Planview LeanKit Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Scot Wolcott | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

LeanKit gets the job done

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department is using LeanKit to track both development and support/admin projects. Right now the use of LeanKit is limited to the IT deparment. The biggest problem it addresses is our workload and work tracking management. We use a form of Kanban and Scrum to run our projects, LeanKit's flexibility, makes it easy to handle different processes with different teams.
  • Board customization and flexibility. We are able to set up different work flows and check off points in LeanKit that was not possible with our other tools.
  • Work in progress, being able to enforce work in progress in each lane is valuable.
  • Ease of use. Creating different boards and different sections in boards is very easy to do and understand.
  • Import/Export of data could be more robust.
  • Reporting options are not as comprehensive as other tools.
LeanKit is well suited for smaller teams looking for a flexible tool to track multiple projects. The different options you have for board creation make it easy to fit almost any scrum/kanban process into the company's custom process.

For more traditional or rigid agile methodologies, a product like VersionOne may be the better choice.
Read Scot Wolcott's full review
Heather Neisen | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Good tool for repeatable steps in a process

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used LeanKit to manage a variety of projects but primarily used it to manage the recruiting/hiring pipeline for all open positions. Different departments used it differently. For example, the marketing team used it to manage their editorial calendar and different process workflows. It helps to keep the whole company in sync and able to check progress at a glance.
  • Create a framework to move tasks through a set of 'stages'.
  • Kept our team organized and we knew what stage each project was in.
  • It has a very clunky interface. Super hard to set up and customize.
  • Not that pretty or slick. Works, but is no Apple.
I loved it for the hiring pipeline. Kept that simple process organized and in check. However, it's very hard to modify the template and there are other comparable tools, often free, that do the same job but are much easier to customize. I think this tool works if you have repeated steps you want to follow. Not as great for free-form.
Read Heather Neisen's full review
Colin Jackson, CISSP, MMIS, GMON | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Very light, intuitive, and good learning curve.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is a simple, intuitive way to create and track tasks for KANBAN. I've used others and I'm fairly happy with LeanKit. Integrates with SSO (Okta) and is very nice.
We use it for our team projects and constantly review from it. We also have shared LeanKit boards for cross-functional teams and mult-team collaboration projects. Tagging, external links to ticketing systems, etc. make it really nice.
  • Okta Integration: We love using SSO for all our SaaS apps, and as new team members join, they can be automatically joined to the appropriate LeanKit boards.
  • Filtering and viewing: Can filter and refine by several fields as well as custom fields. Assigned Users, Tagged, Card Type, Date, etc
  • Their analytics and reporting can be helpful for PMs, especially if they have several teams they oversee.
  • I like where they are going with integrations. I would like to see more integration with security monitoring and alerting tools. Might not be the right use case, but for what I do, that would be nice to have.
My team interfaces with IT Operations often. There are a lot of people that need to handle several projects and remediation/unplanned changes. LeanKit is helpful for that. You can link and reference cards across boards, so you aren't tracking the same thing across several different boards.
Read Colin Jackson, CISSP, MMIS, GMON's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Not as sleek as Asana

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LeanKit across our entire organization. It helps us stay organized and understand what everyone is working on on a given day. It also helps us stay accountable since it is easy to see if someone does or does not have something to work on. It can also be used to assist our project manager since she can see who is in charge of what project.
  • Kanban style project management allows us to see projects in a "pipeline" view and understand what projects are finished and what projects are not finished.
  • Email notification feature is great if you are collaborating on a project with another person. Tagging can be used to notify a teammate that a step has been complete, for example.
  • Simple UI is not cluttered or overwhelming.
  • It would be nice to have a place to provide daily updates besides a comments section; perhaps a section that has a date and a status color (green/yellow/red).
  • UI is not very sleek or modern looking.
Good if you are working with a team and are very organized. Also good if you are a project manager and need to be able to see what everyone is working on at a glance. Not so good for teams that don't have the bandwidth to be able to update a tool like this regularly and keep it organized. It's only as good as you're willing to make it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Great all in one solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used in IT Dept. LeanKit addressed the problems with managing large projects. It is beneficial both on the individual level as well as for the entire team.
  • Allocating tasks to specific people.
  • Managing your or your team's workflow.
  • Organization
  • Prioritization
  • Card description field could be larger/re-sizable with better formatting options.
  • Ability to copy/paste screenshots into cards.
  • Sizing of cards in order to judge complexity/length of task.
[LeanKit is well suited for] Managing team workflows.
Read this authenticated review
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

