Joomla Reviews

248 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I like Joomla! a lot more than WordPress, as I find this constrictive in the way that they have made it a one size fits all CMS. I also find that their vulnerabilities are far bigger than Joomla's.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2019
Lisa Keyser | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla! is the #2 Open Source CMS behind WordPress, which we also use, and ahead of Drupal, which we have evaluated but decided not to pursue. Joomla! generally performs better than WP for clients that need more complexity to their websites, including flexibility in templating, menus, and user access. While it is less developer-friendly than Drupal, it was designed from the get-go as a CMS and not as blogging software, like WP, so it has more built-in features that are necessary to run a solid website.
Read Lisa Keyser's full review
October 15, 2019
Miles Szkoda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think Joomla is on-par with Drupal and Umbraco and similar platforms, but WordPress does seem to be above it. WordPress has become so common that there are more and more features becoming available to it that exceed the Joomla platform and make it hard to compete with. WordPress is also a lot easier for new users to get into and understand, but Joomla is still relatively simple.
Read Miles Szkoda's full review
December 13, 2019
Vinny Hebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Part of Joomla core, which is what comes with Joomla when you install it, is it's Access Control Lists. It allows you to not only control which users can access what, but allows you to create custom groups and have unique access per group. WordPress can't do that without a third-party plugin.
Read Vinny Hebert's full review
October 23, 2019
Jason Montoya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is designed in a way to make it fairly fool-proof for the admin, but in this approach, it handcuffs the user from having control or making it easy to do, in many cases, what are basic things (changing the title, URL segment, etc...). With the exception of the Gutenberg editor, Joomla is superior in every technical and admin experience way (this comes from someone who works on both platforms regularly). I also find the admin interface much more logical, scalable, and professional than WordPress.

I'm not familiar with Drupal, but I've often heard it can be more technically oriented and hard to use for intermediate and beginning users. While Joomla does provide a large amount of control over a website, it's also fairly simple to use. And with terrific permission controls, basic users can be shielded from functions and tools that may overwhelm them or give them abilities to break things accidentally.
Read Jason Montoya's full review
October 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is probably the most popular CMS, followed by Joomla! For me, I find Joomla! much more intuitive. Both use themes and can provide excellent results, however I prefer Joomla!
Read this authenticated review
October 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We chose Joomla! over Drupal or WordPress because it's in the middle ground between those two systems. We needed something that can be extended down the road if we need it, but at the same time, it can't be too complex. We felt Drupal is too complex and WordPress seems to be more reserved for blogging or more simple sites. We needed more than WordPress so Joomla! is a natural fit.
Read this authenticated review
April 25, 2019
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have selected Joomla when I needed an easy content management platform for a team of beginners. It's not as easy to customize or optimize like WordPress or Wix sites, but it's a great introduction until you are ready for the more advanced features offered by these alternative platforms. Wix is a close second for ease of use and WordPress trumps them all as far as features, but is not as simple to use.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
April 04, 2019
Ricardo Melo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla has a more general and wide use, more documentation, forums and community that develops many templates and extensions for almost all purposes. It has a great web-based administration environment and, with the correct permissions setting, it can be prepared for a regular user to submit content to the site autonomously.
Read Ricardo Melo's full review
February 11, 2019
Chris Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla is one of the least intuitive options and has had some issues with updates in the past, as compared to WordPress. Magento has similar issues, but Joomla doesn't have as much flexibility as Magento (and of course, Joomla does not have e-commerce features built-in). Unfortunately, it's in the mushy middle as I see it.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
December 21, 2018
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Wordpress before and while WordPress does have some pros over Joomla, overall, I like Joomla because it is more robust. I found I had to install a lot of plugins in Wordpress to get the same basic set-up that came out-of-the-box for Joomla. I also found that some of the Wordpress plugins seemed to break the site quite readily. Wordpress does have a better media manager, however, Joomla is vastly improving the CMS with every new update.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
November 06, 2018
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

For complex websites, with unique customizations, Joomla is my go to. If my clients want a user-friendly administration and plan on making changes to their website content themselves, I choose WordPress. Joomla's templating system is quicker and simpler to create completely custom templates vs WordPress' Theming system. For managing content, creating content, extending, both software packages are pretty equal. I use both Joomla and WordPress extensively for my client base.
Read Jen Garfinkel-Canseco's full review
June 28, 2018
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla! is much easier than those products and with the strong support from Joomla! community and the availability of Joomla! plugins and extensions, then in my point of view, Joomla! is better. Also, Joomla! is very suitable for Portal and e-Commerce creation. Many features and add-on support this functionality and requirement to serve the business user.
Read Ilham AB's full review
October 18, 2018
Sean Pomory | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla and Concrete5 have about the same capability and similar issues. Purchasing a SAAS like Squarespace, Weebly or Wix would be worth the price to remove the hassle of Joomla. A more robust free CMS like WordPress or Drupal would be a better solution if you wanted to remain in that realm of software.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
December 11, 2018
Trish Lofton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have not evaluated any others. I researched Joomla! prior to implementing it. This was the most cost-effective and robust open source software that I found.
Read Trish Lofton's full review
December 05, 2018
Rahul Kumar Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Joomla! is definitely way better than Blogger but if one has to compare it with WordPress then this [somewhat] opinion based but I personally like WordPress over Joomla!
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
July 26, 2017
Danielle A. Pingitore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used WordPress which is similar in many ways but harder to use in my opinion. It is also not easy to teach people how to learn WordPress because of its design and usability. I do think that WordPress is faster to adapt new changes to technology such as responsiveness or parallax designs.
Read Danielle A. Pingitore's full review
September 19, 2016
Eli Aschkenasy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Number one difference is the community. I can't stress it more. The joomla! community (both online, and offline) is extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. I have never heard of anyone who felt looked down upon or ridiculed for any type of question, request, or need. If you're planning on designing and maintaining your own site, joomla! is definitely a good choice, if you're looking to design a website that might need some custom development, joomla! is definitely a good choice (better than WordPress from a technical standpoint and easier than Drupal from a user-friendly standpoint. If the intended application is an API driven (potentially even headless) and doesn't have any conventional content requirements, joomla! is probably not the optimal choice.
Read Eli Aschkenasy's full review
June 14, 2016
Robert Jacobi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WordPress,Drupal,ExpressionEngine,DNN
We utilize Joomla! because it is open source, has one of the largest open source communities, and is flexible across all types and sizes of business environments. Joomla! also provides steady security updates which are installable from within the CMS (WordPress has been failing here) as well as provides seamless upgrade paths from older versions (the Drupal 8 migrations will be complete rebuilds if customers choose to go that route).
Read Robert Jacobi's full review
December 23, 2015
James Fauria | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • WordPress,Drupal

