LinkedIn Learning (Lynda.com) Reviews

102 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

A great way to enhance the learning outcomes for your team

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large amount of content - from soft to hard skills, LinkedIn Learning provides a full suite of content to make available to your learners. You'll likely be hard pressed to not find something worth reviewing.
  • User management is done well. We can suggest content, review what people have completed, and make/view suggestions to keep people engaged in continuous learning.
  • Connection between LinkedIn (standard) and LinkedIn Learning as many professional users are already familiar with LinkedIn and the interface stays similar so that the transition between the two is largely seamless.
  • I'd like the ability to upload your own content to be a standard inclusion rather than an "add-on" of sorts. If part of a standard membership, we might see more adoption of this. Perhaps even adding the option to share your content with other companies where applicable.
  • If you have created a Learning Path, the editing of courses and order/placement can be problematic as rather than being able to easily shuffle courses between sections of a learning path, you would have to delete and start over. I should be able to move course x from section c to section a without issue.
  • While there are a seemingly endless number of courses/content, I'd like to see more industry-specific content, such as that focused on the insurance industry and the various platforms utilized within.
Read Matt LeMaire, B.A., M.A.'s full review
Viveka von Rosen | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Lucking out with LinkedIn Learning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Vast variety of lessons.
  • Very high quality trainings.
  • Great platform for engaging.
  • Certifications!!!
  • Ability to ask the program author questions and get real time answers.
  • Sometimes there are too many courses! Some AI intelligence to help sort courses.
  • When a course is updated I don't necessarily want to watch the whole thing again. I would love to see what is new.
  • Sometimes the platform hangs up a bit.
Read Viveka von Rosen's full review
Rocky Kev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

I've found new career paths thanks to LinkedIn Learning

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Teaching a how-to in bite sized pieces
  • Consistency of the quality of content
  • Huge library of content and education
  • Progress and tracking
  • LinkedIn Learning provides learning paths, but it's left much to be desired. Not enough direction about the why, or learning outcomes.
  • Some courses provide exercises/quizzes. Others do not. There's definitely a missing piece to test comprehension.
  • The library is so large, it's difficult to really build your own learning. I find it better for just-in-time learning.
Read Rocky Kev's full review
Sara Rogers | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

LinkedIn Learning/Lynda is a great learning platform for your organization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to find what you need
  • Super convenient
  • Very good instruction
  • They could send me links to trainings they think I'd be interested in
  • Have a quick "tips and tricks" area of their site
  • Have another area that's all long term learning as well
Read Sara Rogers's full review
Irina Danilova | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Online learning for everyone!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows the learning at your own pace. You course history is always at hand, as well as all the exercise files.
  • It allows to practice some skills (like coding) right inside the site's editor without switching to the other programs.
  • It helps to choose classes and learning paths. I am currently on my way to complete Wordpress and photography related ones.
  • The level of instructors is anything between great and brilliant. All the courses give a very clear presentations and provide adequate exercises.
  • You will be able to use your knowledge in real life. I gained a lot from what I learned watching photography and web design classes, my skills improved significantly.
  • All videos can be watch with text overlay and played at a different speed (they really care about accessibility).
  • It would be good to have more intermediate and advanced classes
  • It wood be good to have learning path that may help in gaining certification (like Microsoft or Oracle ones)
  • It would be nice to have some individual help from instructors (for the additional payment, of course)
Read Irina Danilova's full review
Jenna Boodram | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

Lynda is value for your money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lets me learn at my own pace with 24/hour access.
  • Get certificates for completed courses that show up on my LinkedIn profile.
  • It provides a wide range of courses to choose from (beginner to expert level).
  • Introduce live courses with instructors teaching you in real-time and answering questions.
  • Make it possible to “meet” other people who are currently taking the same course.
  • Currently, Lynda has a monthly subscription plan. Per course payment option should be available.
Read Jenna Boodram's full review
Roy Zumbado Cognuchz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Brilliant learning portal

