TrustRadius
LeanKit is a project management solution built around flexibility, data-driven analytics, and workflow automation. The software was acquired by Planview in December 2017 to expand that company's capabilities.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/hl/AQ/MQEI83KC3GEV.PNGEasy to use project management toolWe use LeanKit in the IT Department to organize action and steps surrounding projects. We use a ticketing system for support requests and LeanKit for handling details of project work keeping track of exactly where we are with each step along the way until projects are complete.,Keeps details organized. Makes viewing overall progress in a given project easily identifiable. We're able to get a good overview of what projects we complete over time and which ones are coming up.,None I can think of.,9,Overall affordable. The ease with which we can demonstrate production over time.,,Kaseya Virtual System Administrator (VSA), Veeam Backup & Replication, HappyFoxLeanKit gets the job doneOur IT department is using LeanKit to track both development and support/admin projects. Right now the use of LeanKit is limited to the IT deparment. The biggest problem it addresses is our workload and work tracking management. We use a form of Kanban and Scrum to run our projects, LeanKit's flexibility, makes it easy to handle different processes with different teams.,Board customization and flexibility. We are able to set up different work flows and check off points in LeanKit that was not possible with our other tools. Work in progress, being able to enforce work in progress in each lane is valuable. Ease of use. Creating different boards and different sections in boards is very easy to do and understand.,Import/Export of data could be more robust. Reporting options are not as comprehensive as other tools.,8,LeanKit paired with Agile helps us get things done. That is the biggest impact that the product has had on our company/department.,VersionOne and Trello,Google Drive, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)Good tool for repeatable steps in a processI used LeanKit to manage a variety of projects but primarily used it to manage the recruiting/hiring pipeline for all open positions. Different departments used it differently. For example, the marketing team used it to manage their editorial calendar and different process workflows. It helps to keep the whole company in sync and able to check progress at a glance.,Create a framework to move tasks through a set of 'stages'. Kept our team organized and we knew what stage each project was in.,It has a very clunky interface. Super hard to set up and customize. Not that pretty or slick. Works, but is no Apple.,6,Mostly positive on processes it made sense to use (like hiring pipeline). Negative when thinking about how much time the boards take to set up if you end up not even using the board you created.,Trello and Wunderlist,Podio, SharpSpring, ExpensifyLeanKit helps get teams on the same pageLeanKit was a team initiative that began when we were exploring platforms to plan projects collaboratively as a team. The way we use it today is each team within the broader Marketing organization, be it the web team, digital marketing, content, etc. has a LeanKit to organize specific activities against, be it short term projects or quarterly goals. It helps us collect tasks, assign them to owners, and serves a centralized location for accessing and keeping track of workflows and progress towards goals.,Lanes - swim lanes help organize leankits into an unlimited number of functions, and can be customized for different teams and roles. For example, web teams follow an agile methodology and operated in sprints, so the lanes could be customized to capture each stage in that process. Stick Notes - I am a big user of physical sticky notes to write down activities, so LeanKit sticky notes were a natural transition to digitizing them. Of course, being able to have tasks within each note helped me outline specific actions within a broader idea or topic. Assigning of Activities - assigning activities and having it sync to your inbox helps people keep track of what they are responsible for, and can have a signal when other tasks get completed.,Leankit boards can get crowded, sometimes hard to scroll to the areas that are the most relevant for specific people.,8,Helped us be more productive, saved time on meetings to assign tasks, saved time on reviewing what has been accomplished vs. still needs to be done.Great for Discovery vs DeliveryI have helped product development teams choose LeanKit as they were developing better processes for their teams. The teams used LeanKit instead of JIRA, as it was easier to manage the flow of work that just didn't fit into JIRA. They would put all their tasks in it and be able to calculate the flow.,LeanKit allows you to track the cycle time for development, which is crucial when analyzing where roadblocks are. LeanKit allows you to see when there are things waiting to be moved, which allows you to fix your processes. LeanKit makes it easy for product teams to keep track of discovery work that does not flow into sprints well.,When I used Lean Kit in early 2016, it was a little slow. I didn't like the board linking functionality.,9,LeanKit has streamlined the way we have worked which has been a great ROI,Trello
Unspecified
Planview LeanKit
21 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Planview LeanKit Reviews

Planview LeanKit
21 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 21 vetted Planview LeanKit reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
August 06, 2018

