LibreOffice Reviews

61 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Jacob Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

LibreOffice - a full featured, free office suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice is very similar, but more actively maintained. I actually used OpenOffice more frequently than LibreOffice in the past, but after LibreOffice forked from OpenOffice, the developers began to maintain it more actively, so I switched.

Some features (I believe certain plugins / add-ons) still come primarily from OpenOffice. I don't believe it makes a significant difference to use one over the other.
Read Jacob Wall's full review
Mauricio E Gleizer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

LibreOffice, the best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

LibreOffice's biggest advantage over MS Office is its gratuity, but its cleaner interface and the fact that it is naturally multiplatform are also important features.
As for Apache OpenOffice, the time that this suite "was in the hands" of Oracle caused development delays (even stalled), so LibreOffice today has a larger and more stable developer and user base, which translates into faster and more constant updates.
Read Mauricio E Gleizer's full review
Robert Gephart | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

I use LibreOffice instead of MS Office

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I selected LibreOffice due to cost. While we need an office software suite, we don't need the sophistication of MS Office. We used the basics of MS Office. We couldn't justify the expense when we only use a faction of the functionality.
Read Robert Gephart's full review
Javier Schwersensky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

A worthy GNU alternative to proprietary office software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think it is fair to say this:
  • If you are looking for a well-rounded, GNU-licensed product that will encompass word processing, spreadsheets, presentations, and database then LibreOffice is probably all you need.
  • For online collaboration, links with cloud storage, and more robust support, Microsoft Office 365 and Google Docs are probably what you or your organization needs.
  • LibreOffice is at its best for regular document creation and spreadsheet management. It is more cumbersome when it comes to fonts but also when it comes to linkages with cloud-based services. It is there, but you need some more computer knowledge to make it work.
  • There are other free alternatives, most notably Apache Open Office, which is also a very good alternative if you do not like LibreOffice.
Having said that, I honestly think off-line computers or laptops used off-site can certainly benefit from having LibreOffice installed.
Read Javier Schwersensky's full review
Md Shahinuzzaman | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2019

Handy and inexpensive software: LibreOffice

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In my view, Microsoft office products are very much user-friendly and well documented. However, these products are very expensive where the LibreOffice is free of cost. Also if you have a Linux platform, the best office product will be the LibreOffice. Although LibreOffice is not easy to use, but with time you can master it. For these reasons, I am using LibreOffice.
Read Md Shahinuzzaman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

LibreOffice is a great low investment option for the vast majority of users.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used to use Open Office prior to 2010, and we have some Office365 machines. LibreOffice is the clear winner almost every time due to the cost and licensing issues with Office 365 aside from the small number of cases where we need to use MS Excel for ease of compatibility with people outside the organization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

LibreOffice My default Office Suite Software, and why It should be yours too

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the past, I tried Microsoft and Word Perfect. I was compelled to purchase a new version almost every time there was an upgrade so I could utilize the improved features either as a creator or a user. LibreOffice has a regular and consistent free update cycle. Templates and plugins are free and easily accessible and also easy to install.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Boyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 01, 2019

Heads above G Suite, but a few feet short of Microsoft Office

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As noted previously, LibreOffice blows Google Docs (G Suite) out of the water in terms of singular application quality, and comes close but misses the mark as a drop-in replacement to Microsoft Office. We currently are evaluating the latest release of LibreOffice to see if we can replace Microsoft Office with it entirely as we've had more time to fill in the holes that were left when losing out on Outlook and OneNote and all of the integrations that come with Microsoft Office.
Read Christopher Boyd's full review
Laura Gatius | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Opensource office suite program

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have chosen LibreOffice for the possibilities it offers and because it allows me to save money on the licenses of other programs. Being a free program, I do not have to think about renewing licenses every year. It is a software that offers the same characteristics as other similar options. It allows me to do it in the same way, it is compatible with all the software and no ads appear in the program. It offers the possibility of complementing the features by downloading templates.
Read Laura Gatius's full review
Miguel Useche | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Best open Office suite

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I choose LibreOffice because it's open source, free, low cost and multi-platform. It's the perfect office suite if you use Linux, there's no bettter choice. Also by reducing license costs, company could spend money on more important stuff.

