TrustRadius
JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/MN/jr/HRH2X6MD7M7N.jpegJMeter, a tool to test web appsJMeter is being used to run load tests against the web applications that we are working on.,It allows excluding css and js files from request whenever you want The installation is quite simple No programming knowledge is required,I'd like to have the chance to modify the scripts but since they are really big XML file that task is almost impossible A friendly UI would be appreciated,7,It's good to know when an application is working after applying changes The script maintenance task is hard to achieve, often it's better to create a new script from scratch The reports provide a lot of information which sometimes is hard to be interpreted,Gatling,SoapUI NG Pro, Bitbucket, IntelliJ IDEAPerformance Testing Using JMeterJMeter is the main preferred performance testing tool in my organization. It is the best tool to test the performance of an application at the protocol level and also at the UI layer with various thread groups, listeners etc.. The blazemeter plugin for record and playback is also very helpful. Jmeter itself has a very neat UI. It being an open source tool makes it more and more attractive.,It has many inbuilt functionalities like cookie manager baked in so that you don't spend too much time in addressing those. It's UI is very neat and very easy to use. Record/Playback options to build tests. You can easily add what thread groups, logic controllers, samplers, assertions, listeners etc.. for effective performance tests As a bonus, you can use JMeter to test the functionality of web services/rest services as well meaning you can use ONE tool to test performance and functionality of your service layer It's very easy to parameterize the tests and also load the data from excel which you would expect to do a lot in good performance testing. With the samplers, you can integrate selenium with JMeter to develop effective tests at UI layer for free.,Even though it has very easy installation, you can run into issues easily. I was ab;e to trigger a test at browser level but couldn't stop the tests. I had to kill it from task manager and then had to reinstall from begining. There are so many things in JMeter you can do especially with the sampler for selenium for UI tests. More documentation/webinars etc.. would help the community better. The jmx files should have an easy way to be integrated with ci/cd tools and cloud.,8,It being an open source solution for performance testing, the ROI is very good. You can build your tests very fast and start seeing the benefits very early.,HP LoadRunner, BlazeMeter and Parasoft SOAtestJMeter for load testingJmeter is used by the development team for testing the performance of web APIs.,It is very helpful while ensuring performance and stability of web applications Good knowledge of programing provides great flexibility to do different things You don't need to pay as Jmeter is an open source tool with support from web community,Recording of tests is very complex for a user with less programming skills.,8,It helped to ensure the performance stability of web services in the early stage, before integration.,SeleniumJMeter ReviewWe used this product to do graphing and on the fly reporting. It allows us to pull data and graph it without laying it out carefully every time and allows for quick information. We don't use it often but I have enjoyed being able to look at data in a graphic content.,Easy on the fly reporting Graphics are easy to read Can be adjusted easily,More user friendly for people not as familiar with coding A GUI approach More plain language for data,6,Troubleshooting data easier Interface is technical and not always intuitive Clearer direction before making decisions on projects,SAP Crystal Reports,SAP Crystal ReportsNeed REST-API Automation? That's the tool to use!Jmeter is used within our department for REST API Functional and non-functional test automation. It is fast and reliable and quite extensible, that's why we are using it. A single testing module can be made and very highly paramterized such that it would be executed many times with various parameters combinations. It is also easily integrated with Jenkins as a CI framework.,REST API Functional and Non-Functional Automated Testing. Stress and Load Automated Testing. Highly Parameterized Test Modules. Excellent Integration with CI Frameworks such as Jenkins.,Documentation is not user-friendly, you may need quite an extensive amount of time to resolve an issue. Post processing of page responses is not easy to understand and needs long time to learn, although quite powerful. Time invested to on-board the application and understand its power, and be able to learn it, can be long.,8,Using Jmeter we were able to have an extensive reliable test suite. Using Jmeter and Jenkins, Our test suite guarantees reliability of our API at all times - i.e. continuously. Because Jmeter UI is not intuitive, not all our team members were willing to deal with it.,Selenium, Apache Maven, Eclipse
Unspecified
JMeter
93 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

