TrustRadius
Jira Service desk is the ITIL / ITSM from software company Atlassian.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/9j/Zc/MIQF5E6L6RBI.PNGJIRA - the game changer!Jira is being used by multiple departments across my organization (Client Service, Financial Service, Tech Engineering, etc). Previously, my company was using a tool (designed in-house) to intake, prioritize, and track tickets submitted for development (maintenance, bugs, enhancements). The downside of this legacy technology was mainly reporting capabilities. We were unable to do a proper post-mortem in order to determine what areas of the overall process could be improved (if deadlines were not met).,allows multiple users to collaborate on the same project with ease. offers multiple reporting options to track tickets. automated emails relating to updates - users are always notified when they need to take action on a particular task.,Jira does not seem to like IE. It is much quicker on Chrome. Can be overwhelming for a new user. Training resources are somewhat limited. I wish there was a way to set rules behind automated emails. Example: only send emails when status or assignee has changed.,8,Visibility into all tickets/projects is excellent. Reporting allows upper management a "snapshot" of all projects and their current status. Time tracking capabilities allow management to pinpoint bottlenecks and areas for improvement.Jira it is if it is IT.Currently, we use Jira Service Desk for receiving, tracking and responding to our online customers who might have queries. We keep a track on all queries, the effort needed to respond to the queries, and simultaneously we also forward queries that are a little more complex to the development and product teams. We also use Jira Service Desk in the marketing team to gain insights into the kind of queries received.,Issue Tracking is easily the most important feature of Jira Service Desk Views and Dashboard can be customized We can track the progress of other projects that are on the Jira Service Desk,UI can be improved Though it is a very robust tool there are certain features which are not very useful,10,Currently there are no negatives that we can think of.,Google Analytics, Wix, GoToMeetingSharePoint admin enjoyed using JiraIt was being used for project management, tracking progress, questions and collaboration while using Agile methodology. It was also used to document procedures of how to do something in SharePoint, SP Designer and migrating data from company sandbox to customer platform. Jira was utilized to document meetings, ideas and scrum discussions.,It is compatible for Agile methodology where it lends a platform of sufficient communication, accountability of tasks and provided a space for a group email. This prevented replication of tasks that were already completed or decisions already made without having to pester the project lead on what was discussed if you missed a casual meeting or scrum.,Search results in Confluence does not work well if you begin with a spacename at the beginning. For example, if I were to list something as "abc def" and search under "def", results are not found. Issue tracking can be cumbersome when colleagues overload or customize it. Jira tends to force premature convergence of a process, then making it inconvenient to change it.,8,Mobile application support. Downtime is longer than anticipated and it is attributed to bugs. Editing tasks can be difficult due to where the task is located, so finding that task in order to edit can be a challenge.,Spiceworks,ServiceNow, BMC Track-It!, BMC Remedy IT Service Management SuiteJIRA for your Project... Good or Bad?We use JIRA in our project to keep track of individuals' work, as well as to collaborate all the tasks and documents at one place. We use its confluence integration feature to keep all the documents present in confluence available to all. We simultaneously keep track of all tasks using JIRA. We track which tasks are completed, which are pending, and how much effort is required to complete them.,Documentation is reduced, because we do not need to maintain Excel sheets to keep track of all the tasks. The service desk allows us to do that with minimal documentation. Taking an example of a defect that comes up during testing, this defect can also be raised here and its progress can be monitored by the developer, the tester, as well as all the participants involved. This makes it the single point where everything in the project is tracked. All the updates in the task assigned to a person are received via mail and there is no need to check the portal again and again, which surely saves time.,The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start. Because there are too many features. So there is a chance that if the UI were improved, this would be made a bit simpler. The user could understand better and more quickly, improving the efficiency of the tool. Although the tool is really powerful right now, it could be made a bit more automatic. That is, it could help the user in some basic tasks like creating categories of tasks and automatically, adding some sub tasks, and logging some work which would be editable by user. But giving the user something to start with would save a lot of time. Also there should be a weekly alert showing the hours logged into the portal, which can help the user track his work, how much he has logged in. So that one can log accordingly.,8,It reduces documentation. Also confluence integration is a positive point. Good for reporting. That is, we can provide numbers to higher management with the help of this tool. It is one of the best tools for issue and project tracking.,VersionOne,Atlassian Confluence, VersionOneEfficient & Effective Tool for IT Service ManagementOur team uses JIRA to raise tickets for our IT team and to submit talks/projects for our marketing and audience development teams. It started out as an easy way for us to get any development issues in the weekly and monthly IT sprints. Now, we also use it to collaborate on the creation of email newsletters, campaigns, etc. It's been great for tracking multi-user projects, sharing large files, etc.,Real-time collaboration Customized views/dashboards Deadline management File sharing Issue tracking,From my experience, JIRA is much better suited for IT/development than it is for marketers or project management teams. Some of the functionality is irrelevant for teams outside of IT, which can be off-putting for team members who aren't comfortable using new technology The email notifications from JIRA can get a little busy/cluttered. For example, if someone replies to an email from JIRA, the comments appear in JIRA and include their email signature, along with any images from their email signature. Then, those images appear in the attachments for that particular job. This sometimes causes projects to get a little disorganized.,8,We've been able to use JIRA to cut down on the number (and length) of monthly meetings with IT. We're now down to a weekly 15-minute call with our team, and we can easily reference what's already in JIRA to get quick updates. The IT has been able to respond to issues much faster than before. Within 6 months of moving to JIRA, we saw a boost in service levels. Uploading, proofing, and testing our e-newsletters has been much more efficient. We can do it in half the time now. Being able to quickly upload large files has saved time, and it's also quick and easy for everyone to chime in with edits all in one place, which makes the testing and editing process work much more smoothly and accurately.,Basecamp,Slack, Skype for Business, Adobe Photoshop, Okta
Windows, Linux, Mac
Jira Service Desk
234 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Jira Service Desk Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Jira Service Desk
234 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 234 vetted Jira Service Desk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 39)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brent Gostkowski profile photo
November 12, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA - the game changer!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used by multiple departments across my organization (Client Service, Financial Service, Tech Engineering, etc). Previously, my company was using a tool (designed in-house) to intake, prioritize, and track tickets submitted for development (maintenance, bugs, enhancements). The downside of this legacy technology was mainly reporting capabilities. We were unable to do a proper post-mortem in order to determine what areas of the overall process could be improved (if deadlines were not met).
  • allows multiple users to collaborate on the same project with ease.
  • offers multiple reporting options to track tickets.
  • automated emails relating to updates - users are always notified when they need to take action on a particular task.
  • Jira does not seem to like IE. It is much quicker on Chrome.
  • Can be overwhelming for a new user. Training resources are somewhat limited.
  • I wish there was a way to set rules behind automated emails. Example: only send emails when status or assignee has changed.

