Kahoot! Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
29 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Carly McPartland | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2020

Ready to Root for Kahoot!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses this application in similar yet different ways. We use this in individual classrooms, both at home and in-class. We use this in both primary and intermediate grade levels. For primary grades, we practice simple concepts with in-class review. In intermediate grades, students are able to create study sets, and teachers are able to create assessments by using reports within Kahoot. Teachers are able to monitor student progress and retention while dialing up student interest and involvement.
  • Inventive format
  • Colorful, vibrant design
  • Easy interface for young students to use
  • Easily adaptable for various age levels
  • Change and innovation can lead to unpredictability and confusion among students
  • Updates to the site left many colleagues confused
  • New interface feels cluttered and overwhelming
When teaching fifth grade, students enjoyed reviewing content covered in class by playing classic Kahoot games. As the site has evolved, teachers are now able to present lessons within Kahoot and use the same platform to review the content presented. Students do not have to changes sites mid-lesson. It is a game-changer.
I have not had to use support for Kahoot since beginning to use this site. Kahoot does, however, provide many topics for help and support readily available. These topics are continually changed and updated as the site evolves. Because this resources is always easily accessible, I have not had to reach out to support from a representative.
Read Carly McPartland's full review
Partha Protim Pegu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2020

My Kahoot! Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is currently used by the HR team of our organization to bring some fun and participation to the employees during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is currently used in organized sessions where employees and their families can participate. The winner gets rewarded with a special mention in our social media pages.
  • It is a very interactive tool especially for educational purposes.
  • It brings a sense of competition and it is fun to use.
  • Ability to support multiple users in mobile app
  • We can participate through our nicknames. So, sometimes it becomes difficult to track everyone's progress.
  • If the Kahoot! is publicly available, one can easily view all the questions and answers beforehand.
Kahoot! is well suited in tense business environments. It lets us lessen work pressure and indulge. It's fun to try to answer quiz questions quickly and accurately. Many think that it is only a classroom tool. But our HR team has shown that Kahoot! is well suited for businesses too.
We have not faced any issues regarding the app as we use it only for entertainment purposes.
Read Partha Protim Pegu's full review
Stacey Stearns | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2020

It's a fun and easy way to engage your audience.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Kahoot! in our department to engage youth and college students and test their knowledge on subject areas in a fun way. We use it with the youth and college students individually and in a team format. Although we are using it, I believe that many others in departments across the university are also using it in their classroom settings. I know this from informal conversations, but we don't have a university-wide license. Most of us are using the free education model.
  • Engages learners
  • Keeps it fun
  • Provides instant feedback
  • Is easy to use
  • It requires access to technology (students smartphones, iPads, etc.)
  • It would be easier if we could program the Kahoot ID into our presentations ahead of time. You have to activate it right before you start using it so there is always a moment's delay as we get organized before the students access it.
  • If you use it often enough you'll hear the music that plays during the game in your head even outside of the classroom.
Kahoot! is fun, the students like it, and it engages them with the activity. You can make it a group or individual activity and they test their knowledge without too much pressure. The game does all the scoring for you and provides updates after every question. It's really easy to use and provides interaction in the middle or end of a presentation.
It's fun, easy to use, and we have access to a free version.
Read Stacey Stearns's full review
Sarah Conner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2020

Kahoot! puts a fun twist on classroom learning!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of our Continuous Improvement efforts, making the experience fun has been difficult. By using Kahoot! to make it a "game show" type of learning environment, makes the information stick in a fun and upbeat way. Kahoot! makes the learning more interactive and positive! The way we were able to incorporate Kahoot! into our continuous improvement allowed our participants to retain the information, allowing them to be able to recall and apply that knowledge in the field. I educate my fellow employees on the various topics, then play a question and answer game-show type activity like Jeopardy. It gets everyone excited and participating instead of fading into the background and never actually "learning" what is being taught. I cannot say enough great things about Kahoot! and the many benefits it has to stepping up the education. And actually, I learned about Kahoot! from my kids. Kahoot! is used on a regular basis in the classroom to help reinforce the topic being taught. All positive feedback here!
  • Fun and upbeat way to learn.
  • Highly interactive.
  • Takes the mundane out of the typical learning environment.
  • The only problem that some users had was the delay due to their carrier/not being connected to Wi-Fi.
As I said before, Kahoot! makes the learning environment fun and interactive. It gets everyone involved.
I haven't had to utilize the Kahoot! support.
Read Sarah Conner's full review
Justin Harbin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2020