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Format: the way the information is presented makes it easy to digest the content, it's just so easy to learn.
  • Unlike other market options, Lynda.com has industry relevant courses and we work with technology, so we need new courses often and their menu is getting updated constantly.
  • I love their quality standards in order to keep the user experience at a high standard.
  • Now that Lynda.com is Linkedin Learning, I'd love to have an integration with HR systems to keep track of learning objectives compliance.
Read Roy Zumbado Cognuchz's full review
Michelle Braun | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2019

lynda.com - The missing link for corporate training

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The technical training is particularly useful. Technology changes so quickly - I've noticed that some of our ILT providers are out of date. Lynda.com usually has training on the most recent version of the software.
  • Those who've attained their PMP (Project Management Professional) designation, need to continue to earn a certain number of PDUs (Professional Development Units) to maintain their certification. Lynda.com has a wide variety of training (at least 100+ hours) of relevant PDUs.
  • In addition to the technical training, Lynda.com offers soft skills classes too. From communication to management to meditation.
  • The biggest challenge that we have with Lynda.com is that the courses don't yet adhere to the AICPA/NASBA training standards -so they aren't eligible for CPE (Continuing Professional Education) credits - which are needed to maintain CPA (Certified Public Accounting) licenses. If a CPA has a choice between taking mediocre training that helps them learn something AND has CPE associated with it OR taking a good class that doesn't let them earn CPE, human nature dictates they'll take the so-so class with the CPE.
  • As of 2016, there were about 42,000 accounting firms in the United States. If Lynda.com got its classes to be CPE-worthy, there's a wide variety of people who would take more of the training and a lot more potential revenue for Lynda.com. If heard Jeff Weiner (LinkedIn CEO - who bought Lynda.com) share his goal of expanding the world's wisdom (and compassion). Getting the Lynda.com/LinkedIn Learning library to adhere to those AICPA/NASBA training standards is a simple way to achieve that goal.
  • While the technical training generally includes practice files and activities, some of the soft skills training could be more interactive. While videos of instructors talking to you can provide a baseline of information, more can be done to have the students interact with the content - and do practice activities and/or action planning. The more students engage with the content, the more likely they are to retain and apply their newfound knowledge.
  • When classes are updated to a newer version, the title - and corresponding deep link - changes too. This is challenging when you have curriculum roadmaps that point to certain classes. It would be nice if the title and link stayed the same - so that we don't constantly have to update links.
Read Michelle Braun's full review
Collin Berg | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Lynda is the world standard for video tutorials.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • LOTS of topics. There is almost an unlimited number of videos on topics. You can watch hundreds of hours of tutorials if you so wished.
  • Live-captions available, or you can read all of it.
  • Industry expert authors/instructors -- you're learning from people with pedigree.
  • Different results depending on each person's learning style or each expert's teaching style. Like in school, not all match-ups will be beneficial and totally, completely informational.
Read Collin Berg's full review
MaryAnn Jackson, MA | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2018

Lynda: The Best System for Personal or Professional Development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lynda is user-friendly, even for those who are not as tech-savvy. This enables staff members of all ages to be able to participate in training leaving the feeling of confusion behind.
  • Lynda offers a wide variety of learning courses to its users. This is especially important for business who rely on Lynda for professional development opportunities.
  • Lynda is cost effective and makes the larger business money when they subscribe. Lynda provides an avenue for businesses to invest in their professionals which can help increase business outcome and even increase revenue.
  • Not too many cons other than some course certifications do require payment.
Read MaryAnn Jackson, MA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Lynda.com is such a great investment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lynda.com has a variety of courses that can be applicable to anyone.
  • The cost of use is free for us in our institution.
  • There is access to different supplemental resources in each course.
  • Lynda.com can be overwhelming at times and the resources are not always organized in a conducive manner for learning.
  • I think there is room for additional courses on certain topics like how to use statistical packages such as R, Stata, SAS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Excellent educational resource

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Has a huge collection of training videos and courses.
  • Videos are appropriately tagged and all helper files for following along with the course are available for download.
  • Overall, the content available through the website is sufficiently large for most users. However, I did feel as if the website did not have the latest courses on newer or upcoming technologies in the software development field.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 26, 2018

Great educational resource

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lynda.com has a wide range of instructional training videos on a lot of different subjects.
  • The training videos can be watched as one-off or users can enroll in specific courses giving them more in-depth knowledge about the specific studying material.
  • Filtering through the content by searching on specific tags can sometimes reveal erroneous results, and video content can quickly become outdated.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2018

Great learning tool. Feels like YouTube with a business focus

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Certificates of Completion. New feature that does what you think.
  • Videos at a faster pace! There are a lot of speakers and topics conducive to making that 2 hour course take only 90 minutes. Love that!
  • LOTS of topics.
  • Live-captions available, or you can read all of it.
  • I actually can't think of anything bothersome, not even interface problems. It works great.
Read Joshua Henke's full review
Chris Salles | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2018

Learn with Lynda, the possibilities are nearly endless

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Industry expert authors/instructors - you're learning from people with pedigree.
  • Breadth and depth of catalog - not only is there a wide range of topics and disciplines, but there are frequently several levels of depth within each (eg. Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced).
  • Time needed to complete each course AND each section of a course are included - you know what you're getting into from the first click.
  • Knowledge checks are infrequent - as of this writing, they have begun to beta-test adding in a "How much do you know?" knowledge check at the beginning of some courses.
Read Chris Salles's full review
Alexander Perrigo | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 30, 2018

LYNDA.COM > Great Learning Product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Concise video segments that allow for easier knowledge absorption.
  • Associated with the continued education process for all manner of certifications and knowledge obtainment.
  • The continually updated knowledge base to choose from in the Lynda Library.
  • Needs more options for practical examinations for learning paths.
  • Options for Audio only learning.
  • Upon successful completion of an examination, I would like to see discounts available for CE. This, I understand, is dependent upon partners.
Read Alexander Perrigo's full review
Rocky Banks | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

Concise review of lynda.com

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their customer service is superb. They have always been willing to solve any technical challenges and follow-up.
  • The sale representative always contacts me ahead of time in the renewal window. He does everything to help.
  • Their site is well designed, easy to administer, and it is easy to track learning paths.
  • When they were acquired by LinkedIn, the next invoice barely noted the invoice was for Lynda.com. I at first thought it was a phishing attempt using LinkedIn as a front.
  • The invoice should be from the lynda.com domain and NOT from LinkedIn.
  • Account administrators should be able to change passwords, and see passwords, for the license entities they manage. Also, all email notices to users should be duplicated to account administrators.
Read Rocky Banks's full review
Ai Ashe | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Review of lynda.com

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The training is clear, you can access it on any device.
  • The instruction covers all areas of the software in question. It is updated on a regular basis to keep up with software updates.
  • Files from the course can be downloaded and used for practice.
  • Able to link students directly to another valuable resource for learning (only the free videos)
  • Lynda.com pretty much covers all of what I need.
  • The only thing is that it is not free and many students don't have the means to subscribe to the training. Perhaps a student price?
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Benjamin Brogdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2017

Lynda.com: massive and passive software training library

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Variety: the lynda.com library is enormous. In fact, it can be a little overwhelming when you sit down and search.
  • Depth: lynda.com training videos are very detailed.
  • High quality: videos are delivered by knowledgeable experts who have great screen presence.
  • Passive content: I would like to see training that is more interactive. Lynda.com videos are purely passive. They do provide source code so that you can follow along. But this source code does not take the place of skill checks.
  • Learning plans: I think that lynda.com can do a better job of providing users with more direction when it comes to selecting related training. Most people do a search for the software they need to learn to use, such as Photoshop. And, lynda.com has hours and hours of Photoshop training. But, it would be great if the platform asked you to identify the projects you need to do and recommend relevant supplements. If you need to learn Photoshop, you probably also need to know how to use Illustrator, InDesign, etc.
Read Benjamin Brogdon's full review
Brett Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2017

Learn to never stop learning.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Providing a large amount of content, with well-executed training content. Able to choose areas of interest and begin the learning process at your own pace, taking on courses and content ranging from completely beginner levels up the scale to advanced learning.
  • Very easy-to-use interface that allows for an easy adoption and to hit the ground running with little to no need for instruction or hand holding.
  • Ability to set playlists lets a user browse through and tag content that they're interested in, able to tackle at a later date. Allows for better organization, structure, and ultimately helps lead towards similar content that's of interest to the user(s).
  • Easy to point the finger at pricing. Though in my opinion Lynda.com content is priced fairly, paying less is always of interest to society. That said, should the content suffer, lowering pricing wouldn't pose as a benefit to their offering.
  • Perhaps more of a tiered or a la carte model would attract more users: particularly low-usage users.
Read Brett Jones's full review
Tina Francis | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2017

Lynda.com rocks!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Love the practice exercises.
  • Clear explanations with examples.
  • Thoughtful progression.
  • Can start where you left off.
  • Just add more technologies and new apps, [such as] Data Science, BI reporting [topics].
  • I would like to see more advanced JIRA videos.
Read Tina Francis's full review
Erika Schaefer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2017

Strengthen Your Employees & Employers with Lynda.com

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great variety of classes!
  • Breaks down each subject and lets you bookmark where you are and save it.
  • Has great materials (workbooks) to accompany the class.
  • I find it helpful to have more interactive pieces to accompany the lessons and not just the workbook that you do as you watch the video. But something to practice a few more times after to make sure the lessons sink in.
Read Erika Schaefer's full review

About LinkedIn Learning (Lynda.com)

Lynda.com (now offered as part of LinkedIn Learning) is an elearning course library acquired and now supported by LinkedIn in May 2015.
Categories:  eLearning Content

LinkedIn Learning (Lynda.com) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No