Jira Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
296 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Laura Goeb profile photo
October 24, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use JIRA in our Company. It helps us organize our e-mails (tickets) to ensure we are keeping track of and complete all of our projects. Employees are satisfied because they can keep track of the progress or status of their issue or concern. We can assign a certain issue to specific people.
  • Keeps everyone organized, each employee can keep track of their tickets.
  • Running reports to ensure that everyone doesn't miss the SLA.
  • Attaching files can be difficult, as it's hit and miss with employees.
  • External users cannot log in to choose a specific issue.
It is good for a larger company, as we have close to 2,000 employees. It is also good for someone who receives hundreds of emails daily, as it will help keep everyone on track. It is less appropriate for someone who works individually or prefers to work at their own pace.
Read Laura Goeb's full review
Phillip Holder profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used across the whole organization.
  • Project Requirements repository - agile/waterfall.
  • QA tracking during test case resolution.
  • Process improvement.
  • Keeps track of all activities related to the project in question.
  • Documentation of Requirements - serves as the go-to source for all requirements created as a result of the SDS (System Design Specifications) review and sign-off.
  • Process improvement - We used to revamp failing processes and centrally locate all BAU (business as usual) developments tickets through JIRA.
  • Bug tracking - Great source for defect tracking and resolution.
  • Historical repository - we use as a historical reference and document location for all projects.
  • Add-ons - Some things I think should be easier to find and possibly more documentation.
  • Traceability linkage - JIRA has a hierarchy - EPIC/Story/Bugs etc. - They should automatically be linked one to the other once users attach for example a bug to a story - I.E. Cannot close the story until the bug has been resolved.
  • Better linkage to MS office tools - I.E> MS Project/Excel - I find it tricky to drop excel file into JIRA.
  • Best for traceability for large company/projects.
  • Best for historical documentation of requirements.
  • Best for QA bug tracking.
  • Better integration with QA testing tools such as HLM/IBM Rational - used quite a bit in many organizations.

  • Not suited for small businesses as it may be overkill.
Read Phillip Holder's full review
Nekeisha Beaton profile photo
October 24, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Jira as a ticketing system. This is being used by the whole organization. It resolves issues with communication.
  • Notifies us of issues.
  • Seamless.
  • Organizes issues in the order received.
  • Jira has some freezing issues occasionally.
Jira is our service desk project and it allows us to communicate and our customers to communicate with us. This works really well. Jira allows us to communicate efficiently.
Read Nekeisha Beaton's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira as a production management tool for the development of learning products, such as e-learning modules. This tool allows us to design a production workflow for individual products that allow our teams to self-manage the work and communicate right on ticket relating to the product being developed. Additionally, we will have kanban boards showing which stage each product is in which allows developers to work on multiple products at once. By leveraging Jira in this way, we are able to manage a higher volume of development work at a faster pace.
  • Manageable workflow to ensure all users follow the same process.
  • Can ban boards for easy visual of ticket status.
  • Very flexible tool that can adapt to lots of different uses outside of the traditional service desk model.
  • Added communication tools help you get out of e-mail jail.
  • Navigating through issues outside of a kan ban board can be confusing and task heavy.
  • It's easy to clutter up the tool. It could use some easy clean up capabilities.
  • User interface is decent, but could use work to make it more intuitive.
It could work well as a service desk ticketing system. It is great at building out and managing a specific workflow. Using the workflow Jira can be used to manage any number of development type projects. This allows you to be strict on the steps being followed in development while turning over the management of that process to the developers. That allows for fewer hands-on project management and allows for more of an Agile approach where you focus on impediments and removing roadblocks. It's also a great tool for managers to be able to see everything that is going on without reading through hundreds of emails. Additionally, managers can quickly dive into issues and see the full history of what has gone on with a particular ticket.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used by our whole organization that spans multiple departments and teams. Tasks or issues that span multiple departments or teams are easily managed by JIRA since the people involved can view updates, make comments or upload files and everyone involved will receive a notification of the update. JIRA has helped us organize tasks into projects based on departments or teams which give the ability to search and locate task effortlessly. JIRA allows us to assign and reassign the tasks so we know who needs to address the task next.
  • Enables you to know who needs to work on the task by allowing you to reassign it to people.
  • Notifies you about updates that happen on a task.
  • You can build templates for certain task that occur often.
  • Allow you to estimate work time on a task and then input how much time the task really took and then evaluate the difference to get a better idea for future tasks.
  • Doesn't allow the ability to close multiple tickets at a time.
  • The way they name parts of the project (i.e. epic, story, sprint). Sometimes it can get confusing to how they work together. There is definitely a learning curve.
If you are managing a project and need a way to manage different teams and assignments. JIRA is great because you can set up the project in an "epic" which can have different "stories" to break up the project into different teams or assignments then you can add a task and organize them how best would fit each team.

