Jamf Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
179 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 137)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 25, 2021
Kaho Tafea | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Mac school, 98% of our devices are Mac with the exception of a few. 11 years ago we have been manually doing management on our Mac and it became time consuming and always needed more man power that we don't have. Our team is small and support 3 campuses. JAMF Pro simplifies [the] workload by a lot. Management and reporting has never been eas[ier]. Onboarding new devices is down to just open a delivery box send it directly to a client with [a] note to open, proceed with setup and JAMF does everything in the background. Self Service is awesome, with lockdown and day to day requirements of software from the IT department [being] done remotely, users can serve themselves to the applications. There are other MDM softwares out there but nothing comes close to JAMF in my opinion. It was and still the best decision we have ever made.
  • Self Service
  • Reporting
  • Onboarding workflows
  • Policies and Config Profile mangement
  • May be in the future JAMF can adapt to management of Windows for our brother in the Windows Environment :)
Any organization, school or environment where you have more than 2 Mac devices, you need JAMF Pro to help you simplify everything.
Read Kaho Tafea's full review
March 12, 2021
Dave Palombo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The primary use case is to manage everything Apple in our environment. Everything from assigning the asset to the user, controlling licensing via App Store, custom policies and configurations. The goal is to ease the burden on our Service Desk, while also enabling the user to be more self sufficient. In the past I have used many MDM solutions and most of the time it came down to poor documentation with them compared to Jamf. We found the resources provided were more then enough to get us up and running. Plus the continued support from their staff have been awesome!
  • Jamf Nation - valuable information, tips, tricks and resources to go to when you might have issues. Often times the issue you are facing, isn't something new at all. There are always others who have run into it and can provide valuable insight to resolving. If it is something completely new, you have a plethora of other admins at your disposal who are able to quickly assist you.
  • Integrated patch management - easy to keep your software up to date on devices.
  • I think one of the big ones is automated device naming for Computers. You can do this via mobile devices in the pre-stage but not Computers. Having the ability to assign devices to a specific pre-stage enrollment group and having said group identify all systems via a specific prefix/suffix would benefit us a lot and keep a better consistency when it comes to users' machine names.
  • Improved Patch Management - This is in the works, I know, but having access to more applications or even improving the method to organizing/configuring patch management will be beneficial. Currently, it's a painful process to set it up.
  • Support for devices outside of Mac. A lot of Org's are looking to merge their fleet into a single MDM and while Jamf is the best I've used for Apple devices, having more functionality for devices outside of the Apple universe would benefit it in the eyes of other Org's.
We have found Jamf to be the critical part to everything. Having the ability to automate our workflows has been great. Also having the knowledge base of other Mac Admins at our disposal with the Jamf Nation, that's something that very few if any, MDM providers have. We currently have a zero-touch workflow, we are able to deploy the full MS Office suite, complete encryption, block activation lock, all while the device is being enrolled for the first time. The user doesn't have to reach out to IT at all during the process which definitely improves the onboarding experience.
Read Dave Palombo's full review
April 09, 2021
John Bordelon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jamf Pro to make sure all of our macOS systems are compliant with our IT Security policies. As well as a way to improve our support of macOs systems in our environment. Jamf Pro is used throughout the entire organization. It addresses our concerns about having unmanaged devices. We can push updates and other approved software, as well as enforce restrictions. It has been a tremendous help when performing audits.
  • Security Management
  • Software Deployment
  • Policy enforcement
  • Inventory
  • Centralized FileVault key storage
  • Remote support via Jamf Remote
  • Standardized settings
  • Great support staff
  • Add the ability to run scripts as a local user
  • Make it easier to brand Jamf Pro console with company logo
  • Add the ability to run policies in a specific order rather than alphabetically
Jamf Pro is well suited for an environment where IT security is a major concern. Before Jamf Pro our environment was a hodge-podge, with macOS systems running various versions of the OS with varying versions of security updates and approved software. Jamf Pro helped us standardize our systems and enforce policies. Another benefit of having Jamf Pro is the ability to deploy systems quickly.

