TrustRadius
Jira Service desk is the ITIL / ITSM from software company Atlassian.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/9j/Zc/MIQF5E6L6RBI.PNGGreat, highly customizable and scalable ticketing systemJira Service Desk (JSD) is being used by our organization as our primary ticketing system. IT, HR and other centralized company departments use this software as a means to communicate between and users and the support staff. It solves the business problem of keeping track of a large multitude of requests and efficiently storing and keeping track of information that can be pulled up in seconds whenever the need arises. Its ability to be customized to our specific needs makes it a truly valuable tool for our organization.,Highly configurable Notification Scheme, allowing free customization on who receives notifications and when Ability to add extra features through the highly diverse Atlassian Marketplace. Simple and highly customizable ticket interface. The Software can be almost completely branded in every aspect to represent your organization. Integration with Jira Software allows support tickets to be moved into other Log Term projects as necessary.,Ability to control the number of email notifications received (Note: this is a new feature in the Latest release but I personally haven not extensively looked at it and how well it solves the existing problem). No way to reply to multiple tickets at once, say you got 4 tickets in for the same issue, there is no way you can reply to them in one stroke. Other Ticketing systems do have this ability. Using a large number of add-ons to customize and add additional features adds up quickly and can become rather expensive. Request forms are very basic and there is no native dynamic field ability available.,9,Saved our business lots of money by switching to JSD from Zendesk Allowed the company to integrate the Ticketing System with our Project management system. Tickets can flow freely between the 2 applications More teams, such as our facilities department have started using ticket tracking rather than conventional phone calls and pen and paper,Zendesk,JIRA Software, Slack, Skype for Business (formerly Lync)A Few Tweaks, Or Ability To Tweak, Would Make This Product Great To Work WithWe use Jira Service Desk as a corporate service desk. All issues within our company are submitted through the service desk portal and are then triaged to the specific groups that can help with the issue. We have set up multiple service desks for each specific group that are managed by the small teams in our department and that seems to work great.,Customizability. Reporting. Easy to use for users.,It's a little difficult in terms configuration- you should have someone dedicated to administration. For as customizable as it is, there are some things you can't change. These small issues that don't really effect an individual ticket too much, but when you are dealing with dozens and dozens of tickets a day, small granular things add up. A suggestion for improvement would be to allow a hotkey entry for quickly submitting a comment. You can do that for an internal comment (not seen by the user), but not for a public comment.,8,Great reporting. Ability to generate immediate feedback after a ticket is closed. Great ROI.,,Nasuni Cloud Storage, Veeam Backup & Replication, LogicMonitorJira Service Desk is a great option for a small/medium sized business for many reasons.Jira Service Desk is being utilized by a segment of our company for helpdesk tickets and project boards. I am currently rebuilding a new platform from scratch to support the entire company, including Confluence. The goal is to have a central location for issues and requests rather than multiple points (instant messaging, email, Salesforce, and notepads). Tying it in with Confluence gives us the ability to allow employees to solve the issues themselves and hopefully cut down on submitted tickets.,When typing up a summary for an issue, the suggestions from Confluence are excellent! Setting up ticket queues for agents is easy and can be filtered based on rules written in JQL (or using the basic rule picker). I am able to set up queues specifically for whatever rules I want -- for instance, critical tickets that are 30 minutes away from the "time to resolution." Search and filter features are nice because you can build and save a filter, grant access to that filter to any users/groups you want, and even subscribe yourself or others to that filter to be notified via email on a schedule.,Some of the built-in functions and workflows are surprisingly limited given the fact that you can customize a lot with JQL. These limited areas do not allow you to use JQL. For instance, the built-in notifications are lacking. They have one that is great-- "notify on critical ticket creation"-- EXCEPT that it does not allow you to notify a group or anything, only individual users. The ticket interface is a little odd for agents. Changing the status is not a simple drop down from unassigned to open to in progress to pending, etc. There are a couple of tabs ("investigate", "pending", "workflow") where you can change the status in different ways. Maybe I am just not used to this way of doing it, but I feel like it could be simplified. It can get complicated deleting/changing some of the out-of-the-box fields and rules, because you never know what will break workflows or other automated/built-in features.,8,It is definitely cheaper than Salesforce It allows the IT service desk to be more organized and respond more quickly to tickets, which can save time for both agent and requester. Some things are "not quite there" developmentally, so this means that internal IT will need to spend more time developing and testing the product.,Spiceworks,Atlassian Confluence, Slack, DialpadThere are a lot better options. Best with a lot of KEBD present already!We added Confluence to Jira Service Desk which made automated knowledge base suggestions so easy for our customers to look at, and use if they can, as well as reduced our ticket count dearly. They also helped in having a better utilization of the current knowledge base and help trigger making newer documents to enable self-service with the users. Since the user base grew, this was eventually replaced with Service Now.,Great use of knowledge base. Interactive with the customers to create tickets and shows better suggestions with the existing KEBD. Helped automate a lot of tasks which were similar or repetitive.,Would throw out errors a lot and needed support to come in and fix the infrastructure. Knowledge base handling was poor at times and queries would get lost in translation. User's complaints with Jira increased for having the ability to navigate a few