Also there's a lot of documentation online so people can learn how to use the tools by their own.
Read Miguel Useche's full review
Igor Neumann | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

The best open source office suite available

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Apache OpenOffice, Microsoft Office 365 and Microsoft Office 2016
Mainly CSV and other formats compatibility, when compared to MS alternative, it's faster than cloud-based solutions (Google Docs, Zoho), I don't have to wait for MS Office to look at what I have in the cloud before saving something, its interface is better than MS Office, for my taste, and it's more feature-rich than Apache OpenOffice.
Read Igor Neumann's full review
David García Caballero | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

Free and functional office suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used them and didn't have problems with the formats, maybe formats like .docx are minus compatible than others between them, but in general I don't have many problems using them, they work great and are similar, the interface and some options is the major change and the price of Microsoft is the biggest problem if you compare the three of them.
Read David García Caballero's full review
Linda Sasenick | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

LibreOffice - "free" your office from software subscriptions!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The most ubiquitous office suite now is of course, Microsoft Office. Microsoft Office offers very good tools, but is very Microsoft/Windows "centric" - understandably they want to tie users to the Microsoft/Windows universe. I'm a big proponent of open source operating systems and software - they're very "bottom-line" friendly (free!), and generally work across platforms. If I'm getting the same (and sometimes better) functionality without the cost and restrictive environment, why wouldn't I choose open source?
Read Linda Sasenick's full review
Martin Malec | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

LibreOffice is THE Office Suite for almost everybody unless you require Excel macros or pivots

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MS Office is a very good office suite but in the early days of the company spending hundreds of EUR on licenses was not the priority and the added value of MS Office at that time could not compensate the costs. Google documents are used in a limited way for a few collaboratively edited documents but the incompatibility of the native Google Docs format with both Libreoffice and MS Office, and the need to use only the limited feature set of web-based office suite makes it impractical for more complicated documents.
Read Martin Malec's full review
Glen Mehn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

Steep learning curve & dire interface but better fundamental functionality than others

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The online docs - people often found [them] confusing and limited in what they do. LO was preferred to those though they lack the real-time collaboration features in the other documents.
Users preferred Office 2016 though support was going to go away for it so we investigated alternatives.
People liked having a local thing that worked for them rather than yet another thing in the browser.
Read Glen Mehn's full review
AK Cyrway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

LibreOffice - An affordable alternative to Microsoft

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Products: LibreOffice is an affordable programme that is on par with Microsoft products. Unlike Microsoft, which tends to reinvent itself every couple of years and sacrifices functionality for aesthetics, LibreOffice is tried and true, sticking to the functionality and familiarity of their tools and options.

OpenOffice in contrast is similar in function to LibreOffice; I find personally that LibreOffice is less resource heavy than OpenOffice on my computer's processor.
Read AK Cyrway's full review
Curt Dickman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2017

LibreOffice Free an Useful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • AbiWord, Microsoft Works and OpenOffice
LibreOffice is a fork of OpenOffice. I haven't used Open Office since my Linux distribution switched to Libre Office, but I don't remember much difference when changing. I haven't used Works in many years. AbiWord is much more basic and only provides word processing.
Read Curt Dickman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2018

LibreOffice Calc - Great for working with data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Libre Office Calc is better than Excel for data cleaning. It is, however, somewhat worse than Excel for charting "sharing" documents for non-power users since one hundred percent compatibility is not guaranteed. The outdated Libre Office user interface is worse than Excel since it is not often the primary focus for dev updates.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

Hard to Beat at the Price Point

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Microsoft Office 2016 is the premium option for word processing, but in my line of work the content is more important than the presentation. I am mostly content to work in Google Docs unless working with documents of a sensitive nature. Then I use LibreOffice.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

LibreOffice (Open Source Office Suite on Window, Macintosh, and Linux)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have followed and used many various office suites in the open office range of open source offerings. I still occasionally download and try one of the others just to take a look. But, I always end up making LibreOffice my choice to go with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

LibreOffice - The low to no cost alternative to Microsoft Office

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Open Office has not been updated in a long time and Libreoffice is constantly updated with fixes and improvements. We have only recommended Libreoffice to our users for years because of the constant support.
Read this authenticated review

About LibreOffice

LibreOffice is an open-source Office Suite from The Document Foundation.
Categories:  Office Suites

LibreOffice Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No