Jamf Pro may not be suited for environments where the systems can be easily managed.
Read John Bordelon's full review
March 03, 2021
Joshua Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used within the entire organization to manage our corporate Apple technology. We are using it to easily deploy laptops and mobile devices, and then manage the installed software / settings, ensure compliance, and handle patch management.
  • Device Provisioning
  • Patch Management
  • Self Service
  • Mobile Device Management
  • UI / UX - Self Service
  • macOS Update Management
  • LAPS Functionality
  • Binary Patching
Jamf is great for managing a fleet of Apple devices with minimal human capital. It will take some time to set up all of the different aspects and features, but once you do, it pretty much just works. You can empower users to help themselves with Self Service, you can ensure device compliance with Configuration Profiles, lock down a compromised system with MDM commands, and keep users up to date with Patch Management. Areas where Jamf needs to improve are the user experience within Self Service and the Patch Management system needs to be more dynamic. It's not always easy to find things in Self Service and there are some current bugs that flood the user with unnecessary notifications and make it difficult to navigate. Patch Management needs to be adjusted to handle deferments / deadlines in a better way. It also needs to have a better handle on macOS system updates and updates to command line binaries. As of now, there is not a good way to use Jamf to manage these things.
Read Joshua Smith's full review
March 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used together with Jamf Cloud to manage our 1-to-1 iPad environment in our lower school. It allows us to quickly make changes to the student devices, and with Covid, manage them off-campus. This increased efficiency has allowed us to keep a very slim technology department which allows us to focus on the tools for our users, rather than managing people and processes.
  • Jamf Pro offers great customer support.
  • The Jamf Pro UX is hands-down the most intuitive MDMs that I have used.
  • Jamf Pro allows for easy management with no hidden upgrades within their service required to access greater functionality. You pay for a full product and get a full product. That said, there is a premium, but you still get full management at Pro.
  • The UX offers a slick design, but no offer of customization. For my IT director, it is too dark, for me, it is too light.
  • Occasionally, you have to work your way through the support professionals to get one who knows how to fix your rare-bird, extremely unlikely to ever repeat in another user issue that you somehow managed to find.
  • Scalability in costs so that I can justify putting Mac on there as well. We have a bunch of Macs roaming campus free of an MDM, and what little I want to manage does not justify the cost.
Jamf [Pro] is great if you have a fleet of Apple Devices that you need to manage, but do not necessarily have the drive/will/time/manpower. Whatever your reason for being hesitant to get started on managing your devices, Jamf [Pro] can make it easier. We used a different MDM before for our lower school, and it took 5 weeks for two people to redeploy the devices before we could even start to clean them physically (read: sanitize because why are the kids always sticky). Now, it is just me, and I could re-deploy all of the devices in a day if I wanted to, but I actually do it over three so as to not overtax the network as it reinstalls all of the apps as I watch... It has been a great time saver, and now, in one week I (just me... I swear to you) I have all of my devices re-deployed and cleaned. I only need to wait on new enrollments to edit the numbers. I will admit Jamf [Pro] is not appropriate in an environment where you rely on that sort of time-consuming busywork to justify your hours, it is a time-saver!
Read this authenticated review
February 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jamf Pro to globally manage our macOS and iOS fleet of Apple devices.
Using Jamf Pro enables us to seamlessly and consistently deploy Apple devices to users within minimal involvement from our IT support team.
Jamf Pro then provides in-depth reporting & management of all our Apple devices, no matter where they are located.
  • Consistent standard in device deployment no matter who is setting it up
  • Ease of management of devices
  • Great look & feel for the end user experience
  • There are none, Jamf Pro is essential if managing Apple devices
Jamf Pro is great for ease of device deployment, even at sites & locations where there is no technical or IT support staff present.
Read this authenticated review
March 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf pro is used across our entire organization. This is a best MDM tool for Apple devices. Jamf is the leader in this area and especially with Intune integration even though the integration piece has some short falls. This dosent mean as the product is bad. Comparing with similar competitors Jamf are still the Market leaders and their product is doing nice. It will be great if they can support custom requirements in a better and timely manner.
  • Deployments
  • Device Enrollments
  • Asset management
  • Intune integration
  • Cloud distribution point
  • Modern Reporting
Jamf is best suited in areas if you are going with the default capabilities of the product. If you have a requirement to used it in a custom mode there you will have some challenges. This dosent mean as the product is not capable but there is a gap in getting this into the product cycle.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JAMF Pro is being used through our organization to manage all aspects of our Apple environment from application deployment to printers as well. We use JAMF to manage our patches for all of our devices.
  • Application deployment and inventory management.
  • Asset and inventory control.
  • User management and integrations.
  • Integrations with other platforms offered by Jamf.
  • Better dashboard integration with protect line.
I would certainly recommend it to my colleagues in K-12 as well as my colleagues from the past. There is the casino environment where they need to manage many single app devices so that they can stay up to date and work correctly in all aspects of operating.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2020
John Hathcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started out with Jamf Pro back when it was Casper Suite and on-prem only. It's been our MDM since RBS first launched our Apple technology 1:1 initiative back in 2013. Jamf Pro has allowed us to maintain a 500+ mobile and desktop device inventory with ease. Everything from device deployment through security profiles and configuration is simple to set up and powerful. Jamf Pro's cloud-based servers have phenomenal uptime and make running the system effortless. I would strongly recommend Jamf Pro to any institution with more than 10 apple devices. It is by far the best MDM in its price range.