times which became frustrating.,6,Did not find it inexpensive for sure, but if you already have invested in a vast KEBD Database Integration it can work wonders for you. Ticket count certainly decreased for L1 based tickets. Can be user-friendly only if the initial setup of how to utilize this software is done right by the professional services.,,BMC Remedy, Zendesk, Freshdesk, Cherwell Service Management, TOPdesk, Ivanti Service Manager (powered by Heat), Axios Assyst, Autotask, CA Service Desk ManagerJira As a Service DeskWe use Jira Service Desk to collect our customers’ requests such as issues, problems, new features, and on-site work requests. We needed a software such as Jira Service Desk to manage all these requests and provide timely and proper customer service.,Service Desk can be integrated with Jira, which helps you to involve software development teams easily and trace the development progress. Service Desk can be integrated with Confluence. Thus you can provide a good knowledge base to your customers. Third party Plugins from the community provide absent features. Thus you don’t need to wait for Atlassian to implement long-awaited features. Jira Service Desk gives you the ability to use different workflows for different types of issues. You may create your own workflows. It gives you the ability to create conditional actions.,Their customer portal is very clean. To open a new case or monitor open cases is simple. It would be great if more of it were like the portal. It would be great if we could share some reports. Putting customers’ employees in a team is possible, but doesn’t fix some problems from a flexibility point of view. It needs some improvement. Conditional notifications to third parties are limited. Eg. We are an integrator company, and our projects require us to route some issues to our partner companies’ service desk systems automatically due to SLA agreements, which is not easily possible.,9,This is not a real ROI, for our investment, both Atlassian’s professionalism and product quality brought us a plus from the customer side.,Zendesk,JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence
Windows, Linux, Mac
Jira Service Desk
260 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Jira Service Desk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Jira Service Desk
260 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 261 vetted Jira Service Desk reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Gary Smolyak profile photo
May 17, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review: "Great, highly customizable and scalable ticketing system"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk (JSD) is being used by our organization as our primary ticketing system. IT, HR and other centralized company departments use this software as a means to communicate between and users and the support staff. It solves the business problem of keeping track of a large multitude of requests and efficiently storing and keeping track of information that can be pulled up in seconds whenever the need arises. Its ability to be customized to our specific needs makes it a truly valuable tool for our organization.
  • Highly configurable Notification Scheme, allowing free customization on who receives notifications and when
  • Ability to add extra features through the highly diverse Atlassian Marketplace.
  • Simple and highly customizable ticket interface. The Software can be almost completely branded in every aspect to represent your organization.
  • Integration with JIRA Software allows support tickets to be moved into other Log Term projects as necessary.
  • Ability to control the number of email notifications received (Note: this is a new feature in the Latest release but I personally haven not extensively looked at it and how well it solves the existing problem).
  • No way to reply to multiple tickets at once, say you got 4 tickets in for the same issue, there is no way you can reply to them in one stroke. Other Ticketing systems do have this ability.
  • Using a large number of add-ons to customize and add additional features adds up quickly and can become rather expensive.
  • Request forms are very basic and there is no native dynamic field ability available.
JIRA Service Desk is an integral part of the entire Atlassian Suite that we use at our organization. Some of its strong suits include easing the communication between end users/customers and the support teams. The added feature of internal only communications allows agents, users who respond and work on requests, to add comments that only they can see. This is important for roping in others on a particular request without the end user seeing all of the unimportant communication. One of the areas that JSD is less suited for is communications between internal teams and customers at the same time. When the submitter of the ticket is already an agent and starts commenting with internal comments, they will not receive notifications when others reply also using internal comments. This can cause confusion and loss of time due to people not seeing notifications for comments in a timely manner.
Read Gary Smolyak's full review
Matthew Smith profile photo
January 29, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review: "A Few Tweaks, Or Ability To Tweak, Would Make This Product Great To Work With"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk as a corporate service desk. All issues within our company are submitted through the service desk portal and are then triaged to the specific groups that can help with the issue. We have set up multiple service desks for each specific group that are managed by the small teams in our department and that seems to work great.
  • Customizability.
  • Reporting.
  • Easy to use for users.
  • It's a little difficult in terms configuration- you should have someone dedicated to administration.
  • For as customizable as it is, there are some things you can't change. These small issues that don't really effect an individual ticket too much, but when you are dealing with dozens and dozens of tickets a day, small granular things add up.
  • A suggestion for improvement would be to allow a hotkey entry for quickly submitting a comment. You can do that for an internal comment (not seen by the user), but not for a public comment.
Honestly, I think it's great for all situations. You might have some issues if you're a small company that doesn't have someone to set up and manage it in its infancy; you might struggle to get it up and running. But in many other cases, it's suitable. I'd also recommend it if you're already using the Jira suite.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
No photo available
April 24, 2019

