Joomla Reviews

244 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 59)

Lisa Keyser | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Joomla! is a great open source CMS for businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla! is the second-most popular open source Content Management System (CMS) and by far my favorite. My very first website was built on the Joomla! platform for its ease of installation, variety of customization features, and built-in Access Level Control (ACL) that makes it easy to have multiple users for the website right out of the box. I recommend it for all of my clients who need more than just a website with content, particularly if they have membership needs, high-level security and control needs, or extensibility.
Read Lisa Keyser's full review
Miles Szkoda | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Easy To Deploy, Easy To Use CMS For Small And Large Sites

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Joomla to run a few websites that are on-offs because it is very easy to set up and get started. Our entire organization has access to Joomla sites and we can roll out or build sites in multiple platforms, including Joomla, for one-off websites that are significantly different from our standard business model.

Joomla has been used for small 3-4 pages sites and for 100+ page sites with a significant amount of content.
Read Miles Szkoda's full review
Jason Montoya | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Joomla Expert Admin Since 2006 - Technical Support Specialist

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla (inspired by the Swahili word meaning all together) is a community-driven (as opposed to a corporate backing) content management system that gives its users and managers complete control for building and sustaining simple and complex websites. Out of the box, this open-source CMS provides an intuitive admin experience with an array of active components to deliver the user experience and functionality required for something as simple as a blog or as complex as an online news publication and community. Working with Joomla almost since its 2005 inception, I've witnessed the progress and leaps this tool has managed over the last 13 years. As I look forward to Joomla 4 and beyond, I see a powerful back-end engine most websites will want under the hood of their digital platform.

Here are many of the situations where I've been involved in Joomla projects with clients paying me to guide them and serve their digital platform building needs.
  • Comprehensive online websites with sophisticated front and back-end functionality (with ecommerce, event booking, email marketing, etc..).
  • Basic small business websites
  • Online product gallery websites (non-ecommerce)
  • Online blogging platforms
  • Online content repositories
Read Jason Montoya's full review
Josh Randall | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Joomla is a great CMS which can be used for free or a very low ongoing cost.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Joomla to run and manage our website as well as send email blasts and provide banner ads to sponsors. It works very well and we plan to continue to use it for the foreseeable future. It's pretty easy to use overall and there are tons of features and extensions that allow you to do almost anything from running a store, photo gallery, classified ads, etc.
Read Josh Randall's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Excellent, Easy To Use CMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Joomla! for many years to create websites for many different companies. It is fairly simple to use and provides excellent results. It can also provide a good starting point with templates, both free and paid. Joomla!'s use of modules makes accomplishing most tasks easy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Jammin' with Joomla!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla is used across our organization. It solves our website address needs and much more due to its flexibility and ease of use. We needed a web presence, mailing list, and shopping cart system. Joomla! solved all of these business needs.

We love the additional plugins/components that can be integrated into Joomla! that solves our business needs without relying on hosted services that may hold your services hostage due to their policies. With Joomla, you have the freedom to do what you need and that's what we love.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Joomla is a developer's dream

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla is used as our main CMS for all things web-related. We run our web pages, the online cart and all the communication for wood gallery through this CMS.
Read this authenticated review
Brittney Collier | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2019

Perfect for content management beginners!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I've utilized Joomla to manage site content for a university, a startup company, and a nonprofit organization. The product was used mainly in one department at each company -- marketing. It addresses the fact that we needed to update our web content without having a developer on staff. It also helps that Joomla is free, especially when being utilized for non-profits and startup companies.
Read Brittney Collier's full review
Ricardo Melo | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

One of the most versatile and best CMS.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla! is used by our IT division to rapidly develop dynamic sites according to the needs of each department of the company. We tried to use WordPress but realized that when we had to develop something different from the focus of blogs, WordPress did not meet us and we had to migrate to use Joomla!. We had no problems using Joomla! here.
Read Ricardo Melo's full review
Chris Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

Make sure it's the right fit for your team - for many, it's not

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We work with the Joomla CMS when helping customers with website updates, maintenance, and new functionality. Joomla is a Content Management System - so it provides an interface for customers to make updates to their website on their own. It also provides a framework for custom functionality and a library of extensions written by the community to extend its core functionality.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
Shawngela Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Joomla is a Robust Open-Source CMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla is the content management system used for my companies main site and training site. It will also be the CMS for an online summit that is in the process of being built. All departments use it and it addresses the need for a CMS that is effective, useful and overall easy to use.
Read Shawngela Pierce's full review
Jen Garfinkel-Canseco | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

A great CMS with an even better community of developers behind it.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Joomla for a number of websites for my clients. I've used Joomla for over 10 years. Joomla is an excellent CMS for building simple to complex websites. I've used Joomla for everything from small business websites, to real estate portals, to ecommerce websites, to social networks. The possibilities with Joomla and the many extensions and community members behind it makes it one of my top choices for web development.
Read Jen Garfinkel-Canseco's full review
Sean Pomory | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

Joomla Offers Hassle, Headaches and Stress

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla is used to manage our company Intranet. It is used as an information clearinghouse. We both communicate information on the page and use links, documents and videos to further assist communicating what ever is needed. Whether its for Human Resources, Medical Staff, Security or Marketing, we have place for it on our Intranet.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Rahul Kumar Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2018

The latest Content Management System equipped with powerful front-end and back-end

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla! is used in our organisation just for training purposes and giving ideas about the CMS to the newly hired interns.