JMeter Reviews

JMeter
93 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 93 vetted JMeter reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 29)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Rene Enriquez profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "JMeter, a tool to test web apps"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is being used to run load tests against the web applications that we are working on.
  • It allows excluding css and js files from request whenever you want
  • The installation is quite simple
  • No programming knowledge is required
  • I'd like to have the chance to modify the scripts but since they are really big XML file that task is almost impossible
  • A friendly UI would be appreciated
It's useful to test web applications and verify that they are working as expected. It's not the best option if you want to work on the scripts to modify them because the scripts are huge.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
No photo available
December 22, 2017

User Review: "Performance Testing Using JMeter"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is the main preferred performance testing tool in my organization. It is the best tool to test the performance of an application at the protocol level and also at the UI layer with various thread groups, listeners etc.. The BlazeMeter plugin for record and playback is also very helpful. Jmeter itself has a very neat UI. It being an open source tool makes it more and more attractive.
  • It has many inbuilt functionalities like cookie manager baked in so that you don't spend too much time in addressing those. It's UI is very neat and very easy to use. Record/Playback options to build tests.
  • You can easily add what thread groups, logic controllers, samplers, assertions, listeners etc.. for effective performance tests
  • As a bonus, you can use JMeter to test the functionality of web services/rest services as well meaning you can use ONE tool to test performance and functionality of your service layer
  • It's very easy to parameterize the tests and also load the data from excel which you would expect to do a lot in good performance testing.
  • With the samplers, you can integrate selenium with JMeter to develop effective tests at UI layer for free.
  • Even though it has very easy installation, you can run into issues easily. I was ab;e to trigger a test at browser level but couldn't stop the tests. I had to kill it from task manager and then had to reinstall from begining.
  • There are so many things in JMeter you can do especially with the sampler for selenium for UI tests. More documentation/webinars etc.. would help the community better.
  • The jmx files should have an easy way to be integrated with ci/cd tools and cloud.
If you are looking for Open source or even starting off with performance testing, JMeter is the tool for you. The more you use JMeter the more you will learn it's powerful capabilities. It's best suited for testing the API layer/protocol layer. You can also achieve UI layer performance testing with selenium samplers.It has powerful assertions and so you can use JMeter as functional test tool too at the service layer. Parameterization is very easy. Html cookie manager will help you immensely for a browser-based test. You can use a BlazeMeter plugin on chrome for record.playback and JMX file creation.Jmeter is not recommended when you want to test the performance of the application with complex scenarios in UI layer.
Read this authenticated review
Jaykumar Kalaria profile photo
October 24, 2017

User Review: "JMeter for load testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used by the development team for testing the performance of web APIs.
  • It is very helpful while ensuring performance and stability of web applications
  • Good knowledge of programing provides great flexibility to do different things
  • You don't need to pay as Jmeter is an open source tool with support from web community
  • Recording of tests is very complex for a user with less programming skills.
Jmeter should be used for performance tests of web applications. Jmeter cannot be used for non-web applications. For functional testing and reporting, other tools like Selenium are of more help.
Read Jaykumar Kalaria's full review
No photo available
October 11, 2017

"JMeter Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used this product to do graphing and on the fly reporting. It allows us to pull data and graph it without laying it out carefully every time and allows for quick information. We don't use it often but I have enjoyed being able to look at data in a graphic content.
  • Easy on the fly reporting
  • Graphics are easy to read
  • Can be adjusted easily
  • More user friendly for people not as familiar with coding
  • A GUI approach
  • More plain language for data
A situation where this would be well suited would be to view a large dataset and then slicing and dicing to see graphical representation of the data. It allows the user to process a lot of data and work through it without having an end goal in mind. It's a good way of on the fly info.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 24, 2017