  • Device enrollment
  • Configuration profiles
  • User deployment
  • Software deployment and updates
  • Patch management
  • Setup interface
  • Reporting functions
Jamf Pro is excellent in educational environments, hospitals, colleges, and corporations. Jamf Pro is flexible enough to adapt to almost any business model. Schools especially will appreciate the configuration profiles and the ease of setting up security lockouts that will allow student devices to maintain compliance with COPA (Child Online Protection Act).
Customer and Tech support both for Jamf is excellent. They respond promptly, are very knowledgeable and polite. We have only ever had one major issue and it ended up being a hardware failure on an old on-site server before we went to the cloud deployment. Jamf takes pride in excellence in service!
Read John Hathcock's full review
February 02, 2021
Patrick Rutkowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to manage our mobile Apple Fleet. It is used across the whole department. It helps us to manage our company owned mobile devices, to keep them GDPR and policy conform and to make the enrollment process as comfortable as possible. Jamf offers a zero touch enrollment which helps us to minimize our work considerably.
  • Enrollment (Zero-touch)
  • Clarity
  • Awesome support
  • A chat support function within the tool
  • An the customers relation team should act a little more individually on customers requests
  • The settings should not be half transparent while not in edit mode
For managing apple devices, this is the best and clearest tool I have come across so far. Very functional for both company-owned and BYOD devices. Unsuitable for managing non-OS devices as Android is not supported.
Can be used in small, medium and large companies. Doesn't matter how many devices you have (should be at least 25 devices for Jamf pro)
Read Patrick Rutkowski's full review
January 21, 2021
Kevin D Snook | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Jamf Pro] across our entire University and also as a shared instance across the entire UNC University System. Over 15k total devices managed with our JAMF Pro
  • Remote Management
  • Security and compliance
  • Application deployment
  • More focus on site level management
[Jamf Pro is] perfect for any business that is deploying Macs or iOS devices
Read Kevin D Snook's full review
September 30, 2020
Thom Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using Jamf Pro in one department within our college to manage 100 Macs located in ten labs, classrooms, and conference rooms. It provides a consistent user experience for approximately 400 users across all 100 machines. It has replaced our former cocktail of DeployStudio, WorkGroup Manager, and Munki which... mostly worked. Mostly. Jamf is proving to be a much more stable solution for us, and it's so much better to have all that management centralized into one product. We're able to efficiently keep our labs securely patched and push out settings to maintain compliance with directives from Central IT.
  • Manages printers much more conveniently and cleanly.
  • Streamlines our annual wipe/refresh process for our labs and classroom.
  • Makes it super easy to deploy settings and configurations to our clients.
  • Keeps software securely patched.
  • Can't use a cloud distribution point as a failover for an on-prem distribution point.
Right now we're using Jamf Pro primarily in a many-to-one user-to-device setting, and it is doing very well for us in this environment. That said, there are a number of features which aren't appropriate for this situation. As we're preparing to expand our Jamf Pro service through the rest of our college we'll have a lot of one-to-one user-to-device settings, and we'll be able to even further leverage all the functionality Jamf Pro offers.
Jamf support is always quick to respond if we have any issues with the product. Their support staff are knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient.
Read Thom Martin's full review
September 19, 2020
Eric Boyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our Apple devices. Whether they are devices for patients, clinical or staff. Jamf Pro makes it possible to lock down our patient room Apple TVs to be used only by the iPad in that room. We wouldn’t want another device affecting a different room inadvertently. Jamf’s Healthcare Listener allows us to perform actions on our devices based on ADT/HL7 feeds. This is a huge automation tool that drastically reduces the load for IT in getting a device ready and allowing our staff to focus on our next patient.
  • Jamf supports new features from Apple on Day Zero. We are able to test our devices with Apples betas with Jamf betas in order to be ready for that next OS.
  • Jamf understands Healthcare. Their ADT/HL7 Listener allows for us to create and customize automations that are triggered by existing workflows. This gives us more capability with a faster implementation time.
  • Meeting and reporting on compliance are powerful in our industry. Getting alerts in real-time and being able to act on them was a deciding factor to use Jamf Pro.
  • Jamf's Support team knows Apple Tech and devices. You dont have to wait days for a specialist like some of the other venders we have.
  • Not a lot of customization in the dashboard. Need to build those out in Service Now instead. At least there is a strong integration there.
  • Like all MDM’s, Jamf is ultimately limited to the APIs allowed by Apple. This can be frustrating at times. Sometimes workarounds are available, and other times new tools can be created using Jamf’s APIs.
JAMF Pro is our go to MDM for automation and new functionality introduced in the new Apple Operating Systems.
Jamf Support lets you choose how you want to get help. whether it's via email, phone, or chat, you will get a quick response. And with premium support options you can improve your organizations SLAs
You can count on your Jamf support tech to understand Apple's Products, OS's, and services. You don't waste time or get the run around while they try to find someone who knows what you need.
Read Eric Boyd's full review
December 23, 2020
Mindy Bradley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our employees work remotely and we have deployed Mac Laptops as our work devices. We needed a device management solution, malware protection, enforcement of our policies, etc.
  • Data loss prevention tools.
  • Implementation of password management.
  • Paying for hand holding support is a JOKE.
  • Assumes a basic level of knowledge to use product.
  • Training is through self-service ONLY.
JAMF Pro is perfect for an experienced IT support team. If you do NOT have a sophisticated IT team, then it is severely lacking. And, paying an extra $3800 to be handheld is a joke. You get 8 hours of support on a defined list of services. They will only answer questions on the defined list and otherwise suggest tutorials. BUYER BEWARE for paying for this extra level of support.
Read Mindy Bradley's full review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jamf [Pro] managed macOS devices across the globe.