Review: "Jira Service Desk is a great option for a small/medium sized business for many reasons."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is being utilized by a segment of our company for helpdesk tickets and project boards. I am currently rebuilding a new platform from scratch to support the entire company, including Confluence. The goal is to have a central location for issues and requests rather than multiple points (instant messaging, email, Salesforce, and notepads). Tying it in with Confluence gives us the ability to allow employees to solve the issues themselves and hopefully cut down on submitted tickets.
  • When typing up a summary for an issue, the suggestions from Confluence are excellent!
  • Setting up ticket queues for agents is easy and can be filtered based on rules written in JQL (or using the basic rule picker). I am able to set up queues specifically for whatever rules I want -- for instance, critical tickets that are 30 minutes away from the "time to resolution."
  • Search and filter features are nice because you can build and save a filter, grant access to that filter to any users/groups you want, and even subscribe yourself or others to that filter to be notified via email on a schedule.
  • Some of the built-in functions and workflows are surprisingly limited given the fact that you can customize a lot with JQL. These limited areas do not allow you to use JQL. For instance, the built-in notifications are lacking. They have one that is great-- "notify on critical ticket creation"-- EXCEPT that it does not allow you to notify a group or anything, only individual users.
  • The ticket interface is a little odd for agents. Changing the status is not a simple drop down from unassigned to open to in progress to pending, etc. There are a couple of tabs ("investigate", "pending", "workflow") where you can change the status in different ways. Maybe I am just not used to this way of doing it, but I feel like it could be simplified.
  • It can get complicated deleting/changing some of the out-of-the-box fields and rules, because you never know what will break workflows or other automated/built-in features.
I really like the ticket submission system. It is very easy to use for an end-user (in my opinion), especially if it is designed well by IT. The ticket type has a list of fields (required/optional) you can display to the end-user when they are creating a ticket. This makes it much easier for them and, if you don't require all the fields to be filled out, they can just leave them blank.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 04, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review: "There are a lot better options. Best with a lot of KEBD present already!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We added Confluence to Jira Service Desk which made automated knowledge base suggestions so easy for our customers to look at, and use if they can, as well as reduced our ticket count dearly. They also helped in having a better utilization of the current knowledge base and help trigger making newer documents to enable self-service with the users. Since the user base grew, this was eventually replaced with Service Now.
  • Great use of knowledge base.
  • Interactive with the customers to create tickets and shows better suggestions with the existing KEBD.
  • Helped automate a lot of tasks which were similar or repetitive.
  • Would throw out errors a lot and needed support to come in and fix the infrastructure.
  • Knowledge base handling was poor at times and queries would get lost in translation.
  • User's complaints with Jira increased for having the ability to navigate a few times which became frustrating.
I would say a for a tech-savvy user base, this solution would work better with respect to how the interface is. An industry with a large and detailed knowledge base can really take advantage of Jira Service Desk's integration with KEBD.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review: "Jira As a Service Desk"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA Service Desk to collect our customers’ requests such as issues, problems, new features, and on-site work requests. We needed a software such as JIRA Service Desk to manage all these requests and provide timely and proper customer service.
  • Service Desk can be integrated with JIRA, which helps you to involve software development teams easily and trace the development progress.
  • Service Desk can be integrated with Confluence. Thus you can provide a good knowledge base to your customers.
  • Third party Plugins from the community provide absent features. Thus you don’t need to wait for Atlassian to implement long-awaited features.
  • JIRA Service Desk gives you the ability to use different workflows for different types of issues. You may create your own workflows.
  • It gives you the ability to create conditional actions.
  • Their customer portal is very clean. To open a new case or monitor open cases is simple. It would be great if more of it were like the portal. It would be great if we could share some reports.
  • Putting customers’ employees in a team is possible, but doesn’t fix some problems from a flexibility point of view. It needs some improvement.
  • Conditional notifications to third parties are limited.
  • Eg. We are an integrator company, and our projects require us to route some issues to our partner companies’ service desk systems automatically due to SLA agreements, which is not easily possible.
Historically, Service Desk was designed as an in-company Service Desk software as part of JIRA. At the beginning, it was awful to use it if you give service to your enterprise customers, due to the lack of features such as customer teams. For now, it is better. Still, its native design is for in-company individual customers. However, it's built-in integration with JIRA, Confluence, some other great products from Atlassian, and its capabilities to integrate with third-party apps makes it great.
Read this authenticated review
Brent Gostkowski profile photo
November 12, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA - the game changer!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used by multiple departments across my organization (Client Service, Financial Service, Tech Engineering, etc). Previously, my company was using a tool (designed in-house) to intake, prioritize, and track tickets submitted for development (maintenance, bugs, enhancements). The downside of this legacy technology was mainly reporting capabilities. We were unable to do a proper post-mortem in order to determine what areas of the overall process could be improved (if deadlines were not met).
  • allows multiple users to collaborate on the same project with ease.
  • offers multiple reporting options to track tickets.
  • automated emails relating to updates - users are always notified when they need to take action on a particular task.
  • Jira does not seem to like IE. It is much quicker on Chrome.
  • Can be overwhelming for a new user. Training resources are somewhat limited.
  • I wish there was a way to set rules behind automated emails. Example: only send emails when status or assignee has changed.

