Joomla Reviews

248 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 28)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 06, 2018
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
For highly customized website needs, I definitely would use Joomla. The Joomla core is a strong base for creating complex websites. Extending and customizing with Joomla is quick and easy for someone with PHP knowledge.
Read Jen Garfinkel-Canseco's full review
September 30, 2015
Rita Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Joomla! is currently being overhauled at version 3.2 but has many users also running version 2.5.18 which is still maintained by its community of programmers. The shear size of its user base tells me that it will be supported and grow for long years to come. The constant modernizing of the platform and the dedication of its vast add-on community tells me that it will continue to spread as the content management platform of choice for medium-sized projects.

Companies are looking for ways to save money and Joomla!'s Open Source license makes it a strong candidate for websites. It is inexpensive to run and efficiently updated by users. It can be cloned on the Cloud for high numbers of users. A small team can set up a Joomla! site in a week.
Read Rita Lewis's full review
December 23, 2015
Michael Pignataro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Joomla has a great release plan for future features and has some major players in the technology industry such as Ebay backing the project. A lot of major sites use Joomla today with massive amounts of data, highly customized functionality to very well designed templates. Joomla is one of those products that fits the bill 99% of the time when a client needs a site!
Read Michael Pignataro's full review
July 07, 2015
Alex Jewell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
With each new project that lands on my plate, I have to carefully consider the best solution. Joomla! is not always the solution, but that isn't to say I don't frequently take it out of the toolbox. Since the mid-size projects that Joomla! is perfect for are anything but rare, I'm sure I'll be employing Joomla! again relatively soon, and it will be the new-and-improved Joomla! 3 if I have anything to say about it.
Read Alex Jewell's full review
July 07, 2015
Cesar Babino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
The growing in the Joomla community had helped to get more and new options for specific features you are looking for on your website: The opportunity to integrate with other databases helps to get access to more corporate environments. The broad community is available to support and guide you anytime. Many options available to handle security in your website and provide a robust solution.
Read Cesar Babino's full review
March 10, 2015
Marni Derr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
After years of offering all three of the top CMS' in regards to development, design, and training experience, I chose four years ago to begin offering and using Joomla exclusively. Client experience has taught me that Joomla simply fits 99% of most requirements.
Read Marni Derr's full review
November 26, 2014
Jennifer de Spain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
One thing people must understand about Joomla is that it is completely FREE. No subscriptions at all! Any subscriptions that one would make would be with the third party plugin developers. The Joomla you download is yours forever, and you will be given automatic notifications when an updated version of Joomla is available. That updated version can be installed with ONE click of a button, no charge, no unzipping files, and no big hassles in most cases (unless one of your plugins is only meant for the older version of Joomla, but that is a plugin problem, not a Joomla problem.) Joomla is committed to providing a free solution that is kept up to date and continues to grow with the challenges and new industry standards.
Read Jennifer de Spain's full review
March 18, 2015
Janice Gentles-Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

8
I've used Joomla for over 7 years now and just find that it meets the needs of my clients. If it stops doing that then I'll consider something else but right now it does.
Read Janice Gentles-Jones's full review
February 25, 2015
Kelli Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I will continue to use Joomla because of the continued upgrades that make it even more robust, user friendly and come with so much built in functionality.
Read Kelli Riley's full review
February 25, 2015
Philippe Sauve | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
My whole business is built around the Joomla! platform. Again, powerful, professional, flexible, yet easy to use are the only words that come to mind and are worth repeating, as this is what clients want and need, and what this developer and the Joomla! community appreciate.
Read Philippe Sauve's full review
December 04, 2014
Andrey Dik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
I have been working with different Content Management Systems and even tried to develop one myself. But year after year and client after client I saw that none of the other solutions worked better than Joomla for my clients. It's relatively easy to use, quite flexible and you always have one of the worlds biggest and loyal users community behind your back to help you if you have any problem.
Read Andrey Dik's full review
August 08, 2014
Katherine Hambley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

7
I believe Joomla! has sectors that it would be a great fit for, like education and small government sectors. It's great for those with less than 100 content authors. For enterprise level, it wouldn't be my first choice.
Read Katherine Hambley's full review
August 06, 2014
Sarah Banas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

3
Only if a client REALLY wants to use it, otherwise, I'll stick with less complicated/costly CMS alternatives.
Read Sarah Banas's full review
March 17, 2014
Johann Joubert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
We have done the hard yards in learning how to, effectively use Joomla! We have been using Joomla! since version 1.6 and it is constantly evolving, for the better. If Joomla! keeps on improving, as it is at the moment, I cannot see why we should start using any other software.

Read Johann Joubert's full review
July 24, 2013
Vince Ginsburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Because Joomla! is constantly maintained and updated the code remains robust, efficient, and secured. The versatility of this platform makes it ideal for small businesses and those needing capabilities above many Wordpress sites.
Read Vince Ginsburg's full review
July 07, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

10
Joomla is a free CMS that is robust and very capable of developing very distinctive websites. Modules, components, plugins all add to the excellent support that the Joomla community provides.
Read this authenticated review
August 05, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Renew

9
Renewal is very likely as our clients are happy with the end results and its easy to transition the site to them. Our turnaround time with these sites is impressive.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (36)
8.8
API (32)
8.4
Internationalization / multi-language (33)
8.9
WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.2
Code quality / cleanliness (36)
7.9
Admin section (36)
8.5
Page templates (37)
8.0
Library of website themes (35)
7.6
Mobile optimization / responsive design (35)
7.9
Publishing workflow (35)
7.0
Form generator (32)
7.2
Content taxonomy (37)
8.8
SEO support (36)
8.0
Bulk management (35)
7.9
Availability / breadth of extensions (37)
8.7
Community / comment management (35)
8.6

What is Joomla?

Joomla! is a free, open source content management system used to publish web content. Joomla is written in PHP, uses object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques and stores data in a MySQL, MS SQL, or PostgreSQL database. Included features are page caching, RSS feeds, printable versions of pages, news flashes, blogs, polls, a search function, and support for language internationalization. Its dashboard organizing administrator tasks into context menus, from which content is edited, permissions set and changed, contacts managed, and messages sent to users. Extensions modify functionality in widely varying ways and provide flexibility.
Categories:  Content Management

Joomla Integrations

Joomla Competitors

Drupal, Kentico Xperience, Plone, Magnolia (V4.5 and prior versions), Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Joomla Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No