Jira is a great tool for organizations who already have a well-defined process for tickets/projects.

If your organization does not have multiple stakeholders who take part in tickets/projects this tool may not be the best fit.

It makes QA much easier since all communication between QA team and developers are in once place (with screenshots, short videos, etc).

Read Brent Gostkowski's full review
Sundeep Gopal profile photo
November 05, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Jira it is if it is IT."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Jira Service Desk for receiving, tracking and responding to our online customers who might have queries. We keep a track on all queries, the effort needed to respond to the queries, and simultaneously we also forward queries that are a little more complex to the development and product teams. We also use Jira Service Desk in the marketing team to gain insights into the kind of queries received.
  • Issue Tracking is easily the most important feature of Jira Service Desk
  • Views and Dashboard can be customized
  • We can track the progress of other projects that are on the Jira Service Desk
  • UI can be improved
  • Though it is a very robust tool there are certain features which are not very useful
Jira Service Desk is a great tool for teams that are already using it. For example, IT teams can save a great bit of time and effort using it, but the real problem comes when a marketing team is involved because the functionality is so limited from a marketing standpoint. However, for the IT teams, it probably is one of the easiest tools to work with—great features and customizations.
Read Sundeep Gopal's full review
Melissa Kattke profile photo
September 17, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "SharePoint admin enjoyed using Jira"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used for project management, tracking progress, questions and collaboration while using Agile methodology. It was also used to document procedures of how to do something in SharePoint, SP Designer and migrating data from company sandbox to customer platform. Jira was utilized to document meetings, ideas and scrum discussions.
  • It is compatible for Agile methodology where it lends a platform of sufficient communication, accountability of tasks and provided a space for a group email. This prevented replication of tasks that were already completed or decisions already made without having to pester the project lead on what was discussed if you missed a casual meeting or scrum.
  • Search results in Confluence does not work well if you begin with a spacename at the beginning. For example, if I were to list something as "abc def" and search under "def", results are not found.
  • Issue tracking can be cumbersome when colleagues overload or customize it.
  • Jira tends to force premature convergence of a process, then making it inconvenient to change it.
Suitable application for agile methodology. Good platform for issue tracking and documenting processes already discussed and or implemented. Even though the company I worked for paid for this subscription, I found out that it is more cost effective than legacy systems. The portal is intuitive to use in order to monitor progress of service tickets. Tickets can be displayed as "issue links" where developers can work on them before the ticket escalates.
Read Melissa Kattke's full review
Rounak Jangir profile photo
August 17, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA for your Project... Good or Bad?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA in our project to keep track of individuals' work, as well as to collaborate all the tasks and documents at one place. We use its Confluence integration feature to keep all the documents present in Confluence available to all. We simultaneously keep track of all tasks using JIRA. We track which tasks are completed, which are pending, and how much effort is required to complete them.
  • Documentation is reduced, because we do not need to maintain Excel sheets to keep track of all the tasks. The service desk allows us to do that with minimal documentation.
  • Taking an example of a defect that comes up during testing, this defect can also be raised here and its progress can be monitored by the developer, the tester, as well as all the participants involved. This makes it the single point where everything in the project is tracked.
  • All the updates in the task assigned to a person are received via mail and there is no need to check the portal again and again, which surely saves time.
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start. Because there are too many features. So there is a chance that if the UI were improved, this would be made a bit simpler. The user could understand better and more quickly, improving the efficiency of the tool.
  • Although the tool is really powerful right now, it could be made a bit more automatic. That is, it could help the user in some basic tasks like creating categories of tasks and automatically, adding some sub tasks, and logging some work which would be editable by user. But giving the user something to start with would save a lot of time.
  • Also there should be a weekly alert showing the hours logged into the portal, which can help the user track his work, how much he has logged in. So that one can log accordingly.
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of Confluence integration for projects with a lot of documentations.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Erica Marois profile photo
August 02, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Efficient & Effective Tool for IT Service Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses JIRA to raise tickets for our IT team and to submit talks/projects for our marketing and audience development teams. It started out as an easy way for us to get any development issues in the weekly and monthly IT sprints. Now, we also use it to collaborate on the creation of email newsletters, campaigns, etc. It's been great for tracking multi-user projects, sharing large files, etc.
  • Real-time collaboration
  • Customized views/dashboards
  • Deadline management
  • File sharing
  • Issue tracking
  • From my experience, JIRA is much better suited for IT/development than it is for marketers or project management teams. Some of the functionality is irrelevant for teams outside of IT, which can be off-putting for team members who aren't comfortable using new technology
  • The email notifications from JIRA can get a little busy/cluttered. For example, if someone replies to an email from JIRA, the comments appear in JIRA and include their email signature, along with any images from their email signature. Then, those images appear in the attachments for that particular job. This sometimes causes projects to get a little disorganized.
