Kira Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
26 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
George de Magalhães Carvalho | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

Brazilian Perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Brazilian law firm. As such, Kira is not able to be used in the majority of our work out-of-the-box. In addition to training Kira to handle Portuguese documents, we are already using Kira in M&A Transactions and to read and extract certain information from legal certificates (in both cases limited use only).
  • Reading M&A Contracts
  • User-friendly interface
  • Simple training process
  • Develop other languages out-of-the-box
  • Customize options to extract information
  • More interactions with VDR providers with need to download documents
Being a non-English-speaking user, although Kira is a very useful tool and has great potential, having to invest many hours in training before being able to effectively use the software in real-life application is by far the greatest drawback. If that initial barrier is surpassed, Kira is very useful for any contract-based law practice.

It is not very useful for Brazilian litigation standards.
  • Built-in Smart Fields are useful for being able to use the product out-of-the-box.
  • APIs with VDR providers – in Brazilian deals we are still not allowed to download documents.
  • Exports – however need more options to customize the output

Always available.
Promptly helpful.



The interface is very user friendly and fast. The learning curve is almost non-existent.
Read George de Magalhães Carvalho's full review
Ali Shahidi | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

Kira Review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by attorneys in our transactional practices on select projects. It helps organize incoming workflow and enables us to manage tasks by spreading the work across multiple resources. Additionally, it streamlines the process of document review by automatically detecting provisions. It reduces the time typically used to do the same tasks manually.
  • Automatic detection of provisions
  • Ability to assign tasks to multiple resources
  • Easy to use interface
  • Significantly lacking different levels of permissions for user accounts
  • Significantly lacking alerting and notification mechanism
  • It is not competitively priced in comparison to other platforms that offer the same technology
Kira Systems is suited for projects that:
Require quick turnaround
When the typical size is 50 to 500 documents
Where the typical scope is focused on generic provisions


  • Exports and export formats work well
  • Built-in provisions are very useful
Other similar vendors have been much more supportive of internal projects and have been more flexible.
it is easy to use, but lacks proper admin functions - for example different levels of security and access, in addition to lack of automated notifications.
Read Ali Shahidi's full review
Coleta Wesso | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

Kira offers an in-depth analysis of contracts and other documents.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ENSafrica uses Kira Systems for our contract and document review projects in order to improve efficiency, speed, and accuracy. Kira is also used to reduce risk and costs in regard to our contract and document review. Kira is open for usage to our entire organization. Kira is mostly used by our Corporate Commercial departments regarding, inter alia, due diligence investigations.
  • Kira quickly identifies, analyzes, compares, and extracts text in contracts and other documents.
  • Kira has project management features.
  • Kira has hyperlink features.
  • Kira has exporting features.
  • Not having the ability to analyze handwritten or less legible content.
  • Kira should bestow clauses that cover jurisdictions globally.
  • The structure of Kira could improve. For example Worksheets could follow Document List.
Kira systems is well suited for the review of contracts and documents relating to due diligence, compliance, labor law matters, lease abstraction, finance and project management, amongst others. Kira is also well suited for comparisons of contracts and documents, a tool our Firm has also utilized. Furthermore, Kira is well suited for exports and project management. Kira is less appropriate for languages such as Mandarin or Arabic. Kira is also less appropriate when dealing with contracts or documents containing less legible content. Though our Firm has not requested training (quick study), the element of training Kira and the pursuit of documents in order to train Kira can also be seen as a hurdle.
  • The export tool has assisted in due diligence investigations.
  • The comparison tool has assisted one of our Corporate Commercial Departments.
  • The Dashboard has assisted in project management.
There was an email sent out with technical questions that was not attended to. However, Kira support has been good in general in that emails are well attended to overall, the Kira support portal is great and regular meetings are held.
Kira is great to use in many respects such as comparisons, exporting, tagging, creation of summaries, project management and document analysis. Kira could improve in the system structure and in the including of all jurisdictions in their smart fields.
Read Coleta Wesso's full review
Andy Mc Donnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