Another great way to use it is for expense reports like for an on-call stipend. JIRA allows you to create a template and add your upstream managers and the amount and you then can submit it and as each manager approves it the ticket move to the next person. You can use JIRA to integrate into HR systems where when an employee is marked as disabled then it kicks off multiple JIRA tasks to various teams to complete some sort of operation to complete the disable.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA across our organization for ticket tracking. There are multiple teams who use it in addition to us. I have also used JIRA at past companies to track change management and overall projects. JIRA solves the problem of keeping track of work that needs to be done instead of trying to keep a checklist or email requests.
  • Linking of tickets - Keep related tickets tied together to review later.
  • Tracking of projects - In addition to linked tickets, they can also be associated with an overall larger project.
  • General service requests - Easy to use system for day-to-day work tasks.
  • Administration can be tedious.
  • "Overly" customizable which can lead to problems with too many issue types.
  • Pulling data into dashboards can be difficult due to how unforgiving the specified parameters can be.
JIRA is one of the best ticketing systems I have used. It's easy to navigate as a user and, if the administrator is diligent and careful, it can be fine-tuned to fit the companies specific needs. I do not think JIRA is good to be used for the tracking of change management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by several depths across the company. It is being used to handle requests, from either internal or from external places. It is needed to organize the incoming requests and workload. Each business unit uses it to fit their own workflow, and customized it to meet their needs. Since each unit has its own business process they each use the it slightly different, but the overall use is general the same.
  • It has all your requests/ tickets organized well.
  • its very easy to setup or change the workflow of each request.
  • it takes minimal training for users to learn how to use the program.
  • Dashboards can be easily created and updated when needed.
  • The ability to searches and see old requests is every easy.
  • The ability to easily modify the email notifications per user, a user can get a ton of notifications for a single request
  • They need to figure out a way when requests are opened by email that need to go to multiple departments
  • There needs to be an easier way to transfer and notify other departments when a request is being transferred over
  • A lot of of the backend setup for filters and dashboards take some time to learn how to do it properly
Jira Service Desk is well suited to a place to organize and see all the open requests and todo tasks. Each task can be transitioned to a customized workflow process. Each request can be flagged with components and labels. Each one can be linked to other cases that are either duplicates, related to or dependent on.For any workflow process that deals with cases that need to be follow up on and taken care of Jira Service Desk is well suited for it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a growth-stage startup and have been using Jira since the beginning of time. We first started using it for the engineering team's sake when we got to a point where we needed to plan, organize and figure out different epics and stories. We then expended Jira use to our product team.
  • Plenty of use cases within one organization.
  • Customizable.
  • Most engineers are familiar with it.
  • Tough to figure out and navigate for non-engineers.
  • Difficulty changing the language in certain fields.
  • Not intuitive.
I think if a company is very tech or engineering-focused or is trying to make sure they organize the engineering structure well, Jira would be a great solution and option. It has a backlog, epics, stories, different service levels - everything you need to originally start and get a system in place
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 12, 2019

