Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
128 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Great robust product that helps scale

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
It was relatively easy to connect the data to Looker. Like I mentioned earlier it did require us to dedicate a few people to specifically doing that but it is also because we didn't have the data sources organized before and needed to do the original work. We also had to make sure it all made sense once it was implemented so the testing took some time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Good data warehouse, but lacking some benefits

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
I don't have as much experience in this area of Looker management, but our main connection to Looker is through a homegrown system and an integration to Salesforce. The homegrown system connection seems to work very well but the Salesforce connection seems to have a lot of disruptions and causes some issues throughout the business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Complex but powerful

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

2
Not a lot of systems have readily available connectors. This delays the process of getting up to speed and integrating data. Connectors are expensive and hard to build. Even when the data is flowing, it doesn’t always import into the right fiends and it takes a lot of manipulation to make things work properly.
Read this authenticated review
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Looker - taking a closer look at your organization!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
I feel that Looker performs above average for data source connectivity. It has some issues, which are primarily associated with merging data sets (a problem which becomes worse when large data are used), but overall I have been pleased with its ability to integrate and source data for smooth use in the program.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Looker helps us organize our business data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
With SQL Runner and the proper SQL skills and access you can merge data easily. The built-in merges are not great so for a general marketer or sales person it may be tough to get what you need if it hasn't already been built-in by your BI or product teams.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Great user to use product that can be rolled out to the whole org

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
I was a Looker admin for the first 2 years (now I'm just a power user, so I don't deal with the data model anymore). We did most of our transformations before they get to looker (in our underlying redshift database). So, the SQL table structure is fairly usable and only from one database. Looker introduced a new feature last year that allows users to merge (like UNION) within individual views. So, users can merge data without needing an admin to create a new view in the data model.
Read this authenticated review
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Looker - Business intelligence tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The majority of data conditions can be integrated with Looker. We have rarely seen something that cannot be integrated. It is not very difficult to integrate data. However, it would have been very useful to get some tutorials for the same. There is a shortage of training offered in Looker. This made us do a self-analysis of the tool.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review
Paul Pulley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
It seems to me from our data team that connectivity is actually pretty easy, so I'm going off their experience.
Read Paul Pulley's full review
Jennifer Lamas | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2018

Solution to analyze your data quickly and safely

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Excellent since you can work with several data bases and statistical programs such as Rstudio, Jupyter Notebook, it has great AI analytical techniques democratized with DataRobot, BIgSquid and other technological partners, Scalable learning with the integration of Google TensorFlow
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

Looker - 2 Thumbs Up

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
We have data from many different systems but once connected we have been able to create reports that pinpoint exactly what we need. Systems that may not natively speak to each other have been made easier to analyze with respect to each other.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

Using Looker in a Custom Integration

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
As I didn't do the initial setup and, as far as I can tell, without a fair amount of technical expertise it would be difficult to point to another data source, merged any data from various sources. or, because of TrustRadius' word requirement, I am eating tacos while using Looker, I haven't ever tried this.
Read this authenticated review
Henri Allik | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

Looker supports data self-serve - everyone can use it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
In Looker it is relatively easy to connect to different databases, from our experience there has been no extra hassle. Looker seems to support all major SQL dialects. Maybe the only thing that is missing is to get data from alternative sources, such as Google Sheets or CSV/Excel.
Read Henri Allik's full review
Scott Schaen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Looker's great if you're looking for a customizable solution for making data available to your team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
Looker seems to have a lot of compatible data sources. I've seen the integrations vary depending on your database and security. There were instances where we had to SSH into the machine to get it to work. Looker is not built to blend different data sources/databases, however they do have a feature in beta. This would be really nice, but is not critical for us. The real-time nature of Looker is amazing because it just translates everything to SQL and runs queries on the spot.
Read Scott Schaen's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (42)
6.9
Customizable dashboards (51)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (39)
7.2
Drill-down analysis (52)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (51)
7.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
6.2
Report sharing and collaboration (53)
8.6
Publish to Web (39)
8.0
Publish to PDF (41)
7.8
Report Versioning (29)
7.4
Report Delivery Scheduling (48)
8.5
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (49)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (41)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (49)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (47)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (47)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (29)
7.3
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (26)
6.7

About Looker

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Does not have featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Does not have featureMS Excel Workbooks
Does not have featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Looker Screenshots

Looker Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English