Planview LeanKit Review: "Easy to use project management tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LeanKit in the IT Department to organize action and steps surrounding projects. We use a ticketing system for support requests and LeanKit for handling details of project work keeping track of exactly where we are with each step along the way until projects are complete.
  • Keeps details organized.
  • Makes viewing overall progress in a given project easily identifiable.
  • We're able to get a good overview of what projects we complete over time and which ones are coming up.
  • None I can think of.
At least for our purpose, it's great for tracking everything about our projects and we use it for this exclusively.
Read this authenticated review
Scot Wolcott profile photo
June 13, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "LeanKit gets the job done"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department is using LeanKit to track both development and support/admin projects. Right now the use of LeanKit is limited to the IT deparment. The biggest problem it addresses is our workload and work tracking management. We use a form of Kanban and Scrum to run our projects, LeanKit's flexibility, makes it easy to handle different processes with different teams.
  • Board customization and flexibility. We are able to set up different work flows and check off points in LeanKit that was not possible with our other tools.
  • Work in progress, being able to enforce work in progress in each lane is valuable.
  • Ease of use. Creating different boards and different sections in boards is very easy to do and understand.
  • Import/Export of data could be more robust.
  • Reporting options are not as comprehensive as other tools.
LeanKit is well suited for smaller teams looking for a flexible tool to track multiple projects. The different options you have for board creation are great.
Read Scot Wolcott's full review
Heather Neisen profile photo
June 02, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "Good tool for repeatable steps in a process"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used LeanKit to manage a variety of projects but primarily used it to manage the recruiting/hiring pipeline for all open positions. Different departments used it differently. For example, the marketing team used it to manage their editorial calendar and different process workflows. It helps to keep the whole company in sync and able to check progress at a glance.
  • Create a framework to move tasks through a set of 'stages'.
  • Kept our team organized and we knew what stage each project was in.
  • It has a very clunky interface. Super hard to set up and customize.
  • Not that pretty or slick. Works, but is no Apple.
I loved it for the hiring pipeline. Kept that simple process organized and in check. However, it's very hard to modify the template and there are other comparable tools, often free, that do the same job but are much easier to customize. I think this tool works if you have repeated steps you want to follow. Not as great for free-form.
Read Heather Neisen's full review
Charles Wu profile photo
June 02, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "LeanKit helps get teams on the same page"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit was a team initiative that began when we were exploring platforms to plan projects collaboratively as a team. The way we use it today is each team within the broader Marketing organization, be it the web team, digital marketing, content, etc. has a LeanKit to organize specific activities against, be it short term projects or quarterly goals. It helps us collect tasks, assign them to owners, and serves a centralized location for accessing and keeping track of workflows and progress towards goals.
  • Lanes - swim lanes help organize leankits into an unlimited number of functions, and can be customized for different teams and roles. For example, web teams follow an agile methodology and operated in sprints, so the lanes could be customized to capture each stage in that process.
  • Stick Notes - I am a big user of physical sticky notes to write down activities, so LeanKit sticky notes were a natural transition to digitizing them. Of course, being able to have tasks within each note helped me outline specific actions within a broader idea or topic.
  • Assigning of Activities - assigning activities and having it sync to your inbox helps people keep track of what they are responsible for, and can have a signal when other tasks get completed.
  • Leankit boards can get crowded, sometimes hard to scroll to the areas that are the most relevant for specific people.
Good for when you are trying to organize people around a collaborative project. For example, we had a large rebrand project for the company and leankit was instrumental in helping different people create tasks and assign them to others.
I think for individual use, LeanKit may or may not have too many bells and whistles, especially for keeping track of simple tasks.
Read Charles Wu's full review
Melissa Perri profile photo
June 07, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "Great for Discovery vs Delivery"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have helped product development teams choose LeanKit as they were developing better processes for their teams. The teams used LeanKit instead of JIRA, as it was easier to manage the flow of work that just didn't fit into JIRA. They would put all their tasks in it and be able to calculate the flow.
  • LeanKit allows you to track the cycle time for development, which is crucial when analyzing where roadblocks are.
  • LeanKit allows you to see when there are things waiting to be moved, which allows you to fix your processes.
  • LeanKit makes it easy for product teams to keep track of discovery work that does not flow into sprints well.
  • When I used Lean Kit in early 2016, it was a little slow.
  • I didn't like the board linking functionality.
LeanKit is great for teams that want to improve their discovery vs delivery cadence and feel JIRA is subpar.
Read Melissa Perri's full review
No photo available
June 23, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "Good Alternative to Pivotal Tracker"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is used as an alternative planning tool for teams in engineering. [It's an] alternative to Pivotal and Trello. It's a matter of preference really, but a lot of people like it. It's great for agile development. It basically allows teams to track project progress and list goals that they want to work on, both internal to the team and across the organization.
  • The LeanKit dashboard really lends itself well to agile-style development.
  • The interface is fairly intuitive.
  • Being able to split up work and document progress and assign things to people is great.
  • The formatting of what they call "cards" could be better. They can be clunky if you have a lot of text in just one.
  • Needs better support for media, attachments.
  • Not the most pretty interface in my opinion, though it works.
Good for any organization that needs to keep track of projects and their progress within a team. Especially lends itself to KanBan/Agile dev styles. To be honest, I feel like there are a lot of alternatives to LeanKit. However, the effectiveness of the tool is really based on personal preferences.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 07, 2017

