Kaseya VSA Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Hunter Bonner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

Kaseya VSA - What you are looking for in an RMM suite.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole organization. We use it as a solution for RMM, as well as an inventory tool and for managing Windows updates.
  • RMM is very good.
  • Inventory is very detailed.
  • When installing for the first time, it takes hours before the remote control works.
  • Installer for RMM is very large.
It is well suited for an MSP that has at least 10 or more regularly paying clients. These would be clients like on a maintenance contract. It is less appropriate for the person running a side gig in IT support.
Read Hunter Bonner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2020

Kaseya...more like KaseNO!

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kaseya VSA was used by my company to remotely monitor our products that were installed in various locations around the world. It was mainly used by the engineering team for monitoring the test sites, manufacturing (which is what I was doing) monitoring our production test site, and by the field service team to monitor customer sites.
  • The home screen for all of the agents shows lots of information that you can customize.
  • File transfers to remote desktops were straightforward.
  • Connection issues. This was a constant headache for me. The internet would be working fine in both locations, but Kaseya would struggle to make the connection.
  • Customer service. Trying to fix the connection issues was another headache for me as well. They were difficult to discuss issues with and preferred email communication. This lead to the issues never getting resolved, even when we gave them full logs of our connection problems.
If you are looking for remote desktop software, I think there are much better options available on the market. I think for someone just starting out, the UI is very inaccessible. There are buttons everywhere, a lot of the features are only visible when you hover over a small icon, etc. The only thing I think Kaseya can potentially win over is if you like having the UI be filled with lots of information.
Read this authenticated review
John Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2019

Budget friendly but with high-end features.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized many platforms over the years and none have quite been as solid as Kaseya. Not to say there are not issues, but among the competition, we have found repeatedly that Kaseya takes a competitive edge. For example, it integrates with a large library of vendors, the support is decent (which for this market, is a win) and the product overvalue is fantastic.
  • Endpoint management.
  • Vendor integration.
  • Remote desktop.
  • Support times.
  • UI is a bit dated feeling.
  • Patch management can get a bit strange to manage.
I would say that for the SMB market, without a highly complex RMM need, Kaseya fits in perfectly. Managing multiple customers is easy, but growing too large may become cumbersome and more difficult to manage,
Read John Lewis's full review
John Kistler | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Best in class

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it to monitor and manage our 150+ corporate clients. It's integral to our day to day operations.
  • One dashboard for all engineers to access giving them a broad picture of what's going on in a client's network.
  • Together with BMS and IT Glue, we are able to proactively manage our client's IT needs. With proper ticket flow and dispatch calendar and scheduling, we are more effective and efficient when we handle their needs.
  • With a full suite of services through Kaseya, we can roll out products and services to our clients through one efficient product.
  • Better reporting.
  • Better training on current products.
  • Soc support.
Since we use it to manage our customer's networks, we are always pushing for more robust technology that gives us greater visibility into the network, and the Kaseya acquisition of IT Glue really helped that goal.
Read John Kistler's full review
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Kaseya VSA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kaseya in the role of system administration helps us to manage all our user's computers around all our local and remote locations and keep full control over administrator permission for the end-users technical support. It also helps us with massive deployments of software and also with deploying several administration tools we use as a standard in the company.
  • Remote control.
  • Remote system administration permisssions.
  • Massive deployments.
  • Re-enrollments of computers in the platform.
  • More stability in OnPremise systems.
Kaseya is a great product with an good remote control feature.
Read Kewyn Medina's full review
Aaron StPierre | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Kaseya VSA is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Kaseya VSA throughout our company to manage all of our systems. Kaseya VSA gives us the ability to control when Windows updates are applied. The benefit is that end users are not affected by updates during normal working hours. Kaseya VSA allows us to fully manage all aspects of our end-users systems.
  • Windows updates management.
  • Selectively install updates.
  • Third party patching.
  • Policy management.
  • Remote control.
  • VSA updates can be problematic.
Kaseya VSA is a great solution for small to large organizations. The software allows you to completely manage your Windows systems. While there is support for Mac and Linux the support pales in comparison to the Windows support.
Read Aaron StPierre's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