JIRA is the perfect solution for project/sprint management in an IT department. It's a great way to raise issues for IT and to get quick updates on their progress managing those bugs/issues. While it can also be used for marketing/content project management and job submissions, I do think there are better solutions for teams outside of IT. Basecamp and Trello are two good options for more basic project management.
Read Erica Marois's full review
Andrew Vawdrey profile photo
July 31, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Great Service Desk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira Service Desk is mainly being used by our Helpdesk team to receive, answer, filter, and escalate our internal requests from employees. The main users would be our Helpdesk team as they receive all tickets/requests and respond or pass them along to other teams within Jira, but you could say it is used by the whole organization because if anyone has an issue or request it is funneled through Jira Service desk.
  • Easy to track and keep a record of issues and requests
  • Great customized ticketing portal for users to submit their issues and requests
  • Gives ticket tracking to the submitter to follow if they like
  • Easy to move tickets over to other boards with Jira if needing to escalate issues to Development or other teams.
  • Sometimes the UI is a bit buggy
  • Sometimes it locks up users and won't let people submit tickets
Jira Service Desk is very well suited for any organization that also uses Jira Software for Development or other teams for their task tracking and all. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to take the ticket and move it to another board and assign it to someone to get worked on.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Gerardo David Denis Herrera profile photo
September 14, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Smart solution for a good price"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used to keep track of the open requirements of our external clients. It is used for every user in the company. The main problem addressed is to respond to customer requirements within agreed SLA to keep our external customers happy and not to impact the daily operations and help them achieve goals.
  • Easy implementation
  • Easy to use
  • Friendly UI
  • More Funcionalities
  • Integration with some other tools
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start for beginners
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of the price. It is not recommended for big organizations because it is lack of more features to make it more reliable
Read Gerardo David Denis Herrera's full review
Ammar Aldaffaie profile photo
August 07, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA, the best service ticket and agile system for your development and IT"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA service desk for issues reporting, IT ticket, software and permission changes request, etc...So for example, when a user needs something, they will open a ticket with their request and depending on the request type, we send the ticket to the queue so the team can work it. We also use it for our backlog grooming, for our agile work, and for development team stories build and tracking.
  • I love the fact that it is web-based so all you need is a browser
  • It is extremely flexible and customizable to fit anyone's needs
  • Very fast, and you can build reports and filter in seconds
  • The way you give user permission can be improved, maybe that needs to be broken down a little more
  • I love the filters, but I think the way they display can be improved
  • It is really hard to find issues, JIRA is amazing, but maybe the notification can be done little better. There is really nothing wrong with it but I still think there is a small room for improvement there
It is amazing for your development team if they use agile for their sprint and stories.
It is great for service tickets for your IT or any team that works tickets
It is not for sharing information or knowledge articles. It might work, but I do not recommend it
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
No photo available
November 21, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA Rules!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk to manage all of our IT tickets as well as our IT contracts. It does a great job of keeping everything in one place. We also chose to utilize this as our inventory tracking system and it is working well in that regard as well. It was a little tricky to set up but once you get it working how like it just works.
  • It does a great job of tracking our assets
  • Users are able to submit IT tickets easily
  • We manage all our IT related contracts in it
  • It is tricky to configure custom fields
  • Getting the workflows working right in the beginning was a little challenging
  • It is a little expensive
This works well in our mid-sized organization. It does a perfect job keeping track of all of our tickets and assets. I haven't had any issues with the software at all besides it needing an occasional restart.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA is a great ticket management system"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA every day to manage the requests that come from all parts of the e-com department. There are many teams within the e-com department so we categorize the requests by component. Requests are stored and tracked in JIRA by sprint and team. Everyone can see the status of their request, comment and see when it is scheduled for deployment.
  • The tracking of tickets by the component is incredibly useful. I can quickly see all the tickets that relate to my team's work and see the status, priority, who it is assigned to, etc.
  • The filtering and reporting are very nice as well. You are able to quickly create a board of any combination of information you would like to see and reference it at any time.
  • The tagging feature works very well too. You can tag a developer or analyst with a question or comment and they will immediately see this and be able to respond. It keeps issues from getting lost.
  • I wish there was a better view of the current sprint. There are views available for this, but they do not seem to be very customizable.
  • It would be nice if when I run into something that I don't have access to, I could send a request to our system administrator from within JIRA. Sometimes it is hard to communicate exactly what I need access to and sending the request from a specific screen in JIRA could simplify this.
  • I wish that clicking a link in a ticket would open in a new tab. I do not want a link to a document or website to replace the ticket tab that I currently have open.
When we do our sprint planning meetings, it is incredibly useful to see all tickets assigned to our team. We can very easily manage our backlog by priority or date created. You can get a very good overview of how the backlog is coming along based on these custom views we have created.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 13, 2018

