware and software and getting support. Apple provides absolutely no transparency or management capability with Apple IDs (e.g. you cannot merge Apple IDs). We were attracted to JAMF as a way to manage Apple products in the absence of Apple providing such ability. Instead, we were just engulfed in a maelstrom of unnecessary complexity and jargon for which the time invested will never show a return. If there is any benefit to using JAMF, it is not at all apparent. If you value your time, I seriously do not recommend JAMF.
  • No apparent strength in our use case.
  • It may not be possible to improve JAMF as long as it is trying to manage Apple products and services. Apple needs to completely overhaul/eliminate/replace its Apple ID method of management.
I would not recommend JAMF for use with Apple products.
Read Steven Garner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Jamf is great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage the Jamf Pro environment of one of our customers. We use it to manage macOS and iOS devices throughout the United States. The users love the self-service portal, and IT loves being able to use the software to let the users be more self-sufficient in obtaining/installing new software.
  • Our users love using the self-service portal to get their applications.
  • We also have printers packaged up in the self-service portal so users can add them. (We don't have print servers so the drivers are packaged with the printers when installed.)
  • Every time we update the server, all management machines using the Casper Suite need to be updated as well. They release a lot of updates so it gets to be a bit much to keep updating all the time.
  • We wish there were better update management capabilities.
It is great in scenarios that require management of a large number of Macs or iOS devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf across our company. At our company, we manage over 120 Macs with JAMF Pro to deploy custom packages and scripts to help end-users get software automatically. We can also use it to enforce security patching to keep all systems protected from vulnerabilities. We use to provision brand new Mac to the end-user so we can have a standardized fleet of Macs.
  • Excellent customer support.
  • Jamf Pro allows us to install the software packages quickly and efficiently without much of an issue.
  • FileVault encryption.
  • Better integration with SCCM.
  • Reports on FileVault status of encryption for percentages.
Jamf has helped keep our Mac fleet up to date with applications that our company uses, as well as security patching and package push. Reduced support ticket queue and improved provisioning of Macs to our growing fleet of Macs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT dept uses JAMF Pro to manage all Mac computers in use in our company. It is used to apply software, configure settings, lockdown areas that users shouldn't be modifying. We apply our policies this way and administer some of our software licenses. We also use it to maintain a record of our Mac inventory. Occasionally we use it for remote control purposes to fix machines, and frequently to push or remove the software from remote machines.
  • Maintain a listing of encryption keys.
  • Manage computer and user policies.
  • Push software.
  • Management console could be laid out better.
  • Improvements could be made to the remote control software.
  • More effective integration with Apple's DEP.
For large scale environments, JAMF is very effective at maintaining a company's Mac computer. I believe that it is also an effective tool for managing iPads and other Apple devices, though I don't have much experience with that side. If a company has more than 100 Macs, JAMF can make it much easier to manage the environment.

However, if your company is smaller, or doesn't use a lot of Macs, it will likely be more tool than you need.
Read this authenticated review
Angel Swalve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our district uses Jamf Pro to automate device management of our district provided iOS devices and technology. This includes iPads, iMacs, and Macbook Pro's. Jamf Pro allows us to work remotely on our technology allowing us more time to get more done. Jamf Pro is the tool we use to provide technical support and software deployment for all our Apple devices.

I have been using Jamf Pro for 3 years on my campus and I also earned the Certified Casper Technician Certification over a year ago. This program allows me to use the Casper Suite products to control my iOS devices on campus. The remote screen sharing feature in Casper Remote allows me to work on a teacher or student computer from across the building. This allows me to get more done and provide my end user with quicker service. I use Jamf Pro to set configuration profiles on all the iPads on campus which allows me to monitor and control the iPads so that our "tech savy" students aren't changing all the features and doing things they should not be doing.