VSA is great at improving IT infrastructure reliability

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) for our internal operations and also use it to support our clients. Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) enables us to administer, patch, and monitor systems remotely. Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) has allowed our company and customers to manage IT resources better and also reduced downtime and has enabled better utilization of IT resources and staff.
  • Excellent remote administration of desktops and servers and other critical IT infrastructure resources.
  • Monitoring is great and is tailored to your exact needs and requirements.
  • Our and our customer's IT infrastructure reliability has overall improved.
  • Remote control can tend to be slow, especially bandwidth-limited locations.
  • The UI needs work and to be more streamlined.
  • Patch management takes time to set up and implement.
Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) is suited for any organization wishing to improve the reliability of its IT infrastructure and better utilize IT resources.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Get Kaseya to improve your IT infrastructure!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kaseya VSA internally for our IT operations and also at our customer sites to enable us to remotely monitor, administer, patch, and maintain end-users computers and servers. Kaseya provides a great array of tools for our IT operations that enable us to cut down the time that is spent on maintaining IT systems and improved reliability.
  • It enables to remotely administer end-users' computers and server.
  • It's a great reporting tool to get us an overview of IT infrastructure.
  • It improves the reliability of our internal IT operations and our end-customers' IT operations.
  • The monitoring tools notify if applications and servers are running properly.
  • Kaseya patching sometimes works and sometimes doesn't deploy all operating system hotfixes\patches.
  • It takes some time to configure correctly.
  • Tech support could use improvements, since you're usually on hold past 15 minutes.
  • Add-ons tend to be expensive.
Kaseya is great if you have an MSP division or require remote monitoring and maintenance of your, or your customers', IT infrastructure. Kaseya provides great tools to enable you to improve the reliability of any IT infrastructure. It then provides, and will show you, areas where repetitive problems arise, and helps you eliminate those areas to improve reliability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

VSA great tool for ease and piece of mind

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VSA for a few things. We use it to push out malware and anti-virus to all of our clients. This includes automatic definition updates for these programs. We also use the live connect feature. We have software that requires USB dongles for the software to be recognized as licensed. Through RDP, these dongles do not work. Using live connect, we can access the software.
  • Live Connect Feature
  • Dashboard
  • Easy to use software updates
  • Lack of 2FA options
  • Better communication for issues
If you have a company with a lot of employees/hardware, VSA is a great tool. It provides an easy way to manage everyone's machines. You can easily remotely connect/restart/manage computers on and off your network. The Kaseya agent allows for an easy way to manage computers that aren't on your network. Pushing out software updates in very easy. If you have a small company with not a ton of machines, it might not be as beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Kaseya VSA is not for everyone

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VSA for management services. We manage over 500 devices and use its available policies and management tools to keep them updated, to deploy new devices to existing companies, and to onboard new customers.
  • Schedules agent deployment, minimizes the need to touch each endpoint.
  • Global policy deployment or company defined.
  • Management dashboard, a one-stop place to see the status of all your devices.
  • Customer service, sales, and technical support are not always the best or the fastest.
  • The patch management policy is cumbersome and it does not work. A lot of end devices do not get the needed update or do not report back as necessary
  • Two-factor authentication is expensive
  • Kaseya does not have great reporting tools, and can be a pain when billing depending on your accounting system
This can be a very expensive tool. You pay this on a yearly based and cannot remove an agent at any time other than at your annual renewal date. If your agents fluctuated a lot, this could be expensive. They have a lot of plugins but not all work great, mostly in that everything is based for on-premise and not the hosted version. This is still a great product for the management server companies out there.
Read this authenticated review
Derek Schroeder | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2018

