Lessonly Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 102)

Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Lessonly, the LCMS for learners by learners

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Apogee we use Lessonly as our learning content management system for the entire company. We create and distribute learning content for use by every department. It supports both our onboarding functions as well as continuing education efforts. Primarily Lessonly is a resource used in support of training initiatives tied to specific business goals, but it also helps support our culture as we use it to distribute our company podcast as well as quarterly all-hands meetings.
  • Content creation is intuitive and easy to manage with paths and tagging.
  • User management is aided by integration w/our HRIS (BambooHR).
  • Sales and support staff encourage user feedback and are attentive when issues arise.
  • Media import (audio, video) are still in infancy. Reliability of uploaded content isn't 100%.
  • The Events function lacks some features that are more built out in other platforms.
  • Reporting interface has a bit of a learning curve, but overall isn't bad.
If you are looking for an LCMS (learning content management system) that offers easy learning material creation and customization, Lessonly is great. It's easy to use and offers some great organizational tools to keep your content up to date and easily accessible.

There are occasions where uploading audio or video content doesn't function very well, but Lessonly has been quick to offer assistance in resolving those issues.
Read Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer's full review
Cait Kaider | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Don't Worry, Get Lessonly!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a K-12 school photography company who hires temps for the busy seasons and this used to be a large burden on our full-time staff. With Lessonly, we can assign paths for the new hires to go through and be ready to hit the ground running in a relatively short amount of time. The full-time staff is there to answer any questions they may have, but for the most part they are free to concentrate on other tasks at hand as the season ramps-up. Productivity increases because the full-time staff is not being pulled away for almost a full week to train new hires. We use Lessonly for all of our departments: Marketing, Photographers/Studio, Data Accuracy, School Support,etc. It takes a little while to build a beautifully engaging Lessonly, but totally worth it!
  • Organizing lessons into comprehensive paths for an effective work flow
  • Easy to build/create lessons for all types of jobs that are engaging
  • Lacks some flexibility in the type of items that can be used in a lesson
  • When adding a new learner, the email response with the Lessonly link is slow
Lessonly can be used anywhere a digital learning system works. We use a mix of hands-on training and curriculum. For training our photographers, they go through the lessons with a camera on the desk to test with and tangibly learn what they are reading. Same with our production teams, we have physical representations of the camera cards and order forms that they will be dealing with on a daily basis to help solidify the training they are receiving from Lessonly. It frees up our full-time staff to get prepared for the new season. Once the new hires are done with their assigned lessons, they are ready to start shadowing staff. All of the training and shadowing is done in one day and they are ready to hit the ground running on day two! Lessonly has greatly increased our productivity.
Read Cait Kaider's full review
Karie Champlin-Albarran | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Llamas rock!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly across the whole organization, primarily for new hire orientation and onboarding, as well as ongoing training for employees. We use it to scale our training and to take a blended learning approach so people can retain more of the information they learn.
  • Open to feedback and ideas and constantly innovating and iterating on their product to serve new needs that arise
  • Making me feel like more than just a customer: They aren't transactional and focus on building the relationship and making me feel heard.
  • Extremely easy to use product so building content takes little time, and I can leverage other subject matter experts to build content as well.
  • For democratizing content creation, it's difficult to make sure that other creators follow the same tagging system. It would be helpful, if when creating a lesson, everyone were prompted to add the tags, pictures, descriptions, etc so that I don't have to follow up with them to do it.
  • We're trying to make Lessonly our one-stop-shop for internal training, and we need a more robust registration system in Lessonly to make that happen. Things like events with multiple sessions, linking to relevant lessons within the event, seeing a calendar view of upcoming events, etc, would be helpful for that.
Well suited for:
  • Blended learning: as pre-work, in-class worksheets, and follow-up post-work to reinforce what they learned
Less well suited for:
  • Engineering training, even though we try to use it for this, because people can't code within Lessonly. An embed feature could help with this.
Read Karie Champlin-Albarran's full review
Jayme Kiester | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Lessonly, The Best LMS Around!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly among a few departments to train on case studies, consumer journey, internal tools, and our partner program. It helps bridge the knowledge gap we may have in these areas. I've also deployed Lessonly with another organization where we used it both internally and with our partner program as well. At that organization, we used it to give product updates and to educate our partners on the sales, implementation, and support of the product.
  • Easy to use and create lessons
  • Intuitive and sharp user interface
  • Collaboration capability within tool
  • Would like built in certification that would give user certificate upon completion
  • A little better integration with Salesforce
  • A little more robust reporting
I've felt that it has been well suited in every situation. The tool is great for taking down silos that may exist in an organization, because it allows a department to create content that can be viewed at any time. My preference is to be able to find the information myself before reaching out to the subject matter expert.
Read Jayme Kiester's full review
Rachel Blankenship | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