Kahoot! for training Teacher Candidates

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot is used by individual faculty members, most frequently within our education department. This allows us to model effective practices for our teacher candidates who will likely find it useful in the K-12 setting. This allows for real-time, every-student responses, which i've found sets up some really wonderful discussions. Based on student responses to an individual question, we can discuss what made that response correct or incorrect, why it was confusing, etc., thus engaging in meaningful reflection on learning.
  • Real-time responses.
  • Total student participation.
  • Allows teams of professors to share Kahoots across sections of the same course.
  • K-12 focus and UI can seem a bit 'childish' in the higher education setting.
  • Tool requires student devices, which isn't always practical.
  • Organization can be tricky if using across more than 1 class.
Kahoot! works quite well when you'd like to engage students in a total participation technique and see in real-time how their responses align to your stated learning outcomes. Basic analytics allow you to get a snapshot of student learning at a moment in time which is quite useful. That said, it is clearly designed for K-12. This works teaching in my teacher education program, but my colleagues in other academic departments find the UI a bit childish. This is a solid tool where you are confident students will have appropriate devices to participate, but if you are uncertain this might rule your use of the tool out.
Sizeable community of teachers using this tool means you can typically search and find effective practices and pitfalls to avoid. Documentation and guides from Kahoot! are also solid, but you are likely to find a fellow teacher in your own building or office suite that has experience and is willing to come alongside as you begin using the tool. This for me is a significant selling point regarding support.
Read Justin Harbin's full review
Matthew Gardner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2020

It's a Hoot to use for customer training

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is used by our Customer Success and Launch team to run interactive quizzes to supplement and engage users during on training and onboarding. It helps to keep end users paying attention during our training sessions (which now happen remotely, often to work from home employees who can easily not pay attention to the session) by forcing them to interact with quizzes and also encourages them by us offering prizes mailed to the Kahoot! quiz winners.
  • Engaging participants.
  • Easy to build quizzes.
  • Fun user experience.
  • Pricing, need a credit card for trial.
  • Holdback too many features on lower plans.
  • Starting to feel bloated.
Kahoot! is great for hosting games for many participants and can be used internally for employee onboarding and engagement, or externally as part of customer experience and training. We use it externally as a tool to train end customers and it works great. Kahoot! as it expands feels less designed for one-hit use cases like this and angling towards a continuous learning type model.
I have not needed to reach out to Kahoot! support. Everything is fairly self serve and self taught. The platform is simple enough to get going on your own and I can only picture contacting support for billing issues.
Read Matthew Gardner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2020

Kahoot for university? Yes!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my university, Kahoot is commonly used by the majority of professors as an interactive tool for either, in-person or online classes. The most common ways for the professors to use Kahoot are at the beginning of each lecture to get a better insight on what the level of the class regarding a certain topic, or at the end of the class, to know how well the class understood the concepts explained during the lecture. As a student, I find Kahoot to be an interesting and engaging tool for both, online and in-person classes. Kahoot allows me to explore concepts while competing with classmates in a risk-free and friendly environment.
  • Useful for either, in-person or online classes: it can work from a projector or screen in in-person classes, or by sharing the screen in online classes.
  • Excellent to get an idea of the understanding or knowledge level of a group of people: depending on the intention of the game, the professor or person in charge of it can make and change the questions to address certain points.
  • Easy to use for both professors and students: Kahoot is intuitive, simple, and fun to use.
  • Interactive and engaging: Kahoot is a game designed to work as a tool for professors, which makes it perfect to use with students.
  • Leaderboards are not the best. Having the ability to download the full leaderboards or have more in-depth reports of each game would be better.
  • Cannot get proper track of the placing of each participant. Again, the lack of proper placing reports after each game is an important fault, better leaderboards are necessary.
  • Internet connection plays an important role in the results. The punctuation system of Kahoot is time-based. A student that answered 2 seconds before another student will get more points, this can be affected by the speed of internet connections; a different approach to punctuation systems would be better.
Kahoot is excellent for small to medium groups of students, regardless of their ages. It is as useful at the elementary level as it is at the university level. Obviously, the questions asked would need to change according to the age and scholar level of the students. It is a wonderful tool to get the class engaged in a lecture-comprehension questionnaire. The reason behind Kahoot being suitable for such a large range of students is because it depends merely on the professor to take advantage of this tool, which makes it perfect for all types of school regardless of the age of students. Kahoot may not be as useful for large groups (30+), as due to the leaderboard system it has, some students may not care enough to put effort into answering the questions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Fun and competitive learning

