Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
190 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 63)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 07, 2021
Joe Hughes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is cheaper, by far. Easier to manage. In the end, Looker was a better choice for us, even with its maintenance warts and the headaches with the APIs. Tableau licensing is difficult to manage, at the very least, whereas Looker is not. User management is much easier to manage within Looker.
Read Joe Hughes's full review
May 03, 2021
Greg Alder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is widely used and trusted within the data analytics industry, so this is the main reason why we chose it and selected it over other software. Also, the interface is pretty easy to use so it was good for our team since everyone could learn quickly.
Read Greg Alder's full review
April 30, 2021
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker was easier to use, better integration with non-standard datastores, such as Prestodb, and Snowflake, and BigTable. Ease of manageability. Creation of reports faster and easier compared to QlikView. Tableau has better heat maps, however, Looker has better drill down in heat map compared to Tableau. Licensing is cheaper than QlikView.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
April 30, 2021
David Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is overall the best software for data visualization simply because it does not take a lot of time to onboard someone for this software and it still has tons of functionality.
Read David Turner's full review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker provided us with a cheaper alternative to Google Charts because it had the basic features we required and we do not need to have anything else added to it from a Marketing perspective. Although Google Charts has the brand hierarchy and looks to be in a better placed position to natively pull in information from Google-related products, it is simply not the case we needed as the price was too high to justify the jump from Looker. Overall, Looker does what we need it to do, and that's why we chose it.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker has been around for quite some time and they have been a leader of the market due to their features. They also have a great support team that is always available to help.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Mixpanel a bit a while ago at the same company and our set-up of the program wasn't good so it was impossible to find what I needed to do my reporting. Now with Looker the setup is generally solid and if you have SQL Runner access in Looker you can get anything you need.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

- It has no analytics engine of its own and relies entirely on our database
- Integration of this software is easy in the existing system without making much changes
- It has a web version available which means the work stays on the cloud
- It has the ability to drill down to the row level of the data
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Kevin Yip | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our company uses Looker because our parent company has a data team to support the data warehouse and all the scripting. It is basically used for our circulation dept. I am developing it for our advertising dept because they have DFP in the data warehouse. However, I still deploy TapClicks for our advertising reporting because it does not require knowledge of SQL and a data team. Their UI is very user-friendly. I pretty much handle all reporting by myself with the help of their customer support.
Read Kevin Yip's full review
September 27, 2019
Maddie Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was not involved in the decision to utilize Looker, as that was made well before I was brought into the company. I also haven't been exposed to any of their competitors, as the last position I held utilized an internal system.
Read Maddie Morris's full review
September 13, 2019
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker was not as flexible as Tableau, but it provides more customization through code and it provides a consistent data model which can be nice.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
August 09, 2019
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker provides really excellent customer service in comparison to other similar products. The sharing aspect of Looker is also a big plus, which allows multiple users to access the data at the same time. We have also found it to stand out among competitors with its dashboard manipulation and ability ot customize.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker was, hands down, better than any other products we looked at. It was far easier to get started and keep moving because of Looker's internal programming language and data definition language, LookML. We were up and going in just a few days and were creating advanced analytics the same day we got started after reading the LookML docs. Now, we have a pretty sharp team of programmers (I'm a former programmer by trade). I was even able to get started very, very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is a lot easier to connect with our data pipelines and for users to create their own scalable Explores. Before, analysts would have to create separate Tableau dashboards for each ask, but now with Lookers Explores, some teams are able to self serve and create their own dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It was cheaper and less complicated. We were not ready to just into something as big as Sisense and quite frankly didn't need that level of product at the time. We also considered building our own tool but eventually realized that would be way more time and effort consuming so we went with Looker.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is a lower cost solution than other tools available in the marketplace. Unfortunately, that means that it does not have as many resources available that help users with onboarding and getting up to speed. They also charge for add-on functionality that comes standard on the other comparable tools that other companies provide.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2018
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker stacks up very well against the other tools we have evaluated and used. All the tools have their own pros and cons. Looker had a better edge in terms of visualizations when we chose to use it. After several updates, other tools began to have newer features. Looker still stands competitive.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (54)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (63)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (51)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (64)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (63)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (65)
8.0
Publish to Web (51)
8.2
Publish to PDF (53)
7.6
Report Versioning (40)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (61)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (53)
7.6
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (61)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (59)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (59)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (41)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (38)
7.5

What is Looker?

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Looker Screenshots

Looker Video

See the simple process of connecting your database to Looker and gaining insights to your data with Rafael Jara-Simkin of Looker. With the yaml based modeling language, LookML, your business logic is easily repeatable and reusable, allowing your analysts to better leverage the data and save time from writing SQL queries. Easily visualize your data sets and create dashboards, connecting your organization's teams to better collaborate and gain insight.

Looker Downloadables

Looker Competitors

Looker Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact sales team for pricing.

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Looker?

Looker is a BI application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. It includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for data discovery, and an API for supporting data in other systems.

What is Looker's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Web highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Looker?

The most common users of Looker are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.