A great way to help your Team Members continuously learn!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lessonly is currently being used by our Customer Experience Department. It is used for our New Hire Training for self-instructed learning, as well as throughout the entire office for process updates, procedures and much more. The business problem that it addresses is being able to send out information to a mass group of people in a timely manner and being able to test if they retained this information. It has allowed us to continue training our team members outside of our 3 week training program and build them as Fit Stylists and Team Members.
  • Creates an easy to use system for both the Creators and the Learners.
  • Connects with their customers and listens to all feedback that is provided. You can tell that they work strongly off of what their customers are looking for with their tool and use that feedback to continue growing and bettering their system.
  • Creates a fun environment for both the customer and their employees. You can tell it's a great place to work.
  • When editing a reveal or flip card, the image and text are backwards. The text is on the top and the image is on the bottom when you are editing. But when you publish the lesson, they switch and the photo will be on the top and the text will be on the bottom.
  • Their customer service agents are incredibly friendly and helpful, it will just often be a while before someone is able to respond and assist you.
If you are a growing company and do not have the means to pull people from their duties to retrain on topics, send out procedure updates and want a great way to document who has what information and how they scored, Lessonly is a great option. It is incredibly user friendly for all users (Creators, Learners, Graders). They also are super helpful, and work to create a strong working relationship with their customers. You can tell that they are appreciative of any and all feedback that you give them, and that they are constantly working on bettering themselves and the company. This product has helped our Customer Experience office tremendously, I don't know where we would be without it today!
Read Rachel Blankenship's full review
Joshua Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Lessonly changed our company's educational structure.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly as the main LMS for our entire company. Employees use Lessonly in a number of different ways, from onboarding to self-directed learning. The content that's necessary for understanding Qualia is usually new to everyone who walks through the door, so we provide multiple mediums for consuming and understanding the content. Lessonly is a great option for us because it allows for easy creation of lessons and content. The user interface is intuitive and pleasing on the eye; we're very happy with what we've been able to do with Lessonly thus far and it's provided us with a platform that can scale with our company's growth.
  • Content creation is very easy and quick
  • User interface is beautiful and user friendly
  • Management of users/content/insights is simple
  • We are looking for more options to assess; grading and insights are available, but we'd like more reporting on cohorts or tracking milestones
  • Some of the interface on the admin side of the application is a little cumbersome (viewing options, filtering, basic stuff)...this isn't a make it or break it drawback piece of functionality, but it's something that could be improved.
Lessonly is great as an internal resource for employees. You can use it for onboarding, continued education, compliance, company announcements or updates, and evaluation/assessment of knowledge retention and understanding.

We explored using it for our external LMS, but it's just not designed for that (or for our needs it's just not set up for that).
Read Joshua Scott's full review
Keysha Chapman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

ThirdLove is a big fan of Lessonly!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly across all departments here at ThirdLove (HR, Quality, Update announcement), but it is used most in customer service training. We train new hires when they first join the team, for the next three weeks, until they graduate from training. Once a tenured agent, they go through policy update lessons, product refreshes, and service up-trainings via Lessonly.
  • Versatility. We can use for it darn near anything in any department across the company.
  • Easy editing. You can change/update something on the fly no problem.
  • Simple design easy for self- learning as a creator or admin.
  • The Lessonly university is basically a tool store to use at your disposal. It has a lot of great information.
  • Bugs. When there are some and we alert Lessonly, they reply with the problem will be fixed, but then no follow up on if or when?
  • Self branding ability would be great but as of now you have to reach out to a 3rd party which makes it difficult to keep communication clear.
  • Minor issues with the lessons themselves; such as the image and text being swapped in places once going from edit more to preview mode.
Briefing on a new product or reviewing past feedback is great. Communication skills or soft skills training is a great into or exit to quiz them, but things like that are more helpful when facilitated in person.
Read Keysha Chapman's full review
Jeanette Carroll | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2020