JMeter Review: "Need REST-API Automation? That's the tool to use!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is used within our department for REST API Functional and non-functional test automation. It is fast and reliable and quite extensible, that's why we are using it. A single testing module can be made and very highly paramterized such that it would be executed many times with various parameters combinations. It is also easily integrated with Jenkins as a CI framework.
  • REST API Functional and Non-Functional Automated Testing.
  • Stress and Load Automated Testing.
  • Highly Parameterized Test Modules.
  • Excellent Integration with CI Frameworks such as Jenkins.
  • Documentation is not user-friendly, you may need quite an extensive amount of time to resolve an issue.
  • Post processing of page responses is not easy to understand and needs long time to learn, although quite powerful.
  • Time invested to on-board the application and understand its power, and be able to learn it, can be long.
Jmeter is perfectly suited for REST API Automation, specifically Performance Testing, Stress and Load Testing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2017

Review: "why Jmeter to use for functional and automation and performance testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Jmeter has a good user interface, and this is one of its best strengths.
  • It supports most of testing like functional, automation and load.
  • It supports any open source language like Java, Javascript, BeanShell, Groovy. Any developer can use it.
  • It integrates with Selenium, Eclipse, Jenkins, TeamCity.
  • As it is opensource, there could be small bugs, so if developers are throughly checked, it will be best
  • One should understand of proper language, then it will be easy to use JMeter.
  • it is not like commerical tool. so it wont have advantages of them
Jmeter is open source tool. It helps in a lot of automating manual test cases. We are using it for functional, automation and load testing of our websites. It supports all protocols like REST, FTP, SOAP, web services, Java, BeanShell and others. it is very user-friendly. Any one can understand it easily, and it has a good UI so any manual tester can use it.
Read this authenticated review
Alex Kreston profile photo
September 16, 2016

Review: "JMeter, well done taking on the competition"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used JMeter to execute performance tests on our web services. The main business purpose was to assure that changes did not affect web service performance.
  • JMeter allows direct interaction with services bypassing the UI which is a main pain point when testing backend systems.
  • JMeter has an easy to follow record/enhance/replay mechanism that help create powerful tests in very little time.
  • I like the parameterization approach in JMeter as I can better replicate real world scenarios by introducing parameters and randomisation into my tests
  • I would like to see a real executable of JMeter instead of using a JAR file. Some companies I worked for had very strict security policies that made it difficult to run JMeter remotely.
It is free and easy to use. It is very well suited for both functional and performance testing of web services. Very powerful test suites can be generated in little time and executions are easy to set up. Direct integration with Blazemeter is very helpful when you are ready to scale testing. Execution reports are also very informative and easy to process. JMeter is not the a good tool for testing that involves UI interactions.
Read Alex Kreston's full review
Dinesh Kukreja profile photo
February 23, 2016

Review: "Test cloud-based applications with Apache JMeter"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are doing test cloud-based applications with Apache JMeter. This is used only by my team and not across the organization.
  • Extending functional JMeter scripts for reliability testing.
  • Using the Module Controller to modularize reusable fragments.
  • JMeter's capabilities as a testing tool for RESTful APIs.
  • I think JMeter hangs up on large loads. I have seen JMeter becoming unresponsive in the middle of a test. It is because of garbage collection in JMeter. We use best practices to mute all listeners, use non GUI mode, etc., but even with many best practices JMeter pauses in between load tests.
  • The reporting feature can be improved to provide better test results.
JMeter has great capabilities as a testing tool for RESTful APIs.
Read Dinesh Kukreja's full review
David Luu profile photo
September 30, 2015

Review: "JMeter is a great all around load test tool with some caveats."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use JMeter at one of our divisions in the organization to assess site/system performance, fixing any issues that arise and looking for regressions in performance. We do this on a yearly basis before our holiday peak comes. Although strategically, our test framework/tools team is standardizing the entire company to use another open source tool going forward called Gatling. But we have yet to complete full migration to it, so in the meantime we still use JMeter.