Jira is a great tool for organizations who already have a well-defined process for tickets/projects.

If your organization does not have multiple stakeholders who take part in tickets/projects this tool may not be the best fit.

It makes QA much easier since all communication between QA team and developers are in once place (with screenshots, short videos, etc).

Read Brent Gostkowski's full review
Sundeep Gopal profile photo
November 05, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Jira it is if it is IT."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use Jira Service Desk for receiving, tracking and responding to our online customers who might have queries. We keep a track on all queries, the effort needed to respond to the queries, and simultaneously we also forward queries that are a little more complex to the development and product teams. We also use Jira Service Desk in the marketing team to gain insights into the kind of queries received.
  • Issue Tracking is easily the most important feature of Jira Service Desk
  • Views and Dashboard can be customized
  • We can track the progress of other projects that are on the Jira Service Desk
  • UI can be improved
  • Though it is a very robust tool there are certain features which are not very useful
Jira Service Desk is a great tool for teams that are already using it. For example, IT teams can save a great bit of time and effort using it, but the real problem comes when a marketing team is involved because the functionality is so limited from a marketing standpoint. However, for the IT teams, it probably is one of the easiest tools to work with—great features and customizations.
Read Sundeep Gopal's full review
Melissa Kattke profile photo
September 17, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "SharePoint admin enjoyed using Jira"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was being used for project management, tracking progress, questions and collaboration while using Agile methodology. It was also used to document procedures of how to do something in SharePoint, SP Designer and migrating data from company sandbox to customer platform. Jira was utilized to document meetings, ideas and scrum discussions.
  • It is compatible for Agile methodology where it lends a platform of sufficient communication, accountability of tasks and provided a space for a group email. This prevented replication of tasks that were already completed or decisions already made without having to pester the project lead on what was discussed if you missed a casual meeting or scrum.
  • Search results in Confluence does not work well if you begin with a spacename at the beginning. For example, if I were to list something as "abc def" and search under "def", results are not found.
  • Issue tracking can be cumbersome when colleagues overload or customize it.
  • Jira tends to force premature convergence of a process, then making it inconvenient to change it.
Suitable application for agile methodology. Good platform for issue tracking and documenting processes already discussed and or implemented. Even though the company I worked for paid for this subscription, I found out that it is more cost effective than legacy systems. The portal is intuitive to use in order to monitor progress of service tickets. Tickets can be displayed as "issue links" where developers can work on them before the ticket escalates.
Read Melissa Kattke's full review
Rounak Jangir profile photo
August 17, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA for your Project... Good or Bad?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA in our project to keep track of individuals' work, as well as to collaborate all the tasks and documents at one place. We use its Confluence integration feature to keep all the documents present in Confluence available to all. We simultaneously keep track of all tasks using JIRA. We track which tasks are completed, which are pending, and how much effort is required to complete them.
  • Documentation is reduced, because we do not need to maintain Excel sheets to keep track of all the tasks. The service desk allows us to do that with minimal documentation.
  • Taking an example of a defect that comes up during testing, this defect can also be raised here and its progress can be monitored by the developer, the tester, as well as all the participants involved. This makes it the single point where everything in the project is tracked.
  • All the updates in the task assigned to a person are received via mail and there is no need to check the portal again and again, which surely saves time.
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start. Because there are too many features. So there is a chance that if the UI were improved, this would be made a bit simpler. The user could understand better and more quickly, improving the efficiency of the tool.
  • Although the tool is really powerful right now, it could be made a bit more automatic. That is, it could help the user in some basic tasks like creating categories of tasks and automatically, adding some sub tasks, and logging some work which would be editable by user. But giving the user something to start with would save a lot of time.
  • Also there should be a weekly alert showing the hours logged into the portal, which can help the user track his work, how much he has logged in. So that one can log accordingly.
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of Confluence integration for projects with a lot of documentations.
Read Rounak Jangir's full review
Erica Marois profile photo
August 02, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Efficient & Effective Tool for IT Service Management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team uses JIRA to raise tickets for our IT team and to submit talks/projects for our marketing and audience development teams. It started out as an easy way for us to get any development issues in the weekly and monthly IT sprints. Now, we also use it to collaborate on the creation of email newsletters, campaigns, etc. It's been great for tracking multi-user projects, sharing large files, etc.
  • Real-time collaboration
  • Customized views/dashboards
  • Deadline management
  • File sharing
  • Issue tracking
  • From my experience, JIRA is much better suited for IT/development than it is for marketers or project management teams. Some of the functionality is irrelevant for teams outside of IT, which can be off-putting for team members who aren't comfortable using new technology
  • The email notifications from JIRA can get a little busy/cluttered. For example, if someone replies to an email from JIRA, the comments appear in JIRA and include their email signature, along with any images from their email signature. Then, those images appear in the attachments for that particular job. This sometimes causes projects to get a little disorganized.