Review: "Jira Service Desk - A product worth looking at"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used primarily by our Information Technology department. It is being used for task management, project management, and time management. Jira helps us to stay organized all in one place.
  • Task management - There are many options when creating a task that should fit a variety of use cases. It works well to keep everyone accountable.
  • BigPicture - Gantt has been useful for the breakdown of very large projects. We can track multiple phases and see where most of our time was spent.
  • Jira allows you to track hours worked on projects, this has been helpful to determine how long similar tasks/projects will take.
  • The number of options can be overwhelming for the average user. A simple task creation becomes surprisingly complex. Proper training is important.
  • My Task Dashboard could be displayed in a way that is more useful to myself. An interface with more information and displayed tasks all on one screen would be nice.
Jira is suited for large companies that are looking for a service desk solution that can aid in time management and task management. The number of options may be overwhelming for a smaller company or for a group looking for simple task creation and management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Service Desk makes help desk work easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Desk is used across the entire organization for all help desk tickets, including software issues, hardware and new hire employees. It replaced an older Microsoft version we used for our help desk which was dated and hard to use and administer. We are currently looking at new departments we can add to it as well.
  • Integrates very well with JIRA
  • Easy UI for customers to enter tickets
  • Easy for help desk team to administer
  • Queues are easy to manage and reporting is solid
  • More customization on the UI front (colors, background images, etc)
  • Use a little help on the customer dashboard for checking ticket status, hard to filter active vs. closed
  • Allow more customization on the response emails to customers
Perfect for tracking all your help desk tickets across the organization, including software, hardware, new hire employees, also works for change management functions for IT when things go into production environment. The approval feature for manages when employees submit a request is also very good. We are moving to allow Real Estate tickets to go as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 11, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Ideal tool for tracking requests if your team is already using JIRA for Sprint planning"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is being used by our IT team to receive, track and manage requests from our customers (students, staff, faculty)
  • Tracks requests from customers well
  • Easy to escalate requests and issues to incidents
  • Run reports on number and type of requests being received by the team
  • A better User interface
  • More intuitive admin console and panel
  • A more robust knowledge base similar to Zendesk's knowledge base
Appropriate for teams that are already using JIRA to manage their sprints and workload.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA- easy to use even for beginners"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used to track our day to day tickets and user stories to be accomplished for a particular sprint. Most of the projects in our organization use this and it helps to easily track our progress and when a particular thing has to be done.
  • Filters and dashboards really help a lot to easily get into the right ticket
  • This tool can be used easily and it's pretty simple but does a lot of things
  • Most of the times while calculating the pending hours or minutes it doesn't show the correct amount. Due to this, some tickets cannot be closed.
  • While loading the page it'll be slow sometimes.
Sending e-mail through the ticket really helps to communicate easily.
Read this authenticated review
Taylor Campbell profile photo
April 12, 2018