We want to manage unmanaged macOS devices using Jamf Pro Cloud Solution. Secondly we want to migrate Intune managed macOS devices to Jamf Pro. We would like to comply with our company security policies that we achieved using CIS Benchmarks.

We want to manage productivity applications as of Office 365 suite apps, VPN, Google Chrome, NoMAD and other business apps as required in real time.

Our users want to access intranet sites that we were able to achieve smoothly.

Finally we are able to manage admin rights process on macOS.

  • Self Service is the one stop solution for end user.
  • Configuration profiles are best friend to implement CIS Benchmarks, PPPC, Office apps customization, restriction and many other cool features.
  • Composer is the my best friend to create any complex package, its super easy to use.
  • Jamf inbuilt FileVault is super straight forward and doesn’t require lot of mathematics calculation to implementation.
  • Jamf Support is super helpful, professional and all the engineers are very nice to dealt with.
  • KnowledgeBase Articles should be introduced in Jamf Pro.
  • Light and Dark background feature should be included while login to Jamf Pro.
  • Jamf training curriculum need to be revisit specially Jamf 400 Expert exam.
  • Jamf should give the option to download individual device policy logs that will be really help to diagnose the issue.
  • Jamf Reset app is super duper cool but it’s only available only for iOS , likewise we should have Jamf reset app on macOS.

Very First thing is we got the way to manage all unmanaged macOS devices across the globe, which was achieved through Jamf Pro Cloud. Jamf is stable, reliable, secure and you have lot of option to customize the stuff.

We are able to integrate with centralized third party apps without any issues, this is kind of win win situation for us.