AI that provides defined benefits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using it for due diligence exercises across the firm. It allows us to speed up the review, and assists with the accuracy of our review. We also use it for internal validation exercises and determine trends in the market. Finally, we use it to help search across certain decisions from quasi-judicial bodies to determine trends in decision making.
  • User friendly
  • High degree of accuracy
  • Easy to manage projects
  • Excellent search capabilities
  • More options for exporting results.
  • Integration with document automation platforms.
  • Separate client only view.
Red flag DD reporting is an obvious example of where Kira works well. You require a defined set of red flags, and reviewers must be comfortable differentiating between true red flags and ambers based on Kira results, but this process can be effectively streamlined and lends itself well to the out of the box trained Kira concepts. Kira is less helpful in niche, practice/market specific scenarios, where out of the box concepts do not exist and training is required. While the training can be performed, it doesn’t allow for the practice to immediately avail of Kira’s best quality.
  • Smart fields
  • Quick study
  • Dashboards
Practice consultants are excellent. My practice consultant is always available, listens to concerns, and provides practical advice and guidance. He is also comfortable to say if something is not possible or the functionality is coming, whereas other vendors have led me down rabbit holes. That level of honesty provides an extra level of comfort when selling the software and process internally. In my practice consultant, I have a colleague rather than a vendor, and that is a very important distinction to me. Kira support desk is excellent. Quick responses and helpful follow ups.
Simple, easy to use software. It is clear time has been spent on the UI, and while improvements can always be made, the current UI means my time spent training colleagues is minimal.
Read Andy Mc Donnell's full review
Stephen Allen, FRSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Kira fan

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kira as a core tool in our offering to clients for reviewing contracts and documents at volume. It makes us more efficient and greater capacity. The tool is very reliable and is capable of being trained and adapted to ours and our client needs. Support and customer service from Kira has always been very strong.
  • Stable.
  • Easy to train.
  • Easy to use.
  • Would be great to be able to have a market for trained fields.
Kira is very strong in the English language and works very well for all Latin script languages. Uploading documents is easy and the project management tool enables us to manage large scale reviews efficiently. We have used this for due diligence exercises and for large scale regulatory reviews. Whilst the core tool is suited to Latin script - the compare function works really well in any language.
  • Smart fields.
  • Compare function.
  • Quick study.
Excellent. We’ve very strong customer support professionals who deal with everything this from general queries to technical support and training. We have enjoyed many sessions globally which we’ve seen excellent feedback on. Kira have always been very open to collaboration with our other partners and legal tech firms which has enabled us to create excellent solutions for clients.
This is such an easy tool to use. Whilst we have had a number of people undertake advance training - it is possible for anyone with just thirty minutes basic training to be able to use the tool very effectively. Access is easy and training to tool is simple. It is also easy to use the project management capabilities.
Read Stephen Allen, FRSA's full review
Mike Bajis | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

A great start to AI in the workplace!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kira to verify contract information during audit, tax, and consulting engagements. It helps us identify issues earlier in the process, standardizes our procedures, and saves a bit of time.
  • Kira allows us to create standard procedures for what we look for in a particular type of contract.
  • Kira can highlight the top things we want to pull out of a contract.
  • Allows us to complete the review process in one place, then export the information to our work papers.
  • Makes us feel good about using AI.
  • The interface is built for a customized experience every time you use Kira. We like to standardize. Audiencing the experience will help us a great deal.
  • The ability to integrate with more systems to export the data directly into.
  • Analyzing the table data.
  • Provide additional organizational management features—like default worksheets that stay, the ability to order the worksheets and deletion of users, contracts, and projects.
It works well on standard contracts and allows us to push the work to less experienced staff members.
  • Ability to create Smart Fields. Allows us to use Kira for our own specific purposes.
  • Exporting multiple contracts to Excel. Better review for amended agreements.
  • Marking up Word documents after export. Allows us to brand the documents.
They are very prompt, reactive and communicative.
It's pretty easy to use but could use some upgrades listed previously in this survey. It really needs the ability to focus on a particular type of staff member at larger organizations.
Read Mike Bajis's full review
Peter Geovanes | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2020

Leveraging Kira for Revenue Generation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kira Systems is enabling our law firm to leverage technology to address this challenge, as conventional approaches are both too difficult, time consuming and costly.
  • Well designed.
  • Powerful NLP and AI.
  • Unmatched accuracy and speed.
  • Attorney friendly design.
  • Kira continues to provide additional smart fields.
Kira is made for due diligence, but has the capability to do much more.
  • Smart fields.
  • Quick Study.
  • XLS exports.
Technical support, sales support and attorney (use case) support has been exceptional.
If the tool was not intuitive for our attorneys to use, we would not have purchased.
Read Peter Geovanes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2020