"Jira Service Desk Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk (JSD) is used by our organization to submit bugs and enhancements. It is being used by almost the whole organization. It helps us gather specific information from the users when they submit the requests and also guides the users so they know exactly what kind of information we will need when they submit the requests.
  • It guides the users submitting the requests in understanding what kind of information the one receiving the requests needs.
  • I think it is a pretty good user experience and is easy to use.
  • It is relatively easy to set up
  • It syncs with JIRA well
  • I think it is a little strange that JSD is a separate product than JIRA when they seem to be like they should just be one product
I think it is well suited for submitting bugs and enhancements.
Read Taylor Campbell's full review
Jestin Sebastian profile photo
January 22, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Easy to use for both end users and agents"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our intake team would not be able to survive without JIRA Service Desk. We direct all employees to the platform with any technical issue they have, and it keeps all of the requests organized and streamlined. We really like the collaboration functionality since we often have multiple people working on the same ticket, and being able to upload files and screenshots of the user experience makes working through the requisitions a million times more efficient.
  • It's very easy to use and learn
  • Very good integration with JIRA
  • Flexibility for different customer use cases
  • Avoiding the nightmare of shared email inboxes
  • The customer portal needs more branding and customization options
  • Hard to write one's own add-ons
  • The reporting could be better
  • Cost
Easy communication with the customer. Workflows to track the status of Issues. Automation tools are powerful
Read Jestin Sebastian's full review
Mark Hetherington profile photo
December 20, 2017