Jamf Pro solves our biggest problem, to many end users and not enough time for me to put my hands on each and every device. Jamf Pro allows me to provide quick and efficient service to all my end users. With a campus of 850-900 students and 115 employees, Jamf Pro has solved the way I provide troubleshooting and repairs. All Techs in our district use Jamf pro same as I do and it has changed the way we work, we love it!
  • Jamf Pro allows us to remotely install iPad apps quickly and efficiently.
  • Jamf Pro allows us to take control of our inventory by providing detailed information about every device enrolled.
  • Jamf Pro allows us to install software in mass, quickly and efficiently and doesn't let us down.
  • Jam Pro allows me to set profile configurations to keep all iPads set the same and prevent "tech savy" students from makeing changes or doing things they shouldn't be doing.
  • I would like to see being able to use Jamf Pro to install Mac Apps and desktop icons as easily as we can to an iOS device. For example, being able to add a weblink onto a iMac or MacbookPro similar to the weblinks we can add to iOS devices.
  • Jamf Pro remote will sometimes stall out if trying to connect to a lot of devices at one time if the traffic on the network is high.
  • I would like to see being able to set stricter controls on the iMacs and MAcbook Pro's that would let us "lock down" features to keep students from changing backgrounds, adding folders to the desktop, deleting shortcuts or weblinks.
Jamf Pro is well suited to maintain and support iOS devices. This product allows me to have my hands remotely on numerous devices at the same time allowing me more time to do my job even better than if I had to go physically touch each device. It is less helpful for controlling the set up of Macbook Pros and iMacs than it is for iPads.
Read Angel Swalve's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2019

