Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Litmus

Litmus

Overview

What is Litmus?

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Litmus Review

8 out of 10
July 02, 2024
Incentivized
We use Litmus to review email renderings across a variety of email clients. Particularly we use it to determine how Outlook will render …
Continue reading

Litmus Review.

9 out of 10
May 27, 2024
Incentivized
Testing all emails going out of the organization is very helpful when it comes to testing the emails across multiple devices. Litmus …
Continue reading

Litmus

8 out of 10
May 16, 2024
Incentivized
We use litmus to test HTML email designs on different clients to ensure they render correctly across our most delivered-to-email clients. …
Continue reading

Litmus is great

10 out of 10
March 25, 2024
Incentivized
I use Litmus to send my emails round to my team for feedback. This is great as they can comment and see others comments. I then use Litmus …
Continue reading

Litmus review.

6 out of 10
February 15, 2024
Incentivized
We use Litmus to ensure that our emails render properly across all mailbox providers, mobile and tablet devices, and desktop screens. With …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Email Previews (291)
    9.2
    92%
  • Mobile optimization (296)
    9.1
    91%
  • Spam Testing (218)
    8.0
    80%
  • URL Validation (217)
    7.7
    77%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

1 video

Litmus Review: Litmus Provides Tracking To Allow Companies To Survey The Success Of Campaigns
03:48
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.litmus.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $99 per month
Return to navigation

Features

Email & Online Marketing

Using software to manage lists, send emails, automate email campaigns, and track results.

5.1
Avg 8.1

Reporting & Analytics

Users can report on and analyze usage, performance, ROI, and/or other metrics of success.

6.9
Avg 7.7

Pre-Send Testing

This set of features allows marketers to test out and preview various elements of their emails before sending out email campaigns. URL validation, inbox display, and email review are some of the activities included in pre-send testing.

8.2
Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Litmus?

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent. Too many companies are sending out broken emails without even knowing it, missing the deeper insights needed to really improve results, and struggling to personalize emails at scale.


Litmus aims to give users a better way to build, test, and trust every outgoing message. Litmus states that currently over 700,000 marketing professionals are users of their platform. And the company boasts a customer satisfaction rating of 98%.

Litmus Features

Email & Online Marketing Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG email editor
  • Supported: Dynamic content
  • Supported: Ability to test dynamic content
  • Supported: Mobile optimization
  • Supported: Email deliverability reporting

Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports

Pre-Send Testing Features

  • Supported: URL Validation
  • Supported: Link Tracking
  • Supported: Spam Testing
  • Supported: Email Previews
  • Supported: Assign Reviewers
  • Supported: Email Version Control
  • Supported: Task Lists
  • Supported: Review Status Updates

Litmus Screenshots

Screenshot of Litmus Personalize Essentials, with live polls to give subscribers a voice and drive email engagement.Screenshot of Litmus Email Guardian, featuring 24/7 link monitoring to safeguard emails.Screenshot of Litmus' integrated insights reports, that can automatically combine metrics from Salesforce Marketing Cloud with subscriber engagement insights from Litmus.Screenshot of campaign preview, available in 100+ popular email clientsScreenshot of Litmus' inbox previewing and feedback tools, that help users to spot and fix issues early.

Litmus Videos

Litmus Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

As a core component of an organization's marketing tech stack, Litmus allows users to create, personalize, test, review, and analyze every email sent.

Litmus starts at $99.

Email on Acid, Everest (Return Path + 250ok), and Movable Ink are common alternatives for Litmus.

Reviewers rate Email Previews highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Litmus are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(504)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 316)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
July 02, 2024

Litmus Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to view and thumb through the different email client previews.
  • Good notifications around things to check for email safety and compliance like alt text missing, accessibility, etc.
  • It seems like depending on what platform you use Litmus does not render the html properly. For example, with Hubspot if you use the feature that allows you to "send" a test email to Litmus, it renders improperly, forcing us to copy and paste all the html which can be tedious.
  • When we refresh subject lines and re-run tests to get a newpreview link, the Sl doesn't change. This has led to client confusion because at the top of the preview link it has old content.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Spam Testing.
  • Well seasoned email template code.
  • Code Analysis and Troubleshooting.
  • Customer Service.
  • The Q&A analyses seem to be triggered unnecessarily when reviewing preview text. However, if the issue is legitimate, it gives less than helpful feedback on how to remedy that particular situation.
  • Intermittently, the Q&A will have trouble opening links with routes on the landing page. Specifically 'Twitter.'
May 27, 2024

Litmus Review.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Test previews in different mobile devices.
  • Email Guardian.
  • Litmus blogs suggestions helpful in email creation.
  • Limitation of users and cost.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Email Guardian
  • Proofing & QA
  • Identify issues and ensure emails are rendering correctly
  • Provides more personalization functions
  • Testing links/notification should be centralized and easy to navigate, currently its not
  • slow loading for preview and QA testings
May 16, 2024

Litmus

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Display emails on other clients.
  • Easy to use tracking pixels.
  • Store email templates and snippets.
  • Tracking sometimes seems inaccurate.
  • Aggregate tracking over a campaign could be improved.
March 27, 2024

Great testing tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Testing across platforms - you can see if your email is displaying properly across a number of devices and email clients, which can help you troubleshoot issues and ensure your emails always look good to every recipient.
  • The Litmus Personalize builder has a lot of cool features and allows you to add interactivity into otherwise static emails.
  • Communication in terms of responding to questions and helping resolve issues, especially with the Personalize tool.
  • The Litmus Personalize builder is easy to use when setting up experiences, but can be difficult to implement where it looks good across all devices. This can end up making a "quick integration" time consuming as you troubleshoot.
  • It would be great to see how subject lines display for all devices
  • A tool to see how emojis display across devices
March 25, 2024

Litmus is great

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Always works, very dependable.
  • Allows my global team to see emails no matter what the time of day
  • The previews are great to check emails before send
February 15, 2024

Litmus review.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • View, edit, and assure HTML is rendering properly.
  • Test subject lines and preheader texts.
  • An abundance of online resources.
  • The online navigation is not as straightforward as I'd personally like. Even though I've used Litmus to test subject lines and preheader texts, I often times forget how to navigate to that part of the website. I.e., It's not straightforward.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Provides details in various components of the emails that cannot be easily checked (e.g. alt text, hidden preheated, rendering on edge-case devices)
  • Platform is easy to navigate
  • Continuous development e.g. addition of color-friendly view, Litmus Guardian, etc.
  • Previews sometimes don't show the whole email/ are blank since the snapshots were taken too early.
  • More Android devices in the preview section
  • Ability to automatically group emails within a folder based on send date
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Email Template Previews and QA
  • Email Template Building
  • Preview and QA testing is outdated for Android devices
  • Preview and QA testing is not available for the newer iOS devices
  • Preview and QA testing is not accurate for Microsoft desktop devices
  • It takes so long for Preview and QA testing to load. I would love the load speed to improve
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Previews across different email clients
  • Provides important delivery recommendations
  • Granular feedback suggestions
  • Builder tools to troubleshoot issues
  • The preview interface is clunky
  • No ability to see real time updates
  • Lacks all versions of email rendering clients/ios
February 05, 2024

Litmus is my hero

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Weekly newsletters with marketing trends
  • Dark mode preview
  • Rendering of emails between iOS and Android devices
  • I would like to see real time preview updates
  • More combinations of iOS versions with and without dark mode
  • Monthly newsletter
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Coding HTML emails. Coding has never been so easier, specially being able to see how the email will look in different email clients, being able to identify issues, and finding ways to work around them.
  • Email tracking for analytics. Being able to see the data in a simple and understanding way without being confused as to what is what.
  • Support. They have a great support team in case any issues or errors are encountered. Even asking them simple questions can lead to great answers that you wouldn't expect.
  • In the Analyze section. A button to create new tracking codes off the bat would be great, without having to go into the tracking code manager first.
February 05, 2024

My experience with Litmus

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Visualization of mails across different systems
  • Watch different versions of the mail
  • Modify the code and watch the changes immediately
  • Access the documentation
  • Add more details on the tasks of an email
  • It would be nice to have the option of sending an email from the preview section
February 03, 2024

Litmus in Marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Reviewing deliverability of your emails
  • Providing a detailed blog on what's happening in the email world
  • Organizing your spam test for you to easily reference in the future
  • I'm not sure what I can do with litmus outside of email testing
  • They have an email builder I believe. How does that support the ESP I'm currently using. Is it only HTML based?
  • What services does Litmus offer? What am I paying for outside of deliverability checks.
February 01, 2024

Litmus- Good

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Litmus excels in providing comprehensive email testing capabilities,
  • Previews across various email clients and devices, spam testing, and link validation.
  • its analytics feature offers valuable insights into email performance, such as open rates and click-through rates, enabling us to optimize our campaigns effectively.
  • At this point I don't have any feedback in this area.
  • I need to further work into it.
January 26, 2024

Litmus Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
  • Easy to understand and use. It's intuitive how to use the product.
  • Completes the renders quickly. Instant feedback helps a lot.
  • I like how we can save the images of the renders to show to team members.
  • I think it is a bit pricy for our use case. We don't need all the features, wish there was more flexible pricing. I cannot think of other cons. Mostly because we only use it for pasting in HTML and looking at renders.
Return to navigation