Kira for Single Document Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Practice Innovations department handles setup and manages all ongoing Kira projects. We currently use Kira to speed up high-volume contract reviews for clients and to organize our outside counsel policies.
  • UI/UX - tagging and naming feels much easier than you'd expect machine learning to feel
  • Accuracy - Kira's built-in models perform well out of the box
  • Assistance - Kira's support team gets back to me same day if I have a question
  • Missing functionality - rules; regex; that's the next step in our workflow we'd like to automate
  • Quick Study - I'd prefer a quick study window that I could personalize more. Alphabetical foldering means I usually have to search for my clauses because it's too hard to find them when scrolling. There are too many clauses in Quick Study that we've never used and can't edit. Why not have a separate built-in clause bank?
  • Renaming documents - people upload them with crazy names. I'd rather be able to change the name than have to determine whether it's worth the cost to re-upload the same document with a helpful name.
Kira is great for extracting text from a document. It doesn't have legal judgment. It doesn't understand whether a clause should be in a contract, but it can tell you if it's there or not.
  • Exports - so the end users of my report never have to login to Kira
  • API - we wouldn't be customers without it
  • Quick Study - again, we wouldn't be customers without it; we custom train in nearly every project
I miss Sondra! There was a gap in coverage when she left, but we seem to be back on Kira's radar with the QA Early Access program.
Simple to use once trained. I have yet to have another user "get" Kira in a way that allowed them to tag/train. Most of our users prefer than I handle the Kira portion for them. Usability could be improved, but it may be better to have only well-trained users regularly logging in.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

Fantastic product, highly customisable, highly recommended!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is almost exclusively used as a due diligence tool at my firm. The main users are trainees, junior associates and our ALT teams in Belfast and Australia. As far as I'm aware, it is mainly used for M&A transactions.
  • Automated review of documents which are in a similar form.
  • Use of smart fields/filters.
  • Customisation.
  • Integration with other providers.
  • Desktop launch.
Kira is a great due diligence tool and can be well utilised on both large and small transactions. It also has good application if you are looking to compare multiple documents against a model form document or market standard templates. Kira is less useful if you are looking to review emails (e.g. as part of a disclosure exercise); or if your review involves non-Latin based script languages.
  • Smart Fields.
  • APOs.
  • Adaptive Workflow Tools.
We have an excellent relationship with the customer support team.
It's very intuitive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2020

Kira: Making review easier

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kira is used across our international business by any practice group that needs to undertake document review and due diligence. We use Kira to improve the quality and efficiency of our document review process.
  • Good for quickly getting to the relevant part of the document in the English language, the smartfields are accurate.
  • Handles large scale review well with an excellent UI and helpful project management features.
  • Cloud-based platform handles multiple simultaneous reviewers efficiently and easily.
  • Ability to self-train smart fields is a definite advantage.
  • Inability to relabel smart fields to suit the review process means it is hard to align it to particular projects (e.g. it would be useful to relabel the "Assignment" smart field as "Is the contract assignable?")
  • Not enough non-English smart fields.
  • Needs the ability to resell user-trained smart fields in a marketplace.
  • Output is not customizable enough.
  • Built-in analysis tools are useful but a little basic.
Kira is particularly useful in large scale review exercises with multiple reviewers across different departments. Its benefits scale with volume.
  • Smart fields
  • Project management tools: assigning, tagging, etc.
  • Integration with HighQ.
  • Accessibility and autosave features.
Kira are always responsive to user queries and requests.
One of Kira's key features is the ease of use and accessibility. Users at all levels find Kira easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

Overall positive, but somewhat mixed

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Review various types of contracts with specific provisions of accounting significance. We use it as a quality control check to make sure we didn't miss anything when we read the agreement. It is being used by both our assurance/audit practice as well as our tax practice and risk advisory practice.
  • Good agreements already trained by Kira.
  • Reviewing documents in Kira with color coding.
  • Export to Excel/Word.
  • Ability to customize access and structure at organization level/restrict which models can be used.
  • More detailed user guides.
  • More models trained by Kira for accountants.
Kira is well suited for reviewing long agreements that are fairly standard. There is a risk that something can be missed when manually reading, and this risk increases as the length of the agreement increases.
  • Built-in smart fields.
  • Ability to review documents with color coding.
  • Exports.
We have made several recommendations over the past three years related to pain points for the accounting use case and it felt initially like the feedback was requested but not really prioritized and acted upon. However, I believe this was resolved as I understand KIRA is working on many of the recommendations we made. The account rep is very nice and I enjoy working with them.
It isn't initially intuitive, but once you figure it out it is easy to use. We spent a lot of time through trial and error and a lot of time was wasted trying to learn and train the software. Now we understand it and can do it quickly, but it wasn't abundantly clear on the front end.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