JIRA is the perfect solution for project/sprint management in an IT department. It's a great way to raise issues for IT and to get quick updates on their progress managing those bugs/issues. While it can also be used for marketing/content project management and job submissions, I do think there are better solutions for teams outside of IT. Basecamp and Trello are two good options for more basic project management.
Read Erica Marois's full review
Andrew Vawdrey profile photo
July 31, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Great Service Desk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira Service Desk is mainly being used by our Helpdesk team to receive, answer, filter, and escalate our internal requests from employees. The main users would be our Helpdesk team as they receive all tickets/requests and respond or pass them along to other teams within Jira, but you could say it is used by the whole organization because if anyone has an issue or request it is funneled through Jira Service desk.
  • Easy to track and keep a record of issues and requests
  • Great customized ticketing portal for users to submit their issues and requests
  • Gives ticket tracking to the submitter to follow if they like
  • Easy to move tickets over to other boards with Jira if needing to escalate issues to Development or other teams.
  • Sometimes the UI is a bit buggy
  • Sometimes it locks up users and won't let people submit tickets
Jira Service Desk is very well suited for any organization that also uses Jira Software for Development or other teams for their task tracking and all. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to take the ticket and move it to another board and assign it to someone to get worked on.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Gerardo David Denis Herrera profile photo
September 14, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Smart solution for a good price"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used to keep track of the open requirements of our external clients. It is used for every user in the company. The main problem addressed is to respond to customer requirements within agreed SLA to keep our external customers happy and not to impact the daily operations and help them achieve goals.
  • Easy implementation
  • Easy to use
  • Friendly UI
  • More Funcionalities
  • Integration with some other tools
  • The portal can be a bit difficult to understand at the start for beginners
It is appropriate for projects where there are many tasks involved that are distributed among people, this can help make the tracking of tasks easy. It is also good because of the price. It is not recommended for big organizations because it is lack of more features to make it more reliable
Read Gerardo David Denis Herrera's full review
Ammar Aldaffaie profile photo
August 07, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA, the best service ticket and agile system for your development and IT"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA service desk for issues reporting, IT ticket, software and permission changes request, etc...So for example, when a user needs something, they will open a ticket with their request and depending on the request type, we send the ticket to the queue so the team can work it. We also use it for our backlog grooming, for our agile work, and for development team stories build and tracking.
  • I love the fact that it is web-based so all you need is a browser
  • It is extremely flexible and customizable to fit anyone's needs
  • Very fast, and you can build reports and filter in seconds
  • The way you give user permission can be improved, maybe that needs to be broken down a little more
  • I love the filters, but I think the way they display can be improved
  • It is really hard to find issues, JIRA is amazing, but maybe the notification can be done little better. There is really nothing wrong with it but I still think there is a small room for improvement there
It is amazing for your development team if they use agile for their sprint and stories.
It is great for service tickets for your IT or any team that works tickets
It is not for sharing information or knowledge articles. It might work, but I do not recommend it
Read Ammar Aldaffaie's full review
No photo available
November 21, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA Rules!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira Service Desk to manage all of our IT tickets as well as our IT contracts. It does a great job of keeping everything in one place. We also chose to utilize this as our inventory tracking system and it is working well in that regard as well. It was a little tricky to set up but once you get it working how like it just works.
  • It does a great job of tracking our assets
  • Users are able to submit IT tickets easily
  • We manage all our IT related contracts in it
  • It is tricky to configure custom fields
  • Getting the workflows working right in the beginning was a little challenging
  • It is a little expensive
This works well in our mid-sized organization. It does a perfect job keeping track of all of our tickets and assets. I haven't had any issues with the software at all besides it needing an occasional restart.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA is a great ticket management system"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA every day to manage the requests that come from all parts of the e-com department. There are many teams within the e-com department so we categorize the requests by component. Requests are stored and tracked in JIRA by sprint and team. Everyone can see the status of their request, comment and see when it is scheduled for deployment.
  • The tracking of tickets by the component is incredibly useful. I can quickly see all the tickets that relate to my team's work and see the status, priority, who it is assigned to, etc.
  • The filtering and reporting are very nice as well. You are able to quickly create a board of any combination of information you would like to see and reference it at any time.
  • The tagging feature works very well too. You can tag a developer or analyst with a question or comment and they will immediately see this and be able to respond. It keeps issues from getting lost.
  • I wish there was a better view of the current sprint. There are views available for this, but they do not seem to be very customizable.
  • It would be nice if when I run into something that I don't have access to, I could send a request to our system administrator from within JIRA. Sometimes it is hard to communicate exactly what I need access to and sending the request from a specific screen in JIRA could simplify this.
  • I wish that clicking a link in a ticket would open in a new tab. I do not want a link to a document or website to replace the ticket tab that I currently have open.
When we do our sprint planning meetings, it is incredibly useful to see all tickets assigned to our team. We can very easily manage our backlog by priority or date created. You can get a very good overview of how the backlog is coming along based on these custom views we have created.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 13, 2018

