KACE Systems Management Appliance Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Gus Awad | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2019

KACE is great to manage all asset in your environment.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Agent push makes it quite effective in managing all assets on the network.
  • Patching is less cumbersome than Wsus and SCCM.
  • Ease of administering all PC assets.
  • The ticketing system keeps tracks of all tickets and communication between users and engineers.
  • The interface could use an update to look more modern and make sure it loads quicker.
  • There's email flooding with creating and updating tickets, which is not necessary.
  • More documentation would help with training.
Read Gus Awad's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

KACE could do a little better

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • KACE shows software, programs and processes of an asset/device.
  • You are able to deploy updates to multiple assets.
  • We've been having issues with devices not being inventoried in months, so the reporting/device info is not accurate.
  • Some updates that are deployed may not get installed on all assets, may encounter issues.
Read this authenticated review
Thayer Ramahi | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2019

KACE is worth every penny

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Helpdesk portal and automate create helpdesk tickets from helpdesk emails
  • Scripting made it easy to patch, update and deploy software to all our users
  • Inventory control to identify systems with hardware or software issues
  • Keep monitoring out of warranty systems
  • Easy to identify the user hardware (it associate the user with the hardware using it)
  • Easy to create process such as Change Management and Helpdesk
  • Easy to modify and create helpdesk categories
  • Quest Help desk is slow to respond
  • Hard to customize the reports, you need to engage Quest help desk and it might be at a cost
Read Thayer Ramahi's full review
Jeff Nickles | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Great System Management Platform for Small to Mid-size Organizations

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Inventory: KACE provides a ton of hardware and software inventory information that is easy to search, filter, and export. This is critical when we need to find the answers to questions about how many of such and such we have in our fleet.
  • Patch Management: We were using WSUS before and it was altogether too cumbersome. KACE has given us the power, flexibility, and verification we need to feel comfortable our patches are up-to-date.
  • Service Queue: We made KACE our help desk system and it does everything we need it to do. Great improvement over our old system.
  • Some of the recurring scheduling options for certain types of jobs are not as flexible as we'd prefer. It is enough to get the job done, but further enhancements in this area would make our jobs even easier. This is mostly related to the scheduling of patching jobs.
  • An even more powerful reporting/querying feature would be welcome. Again, what is there in KACE does the job, but it isn't as easy as we would prefer.
Read Jeff Nickles's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2019

KACE 1000 - The MSP's Lifesaver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The KACE agent is incredibly easy to install and manage - it only requires an outbound port of TCP 443 from the customer, which is normally open, to allow function.
  • You are able to push files to the agents via definable locations, or you can push and install files on a schedule or immediately.
  • It has a separate scripting engine that allows you to write up scripts that perform logical tasks, such as ensuring a file is present before running a command, and remediation logic.
  • Administrative interface can be slow at times, and does require some decent PC specifications to run adequately.
  • The cost of the KACE solution can be very expensive depending on how many agents you plan to deploy
  • There is a learning curve in order to master KACE's capabilities - however Quest does provide lots of resources to dig into. It is not as intuitive as it could be.
Read this authenticated review
Andy Anschutz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

KACE SMA is the Windows systems management software you need to get work done!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The automatic patch management by the KACE SMA helps keep our Windows systems up to date.
  • The ticketing system in the KACE SMA is very helpful for submitting tickets, tracking workloads, and keeping the clients up to date on progress.
  • The software inventory feature in the KACE SMA is really helpful in tracking of software and insuring that we stay in compliance with software licensing.
  • The KACE SMA needs a better way to handle different roles in the software so certain users can access or administrate certain parts of the software, but not the entire software installation.
  • The KACE SMA could improve the ticketing process of projects. The aspects of the title and some information do not always flow down from the parent ticket to its child tickets.
  • The KACE SMA could improve the UI of the software with the addition of different CSS color schemes.
Read Andy Anschutz's full review
Joseph Crook | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

KACE tools - decent product with room for improvement.

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Runs quietly - it does not eat up a massive amount of system resources and is silent - users seldom know it is there.
  • Tracking ticketing problems.
  • Pushing updates.
  • The interface... it is very clunky and can be problematic to work with. Refresh is slow - it is sluggish.
  • Too many email updates to ticket resources though, to be honest, this could be an adjustable control feature that I am not aware of. (I use Kace, I do not administrate it.)
Read Joseph Crook's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2018

KACE Managment System, Helpdesk

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Helpdesk ticketing, the software allows not only the building of a portal that the users can log into to submit the tickets, but it also allows them to generate a ticket via email, which is a huge successful implementation that we have had.
  • Live inventory tracking. With an agent installed on a PC, as long as we maintain the data, it can report back information that is crucial to the machine.
  • Web portal makes for easy maintenance and implementation of the software and updates.
  • Prior to Quest, we had issues with Dell support on the product. Since the buyout, it has been better to deal with support on issues.
  • Sometimes there are issues with the software itself. We have to resync some items sometimes to get things to work. For example, the helpdesk system stopped generating email created tickets, we re-entered the password in the KACE system and saved the settings and it fixed the issue. The password had not changed at all, so it doesn't really make sense as to why that happened, but there have been other things similar to the issue I just listed.
Read this authenticated review

KACE Systems Management Appliance Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Software and hardware inventory tracking (8)
8.1
License management (7)
8.6
Asset lifecycle monitoring (6)
8.4
Contract management (3)
7.6
Asset relationship management (4)
8.3

About KACE Systems Management Appliance

Quest now offers the KACE Systems Management Appliance (SMA) as an IT Asset tracking and management appliance (also available as a virtual deployment if hardware requirements are met). Beyond discovery, inventory tracking and license management, KACE emphasizes automating software upgrade distribution with minimal end-user disruption, featuring remote replication for multi-site upgrades and rollouts. KACE SMA may be bundled with KACE Cloud Mobile Device Management (MDM) to form a complete UEM solution.

KACE Systems Management Appliance Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No