JIRA Rules!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk to manage all of our IT tickets as well as our IT contracts. It does a great job of keeping everything in one place. We also chose to utilize this as our inventory tracking system and it is working well in that regard as well. It was a little tricky to set up but once you get it working how like it just works.
  • It does a great job of tracking our assets
  • Users are able to submit IT tickets easily
  • We manage all our IT related contracts in it
  • It is tricky to configure custom fields
  • Getting the workflows working right in the beginning was a little challenging
  • It is a little expensive
This works well in our mid-sized organization. It does a perfect job keeping track of all of our tickets and assets. I haven't had any issues with the software at all besides it needing an occasional restart.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 30, 2019

JIRA Service Desk

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We put Jira tasks as discussion items on the follow-up decisions and actions-up Issues, which are fielded up by the meeting members concerned and discussed in the meeting. Teams use Portfolio for Jira to effectively plan by creating reliable forecasts, staying informed with realistic schedules, and effectively troubleshooting and managing releases in an ever-changing environment.
  • Polished user experience
  • Unlimited Custom Fields
  • Bugs and defect Management
  • I spend most of my working day in the agile boards! So easy to use and endlessly configurable. I can't fault it
  • It provides all of the collaborative tools we need to manage our work and maintain documentation for future reference
  • Hard to setup
  • Too many features
  • Difficult to use
JIRA started out as being a bug tracking system. It has become a general purpose issue/task tracking solution. You can use it to track any task.
Read this authenticated review
Gary Smolyak profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk (JSD) is being used by our organization as our primary ticketing system. IT, HR and other centralized company departments use this software as a means to communicate between and users and the support staff. It solves the business problem of keeping track of a large multitude of requests and efficiently storing and keeping track of information that can be pulled up in seconds whenever the need arises. Its ability to be customized to our specific needs makes it a truly valuable tool for our organization.
  • Highly configurable Notification Scheme, allowing free customization on who receives notifications and when
  • Ability to add extra features through the highly diverse Atlassian Marketplace.
  • Simple and highly customizable ticket interface. The Software can be almost completely branded in every aspect to represent your organization.
  • Integration with JIRA Software allows support tickets to be moved into other Log Term projects as necessary.
  • Ability to control the number of email notifications received (Note: this is a new feature in the Latest release but I personally haven not extensively looked at it and how well it solves the existing problem).
  • No way to reply to multiple tickets at once, say you got 4 tickets in for the same issue, there is no way you can reply to them in one stroke. Other Ticketing systems do have this ability.
  • Using a large number of add-ons to customize and add additional features adds up quickly and can become rather expensive.
  • Request forms are very basic and there is no native dynamic field ability available.
JIRA Service Desk is an integral part of the entire Atlassian Suite that we use at our organization. Some of its strong suits include easing the communication between end users/customers and the support teams. The added feature of internal only communications allows agents, users who respond and work on requests, to add comments that only they can see. This is important for roping in others on a particular request without the end user seeing all of the unimportant communication. One of the areas that JSD is less suited for is communications between internal teams and customers at the same time. When the submitter of the ticket is already an agent and starts commenting with internal comments, they will not receive notifications when others reply also using internal comments. This can cause confusion and loss of time due to people not seeing notifications for comments in a timely manner.
Read Gary Smolyak's full review
Matthew Smith profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk as a corporate service desk. All issues within our company are submitted through the service desk portal and are then triaged to the specific groups that can help with the issue. We have set up multiple service desks for each specific group that are managed by the small teams in our department and that seems to work great.
