Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 51)

Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Looker - taking a closer look at your organization!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker provides really excellent customer service in comparison to other similar products. The sharing aspect of Looker is also a big plus, which allows multiple users to access the data at the same time. We have also found it to stand out among competitors with its dashboard manipulation and ability ot customize.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Kevin Yip | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Solid performer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our company uses Looker because our parent company has a data team to support the data warehouse and all the scripting. It is basically used for our circulation dept. I am developing it for our advertising dept because they have DFP in the data warehouse. However, I still deploy TapClicks for our advertising reporting because it does not require knowledge of SQL and a data team. Their UI is very user-friendly. I pretty much handle all reporting by myself with the help of their customer support.
Read Kevin Yip's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Looker is the tool you're looking for... if you can afford it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker was, hands down, better than any other products we looked at. It was far easier to get started and keep moving because of Looker's internal programming language and data definition language, LookML. We were up and going in just a few days and were creating advanced analytics the same day we got started after reading the LookML docs. Now, we have a pretty sharp team of programmers (I'm a former programmer by trade). I was even able to get started very, very quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Looker is a game changer for our company reporting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is a lot easier to connect with our data pipelines and for users to create their own scalable Explores. Before, analysts would have to create separate Tableau dashboards for each ask, but now with Lookers Explores, some teams are able to self serve and create their own dashboards.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Great robust product that helps scale

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It was cheaper and less complicated. We were not ready to just into something as big as Sisense and quite frankly didn't need that level of product at the time. We also considered building our own tool but eventually realized that would be way more time and effort consuming so we went with Looker.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Complex but powerful

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is a lower cost solution than other tools available in the marketplace. Unfortunately, that means that it does not have as many resources available that help users with onboarding and getting up to speed. They also charge for add-on functionality that comes standard on the other comparable tools that other companies provide.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Looker helps us organize our business data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Mixpanel a bit a while ago at the same company and our set-up of the program wasn't good so it was impossible to find what I needed to do my reporting. Now with Looker the setup is generally solid and if you have SQL Runner access in Looker you can get anything you need.
Read this authenticated review
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Looker - Business intelligence tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker stacks up very well against the other tools we have evaluated and used. All the tools have their own pros and cons. Looker had a better edge in terms of visualizations when we chose to use it. After several updates, other tools began to have newer features. Looker still stands competitive.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Great user to use product that can be rolled out to the whole org

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker empowers users to create their own views/dashboards from its web application. The last time I used Tableau (in 2015), only certain license holders could create content from the desktop application. Everyone else was a view only user. On that theme, we found Looker to be more economical rolling out to the whole enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Great visualization tool, flexible and easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is much more suited for integration with DataBases and basic transformation of data as the previous layer to visualization. Also, is much for flexible to customize dashboards with filters, custom dimensions/metrics, and visualization formats.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Looker is a fantastic BI tool that scales with the business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau has an adoption issue of having to upgrade to the most recent Tableau reader. In my experience it was very difficult to get the sales team to do this.

microstrategy was the most overly complicated reporting software I have ever used. You need a consultant to do anything, and forget about adoption.

Looker is a no-brainer compared to both.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Great BI tool with a data modeling layer and version control

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most of the other BI tools are fairly similar in terms of charting capabilities and performance. Looker stands out with its modeling layer and SQL free end-user interface. It also has a feature-rich API enabling you to embed Looker into your own web app to customize it further for clients.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Lamas | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2018

Solution to analyze your data quickly and safely

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Looker is easier to use, faster helps save time at work, Robust data connections with R Studio are very important because we use this application in the company and other applications do not allow it, it has a scalable machine learning with integration of Google TensorFlow, fits very well to what is required
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
Michael Schiff | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2017

Looker is disrupting the BI marketplace

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We find Looker much easier to develop and manage. The LookML central data repository is far more robust and easy to use. The fact that Looker manages the server for you, means you never have any downtime. The other products have you managing all sorts of servers, which is a lot of overhead.
Read Michael Schiff's full review
Scott Schaen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Looker's great if you're looking for a customizable solution for making data available to your team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Tableau is also a great BI tool, but it felt a lot less flexible to me in terms of customization of data. As a visual platform, Tabluea is incredible; it can produce unbelievably rich visualizations and dashboards. It's also easier to get set up on Tableau too, but ultimately it doesn't have the same data capabilities or flexibility as Looker.
Read Scott Schaen's full review
Gleb Mezhanskiy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2016

The Best BI User Experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Mode & Chartio require user to write SQL. Looker – Looker has very powerful data modeling layer – LookML that allows data engineers to abstract end users away from the complexity of underlying data (and SQL). End users can perform analysis by selecting dimensions, measures, pivots and filters very easily.

Domo performs a lot of "magic" under the hood that sometimes fails and is very hard to debug.

Looker does not store any data in itself and provides full transparency to both the user and the data engineer about the data processing.

Tableau lacks many sharing, dashboarding capabilities that Looker has, and again – lacks data modeling layer.
Read Gleb Mezhanskiy's full review
Christian Lubasch | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2015

Looker from a BI consultant's perspective in SMEs, with pros, cons and unique features.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Tableau Desktop,Tableau Server,Qlik Sense,QlikView,Sisense,Microsoft BI,TARGIT,Jaspersoft,Klipfolio,Domo,Pentaho,GoodData,Mode
This question is very complex and depends on the concrete business needs. Looker plays very well when focus is on data discovery, ease-to-use and complex data modeling done straight in the tool. For a super complex dashboard, reports and in a huge enterprise environment with extreme dependencies, there are tools that are currently better suited.
One of Looker's strength is to truly enable self-service BI, by giving almost everybody access to the system in a browser environment without the need of a thick client software and for a relatively low marginal price per user.
Read Christian Lubasch's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (42)
6.9
Customizable dashboards (51)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (39)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (52)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (51)
7.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (53)
8.6
Publish to Web (39)
8.0
Publish to PDF (41)
7.8
Report Versioning (29)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (48)
8.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (49)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (41)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (49)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (47)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (47)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (29)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (26)
6.7

About Looker

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Does not have featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Does not have featureMS Excel Workbooks
Does not have featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Looker Screenshots

Looker Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English