JMeter was selected initially when we started formalizing load testing at my division and was evaluated along with another tool called WebLoad. We picked JMeter for its ease of use, usefulness, and being open source which saved us licensing costs. We primarily use JMeter to generate HTTP requests against our websites, either simulating browser activity or making back end REST API calls.
  • Easy of use - in generate load like HTTP requests, and processing/analyzing the responses. No coding is necessary at the basic level, just need to understand load testing and the infrastructure being tested.
  • Automatic management of things like cookies to help with session state support - so you don't specifically have to worry about it or handle it
  • Lots of testing/configuration options to suit your needs in making the right load generation (sampling requests), and analyzing the results, including any pre and post processing of the results first. Things like the Beanshell/BSF pre/post processors, response assertion, regular expression extractor, XPath extractor, CSV data set config
  • There is a JMeter cloud service called BlazeMeter that I think would be useful for those that need to scale up high load without provisioning their own systems. I've not personally tried it though, but I recently attended a meetup presentation that highlighted nice useful features that BlazeMeter provides. One should evaluate the service if they are considering JMeter and need to expand beyond existing hardware resources.
  • Programmatic customization - for more lower level detailed programming fine tune control of load test actions and processing of results, one has to write a JMeter plugin and load that plugin with JMeter to use it. Or encapsulate the logic into something like a Java class and access that through Beanshell, etc. in the pre/post processor or sampler, etc. It provides somewhat less control of everything than some other tools like Gatling. Or at least it requires more effort and a greater level of understanding of the workings of JMeter internals than a normal user has.
  • Test plan reuse - by design JMeter doesn't work very well when you have frequent components that you reuse across tests or having different modular tests chained together to form a bigger load tests. It gets harder to do so as you scale up with more tests or more levels of testing. Though someone once pointed out to me you can deal with this to some extent using test fragments and encapsulate the reusable component configurations in a test fragment that you can import to other tests. The fragments would be like the test templates. I've personally not gotten around to trying that out though. The other approach is to abstract the common usage functionality/code into Java class (for use with Beanshell, etc.) or JMeter plugin and reuse that. And the lazy way most beginners would deal with reuse is copy & paste from one area to another or one file to another.
  • JMeter might not generate load as well as other test tools not being able to scale up the load as high. I personally have not observed this yet comparing different load tools. But our test frameworks/tools division has found that Gatling scales higher and better than JMeter for high concurrency load against the system. So just wanted to point that out.
The key questions I would pose are: how high of a concurrent load do you need to generate against the system? How technically skilled are your personnel that will perform the load testing? How much programmable/scripting/code based control do you desire from the tool? Do you prefer more of a GUI based tool or a programmatic code/scripting based tool? JMeter will be for those that want a GUI, moderate to low scripting/code based control/programmability, moderate to low load generation, and for users experienced in the novice to expert range.
Read David Luu's full review
Rong Chen profile photo
May 11, 2016

"Jmeter review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter to test our platform application. It is used by the whole organization.
  • You can do customization for the script. I have to write a Java code for integration with two factor authentication. It is pretty straight forward with putting in customized Java code and libs.
  • It is more useful for power users instead regular users. Plugin can be easily added.
  • It is free and community supported.
  • Reporting and analytics
JMeter is more useful for power user or relatively apps for limited changes.
Read Rong Chen's full review
Ameeta Muralidharan profile photo
February 25, 2015