LeanKit is a kanban board for power users

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is used by my department to organize development work and issues that need to be addressed within our web applications. It's primarily used by other teams that I occasionally need to work with. It provides a way for these teams to organize and sort things in a way that fits their needs.
  • Kanban-style workflow (can be fun moving things along on the board).
  • Advanced organization of boards and lanes.
  • Allows for various forms of information to be captured in each card.
  • Not the best designed Kanban software I've seen.
  • The advanced organization options seem to create overly complex boards in my experience.
  • Finding a specific card can be a challenge.
LeanKit works well if you want a powerful, customizable kanban board system for organizing tasks with a team. It allows for nesting lanes for advanced organization, and even cards within cards. Each card can capture a lot of information and allows for comments. For many people, LeanKit is probably a bit more powerful than they need for a simple task system.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2019

Great Tool for Agile Project Management

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is the project management tool to build Kanban boards to record and track all team’s work in one place, visualize progress across multiple projects, and get work done. Easy to create projects (in the matter of a few clicks), divide them into categories and drag-and-drop cards across lanes based on the progress. It is primarily used by Technology, Product Management, and the Business Intelligence Department.
  • LeanKit is easy-to-use and flexible. You can change your boards as often as you change your work process.
  • Flexible and intuitive user interface.
  • Easy to manage and handle user access.
  • Drag-and-drop cards across lanes, add comments, and documents.
  • Reporting can be improved to show better insights.
  • Can't think of any other cons.
LeanKit allows to build a Kanban board in minutes, customize board, drag-and-drop cards across lanes, add comments and documents, implement Work in Progress limits, and easily update the team on the status of a project. It allows us to gain full visibility of different team’s work and eliminate miscommunications and unnecessary handoff delays. LeanKit has great filter options so each user is able to easily manage their tasks without being distracted by items that are not important to them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 06, 2018

Easy to use project management tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use LeanKit in the IT Department to organize action and steps surrounding projects. We use a ticketing system for support requests and LeanKit for handling details of project work keeping track of exactly where we are with each step along the way until projects are complete.
  • Keeps details organized.
  • Makes viewing overall progress in a given project easily identifiable.
  • We're able to get a good overview of what projects we complete over time and which ones are coming up.
  • None I can think of.
At least for our purpose, it's great for tracking everything about our projects and we use it for this exclusively.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Wu | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 02, 2017

LeanKit helps get teams on the same page

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit was a team initiative that began when we were exploring platforms to plan projects collaboratively as a team. The way we use it today is each team within the broader Marketing organization, be it the web team, digital marketing, content, etc. has a LeanKit to organize specific activities against, be it short term projects or quarterly goals. It helps us collect tasks, assign them to owners, and serves a centralized location for accessing and keeping track of workflows and progress towards goals.
  • Lanes - swim lanes help organize leankits into an unlimited number of functions, and can be customized for different teams and roles. For example, web teams follow an agile methodology and operated in sprints, so the lanes could be customized to capture each stage in that process.
  • Stick Notes - I am a big user of physical sticky notes to write down activities, so LeanKit sticky notes were a natural transition to digitizing them. Of course, being able to have tasks within each note helped me outline specific actions within a broader idea or topic.
  • Assigning of Activities - assigning activities and having it sync to your inbox helps people keep track of what they are responsible for, and can have a signal when other tasks get completed.
  • Leankit boards can get crowded, sometimes hard to scroll to the areas that are the most relevant for specific people.
Good for when you are trying to organize people around a collaborative project. For example, we had a large rebrand project for the company and leankit was instrumental in helping different people create tasks and assign them to others.
I think for individual use, LeanKit may or may not have too many bells and whistles, especially for keeping track of simple tasks.
Read Charles Wu's full review
Melissa Perri | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2017