Planview LeanKit Review: "Great all in one solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in IT Dept. LeanKit addressed the problems with managing large projects. It is beneficial both on the individual level as well as for the entire team.
  • Allocating tasks to specific people.
  • Managing your or your team's workflow.
  • Card description field could be larger/re-sizable with better formatting options.
  • Ability to copy/paste screenshots into cards.
  • Sizing of cards in order to judge complexity/length of task.
[LeanKit is well suited for] Managing team workflows.
Read this authenticated review
Deron Austin profile photo
February 08, 2016

Planview LeanKit Review: "LeanKit Makes a Great Collaborative Marketing Management Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit was implemented at Mueller Co. a couple of years ago in the operations, product management and engineering areas. As director of marketing, we were searching for a collaborative project and task management platform for our marketing team. When we discovered that the engineering and product management teams were using Leankit, we decided it would be easier for us to adopt their system than have them adopt a new one just for marketing projects.
  • Collaboration
  • Ease of Use
  • Accountability
  • Visibility
  • Reporting
  • Mobile App
  • Email Notifications
While LeanKit is designed for process management, we have used it for project management very effectively. Marketing projects such as literature creation/edits and other work area that require standard steps in a process are ideal for LeanKit. In a collaborative work environment, the visual nature of the boards and cards make accountability easy.
Read Deron Austin's full review
No photo available
June 21, 2016

Planview LeanKit: "Leankit Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Leankit across the organization but have divided boards on a department basis. We use LeanKit as our primary development tool for all stories and defects.
  • Transparent as to the status of stories.
  • Allows customization of fields and colors.
  • Showing icons for who is assigned stories or blockers is very transparent.
  • Setting card counts is allowing us to progress to seamless integration.
  • Integration with other tools. Being in QA having a separate tool for labs and scripts and not integrating makes tracking tedious (we are using testrails).
  • Better notification on movement of stories of interest.
  • Stories going to bottom of column on creation.
It is well suited for being Agile and progression of stories and ease of use.
Providing general information (requirements) can be done using tasks but you then have to drill down into those tasks for information and comments.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 04, 2016

Planview LeanKit Review: "Special Tool for Specialist Needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is being used by a single department of specialists. It is presented to the entire organization to show progress on existing, upcoming and past projects. LeanKit is being used to provide visibility into the progress of projects being handled by specialists that are managed by project managers. It provides a view of resources available and helps to forecast project deadlines for client managers.
  • LeanKit is easily updated by imports from our timekeeping tool. This provides an easy translation of content between the two platforms.
  • LeanKit allows tasks to be assigned to different users and uses color coordination to easily show project types and user who is responsible.
  • LeanKit has great filter options so each user is able to easily manage their tasks without being distracted by items that are not important to them.
  • LeanKit is very flexible, allowing the team to create boards that fit their exact needs for the different processes
  • LeanKit could offer better integrations with other softwares we use in our business to reduce manual duplication.
LeanKit is well suited for longer term multi-step projects. For smaller mundane items like meetings and single step projects it is less useful.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (10)
8.4
Resource Management (9)
6.7
Gantt Charts (5)
6.0
Scheduling (7)
7.1
Workflow Automation (6)
6.4
Team Collaboration (10)
8.5
Support for Agile Methodology (8)
9.4
Support for Waterfall Methodology (5)
8.6
Document Management (4)
5.0
Email integration (6)
8.0
Mobile Access (6)
6.5
Timesheet Tracking (1)
7
Change request and Case Management (3)
8.0

About Planview LeanKit

LeanKit by Planview is an enterprise Kanban tool for engineers. LeanKit helps organizations visualize work, optimize processes, and deliver value faster. Teams of all types - including software development, IT operations, DevOps, and their extended value streams - rely on LeanKit every day to apply Lean-Agile principles to their work.
Categories:  Project Management

Planview LeanKit Competitors

Planview LeanKit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No