Review: "Jira Service Desk - A product worth looking at"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is being used primarily by our Information Technology department. It is being used for task management, project management, and time management. Jira helps us to stay organized all in one place.
  • Task management - There are many options when creating a task that should fit a variety of use cases. It works well to keep everyone accountable.
  • BigPicture - Gantt has been useful for the breakdown of very large projects. We can track multiple phases and see where most of our time was spent.
  • Jira allows you to track hours worked on projects, this has been helpful to determine how long similar tasks/projects will take.
  • The number of options can be overwhelming for the average user. A simple task creation becomes surprisingly complex. Proper training is important.
  • My Task Dashboard could be displayed in a way that is more useful to myself. An interface with more information and displayed tasks all on one screen would be nice.
Jira is suited for large companies that are looking for a service desk solution that can aid in time management and task management. The number of options may be overwhelming for a smaller company or for a group looking for simple task creation and management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Service Desk makes help desk work easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Service Desk is used across the entire organization for all help desk tickets, including software issues, hardware and new hire employees. It replaced an older Microsoft version we used for our help desk which was dated and hard to use and administer. We are currently looking at new departments we can add to it as well.
  • Integrates very well with JIRA
  • Easy UI for customers to enter tickets
  • Easy for help desk team to administer
  • Queues are easy to manage and reporting is solid
  • More customization on the UI front (colors, background images, etc)
  • Use a little help on the customer dashboard for checking ticket status, hard to filter active vs. closed
  • Allow more customization on the response emails to customers
Perfect for tracking all your help desk tickets across the organization, including software, hardware, new hire employees, also works for change management functions for IT when things go into production environment. The approval feature for manages when employees submit a request is also very good. We are moving to allow Real Estate tickets to go as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 11, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Ideal tool for tracking requests if your team is already using JIRA for Sprint planning"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is being used by our IT team to receive, track and manage requests from our customers (students, staff, faculty)
  • Tracks requests from customers well
  • Easy to escalate requests and issues to incidents
  • Run reports on number and type of requests being received by the team
  • A better User interface
  • More intuitive admin console and panel
  • A more robust knowledge base similar to Zendesk's knowledge base
Appropriate for teams that are already using JIRA to manage their sprints and workload.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 08, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "JIRA- easy to use even for beginners"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used to track our day to day tickets and user stories to be accomplished for a particular sprint. Most of the projects in our organization use this and it helps to easily track our progress and when a particular thing has to be done.
  • Filters and dashboards really help a lot to easily get into the right ticket
  • This tool can be used easily and it's pretty simple but does a lot of things
  • Most of the times while calculating the pending hours or minutes it doesn't show the correct amount. Due to this, some tickets cannot be closed.
  • While loading the page it'll be slow sometimes.
Sending e-mail through the ticket really helps to communicate easily.
Read this authenticated review
Taylor Campbell profile photo
April 12, 2018