Lessonly for Business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it on behalf of our client companies. These clients include retail businesses that train employees on products, processes, etc. It is also used/recommended as part of our Responsible Vendor Training program/certification. It is easy to use and we are a referral so our clients get a discount and we get a referral fee.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • Support is excellent
  • The bundle pricing could be better, having to pay for groups of 25 can be tricky.
Lessonly can be used in any industry. Our clients are retailers, producers, cultivators, and project managers and it works great for all of them. I recommend it to all of our clients when we are in our negotiation and implementation processes. I really don't see a scenario where it isn't appropriate.
Read Jeanette Carroll's full review
Daniel Chance | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Train with POWER

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lessonly has driven a lot of change here at our company. We evaluated Lessonly as we scaled, knowing that onboarding and continued training would become increasingly difficult. I would say the simplicity of the process was amazing. I think that having a system in place is critical, and something that can eliminate headaches and confusion.
  • Seamless UI that is easy for all types of users.
  • Great team that cares about your success.
  • I suggest keeping customers front and center.
  • Listen to them constantly and make sure that you grow as the users do.
I think for a small company, this may not be the most high-impact solution. But if you are either a large company or one that is seeing growth month after month in headcount, having a tool like Lessonly would be a massive value-add! I would suggest that anyone that is feeling the pain of onboarding new employees or digging through decks/videos to share with others, to check it out.
Read Daniel Chance's full review
Eliana Trink | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Operations Manager - Review for Lessonly

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lessonly is currently being used in the Operations department as a training tool for both new and current employees. Current employees create lessons about different aspects of the job, and this can be used by anyone else in operations as either a way to learn something new or brush up on existing knowledge. It helps us (as operations managers) cut down on the amount of our time it takes to train new employees, because prior to Lessonly all of this had to be taught 1:1.
  • Creating lessons
  • Checking on the progress of people taking lessons
  • Option to change text color without doing it through HTML
  • Paste screenshots directly into lessons
Very good for basic onboarding of employees, training, etc. If you're willing to put the time in, it can be a really comprehensive tool. It's less appropriate for training where the employee has a lot of questions to ask.
Read Eliana Trink's full review
Dillon Gove | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Lesson.ly, the Ultimate Sensei

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lesson.ly is being used by my company to provide an onboarding and training platform for our employees and customers. We use it in every department for new hires in addition to training on any new updates within our product to keep our team up to date on all information relevant to their team and role within the company. In addition to using it internally, we have set up an Academy in Lesson.ly to provide an interactive learning experience for users that want step by step lessons on workflows within our product.
  • Lesson.ly does a great job of providing a way for learners to self-certify and test their knowledge on the content of the lesson. Both via Flip cards that provide a quick question and response. Learners can try and guess or answer and then immediately check to see if they were correct. You can also institute graded tests with multiple choice or written answers to verify knowledge of the user.
  • Lesson.ly allows for both embedded video and image content which provides audiovisual learners to have a more effective and efficient learning experience. My favorite use of this feature was the inclusion of Gifs. Both to illustrate any simple concepts being taught and for the use of humor to keep the lessons from getting boring when going through several lessons in a row.
  • Lesson.ly also does a great job of providing structure to your lessons. Building boards or modules allows you to group lessons together. It provides a clear way for clients or employees to proceed to the next lesson upon the completion of their current lesson.
  • Navigating through finished lessons can be challenging especially if you have completed a large number of them.
Lesson.ly is perfect for a new rep with limited knowledge of policies or workflows and you don't have the personnel to cover that content. Lesson.ly provides a scalable way to provide step by step instruction or content in a meaningful format that can empower the student to feel equipped for whatever circumstance or situation they are being educated for. However, Lesson.ly is not as effective to use as a resource center, a place that clients or employees can quickly access information or use for reference if they forget information.
Read Dillon Gove's full review
Elizabeth McLees | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2019

Lessonly makes learning a breeze!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly for our remote sales team. We have over 250 employees across the country that use the platform for onboarding, weekly training, and recognition. We use it to standardize our onboarding processes and to make sure all employees have access to the information they need in order to be successful.
  • User interface.
  • Easy to use on admin side.
  • Sometimes the practice function freezes.
Lessonly is great for filming practice scenarios like elevator pitches. It is a great place to store information where the entire team can access it and know it is correct. I wouldn’t recommend it for more complex tracking situations like if you wanted to know exactly how long someone spent on each page of the lesson. But for tracking overall it’s very good.
Read Elizabeth McLees's full review
Carly Foerster | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Great LMS -- Very intuitive

