Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
190 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
With SQL Runner and the proper SQL skills and access you can merge data easily. The built-in merges are not great so for a general marketer or sales person it may be tough to get what you need if it hasn't already been built-in by your BI or product teams.
Read this authenticated review
September 27, 2019
Maddie Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
I believe there can often be issues relating to how the data is classified on our site, making the connection to Looker sometimes difficult to establish. However, once the data is set up to correctly interface with Looker, I haven't had any problems.
Read Maddie Morris's full review
August 09, 2019
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
I feel that Looker performs above average for data source connectivity. It has some issues, which are primarily associated with merging data sets (a problem which becomes worse when large data are used), but overall I have been pleased with its ability to integrate and source data for smooth use in the program.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

10
We primarily use PostgreSQL and AWS Redshift. But we've been able to connect it to almost any data source we've thrown at it. The ability to merge datasets across different disjointed systems at scale is pretty amazing.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
It was relatively easy to connect the data to Looker. Like I mentioned earlier it did require us to dedicate a few people to specifically doing that but it is also because we didn't have the data sources organized before and needed to do the original work. We also had to make sure it all made sense once it was implemented so the testing took some time.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

5
I don't have as much experience in this area of Looker management, but our main connection to Looker is through a homegrown system and an integration to Salesforce. The homegrown system connection seems to work very well but the Salesforce connection seems to have a lot of disruptions and causes some issues throughout the business.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

2
Not a lot of systems have readily available connectors. This delays the process of getting up to speed and integrating data. Connectors are expensive and hard to build. Even when the data is flowing, it doesn’t always import into the right fiends and it takes a lot of manipulation to make things work properly.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2018
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
The majority of data conditions can be integrated with Looker. We have rarely seen something that cannot be integrated. It is not very difficult to integrate data. However, it would have been very useful to get some tutorials for the same. There is a shortage of training offered in Looker. This made us do a self-analysis of the tool.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review
November 16, 2018
Paul Pulley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

7
It seems to me from our data team that connectivity is actually pretty easy, so I'm going off their experience.
Read Paul Pulley's full review
June 18, 2018
Jennifer Lamas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

9
Excellent since you can work with several data bases and statistical programs such as Rstudio, Jupyter Notebook, it has great AI analytical techniques democratized with DataRobot, BIgSquid and other technological partners, Scalable learning with the integration of Google TensorFlow
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
December 28, 2017
Michael Schiff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
  • It connects to any data sources you would need.
  • Does a very good job translating to the native language of that data source
  • You can switch data sources easily/seamlessly
  • Performance of connector is strong.
Read Michael Schiff's full review
December 07, 2017
Henri Allik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
In Looker it is relatively easy to connect to different databases, from our experience there has been no extra hassle. Looker seems to support all major SQL dialects. Maybe the only thing that is missing is to get data from alternative sources, such as Google Sheets or CSV/Excel.
Read Henri Allik's full review
December 06, 2017
Scott Schaen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

6
Looker seems to have a lot of compatible data sources. I've seen the integrations vary depending on your database and security. There were instances where we had to SSH into the machine to get it to work. Looker is not built to blend different data sources/databases, however they do have a feature in beta. This would be really nice, but is not critical for us. The real-time nature of Looker is amazing because it just translates everything to SQL and runs queries on the spot.
Read Scott Schaen's full review
December 12, 2017
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
It can be integrated with multiple datasources and data retrieval is realtime.
Looker dashboards are powered by Redshift, Treasure data and many more. Never encountered any connectivity issues.
Also in the recent upgrade it provides SSL level authentication
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
May 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
I was a Looker admin for the first 2 years (now I'm just a power user, so I don't deal with the data model anymore). We did most of our transformations before they get to looker (in our underlying redshift database). So, the SQL table structure is fairly usable and only from one database. Looker introduced a new feature last year that allows users to merge (like UNION) within individual views. So, users can merge data without needing an admin to create a new view in the data model.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2016
Mohammed Anzil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Data Integration

8
Looker is easy to use if you are not new to the software. Other similar software vendors seemed to trap you into their useless words, but Looker only promises what they really offer you. With Looker, you get real-time access to the data you need to grow your company and it's really easy to merge data for collaboration.
Read Mohammed Anzil's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (54)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (63)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (51)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (64)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (63)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (65)
8.0
Publish to Web (51)
8.2
Publish to PDF (53)
7.6
Report Versioning (40)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (61)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (53)
7.6
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (61)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (59)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (59)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (41)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (38)
7.5

What is Looker?

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Looker Screenshots

Looker Video

See the simple process of connecting your database to Looker and gaining insights to your data with Rafael Jara-Simkin of Looker. With the yaml based modeling language, LookML, your business logic is easily repeatable and reusable, allowing your analysts to better leverage the data and save time from writing SQL queries. Easily visualize your data sets and create dashboards, connecting your organization's teams to better collaborate and gain insight.

Looker Downloadables

Looker Competitors

Looker Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact sales team for pricing.

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Looker?

Looker is a BI application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. It includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for data discovery, and an API for supporting data in other systems.

What is Looker's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Web highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Looker?

The most common users of Looker are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.