Linode Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
213 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 128)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 14, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Linode servers are easy to configure. It comes with a stable OS on which you can install exactly the services you need to install.
  • It is cheaper than other cloud VMs like AWS and Azure.
  • Performance of the VMs is good. You could host small apps on the smallest linode which costs $5 per month.
  • The blob storage should have pay for how much you use.
  • There should be a email service like there Simple Email Service in AWS
  • There should be option to scale down to save on costs in off seasons.
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
March 30, 2021
Albert Mensah-Ansah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The documentation to get you started is very good. Detailed enough to get you off the ground and not too bulky to bog you down.
  • Pricing and Billing very clear and fair.
  • The Linode platform is not complicated. You are just shown what you need to see at any point in time.
  • I get a ton of emails about Linode server issues and because of the quantity of notifications, it's hard for me to sift through them to know what one is related to my server or which of them I should be concerned about.
  • I need a notification that tells me my server is not being used and it's one wasting money. I don't get that notification.
  • Apart from these two, I don't really have any cons for Linode. It's great for the things I do.
Read Albert Mensah-Ansah's full review
March 23, 2021
Justin Ponce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • New dashboard has a clean, easy to navigate UI.
  • Support seems to be attentive, proactive, and fair.
  • Resources, such as support docs, are a nice touch and are mostly up-to-date.
  • IPv4 addresses given have been clean and pass spam blacklists.
  • SSH keys feature under 'My Profile' hasn't reached its potential, e.g. if you want to add more than one user to a machine during deployment.
  • A review of currently available support docs and updating them for the latest (stable) distros would be good.
Read Justin Ponce's full review
March 18, 2021
Tiago Ameller Gomila | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Administration panel is easy to use.
  • VPS is pretty fast, enough for our needs.
  • When a problem arises, they notify us and solve it in minutes.
  • Billing. I wish to have invoices in Euros.
  • Due to Brexit, we abandoned our London data center. I would like to have some other in Spain or France to balance our assets.
  • I would like to know more about how secure Linode's data centers are. We know literally nothing about these infrastructures.
Read Tiago Ameller Gomila's full review
March 17, 2021
Harald Kubota | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pricing and pricing structure.
  • API access and API documentation.
  • Simple yet effective UI.
  • Kubernetes offering.
  • I'd love to see managed DB capabilities offered.
  • NodeBalancers are surprisingly expensive compared to VMs.
  • VPC like GCP does (crossing sites).
Read Harald Kubota's full review
March 15, 2021
Praneeth Karnena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Price-to-performance
  • Cost effective
  • Uptime
  • Support
  • Making the dashboard UI cleaner and simpler
  • Launching different and diverse services
  • Launching intranet-based security features
  • More granular control over user management
Read Praneeth Karnena's full review
March 14, 2021
Marc Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer Service.
  • Documentation.
  • Competitive Pricing.
  • Transparency with any service issues.
  • Additional Cloud Storage Locations for faster access across datacenters.
  • Managed database services, either SQL or NoSQL.
  • NodeBalancers could be more robust/scalable.
  • A bit more consistency with their Kubernetes system with regard to node pools.
Read Marc Lewis's full review
March 14, 2021
Chris Hodgetts | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Uptime - in the 4 years I have been with Linode I have not noticed any unscheduled outages, and the scheduled ones I do remember, finished before they were scheduled to, and did not have any major impact on services
  • DNS - Linodes' management portal for DNS control is simple, easy to use and understand
  • Tech Support responsiveness - they have always been very good at responding to support tickets, and I have found their support staff to be very very helpful.
  • Datacenter Locations - they have their Data center locations in useful places around the world.
  • I would like to see a weekly or monthly Backup provided as part of the monthly fee.
  • Being able to scale drive space requirements a little better
  • I can't really think of a third one, honestly - they give you a Virtual Machine and allow you to do what you need to do on it, and at a reasonable price.
Read Chris Hodgetts's full review
January 28, 2021
Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt) | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent support, fast, detailed and service oriented.
  • Great flexibility in the platform for Linux based solutions, of whatever kind.
  • Ping times are fast, great global presence.
  • Regular platform updates and services, have allowed us to experiment with the latest tech.
  • Their online terminal shell to access the host via a web interface can act up (based on locale settings). We often use ssh direct instead.
  • Resource monitoring options are bare bones. Good for what it does, but need to use external, or self hosted solutions for detailed metrics as the infrastructure grows.
  • A trade off for the flexibility on offer, means less "easy" platform based security locks. Example, our clients sometimes ask about port blocks. Here, customized blocks are your responsibility which some cloud users take time adjusting too. It's not really a con though, many actually prefer it, including us.
Read Erle Pereira, MBA (EntMgt)'s full review
April 16, 2021
Shane Bill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Linode servers are easy to configure.
  • Easy to expand and decrease without much trouble.
  • Overall performance is great on VM machines, and easy to spin off clones.
  • Great support.
  • Intuitive backend interface.
  • Servers maintaining email services tend to regularly get blacklisted, which makes me wonder what kind of vetting and/or response they do to spam-based applications on other VMs.
  • Overall, amazing servers although recently they have had serious repeated issues with US sites which is frustrating.
  • Additional locations in Canada would be ideal.
Read Shane Bill's full review
March 30, 2021
Boon Eam Lim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Predictable monthly cost (easy to plan and control).
  • Intuitive work flow and console (no/little learning curve).
  • Provide variants of Linux flavors (best choice for those using less popular distro).
  • The only IaaS that provide Gentoo distro out of the box (as far as I know).
  • Good customer services, friendly and polite (far better than the top 3 IaaS providers as of 2021).
  • Network performance. This is the only problem we're facing in Linode, not all nodes will faced the issue, but some nodes. In short, it's nearly 20% will be facing network performance issue in certain areas.
  • Price in additional storage ($0.10/GB) is too high compare to others.
Read Boon Eam Lim's full review
March 19, 2021
Juan Manuel Acuna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Technical support is great. Their response is clear, fast, and efficient.
  • Their hardware is always up to date.
  • Their documentation is very good.
  • It would be great if they had technical support in languages other than English
Read Juan Manuel Acuna's full review
March 17, 2021
Richard Irwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy of use.
  • Package deployment.
  • Reliability.
  • Security.
  • More frequent backup options would be useful.
  • Incremental backup schedules.
  • Larger disks on standard Linodes for media heavy, low processing environments.
Read Richard Irwin's full review
March 17, 2021
Moshe Katz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Uncomplicated pricing.
  • Great performance.
  • Great reliability.
  • Easy-to-read documentation.
  • It would be nice to have a border firewall and have easier private communication between instances.
Read Moshe Katz's full review
March 17, 2021
Matt Hackmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ultimate flexibility my giving me a cloud connected Linux computer.
  • Very simple to stand up new services (nodes, balancers, DNS, etc.).
  • Insanely good documentation for a variety of things that extends even beyond doing things on Linode.
  • Fremont is definitely more stable than it had been, but still has its blips.
  • Admin integration with letsencrypt SSL for balancers would be awesome.
  • As far as I'm aware, you still can't run geotargeted balancers across different server domains (I can't make a Linode CDN).
Read Matt Hackmann's full review
March 17, 2021
Mike Collins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • When I started searching for a hosting provider to replace what I was using at Yahoo, I looked for someone who was inexpensive and offered web and database software. Linode was selected as it met these objectives.
  • Since I started with Linode, the UI and services provided have become more beneficial. I have used DNS, backup and the scripting for provisioning new servers.
  • As time went on, my need to provide the service to my client diminished and I wanted to maintain a small footprint, ideally with a low cost backup so I could easily spin up the resources if I needed them in the future. This wasn't as cheap or easy as I wanted.
Read Mike Collins's full review
March 17, 2021
Phillip Clapham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Their pricing is more fair and logical than their competitors.
  • They have some of the fastest data centers I've used.
  • Their build tools are my favorite among their competition.
  • They lack Windows based servers.
  • They lack more advanced features.
  • Some of their current features tend to be shallow.
Read Phillip Clapham's full review
March 17, 2021
Michael Babcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast and reliable access
  • Awesome technical support that is knowledgeable and fast to respond
  • Amazing price points for the quality and quantity of service offered
  • Honestly can not think of any cons to the services offered that we've taken advantage of.
Read Michael Babcock's full review
March 17, 2021
Joseph Brower | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Servers are fast.
  • Scaling is quick.
  • Support is responsive.
  • API is flexible allowing for nice integrations.
  • Internal networking is difficult. Private network is not as private as we would like.
  • Some features require enabling for all servers, instead of just a few.
Read Joseph Brower's full review