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Lessonly primarily for our revenue-generating and customer-facing teams (i.e. Account Executives, Sales Development, Customer Success, Renewals, etc.) On occasion, we also leverage it for training support and product role outs company-wide. We looked to bring on an LMS for a few reasons. First, to free up our bandwidth (with a small team of two training and developing 60+ revenue generating roles) -- an LMS system allowed us to create well-built out, self-paced trainings that did not need to be delivered in person. Second, we needed a tool to better track, train, teach, and gather insight into how our reps are progressing in their development. Lessonly has delivered in spades.

We are able to leverage Lessonly in so many different ways: new hire on-boarding trainings, product updates, marketing roll-outs, knowledge base, compliancy trainings, etc. It’s also a really simple format for our reps to follow, even when they are on sales/customer calls.

  • From a usability standpoint, Lessonly is incredibly intuitive and user friendly. This was our first LMS product purchased, and it was really important for us to have a system that we could dive into head first without a large learning curve.
  • What I've appreciated most about Lessonly are the people and teams within the company who support their clients. It was very evident during our sales evaluation that this was a team that aimed to grow and scale alongside their clients by listening to, and acting upon, feedback. They have proven this time and time again.
  • This was not the most robust platform when we initially evaluated, and there are still feature gaps to be filled, but overall, we have been very satisfied with the experience.
  • Customization for emailed communication out of the platform (i.e. assigning Lessons) is lacking, but not a huge concern considering that is not the main focus of the system.
Lessonly is well suited to teams/companies who have a focus in training and development beyond general information dispersal. You can easily leverage the Lessons & Pathways to build out really impactful development tracks for new hires, potential promotions, etc. This is great both for individual standalone lessons, as well as a follow-up to in-person trainings. On the flip side, a scenario where Lessonly would not be as well-suited is as a general repository for documents. This is built as a training tool, not just a knowledge base hub.
Read Carly Foerster's full review
Jennifer Pineda | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Lessonly Llamas are fantastic business partners!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lessonly is being used across our organization for multiple applications. We use Lessonly for onboarding, implementation and system training, as well as department-specific training topics.
  • Customer Service
  • Ease of Use; modern, efficient user interface
  • They are currently working on tracking live events in the system which is a need.
Lessonly is very customer-focused and receptive to customer feedback. They often implement ideas that have been shared. Lessonly makes it easy for any user to implement and create content.
Read Jennifer Pineda's full review
Richard Avenius | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2019

Lessonly helps our business do better work!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Kerauno we currently use Lessonly to distribute electronic training materials to our internal sales teams as well as our sales partners. As the need for training grows in our organization, we will undoubtedly use the system to distribute training across the rest of the organization as well. This tool allows us to distribute training, track performance, and ensure a consistent onboarding experience with our users.
  • Tracking user performance - This tool allows you gather very granular data on learner performance, and lets you slice this data in a variety of different ways.
  • Content Creation - The Lessonly system comes with a host of content creation tools that allow for quick and easy training development. Regardless of your skill level with instructional design, you will be able to create effective, professional looking training very quickly.
  • Support services - The Lessonly team is engaged, knowledgeable, and committed to helping your organization do better work. Not only do they provide quick and effective answers to questions, but they support you consistently throughout the stand-up process.
  • There are limits to what you can do with the system. As with all pieces of software, there are limits to what the product can do. For most organizations, the chances of encountering these boundaries are pretty low; however, if you have experienced instructional designers who may want certain types of uncommon types of functionality ( Ex - multiple graders submitting grades on one assignment), you may encounter these edges more often. None of these limits are game-breaking, but they do exist.
  • Search tracking - Lessonly does not keep track of learner search attempts that yielded no results. Again, this is a very minor thing, but some competitors do offer it. Essentially, keeping track of this information would allow you to see what information your learners have been searching for and not receiving, which would let you create new content accordingly.
Lessonly is the perfect tool for a team where you need to quickly design and implement professional-looking training and seems particularly suited to teams who maybe have limited instructional design experience. As the level of instructional design experience grows, you can on occasion run into situations where you want functionality that is not there. That said, this tool provides all of the features of some of the larger LMS tools out there, with a much more responsive and friendly support team. Lessonly is great!
Read Richard Avenius's full review
Lynn Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Lessonly is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly to educate our external customers and other departments also use Lessonly for internal certifications and onboarding.
  • Provides an easy-to-use interface.
  • Technical Support is outstanding. Quick response and follow-through on resolutions.
  • Reporting needs to be improved and more flexible.
  • Would like to see a way to easily segregate lessons between departments.
Lessonly is perfect for all departments. Any SME can easily create a lesson or an entire path complete with video, audio and hands-on exercises. It has greatly enhanced our onboarding and our product introductions, freeing up our instructor's time.
Read Lynn Thomas's full review
Maria Sanchez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