Review: "JIRA service desk connecting developers to issues"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization for tracking issues and planning tasks on development projects. It shows areas that need work and allows us to track progress on the projects and the issues within them to produce reports for management on the progress. It is easy to create dashboards to highlight the immediate needs of the project and filter out those issues that can wait until a later time.
  • Custom dashboards to show the most relevant information to users and teams at a glance
  • Good issue management and tracking showing how an issue has been process and progressed over time
  • Notification options so that issues are highlighted to individuals when not using the app to ensure that important ones are not missed.
  • The custom dashboard setup can get a little confusing when first using them, could do with a wizard to help things along
  • Default dashboards do not seem intuitive so maybe when adding a project there could be a template selection to direct the default dashboards to some that make sense
  • At first glance, the package looks a little overwhelming. Maybe a basic/advanced view would help make it seem more friendly for new users.
Well suited for teams working on large projects where you need to track issues and development and respond to problems that have arisen with end users. Overkill for very small projects or teams where you do not need such an extensive package to manage the issues and tasks on the projector within the team and would benefit from a more lightweight solution.
Read Mark Hetherington's full review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
April 12, 2018

User Review: "I really like Jira Service Desk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly used this product to manage all the task in charge of devs, support team, and IT in general.
  • Good integration with Hipchat
  • Ability to link other related tickets
  • Good tracking system
  • Configurable workflow
  • Not sure, it has been working good enough to cover our needs
JIRA is really good and we are so happy using it, even if you just wanna test it you can go for the basic version which is really cheap.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
No photo available
March 07, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "House of Organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is primarily used as our bug database for issues that are found while testing our software. It houses our 20+ projects and works great for housing our bug tickets in a very organized manor. JIRA is also used for tracking the development of the current sprint that the engineers are working on. JIRA has some great features and links to other software tools such as TestRail and Confluence.
  • Linking JIRA tickets to a test planning software life TestRail is great tool as you can link the JIRA ticket in TestRail and then see the results to the test in JIRA or have a quick link to open the ticket in a new browser from TestRail.
  • The organization that we are able to create with JIRA is invaluable between grouping tickets via build numbers or creating central location for information on a development sprint.
  • Using JIRA as a tool to create a task orientated ticket that has instructions and information that can be given to a third party contractor in order for them to run a detailed test plan on your software.
  • JIRA does have a tendency to make visual changes to the UI more often than is wanted or warranted. It does seem like just as you get used to one UI a new one is available.
  • When searching tickets for a specific type of issue it can be difficult to find what you are looking for unless you are very specific.
  • If used incorrectly the workflow life cycle of a regular JIRA bug ticket can have create road blocks that requires you to restart the life cycle and retread the steps in order to finalize and close out a bug after it has been fixed.
Organizing a software project with tickets ranging from Bugs to Tasks to Feedback, JIRA works very well to house a wide variety to tickets for different situations or scenarios. The ability to link JIRA tickets to other software tools is invaluable and beyond useful for seeing the progress or keeping track or work done in a separate software application. The ease of adding in attachments is great so that you can show what problem you found via a picture or video file.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Best Project Management Software with great integration"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a product manager, it helps me plan the next tasks the dev team will have to assess and work on. As a team, we have a better idea of the structure of each project (epic, story, sub-task). It also helps our QA guy a lot since he is more aware of what's ready for testing and what's not. He can associate bugs with some issues and then send it back to the dev team. We also have more visibility on what's ready to put in production. So as a whole, JIRA helps us organize our dev task workflow and makes us more efficient.
  • It is very much user-friendly, too easy for reporting an issue and updating its status, especially attaching the screenshot very easily.
  • JIRA Service Desk is the tool that allows all stakeholders to be more proactive to communicate transparently. It especially helps the development team to work on Agile/Scrum methodology perfectly.
  • The tool is pretty intuitive and it only takes a few attempts before you understand how the system works.
  • Customized reports are not really flexible, easy to learn and generate for quality metrics in particular.
  • It is more effective for small to medium-sized companies. It might not be suitable for a larger company with more than 5000-6000 users; it's only scaleable to a certain point.
  • The fields are not dynamics. Once we choose a field, only related values are shown instead of irrelevant values.
It solves the need to assign work to QA, report defects with screen-shots, assign to a dev and set a status according to our workflow. It solves the need for me to see what's on my plate currently and what might be coming my way. It solves the need to report on tickets by state and user.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 19, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Just say YES to Jira (Service Desk) you wont regret it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is used for all of our activities. Each activity is a task, therefore we can easily generate our timesheet using JIRA Time Sheet and with that give cost and time information to affected parties i.e. management, customers but also to every user himself.