Before I settled in on using Joomla for the City of Pomona, I experimented with WordPress and Drupal, as being the right fit for the new website. Each time I went through the analysis, research and development, both WordPress and Drupal, came up short for quickly delivering a robust extendable and easy to use solution that had to be in place immediately.

Here's some frustrations that I encountered with WordPress and Drupal:

  • WordPress limits the number of links you could have in the Main Menu.

  • WordPress's Menu Manager is lacking many features that are standard in Joomla's.

  • WordPress has a useless Media Manager that does not allow for Folder Creation or custom built Hierarchical structures that reflect real life departments and organizations.

  • WordPress lacks the ACL that Joomla has.

  • Drupal also has a useless Media Manager that does not allow for Folder Creation or custom built Hierarchical structures that reflect real life departments and organizations.

  • Drupal was a time consuming headache that always had a dramatic problem popup every step of the way when trying to build the website, and frequently the whole operation would just implode.

  • Drupal wasted months of time because of its incompatibilities.

  • Drupal lacks the ACL that Joomla has.

  • Both Drupal and WordPress are NOT MVC or OOD.

Read James Fauria's full review
September 30, 2015
Rita Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

WordPress is not a content management system in that it is based upon the concept of blogging where articles are displayed in a linear fashion based on their date of publication. You can make WordPress a CMS through hard work and twisting its navigation system and widgets to fit multiple pages other purposes than blogging, but if you want a medium-sized website for millions of concurrent users, Joomla! is much more versatile and easier to setup and use. WordPress is good for small projects but it also has fewer add-ons (called plug-ins) and they require some coding to work. Joomla! is more fleshed out and usable "out of the box."

Drupal is a programmer platform with modules that require coding to fit together into a very flexible array of purposes. It is meant for larger projects but its aesthetics are lacking and you need to get in and code HTML and CSS to customize its look and layout. Joomla!'s community has created thousands of easily-customizable themes to change the look and feel of a website, or you can create a custom theme based on solid frameworks that provide an underlying HTML and CSS structure as well as the ability to customize using the Administrator vs. programming. I choose Joomla! over Drupal even for larger endeavors because it is easier to develop and has a larger user community and more add-ons.
Read Rita Lewis's full review
December 23, 2015
Michael Pignataro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There are other great products out there such as WordPress or Drupal. Each platform has its own use and they are all great.

WordPress - This product is amazing for blogging. If you want a blogging site this is the platform to use. I recommend looking into WordPress for Joomla - https://www.corephp.com/joomla-products/wordpress-for-joomla This product intergrates the WordPress platform into Joomla giving you that full capability of the best blogging platform. Not as easy to manage a site.

Drupal - This is amazing product for data crunching. Powerful taxonomy system. Most of the time this is overkill for many sites. But still a solid and great product.
Read Michael Pignataro's full review
March 16, 2016
Waseel Akbari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Drupal,WordPress
Joomla! is widely open and customizable whereas WordPress and Drupal have limits.
Read Waseel Akbari's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (36)
8.8
API (32)
8.4
Internationalization / multi-language (33)
8.9
WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.2
Code quality / cleanliness (36)
7.9
Admin section (36)
8.5
Page templates (37)
8.0
Library of website themes (35)
7.6
Mobile optimization / responsive design (35)
7.9
Publishing workflow (35)
7.0
Form generator (32)
7.2
Content taxonomy (37)
8.8
SEO support (36)
8.0
Bulk management (35)
7.9
Availability / breadth of extensions (37)
8.7
Community / comment management (35)
8.6

What is Joomla?

Joomla! is a free, open source content management system used to publish web content. Joomla is written in PHP, uses object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques and stores data in a MySQL, MS SQL, or PostgreSQL database. Included features are page caching, RSS feeds, printable versions of pages, news flashes, blogs, polls, a search function, and support for language internationalization. Its dashboard organizing administrator tasks into context menus, from which content is edited, permissions set and changed, contacts managed, and messages sent to users. Extensions modify functionality in widely varying ways and provide flexibility.
Categories:  Content Management

Joomla Integrations

Joomla Competitors

Drupal, Kentico Xperience, Plone, Magnolia (V4.5 and prior versions), Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Joomla Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No