We're Lessonly Llamas for life!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After our Sales department showed initial interest, Lessonly was chosen as the Learning Management System for all of Customer Care. We were looking for a way to standardize our training across our four international offices. We also wanted a way to streamline agent onboarding for smoother hiring as our company is growing quickly. Before Lessonly, our training was Adhoc (lots of sitting and reading) and based significantly on a lot of "tribal" knowledge.

We currently have only used it in our U.S. office with both new hires and existing agents. We've received great feedback from tenured agents who say it's improved their existing knowledge/kept them up to date, and our new hires are scaling quicker than ever. We plan to start implementing it in our offices in France, India, and Germany in early 2020.

Seeing the success of Lessonly with Customer Care, the Sales department has renewed our interest in the product after initially going a different direction.
  • It helps us keep training content concise. The standard font and size help our training Lead, and Managers get a real view of exactly how much our agents have to learn.
  • The templates provided helped us get started on the right foot. They were full of great format examples as well as actual tips for our Customer Care team. It made the "mountain" of work more surmountable.
  • I would love to have an undo button. A few times, the team has accidentally clicked on the delete button for a section and lost a section of work. We learned our lesson and have typed out text sections elsewhere and then just copy/pasted it into Lessonly.
  • A separate image gallery would make organizing easier. For now, it displays the images in the order they were imported.
Lessonly has helped us make training/onboarding easier. However, I would not recommend it as a replacement for 1:1 training sessions with real coworkers. There is a lot that can be "lost in translation," especially for international offices that do not share the same language or even cultural references. The add ons have been beneficial, but I would not recommend doing away with ticket workshops/real-life practice.
Read Maria Sanchez's full review
Jesse Garner | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Big fan. What a software platform should be!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started small by using Lessonly to onboard summer media staff for complicated technical processes. It's expanded from there as other departments have seen the value to include our customer service department and various organization-wide administrative processes. It's made it so simple to help get new employees, or new to their role employees, up to speed on how to do various things using different software packages we use like finding and downloading photos from our photo management system or editing website details in the CMS.
  • Simple to use
  • Beautiful, clean design
  • Lack of integration of other systems is both a strength and a weakness because it allows the Lessonly team to focus just on the LMS experience. Still, it does make it harder to sell because there isn't direct integration into your HRIS or other employee systems. You're hopping employees between them.
  • I have no other complaints. The onboarding and prep were fantastic, and it's so easy to use!
We have found Lessonly helpful for documenting complicated technical processes in an easy to understand, step by step way. It's common for our users to come back and go through lessons multiple times as they familiarize themselves with a specific process. Their support for video and gifts and clean design that makes the content front and center have been impressive.

Their path functionality has been so helpful to us, as well. I can string multiple lessons into paths, then string paths in paths and end up with a complete onboarding solution without needing to assign tons of lessons all at once. Need to make a change? Just update the path, and it updates users on the path (or not, if you choose), and it's ready to go for your next person.

I'm having a hard time thinking of places where it's not appropriate? Possibly if you do a lot of in-person training and want to keep doing that, but you probably aren't researching LMS platforms if you want to keep doing as much in-person training as you currently do. We went from needing specific trainers in three different locations to zero, and increased our learning retention and decreased our first week on job error rate.
Read Jesse Garner's full review
Jennifer Sutherland | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Lessonly was the perfect fit for our division!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I selected Lessonly to be the LMS for my division, KellyConnect. We use it currently to support one client of 6000 employees. We plan to expand in the future to other clients.