That furthermore helps with project management and using special "IT-Help"-Projects to generate a self-service desk combined with Confluence as knowledge base.

JIRA Service Desk used in all departments.
  • Task Management and Task Overview
  • Ease of use and setup
  • Customize options
  • Costs (licensing)
  • What is missed can be purchased (sometimes for free) from the Atlassian Marketplace (not negative!)
  • It's highly recommended to link it with Confluence! (not negative!)
  • There are many options - from nearly 1-click-to-start to spending whole months on the setup and customization! (not negative!)
I've been using JIRA and JIRA Service Desk for the last 6 years thru various companies and I'd use it in any other as well. It can be easily customized to any company's needs. Its license costs are cheap. There is zero to no training required.

You can even use it just for one person's task and time-sheet. (I like to use it to keep track of applications when I decide to switch companies e.g.) there is no limitation, I've seen much between regular task/project-tracking, help-desk ticketing over sales/offer matching. If you can think about it, it's quite likely you can do it within the Atlassian universe.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 07, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA is a powerful, but sometimes complicated tool for project management"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk was used to try and bring together information from all our ongoing projects into one place. We kept track of issues and features in progress for our projects, and we used the Kanban boards to plan work for each of our sprints. It was only used by my team, with the hope that others in the organization would try it and decide to use it as well.
  • Brings project information together in one place
  • Powerful organization tool
  • Good for team collaboration
  • Difficult to get set up
  • Not the greatest interface design (at the time we used it)
JIRA Service Desk is good for someone looking for a tool to collect and track project issues and planned features. It works well with teams and is very configurable. It's not great for someone looking for a simple Kanban board or for those not willing to take the time to get it set up and customized appropriately.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Taylor profile photo
December 13, 2017

Review: "JIRA Service Desk - Great OOTB, Better after customizing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA Service Desk for our primary help desk ticketing and tracking system. We support a user base of about 200 and have 5 enrolled agents. We had previously been using JIRA's issue tracking as a quasi-ticketing system, but needed a more robust system for tracking SLA metrics, utilization, trends, incidents, as well as provide a single pane for our users to view and update their tickets simply and easily.
  • SLA tracking and reporting is really seamless and easy to generate. Our entire team can see where we need to improve and what's working well.
  • Because the backend of Service Desk is JIRA, we can also tie in Kanban boards from our JIRA Software, so we can more easily visualize where tickets are in their lifecycle and quickly triage and escalate.
  • I can easily build custom graphs and reports based on ticket types, categories, or other filterable fields which really help with presenting metrics upstream.
  • Integration with asset management systems is severely lacking out of the box. It frankly fails at being a component of a true CMDB unless you want to pay for third party plugins or write an API call into another application.
  • Smart tracking of emails is also lacking. If a user replies to a generated message it will open a new ticket with the title "Re: Original Ticket Name" which is a pain to manage. Other tools will use the ticket number in the subject line or some other "smarter" way of tracking.
  • Automation can be difficult to build. They're relatively straight forward, but you need to have a good understanding of your business processes in order to ensure that the appropriate fields are set. There's also a relatively limited number of automation tasks you can build into the system.
As a flexible ticket tracking system, Service Desk is a great choice. There are a lot of customizations, third-party add-ons, and API plugins that can enhance and tweak the system to fit your business needs. On the flip side, there is a lot of customization that is required out of the box to really fit the product to your needs. Integration with Confluence for knowledgebase or Tier 0 support is amazingly simple and straightforward. Atlassian integrates their products wonderfully and there are a lot of features that we're still discovering. If your team is not part of a software development company, or if your organization is new to the Agile mindset, then there can be a cultural learning curve, especially for some of the more customized features which are firmly rooted in the underlying JIRA Software.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
Craig Lockley profile photo
November 29, 2017

Review: "JIRA Service Desk - Internal Ticketing system of choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is currently being used for all IT related requests or issues via email which automatically creates a ticket for the IT department. Service Desk is very reliable at creating appropriate channels between end users and the IT department. It allows for automatic creation of IT or other department tickets via email and able to use simple or complex scripting to handle the different kinds of emails. JIRA also supports a large number of extensions through plugins.