User Review: "Jmeter- Performance testing tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter was used by my organization to test Java web applications. We used to prepare scripts based on the use case scenario which was performed frequently. We used to then perform load, soak tests using these scripts to analyse response time, throughput of the web application. We also used to monitor system performance like CPU, memory performance during these tests.
It is used by my department. It handles the business problems of estimating how much the application would sustain under high load, resources required for a particular client requirement.
  • Jmeter scripts are good to be used for load and soak tests. This helps in analysing response times and throughput. For example for a particular application it would give response time for each transaction you perform like login, submitting information etc.
  • Jmeter has elements like listeners which helps us visualize results and helps us compare them. This helps in analyzing the results faster. For example to compare response times of different transactions
  • Jmeter is flexible and can be used to test any applications apart from Java. For example I tried to prepare scripts for SOAP and web service.
  • Jmeter requires many tweaks with respect to its configuration file and thread properties. users need to edit theses files themselves. There could be some interface where we can edit this fields.
  • Jmeter cannot handle more threads and hangs up when we increase the number of threads. This causes lot of inconvenience. In these situations, user can be notified that such change would be lead to slow performance so that user can do as required. The same appears when we try to view huge files on graph listener.
  • Jmeter should optimize the read and write access to output csv since it acts as overhead to the I/O performance. This affects our test results for the application which we are testing.
It is well suited for beginners. Users need to do the parametrization and correlation all by themselves to prepare scripts. So they can understand how do performance testing tools work. It works well for testing web applications or to identify any bottleneck or root cause of a failure. For example I faced a concurrency issue where when two reports were generated at the same time. It would generate two 0kb pdf files with no content. Jmeter helped me in resolving this issue. It is not well suited for functional testing since other tools like selenium or imacro would be better since they require less of parameterization and correlation.
Read Ameeta Muralidharan's full review
Artavazd Yeritsyan profile photo
February 26, 2015

User Review: "Performance testing using JMeter"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used JMeter as a tool for performance testing of our web application for both frontend/backend. We have configured jobs on Jenkins to execute jmeter tests on parallel. For ex. we have tried out registration performance both on Stage and Live environments in parallel with the same parameters to compare the results.
  • Apache JMeter is a great tool for doing performance testing of web-applications.
  • Apache JMeter also can be used for functional tests because it has a set of assertions and extractors (i.e. elements) which allow you to not only get the page from the server, but also to control its content. In this mode, JMeter saves much more information about each request (full response and request body).
  • To make browser emulation more realistic, JMeter has elements which can work with cookies and cache. These elements are HTTP Cookie Manager and HTTP Cache Manager.
  • JMeter uses a synchronous request approach. That means for every request JMeter generates, an internal thread is raised and therefore blocked until a response is being received or a timeout happens. This results in resource blocking on the load injector. The maximum number of threads is limited within a JVM - dependent on the underlying infrastructure - and even if you are able to run a lot of parallel threads this will result in a higher CPU and memory utilization. Although performance tweaking and scaling out to distributed testing might help in such a case, it makes testing more complex and error-prone.
  • This behavior can result in distorted metrics. Think about a typical breakpoint load test. You want to determine, which is the maximum number of requests per second your tested system can serve. This will be limited by JMeter to max_requests_per_second = (1000 / average_request_time_in milliseconds) * max_jmeter_threads.
  • Even if the system could serve more, this is the maximum number JMeter can inject. This is especially important when the tested application has long response cycles, e.g. because of long lasting transactions or long lasting calculations within the requests.
If you want calculate request and response time JMeter will be very valuable for you, but if you want to do Stress Testing with thousands of simulated users, it will be not very valuable.
Read Artavazd Yeritsyan's full review
Charlie Harris profile photo
June 11, 2014

User Review: "What Can JMeter Do For You?!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization utilizes the JMeter product across many areas of the IT footprint. Our application development teams will use it for unit testing and our quality assurance team uses it for functional, performance, load and stress testing. We have identified many memory leak, database connection and virtual server issues with the versatility provided by the JMeter product. Our company is expanding their horizons with SOA and other web service upgrades that were until recently an unknown environment for our testing teams. I have spent countless hours in test case and use case review with our QA teams and having Jmeter as a viable testing option has been crucial in our performance and load testing endeavors. We have identified shortcomings in our initial virtual server setup and web service breakdown through comprehensive testing and use case review.
  • JMeter has the best range of 'config element' options available to the user. Versatility is the key for me when building a solid base of data options that will be available for all facets of the desired test case selection.
  • JMeter provides the user with a variety of reports, results and graphs that can provide the customer with a solid picture of the overall success of the test plan and how to build out the future scenarios. The key is having all levels of output options (executive to technical) and the ability to have comprehensive reviews for all IT teams.
  • JMeter has a very robust multithreading framework that allows my team to emulate dozens of user options and threads from within the same test sampling. Building a broad-based test sample is crucial to the success of our testing efforts as we step towards the SOA environment and away from the archaic way of thinking about QA testing. Too many other load testing tools are limited in their scenario building options and ability to simulate so many different types of users.
  • I would like to see the WebService (SOAP) functionality returned to JMeter. I don't mind the HTTP option update for this, but I still use previous versions with this option available.
  • I would like to see someone build a better, well-rounded documentation effort. I understand this is open source, but there are millions of users out there and at least one of them has some Technical Writing background.
I would like to know what are the overall goals of the projects under review and the opportunity to emulate various user types and scenarios. A simple load test is extremely easy to build with this product and then can be adapted to any test case options needed as the project moves forward in the software development lifecycle.
Read Charlie Harris's full review
Jimmy Armitage profile photo
May 19, 2014

User Review: "JMeter evaluation 2014"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is becoming the standard across Intuit. There is still a legacy investment in Silk Performer but it is being phased out in favor of JMeter. One large organization does have its own tool but most have adopted the open source JMeter. Another tool that is seeing adoption is Gatling. JMeter is open source and free. That addresses the issue that Silk Performer is an expensive problem. JMeter does not require licenses. That addresses the issue that Silk Performer machines are a limited problem. JMeter experience is easier to find and is more relevant in today's market.
  • JMeter is easy to use. Explaining how to get a simple script going is not difficult.
  • JMeter is open source and free.
  • JMeter really is the industry standard now.
  • JMeter does not make good use of system resources. In the AWS cloud I often use 100 m1.large JMeter instances to simulate equivalent loads as 20 m1.medium Gatling instances.
  • The JMeter .jmx file is hard to diff. JMeter scripts are not written as code, the user uses a GUI to create a gigantic xml file.
  • When you have to drop into Beanshell things are not fun.
If you can not code, use JMeter, it is the best.
If you can code, try Gatling, it is the future.
Read Jimmy Armitage's full review
Raman Ramanchuk profile photo
May 15, 2014

Review: "Jmeter as performance testing tool for web applications/products"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hi, I use Jmeter in current company (Strevus) and used it in Oxagile to build load profile for sowtware applications and products that I was testing. Also I measured web applications response times when performing load and stress testing. Also I measure DB response times (MySQL) when loading DB with queries (selects, udpates etc.). We used Jmeter mostly in our Engineering (DEV and QA) departments
  • Easy way to create and configure http(s) requests being emulated by Jmeter. A lot of configurations of http requests
  • Easy way to configure and run DB load tests using connector-j library for MySQL
  • Jmeter Scripts debugging mode and real time debugging when scrips are being executed help to catch a lot of application issues and helps to fix issues in load scripts
  • Reporting tools and reports configuration. I would like to have configurable reports by metrics that Jmeter has
  • Integration with servers statistics gathering. AFAIK Jmeter can gather load logs only from TomCat server but I would like to have more advanced integration and gathering logs from other wide spread web servers (e.g. IIS etc)
  • Complex language (Java) to write your own assertions or advanced scripts that emulate non-predefined actions
Jmeter is free tool, so it's preferable in case if there is no budget for performance testing. Jmeter is most suitable to build simple load profile and quickly analyze web app or DB performance. It's cross-platform and can be configured to have cluster and create required load. Jmeter is less appropriate if you need to perform custom actions that are not listed among Jmeter handlers (it's required to write Java code and requires development skills). It would be great if Jmeter can support multiple scripting languages like TestComplete (automation tool)
Read Raman Ramanchuk's full review
Wes Sucher profile photo
May 15, 2014

Review: "Jmeter is a great automated tool that can be used for both functional and load/performance testing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jmeter is being used primarily to test functionality of web services for our project.
  • Load Testing - it is easy to conceptualize the type of requests being made
  • Plug-in support - if Jmeter doesn't come with something you need you are likely to find it on the internet. You could even develop a plugin yourself.
  • Simplicity - the interface is pretty barebones and straightforward, you will not be overwhelmed by options
  • It would be nice to more easily integrated into a CI system (like Jenkins/Hudson). There are workarounds out there but they are not very straightforward to implement.
  • Memory usage of the tool can get high when using the "graphical" listeners in real time.
It is very well-suited when looking for a free, open-source tool. No setup is really required here either, so you can hit the ground running. The community support is okay, but since the tool is not that popular you will not find much information on it online (however, the official documentation is written pretty well). If you are looking to test XML/JSON-type web-services in both functional and performance ways it is a good tool.
Read Wes Sucher's full review
No photo available
December 09, 2016

"JMeter Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for performance testing of mobile or desktop applications to check the scalability, reliability, and responsiveness of the product in the market. It is used by the performance center of excellence department inside the performance engineering team of the company. It addresses response time issues and performance metrics of applications faced by the client product.
  • Open source tool
  • Database load testing
  • Handles the correlation effectively using regular expressions
  • Naming convention of transaction scenarios in the jmeter dashboard could be improved.
  • Think time and pause time could be explained effectively.
  • Increase the RAM usage from tool itself rather than going into the bit files and changing it for accommodating a higher number of users and machines.
  • Limited access to help
  • Improve GUI of tool
JMeter is well suited for Java applications where the user can script the scenario once and make changes to accommodate for as many numbers of users for load test execution. The image and selection of any files or exporting files scenario is handled well.

It is less appropriate to test Ajax applications where it is required to script click per use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2016

Review: "JMeter good to use for API /performance testing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using JMeter for API testing. I designed a data-driven API testing framework with JMeter, which is very helpful for testing APIs as well as setting up some performance tests. I integrate JMeter with Jenkins. It helps our company a lot for performing and managing the API test. And it is easy to set up a performance test system. I have helped my company set up a lab with continuous load testing to measure the performance of our product, as well as setting up an automation performance testing system and shipped it to some of our customers.
  • Data-driven api testing framework.
  • Performance testing.
  • Easy Integrated with Jenkins.
  • When designing API testing with JMeter, the thread hold is very limited.
JMeter is well suited for load testing/performance testing/API testing.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2015

Review: "You need to try JMeter! I have and I don't regret it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter in our company to test load and performance of our web sites. Our scripts leverage the flexibility and ease of use of JMeter to test the different pages of our websites and generate dynamic content requests. We hired the services of BlazeMeter to leverage their infrastructure to run the test in different regions and different concurrent user configurations to our different regional pages.
  • Easy to use and parameterize.
  • Can be executed from command line, so it can be easily plugged in with continuous integration tools like Jenkins.
  • The script is contained in an xml file, so it's portable.
  • It's free.
  • UI is not very robust.
  • Poor graphics and reports.
  • Not very intuitive grouping of the tools, steps and plugins. Some are difficult to find, especially the first time you use it.
JMeter requires knowledge of web pages, urls, scripting, and medium level to experienced QA people. It works great for read only websites, that is, websites that don't require forms be be filled in or secure logins. Working with forms and security can be done, but it's not that straight forward. I wouldn't recommend this tool for junior or unexperienced people, or for someone that will need a step by step guide or wizard.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 27, 2015

JMeter: "Review from QA :)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use JMeter for our regression tests, also for simple cases such as sign up, log in, etc. It helps us to save a lot of time for some testing cases that should be done every day, so we have created some tests and are running them daily. In our IT company this tool is used mostly by QA team.
Sometimes it helps us to find problems that we could miss. So I hope to work with JMeter as long as it is possible :)
Best Regards,
Narine.
  • Easy to use.
  • Fast.
  • As I'm not an expert, I can find almost everything I need to work with.
  • Possibility to revert wrongly deleted fields.
  • Copy/Paste functionality is working not for everything.
  • It would be better to improve design, it looks a little bit outdated.
It is perfect for simple cases (as I'm not an expert I haven't used it so deep). The best part that I love about JMeter is that you can add your defined variables, and then call them in all your requests. It really helps. The other part that I don't like so much is that after deleting something, you can't revert it. Sorry if I understand the question wrong.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2015