It provides us a tool to create and store learning content, as well as easy reporting.
  • User interface is extremely simple and engaging.
  • Listen to feedback and implement changes quickly.
  • Gamification (leader boards/points for completion or scores).
  • Badges/certification (which is on its way).
Lessonly has been an excellent fit for my division. I have loved my interactions with all employees on their team. Their company values match our own. They are flexible and agile, and perfectly suited for our learning management needs now and in the future.
Read Jennifer Sutherland's full review
Joseph Timbers | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Lessonly is a ROI Machine

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly across CS and Sales along with On-Boarding every employee at QGenda. For sales is it a huge component of our weekly and monthly work. We use it to ramp reps, reiterate training, quiz and develop reps. We use it for QGenda specific content or use outside practices to drive behaviors and increase production across the sales org.
  • Train
  • Ramp
  • Ease of use
  • content
We use Lessonly across CS and Sales along with on-boarding every employee at QGenda. For sales is it a huge component of our weekly and monthly work. We use it to ramp reps, reiterate training, quiz and develop reps. We use it for QGenda specific content or use outside practices to drive behaviors and increase production across the sales org.
Read Joseph Timbers's full review
Sharon Tuttle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Lessonly - the LMS with unbeatable service

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Lessonly platform is being used across the entire organization. Department wide the platform helps with new-hire onboarding, company history, processes and procedures. Our client services department utilizes the platform to educate new hires on the quarterly executive business review process and the client upsell opportunities. Our marketing team uses Lessonly to help with brand recognition, white paper discussions and as a centralized location to source documents for sales staff. The product team uses Lessonly to help disseminate new features in our platform, communicate a glossary of terms, FAQ and most recently the education of the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA).
  • Customer Support - The chat feature on the platform provides instant help when you are troubleshooting a problem. Their staff are informative and a pleasure to talk with.
  • Implementation of the platform - During our implementation of the platform, the customer service representatives provided step by step instruction and suggestions for best practices across our process. The soft launch of the platform went very well.
  • We are currently using the beta mode on publish or unpublished draft on lessons. We are finding bugs in some of the features, but this is why you have "beta clients."
  • Some features like roles and preview options for edits on lessons can be difficult to follow. We like the option for sharing ownership in a lesson for editing purposes with users that may not be an admin or manager, but rather a SME.
Lessonly is well suited for organizations wanting to expand knowledge dissemination and to test employees on that knowledge base to ensure they are retaining the information. Companies that have an ever changing platform, like software, need to have the ability to mass educate their staff. This platform allows for continual education across all departments of the organization.
Read Sharon Tuttle's full review
Jamie Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Lessonly is a great LMS for lean L&D teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it companywide to deploy training and onboarding to all employees. It solves our issue of ongoing training, career development, and onboarding of our 100% remote workforce.
  • Implementing new features and use cases that we suggest.
  • They make it easy for anyone in our company to make trainings without a background in instructional design.
  • They help us build a learning-first company.
  • The elements you can build within a lesson are very limited, so the lessons all start to look the same and lack user engagement if you have a lot of trainings.
  • The user rights can be hard to navigate and understand.
  • The UI looks outdated and could be updated.
It is good for a small training team that leverages subject matter experts across the company to build their own trainings due to constraints in bandwidth with the learning and development teams. For more advanced L&D teams, the lesson elements are very basic and a more robust fully supported SCORM platform would be preferred.
Read Jamie Reese's full review
Jimmy Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Lessonly's Customer Support is World Class

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lessonly is used alongside traditional in-classroom teaching and 1:1 coaching as our self-paced learning tool. We have found it to be an invaluable resource as a tool to onboard new employees. It is the primary source of knowledge for product and process information. While used predominantly for Sales and Customer Support, Lessonly helps our front-line employees remain up-to-date with our latest product and process iterations.
  • Lessonly's customer support is unrivaled. They are the single best vendor relationship I have ever had.
  • Lessonly's interface is intuitive, requiring little help to get new users feeling comfortable.
  • The practice features are easy to create, and simple for users to access.
  • Lessonly seems to have an API integration with nearly every software. They make it extremely easy to integrate their product with other tools.
  • Their reporting has gotten much better, but Salesforce has spoiled me. I would like even more granular details on interaction within lessons.
  • The question/testing creator is simple and well-designed, but the practice creator is much less robust. I would like to see more flexibility in the practice feature.
Lessonly is simple to use as a creator and as a learner. It is perfect for learning information, processes, and for practicing work situations and scenarios. The ability for managers to give 1:1 feedback quickly is fantastic. It is great for onboarding new employees and for providing continuing education.