My review of Kira

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Complete an initial review of standard contracts for certain important terms of the contract, and to extract those terms into a visually appealing document.
  • It does what you tell it to do. By that I mean you have to train it to find relevant passages in a contract. Once you do that, it does it well, but that process requires a lot of time to train and many examples.
  • It does it over and over again: Once trained, it can repeat the process ad infinitum.
  • It can learn: When you review a document and realize it either highlighted something it shouldn't have or didn't highlight something it should have found, you can alert Kira to that correction and it learns from that information.
  • Finding that many contracts aren't that 'standard' and if not standard, it is impossible to find enough examples to train with
  • Many contracts have handwritten data, especially the key terms that it cannot read.
  • Sometimes the contracts have attachments with important terms, we find that harder to train.
Great: Standardized machine legible contract reading and extraction. Not so great: non-standardized terminology or illegible or handwritten documents.
  • Built-in fields that I don't have to train the model on saves me time.
Overall, they try to assist, but sometimes, what we need and what they can do aren't in synch. Not their fault, perhaps it's our expectations.
It can be useful, but getting buy-in from users has been hard.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

Kira goes international: difficulties of implementing Portuguese smart fields

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our firm has used Kira so far mostly for training it to read contracts in Portuguese. We have achieved good accuracy in some clauses so far and have used the software in a few due diligences for M&A transactions. Kira was used only in controlled scenarios and by people that are part of our project on implementation.
  • Good out of the box clauses in english with great accuracy.
  • Good costumer services, always with fast and efficient responses.
  • Easy to use, not requiring much training for using.
  • Kira doesn't have out of the box clauses in other languages.
  • High prices, especially considering the market in Latin America.
  • Capacity of reading other types of documents, such as certificates.
Well suited for law firms focused on M&A in North America, Canada, or the UK. For firms outside English speaking countries, I believe Kira can be too expensive to be used, once it requires that the firm itself teaches Kira how to read in their language. In our experience, once Kira is ready to go it can be an extremely important and useful asset. However, it takes a lot of time to get it ready to go. And it can make Kira very expensive in countries where English is not the primary language.
  • Quick study once it allows us to train Portuguese clauses.
  • Userfriendly features, making it easy to use for first timers.
  • Reports easy to export.
Anytime we had difficulties in using Kira, the support team responded very fast and solved all problems.
If our firm had more contracts in English, the usability of Kira would be rated higher. However, since we have to train clauses in Portuguese in order to use Kira, it makes its usability lower. We still are not able to fully use Kira for reading contracts in Portuguese. It takes a long time and many associate hours to make Kira usable in other languages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 29, 2020

Kira - Good doc review platform

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it broadly across the whole organisation, however some teams use more than others (Commercial and Real Estate). We use it for business as usual document reviews, as well as some larger projects focussed around diligence exercises and/or contract reviews. It solves the problem of inefficient doc review tools / manual processes being carried out by junior members of the firm. Speeds teams up a lot on that first level of review.
  • UX - very easy to use and train people on.
  • OCR and doc search is well organised and functional.
  • Comparison feature really good.
  • Project management features make review teams easier to manage.
  • Built in provisions really useful for standard documents.
  • Training new provisions can sometimes be a bit unwieldy.
  • Search across all documents sometimes too over inclusive (in documents it is great).
  • Inability to rename folders and files in the platform.
Well suited - standard reviews of similar document sets. BAU work where similar documents are repeatedly reviewed. Any large scale review really, just as long as it is managed properly and the limitations are explained.
Less appropriate - Looking for nuanced or complex information that patterns are less likely to be found in. Like doing a general provision for 'Restrictions.'
  • APIs & Integrations.
  • Built in provisions lists being so detailed.
  • Comparison feature.
Always come back quickly and the support portal is really good.
Very easy to use, people get up to speed with it quickly, most things are self explanatory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2020