Many of the problems it solves for our company is to allow the IT department to handle a large queue of requests at the same time. It can also allow for a more friendly and easy to use "customer" portal for end users to submit requests using a decision tree that can help categorize requests further; certain examples include requests for a new workstation or VPN setup or needing a password reset. The front end is reliable and has been effective at reducing the turn around time on solutions.
  • Extensions through plugins that help improve JIRA Service Desk make it competitive with other ticketing based systems like OTRS or FreshDesk. A specific plugin which I use is "Email This" and helps strip out unwanted images or signature files from tickets, creates the ability to email a ticket to other end users (as a means to provide full updates to the end user who may or may not want to login to find the solution put into place)
  • It works very well with JIRA Core and Confluence which allows for great integration with a knowledge base to work in tandem with Service Desk.
  • The built in workflows are very good, and often doesn't require changes through a standard ticket workflow.
  • JIRA does have some great functionality but it does lack in email communications to the customer when it comes to non-sensitive materials. Many of the outbound emails to customers within the ticket (as you can comment or log work which can be made available to the customer, or not) require the customer or end user to login in order to see the updates made. This could be dealt with by having a switch between sensitive and non-sensitive information that will include the updated information within the email rather than wait for the customer to log in to see the update. It can be a barrier, which is why we use "Email this issue" plugin.
  • A better filter for reducing junk email or automated emails that may be sent to the designated ticket email that auto-generates a ticket. The current controls require some knowledge of java scripting or other scripting languages to accomplish. Something more user-friendly would be appreciated.
  • Separation of incoming tickets to different departments or auto-assigning could be a lot more user-friendly.
If you're looking for a ticketing system that can work very well with other systems for business needs, JIRA's software suite is the best way to go. It can do a bit more than most other ticketing systems. It does what it has to do, and can be a huge improvement to the way issues and requests get completed.

The licensing can be expensive however there is much value when compared to other licensed ticketing systems.
Read Craig Lockley's full review
Susan Kerns profile photo
November 20, 2017

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA -- A Must Have Software Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department uses JIRA to manage website issues and web development projects. The entire organization can submit requests to my department via JIRA.
  • Allows users to fill out a form regarding their support request/issue that provides all the details a web developer needs to troubleshoot and resolve the request/issue.
  • Reporting is very good. JIRA provides standard canned reports and also provides the ability to customize reports. The most useful report for me summarizes all the projects and requests by developer where I can see all the details, especially resource load.
  • Provides project management functionality to prioritize and track deadlines easily.
  • I have not found a good way to track task dependencies.
  • Pricing is somewhat expensive.
  • I would like JIRA to tie in more easily with popular project management software.
JIRA does a great job tracking project tasks, request, and issues, especially for web development. It is less suited for full project management.
Read Susan Kerns's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (38)
8.8
Expert directory (2)
9.0
Service restoration (2)
9.5
Self-service tools (33)
8.1
Subscription-based notifications (1)
10
ITSM collaboration and documentation (29)
8.3
ITSM reports and dashboards (30)
8.2
Configuration mangement (1)
10
Asset management dashboard (1)
10
Policy and contract enforcement (1)
10
Change requests repository (33)
8.3
Change calendar (2)
6.5
Service-level management (34)
8.5

About Jira Service Desk

Jira Service Desk is service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Desk integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Does not have featureExpert directory
Does not have featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Does not have featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Does not have featureConfiguration mangement
Does not have featureAsset management dashboard
Does not have featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Does not have featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureCustom reporting
Has featureSelf-service Help Center
Has featureAutomation rules
Has featureITIL-certified
Has featureEmail support
Has featurePre-built workflows
Has featureSLA's
Has featureCSAT reporting
Has featureAsset management integration

Jira Service Desk Screenshots

Jira Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Small Teams$10per agent for up to 3 agents
Growing teams$20per agent per month for 4-15 agents
Large teamsDiscountper agent for 16+ agents

View the pricing calculator for 16+ agents here: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/service-desk/pricing/upcoming#pricing-calculator

Jira Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jira Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese