LibreOffice Reviews

60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 25)

Mauricio E Gleizer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

LibreOffice, the best.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive: LibreOffice comes with 6 completely free apps, allowing you to use financial resources with other tools.
  • Positive: LibreOffice 6 can be installed for free (and legitimately) on all machines in the organization and also on employees' personal computers.
  • Negative: In certain situations, the employee's custom of using MS Office may require conducting training workshops for LibreOffice's use in a similar quality, which requires time and perhaps hiring instructor.
Read Mauricio E Gleizer's full review
Javier Schwersensky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

A worthy GNU alternative to proprietary office software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Being a free GNU-based software, it is ideal for computers used outside the company's network or for users which do not require online collaboration tools.
  • Importing and exporting word processing documents is easy. PDF functionality is adequate and works very well.
  • You will probably need to invest in fonts if, for example, most of your company is using Microsoft Word fonts, which may be proprietary. In our case, we paid for a few key fonts; installation in the system was simple but done through IT, not the user.
  • For complex graphs and presentations, LibreOffice may not be the best alternative.
Read Javier Schwersensky's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

A Viable Alternative

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • LibreOffice is essentially free. Users are not locked-in to a subscription or maintenance model. We occasionally donate to the LibreOffice cause as circumstances permit.
Read this authenticated review
Laura Gatius | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2018

Opensource office suite program

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allows me to save a lot of money, because LibreOffice is open source and free software. By having many computers, it allows us to not spend money on licenses and invest this money in salaries.
Read Laura Gatius's full review
Miguel Useche | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2018

Best open Office suite

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • A lot of ROI because their license price, 100% of return.
  • Sometimes we lose time finding how to do things, lowering a little bit of productivity.
  • We need to spend on training for employees because most people only know how to use Microsoft Office
Read Miguel Useche's full review
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2018

LibreOffice: Open Source, Free, Functional. Cut the proprietary cord!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ROI is through the roof. One main reason I use Linux is because it is both free and quality, not to mention relatively user-friendly (more so with each new version of OS or apps, as in this case). I cannot imagine ever going back to Windows, after more than a decade away, just as I cannot envision a return to MS Office or any proprietary office productivity suite.
Read Jerry Janes's full review
Jesús Noehi Posada Navarro | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2018

A great Office suite alternative

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • First, we save money using it instead if other paid suites, which always helps the business.
  • Works on older computers, allowing you to install it even if you don't have the latest hardware.
  • As everybody uses it, there's no compatibility issues.
Read Jesús Noehi Posada Navarro's full review
Linda Sasenick | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

LibreOffice - "free" your office from software subscriptions!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The upfront and on-going cost of LibreOffice is $0 - keeping overhead down is essential for many of us small business owners.
  • Having a full suite of communications and data tools available for free (which we can save in our clients' preferred software formats, btw), keeps us looking professional.
  • Every dollar we're NOT investing in software, where a fully functional, free alternative is available, is money we can put toward other business optimizations, such as marketing, hardware, device upgrades, etc.
Read Linda Sasenick's full review
Martin Malec | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

LibreOffice is THE Office Suite for almost everybody unless you require Excel macros or pivots

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • During the development of a very small company of 4 employees 5 years ago until last year when it had over 20 employees using Libreoffice instead of a commercial office suite. That saved perhaps a few thousand EUR on license fees, without any significant disadvantages so far with some exceptions. (A rew licenses of MS Office and standalone MS Excel were used by a few people in parallel but most documents were created in LibreOffice anyway.)
  • The desire of the management to switch to MS Office only (due to the desire to use collaborative editing feature of Office365, SharePoint and OneDrive) recently generates an issue with what to do with the hundreds of OpenDocument files in the current document server (.ODT, .ODS). These cannot be seamlessly migrated to MS Office and thus all employees now need to have both MS Office and LibreOffice installed, and be aware of NOT editing an older .ODS/.ODT documents in Excel/Word even though these apps seem to open them somehow, as doing so would damage the file and lead to an irreversible loss of some formatting or functionality.
Read Martin Malec's full review
Glen Mehn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

Steep learning curve & dire interface but better fundamental functionality than others

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cheaper, straightforward licensing (it's free)
  • High initial learning curve
  • Resistance from some users (due to high learning curve)
  • Overall probably equal - less faffing with licenses, particularly for SMEs
Read Glen Mehn's full review
AK Cyrway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

LibreOffice - An affordable alternative to Microsoft

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Offline capabilities; in the case of either an outage or away from wifi, I can still work on proposals and pricing.
  • Compatibility with other major office suites; can open Microsoft products easily
  • Familiarity; no having to relearn where functions and tools are placed after an update
Read AK Cyrway's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2018

Hard to Beat at the Price Point

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved a lot of money; sometimes you just need to view a document's contents and LO is adequate.
  • Presentations are not as slick or professional-looking as I'd like and I have switched to other software for when making a polished impression is important
  • Its free price is sometimes offset by the time needed to complete business objectives in the application between crashes and rendering issues
Read this authenticated review

About LibreOffice

LibreOffice is an open-source Office Suite from The Document Foundation.
Categories:  Office Suites

LibreOffice Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No