A great AI tool with some limitations, a great company to work with

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By a number of departments, but not all. To speed up due diligence carried out by lawyers and to improve accuracy and project management.
  • Intuitive system: easy for users to pick up.
  • Constantly improving product with regular publication of new pre-trained fields.
  • Excellent training videos and online help available, plus a knowledgeable help desk.
  • Strong account management with account managers who really do know the product and their customers.
  • Extension of the tool so that it is not just extraction of clauses, for example, some products can re-draft contracts once areas for change have been identified.
  • Direct link with iManage.
  • Ability to change name of document once uploaded, which is not currently possible.
  • Ability to change the name of pre-trained fields to better match client requirements.
  • Extension of the tool so that if a certain clause is found a pre-written shorter summary is inputted.
Best used for more standardized documents. It can sometimes struggle to read poorly drafted documents because of a lack of pattern in them.
  • Built-in smart fields. In-house training of smart fields takes time and resources, so it's great to be able to use them for immediate reviews. The collection of built-in smart fields is extensive.
  • Dashboard: We are a national law firm and frequently put together teams from across the offices for due diligence. The dashboard enables the project leader to see at a glance how the team members are doing and the reviews they have carried out. We love the fact that random foreign language documents are identified immediately and not 2 weeks into the due diligence. Allocation of the documents to particular individuals stops duplicate work, which can happen if the work is set manually.
  • Comparison tool is highly praised by lawyers.
Customer Support is excellent. The online help portal is probably the best I have ever seen. Great videos with content easily found. The HelpLine is staffed by knowledgeable people. The videos have saved us providing a lot of in-house training, which we would struggle to resource. The account managers really know the product and their law firm clients and share best practices and trends.
Great for undertaking due diligence on relatively standard documents, but like any AI, it struggles to read "messy" documents and it cannot provide any interpretation, just clause extraction.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Kira: A big law perspective

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used to improve the way we carry out transactional document review exercises, enabling us to more effectively and efficiently carry out those exercises, and at a greater scale than would otherwise be possible.
  • Used across our international practice.
  • Heavy use in our low-cost paralegal team—Legal Delivery Centre.
  • Quickly surfacing unstructured data from large sets of documents.
  • Assisting with the workflow aspects of a doc review exercise.
  • Expanding the set of built-in smart fields to cover non-English languages.
  • A wider range of integrations with other tools. Existing integrations to be more fully-featured and customizable.
  • Ability to record and surface structured data from documents.
  • More customization of format of exported output.
  • Comprehension of "families" of documents (eg. a primary document and subsequent variation/amendment documents). Kira currently treats documents on a doc by doc basis.
  • Well suited to attempts to "map the landscape" and get a high-level view of a large set of diverse documents in a transactional due diligence context.
  • Less suited to attempts to extract and collate structured data from a set of similar documents.
  • Built-in smart fields
  • Quick Study
  • Advanced search with multiple filters
  • Our Kira practice consultants are always very responsive and eager to help.
  • The technical support team is incredibly responsive.
  • The depth of support on internal adoption is more lacking.
A very powerful tool in the hands of an experienced user. Given its divergence from traditional working practices, there is quite a steep learning curve involved, with unfamiliar terminology. Takes the average user a fair amount of time investment to get a relatively limited understanding of the full depth of its abilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Kira Systems: Making document review a better experience for the legal team and the clients!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Kira System to assist with the first review of large data-sets in the context of transactions.
To date, 3 of our practice groups have used the tool—our Corporate, Property, and Employment teams.
Being a mid-sized firm we don't have teams of people to review large-ish document sets. Even if we did, clients don't have the appetite to pay for teams of people to identify and extract key terms. The value is not in identification and extraction but rather in the legal team's review of those terms. Using Kira assists us in meeting the expectation of our clients. They appreciate that we form strategic partnerships with others, such as providers of legal tech to help provide the best legal service and keep the costs down. Using Kira to identify and extract key terms means that our legal teams can focus on the analysis and are often earlier on in the process due to Kira's ability to undertake this task very quickly irrespective of it being a large and often unstructured data-set.
  • Review of large unstructured document sets very quickly. Often the identification and extraction of identified key terms can happen in a few minutes.
  • Many pre-build key terms particularly for mergers and acquisitions.
  • Training Kira to recognize locally used terms and concepts is easy to do.
  • Some project management functionality i.e. the ability to set up project groups and assign tasks to members in the project team.
  • More assistance with the building of locally used terms and clauses particularly for smaller firms who don't have the people to sit and train.
  • Nicer looking standard templates.
KIRA is well placed to assist with the review of large sets of documents quickly. Particularly terms that are used and recognized in a number of jurisdictions (USA/Australia/UK), assignment, and change in control. Review documents where terms to review are very specific to the jurisdiction outside the USA, for example, property terms in Australia.
  • Many pre-built smart fields.
  • Fantastic training and support portal.
  • Really easy to use. Doesn't require much training. It's intuitive.
The local client relationship manager in Australia is great. The training and support portal with the very quick self-help wikis is fantastic. Quick to respond if you need phone support.
It is easy to get started and use. The dashboard is clean and there aren't too many tiles and buttons so it's easy to find what you need. It's intuitive. Functions are typically found where you would expect them to be.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2020