  • Customizability.
  • Reporting.
  • Easy to use for users.
  • It's a little difficult in terms configuration- you should have someone dedicated to administration.
  • For as customizable as it is, there are some things you can't change. These small issues that don't really effect an individual ticket too much, but when you are dealing with dozens and dozens of tickets a day, small granular things add up.
  • A suggestion for improvement would be to allow a hotkey entry for quickly submitting a comment. You can do that for an internal comment (not seen by the user), but not for a public comment.
Honestly, I think it's great for all situations. You might have some issues if you're a small company that doesn't have someone to set up and manage it in its infancy; you might struggle to get it up and running. But in many other cases, it's suitable. I'd also recommend it if you're already using the Jira suite.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is being utilized by a segment of our company for helpdesk tickets and project boards. I am currently rebuilding a new platform from scratch to support the entire company, including Confluence. The goal is to have a central location for issues and requests rather than multiple points (instant messaging, email, Salesforce, and notepads). Tying it in with Confluence gives us the ability to allow employees to solve the issues themselves and hopefully cut down on submitted tickets.
  • When typing up a summary for an issue, the suggestions from Confluence are excellent!
  • Setting up ticket queues for agents is easy and can be filtered based on rules written in JQL (or using the basic rule picker). I am able to set up queues specifically for whatever rules I want -- for instance, critical tickets that are 30 minutes away from the "time to resolution."
  • Search and filter features are nice because you can build and save a filter, grant access to that filter to any users/groups you want, and even subscribe yourself or others to that filter to be notified via email on a schedule.
  • Some of the built-in functions and workflows are surprisingly limited given the fact that you can customize a lot with JQL. These limited areas do not allow you to use JQL. For instance, the built-in notifications are lacking. They have one that is great-- "notify on critical ticket creation"-- EXCEPT that it does not allow you to notify a group or anything, only individual users.
  • The ticket interface is a little odd for agents. Changing the status is not a simple drop down from unassigned to open to in progress to pending, etc. There are a couple of tabs ("investigate", "pending", "workflow") where you can change the status in different ways. Maybe I am just not used to this way of doing it, but I feel like it could be simplified.
  • It can get complicated deleting/changing some of the out-of-the-box fields and rules, because you never know what will break workflows or other automated/built-in features.
I really like the ticket submission system. It is very easy to use for an end-user (in my opinion), especially if it is designed well by IT. The ticket type has a list of fields (required/optional) you can display to the end-user when they are creating a ticket. This makes it much easier for them and, if you don't require all the fields to be filled out, they can just leave them blank.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We added Confluence to Jira Service Desk which made automated knowledge base suggestions so easy for our customers to look at, and use if they can, as well as reduced our ticket count dearly. They also helped in having a better utilization of the current knowledge base and help trigger making newer documents to enable self-service with the users. Since the user base grew, this was eventually replaced with Service Now.
  • Great use of knowledge base.
  • Interactive with the customers to create tickets and shows better suggestions with the existing KEBD.
  • Helped automate a lot of tasks which were similar or repetitive.
  • Would throw out errors a lot and needed support to come in and fix the infrastructure.
  • Knowledge base handling was poor at times and queries would get lost in translation.
  • User's complaints with Jira increased for having the ability to navigate a few times which became frustrating.
I would say a for a tech-savvy user base, this solution would work better with respect to how the interface is. An industry with a large and detailed knowledge base can really take advantage of Jira Service Desk's integration with KEBD.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2019

