Looker Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 53)

Dustin Hovey | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Data and Reporting Made Easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used by many departments in our organization as a hub for business intelligence data. We are all able to access data dashboards in a smooth and slick UI for various uses, including sales, marketing, and research. It's a great way for stakeholders across the organization to view customized, high and low-level metrics. We can use data from Looker for detailed analysis and reports that are shared across units such as BizOps and Marketing.
Read Dustin Hovey's full review
Maddie Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Excellent Social Sharing & Reporting Platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker to analyze leads data to determine billing, as well as the efficacy of our different referral paths and PPC efforts. I find it relatively easy to use once you learn the hierarchy of the system, and easy to manipulate on the fly when I need to pull data while I'm on the phone with a customer.
Read Maddie Morris's full review
Jasmeet S Babra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Power BI tool for enterprises

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used company-wide, and it allows any analyst or business user to make smart decisions backed by data. Looker connects to all of our databases, be it AWS or GCP, and helps us to mash and analyze it in a single space.
Read Jasmeet S Babra's full review
Jacob Rasmussen | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

A great tool that requires a ton of resources to deploy and maintain

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker was being used by the entire organization. We also wanted to use Looker externally for our merchant dashboards, but that option turned out to be too expensive. We focused more on using it internally by our sales, finance, marketing, and engineering teams to build dashboards that we could use for internal analytics.
Read Jacob Rasmussen's full review
Shelby Bowden | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Looker - taking a closer look at your organization!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker in just the administrative side of our organization rather than throughout the whole group. This is mainly due to the specific purpose of the software and also because it can be a little difficult to use for non-trained individuals. The best aspect of it is its ability to quickly share and present BI data to anyone.
Read Shelby Bowden's full review
Kevin Yip | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2019

Solid performer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker was basically developed for our Circulation Dept. Since they have DFP data in the data warehouse already, We were using Yieldex for advertising reporting but it is pricey. I started building dashboards for our advertising department and people love it. My VP is planning to work with other Hearst newspapers to get them on board.
Read Kevin Yip's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Looker is the tool you're looking for... if you can afford it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently using Looker to peer into our own organization's internal data which is contained in our data warehouse. Looker is now used by everyone within our company in order to have operational insights across operations, finance, sales... all the way to the C-suite. We've been very impressed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Great robust product that helps scale

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Looker throughout the whole company. We decided to use it after careful consideration and even considering building the tool internally but realized it was going to be too expensive and time-consuming. We use it for building all sorts of reports and tracking and to do data validation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Good data warehouse, but lacking some benefits

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is used as our main data warehouse and analytics system within our business. It is used across the entire organization and by every department. The business has a lot of data in a lot of different places so we feed a lot of that data into Looker to do segmentation, analysis and reporting throughout the entire business.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Complex but powerful

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Looker about two years ago. The marketing department brought it on as a better way of analyzing data that was housed in disparate systems. Sales data in NetSuite. Call data in Cisco. Website traffic data in Google Analytics. Looker was brought on to consolidate the data under one roof and allow us to analyze and report on the data in a more centralized way.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Looker helps us organize our business data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used across our entire organization and by every single department. We generally use Looker to address business-related metrics like health checks, MRR, C$R. It is a single source for us to determine how our business is progressing. It is a great tool to get cross-functional data and use that to provide feedback or make changes to our structure or initiatives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Great user to use product that can be rolled out to the whole org

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have Looker available as an opt-in app for the whole enterprise. It is our self-service business intelligence tool. Our power users create a dashboard and scheduled reports for others to view. This tool allows us to see many of our non-financial metrics in a multi-dimensional manner (vs two-dimensional spreadsheets).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

Great visualization tool, flexible and easy to use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker across the whole organization, it is the main source of data for decision making. It addresses problems like tracking financial and other performance trends over time, alerting us about unusual data and basically modeling 80% of the business' data.
Read this authenticated review
Purav Vaidya | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Looker - Business intelligence tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is being used by specific areas of our organization. Our organization is too huge for it to be used throughout. Looker greatly helps in personalizing dashboards and setting up integrated reports for our organization. These reports are created from various data streams and sources. It has various usages and overall has an excellent visual. It helps organizations perform GAP analysis and look at big data in a small view.
Read Purav Vaidya's full review
Paul Pulley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Easy to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[It's] Used by multiple departments across the whole organization. It allows people to quickly view complex data, and share it with others. Easier to use than Tableau.
Read Paul Pulley's full review
Jennifer Lamas | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2018

Solution to analyze your data quickly and safely

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This tool is being used in some departments of the company that perform calculations and data analysis, for business intelligence, helps the work team to perform analysis for decision making of large projects, it is very easy to use the graphics are great and very understandable, the filter options are very good and allows you to delve into the data, the visualizations are quite friendly and very practical
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
Henri Allik | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 07, 2017

Looker supports data self-serve - everyone can use it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Every team in TransferWise is using Looker which means that more than half the company is using it regularly. Our teams are formed to be independent and there is no central BI team to support them with analytics and this is why we use Looker. It helps us to dig into data and draw conclusions based on data real-time. Teams use it to monitor their key performing indicators and build dashboards to present data. Some teams also use Looker for operational work.
Read Henri Allik's full review
Scott Schaen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2017

Looker's great if you're looking for a customizable solution for making data available to your team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Looker to make clean data available to the rest of the company. Empowering teams with data in a quick and reliable way with as much of the technical nuances removed. It's an easy way to reduce reliance on the analytics team and make reporting as real-time as possible.
Read Scott Schaen's full review
Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Dynamic and Realtime Dashboards

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is one of the best tools for monitoring dashboards and report generations. It is used widely over the organization. It helped to migrate from the legacy email reports to dynamic dashboards and report creation.
Business Analytics and higher management heavy rely on looker for the trend of sales, expenses and many other use cases.
Read Vinaybabu Raghunandha Naidu's full review
Gleb Mezhanskiy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2016

The Best BI User Experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker helps us democratize data around 10+ product lines and 4 functions.

We have Looker connected to multiple product databases (PostgreSQL, MySQL) and to a data warehouse (Redshift).

Currently have over 50 internal active users of Looker.
Read Gleb Mezhanskiy's full review
Mohammed Anzil | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 15, 2016

Looker - The Perfect Business Data Analytics Provider

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Looker is a powerful self-service business intelligence tool that is focused on solving particular problems. The first time I noticed about Looker, was when this startup was been nominated for best data analytics startup. The reason why we love the service is it has been familiar to work with navigating through a web browser and it operates on any device at any time. Looker's analytics tool brings data and business teams together to develop the business to the next level.
Read Mohammed Anzil's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (42)
6.9
Customizable dashboards (51)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (39)
7.1
Drill-down analysis (52)
8.3
Formatting capabilities (51)
7.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (15)
6.1
Report sharing and collaboration (53)
8.6
Publish to Web (39)
8.1
Publish to PDF (41)
7.8
Report Versioning (29)
7.5
Report Delivery Scheduling (48)
8.6
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (49)
7.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (41)
7.8
Predictive Analytics (6)
4.6
Multi-User Support (named login) (49)
8.8
Role-Based Security Model (47)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (47)
8.4
Responsive Design for Web Access (29)
7.4
Dedicated iOS Application (1)
5
Dedicated Android Application (1)
5
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (26)
6.6

About Looker

Looker is a business intelligence application with an analytics-oriented application server that sits on top of relational data stores. The Looker platform includes an end-user interface for exploring data, a reusable development paradigm for creating data discovery experiences and an extensible API set so the data can exist in other systems.

Looker Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Does not have featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Has featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Does not have featureMS Excel Workbooks
Does not have featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Does not have featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Has featureEMC Greenplum
Has featureIBM Netezza
Has featureHP Vertica
Has featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Has featureTeradata
Has featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Has featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Has featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Has featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Does not have featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Has featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Has featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Does not have featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Looker Screenshots

Looker Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Looker Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Looker Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Mexico, Germany, France, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil
Supported Languages: English