Great for Discovery vs Delivery

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have helped product development teams choose LeanKit as they were developing better processes for their teams. The teams used LeanKit instead of JIRA, as it was easier to manage the flow of work that just didn't fit into JIRA. They would put all their tasks in it and be able to calculate the flow.
  • LeanKit allows you to track the cycle time for development, which is crucial when analyzing where roadblocks are.
  • LeanKit allows you to see when there are things waiting to be moved, which allows you to fix your processes.
  • LeanKit makes it easy for product teams to keep track of discovery work that does not flow into sprints well.
  • When I used Lean Kit in early 2016, it was a little slow.
  • I didn't like the board linking functionality.
LeanKit is great for teams that want to improve their discovery vs delivery cadence and feel JIRA is subpar.
Read Melissa Perri's full review
Deron Austin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2016

LeanKit Makes a Great Collaborative Marketing Management Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit was implemented at Mueller Co. a couple of years ago in the operations, product management and engineering areas. As director of marketing, we were searching for a collaborative project and task management platform for our marketing team. When we discovered that the engineering and product management teams were using Leankit, we decided it would be easier for us to adopt their system than have them adopt a new one just for marketing projects.
  • Collaboration
  • Ease of Use
  • Accountability
  • Visibility
  • Reporting
  • Mobile App
  • Email Notifications
While LeanKit is designed for process management, we have used it for project management very effectively. Marketing projects such as literature creation/edits and other work area that require standard steps in a process are ideal for LeanKit. In a collaborative work environment, the visual nature of the boards and cards make accountability easy.
Read Deron Austin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2017

Good Alternative to Pivotal Tracker

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is used as an alternative planning tool for teams in engineering. [It's an] alternative to Pivotal and Trello. It's a matter of preference really, but a lot of people like it. It's great for agile development. It basically allows teams to track project progress and list goals that they want to work on, both internal to the team and across the organization.
  • The LeanKit dashboard really lends itself well to agile-style development.
  • The interface is fairly intuitive.
  • Being able to split up work and document progress and assign things to people is great.
  • The formatting of what they call "cards" could be better. They can be clunky if you have a lot of text in just one.
  • Needs better support for media, attachments.
  • Not the most pretty interface in my opinion, though it works.
Good for any organization that needs to keep track of projects and their progress within a team. Especially lends itself to KanBan/Agile dev styles. To be honest, I feel like there are a lot of alternatives to LeanKit. However, the effectiveness of the tool is really based on personal preferences.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2016

Leankit Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Leankit across the organization but have divided boards on a department basis. We use LeanKit as our primary development tool for all stories and defects.
  • Transparent as to the status of stories.
  • Allows customization of fields and colors.
  • Showing icons for who is assigned stories or blockers is very transparent.
  • Setting card counts is allowing us to progress to seamless integration.
  • Integration with other tools. Being in QA having a separate tool for labs and scripts and not integrating makes tracking tedious (we are using testrails).
  • Better notification on movement of stories of interest.
  • Stories going to bottom of column on creation.
It is well suited for being Agile and progression of stories and ease of use.
Providing general information (requirements) can be done using tasks but you then have to drill down into those tasks for information and comments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 04, 2016

Special Tool for Specialist Needs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeanKit is being used by a single department of specialists. It is presented to the entire organization to show progress on existing, upcoming and past projects. LeanKit is being used to provide visibility into the progress of projects being handled by specialists that are managed by project managers. It provides a view of resources available and helps to forecast project deadlines for client managers.
  • LeanKit is easily updated by imports from our timekeeping tool. This provides an easy translation of content between the two platforms.
  • LeanKit allows tasks to be assigned to different users and uses color coordination to easily show project types and user who is responsible.
  • LeanKit has great filter options so each user is able to easily manage their tasks without being distracted by items that are not important to them.
  • LeanKit is very flexible, allowing the team to create boards that fit their exact needs for the different processes
  • LeanKit could offer better integrations with other softwares we use in our business to reduce manual duplication.
LeanKit is well suited for longer term multi-step projects. For smaller mundane items like meetings and single step projects it is less useful.
Read this authenticated review

About Planview LeanKit

LeanKit by Planview is an enterprise Kanban tool for engineers. LeanKit helps organizations visualize work, optimize processes, and deliver value faster. Teams of all types - including software development, IT operations, DevOps, and their extended value streams - rely on LeanKit every day to apply Lean-Agile principles to their work.

Planview LeanKit Competitors

Planview LeanKit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No