Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Jira Service Management

Jira Service Management
Formerly Jira Service Desk

Overview

What is Jira Service Management?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Jira Service Desk is a versatile ticketing system that has become the primary solution for managing requests and communication within our …
Continue reading

Beware JIRA ITSM pricing increase.

1 out of 10
December 13, 2023
We were using for helpdesk and some other use cases. It is ok but not great. The pricing listed above is outdated - and we will exit JIRA …
Continue reading

IT Issues Goodbye!

10 out of 10
July 16, 2021
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is leveraged by my company for IT ticketing purposes. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to submit a ticket to IT and …
Continue reading

Jira

6 out of 10
March 16, 2020
We use Jira to track incidents and service desk tickets. We also use it for an inventory database.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 13 features
  • Organize and prioritize service tickets (76)
    7.5
    75%
  • Service-level management (69)
    7.5
    75%
  • Change requests repository (65)
    7.5
    75%
  • Self-service tools (70)
    7.0
    70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Standard

$20

Cloud
per agent/per month

Premium

$40

Cloud
per agent/per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.atlassian.com/software/jira…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Incident and problem management

Streamlining ticketing and service restoration processes

8.2
Avg 8.2

ITSM asset management

Managing all IT assets and enforcing policy rules

10
Avg 8.2

Change management

Ensuring standardized processes for making changes to IT infrastructure

7.2
Avg 8.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Jira Service Management?

Jira Service Management (formerly Jira Service Desk, now including features from the former Mindville Insight, acquired by Atlassian in June 2020) is a service desk software that is purpose-built for IT, service, and support teams. The software provides everything IT and support teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem and change management. Jira Service Management integrates seamlessly with Jira Software so that IT and development teams can work better together. Users can connect service desk tickets to Jira Software issues and get to the root cause of problems before they escalate.

Jira Service Management Features

Incident and problem management Features

  • Supported: Organize and prioritize service tickets
  • Supported: Self-service tools
  • Supported: ITSM collaboration and documentation
  • Supported: ITSM reports and dashboards

Change management Features

  • Supported: Change requests repository
  • Supported: Service-level management

Additional Features

  • Supported: Custom reporting
  • Supported: Self-service Help Center
  • Supported: Automation rules
  • Supported: ITIL-certified
  • Supported: Email support
  • Supported: Pre-built workflows
  • Supported: SLA's
  • Supported: CSAT reporting
  • Supported: Asset management integration

Jira Service Management Screenshots

Screenshot of Drive IT best practices with ITIL-ready templates. Get everything your IT teams need out of the box for service request, incident, problem, and change management.Screenshot of Get an ITIL certified service desk. Everything your IT teams need out-of-the-box for service request, incident, problem, and change management. Jira Service Desk is PinkVERIFY™ certified.Screenshot of Deliver a better service experience. Customers or employees can submit requests with an easy-to-use help center and add Confluence to Jira Service Desk to get an integrated knowledge base. Machine learning intelligently recommends the right service and learns from every interaction, so answers are easy to find.Screenshot of Stay in the loop with developers. y linking Jira Service Desk with Jira Software, IT and developer teams can collaborate on one platform to fix incidents faster and push changes with confidence.Screenshot of Deliver on SLA's. Nail your Service Level Agreements, every time. Your agents get a simple queue so they get the important things done first. Configure and get going in minutes.Screenshot of Automate those repetitive tasks. Is your team stuck in gear with repetitive tasks or missing priority requests? Setup automations so your agents can focus on solving the important stuff and help lighten the workload.Screenshot of Gain complete control over your assets. Connect your favorite asset management tool to reference, track, and tie requests with assets directly from Jira Service Desk. Provide end-to-end service with just a few clicks.

Jira Service Management Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, Spanish, German, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Russian, Korean, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Icelandic, Romanian, Slovak, Swedish, Vietnamese

Frequently Asked Questions

ServiceNow IT Service Management, Cherwell Service Management (discontinued), and Freshdesk are common alternatives for Jira Service Management.

Reviewers rate Organize and prioritize service tickets and Change requests repository and Service-level management highest, with a score of 7.5.

The most common users of Jira Service Management are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(633)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Jira Service Desk is a versatile ticketing system that has become the primary solution for managing requests and communication within our organization. It effectively addresses the challenge of handling a large volume of requests and provides a centralized platform for storing and accessing information. Users have found it valuable due to its customizable nature, allowing it to adapt to the specific needs of different departments.

With Jira Service Desk, multiple departments across the organization, such as Client Service, Financial Service, and Tech Engineering, efficiently handle ticketing and tracking tasks. It replaces legacy tools with limited reporting capabilities, facilitating improved processes and workflows. The user-friendly interface makes it easy for both technical and non-technical individuals to navigate and utilize the system effectively.

Jira Service Desk streamlines communication by providing users with an intuitive platform to view and update their tickets easily. It improves transparency among teams by tracking SLA metrics, utilization, incidents, trends, and other key performance indicators. Additionally, Jira Service Desk serves as a documentation tool for projects, enabling the tracking of incoming issues or requests.