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is my favorite tool to engage with my students. It's great for reviewing information, and students really enjoy it. I usually do games at the end of the class and students have told me that it helps them to retain the information. It's especially helpful for me as a professor in order to assess how many (and which) students are understanding the concepts. Then, I can reinforce that missing information with the students. It's fast, easy, fun, and exciting.
  • Reviewing class topics is fast, and it's hard to cheat due to timers.
  • Kahoot! music is exciting (my students even sing it).
  • Easy to prepare quizzes and easy for students to use
  • Great design and colors
  • Free version is limited, but it's still pretty good.
  • Slow connections impair students.
  • Your quizzes are public by default, so your students can just search your username and read the answers and cheat if you are not aware of this. (You can set them to only you, though.)
Kahoot! is great for online classes. You can make assessments, topic reviews, and even just plain games to engage with your class. It's especially great for short, timed problems that students can answer in a couple of seconds instead of harder questions. However, this is less appropriate if you are hosting a game with a bad network since it WILL encounter problems.
Kahoot! support is very attentive and always looking for ways to upgrade their services. I haven't had a problem with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2020

Online quiz platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is used by the whole institution in the institution where I have been working for 2 years. After all the activities held in the company, a competition is held on Kahoot!. It is very fast to download and install, it is compatible with Android and IOS. It's easy to create quizzes on Kahoot!. Anyone can create quizzes without any training. It has a user-friendly and simple design. The only shortcoming is that the answers are not written on the mobile application, only the figures are shown. Reading the answers over the projection and matching them with the figure can cause a waste of time.
  • Does not require membership.
  • Ready-made quizzes can be used or we can create our own quizzes.
  • Access is available from mobile, computer and tablet.
  • Historical reporting feature.
  • People who answer the exam do not write chic, only shapes appear.
  • Not popular enough.
  • There is only English language support.
I used Kahoot! for the first time when I started this establishment. It was said that there will be a competition on Kahoot! at the end of a training. Since I did not have enough time to download the application, I opened it through the browser and joined the application. Since I did not have any information about the application, I could not answer the question because I could not see any answer on my phone in the first question.
I haven't had any problems so far.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2020

Awesome for Everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is being used for training purposes for safety, harassment, etc. It is being used by service and parts team members. It helps save paper and is fun to use for the employees.
  • User friendly for the participants and person leading it
  • A fun experience
  • None - they have all different kinds of quizzes you can make and it's very easy to use
It's so easy for everyone to be able to use their phone and participate in the activities. It also instills friendly competition in the workplace which is always fun and intriguing for the employees.
Haven't had any issues yet with the technology side of things.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2020

Good education tool for interaction improvement in class

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! has been used in the classrooms for in-class small quizzes in many departments in our institute. Since it is relatively simple to set up questions on Kahoot!, teachers like to use it to engage students in class and deliver knowledge while playing games. Some courses which need drawings or somewhat computer-aided calculations may not tend to use it since Kahoot! does not support those features as other types of tools do.
  • It can be used on mobile phones in addition to computers, making it easier to access it during the pandemic.
  • Register to play for educators for free or reduced price.
  • Enhanced interaction between teachers and students by using this program in the class.
  • Be able to set groups and people in these groups for the same game.
  • Be able to support more file types for videos and figures.
  • Be able to provide more online courses available to users.
In classes involving more text content and reading than computation and design drawing, like talking about communication skills, marketing strategies, etc., Kahoot! can be used effectively for students and teachers to understand the course content. In engineering classes which would include calculations, drawings, and coding, Kahoot! may not have the best features to include these content in the program.
It is generally easy to use, and no need for special training before setting up a game.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2020