Jamf MDM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Jamf Pro to manage our fleet of Mac devices across the group. It performs well, we are heading towards having a completely DEP workflow and Jamf makes it very easy for us to manage the fleet. The ability to work from a web interface allows us to deploy any updates and changes quickly and efficiently. Jamf has been consistently providing useful updates with excellent documentation.
  • Self service allows our users to just get the apps they need for their role.
  • Excellent customer service.
  • Speed and accuracy of check-in/deployment of changes.
  • The web interface can be frustrating at times.
An excellent suite of tools that is rarely behind Apple's feature set.
Read this authenticated review
Peter Barnett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the beginning stages of rolling Jamf out company-wide, but are using it now with all new incoming employee orientations (30/week - every week). We use it to make Self Service available, ease of access to the internet, and hopefully soon - to integrate with Okta for authentication purposes.
The business problems that this resolves/will resolve is the inundation of support tickets for issues logging in, creating a user profile that fits our standards (naming conventions, etc.), and will allow for more accurate asset data collection.
  • Jamf Pro is reliable, stable, and easy to use if you choose to educate yourself - potentially even through JAMF Nation.
  • Data reports as to the activity and location of users. This is a strength because it rules out a number of issues that would normally require a Helpdesk tech to be on-site or directly interact with the end user.
  • Ease of package application deployment. Being able to package applications and rules for the machines is a pro we're all grateful for in contrasting the past with how we do things now.
  • The UI of Jamf Pro is easy to use if you know where to go. otherwise, the portal is confusing and congested from the settings perspective.
  • It would be nice if Jamf could provide an in-portal support window where I/we can chat with someone from Jamf support - who may even be familiar with our setup.
  • More support. Not a major presence in our IT department - where we would love Jamf to be a highlight.
Jamf Pro is well suited for situations involving mass requests for applications. Having the ability to push - really from any perspective - to end-users directly is a huge accomplishment. The ease of use for pushing protocols and the simplicity of some go-to commands make the use of Jamf something to be grateful for.
Read Peter Barnett's full review
Brett Hendricks | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used across the organization. It addresses deployment, patching, software installs, and updates. It allows for fixes to be deployed quickly to users once problems have been solved. It allows us to keep track of our Mac inventories, and we are looking forward to using it to help with a possible deployment of iPads in one of our science labs.
  • The Jamf Pro JSS is great at reporting on inventory. It is easy to set up an advanced search with multiple criteria that targets hardware, software, and other markers, including organizational and meta structures (like computer groups, building, or assigned user).
  • Jamf Remote is a great tool for "do it now" tasks. Using Jamf Remote, I can do pretty much everything a policy can do (install a package, run a script, execute a command, perform an inventory, etc.), but I can do it right away just once, so I don't have to go through the process of creating a policy for a one-off. I can also use Jamf Remote to connect to a system remotely.
  • Jamf Composer makes packaging software for deployment a breeze. It can pull in files from multiple folders, you can add scripts to run pre and post install, and it's all very straightforward.
  • When using Jamf Remote, the check for the latest jamf binary and binary location often produces enough "errors" that the procedure shows as having "failed" even though it succeeded, so it is difficult to know whether a procedure that "failed" actually failed or whether it just had a time trying to figure out which binary to use.
  • In the JSS profiles, it would be great to have an option to configure a particular setting in an area (e.g., security and privacy) without also thereby configuring all the settings for that area. Something like MS group policies for settings which can be enabled, disabled, or not configured.
I think its suitability is inversely proportional to the number of systems under management and the amount of time one has to manage them.
Read Brett Hendricks's full review
Mark Fitzgerald | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jamf to manage our fleet of MacOS and iOS devices. This is anywhere from MDM to imaging computers. It is the SCCM of the Apple world. It helps us with inventory, software and policy enforcement, and setup consistency. It helps us do much more without having to hire additional employees.
  • Mobile device management
  • Deploys software
  • Manages and secure devices
  • The strength that we like the best is imaging. The problem is that Apple is limiting the ability for them to do that going forward.
  • It would be nice to manage all of our platforms from a single tool.
We have been very pleased with Jamf Pro and all that it can do. They perform as the market leader and really enable us to manage our Apple platform at an enterprise level. The other universities we have pulled all use Jamf as well. They are well suited for the higher education market.
Read Mark Fitzgerald's full review
Nick Newport | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JAMF Pro to manage around 13,000 devices, a mixture of Macs and iPads. The product helps us deploy software, apps, configurations, and find devices easily. We previously used FileWave MDM and had a lot of issues before we moved to JAMF. The only reason we went with FileWave was because it was a little cheaper, but you get what you pay for. I believe JAMF Pro is the best Apple MDM on the market and worth the payment.
  • Support - We have had a dedicated tech working with us for years. This is now a service that costs more, but he knew the ins and outs of our company and was like an extension of my local coworkers. I have never had that experience with any other company.
  • Self Service - This feature works great and everyone loves it. Instead of force installing everything, we give the end users a lot of options on what they want to install.
  • Scripting - We have a lot of scripts we need to run on the Macs. JAMF makes it super simple to add your scripts and deploy them out quickly.
  • Updates - Most updates contain a serious flaw for our environment. We usually have to wait for a couple releases or a hotfix release before updating to a newer version.
  • iOS App Scaling - We have had some issues with scaling to manage the amount of iOS apps we offer in Self Service to our devices. It works fine if we do not update the apps, but we have had a lot of issues if we turn on automatic app updates which are needed for many of our apps.
  • Marking iOS Apps as 32 Bit - We have noticed a lot of our apps are not converted to 64 bit since iOS 10/11 came out. This causes a lot of issues with end users trying to install the app on a device that no longer supports it. I really wish JAMF could mark those apps as 32 bit in the interface so we can go through and get rid of them.
JAMF Pro is great for education. In a corporate environment you may give your employees a lot of freedom, but when dealing with students, that is not an option. JAMF Pro makes it a lot easier to put safeguards on the devices and lock students down from doing things they shouldn't. If you manage a few devices, you probably don't need a large MDM. If you are managing thousands of Macs or iPads, JAMF Pro is a must.
Read Nick Newport's full review
Joshua Banks | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2018

JAMFPRO!!!!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use JAMFPro to support the labs and end users on our campus. I currently use JAMFPro to remotely install all of the software on 408 Apple computers, ranging from Labs to end user Faculty/Staff computers. I use this to manage software installs, policies, inventory, and remote management of the machines.

Initially, we used JAMF (formerly Casper) to use monolithic imaging of all computers on campus; however, with the changes that Apple has implemented, this would not work out any longer. I turned to JAMFPro to build out the each software title, remotely install and manage/maintain said installs, and make sure that the machines are kept up to date. JAMFPro provides a one-stop shop to make sure that I can do this from a web interface and I can wholesale push out changes/updates quickly and efficiently.


