Linode Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
213 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 128)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Linode] is well suited for developer who have OS knowledge, can install software, services and configure them on their own.
It is not good for user who are not experienced in using the Linix CLI. Since there is not much UI to do such tasks. It does not have a UI for CI/CD
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
March 31, 2021
Dave Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode is a self-managed platform, you get a VPS that you control, and you need to know what you're getting into. If you're comfortable as a system administrator then Linode is fantastic, but if you want a ready-to-go web host, Linode isn't your thing. But having true root access including the ability to deploy your own filesystem is amazing, and you aren't limited to what their backend tools want to offer.

I did have issues with jitter when trying to run our VoIP platform on Linode, but admittedly my office's internet provider is not well connected to where Linode's servers are located. We had similar issues [with] other VPS providers until we went to a VoIP-specific provider.

I wish they offered Windows Servers too, but I'm a minority there.
Read Dave Warren's full review
March 30, 2021
Albert Mensah-Ansah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode is best suited when you are deploying a solution for a client and the client has no constraints concerning where it is deployed. The place where it is less appropriate is suggesting it to someone who is coming from an AWS background with a lot of buttons and knobs to turn.
Read Albert Mensah-Ansah's full review
March 23, 2021
Justin Ponce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I am very pleased with the service and hope to continue using them for the foreseeable future. Though I recommend them to others, it all comes down to use cases and what exactly the customer needs (and what they are aware they need). "Working in IT" is an ambiguous term and there can be a wide knowledge & skill gap between IT providers and customers. Because of this, I would only recommend Linode to those who are comfortable using the command line and have at least some knowledge of network layers and how they interact.
Read Justin Ponce's full review
March 18, 2021
Tiago Ameller Gomila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For small web services or applications, you don't need the scalability of AWS, Azure or Google. With Linode you have no surprises in the monthly cost. Otherwise, if you need to scale fast or by season demands, you'll need to do a lot of work manually.
Read Tiago Ameller Gomila's full review
March 17, 2021
Harald Kubota | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need a VM, or some for running Kubernetes, Linode is my recommended place. You don't get all the bells and whistles the other larger cloud providers offer, but if you don't need those or you don't want those due to lock-in, then you get rock solid performance and great support here.
Read Harald Kubota's full review
March 15, 2021
Praneeth Karnena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode is particularly well suited for start-ups. Also, for geeks and open-source developers. Linode is highly cost-effective. If you just floated a small company and looking to optimize costs, and have a bunch of geeks, then Linode is pure love for you! You get full control over the server and can build everything you can dream of.

On the other side of things, Linode does not provide a lot of services like other cloud providers like AWS and GCP. So, if you are a large business or a corporation, Linode might not always be the best fit for you. Linode lacks core services like Managed Databases, Firewalls, CDN, App Platforms and more.
Read Praneeth Karnena's full review
March 15, 2021
David Ashman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode has been great for building and testing applications with the ability to easily scale it up as load increases. For a small company/developer/enthusiast, Linode is everything I want - affordable, powerful, easy to get started, and stable.
Read David Ashman's full review
March 14, 2021
Marc Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode has been excellent for bringing up quick projects to show clients, as well as providing the necessary infrastructure for production deployments. It does require a bit more technical knowledge for going beyond their Stack Scripts or Marketplace deployments, but that is also where their benefits are. They do not lock you in to doing things a particular way or use any overly proprietary APIs or systems. For my clients, the ability to move from one cloud provider to another quickly and easily is important, though Linode hasn't given any reason to want to switch providers yet.
Read Marc Lewis's full review
March 14, 2021
Chris Hodgetts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are a few people around the office using Azure as their service providers for personal projects,
Every chance I get I tell them about Linode and their pricing structure, their products and their web controls. I even pull them back to my desk to show them how simple Linode is to setup, maintain and operate.
Read Chris Hodgetts's full review
March 14, 2021
David Piccione | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If there was a need to purchase server hardware for any particular reason, I would recommend Linode instead in every case. Far more cost effective, robust, scalable and reliable than any directly supported piece of hardware. However, this does assume a reasonable level of technical experience.
Read David Piccione's full review
January 28, 2021
Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There is no overhead of needing to learn an abstract interface to use their offering. If you know how to handle Linux boxes, you can use Linode. The value of this is often overlooked by many. Startups, those looking to push the envelope and roll up their sleeves to gain a competitive edge will benefit.