It is used for the development team so I can say it is not for the whole organization but the development section of each team.
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

Missing the Mark - Joomla!'s SEO and Mobile Optimization Capabilities Need An Upgrade

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla is used by half of our small team, so roughly 4 people, all with varying levels of CMS experience and Joomla-specific knowledge. This was a legacy platform used by the firm and we have continued to use it as our primary website CMS.
Read this authenticated review
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2018

Joomla! for CMS... Simple and easy...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At that time, we used Joomla! to address the specific needs to create and build company Portal and some web applications for business purpose. So, we were using Joomla! as the main platform to serve it for IT departments and other teams as well. Joomla! already quite popular and easy to be used when we search the solution for this requirement.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Ho'omana Nathan Horton | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2018

Great, straightforward CMS that allows easy allocation of management of various pages

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use this to manage the pages for the English Department at a big university, so we have total access but each program or individual represented can, if they wish, have control over their own page.
Read Ho'omana Nathan Horton's full review
Danielle A. Pingitore | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2017

Joomla! is a great tool for anyone!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Joomla! is used by our marketing and web development teams. We design websites to hand off to our clients and also teach them to use it in order to allow them to make small changes. It addresses many problems such as time management and reliability. Being that we hand these sites off, they need to be user-friendly and easy to teach.
Read Danielle A. Pingitore's full review
Eli Aschkenasy | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2016

Joomla!, a view from the trenches

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use joomla! for a wide variety of projects, both internally and for clients. We use joomla! as a pure CMS for marketing projects as well as the core platform on which we build custom components servicing anything from price model calculations in the manufacturing sector to auction engine design in the food sector.
Read Eli Aschkenasy's full review
Robert Jacobi | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 14, 2016

Joomla! The Flexible Business Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Joomla! internally and externally on behalf of Fortune 50 to entrepreneurial firms. Joomla! addresses simplified management, great flexibility, and proper model–view–controller (MVC) development. With these tools, the least technical users in an organization can make significant content contributions, and developers are able to leverage a robust platform for significant customization with minimal distraction. Additionally, Joomla! is the first open source content management system (CMS) to be mobile ready and responsive utilizing Twitter's bootstrap framework. Out of the box Joomla! is ready to deliver.
Read Robert Jacobi's full review
James Fauria | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2015

Why Joomla still matters and the benefits of its use!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

From 2011-2013, as the Web Master for the City of Pomona I personally built a 300+ page website for a city government with little to no budget. The old website was antiquated and didn't allow for the easy and quick editing and dissemination of important information for the public citizens to obtain. After implementing Joomla, the City of Pomona’s website now has these features:


  • Each department has its own individual folder to store its data in.

  • The web administrator can Create users and groups and then assign them specific rights according to the built-in Access Control List (ACL) features of the new CMS system.

  • Specific users with specific rights can sign-in to the website from the Front-End and edit/update content.

  • When the web administrator posts new articles to the front page news section, it is also posted to the City’s FaceBook Page automatically with a Social Network AutoPoster.

  • Specific users with specific rights can access, edit, and update the City’s Calendar, directly through the front end.

  • The website features a contact manger that lists the pictures, phone numbers, email addresses, and fax numbers of the city’s departments, council members and the mayor.

  • Utilizing the Joomla Content Editor (JCE) Component, when standard users sign into the website to edit or update, it’s easy for them to get work done because the JCE is incredibly user friendly and very similar to Microsoft Word.

    There are many more beneficial features that are too numerous to list.
Read James Fauria's full review
Rita Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Joomla!, An Open Source CMS For The Rest of Us

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am a freelance web designer and content strategist who uses Joomla! as my platform of choice to implement websites for small businesses and non-profits. These websites run the gamut from brochures, landing pages, e-commerce storefronts, to major information portals. Joomla! and its extensions handles all aspects of each of these types of sites.
Read Rita Lewis's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (36)
8.8
API (32)
8.3
Internationalization / multi-language (33)
8.9
WYSIWYG editor (38)
7.3
Code quality / cleanliness (36)
7.7
Admin section (36)
8.3
Page templates (37)
7.7
Library of website themes (35)
7.5
Mobile optimization / responsive design (35)
7.6
Publishing workflow (35)
7.2
Form generator (32)
7.1
Content taxonomy (37)
8.4
SEO support (36)
7.7
Bulk management (35)
7.9
Availability / breadth of extensions (37)
8.4
Community / comment management (35)
8.3

About Joomla

Joomla! is a free, open source content management system used to publish web content. Joomla is written in PHP, uses object-oriented programming (OOP) techniques and stores data in a MySQL, MS SQL, or PostgreSQL database. Included features are page caching, RSS feeds, printable versions of pages, news flashes, blogs, polls, a search function, and support for language internationalization. Its dashboard organizing administrator tasks into context menus, from which content is edited, permissions set and changed, contacts managed, and messages sent to users. Extensions modify functionality in widely varying ways and provide flexibility.
Categories:  Content Management

Joomla Integrations

Joomla Competitors

Drupal, Kentico, Plone, Magnolia (V4.5 and prior versions), Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Joomla Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No