  • Using Composer to build out software packages that Remote can push out quickly.
  • After building out every Adobe application available, updates came out! I was able to use Composer to push out just the changes to these apps and not have to reinstall/rebuild the whole app.
  • The policy management interface can be a bit cumbersome when you are trying to investigate the varying policies available. A simple search tool would be awesome! It may exist, I just haven't found it yet.
Whether you have 10 Macs to manage, or 408, Jamf Pro makes it easy to maintain software, policies, and accurate counts of the machines that you have. Creation of software packages, policies, and just the general always connected feature of Jamf Pro make it amazing to use to manage the computers.

I don't think I could manage all of the machines that we have without it!
Read Joshua Banks's full review
Gur Duvilanski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JAMF Pro at the Weizmann Institute of Science, to mange our Macs in the institute. Every Mac comes preinstalled with JAMF, and the user gets a full set of apps and setting on their Mac straight out of the box.
Another strong feature is the Self Service, which empowers the users to get their preferred app by themselves. We provide a set of commonly used apps, and suggest the to users via our branded Self Service app, and the users can decide when and what to install.
  • Self Service - The highlight of our service to the users - this is what users see and experience directly from JAMF.
  • Inventory - We can easily locate computer date, and link it to the user for further support on any issue.
  • Policies & Scoping - we can deliver policies for setting and apps, and scope them to their desired groups and users.
  • Patch Management - I would like to see a complete solution, with all the setting already in place, without the need for external software.
  • On Premise administrating - we use an on premise setting, and maintaining is for really advanced admins.
JAMF Pro gives you all the basic tools to manage Macs, and if you wish, also very advanced and strong tools.
If you manage a large amount of Macs, you need a tool like JAMF Pro, to even start managing them.
Read Gur Duvilanski's full review
Rollan Ibanez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is currently used in our organization as the Mobile Device Management tool that handles all of our Mac administrative needs. It provides a Self-Service portal that has a similar look and feel to what the Apple App Store has. And we are able to manage and provide version control for patches that are available for the apps that we support. It is currently being used by all departments, across the entire organization. For our use-case scenario, it addresses an end-point management system that we were lacking in both the Windows and Mac environments. To this day, our Mac management tool is the only tool being used to manage our Mac devices.
  • Jamf Pro provides the users with a customizable experience in their Self-Service portal. The new Jamf Pro 10 self-service portal now looks like the Apple App store with the ability to use a customized banner which represents our Organization.
  • Jamf Pro provides easy to use tools for end-point management of Mac devices. I have not gone through formal Jamf training yet, but was trained by our engineer who went through the training. I was able to learn and execute all that I know with informal training.
  • Jamf Pro continues to strive on great customer service for their clients. We had an issue with our upgrade that was resolved very quickly.
  • Jamf Pro could provide more apps that they are currently supporting within the Patch management function of the MDM.
  • Jamf Pro could add more functionality to how you are able to provide scopes. I would like it to allow more granular rules.
  • Jamf Pro can improve upon more free training courses for those just starting in the platform.
Jamf Pro is best suited for management of a larger number of Mac devices. I would not recommend this MDM for smaller scale companies.
Read Rollan Ibanez's full review
Wesley Applequist | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used across our entire fleet of MacOS and iOS devices. Installing apps, configuring computers, implementing policy changes, providing access to network resources. Jamf has been a tremendous help for us, and has allowed us to automate a number of processes. We still have more to learn and more to implement, but I am proud to say our philosophy is if we can do it with Jamf, we do it (or we learn how).
  • MacOS Configuration - Used in combination with DEP, we can fairly easily automate the setup of computers for staff and students. The ability to install PKGs and run scripts has been a tremendous benefit. Also, the inclusion of other tasks, such as Directory Bindings has been a huge relief on technical staff's workload.
  • MDM - Configuration Profiles have also similarly eased our workload. We went from dropping PLISTs and building images with DeployStudio, to being able to much more easily and flexibly enforce system settings.
  • Inventory - I came into the department a few years after Jamf was implemented, but I cannot imagine how we would accomplish inventory management tasks without it. It provides us a one-stop shop to keep track of storage and production computers, as well as software management.
  • MacOS Configuration - A lot of what we are doing feels homespun for DEP-enrolled computers, and many of Jamf's resources are lacking in detail as to what they would recommend. They say "Use DEP...", but not "Here's how we use DEP..."
  • Resources - Much like above, Jamf's GitHub seems a little outdated. They are doing tremendous things everyday, I can tell, but they have not been as forthcoming with what they are doing. I would love to see more use of the API (or really anything).
  • iOS Management - The inability to have iOS apps automatically update their version numbers is maddening. Our catalog is bigger than it needs to be, but it would still be quite the task to manually update the version number every time a new release drops.
With the changes I have seen from MacOS and iOS over the last few years, I would recommend Jamf to almost organization with a sizable Apple presence. Even if Jamf Pro is a bit much, some of their other offerings (Jamf Now and Jamf Now Plus) provide a lot of management capabilities that are quite frankly necessary to manage devices these days.
Read Wesley Applequist's full review
Robert Lessinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is significantly helping St. Cloud State University improve our security compliance as well as improve the our users' experience.
  • FileVault Encryption ease of use and compliance reporting.
  • Self Service makes software installation VERY easy for our users.
  • "System health" reporting helps IT maintain and patch users' systems, often before they reach out to our help desk.
  • We need better system name management, especially with enrollment profiles.
  • Better patch management for sys-admins so that updating software versions does not require constant uploading of software packages.
  • Health or status reports for users (oriented towards their needs).
Jamf Pro does struggle with patch management. While it is capable, Munki performs better.
Read Robert Lessinger's full review
Jay Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2018

Review of JAMF

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Jamf (ex Casper) when I started as a Classroom Administrator managing Lab/Cluster machines at Brandeis. At first we just used Imaging. Overtime, we switched to the full suite and started managing all campus machines as well. Not only did it help us image machines deployed to labs, staff and faculty, we finally have an inventory system tied to our users and we are able to specify departments and other asset info. In imaging, layered package structure allowed us to update specific packages individually, instead of rebuilding everything. Recently, touch deployment had made our work more seamlessly operating with Apple DEP. About a year ago, we switched to Jamf Cloud, which is another great decision made. Since then we relied on Jamf to update JSS and have 99% uptime except for maintenance. I highly recommend Jamf.
  • Configuration profile management - Working with Apple Push allowing more direct management.
  • Imaging - there is no other tools like Jamf imaging to be able to prep and image a mass amount of machines at once.
  • Composer - Made package building easy and allows a great deal of customization.
  • Recon - remote enrollment doesn't seem to always work, can improve.
  • Jamf Admin - I think the layout is getting a little outdated, maybe room for improvement?
Works well managing FileVault2 and WiFi.
Read Jay Chen's full review

About Jamf Pro

Jamf Pro (formerly Casper Suite) is designed to automate device management for users while driving end-user productivity and creativity. According to the vendor, it is the EMM tool that delights IT pros and the users they support by delivering on the promise of unified endpoint management for Apple devices.

Jamf Pro Features

Has featureZero-Touch Deployment
Has featureDevice Management
Has featureApp Distribution
Has featureInventory Management
Has featureEnterprise App Store
Has featurePatch Management

Jamf Pro Screenshots

Jamf Pro Integrations

ServiceNow, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM), Apple School Manager, Apple Volume Purchase Program, Apple Device Enrollment Program, Cisco Identity Services Engine

Jamf Pro Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

$3.33 per month per iOS device $6.25 per month per Mac Education and volume discounts available. Onboarding 3-Day for Mac + iOS: $7,500 2-Day for Mac only: $6,000 4hr Remote for iOS only: $750 Billed Annually

Jamf Pro Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Jamf Buddy
JumpStart

Jamf Pro Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Languages: English, German, French, Chinese and Japanese