"Jira Service Desk Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk (JSD) is used by our organization to submit bugs and enhancements. It is being used by almost the whole organization. It helps us gather specific information from the users when they submit the requests and also guides the users so they know exactly what kind of information we will need when they submit the requests.
  • It guides the users submitting the requests in understanding what kind of information the one receiving the requests needs.
  • I think it is a pretty good user experience and is easy to use.
  • It is relatively easy to set up
  • It syncs with JIRA well
  • I think it is a little strange that JSD is a separate product than JIRA when they seem to be like they should just be one product
I think it is well suited for submitting bugs and enhancements.
Read Taylor Campbell's full review
Brian Taylor profile photo
December 13, 2017

Review: "JIRA Service Desk - Great OOTB, Better after customizing"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA Service Desk for our primary help desk ticketing and tracking system. We support a user base of about 200 and have 5 enrolled agents. We had previously been using JIRA's issue tracking as a quasi-ticketing system, but needed a more robust system for tracking SLA metrics, utilization, trends, incidents, as well as provide a single pane for our users to view and update their tickets simply and easily.
  • SLA tracking and reporting is really seamless and easy to generate. Our entire team can see where we need to improve and what's working well.
  • Because the backend of Service Desk is JIRA, we can also tie in Kanban boards from our JIRA Software, so we can more easily visualize where tickets are in their lifecycle and quickly triage and escalate.
  • I can easily build custom graphs and reports based on ticket types, categories, or other filterable fields which really help with presenting metrics upstream.
  • Integration with asset management systems is severely lacking out of the box. It frankly fails at being a component of a true CMDB unless you want to pay for third party plugins or write an API call into another application.
  • Smart tracking of emails is also lacking. If a user replies to a generated message it will open a new ticket with the title "Re: Original Ticket Name" which is a pain to manage. Other tools will use the ticket number in the subject line or some other "smarter" way of tracking.
  • Automation can be difficult to build. They're relatively straight forward, but you need to have a good understanding of your business processes in order to ensure that the appropriate fields are set. There's also a relatively limited number of automation tasks you can build into the system.
As a flexible ticket tracking system, Service Desk is a great choice. There are a lot of customizations, third-party add-ons, and API plugins that can enhance and tweak the system to fit your business needs. On the flip side, there is a lot of customization that is required out of the box to really fit the product to your needs. Integration with Confluence for knowledgebase or Tier 0 support is amazingly simple and straightforward. Atlassian integrates their products wonderfully and there are a lot of features that we're still discovering. If your team is not part of a software development company, or if your organization is new to the Agile mindset, then there can be a cultural learning curve, especially for some of the more customized features which are firmly rooted in the underlying JIRA Software.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
Jestin Sebastian profile photo
January 22, 2018

Jira Service Desk Review: "Easy to use for both end users and agents"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our intake team would not be able to survive without JIRA Service Desk. We direct all employees to the platform with any technical issue they have, and it keeps all of the requests organized and streamlined. We really like the collaboration functionality since we often have multiple people working on the same ticket, and being able to upload files and screenshots of the user experience makes working through the requisitions a million times more efficient.
  • It's very easy to use and learn
  • Very good integration with JIRA
  • Flexibility for different customer use cases
  • Avoiding the nightmare of shared email inboxes
  • The customer portal needs more branding and customization options
  • Hard to write one's own add-ons
  • The reporting could be better
  • Cost
Easy communication with the customer. Workflows to track the status of Issues. Automation tools are powerful
Read Jestin Sebastian's full review
Mark Hetherington profile photo
December 20, 2017

Review: "JIRA service desk connecting developers to issues"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization for tracking issues and planning tasks on development projects. It shows areas that need work and allows us to track progress on the projects and the issues within them to produce reports for management on the progress. It is easy to create dashboards to highlight the immediate needs of the project and filter out those issues that can wait until a later time.
  • Custom dashboards to show the most relevant information to users and teams at a glance
  • Good issue management and tracking showing how an issue has been process and progressed over time
  • Notification options so that issues are highlighted to individuals when not using the app to ensure that important ones are not missed.
  • The custom dashboard setup can get a little confusing when first using them, could do with a wizard to help things along
  • Default dashboards do not seem intuitive so maybe when adding a project there could be a template selection to direct the default dashboards to some that make sense
  • At first glance, the package looks a little overwhelming. Maybe a basic/advanced view would help make it seem more friendly for new users.
Well suited for teams working on large projects where you need to track issues and development and respond to problems that have arisen with end users. Overkill for very small projects or teams where you do not need such an extensive package to manage the issues and tasks on the projector within the team and would benefit from a more lightweight solution.
Read Mark Hetherington's full review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
April 12, 2018

