Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
190 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 65)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 14, 2021
Johnny Pelter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by our organization to manage and build dashboards for our team, both for our website and data analytics as well as some of our sales data in order to track and manage our sales kpis. Our sales manager and client services team have used this product to be able to track these and build dashboards.
Read Johnny Pelter's full review
April 07, 2021
Joe Hughes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker across the whole organization. It is used for integrated reporting (known as Looks) for delivery via email or GUI. Our company uses it for its own reports and we also publish customer-facing reports with it, on a daily basis. Essentially, it is a delivery program and some other things for our ETL process.
Read Joe Hughes's full review
May 19, 2021
salman inamdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

With a good Looker implementation, you can make something like analytics - which is usually difficult to put together and requires a complex set of skills - far more easy and streamlined for people who would otherwise have to rely on an analyst or others in the company for their data. Customer service at Looker is also top-notch.
Read salman inamdar's full review
May 08, 2021
Elizabeth Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by our company to make reports and graphs for both our own company initiatives, as well as for our clients. Our whole organization uses it at least to view data, but a lot of us work within the software to make it edits. This tool lets us build dashboards to show all of our company numbers simply and upfront.
Read Elizabeth Turner's full review
May 03, 2021
Greg Alder | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is an ETL (extract, transform, load) software, which means that it has the ability to ingest data. Users can create dashboards in various flavors, such as dashboards, reports and line graphs. The platform looks well-designed and is really easy to navigate. All the three columns and the dropdown boxes are well thought-out. These offer a level of customization to an extent that you can further customize them according to your needs.
Read Greg Alder's full review
May 01, 2021
Jun Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I mostly use Looker to manage our social media numbers and turn that into reports and visual data for the rest of the team and for our clients. I know a lot of the rest of the company uses this tool as well, but this is the purpose specifically for me.
Read Jun Nguyen's full review
May 01, 2021
Ron Iver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker for data migration and visualization. It is great for turning loads of data into meaningful graphs and charts that can be made sense of. It helps us drive decisions that make sense for our company.
Read Ron Iver's full review
April 30, 2021
Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker currently is being used by our organization to make business decisions on buying or selling inventory in the ad tech space. The key decisions being made allow for the KPIs to give a larger return on investment or minimize cap losses based on the reporting the metrics that looker provides for us.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
April 30, 2021
David Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker to be able to visually analyze our data. It is being used by most of our organization, but especially our Operations team. I believe this is a support important tool because just having the data only tells half of the story if you cannot visualize it and be able to notice trends and reasons for discrepancies in data.
Read David Turner's full review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by our business as a tool to display complex datasets which include forecasts, units sold, customer demographic and overall business pipeline. It is predominantly used by the Marketing department, but is often delved into by the Finance team and the Sales team as well. The business problem we have is that we have a lot of datasets that are not on one system and therefore cause confusion when we are looking to do presentations and look at the overall view of each quarter. Having Looker is great in that we can use it to create dashboards where we've integrated datasets from various different places to create charts that are easily digestable for the team.
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by our organization in order to connect databases and create data models so we can make data driven decisions for our organization. It is only being used by our team who conducts data analysis, though we do of course share the results of the analysis with the rest of the team. It solves the problem of displaying data in a visual way.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used across our entire organization and by every single department. We generally use Looker to address business-related metrics like health checks, MRR, C$R. It is a single source for us to determine how our business is progressing. It is a great tool to get cross-functional data and use that to provide feedback or make changes to our structure or initiatives.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

- It is being used by a particular department but the plan is to expand the usage across the organization.
- It provides the capability to work with and pull data from many different systems.
- It helps the department improve its business decisions as it offers accurate, real-time data insights.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Kevin Yip | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker was basically developed for our Circulation Dept. Since they have DFP data in the data warehouse already, We were using Yieldex for advertising reporting but it is pricey. I started building dashboards for our advertising department and people love it. My VP is planning to work with other Hearst newspapers to get them on board.
Read Kevin Yip's full review
October 03, 2019
Dustin Hovey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used by many departments in our organization as a hub for business intelligence data. We are all able to access data dashboards in a smooth and slick UI for various uses, including sales, marketing, and research. It's a great way for stakeholders across the organization to view customized, high and low-level metrics. We can use data from Looker for detailed analysis and reports that are shared across units such as BizOps and Marketing.
Read Dustin Hovey's full review
September 27, 2019
Maddie Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker to analyze leads data to determine billing, as well as the efficacy of our different referral paths and PPC efforts. I find it relatively easy to use once you learn the hierarchy of the system, and easy to manipulate on the fly when I need to pull data while I'm on the phone with a customer.
Read Maddie Morris's full review
September 14, 2019
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used company-wide, and it allows any analyst or business user to make smart decisions backed by data. Looker connects to all of our databases, be it AWS or GCP, and helps us to mash and analyze it in a single space.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
September 13, 2019
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker was being used by the entire organization. We also wanted to use Looker externally for our merchant dashboards, but that option turned out to be too expensive. We focused more on using it internally by our sales, finance, marketing, and engineering teams to build dashboards that we could use for internal analytics.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
August 09, 2019
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker in just the administrative side of our organization rather than throughout the whole group. This is mainly due to the specific purpose of the software and also because it can be a little difficult to use for non-trained individuals. The best aspect of it is its ability to quickly share and present BI data to anyone.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
September 18, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently using Looker to peer into our own organization's internal data which is contained in our data warehouse. Looker is now used by everyone within our company in order to have operational insights across operations, finance, sales... all the way to the C-suite. We've been very impressed.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Looker throughout the whole company. We decided to use it after careful consideration and even considering building the tool internally but realized it was going to be too expensive and time-consuming. We use it for building all sorts of reports and tracking and to do data validation.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used as our main data warehouse and analytics system within our business. It is used across the entire organization and by every department. The business has a lot of data in a lot of different places so we feed a lot of that data into Looker to do segmentation, analysis and reporting throughout the entire business.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Looker about two years ago. The marketing department brought it on as a better way of analyzing data that was housed in disparate systems. Sales data in NetSuite. Call data in Cisco. Website traffic data in Google Analytics. Looker was brought on to consolidate the data under one roof and allow us to analyze and report on the data in a more centralized way.
Read this authenticated review
December 08, 2018
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by specific areas of our organization. Our organization is too huge for it to be used throughout. Looker greatly helps in personalizing dashboards and setting up integrated reports for our organization. These reports are created from various data streams and sources. It has various usages and overall has an excellent visual. It helps organizations perform GAP analysis and look at big data in a small view.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (54)
7.3
Customizable dashboards (63)
7.9
Report Formatting Templates (51)
7.7
Drill-down analysis (64)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (63)
7.5
Integration with R or other statistical packages (27)
7.4
Report sharing and collaboration (65)
8.0
Publish to Web (51)
8.2
Publish to PDF (53)
7.6
Report Versioning (40)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (60)
7.8
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (61)
7.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (53)
7.6
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (61)
7.5
Role-Based Security Model (59)
7.8
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (59)
7.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (41)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (38)
7.5

What is Looker?

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features

Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer

Supported Data Sources Features

Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Has featureSAP

BI Standard Reporting Features

Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages

Access Control and Security Features

Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)

Mobile Capabilities Features

Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Looker Screenshots

Looker Video

See the simple process of connecting your database to Looker and gaining insights to your data with Rafael Jara-Simkin of Looker. With the yaml based modeling language, LookML, your business logic is easily repeatable and reusable, allowing your analysts to better leverage the data and save time from writing SQL queries. Easily visualize your data sets and create dashboards, connecting your organization's teams to better collaborate and gain insight.

Looker Downloadables

Looker Competitors

Looker Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Must contact sales team for pricing.

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Looker?

Looker is a BI application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. It includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for data discovery, and an API for supporting data in other systems.

What is Looker's best feature?

Reviewers rate Publish to Web highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Looker?

The most common users of Looker are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.