Software and Hardware Inventory is one of the key and important factor when it comes for Inventory Management. Advance Search Reporting is very powerful feature of Jamf Pro Cloud and good part is you can also utilize Jamf Pro Classic API with it

Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro gives you the best tool to manage your Apple macOS fleet in your company. Unfortunately Apple is limiting the way you can manage macs compared how you manage Windows devices. Therefore you need an elegant strategy to manage your devices. Jamf Pro helps you with that. The combination of the Apple MDM commands and the Jamf binary helps you to get the most out of it.
Everything Apple does not enable with MDM commands you can take care of with scripting and custom policies. With that, your options are almost endless managing your Apple macOS devices. I'm using Jamf Pro since May 2015 and there is no other vendor who does such a great work, helping you succeed with your macOS devices.

  • Use of Internal API in scripts. With the API you can do wonderful things to automate your deployment and create a wonderful enduser experience.
  • Use of scripts in policies to automate your deployment.
  • Use of the Apple MDM commands to get everything out of it.
  • The integrated patch feature is good, but needs some tweaking. As of now, there is no option for the user to defer the installation of a patch. You can either give them the option to install the patch through self service (which needs an active part of the user to do it) or you can force the installation. However with the force of the installation, there is potential data loss, because an App which you want to patch needs to be closed for it to work. The info about that the app will be closed for patching is almost not noticeable for the user.
  • Therefore we do no use the integrated patch management technology and build our own logic to work around it.
If you want to manage macOS devices in your enterprise and want to make it as easy for the user as well as for the administrators you should use the DEP with Jamf Pro. It makes it so easy to deploy a new Apple Mac to a new user. The IT does not need to touch the device even once. You could ship it directly from the vendor and all the user needs is an internet connection and their credentials. At the end of the setup, the user has a fully managed and functional Mac to use within the enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used across our whole organization. It allows our technicians to systematically manage more devices than they could on their own while providing a consistent user experience.
  • It allows for many customized workflows.
  • It has smart groups allowing for dynamic configurations.
  • The cloud version is fast and requires no upkeep.
  • App licensing needs some work.
  • Technician permissions could use more granularity.
  • It’s not cheap.
If you need to manage a lot of Apple devices, Jamf Pro is the gold standard. While the cost may look intimidating, you will more than make up for it in user productivity and the time it saves you.
Responsive, friendly, helpful. The support request system is useful as well.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this product to manage Mac devices in the enterprise. From profile configurations to security compliance and core applications. Using Jamf allows us to ensure our Macs meet the requirements outlined by our Security/ Compliance Department.
  • Smart groups
  • Policies
  • Configuration profiles
  • Empowering the end user
  • Ease of use
  • Patch management
  • Reporting
Self Service empowers the user and allows them to install the software they need when they need it. Not to mention being able to utilize some of the tools we have included to solve their own issues. Zero-touch deployment is also great. Being able to ship the Mac to the user has been great given the current conditions.
Their support is awesome. You always have someone you can email or chat with regarding an issue, plus they have a JamfNation which is a forum/page for Mac admins to post to and get questions answered.
Read this authenticated review
October 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses Jamf Pro to secure and manage a fleet of approximately 50,000 Mac workstations around the globe. We are a multi-platform shop - Macs are used by employees in several areas of the business such as sales, product engineering, and C-suite level executives. They make up around 50% of the computers deployed to our full-time employees.
  • Same-day support of the latest macOS releases.
  • Extensive reporting capability that is easily extendable to suit custom requirements.
  • Comprehensive MDM management capabilities.
  • Integration with Apple Business services.
  • Integration with Microsoft Azure AD.
  • Patch Management needs improvement, often patching must be done via policy.
  • Database is inefficient at scale in some areas. This is improving but there is still work to be done.
  • Does not support MySQL clustering.
If you need to comprehensively manage Macs or other Apple devices, then Jamf Pro is really the best option. They are the market leader here, and with good reason - they are by far the most full-featured Apple MDM software on the market today. They are strictly Apple-focused, so if you need to manage multiple brands of mobile devices then something else might fit. That said, every org that I have worked as a Jamf admin for got great value from managing their Macs with the product, even if mobile was done with another product.