To put it simply, if you want to have complete control over your Linux servers on a fast reliable network, Linode is a must look at. No matter how simple your application is, your operations and admin teams will appreciate the flexibility of being able to control things at the base layers. Subsequently, your organisation will benefit.
Read Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt)'s full review
April 16, 2021
Shane Bill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode is an amazing system for quickly creating a VM, and then deploying the various tools within that virtual machine. There are lots of flavours that you can install for OSs. It is extremely powerful, affordable, and scalable as you need. I can see this working for many different types of company sizes, and infrastructure needs.

In terms of hosting mail servers there does seem to be issues in terms of their nodes being blacklisted frequently. I don't know if this is common but it would be extremely helpful to provide specific VM space that has a zero tolerance for spamming which would help those of us receive higher rankings.
Read Shane Bill's full review
March 30, 2021
Boon Eam Lim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Development wise: Very suitable for those using less popular Linux distro. Suitable for testing/staging server.
Organization wise: Very suitable for organization's email/web/application server.
Customer wise: Very suitable to sell your SaaS as dedicated node to customer that may consume unpredictable outbound traffic.
Less suitable for connectivity-critical application especially in development countries (countries that lack of decent network infra).
Read Boon Eam Lim's full review
March 26, 2021
Alan Dingeldein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you need a server with excellent bandwidth and availability Linode is the way to go. I suppose that if someone needs a Windows deployment that there may be better options. However, there may be Windows deployments offered. I've just never used or looked for one.
Read Alan Dingeldein's full review
March 17, 2021
Moshe Katz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode is well-suited to almost any situation that needs virtual Linux servers with great performance.
The only scenario in which I do not use Linode is for storage of large amounts of data, such as audio/video recordings.
If you need several machines to communicate privately among themselves, it might be easier to implement that on some other platforms.
Read Moshe Katz's full review
March 17, 2021
Matt Hackmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Linode has given me a decade of great services as I've grown my little hobbyist website into several websites of varying complexity. And they're somehow still priced very competitively to the bigs like AWS and Azure, especially with regards to data transfer. If you have a small to medium sized need for vanilla servers connected to the internet by a company that'll manage the hardware stuff, you really can't go wrong with Linode.
Read Matt Hackmann's full review
March 17, 2021
Mike Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For simple low cost website hosting, Linode is a great option to consider. AWS is an alternative, but I find it overwhelming to the average small system developer/owner.
Read Mike Collins's full review
March 17, 2021
Phillip Clapham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is the perfect choice for small developers like myself to host CMS and similar systems in a cost effective environment. The cost is low and predictable enough as well that you can experiment with new tech stacks with more confidence than you can with places like AWS where billing can quickly get out of control.
Read Phillip Clapham's full review
March 17, 2021
Michael Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

A huge variety of preconfigured setups are available, multiple operating systems and applications, great tutorials and knowledgeable support staff. The only downside I can see is if you just do not require/need/want a presence in the cloud.
Read Michael Babcock's full review
March 15, 2021
Ryan Hoyt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great drive partitioning, private server setup, static IP, and customisability. You won't be sorry using Linode as a hosting solution but make sure you are IT savvy or have a server-side developer or tech person that can work with you if you aren't familiar with servers and web hosting.
Read Ryan Hoyt's full review

What is Linode?

For cloud infrastructure, Linode offers Linux virtual machines and a set of tools to develop, deploy, and scale modern applications.

Linode states their belief that in order to accelerate innovation in the cloud, virtual computing must be more accessible, affordable, and simple. Their infrastructure-as-a-service platform is deployed across 11 global markets from global data centers and is supported by what they describe as a Next Generation Network, advanced APIs, comprehensive services, and a vast library of educational resources. Linode products, services, and people aim to enable developers and businesses to build, deploy, and scale applications more easily and cost-effectively in the cloud.

Linode Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls

Linode Screenshots

Linode Videos (2)

Linode Downloadables

Linode Integrations

Linode Competitors

Linode Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
1 Core$5.00Per Month
2 Cores$20.00Per Month
8 Cores$160.00Per Month

CPU, transfer, storage, and RAM bundled into one simple price. Increase storage capacity with additional Block Storage or S3-compatible Object Storage. Add instant Backups with complete independency to your stack. Ensure your applications and services are highly-available with Linode NodeBalancers. Deploy Kubernetes clusters with our fully-managed container orchestration engine.

Linode Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Linode Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Linode's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Linode?

The most common users of Linode are Small Businesses from the Computer Software industry.