Kaseya VSA, great tool but could use some improvements

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSA is our primary monitoring and remote access system. It allows us to manage servers and workstations as well as remotely connect. This is used by myself and my service team daily. It addresses the obvious problem as an MSP of managing devices and assisting end users. VSA also assist with creating reports that are used to review hardware with clients.
  • Advanced scripting system, provides a great engine for building and deploying scripts to multiple computers and/or servers.
  • Remote control features, utilize clipboard as well as copying files and other settings.
  • Windows and third-party patching, push software updates as well as Windows Updates to servers and workstations.
  • Remote control is very slow. Both initiating connections and utilizing remote access is a bit slower than expected, and slower than competitors.
  • Interface is a little clunky. It's sometimes hard to navigate and difficult to pickup for new users.
  • Overall not very intuitive. Strange decisions for the backend code. In order to remotely connect once locating your agent, you must click on a small, unlabeled button on the far left. Hovering over the button is also how you review data, none of this is easy to pickup.
It is still one of the industry's largest RMM tools. It still boasts all of the necessary features to complete in today's world. Any MSP can perform their services with the product and be happy with it. Once learning the clunky interface and not-so-intuitive design, the software is extremely effective. Would still recommend the software as an optional vendor to MSPs.
Read Derek Schroeder's full review
Richard Trivedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Kaseya VSA - Powerful Network Operations Monitoring Platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kaseya to Manage our clients' environment. Kaseya makes routine maintenance and management much simpler allowing us to proactively maintain and manage our clients' environments effectively.
  • Scripting - Very powerful scripting engine that allows us to update/install applications and maintain PC's and Servers.
  • Policy Management - Globally configured policies allowing us to make changes to thousands of PC's quickly.
  • Monitoring - Monitoring engine allows us to Proactively respond to alerts quickly minimizing downtime significantly.
  • Patch Management - This module requires minimal effort to manage and maintain.
  • Support - Like all other competitors support is OK but the product is robust enough to reduce support requirements.
  • Customer Service - another team that is a bit poor especially when the issue involves multiple departments. Otherwise, the direct rep is very friendly and professional.
It is well suited for IT companies / Managed Service Providers and medium to large enterprises.
Read Richard Trivedi's full review
Racey Cave | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Kaseya is a solid choice

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses Kaseya VSA to support users throughout our company in our nearly 20 locations across the country. We can do more with Kaseya VSA than if we were physically seated at the machine and can complete nearly any operation silently without disturbing the users or disrupting productivity.
  • Remote access is fast and stable when needed to share a users session on a workstation. This allows us to directly see problems/errors, and directly witness what the user is trying to do when encountering problems. This is much more effective than relying on a users description of a technical issue.
  • Endpoint support is available without the user ever knowing you're working on their machine. Whether you're transferring files or applying registry edits, they keep working while you work.
  • Kaseya is always adding additional modules and interfaces with both internal and third party applications such as Veeam. Getting so much functionality in a single window makes our complex environment more simple to manage.
  • The only area I can see where a lot of room for improvement can be made is in scripting of Agent procedures. Making operations more modular and able to be assembled by technicians who might not be strong in a scripting environment would be helpful. In the mean time, Kaseya has an entire site and a whole team of developers who write Agent procedures for common tasks and make them available for free to all Kaseya VSA customers.
Kaseya is a powerful for multiplier. If you're trying to support a large number of endpoints and a substantial number of users with a small IT team, Kaseya is the way to go. Kaseya makes one technician able to do what would otherwise take several people and is well worth the investment.
Read Racey Cave's full review
James Buchholz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Kaseya VSA - it's ok..

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kaseya VSA for patch rollouts for Windows systems, scripts to keep computers optimized and clean and to perform routine tasks and onboarding, and gathering information regarding system configuration. All of our 6 techs use it all day.
  • Quick at-a-glance specs and sorting of such of managed computers is really awesome.
  • I really like the Agent Procedures "language" and sample procedures for building scripts for common tasks and program installation.
  • When Live Connect works, its a convenient way to browse the system files and registry.
  • Live Connect is not very stable. Needs an update constantly and does not work until it is updated, even sometimes not after that. I've had to uninstall and reinstall LiveConnect many times.
  • Patch management is not very intuitive.
  • We've never been able to use the Chat function part of the Remote Control module.
  • Keyboard shortcuts and macros don't pass through the LiveConnect remote control and restarting the computer through LiveConnect is awful. You get disconnected from the system before it even shuts down and sometimes the shutdown doesn't complete and there you are disconnected because presumably the LiveConnect service shuts down first.
  • Sometimes scripts will just not run with no explanation.
Good for gathering information about hardware/software of a system, for installing and managing antivirus. Good for running common tasks or installing common programs.
Not good for logging into a computer remotely.
Read James Buchholz's full review
Christopher Jon Olesch Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Kaseya VSA in a nutshell