Jira As a Service Desk

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA Service Desk to collect our customers’ requests such as issues, problems, new features, and on-site work requests. We needed a software such as JIRA Service Desk to manage all these requests and provide timely and proper customer service.
  • Service Desk can be integrated with JIRA, which helps you to involve software development teams easily and trace the development progress.
  • Service Desk can be integrated with Confluence. Thus you can provide a good knowledge base to your customers.
  • Third party Plugins from the community provide absent features. Thus you don’t need to wait for Atlassian to implement long-awaited features.
  • JIRA Service Desk gives you the ability to use different workflows for different types of issues. You may create your own workflows.
  • It gives you the ability to create conditional actions.
  • Their customer portal is very clean. To open a new case or monitor open cases is simple. It would be great if more of it were like the portal. It would be great if we could share some reports.
  • Putting customers’ employees in a team is possible, but doesn’t fix some problems from a flexibility point of view. It needs some improvement.
  • Conditional notifications to third parties are limited.
  • Eg. We are an integrator company, and our projects require us to route some issues to our partner companies’ service desk systems automatically due to SLA agreements, which is not easily possible.
Historically, Service Desk was designed as an in-company Service Desk software as part of JIRA. At the beginning, it was awful to use it if you give service to your enterprise customers, due to the lack of features such as customer teams. For now, it is better. Still, its native design is for in-company individual customers. However, it's built-in integration with JIRA, Confluence, some other great products from Atlassian, and its capabilities to integrate with third-party apps makes it great.
Read this authenticated review
Brent Gostkowski profile photo
November 12, 2018

JIRA - the game changer!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used by multiple departments across my organization (Client Service, Financial Service, Tech Engineering, etc). Previously, my company was using a tool (designed in-house) to intake, prioritize, and track tickets submitted for development (maintenance, bugs, enhancements). The downside of this legacy technology was mainly reporting capabilities. We were unable to do a proper post-mortem in order to determine what areas of the overall process could be improved (if deadlines were not met).
  • allows multiple users to collaborate on the same project with ease.
  • offers multiple reporting options to track tickets.
  • automated emails relating to updates - users are always notified when they need to take action on a particular task.
  • Jira does not seem to like IE. It is much quicker on Chrome.
  • Can be overwhelming for a new user. Training resources are somewhat limited.
  • I wish there was a way to set rules behind automated emails. Example: only send emails when status or assignee has changed.

Jira is a great tool for organizations who already have a well-defined process for tickets/projects.

If your organization does not have multiple stakeholders who take part in tickets/projects this tool may not be the best fit.

It makes QA much easier since all communication between QA team and developers are in once place (with screenshots, short videos, etc).

Read Brent Gostkowski's full review
Sundeep Gopal profile photo
November 05, 2018

Jira it is if it is IT.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Jira Service Desk for receiving, tracking and responding to our online customers who might have queries. We keep a track on all queries, the effort needed to respond to the queries, and simultaneously we also forward queries that are a little more complex to the development and product teams. We also use Jira Service Desk in the marketing team to gain insights into the kind of queries received.
  • Issue Tracking is easily the most important feature of Jira Service Desk
  • Views and Dashboard can be customized
  • We can track the progress of other projects that are on the Jira Service Desk
  • UI can be improved
  • Though it is a very robust tool there are certain features which are not very useful
Jira Service Desk is a great tool for teams that are already using it. For example, IT teams can save a great bit of time and effort using it, but the real problem comes when a marketing team is involved because the functionality is so limited from a marketing standpoint. However, for the IT teams, it probably is one of the easiest tools to work with—great features and customizations.
Read Sundeep Gopal's full review
Melissa Kattke profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used for project management, tracking progress, questions and collaboration while using Agile methodology. It was also used to document procedures of how to do something in SharePoint, SP Designer and migrating data from company sandbox to customer platform. Jira was utilized to document meetings, ideas and scrum discussions.
  • It is compatible for Agile methodology where it lends a platform of sufficient communication, accountability of tasks and provided a space for a group email. This prevented replication of tasks that were already completed or decisions already made without having to pester the project lead on what was discussed if you missed a casual meeting or scrum.
  • Search results in Confluence does not work well if you begin with a spacename at the beginning. For example, if I were to list something as "abc def" and search under "def", results are not found.
  • Issue tracking can be cumbersome when colleagues overload or customize it.
  • Jira tends to force premature convergence of a process, then making it inconvenient to change it.
Suitable application for agile methodology. Good platform for issue tracking and documenting processes already discussed and or implemented. Even though the company I worked for paid for this subscription, I found out that it is more cost effective than legacy systems. The portal is intuitive to use in order to monitor progress of service tickets. Tickets can be displayed as "issue links" where developers can work on them before the ticket escalates.
Read Melissa Kattke's full review
Rounak Jangir profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA in our project to keep track of individuals' work, as well as to collaborate all the tasks and documents at one place. We use its Confluence integration feature to keep all the documents present in Confluence available to all. We simultaneously keep track of all tasks using JIRA. We track which tasks are completed, which are pending, and how much effort is required to complete them.
  • Documentation is reduced, because we do not need to maintain Excel sheets to keep track of all the tasks. The service desk allows us to do that with minimal documentation.
  • Taking an example of a defect that comes up during testing, this defect can also be raised here and its progress can be monitored by the developer, the tester, as well as all the participants involved. This makes it the single point where everything in the project is tracked.
  • All the updates in the task assigned to a person are received via mail and there is no need to check the portal again and again, which surely saves time.
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start. Because there are too many features. So there is a chance that if the UI were improved, this would be made a bit simpler. The user could understand better and more quickly, improving the efficiency of the tool.
  • Although the tool is really powerful right now, it could be made a bit more automatic. That is, it could help the user in some basic tasks like creating categories of tasks and automatically, adding some sub tasks, and logging some work which would be editable by user. But giving the user something to start with would save a lot of time.
  • Also there should be a weekly alert showing the hours logged into the portal, which can help the user track his work, how much he has logged in. So that one can log accordingly.
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of Confluence integration for projects with a lot of documentations.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Erica Marois profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses JIRA to raise tickets for our IT team and to submit talks/projects for our marketing and audience development teams. It started out as an easy way for us to get any development issues in the weekly and monthly IT sprints. Now, we also use it to collaborate on the creation of email newsletters, campaigns, etc. It's been great for tracking multi-user projects, sharing large files, etc.
  • Real-time collaboration
  • Customized views/dashboards
  • Deadline management
  • File sharing
  • Issue tracking
  • From my experience, JIRA is much better suited for IT/development than it is for marketers or project management teams. Some of the functionality is irrelevant for teams outside of IT, which can be off-putting for team members who aren't comfortable using new technology
  • The email notifications from JIRA can get a little busy/cluttered. For example, if someone replies to an email from JIRA, the comments appear in JIRA and include their email signature, along with any images from their email signature. Then, those images appear in the attachments for that particular job. This sometimes causes projects to get a little disorganized.
JIRA is the perfect solution for project/sprint management in an IT department. It's a great way to raise issues for IT and to get quick updates on their progress managing those bugs/issues. While it can also be used for marketing/content project management and job submissions, I do think there are better solutions for teams outside of IT. Basecamp and Trello are two good options for more basic project management.
Read Erica Marois's full review
Andrew Vawdrey profile photo
July 31, 2018

Great Service Desk

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira Service Desk is mainly being used by our Helpdesk team to receive, answer, filter, and escalate our internal requests from employees. The main users would be our Helpdesk team as they receive all tickets/requests and respond or pass them along to other teams within Jira, but you could say it is used by the whole organization because if anyone has an issue or request it is funneled through Jira Service desk.
  • Easy to track and keep a record of issues and requests
  • Great customized ticketing portal for users to submit their issues and requests
  • Gives ticket tracking to the submitter to follow if they like
  • Easy to move tickets over to other boards with Jira if needing to escalate issues to Development or other teams.
  • Sometimes the UI is a bit buggy
  • Sometimes it locks up users and won't let people submit tickets
Jira Service Desk is very well suited for any organization that also uses Jira Software for Development or other teams for their task tracking and all. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to take the ticket and move it to another board and assign it to someone to get worked on.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Gerardo David Denis Herrera profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used to keep track of the open requirements of our external clients. It is used for every user in the company. The main problem addressed is to respond to customer requirements within agreed SLA to keep our external customers happy and not to impact the daily operations and help them achieve goals.
  • Easy implementation
  • Easy to use
  • Friendly UI
  • More Funcionalities
  • Integration with some other tools
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start for beginners
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of the price. It is not recommended for big organizations because it is lack of more features to make it more reliable
Read Gerardo David Denis Herrera's full review
Ammar Aldaffaie profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA service desk for issues reporting, IT ticket, software and permission changes request, etc...So for example, when a user needs something, they will open a ticket with their request and depending on the request type, we send the ticket to the queue so the team can work it. We also use it for our backlog grooming, for our agile work, and for development team stories build and tracking.
  • I love the fact that it is web-based so all you need is a browser
  • It is extremely flexible and customizable to fit anyone's needs
  • Very fast, and you can build reports and filter in seconds
  • The way you give user permission can be improved, maybe that needs to be broken down a little more
  • I love the filters, but I think the way they display can be improved
  • It is really hard to find issues, JIRA is amazing, but maybe the notification can be done little better. There is really nothing wrong with it but I still think there is a small room for improvement there
It is amazing for your development team if they use agile for their sprint and stories.
It is great for service tickets for your IT or any team that works tickets
It is not for sharing information or knowledge articles. It might work, but I do not recommend it
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA every day to manage the requests that come from all parts of the e-com department. There are many teams within the e-com department so we categorize the requests by component. Requests are stored and tracked in JIRA by sprint and team. Everyone can see the status of their request, comment and see when it is scheduled for deployment.
  • The tracking of tickets by the component is incredibly useful. I can quickly see all the tickets that relate to my team's work and see the status, priority, who it is assigned to, etc.
  • The filtering and reporting are very nice as well. You are able to quickly create a board of any combination of information you would like to see and reference it at any time.
  • The tagging feature works very well too. You can tag a developer or analyst with a question or comment and they will immediately see this and be able to respond. It keeps issues from getting lost.
  • I wish there was a better view of the current sprint. There are views available for this, but they do not seem to be very customizable.
  • It would be nice if when I run into something that I don't have access to, I could send a request to our system administrator from within JIRA. Sometimes it is hard to communicate exactly what I need access to and sending the request from a specific screen in JIRA could simplify this.
  • I wish that clicking a link in a ticket would open in a new tab. I do not want a link to a document or website to replace the ticket tab that I currently have open.
When we do our sprint planning meetings, it is incredibly useful to see all tickets assigned to our team. We can very easily manage our backlog by priority or date created. You can get a very good overview of how the backlog is coming along based on these custom views we have created.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used primarily by our Information Technology department. It is being used for task management, project management, and time management. Jira helps us to stay organized all in one place.
  • Task management - There are many options when creating a task that should fit a variety of use cases. It works well to keep everyone accountable.
  • BigPicture - Gantt has been useful for the breakdown of very large projects. We can track multiple phases and see where most of our time was spent.
  • Jira allows you to track hours worked on projects, this has been helpful to determine how long similar tasks/projects will take.
  • The number of options can be overwhelming for the average user. A simple task creation becomes surprisingly complex. Proper training is important.
  • My Task Dashboard could be displayed in a way that is more useful to myself. An interface with more information and displayed tasks all on one screen would be nice.
Jira is suited for large companies that are looking for a service desk solution that can aid in time management and task management. The number of options may be overwhelming for a smaller company or for a group looking for simple task creation and management.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (52)
9.0
Expert directory (2)
9.0
Service restoration (2)
9.5
Self-service tools (46)
8.2
Subscription-based notifications (1)
10
ITSM collaboration and documentation (41)
7.9
ITSM reports and dashboards (43)
8.1
Configuration mangement (1)
10
Asset management dashboard (1)
10
Policy and contract enforcement (1)
10
Change requests repository (44)
8.0
Change calendar (2)
6.5
Service-level management (47)
8.3

About Jira Service Desk

Jira Service Desk is service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Desk integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Does not have featureExpert directory
Does not have featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Does not have featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Does not have featureConfiguration mangement
Does not have featureAsset management dashboard
Does not have featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Does not have featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureCustom reporting
Has featureSelf-service Help Center
Has featureAutomation rules
Has featureITIL-certified
Has featureEmail support
Has featurePre-built workflows
Has featureSLA's
Has featureCSAT reporting
Has featureAsset management integration

Jira Service Desk Screenshots

Jira Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Small Teams$10per agent for up to 3 agents
Growing teams$20per agent per month for 4-15 agents
Large teamsDiscountper agent for 16+ agents

View the pricing calculator for 16+ agents here: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/service-desk/pricing/upcoming#pricing-calculator

Jira Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jira Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese