Jamf Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
152 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 119)

Dennis Kükenbrink | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2020

Saves Time, Improves Efficiency

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf here at our University to manage all kinds of Apple hardware. The central IT manage iPad pools, employee devices, BYO. Without Jamf we needed hours per device for the initial setup, for installing the needed software or setting up different settings. With Jamf we implemented all our needs into the software and now, we don't need the devices in our office anymore, the customers can open the device like he had purchased it - with Jamf you can have real zero-touch deployment.
  • Improves efficiency.
  • Saves time.
  • Opens new possibilities.
  • The app packaging.
  • Website layout could be a little better.
  • Pricing for non educational use.
There is no scenario Jamf isn't well suited. If you deal with more than a handful of Apple devices Jamf is a real help, it makes no difference where you work at, school, university, or "normal company." With Jamf we can even manage BYOs, we can act quickly when customers ask for specific apps, policies, etc.
Read Dennis Kükenbrink's full review
Luke Driscoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2020

If Apple made an MDM...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used predominantly by IT and Digital Services. Initially it was brought in to manage our Macs in student teaching labs and staff devices, it has since been expanded to manage kiosk iPads, all staff iOS devices and to manage our one-to-one undergraduate student iPad distribution of 3000-4000 devices per year. We use it to ensure device compliance, distribute apps, secure devices and secure our company data.
  • Jamf Training Catalogue is a great resource for getting staff up to speed on Apple and Jamf support and management.
  • Jamf Nation is a really valuable resource for Mac and Apple management
  • Jamf Cloud scales up and down as you need it
  • Jamf allows a really high Users:Admin ratio
  • UI could look more like the System Preferences or Settings
  • Default Account Settings should be what are recommended in Jamf 200 Training
  • Please get Conditional Access for iOS working again
For large scale iPad or Mac deployments Jamf Pro is really the best Apple supporting Mobile Device Management product on the market, however At very small scale iOS only deployments Jamf Now may be better suited. Since the launch of Jamf School it may be worth considering this alternative if you IT team is small.
Read Luke Driscoll's full review
Juan A Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2020

Probably one of the best and Top MDM solutions for macOS and iOS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an organization that is predominantly Windows 10, the need for a management system that integrates seamlessly with macOS was needed. Trying different solutions was cumbersome but when we started using Jamf Pro it was seamless and "unnoticeable."

Users are still able to work effectively and efficiently while the Jamf admin manages the device's security and configurations of all of the corporate users. Jamf makes it easy to segregate the different department groups of users and also helps push out policies and settings quickly and effectively.
  • Management of macOS computers.
  • Management of software updates.
  • Management of iOS devices.
  • Remote configurations for both Mac or PC.
  • Reduce cost of licensing.
  • No Remote Desktop feature built in.
Jamf Pro is most appropriate when managing more than 150 devices (iOS) but I think the best scenario for Jamf is when managing macOS devices. The functionality and granularity is incredible.
Read Juan A Garcia's full review
Anthony Darlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2020

Jamf Pro for the Win

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used across our business to ensure that our corporate devices (both iOS and macOS) are safe and secure. This in turn has enabled us to gain the Cyber Essentials certification.

As a side effect we are now big users of Self Service not to just deploy software or configurations but also to ensure employees have access to the correct resources (such a marketing assets or documentation) by linking out to appropriate stores (such as O365 or Google).

Further to this as a reseller and partner of Jamf and personally being a certified Jamf Admin I was with our customer base to plan, deploy and support them with Jamf and their Apple Devices so that they too can address the needs of their business
  • Self Service portal.
  • Day Zero support for new iOS/macOS features.
  • Great inventory data.
  • Continuing and growing support for integrating with your other systems (IdPs, AV, LDAP, etc. etc).
  • A greater software title list for Patch Policies.
  • Some of the simplistic features or UI of Jamf School (particularly around iOS).
  • Uploading packages via the web interface and sometimes be flaky.
Jamf Pro is well suited for any business or school that has more than a couple of Apple devices. It can make deployment as easy as inbox and turn on without the huge drain on an IT dept as well as making ongoing management simple with clear insights of your complete estate.
Read Anthony Darlow's full review
Andrew Nickless | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2020

Jamf Pro is the best Apple MDM out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Jamf Pro across the entire school division. It makes iPad and Mac administration really easy and powerful. My saying at work is "Jamf is my second Co-worker," as it literally takes a huge load off me. If I need an app on an iPad or Mac, I just deploy it to self-service and email them back saying "it's ready for you to install yourself." Need printers reset? They go to self-service and reset the printers and reinstall them themselves.
  • Great customer service
  • Great trainers
  • Great Mac administration
  • Great at iPad administration
  • Great MDM solution
  • Integration with PRTG is missing
  • More Webinars could be done
  • Can be hard at first to learn
Jamf Pro is suitable for all mac and iPad MDM solutions and management. It's not only an MDM but an inventory solution as well. I would say, if you have a low number of devices then Jamf Pro may not be the best but if you get more than 100 devices then definitely look at it.
Read Andrew Nickless's full review
Xavier Vasquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Jamf Pro is a solid and affordable mobile management tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used in a hosted capacity for our organization. The main purpose of implementing Jamf Pro at Rush is to leverage the Jamf healthcare listener, integrate with our messaging interface, and enable more productivity for our care teams.
  • They listen to your organization's requirements.
  • The support team at all levels is dedicated to helping you succeed.
  • JAMF provides many, many avenues to grow personal and team knowledge by providing classes, training catalogs, and a site called JAMF Nation that brings beginners and admins together.
  • If you have a question or a dream regarding making Jamf Pro work for you Jamf will make it happen.
  • Following back up on high-priority issues.
  • Sometimes they are very busy and you need to really email and call to get a reply.
  • Sometimes individuals are a little standoffish.
Jamf is great for an Apple centered environment and Apple. They have a great team to help you support an organization. Even if you have a multi-product organization environment Jamf does its best to integrate. It is well suited to use straight out of the UI or also from an advanced scripting and API perspective. Jamf Pro UI is very easy and intuitive to use. Jamf Pro supports multi-location organizations.

The only scenario that is not so appropriate is when you are not using an Apple centered organization or do not use Apple products.
Read Xavier Vasquez's full review
Kimberly Trojanowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Jamf Pro - All-In-One Apple Device Management Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a 1:1 school district with 13,000+ mobile devices, 1,000+ Apple TVs and 1,600+ Macs. We use Jamf Pro to configure and maintain the devices in our 1:1 program. Jamf Pro provides a centralized location to track inventory of the devices and manage them with ease.
  • Jamf Pro's integration with Apple School Manager is seamless. Once purchased devices are added to Apple's Device Enrollment Program, they are automatically added to our Pre-Stage enrollment in Jamf Pro.
  • The ability to integrate with Active Directory has allowed us to add extension attributes in Jamf Pro which provide us with useful information such as which grade a student is in. This allows us to assign Apps to student devices based on the student's grade-level.
  • Self Service for the Mac has allowed us to create a single location for our users to access apps, websites, and our help desk.
  • The new interface is a little too dark on certain screens. I would like to see the ability to choose a color scheme. Other than this small issue, I really can't find additional faults with the program.
Jamf Pro is well suited for mid to large size corporations, and educational institutions. It is a very powerful program that easily manages mobile devices. For smaller organizations, 100 devices or less, I'd recommend Jamf Now.
Read Kimberly Trojanowski's full review
Jenny Nelson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

All the bells and whistles, but support could use a hand

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our fleet of nearly 1300 iPads, 100+ MacBooks, and several Apple TVs across both buildings at our school district. The software allows us to be more effective by scheduling and automating tasks, and saves us time from having to touch devices to make things happen. We are not officially to zero-touch, but after we have our workflow done in a sandboxed environment, deployment to production simply involves unpacking, affixing asset tag labels, putting devices in cases, and handing off to the end-user. After a few steps, they are up and running, and if something changes mid-year we can push out or hold back updates as needed. We get to be very hands-off and are able to quickly respond to changes district-wide.
  • If Apple will allow an MDM to do it, you can do it, and more with Jamf Pro.
  • Jamf Nation, the online forum for users, is an amazing resource for support and ideas.
  • The people that work at Jamf are awesome.
  • The company has grown quite a bit in recent years, and technical support has unfortunately suffered as a result. They are catching up there but there is room for improvement.
  • Requested features that have a lot of support are often slow to be implemented. There is a large backlog of things we've been promised, and sometimes things are fast-tracked that leave many users scratching their heads wondering why that got the attention.
  • Updates have been more stable in the last couple of years, but there are many bugs or product issues that linger on and on that we would really like to see cleaned up.
For teams with fewer people, a good MDM is a must. I can't imagine working in our environment without one. Jamf is the most comprehensive MDM you will find. There may be features that some won't need or use. In which case, a less expensive option may be more reasonable. We are an education customer, and there is a discount for that, but the price is considerable otherwise.
Read Jenny Nelson's full review
Aaron Tillery | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2020

Jamf Nation

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used for device management and app deployment in a K-12 (primarily) 1:1 environment of MacBook Airs at the high school level and iPads at all other grade levels.
  • MacOS and iOS management and deployment of devices and apps for students and teachers across all grade levels.
  • It allows for quick turn around time if a student breaks their device and needs a replacement during repair, getting students back up and running for classroom activities and assignments.
  • The ability to push scripts to MacOS devices provides tons of possibilities for customization and automation.
  • I would like broader AD support that allow scoping apps, configuration profiles, and policies to OUs inside AD and not just user groups.
Great for managing any Apple device
  • in-person training
Yes - very smooth
Read Aaron Tillery's full review
Derek Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

Jamf Pro Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JAMF daily to manage our 5,000+ Apple devices on our campus. We have a mixture of iOS, tvOS, and macOS that assist us in our one-to-one program. In the IT department, we use the Self Service feature to create an "app" store of our own pieces of software that are needed in different parts of our campus. Having the ability to easily push out applications, software updates and patches to our apple fleet has saved us time and the need for another technician.
  • Easy user set-up.
  • Application installations.
  • Safety of our users.
JAMF Pro is a great assistant for companies looking to manage their apple fleet of devices. It not only organizes everything but it gives the IT department a virtual technician who is installing software, setting up computers, etc while you can be working on something else. Once your workflows are set-up it can be hands-off.
Read Derek Lucas's full review
Tony Zabaks | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Jamf Pro keeps the engine running

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used across the whole organisation with our Junior school, Senior School, and all staff. It allows us to manage all systems remotely and control what content is available for not only students, but staff as well. It allows us to force updates for specific apps or operating systems that need using. It helps the engine keep turning within our school.
  • Locking computers that we urgently need to see at the IT Department
  • Pushing App Licenses to a large number of computers
  • Finding lost iPads within the school by pushing out a Lost Ping
  • More management commands for MacBooks (iPads have a larger array)
  • More options to export data search results
  • Potentially the ability to add employee images against devices that are assigned to them
Within our Junior School, we have iPads across different classes and have the ability to load all the same applications on them, so each iPad home screen looks identical. Also, having the ability to customise the Mac Dock remotely for all students, so they can access Self Service for downloading Print Drivers, Applications and other needs, is great.
Read Tony Zabaks's full review
Ashlar Trystan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Jamf Pro is a great offering that solved a great number of problems for us!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We support two services:
  1. A central computer lab that is open 24/5
  2. An equipment checkout program open to all students
Prior to using Jamf, we were using a combination of free software to push monolithic images to computers, which was slow and inefficient. Since implementing Jamf, we have been able to expand the extent of our service and devote resources towards improving it rather than simply maintaining it. Rather than manage images, we now manage packages, and it is no longer necessary to "reinvent the wheel" periodically when we want to implement changes.
  • Package management - It is simple to update installation by simply adding the latest version of applications.
  • Reproducibility - Once you have workflows in place, then every machine in scope will be identical to every other machine in the same scope. This lends itself to a common user experience.
  • Zero-touch enrollment - A computer will configure itself based on policies and workflows such that a user is able to pull a machine out of a box, turn it on, and allow it to configure itself.
  • Jamf excels in environments in which there is a one-to-one relationship between computers and users, for instance, an office. It takes some additional work to make it work in an environment such as a classroom or computer lab since that one-to-one relationship does not exist.
  • Thus far, my team (and Google, for that matter) have not found a way for Jamf to natively assign names to machines. This is important when working with something like Active Directory, where each computer requires a unique name to be used for binding. Using standard command-line tools and a CSV, we have worked around this. I would like to see Jamf find a way to make this work out of the box--for instance, it should be possible to assign a name to a computer's serial number BEFORE it is ever enrolled in the first place.
  • This is not Jamf's problem, per se. We have long used a tool called Deep Freeze, which allows users to have full access to a computer without being able to make permanent changes to it. Unfortunately, to deactivate Deep Freeze ("Thaw") requires a reboot. To the best of our knowledge, this makes it impossible for us to automate changes to the computers--once a reboot occurs, the policy will no longer execute.
  • Ideally, we should be able to schedule a task--have the machine thaw and reboot--and make a change, followed by a "freeze" and reboot to complete the task. Thus far, this seems to be impossible.
  • I would like to see Jamf find a way to have the server track the tasks it has executed in a policy such that when a computer comes back online, it can continue to execute the remaining tasks.
Jamf is most definitely built for enterprise applications in which one user works on one computer. This is likely the majority of their user base, and it would appear that they have devoted considerable resources to that.

The scenario I manage is very different than this, however. I manage a central computer lab that is open 24/5 (and 24/7 during finals week) and has between 55,000 and 60,000 unique users per year. My colleague manages an equipment checkout program that is available to about the same number of individuals. As a result, we tend not to use the abilities in Jamf for updating apps and such--rather, in the case of the checkout program, the machines are wiped and re-enrolled upon return. In my case, we reimage the entire computer lab every 2 - 3 months to push out updates.

I would daresay that Jamf was not designed with these scenarios in mind, rather, they would assume that a computer belongs to a person and remains in that person's possession for an extended period of time. Reimaging requires us to remove the computer account in Jamf each time we wish to update, which is required to remove previous configuration information.

This is not to say that Jamf will not work well in a laboratory environment, but it will take some time to properly implement.
Read Ashlar Trystan's full review
Samantha Herren | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Jamf Pro put an end to us getting Jammed up!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage and support all the macOS and iOS devices on campus. It saves us so much time with the policies, automatic installations, and streamline of use and upkeep. I love it.
  • Support - the support team at Jamf has always been quick, and super helpful when needed. In addition to the team at Jamf, there is a huge support community of other Mac admins that always willing to help.
  • Ease of use. Once you get it set up it is so easy to maintain, add to, and expand.
  • The sheer amount of possibilities of what you can do.
  • Captioning on all their training.
  • An updated composer application.
  • More training opportunities.
We love Jamf Pro. I would say if you have a small number of Macs and iOS devices or do not have much of an IT department you may want to go another route (like Jamf Now). It has made management of the Apple devices here on campus quick and easy. It has automated a lot of our set up processes where a new Mac would take us ~3 hours to set up (not all hands on) now it takes us less than 30 minutes (most not hands on)! We have had time to start implementing things we have wanted to do but had not the time nor resources to do (make packages to install on an end user's machine that they can run themselves as one example).
Read Samantha Herren's full review
Tracy DiLossi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2020

Jamf Pro is all you need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage over eighteen hundred computers and seven thousand iPads as well as over three hundred Apple TV’s. We are a 1:1 student and a 2:1 teacher district, and the ability for us to manage all of these devices with minimal tech staff is only possible with a product like Jamf Pro.
  • Apple device management
  • Zero touch deployment with DEP
  • App deployment
  • Remote management
  • Reporting
  • Configuration profile retrying
It is well suited for our School District because of the limited tech staff and ease of use. Being able to deploy carts of computers or a lab of computers and not have imaging to do in advance is of particular interest. Computers are simply unpacked and turned on. All configuration is done through Jamf Pro and it makes an inventory refresh much quicker.
Read Tracy DiLossi's full review
Burhan Gumrah | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

The Best MDM for macOS Devices

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used to manage approximately 500 macOS devices across our organization. We use this to manage various user access privileges and send certain script packages on our devices. Jamf Pro is the perfect MDM for macOS devices.
  • Best - Managing macOS devices.
  • Deploying applications.
  • Configuring system settings.
  • Self service.
  • Reporting.
  • Easier ways to create filters for searching.
If you have a fleet of Apple equipment, Jamf Pro is a must-have tool!
Read Burhan Gumrah's full review
Ryan Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2020

Jamf Pro - Godsend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Jamf Pro to manage our Apple products. We have over 1000 devices and Jamf makes it very simple and easy to do.
  • Simple.
  • User interface.
  • Secure.
  • Patch management.
App deployment made easy. Creative policies and configuration profiles with minimal effort. Friendly support staff and communities to find answers to problems.
Read Ryan Dalton's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Jamf Pro - Awesome Software to Empower Your Administrators

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used across our whole organization that spans the whole world. We currently are managing close to or just over 9,000 devices. The business problems Jamf Pro solves is easy management of Apple devices in a secure and maintainable fashion. Additionally, with tools like "ruby-jss", "jssimporter", and "AutoPKG" we have been able to automate the majority of the mundane tasks and focus on furthering our platform.
  • 0 Day Support
  • Easy to use MDM
  • Great end-user experience
  • API implementation
  • Webhook integration
  • Assistance in automation
Jamf Pro is awesome in the enterprise for the support and management of devices in a wide space with quick deployment times. Additionally, Jamf Pro rises to the occasion where there are one or two people managing a large fleet of Macs. Jamf Pro empowers you to make changes in an automatic fashion that limits the adverse impact to your users.

Jamf Pro is not good in an environment where APNS is not supported or in a heavily peroxided network. Additionally, if you are relying mainly on/around automation, Jamf Pro's legacy API is lacking some features, and the Jamf Pro API (UAPI) has not been fully built out. They have been working on the UAPI for YEARS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Jamf Pro is excellent for device management and control

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used to manage iOS and MacOS devices across our organization, at multiple sites of varying sizes, and across a variety of network link sizes. It allows IT to centrally manage, deploy, and decommission these devices using automated methods that save technicians time. It is also very cost effective when looking at lifecycle management of the devices.
  • Highly configurable options to create and manage device use cases.
  • Ability to control security settings for compliance purposes.
  • Inventory auditing capabilities which allow staff to know where devices are and how they are performing.
  • Nothing glaring that comes to mind.
In the healthcare industry, where patient safety and compliance are very important, Jamf Pro gives IT the ability to centrally manage the provisioning and resetting of devices automatically. In addition, the ability to curate an app store that can be presented in multiple flavors gives IT the flexibility to provide app bundles to a wide variety (pediatrics, behavioral health, maternity, and other specialties) of departments and situations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2020

Jamf Pro: a necessary management tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a K-12 school district with iPads 1:1 in all grade levels. All of our staff have an iPad and a MacBook. We use Jamf Pro to manage all of these devices. Management of all of these devices would not be possible without Jamf Pro. We use it to push apps, set restrictions, and help troubleshoot problems with devices.
  • Getting all the necessary apps out to students and staff. Jamf Pro makes this an absolutely seamless process.
  • Setting restrictions for our devices. We are able to set different restrictions for staff and students at different grade levels. This is a necessity in a school district.
  • Jamf support is amazing. They have a very quick turn around time and are always super helpful. If they don't know the answer, they will find someone who does.
  • I would love for Jamf Pro to take over the daunting task of creating packages for the most common Mac apps used.
  • Pulling data from Jamf on apps, smart groups and such can sometimes be difficult. I would like to see that integrated.
  • Cost for Jamf Pro is getting steep, would like to see better pricing for school districts.
For school districts, universities, and businesses that need to manage a large number of Apple devices, Jamf Pro is absolutely my number one choice. The wide range of features and capabilities I don't think can be matched by competitors. For places with a small number of devices or not as great a need of the wide range of features, it might not be the best option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Jamf Pro, the only system in Mac management.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage and deploy over 1,000 Mac laptops and desktops, over 400 iOS devices and are now rolling out about 100 TVOS devices. This allows us to deploy apps when devices are offsite as well as manage storage space, network settings etc. but the real strength is in the Jamf community. Everyone is more than willing to share ideas and scripts. This is great as ideas evolve and it makes the product that much better.
  • Easy management of Mac devices - controls are simple and straight forward.
  • Integrations - integrates with a number of key systems that make managing user accounts super easy, e.g. Okta, Google, and Azure.
  • Support - Support is on hand via chat or email. Support techs are knowledgeable and responsive.
  • Interface is a bit clunky for certain tasks. But generally is good.
  • Cannot multi select devices for some tasks.
  • When devices stop talking to the system, it gets very tricky to fix.
Appropriate use - If you are using Apple devices and need a way to standardise apps or make apps and settings available for users, Jamf Pro is appropriate. This system will allow you to do this from a single admin console instead of going to each device.
Less appropriate if you run non-Apple devices. This will not work with Windows devices. However, there is an integration for Microsoft intune. But this doesn’t allow the management of Windows devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Easy to use, yet powerful

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our Apple devices (160 MacOS, 100 iOS). All the devices in the company are managed through Jamf Pro. It helps us managing endpoint security, software updates, App patches through policies, and configuration profiles.
  • Manage endpoint security
  • Software updates and patches
  • Inventory
  • The User interface was vastly overhauled but still needs improvement at some points, I do not worry as it is a work in progress.
  • Automating the patch management will help also.
Jamf Pro shines when you need a tool that is really simple to use, yet has everything to do more elaborate and powerful management tasks. I like that I can monitor my fleet at a glance and apply some policies very quickly, but if I need to deploy scripts or such, almost everything is possible. Jamf can manage a small business fleet of devices and allow them to enforce security and policies. But you can also do very powerful stuff if you start connecting to its API and for instance, get notifications for all sorts of events, automate a lot of repetitive tasks such as inventory, etc. The support is excellent and there is a huge public community of experts that can help on very specific requests.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2020

10 years with Jamf and I've never been happier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf to manage our Apple devices across campus. This help us to deploy managed apps, apply policies and managed preferences. Also makes it easy with Apple school manager to manage new devices to deploy what we need to them. For iPads it makes deploying and managing devices so much easier then products I have used.
  • Open environment for Mac admins.
  • The Mac binary is what makes Jamf superior to others.
  • Great tech support.
  • Great apps for iOS management.
  • A bit pricy.
  • Tech support may take long if requiring an engineer.
  • Training classes are not given often.
I have been recommending Jamf to anyone that is running 50 or more Apple devices and are deploying constantly. Jamf has a great community of Apple engineers who are always willing to help and are open to whatever you are running in your environment. They also are always ahead of what Apple brings to the table.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2020

Jamf Pro: Truly the Best Apple MDM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is the perfect tool for any organisations that is predominantly Apple device based and looking for an intuitive and powerful management platform. Working for a school with over 1500 Apple devices distributed between students and staff, Jamf Pro saves our team quite literally 1000s of man hours each year. It enables us to remotely manage devices and distribute packages, policies and restrictions across all enrolled devices and is a pleasure to use.
  • Device enrollment is super easy.
  • Payload deployment is fast and simple.
  • Self-service gives users a one-stop shop for all their app needs.
  • The user experience of the management could use some more work.
  • Greater branding customisation would be useful.
  • Can be a bit challenging to learn if you have no previous exposure to MDM.
Jamf Pro is ideally suited to organisations were many devices will be deployed. Schools and medium to large companies, really any organisation with more than 100 people/deployable devices. This could be a traditional office environment or school, or could even work for a traveling workforce and remote workers. Provided that the devices are "owned" by the organisation, the devices can be managed and the workload made easier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

JAMF is the way to go

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization to get all Macs compliant to security and provide a default set of software. This way, onboarding of users is a breeze.
  • Manage configuration profiles
  • Run workflows and report the outcome
  • Can be used as an CMS very well
  • I would like to see script content withint the policy window. This way I won't have to move between different pages to see what it does.
Don't see a scenario where JAMF is not suited. It's just a matter of selecting the Pro or Now version to match the size of your organization.
  • in-person training
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Jamf Pro has become a must in terms of Apple device management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro allows us to manage our Apple devices with ease. We no longer need devices to be on-site in order to be updated, and the Self Service functionality has really empowered many of my users to resolve their own issues. Having a cloud-based MDM solution has allowed us to maintain updated systems more easily and support the users better. Also, the zero-day support that Jamf offers for new Apple operating systems allows us to support users who like to upgrade their devices as soon as new releases come out.
  • Zero-Day Support - Supports the newest operating systems on the day they get released.
  • Ease of use - Very intuitive in terms of management opportunities.
  • Self-service - Makes users more self reliant.
  • Tracking for devices - Although some other MDM's have this functionality, it is not something that is as possible in Jamf without putting a device into lost mode.
Mobile device management is no longer becoming an option for managing Apple devices, it is becoming mandatory, and out of the MDM options I have worked with, Jamf Pro is far and away the best product. If you are in the field of managing Apple devices in education or enterprise, this product can make your life easier. It also can support BYOD devices if that is something you need to manage as well.
Read this authenticated review

About Jamf Pro

Jamf Pro (formerly Casper Suite) is designed to automate device management for users while driving end-user productivity and creativity. According to the vendor, it is the EMM tool that delights IT pros and the users they support by delivering on the promise of unified endpoint management for Apple devices.

Jamf Pro Features

Has featureZero-Touch Deployment
Has featureDevice Management
Has featureApp Distribution
Has featureInventory Management
Has featureEnterprise App Store
Has featurePatch Management

Jamf Pro Screenshots

Jamf Pro Integrations

ServiceNow, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager (SCCM), Apple School Manager, Apple Volume Purchase Program, Apple Device Enrollment Program, Cisco Identity Services Engine

Jamf Pro Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

$3.33 per month per iOS device $6.25 per month per Mac Education and volume discounts available. Onboarding 3-Day for Mac + iOS: $7,500 2-Day for Mac only: $6,000 4hr Remote for iOS only: $750 Billed Annually

Jamf Pro Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Jamf Buddy
JumpStart

Jamf Pro Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Languages: English, German, French, Chinese and Japanese