Kahoot! The best quiz app on the market.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our internal use, we have Kahoot! to do fun quizzes. We are a company of about 800 persons. We even used Kahoot! during our online informal meetings to do fun quizzes and it worked. Apart from being used in the whole company, some departments also use it for their departmental needs. Though not an essential product, we did buy a license and use it very happily.
  • Do fun quizzes!
  • Everybody can participate easily.
  • Winners are shown intermediately for some good competition.
  • Nothing in particular
If you want to do fun quizzes for your company, then buy a license and do the branding. Using Kahoot! is very easy for participants and by being part of the fun everybody is active. Of course, have some good prizes to be won so everybody is excited.
We didn't need support so can't tell yet, but the documentation is great!
Read this authenticated review
Gina Ruffcorn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Can't get enough of Kahoot!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot is being used in our elementary and high school education classrooms. It has been used across many grade bands and in many content areas. Kahoot excites and engages all learners. Teachers can easily interpret the detailed results from classroom Kahoot activities and make educational decisions to benefit all students. As Kahoot continues to add features and options to the platform, teachers and students benefit tremendously.
  • Kahoot is dedicated to engaging all types of people as they learn, in a fun and interactive way.
  • Kahoot continues to add features that benefit all types of learners.
  • Kahoot offers blogs, videos, and many opportunities to learn more about their platform.
  • Kahoot is intuitive and incredibly user friendly!
  • I would like to see Kahoot add the image reveal option to the Puzzle builder.
  • I would enjoy having the option to change the music while the question timer is running.
I have consistently and actively used Kahoot in my classroom for six years. It is one of the only educational platforms that has withstood the test of time for my students. The continued changes and updates to the platform keep Kahoot fresh. The company is open and receptive to suggestions and feedback to help them continue to improve the product.
The information that Kahoot shares on its blog and support center is updated frequently and provides many ideas for ways to use the platform. I have personally received timely support from Kahoot for any issues I have encountered. Their dedication to their users is amazing. The company is incredibly receptive to suggestions or ideas from their community.
Read Gina Ruffcorn's full review
Laura Steinbrink | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Kahoot! For The Win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is one of the top engaging tools for reviewing/previewing information. My organization (school district) uses Kahoot! to preview and review content, gamify information to disseminate at meetings, and to hold various competitions. By using Kahoot! in staff meetings and classrooms, we can increase the engagement and retainment of information by participants. Kahoot! adds that layer of fun needed to energize meetings, training, and the daily grind. Classroom teachers use it as well as the administrative staff to facilitate meetings when yearly information has to go out, like policy reviews, updates, and additions. There's nothing like a challenging competition to get the staff or students actively engaging in content!
  • Kahoot! has broadened its range of music that plays while a game is active to allow choice by the host.
  • Kahoot! has added student-paced mode, which allows learners to learn when and where it is convenient for them.
  • Being able to mix different question types has been one of the most popular feature requests by users and Kahoot! listened! You can now add a poll for a quick pulse check, slides for more explanation or context, and you can even toss in an open-ended question for deeper understanding.
  • Kahoot! continues to update & improve! From new game options, such as double points or turning off points, extended timer (up to four minutes) to the intriguing image reveals, Kahoot! knows how to listen and respond to product users.
  • The push to upgrade current account status by making it difficult to access content immediately upon logging in does get annoying.
  • Online reports are limited unless you purchase the premium features by upgrading your account.
  • Organizing Kahoot! by category or subject area is also not available, at least not in the free version at this time.
Kahoot! is great for previewing and reviewing content, spicing up yearly content that must be covered, bringing excitement and competition into a meeting, and helping participants bond through polls and other question types that can facilitate or jump-start discussions. With the new student-paced mode, Kahoot! can now be used for employees to learn new information without having to attend meetings or broaden their skill sets by using Kahoot!. To help employees earn badges or certifications within the company or for staff/students within a school. Some of the best features, though, are only for the premium customers, and that can make it difficult for smaller companies and school districts to get the most out of Kahoot!.
Kahoot! is pretty responsive to users, adding in new features and updating the product frequently in response to feedback.
Read Laura Steinbrink's full review
Carl Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 24, 2020