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kaseya to automate patch management, audit equipment, and finish systems configs during the build process on all managed systems.
  • Applies specific settings to machines that match certain criteria
  • Remotely run scripted procedures against monitored events in system event logs
  • Maintains and audit and change records of all devices
  • Manages machines across multiple active directory domains
  • Policy application & push. Currently all policies claim to not be current on 1000's of machines, when in fact they are. Re-running policy sync's across all devices daily is a huge tax on the system. Although this is strictly a cosmetic issue, because the policies are in fact correct & current, the dashboard lacks the ability to keep its' records straight. This has been a problem since version 6.
  • Live connect. In earlier versions I could customize web links for end users, this feature was removed in 9.0, and has been raised to dev on multiple occasions. Under the current version only a max of 5 links appear, and they are customization by the end user.
  • Patch policies need to include a simpler way to exclude patches. Like with WSUS its much simpler to have a policy that denies specific patches rather than creating a policy to allow everything with exceptions. When policies are changed every month with new patch cycles this is hard to manage.
  • The Reporting feature lacks an intuitive interface. Its easier to write a query and run it on the back end in Microsoft reporting than use the built-in reporting feature.
  • Procedure log interface needs to be created. When writing procedures and then testing them, I have to leave the procedure section and browse logs under audit, then return to procedures.
  • Procedures that fail need to have additional logging, there is a lot of guess work when trying to understand why a procedure failed, this could be simplified by passing the powershell or dos failures directly into kaseya, instead of saying this line item failed.
  • Procedures that fail under IF then statements, it would be better to state which line item failed when using if then statements instead of saying a script failed at the if then statement and not a line within the if then statement.
Since the Kaseya VSA module is very specific in what it covers, this module is well suited for patch management, script automation, third-party updates, and device state statuses. I honestly cannot think of reasons for why it would not be appropriate. It excels at automating scheduled procedures (a lot better than SCCM).

Where Kaseya runs short is in their product support. They lack the understanding of their product, I end up solving most of my problems even after opening tickets. They also like to close tickets that are still in progress, as well as open multiple tickets for the same issue.
Read Christopher Jon Olesch Jr.'s full review
Vincent Capra | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 24, 2017

A must have for MSPs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a managed service provider and Kaseya VSA allows us to manage all areas of our managed services under one window. This system allows me to manage everything from backup, security, and maintenance from one system. We have over 500 endpoints on the system that we manage. Without VSA we would have to manage every system individually.
  • Integrate security software such as Malwarebytes enterprise and Kaspersky Enterprise and allow you to manage these systems for many companies under one window.
  • VSA has a great backup system built into it. We have the ability to backup endpoints to our secure cloud without a VPN.
  • Scripting is very easy with VSA. We set up maintenance scripts to run on all our desktop endpoints. The system comes with some great scripts out of the box and the website has many more scripts you can use.
  • VSA support has fallen short in the past. Tickets with Kaseya support take a long time to get completed.
  • Some plugins within the system (that Kaseya own) always have issues and have to be re-installed.
  • I wish the system had a time billing option (without buying add-on).
If you manage workstations and servers this is a must have. We have cut down our labor on monitoring and maintenance. We manage many companies through this system. We don't need any special connections to the companies we manage.
Read Vincent Capra's full review
Isaac Beyda | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

Isaac's Review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Kaseya VSA mostly throughout the entire company to remote access PCs and servers. It addresses problems where users are having issues doing certain things, then we can remote into their PCs and fix that for them. Also, when we need to do maintenance on servers, we can use this tool for that.
  • Agent Procedure Scripts.
  • Pushing out Anti Virus and Anti Malware.
  • Remote Controlling PC's and Servers.
  • Better Support for Remote Access (less disconnections).
  • Support for Live Connect through Google Chrome.
Kaseya VSA is well suited with the fact that you can push out anti virus, anti malware, or even scripts to a number of machines and not just one at a time. It is less appropriate, where I occasionally get thrown off of a remote session with a user.
Read Isaac Beyda's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Remote monitoring (10)
7.9
Network device monitoring (10)
7.0
Multiple Server Monitoring (10)
7.9
Multi-device monitoring (10)
7.5
Automated alerts and notifications (10)
7.6
Patch Management (9)
7.6
Service configuration management (9)
8.2
Software and hardware inventory (8)
9.0
Policy-based automation (9)
8.0
Performance data reports (9)
7.6
Customizable reporting (8)
6.8
Data visualization (7)
7.3
Risk analysis (6)
7.6
Data backup and recovery (6)
8.3
Antivirus and malware management (9)
8.6
Adinistraor access control (8)
8.9

About Kaseya VSA

Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA) is a cloud-based Remote Monitoring and Management software. VSA unifies the monitoring of system infrastructure and endpoints and is designed for use by IT teams and MSP’s. It offers a robust crowd-source automation scripts library, as well as antivirus and malware capabilities with real-time threat alerts.

Kaseya VSA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No