By utilizing Jira Service Desk, organizations can streamline internal and external requests and complaints while reducing resolution time. Its efficient helpdesk ticketing system simplifies collaboration between teams and departments. With its customizable workflows and integration with other software tools, Jira enables teams to manage workloads, pre-plan tasks, track progress, assign tickets to team members, and ensure efficient delivery.

Overall, Jira Service Desk is widely used across organizations to improve efficiency in various departments such as IT support, HR, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, and Service Delivery. Its flexibility in customizing workflows allows teams of any size to configure the system according to their specific needs while providing a central location for issue tracking and project management.

Sufficient Communication and Accountability Features: Users have appreciated the tool's sufficient communication and accountability features, which have prevented replication of tasks and decisions. This has eliminated the need to constantly bother the project lead for updates and allowed for easy tracking of completed tasks and discussions.

Versatile Task Management Options: Many users have found the task management options in the tool to be versatile and suitable for a variety of use cases. This feature helps in keeping everyone accountable and ensuring that tasks are completed on time.

Usefulness of BigPicture - Gantt Feature: The BigPicture - Gantt feature has been highly praised by users as it allows them to break down large projects, track multiple phases, and identify where most of their time is spent.

Complicated User Interface: Many users have found the user interface of JIRA Service Management to be complicated, not intuitive, and difficult to navigate. Some users have experienced difficulty in understanding and utilizing certain features of JIRA Service Management, even after using it for an extended period.

Steep Learning Curve: Several reviewers have mentioned a steep learning curve associated with JIRA Service Management. They have expressed that it takes significant time and effort to understand and set up workflows, requiring dedicated administrators which adds to the cost and overhead.

Limited Customization Options: Users have reported limited customization options for the customer portal in JIRA Service Management. This limitation makes it difficult for organizations to meet specific branding and design requirements.

Users have made several recommendations based on their experiences with JIRA. The most common recommendations include considering using JIRA if already using other Atlassian products, trying a free trial or demo before implementing JIRA, and using JIRA for issue tracking and project management.

Many users suggest that if you are already using other Atlassian products, such as Confluence or Bitbucket, it would be beneficial to add JIRA to your toolkit. This recommendation is attributed to users who appreciate the seamless integration between these products.

Users highly recommend taking advantage of the free trial or demo offered by JIRA before committing to its implementation. By doing so, one can get a feel for the product's features and functionalities, helping to determine if it meets their specific needs.

Several users have endorsed JIRA for its capabilities in issue tracking and project management. They mention that JIRA helps them track work, improve team efficiency, monitor tasks, and enhance client visibility. This recommendation is often associated with users who find value in managing Agile workflows and appreciate JIRA's affordability.

It's important to note that while there are many positive recommendations for JIRA, some users have also mentioned potential drawbacks such as the initial learning curve and complexity of configuration. Therefore, it is crucial to evaluate these recommendations in light of your specific requirements and context.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 78)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
- Provide support to business partners within our company
- Track & document issues thoroughly via text, video, images
- Provides a document forum to communicate / clarify issues
- Assign & run reporting on requests/issues
- Provide a detailed dashboard to monitor & track issues from all different stakeholders
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Management is used for various purposes with in the organization. The major use cases are incident management, support requests, change requests, RFP requests etc. Jira Service Management is used for tracking the work till it's completed and used for future references. There is to and fro interaction between author and task assigned member for clarifying the issues in smooth way.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We were using for helpdesk and some other use cases. It is ok but not great. The pricing listed above is outdated - and we will exit JIRA entirely soon because the standard version has ceased to be usable for anything other than very simple use cases. Atlassian have imposed a 5000 automation cap irrespective of user count in the standard plan.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Management helps manage multiple teams to collaborate and work together efficiently. The UI is very straight forward and a customizable tool to manage the requests and SLA's. It's cost may be high compared to its competitors although it has customized pricing plans based on the implementation scale. It's automated ticket routing facility stands out.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I worked with Jira Service Management (Jira Service Desk) in different companies. It's very powerful in terms of use cases. It is great to be able to have multiple entries for service desk queues. It is very flexible and allows you to have different entries and queues for partners, customers, users, etc to request actions. Those entries and queues can support different types of requests like for example product changes, product feedback, issues, bugs, operational requests, ... Also, the whole request / issue lifetime is very well tracked and manageable, especially if you are using Jira as your product development platform. The good side is how flexible it is, how many different options in the workflows can be configured when you have different needs and different entry points. The negative side is how much work and knowledge are needed to manage this, if you only need simple workflows, it might be a bit complex tool for your needs.
Matthew Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk as a corporate service desk. All issues within our company are submitted through the service desk portal and are then triaged to the specific groups that can help with the issue. We have set up multiple service desks for each specific group that are managed by the small teams in our department and that seems to work great.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira to set up service tickets in the IT department and track inbound calls and requests. Field personnel are also able to open Jira tickets directly in order to request assistance or notify the help desk of issues. We also use Jira to keep track of large projects (equipment rollouts, network upgrades, among others).
July 16, 2021