Jamf does a very good job of providing support. Depending on your needs, you may be better suited to buying a support contract if you are an experienced admin, because you will be asking expert-level questions that the front line desk can't answer. This certainly isn't unique to Jamf, though. 9 out of 10, because there's always room for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf Pro to manage our macOS and iOS fleet. It makes our job so much easier. Instead of having to setup every computer and phone for the user, Jamf Pro takes care of it for us. We can have the vendor send the products to our employees directly and using JAMF + Apple's DEP have them automatically setup without someone from IT having to do anything. It saves so much time that we probably would need to double our IT department without it.
  • Zero Touch Enrollment/Deployment. Start your computer, enter your directory credentials, and Jamf Pro takes care of it.
  • All the necessary inventory information is always in our hands. If something is missing, we can create extended attributes for it.
  • We can manage security settings for everybody without having to trust that a user does something the right way.
  • I would like an inventory section that shows everything without having to do it as a search.
  • Maybe they could implement a few workflows that are a bit general so you don't have to create them yourself.
If you have an environment with only a few Macs, Jamf Pro is probably unnecessary. But if you have more than 10, I'm pretty sure Jamf would help you a lot. Especially if you are big on security without having to cripple your users, Jamf Pro is a great way to go.
I haven't actually used their support much, but when I've had to, it's been ok. I've heard about other users having issues that take a while for Jamf to look at though so there might be some room for improvement.
Read this authenticated review
July 10, 2020
Dennis Kükenbrink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jamf here at our University to manage all kinds of Apple hardware. The central IT manage iPad pools, employee devices, BYO. Without Jamf we needed hours per device for the initial setup, for installing the needed software or setting up different settings. With Jamf we implemented all our needs into the software and now, we don't need the devices in our office anymore, the customers can open the device like he had purchased it - with Jamf you can have real zero-touch deployment.
  • Improves efficiency.
  • Saves time.
  • Opens new possibilities.
  • The app packaging.
  • Website layout could be a little better.
  • Pricing for non educational use.
There is no scenario Jamf isn't well suited. If you deal with more than a handful of Apple devices Jamf is a real help, it makes no difference where you work at, school, university, or "normal company." With Jamf we can even manage BYOs, we can act quickly when customers ask for specific apps, policies, etc.
We don't have much contact with customer support, because we simply don't need to. If we needed help at some point, Jamf has a huge community, driven by other users. Imagine a case, at least one other user had that problem before and can help. The community even creates scripts, etc. so that you don't run into any problems.
Read Dennis Kükenbrink's full review
July 02, 2020
Luke Driscoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jamf Pro is used predominantly by IT and Digital Services. Initially it was brought in to manage our Macs in student teaching labs and staff devices, it has since been expanded to manage kiosk iPads, all staff iOS devices and to manage our one-to-one undergraduate student iPad distribution of 3000-4000 devices per year. We use it to ensure device compliance, distribute apps, secure devices and secure our company data.
  • Jamf Training Catalogue is a great resource for getting staff up to speed on Apple and Jamf support and management.
  • Jamf Nation is a really valuable resource for Mac and Apple management
  • Jamf Cloud scales up and down as you need it
  • Jamf allows a really high Users:Admin ratio
  • UI could look more like the System Preferences or Settings
  • Default Account Settings should be what are recommended in Jamf 200 Training
  • Please get Conditional Access for iOS working again
For large scale iPad or Mac deployments Jamf Pro is really the best Apple supporting Mobile Device Management product on the market, however At very small scale iOS only deployments Jamf Now may be better suited. Since the launch of Jamf School it may be worth considering this alternative if you IT team is small.
Jamf Nation - the best source of information on supporting and managing Apple devices on the internet.
Jamf Training Catalogue - An excellent resource for getting helpdesk and other staff up to speed on Apple support and management
Jamf Heroes - regular online meet-ups with Jamf/Mac admins around the globe
Jamf Buddy - regular contact point with Jamf and support when needed
Read Luke Driscoll's full review
June 18, 2020
Juan A Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an organization that is predominantly Windows 10, the need for a management system that integrates seamlessly with macOS was needed. Trying different solutions was cumbersome but when we started using Jamf Pro it was seamless and "unnoticeable."