Lessonly does not provide pre-written lessons, which is something I prefer, but it does require more work by the person running the account.
Read Jimmy Miller's full review
Jay Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Lessonly is Dolly Llama approved!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly across our whole organization. It is not only a training vehicle; we also use it as a central communication vehicle and to house our Handbook, policy and procedures, and newsletter.
  • Ease of use for the user
  • Really great internal builder
  • Integration with Bamboo HR and Humanity works well
  • Triggers need more options. Currently, you can only trigger "when" something happens, not "if". This means that if someone has completed a task before you create the trigger, it will not work.
  • Lessonly does not have an "undo" button, and it is always saving. So if you accidentally delete something, it is gone forever.
I really like the built in builder. It makes building lessons and having multiple builders a breeze. We also use it for storing forms. It has a built in search engine so you can "Google" HR items, policy's, ect.
Read Jay Dalton's full review
Jill Elie | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

Lessonly for Learning!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Lessonly across the entire organization. It is our training tool for:
  • on-boarding
  • job training
  • safety training
  • continuous education
  • policy training
Lessonly has helped us ensure that we have an organized training plan that is adjustable and easy to update. With 23 offices across the country, all of our personnel can access the system and gain the same knowledge necessary to grow their careers on their own time from wherever they are.
  • The user interface is very simple to use.
  • Lessonly University is very informative and answers all of your questions.
  • The ready-to-use content is great for starting templates to build from and tailor to your own needs.
  • The gradebook could be improved upon with more filters.
  • The Insights page could have better custom report capabilities.
I would definitely recommend Lessonly to a friend. Their staff is awesome and very helpful in getting started and providing continued support for building and reviewing content.
Read Jill Elie's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (96)
9.0
Course catalog or library (94)
8.3
Player/Portal (75)
8.7
Learning content (92)
8.8
Mobile friendly (52)
8.0
Progress tracking & certifications (84)
8.6
Assignments (95)
9.1
Compliance management (54)
8.4
Learning administration (89)
9.0
Learning reporting & analytics (83)
8.6
Social learning (62)
7.4

About Lessonly

Lessonly is training software with an ecosystem of partners, strategy and services that are aligned under the mantra of Do Better Work.

The vendor has worked with over 800 companies to help them train their teams. The vendor says they've learned that the highest performing organizations build their training on the same six pillars:

  • Assess (Gather Needs & Inputs) Listen to people, data, and the market; identify successes and challenges; and accurately assess your sales team's training needs.
  • Plan (Prioritize for Impact) Identify the most essential objectives and outcomes, and intentionally set milestones for creation and delivery.
  • Build (Create Quickly & Collaboratively) Work with teammates at the front lines of the business to develop and iterate on bite-sized training/content.
  • Learn (Meet Learners Where They Are) Push training content to teammates-- anywhere, anytime-- so they can quickly solve problems in their moment of need.
  • Practice (Rehearse, Refine, Repeat) Reinforce skills and information with realistic practice scenarios and receive feedback to fuel improvement.
  • Perform (Doing Better Work) Empower the organization to continuously improve, deliver and quantify results.

The results? Faster onboarding, higher NPS score, more closed deals and a superior customer experience.

Lessonly Features

Learning Management Features
Has featureCourse authoring
Has featureCourse catalog or library
Has featurePlayer/Portal
Has featureLearning content
Has featureMobile friendly
Has featureProgress tracking & certifications
Has featureAssignments
Has featureCompliance management
Has featureLearning administration
Has featureLearning reporting & analytics
Has featureeLearning
Has featureAssessments
Does not have featureLive online learning
Has featureIn-person learning
Has featureMicro-learning
Has featureVideo learning
Does not have featureeCommerce
Does not have featureAICC-compliant
Has featureSCORM-compliant
Has featureTin Can (xAPI) compliant
Has featureSocial learning

Lessonly Competitors

Lessonly Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Lessonly Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, South America, Latin America, Western Europe, Central/Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, Australia
Supported Languages: Filipino, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, German, Swedish, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, Arabic, Turkish, Vietnamese