Kahoot!: Great for kids and adults!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is used as a formative assessment tool able to quickly identify how many students are understanding a concept. We then use that data to inform our instruction to see if there is anything additional we need to do to reach our students. It's a very fast, fun, and engaging tool.
  • Review.
  • Assessment.
  • Identify individual users.
  • More game modes.
Kahoot! is great for reviewing concepts for students and adults. It's an engaging, fast-paced program. It's great for middle school students as they want to compete against each other and Kahoot! provides that venue. It is not great as a teaching tool because you need to have some prior knowledge of the questions before engaging with the game.
I've never had any issues with the program so I haven't had to contact customer support. It's also a very easy to use platform but if one were to have issues with it I imagine a quick YouTube search would yield plenty of results. The only complexity is when you want to mix types of questions.
Read Carl Winter's full review
Natalie Shrestha | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Great for student activity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kahoot! to bring action to lessons. Students can test their knowledge without fearing the embarrassment of speaking up in class.
  • Easy to build the questions
  • Easy for students to get the app
  • Fun pictures and visuals
  • The free version only offers very limited types of questions.
  • Needs to be better about getting product name out there
  • Would be nice to have options in the free category for an organization to house all quizzes
Kahoot! is well suited for classroom games, student life activities, and orientation events. It is not suited for formal evaluation of students.
Have not needed to use support.
Read Natalie Shrestha's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Fun and Helpful!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our church did a Bible Club where we read the whole Bible in one year. At the end of the weekly meetings, we would take Kahoot! quizzes on topics covered that week. It was a blast! Everyone liked it--so easy to use and so fun to participate in!
  • Great user interface
  • Very easy to use
  • Engaging––people seem to love participating!
  • Need good internet connection (not Kahoot!'s fault, of course)
  • We have experienced some lag issues.
Based on my experience, Kahoot! is best used for online quizzes. If you want to make sure the topics you just explained really got into people's heads, Kahoot! can help doing so in a fun way. I appreciate the interface; it makes learning fun and enjoyable.
I haven't had the need to contact customer support for anything.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Great for SLPs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is an amazing product to keep students and staff engaged when presenting or teaching. Everyone always has a blast, and I have found it very helpful while working with clients in speech therapy and while presenting on topics to staff at staff meetings.
  • Interactive
  • Fun
  • Engaging
  • Can take time to set up
Kahoot! keeps students engaged in learning new things. We love using Kahoot! for social situations and for teaching kids pragmatic language.
Never used the support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

The best tool to test knowledge

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kahoot! is a great tool to maintain people's focus on learning. I did some training, and test knowledge with Kahoot! is the best choice.
  • Easy to use
  • It has a free version
  • Beautiful User Interface
  • The free version has a lot of limits
It's perfect for testing knowledge and maintaining students with a focus on presentations.
They are attentive and care about their clients.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Great testing and quizzing tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Kahoot! in the past to test my teams knowledge of products and processes in a fun way.
  • Creates a fun way to test your knowledge
  • Allows you to assess you team's knowledge
  • Allows you to track results
  • I'd like to see more options in regard to how the quizzes appear to users.
  • Like to be able to create multiple quizzes and users take them at random.
I have found Kahoot! fun, interactive, and helpful.
I never really had to use the support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Kahoot is a winner!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire county has access to utilizing Kahoot! in the classroom. We use the program to engage students in learning. You can input your own data or use something that already exists. Students are tested on the material/vocabulary in a game format that is stimulating, engaging, and challenging. Students get instant feedback on their progress as compared to other classmates. It is a wonderful study tool.
  • Classroom Engagement
  • Friendly competition
  • Build study skills
  • Adding pictures and videos for MC options
  • More searchable options
Kahoot! does an excellent job of building engagement for students while also building their study skills/habits.
I have not had one issue with Kahoot!.
Read this authenticated review

About Kahoot!

Kahoot! is a game-based learning platform designed to make it easy to create, share and play learning games or trivia quizzes in minutes from the company of the same name headquartered in Oslo.
Categories:  Gamification

Kahoot! Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No