Users are still able to work effectively and efficiently while the Jamf admin manages the device's security and configurations of all of the corporate users. Jamf makes it easy to segregate the different department groups of users and also helps push out policies and settings quickly and effectively.
  • Management of macOS computers.
  • Management of software updates.
  • Management of iOS devices.
  • Remote configurations for both Mac or PC.
  • Reduce cost of licensing.
  • No Remote Desktop feature built in.
Jamf Pro is most appropriate when managing more than 150 devices (iOS) but I think the best scenario for Jamf is when managing macOS devices. The functionality and granularity is incredible.
Overall support is excellent with Jamf Pro. Always eager to help and provide you with the best solution that they are able to give at that moment. They also are great at following up when a solution has not been answered or completed.
Read Juan A Garcia's full review
June 11, 2020
Anthony Darlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Jamf Pro is being used across our business to ensure that our corporate devices (both iOS and macOS) are safe and secure. This in turn has enabled us to gain the Cyber Essentials certification.

As a side effect we are now big users of Self Service not to just deploy software or configurations but also to ensure employees have access to the correct resources (such a marketing assets or documentation) by linking out to appropriate stores (such as O365 or Google).

Further to this as a reseller and partner of Jamf and personally being a certified Jamf Admin I was with our customer base to plan, deploy and support them with Jamf and their Apple Devices so that they too can address the needs of their business
  • Self Service portal.
  • Day Zero support for new iOS/macOS features.
  • Great inventory data.
  • Continuing and growing support for integrating with your other systems (IdPs, AV, LDAP, etc. etc).
  • A greater software title list for Patch Policies.
  • Some of the simplistic features or UI of Jamf School (particularly around iOS).
  • Uploading packages via the web interface and sometimes be flaky.
Jamf Pro is well suited for any business or school that has more than a couple of Apple devices. It can make deployment as easy as inbox and turn on without the huge drain on an IT dept as well as making ongoing management simple with clear insights of your complete estate.
Jamf Nation is a hub of all Jamf Pro (and general Mac Admins) that post and help each other in a friendly community.

Access to this is completely free and I’ve always found the answer to the support questions that I have had. If I haven’t the question that I have posted has been quickly seen to by a community member. Due to this I've not had to use the Jamf Support.
Read Anthony Darlow's full review
June 05, 2020
Andrew Nickless | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Jamf Pro across the entire school division. It makes iPad and Mac administration really easy and powerful. My saying at work is "Jamf is my second Co-worker," as it literally takes a huge load off me. If I need an app on an iPad or Mac, I just deploy it to self-service and email them back saying "it's ready for you to install yourself." Need printers reset? They go to self-service and reset the printers and reinstall them themselves.
  • Great customer service
  • Great trainers
  • Great Mac administration
  • Great at iPad administration
  • Great MDM solution
  • Integration with PRTG is missing
  • More Webinars could be done
  • Can be hard at first to learn
Jamf Pro is suitable for all mac and iPad MDM solutions and management. It's not only an MDM but an inventory solution as well. I would say, if you have a low number of devices then Jamf Pro may not be the best but if you get more than 100 devices then definitely look at it.
By far the best customer support I have yet to experience. I had a database error and they spent hours with me to fix it, hauled in software engineers, managers and other support people to fix the issue that I had created and we fixed it. They are based in America, which for Canada and the US, is great and they do not read from a script. The support persons literally love working at Jamf and it shows in how they help you.
Read Andrew Nickless's full review

What is Jamf Pro?

Jamf Pro (formerly Casper Suite) is designed to automate device management for users while driving end-user productivity and creativity. According to the vendor, it is the EMM tool that delights IT pros and the users they support by delivering on the promise of unified endpoint management for Apple devices.

Jamf Pro Features

Has featureZero-Touch Deployment
Has featureDevice Management
Has featureApp Distribution
Has featureInventory Management
Has featureEnterprise App Store
Has featurePatch Management

Jamf Pro Screenshots

Jamf Pro Videos (3)

Jamf Pro Downloadables

Jamf Pro Integrations

ServiceNow IT Service Management, Microsoft Endpoint Manager (Microsoft Intune + SCCM), Apple School Manager, Apple Volume Purchase Program, Apple Device Enrollment Program, Cisco Identity Services Engine

Jamf Pro Competitors

Jamf Pro Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

$3.33 per month per iOS device $6.25 per month per Mac Education and volume discounts available. Onboarding 3-Day for Mac + iOS: $7,500 2-Day for Mac only: $6,000 4hr Remote for iOS only: $750 Billed Annually

Jamf Pro Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Jamf Buddy
JumpStart

Jamf Pro Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS
Supported Languages: English, German, French, Chinese and Japanese

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Jamf Pro's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.6.

Who uses Jamf Pro?

The most common users of Jamf Pro are from Mid-size Companies and the Education Management industry.