What is Linode?

For cloud infrastructure, Linode offers Linux virtual machines and a set of tools to develop, deploy, and scale modern applications.

Linode states their belief that in order to accelerate innovation in the cloud, virtual computing must be more accessible, affordable, and simple. Their infrastructure-as-a-service platform is deployed across 11 global markets from global data centers and is supported by what they describe as a Next Generation Network, advanced APIs, comprehensive services, and a vast library of educational resources. Linode products, services, and people aim to enable developers and businesses to build, deploy, and scale applications more easily and cost-effectively in the cloud.

Linode Features

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) Features

Has featureService-level Agreement (SLA) uptime
Has featureDynamic scaling
Has featureElastic load balancing
Has featurePre-configured templates
Has featureMonitoring tools
Has featurePre-defined machine images
Has featureOperating system support
Has featureSecurity controls

Linode Screenshots

Linode Videos (2)

Linode Downloadables

Linode Integrations

Linode Competitors

Linode Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
1 Core$5.00Per Month
2 Cores$20.00Per Month
8 Cores$160.00Per Month

CPU, transfer, storage, and RAM bundled into one simple price. Increase storage capacity with additional Block Storage or S3-compatible Object Storage. Add instant Backups with complete independency to your stack. Ensure your applications and services are highly-available with Linode NodeBalancers. Deploy Kubernetes clusters with our fully-managed container orchestration engine.

Linode Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Linode Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Linode's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Linode?

The most common users of Linode are Small Businesses from the Computer Software industry.