JMeter Review: "Best suited tool for performance testing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter for performance testing of web applications. Presently it is being used by the performance testing team. It is mostly used for analysis of page load response time.
  • Very quick development of testing scripts.
  • Relatively ease of analysis.
  • It would be good if we could have customized integration with HP Quality Center.
Nothing specific, but JMeter is very handy to quickly use for performance testing of applications that are being developed in agile development.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 23, 2015

"JMETER Review - Tool that can used for any project type."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JMeter for load and stress test for most of our client's products. We target for:

  • Page load
  • Duration of test in seconds with number of virtual users that server can support in x number of seconds (users/sec)
  • Determine a system's behavior under both normal and anticipated peak load conditions
  • Min/Max duration for each page to load
  • Reverse stress test and its consequences
  • Duration of test in seconds with number of virtual user that server can support in x number of seconds (users/sec)
  • Determine a system's behavior under both normal and anticipated peak load conditions
  • Min/Max duration for each page to load
  • Better UI
  • Multiple project window
  • Saving and importing script on another machine looses some settings
Things to consider:

  • Number of supported users
  • Peak traffic time
  • Page size and total number of pages
  • Images on page and its size
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 20, 2015

JMeter Review: "Cool open source tool for WebService Performance testing"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is being used as secondary tool at our organization, in my team its primary tool though. At the organization level we use NeoLoad which is more user friendly compared to JMeter. JMeter helped us to test our services in a cost efficient manner. We deal with millions of SOAP messages and JMeter helps us to distribute and measure performance of all those services.
  • Interaction with Java and JUnit is the one of best features and strengths of JMeter.
  • Bean shell is another strength where you can write a customized version of your scripts.
  • Webservice Performance is pretty easy compared to other tools.
  • UI Recording gives a easy way of building scripts.
  • JMeter needs to improve the interface and the start and stop process; several times it just hangs when you see an issue and stops testing in between. There is no impact but user has to reopen JMeter as the earlier session still hold resources.
  • More powerful reporting and listeners, compare previous test and current test results. Loadosophia is best example of it, including BlazeMeter which are paid versions.
I would always prefer JMeter for webservice automation over others; it does have some issues with UI based performance testing but those can be managed using JUnit and Java. Using JUnit and Java makes it some what tricky for new users to understand and that's why they go towards a more user friendly tool. JMeter support is another issue, you have to completely depend on the community to get help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 11, 2015

Review: "JMeter is a nice tool for performance testing."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is used in our department as a performance testing tool. We use it to simulate multiple user systems and evaluate our product's performance.
  • Multiple thread group can simulate multiple user system
  • Setup thread, tear down thread, so we can create a scenario first, do the operation and tear down at the end
  • CSV file is very useful
  • I noticed that sometimes after you record staff in JMeter, the order is sometimes wrong.
How do you make recording steps efficient in JMeter?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 06, 2015

User Review: "JMeter does it all"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JMeter is currently being utilized in our department for streaming and e-commerce applications. I use JMeter for functional, regression and performance testing. We heavily rely on this tool for every release we do to perform the above types of testing.
  • Performance testing and aggregating results in one place.
  • From functional testing of API's to regression and peformance tesing, the same tool can be used and tests can be leveraged.
  • Copy & pasting - I noticed bugs when I copy & paste tests under a thread group to others.
  • Some simple way of sharing variables from one thread group to other in same JMX.
For REST API testing, I highly recommend JMeter.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

End to end performance management (13)
7.8
Integrated performance data (13)
7.1
Deployment model flexibility (11)
7.9
Real time monitoring (12)
6.6
Automated anomaly detection (12)
6.3

About JMeter

JMeter, from Apache, is a load and performance testing tool.

JMeter Integrations

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

JMeter Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No