Kira is a great tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kira is used in various departments in our organization. For the first few years, the primary use of Kira was for M&A Due Diligence. For the past couple of years, we've been exploring more uses, for example, contract analysis, contract management, and deal studies. The recent "shelter in place" world that we live in has expanded our user's acceptance of Kira.
  • Our lawyers love using Kira in straight-forward due diligence projects.
  • Recently, more specialists have become interested in using due diligence for their reviews.
  • Kira handles the project management very well.
  • Working with data rooms (importing updates to the data room) is our users #1 complaint.
  • Reporting: It's pretty basic, better graphical interpretation of the results would be helpful.
  • Identification of similar documents: I know they're working on it but it would be a good feature to have.
Kira is well suited to handle standard M&A due diligence and contract analysis. We're just beginning to explore it to do deal studies and contract management but feel there's a lot of potential to use it for those. We're also exploring ways to use it to enhance our knowledge sharing libraries.
  • Built-in smart fields: This is a rapidly expanding list covering more areas all the time.
  • Quick Study: This feature is becoming more and more important as our lawyers start thinking of new ways they want to use Kira.
  • Review Status: Our users love being able to track the progress of the projects so they can report to clients on the status.
We've had excellent support from our customer experience representatives (we've gone through a few!) and I would give them a 10 out of 10. I love their Help Portal and direct people there when they want to learn more about Kira. However, removing the FAQs made it harder to "get a quick answer". Users don't want to find what they're looking for when they just want to remind themselves how to do something. Support has been hit and miss. Sometimes, you get a person who actually reads your request and will follow-up to clarify anything they're not sure they understood about your question. Other times, you get a person who gives an answer that has nothing to do with your question and we end up wasting time with back and forth emails (where they often say the exact same thing, even when it's clear the question is about something else).
The users #1 pain point is keeping Kira up-to-date with the documents added to Data Rooms. The first upload is normally fairly straightforward. It's the daily additions that make it hard. Kira offers APIs but it's up to users to develop it and our firm does not have that skillset in-house. The reports are OK but never something we would send to clients so it requires additional work to produce the client report.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Great product which lives up to the AI hype!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are evaluating Kira to help us with due diligence, data capture and other more mundane tasks that can be routinized.
  • Easy to use
  • Flags items that attorneys may miss.
  • Great for project management of a deal.
  • I think the training process could be better.
  • Cannot bulk highlight, say where you've already tagged something and want to re-use.
Helpful for diligence review and especially so when language is the same or similar for a particular concept.
  • Dashboard: ability to quickly understand the status of the deal.
  • Quick Study: the scoring is extremely helpful when training.
Very responsive and helpful over email.
Easy and intuitive to use, but could be improved with some bulk tagging.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

Kira as a Legal Diligence Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Kira for M&A diligence. We represent an organization that does 10-20 purchases per year, and therefore we have a lot of legal contracts we review. Kira pulls all the terms that we are concerned about as part of an acquisition and cuts down time that our legal team would have to spend searching through and reading all contracts.
  • Pulls specific terms from a contract
  • Search terms in a typically "unsearchable" (scanned) PDF
  • Control what terms exactly you are looking for
  • Training process for new terms is complicated
Kira Systems is perfect for searching for specific terms within a large number of contracts. It can pull as many terms as you need. Great for if you are searching for a specific term across a multitude of contracts--can then pull down the report and quickly identify which contracts have such terms and easily create a report of issues within terms.
  • Search function
  • Addition of multiple people to one project
Have not had any issues but I've known others who have and support has been very quick to help.
Easy to learn, easy to train on, simple to add additional people as needed to a project.
Read this authenticated review

About Kira

Kira is described by the vendor as an award-winning machine learning software that identifies, extracts, and analyzes content in contracts and documents with accuracy and efficiency. From increasing the efficiency of the contract review process to the flexibility of building and integrating solutions together, Kira is designed to allow users to easily extract insights from contracts and documents.

Kira Features

Has featureMachine Learning Technology
Has featureBuilt-In Intelligence
Has featureQuick Study
Has featureAdaptive Workflows
Has featureKira API

Kira Screenshots

Kira Video

Kira Overview Video

Kira Downloadables

Kira Integrations

Intralinks, HighQ, SeeUnity

Kira Competitors

Luminance, eBrevia, Seal Software

Kira Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Kira Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
30%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

Kira Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Kira Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No