IT Issues Goodbye!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is leveraged by my company for IT ticketing purposes. Jira Service Desk makes it very easy to submit a ticket to IT and have your problem examined and fixed thoroughly. It is used across the entire organization for anything Tech Desk related. It plays well with our existing programs and streamlines the ticketing process into something that everyone can use, with a very minimal learning curve. It works with Okta, so we can have our issues sent with a couple clicks of the mouse.
Pardeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Management is one of the most versatile and agile service management applications available. We use this software to make our organization more agile and efficient. It helps us to track our workload and to pre-plan tasks. Jira gives us the features to assign tasks to the right developers and manage our workflows.
October 28, 2020

Best Service I Ever Used

ZEESHAN RANA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Jira across the whole team to address all modifications in system like when there is anything we have to add in the page or edit anything. We mentioned all the updates in Backlog and then make a sprint for a week or two to complete it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
JIRA is being used by our department. We are using JIRA in creating an ESUP ticket linking to a PR ticket created by our clients (projects) in JIRA customer portal. We use JIRA as our documentation or ticketing tool and tracker for every project we are making. We are receiving incoming issues or requests through JIRA.
March 16, 2020

Jira

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Jira to track incidents and service desk tickets. We also use it for an inventory database.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use Jira to help keep track of projects and their progress up until completion/rollout to production. Jira Service Desk is currently used by a couple of our departments mainly Applications Admins (my team) and Project Management and App Dev teams. This tool helps increase visibility into the tasks involved in completing a project so that all teams can see where we are in terms of progress.
Glenn Burnside | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We started using Jira Service Desk mostly for equipment purchasing requests, but since then, it's grown to be a key mechanism in how our team members ask for support between teams and departments. We have service desks for IT, HR, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, and Service Delivery work requests now. It's become an integral part of how we initiate and track work to completion.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk has been for years implemented by various client companies, bringing transparency into and improving the manageability of internal and external client's requests and complaints. It has also been part of several software development projects. The main benefit aside from greater transparency and order, is a significant shortening of resolution time off requests, positively impacting user/customer experience. Also, in the SW development area, the positive impacts comprise saving a LOT of time of developers, testers, etc. and allowing them to focus on their core activities.
Meenakshi Kartheek | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
JIRA is being used by the help desk team as well as a tool by the business team to submit tickets related to the CRM. Specifically by the business team, (end users) who use the CRM to enhance the business and generate revenue. JIRA Service Desk has made communications easy and saves a lot of time when it comes to time lag due to emails.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Jira Service Desk for issue and request tracking across all departments. The software allows us to centrally manage support, development, and request tickets easily and with minimal confusion. By having a straightforward interface and integrations with other pieces of software, information rarely falls through the cracks, and we feel confident that a strong record is being kept.
Irina Danilova | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk to track technical issue tickets as well as some brand requests for website changes. It is a great tool to keep all the correspondence in one place and track the progress of the project/ticket. Jira Service Desk is very intuitive and does not take long to master by both technical and non-technical people, thus providing a great management tool.
December 17, 2019

Jira Service Desk Review

Rob Domenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Jira Service Desk in two departments: CS Client services and DevOps IT. This enables technicians and developers to add and track support issues internally (IT DevOps ) and external Client Services usage. Either way the seamless integration with products like Bamboo, for development life-cycles, and Confluence for a portal and Wiki, makes this a good fit for our organizational needs.
Matthew Andrien | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I was asked to help implement Jira Service Desk for one of my clients that would be used through the entire organization. It was used to resolve any help desk issues that their employees had. It made it easy for them to submit a ticket and track the progress of it. It also made it easy for the IT team to review and delegate the ticket to get it resolved in a timely manner.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira Service Desk is being used by several organizations across the company including Engineering, Security, IT and HR. It’s leveraged to track “to-do” tickets related to various company processes. It’s helped us streamline our operations and ensure no ball is ever dropped regardless of how much is going on.
December 13, 2019

Jira in our workplace

Elman Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira is used in our organization by all of our teams to have effective communication whenever we need assistance with technical issues. It is very easy to use and it has a very friendly interface. Bug reporting is surprisingly simple and effective. The workflow is amazing, customization is a huge plus since it adapts to our company needs. You can also use it for personal tasks since the gadget "Time Sheet" is amazingly effective and provides a good and detailed track of your tasks.
December 12, 2019

PM like a boss

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Jira is being used by all teams to organize projects and tasks in an easy way and to make sure we are able to prioritize and focus on the most pressing issues, but we are not losing track of the rest of the projects we have in the pipeline. It is great to make sure every task has a direct responsible individual and nothing gets lost.
Return to navigation