User Review: "I really like Jira Service Desk"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly used this product to manage all the task in charge of devs, support team, and IT in general.
  • Good integration with Hipchat
  • Ability to link other related tickets
  • Good tracking system
  • Configurable workflow
  • Not sure, it has been working good enough to cover our needs
JIRA is really good and we are so happy using it, even if you just wanna test it you can go for the basic version which is really cheap.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Craig Lockley profile photo
November 29, 2017

Review: "JIRA Service Desk - Internal Ticketing system of choice"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Service Desk is currently being used for all IT related requests or issues via email which automatically creates a ticket for the IT department. Service Desk is very reliable at creating appropriate channels between end users and the IT department. It allows for automatic creation of IT or other department tickets via email and able to use simple or complex scripting to handle the different kinds of emails. JIRA also supports a large number of extensions through plugins.

Many of the problems it solves for our company is to allow the IT department to handle a large queue of requests at the same time. It can also allow for a more friendly and easy to use "customer" portal for end users to submit requests using a decision tree that can help categorize requests further; certain examples include requests for a new workstation or VPN setup or needing a password reset. The front end is reliable and has been effective at reducing the turn around time on solutions.
  • Extensions through plugins that help improve JIRA Service Desk make it competitive with other ticketing based systems like OTRS or FreshDesk. A specific plugin which I use is "Email This" and helps strip out unwanted images or signature files from tickets, creates the ability to email a ticket to other end users (as a means to provide full updates to the end user who may or may not want to login to find the solution put into place)
  • It works very well with JIRA Core and Confluence which allows for great integration with a knowledge base to work in tandem with Service Desk.
  • The built in workflows are very good, and often doesn't require changes through a standard ticket workflow.
  • JIRA does have some great functionality but it does lack in email communications to the customer when it comes to non-sensitive materials. Many of the outbound emails to customers within the ticket (as you can comment or log work which can be made available to the customer, or not) require the customer or end user to login in order to see the updates made. This could be dealt with by having a switch between sensitive and non-sensitive information that will include the updated information within the email rather than wait for the customer to log in to see the update. It can be a barrier, which is why we use "Email this issue" plugin.
  • A better filter for reducing junk email or automated emails that may be sent to the designated ticket email that auto-generates a ticket. The current controls require some knowledge of java scripting or other scripting languages to accomplish. Something more user-friendly would be appreciated.
  • Separation of incoming tickets to different departments or auto-assigning could be a lot more user-friendly.
If you're looking for a ticketing system that can work very well with other systems for business needs, JIRA's software suite is the best way to go. It can do a bit more than most other ticketing systems. It does what it has to do, and can be a huge improvement to the way issues and requests get completed.

The licensing can be expensive however there is much value when compared to other licensed ticketing systems.
Read Craig Lockley's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (43)
8.7
Expert directory (2)
9.0
Service restoration (2)
9.5
Self-service tools (38)
8.1
Subscription-based notifications (1)
10
ITSM collaboration and documentation (34)
8.0
ITSM reports and dashboards (35)
8.0
Configuration mangement (1)
10
Asset management dashboard (1)
10
Policy and contract enforcement (1)
10
Change requests repository (36)
8.2
Change calendar (2)
6.5
Service-level management (39)
8.4

About Jira Service Desk

Jira Service Desk is service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Desk integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Desk Features

Incident and problem management Features
Has featureOrganize and prioritize service tickets
Does not have featureExpert directory
Does not have featureService restoration
Has featureSelf-service tools
Does not have featureSubscription-based notifications
Has featureITSM collaboration and documentation
Has featureITSM reports and dashboards
ITSM asset management Features
Does not have featureConfiguration mangement
Does not have featureAsset management dashboard
Does not have featurePolicy and contract enforcement
Change management Features
Has featureChange requests repository
Does not have featureChange calendar
Has featureService-level management
Additional Features
Has featureCustom reporting
Has featureSelf-service Help Center
Has featureAutomation rules
Has featureITIL-certified
Has featureEmail support
Has featurePre-built workflows
Has featureSLA's
Has featureCSAT reporting
Has featureAsset management integration

Jira Service Desk Screenshots

Jira Service Desk Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Small Teams$10per agent for up to 3 agents
Growing teams$20per agent per month for 4-15 agents
Large teamsDiscountper agent for 16+ agents

View the pricing calculator for 16+ agents here: https://www.atlassian.com/software/jira/service-desk/pricing/upcoming#pricing-calculator

Jira Service Desk Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Jira Service Desk Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese