TrustRadius
lynda.com is a learning management platform. Lynda.com is a LinkedIn company since May 2015.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/fd/bT/W2HQ0R0EU68S.jpegLynda: The Best System for Personal or Professional DevelopmentCurrently, Lynda is being used for department-wide professional development. We have been focusing on specific topic areas that would help us be better professionals and educators. For example, a topic we as a department were trained on was Emotional Intelligence. Our HR rep took us through a couple of modules and we were tasked with finishing modules at home to complete the course. You can see a large difference in decision making and intentional conversations that staff members have had post-Lynda training. Lynda has helped solve the issue of providing amazing professional development for staff members with a limited department budget. Lynda offers a wide range of modules that can be taken in a group setting or at-home.,Lynda is user-friendly, even for those who are not as tech-savvy. This enables staff members of all ages to be able to participate in training leaving the feeling of confusion behind. Lynda offers a wide variety of learning courses to its users. This is especially important for business who rely on Lynda for professional development opportunities. Lynda is cost effective and makes the larger business money when they subscribe. Lynda provides an avenue for businesses to invest in their professionals which can help increase business outcome and even increase revenue.,Not too many cons other than some course certifications do require payment.,9,Lynda has helped increase professional certifications within the department. Certifications have made the professionals who desire to move up or out of the company more competitive. Lynda has provided professionals with an opportunity to self-develop which has enhanced the quality of our professionals.,Coursera,Google Forms, Qualtrics, Blackboard,17Great learning tool. Feels like YouTube with a business focusWe use lynda.com for training and development across the entire company. Beefs up knowledge for individuals or entire groups, and even improves the possibility of intra-company job transfers. It's easy to share a good course with a colleague who may struggle with office politics or understanding data analytics.,Certificates of Completion. New feature that does what you think. Videos at a faster pace! There are a lot of speakers and topics conducive to making that 2 hour course take only 90 minutes. Love that! LOTS of topics. Live-captions available, or you can read all of it.,I actually can't think of anything bothersome, not even interface problems. It works great.,9,Records employee development. My company is big on employee development (investment). Fortunately, my boss trusts me when I say I took certain courses, but I can also show him that I did. Being easy to use, I'm motivated to use it. Videos are easy on the eyes, most of the speakers are exceptionally easy to understand, and there are live captions to further facilitate understanding (and finishing fast!). With the playist option, it is essentially possible to disseminate company views and goals.,Learn with Lynda, the possibilities are nearly endlesslynda.com is being utilized throughout our organization. It helps us tackle the problem of time, relevancy, and customization as it related to professional development. lynda.com adds a plethora of learning options for a myriad different disciplines. Whether you're a software engineer or a corporate executive, lynda.com has options that provide self-directed learning for them and everyone in between.,Industry expert authors/instructors - you're learning from people with pedigree. Breadth and depth of catalog - not only is there a wide range of topics and disciplines, but there are frequently several levels of depth within each (eg. Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced). Time needed to complete each course AND each section of a course are included - you know what you're getting into from the first click.,Knowledge checks are infrequent - as of this writing, they have begun to beta-test adding in a "How much do you know?" knowledge check at the beginning of some courses.,9,lynda.com has allowed us to reach many users all over the world without a dime spent on travel. Countless hours spent on planes and in hotel rooms can now be re-purposed for more efficient and effective objectives.,OpenSesame, Udemy for Business and CourseraLYNDA.COM > Great Learning Product!Currently, my organization is not utilizing Lynda.com, nor the departments. I personally utilize it for educational purposes to either refresh previous training in programming, infrastructure, or business practices. I do have plans to have plans to recommend it as an avenue of re-education or continued education in-line with certifications that would be utilized in the current industry.,Concise video segments that allow for easier knowledge absorption. Associated with the continued education process for all manner of certifications and knowledge obtainment. The continually updated knowledge base to choose from in the Lynda Library.,Needs more options for practical examinations for learning paths. Options for Audio only learning. Upon successful completion of an examination, I would like to see discounts available for CE. This, I understand, is dependent upon partners.,8,N/A N/A N/A,ITPRO.TV, New Horizons Computer Learning and FedVte,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager, Microsoft SQL ServerConcise review of lynda.comWe use it for mostly business productivity applications training. Any graphics design training needs we need have also been met with lynda.com. The entire organization has a login by the department. Now, lynda.com has expanded into many areas of programming and IT operations support and applications.,Their customer service is superb. They have always been willing to solve any technical challenges and follow-up. The sale representative always contacts me ahead of time in the renewal window. He does everything to help. Their site is well designed, easy to administer, and it is easy to track learning paths.,When they were acquired by LinkedIn, the next invoice barely noted the invoice was for Lynda.com. I at first thought it was a phishing attempt using LinkedIn as a front. The invoice should be from the lynda.com domain and NOT from LinkedIn. Account administrators should be able to change passwords, and see passwords, for the license entities they manage. Also, all email notices to users should be duplicated to account administrators.,10,We have always renewed lynda.com because of the convenience of the whole learning system. Flexibility In-depth knowledge transfer.,Pluralsight,FileMaker Pro, Microsoft Office 365, VMware vCenter Server, Lansweeper
Unspecified
lynda.com
54 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

lynda.com Reviews

lynda.com
54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 54 vetted lynda.com reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
MaryAnn Jackson, MA profile photo
December 03, 2018

lynda.com Review: "Lynda: The Best System for Personal or Professional Development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Lynda is being used for department-wide professional development. We have been focusing on specific topic areas that would help us be better professionals and educators. For example, a topic we as a department were trained on was Emotional Intelligence. Our HR rep took us through a couple of modules and we were tasked with finishing modules at home to complete the course. You can see a large difference in decision making and intentional conversations that staff members have had post-Lynda training.

Lynda has helped solve the issue of providing amazing professional development for staff members with a limited department budget. Lynda offers a wide range of modules that can be taken in a group setting or at-home.
  • Lynda is user-friendly, even for those who are not as tech-savvy. This enables staff members of all ages to be able to participate in training leaving the feeling of confusion behind.
  • Lynda offers a wide variety of learning courses to its users. This is especially important for business who rely on Lynda for professional development opportunities.
  • Lynda is cost effective and makes the larger business money when they subscribe. Lynda provides an avenue for businesses to invest in their professionals which can help increase business outcome and even increase revenue.
  • Not too many cons other than some course certifications do require payment.
Again, Lynda is a great system for providing employees an opportunity to grow and develop. Lynda is well suited for professional development sessions within a company.
Read MaryAnn Jackson, MA's full review
Joshua Henke profile photo
November 20, 2018

lynda.com Review: "Great learning tool. Feels like YouTube with a business focus"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use lynda.com for training and development across the entire company. Beefs up knowledge for individuals or entire groups, and even improves the possibility of intra-company job transfers. It's easy to share a good course with a colleague who may struggle with office politics or understanding data analytics.
  • Certificates of Completion. New feature that does what you think.
  • Videos at a faster pace! There are a lot of speakers and topics conducive to making that 2 hour course take only 90 minutes. Love that!
  • LOTS of topics.
  • Live-captions available, or you can read all of it.
  • I actually can't think of anything bothersome, not even interface problems. It works great.
Any company that desires to train their employees should invest in this. It's a polished business tool: feels a bit like YouTube but business relevant. Employees can find things on their own, and playlists from management can be dispensed, another way to ensure the company culture and perspectives can be communicated without having to invest in their own training material.
Read Joshua Henke's full review
Chris Salles profile photo
June 20, 2018

lynda.com Review: "Learn with Lynda, the possibilities are nearly endless"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
lynda.com is being utilized throughout our organization. It helps us tackle the problem of time, relevancy, and customization as it related to professional development. lynda.com adds a plethora of learning options for a myriad different disciplines. Whether you're a software engineer or a corporate executive, lynda.com has options that provide self-directed learning for them and everyone in between.
  • Industry expert authors/instructors - you're learning from people with pedigree.
  • Breadth and depth of catalog - not only is there a wide range of topics and disciplines, but there are frequently several levels of depth within each (eg. Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced).
  • Time needed to complete each course AND each section of a course are included - you know what you're getting into from the first click.
  • Knowledge checks are infrequent - as of this writing, they have begun to beta-test adding in a "How much do you know?" knowledge check at the beginning of some courses.
lynda.com is well-suited for an individual OR an enterprise. You can take learning on-the-go via mobile phone or tablet. Instructors are well-known industry experts. There is a tremendous amount of courses. Ideal self-directed learning library to supplement anyone's ILT-heavy learning strategy.
Read Chris Salles's full review
Alexander Perrigo profile photo
March 30, 2018

User Review: "LYNDA.COM > Great Learning Product!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, my organization is not utilizing Lynda.com, nor the departments. I personally utilize it for educational purposes to either refresh previous training in programming, infrastructure, or business practices. I do have plans to have plans to recommend it as an avenue of re-education or continued education in-line with certifications that would be utilized in the current industry.
  • Concise video segments that allow for easier knowledge absorption.
  • Associated with the continued education process for all manner of certifications and knowledge obtainment.
  • The continually updated knowledge base to choose from in the Lynda Library.
  • Needs more options for practical examinations for learning paths.
  • Options for Audio only learning.
  • Upon successful completion of an examination, I would like to see discounts available for CE. This, I understand, is dependent upon partners.
It is well suited for those of us that have short attention spans and need to utilize short stances of learning. Lynda provides video segments in a manageable time frame.

Practical Examinations are not really utilized in the courses I have gone over. I would like to see labs and practice exams be made available for certain courses if agreeable.
Read Alexander Perrigo's full review
Rocky Banks profile photo
February 06, 2018

"Concise review of lynda.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for mostly business productivity applications training. Any graphics design training needs we need have also been met with lynda.com. The entire organization has a login by the department. Now, lynda.com has expanded into many areas of programming and IT operations support and applications.
  • Their customer service is superb. They have always been willing to solve any technical challenges and follow-up.
  • The sale representative always contacts me ahead of time in the renewal window. He does everything to help.
  • Their site is well designed, easy to administer, and it is easy to track learning paths.
  • When they were acquired by LinkedIn, the next invoice barely noted the invoice was for Lynda.com. I at first thought it was a phishing attempt using LinkedIn as a front.
  • The invoice should be from the lynda.com domain and NOT from LinkedIn.
  • Account administrators should be able to change passwords, and see passwords, for the license entities they manage. Also, all email notices to users should be duplicated to account administrators.
It is especially suited for new or junior employees to gain familiarity or new features of business productivity applications. Every course is also learn-at-your-own-pace; this is key to the utility of the website.
Read Rocky Banks's full review
Ai Ashe profile photo
December 13, 2017

"Review of lynda.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lynda.com is used as a resource for software training for both instructors and students. It is used by all areas of studies as the website contains numerous software training that is relevant to the courses offered at the Art Institute. Lynda.com also provides completion certificates that instructors can use to apply as professional development points.
  • The training is clear, you can access it on any device.
  • The instruction covers all areas of the software in question. It is updated on a regular basis to keep up with software updates.
  • Files from the course can be downloaded and used for practice.
  • Able to link students directly to another valuable resource for learning (only the free videos)
  • Lynda.com pretty much covers all of what I need.
  • The only thing is that it is not free and many students don't have the means to subscribe to the training. Perhaps a student price?
Very well suited for training in a variety of software used in different areas of industries. Helps people develop and build technical skills. Learners can learn at their own pace. There's also training in business principles and money-management advice.

Not sure if its useful as a tool to teach skills that requires face-to-face contact, for example in sales.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
No photo available
February 28, 2018

lynda.com Review: "Lynda: Must Have Self-Discipline To Use"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used lynda.com in my previous organization as a counterpart and aid to media marketing, specifically used for people not involved in the production who needed to get up to speed on projects, software, certain tasks, etc. Lynda was used as an introduction and informative partner in various types of media, particularly video production.
  • An in-depth tutorial, training, and reviews.
  • An influx of information and specialists/experts available to help.
  • Online courses for a multitude of topics—we're talking hundreds of videos.
  • Able to take this on the go. Don't have to be in a desk at work to use lynda.com.
  • Different results depending on each person's learning style or each expert's teaching style. Like in school, not all matchups will be beneficial and totally, completely informational.
  • Sometimes the videos can be long, which means it can be easy to get distracted/not pay attention. Sometimes long videos are warranted, sometimes they're not. Lynda is best for candidates with the self-discipline to stay committed.
Lynda.com is an easy way to get online tutorials about a spectrum of different topics. If you want flexibility in your learning, Lynda.com might perfect for you, because you can take it on the go and use it anywhere with internet access. That said, you need to have the self-discipline to sit down and do the courses. If you are not a good audio learner and require more hands-on learning, then Lynda might not be the software for you.
Read this authenticated review
Benjamin Brogdon profile photo
November 29, 2017

Review: "Lynda.com: massive and passive software training library"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of my comments about lynda.com are my own personal opinions and do not represent the views of the firm. I'm providing my personal views independent of my current employer.

I can't really speak to how others in my organization use lynda.com. It is not a part of any of our formal training programs. I use it outside of work when I need to brush up on my software skills. I know that others do as well, but it would not be accurate to say that it is used by our organization.
  • Variety: the lynda.com library is enormous. In fact, it can be a little overwhelming when you sit down and search.
  • Depth: lynda.com training videos are very detailed.
  • High quality: videos are delivered by knowledgeable experts who have great screen presence.
  • Passive content: I would like to see training that is more interactive. Lynda.com videos are purely passive. They do provide source code so that you can follow along. But this source code does not take the place of skill checks.
  • Learning plans: I think that lynda.com can do a better job of providing users with more direction when it comes to selecting related training. Most people do a search for the software they need to learn to use, such as Photoshop. And, lynda.com has hours and hours of Photoshop training. But, it would be great if the platform asked you to identify the projects you need to do and recommend relevant supplements. If you need to learn Photoshop, you probably also need to know how to use Illustrator, InDesign, etc.
Lynda.com works very well to provide you high-level overviews of a wide variety of software. I have only found a few applications that lynda.com doesn't cover. The passive video approach, however, is inherently limited, in spite of the high quality of the presentation.

Lynda.com also works very well for those who need to learn independently of others. It does not work well for groups of learners.
Read Benjamin Brogdon's full review
Tina Francis profile photo
August 29, 2017

User Review: "Lynda.com rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for my job to learn new skills like advanced Excel skills, SharePoint, AEM, Visio, JIRA, etc. I look there before anywhere else. I'm glad my company purchased a license for my group.
  • Love the practice exercises.
  • Clear explanations with examples.
  • Thoughtful progression.
  • Can start where you left off.
  • Just add more technologies and new apps, [such as] Data Science, BI reporting [topics].
  • I would like to see more advanced JIRA videos.
Well suited for learning just about any desktop application.
Read Tina Francis's full review
Brett Jones profile photo
May 12, 2017

lynda.com Review: "Learn to never stop learning."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole world is moving to an online method. Lynda.com has quickly become an incredible vehicle for knowledge transfer and learning. Someone can learn what they want, as often as they want, entirely at their own pace. Excellent quality lessons available for all shapes and sizes of use-cases.

Though my experience is based on personal usage, it's easy to see the positive impact Lynda.com can have within an organization for any number of use cases. Excellent training content can help with ramping up employees, onboarding, learning new programs, use-cases, tactics, tips, etc.
  • Providing a large amount of content, with well-executed training content. Able to choose areas of interest and begin the learning process at your own pace, taking on courses and content ranging from completely beginner levels up the scale to advanced learning.
  • Very easy-to-use interface that allows for an easy adoption and to hit the ground running with little to no need for instruction or hand holding.
  • Ability to set playlists lets a user browse through and tag content that they're interested in, able to tackle at a later date. Allows for better organization, structure, and ultimately helps lead towards similar content that's of interest to the user(s).
  • Easy to point the finger at pricing. Though in my opinion Lynda.com content is priced fairly, paying less is always of interest to society. That said, should the content suffer, lowering pricing wouldn't pose as a benefit to their offering.
  • Perhaps more of a tiered or a la carte model would attract more users: particularly low-usage users.
Lynda.com is a great tool for personal use, or for usage in an organization. Considering the vast amount of content, ranging from personal to corporate usage, users can vary their experience based on the scenario. Since the courses range in difficulty and familiarity, it's easy to attract individuals to new solutions, tools, use-cases, etc. All in all - a great tool that can be leveraged for a number of different needs.
Read Brett Jones's full review
Erika Schaefer profile photo
March 08, 2017

Review: "Strengthen Your Employees & Employers with Lynda.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I as well as everyone in my company are encouraged to set aside time in their schedules to utilize this amazing tool every week.

I have used it to brush up on my Excel skills and to learn how to better myself and make myself more useful to my company by learning about project management. I can learn from so many areas of education with Lynda.com, from creative and design, to IT programming to computer basics.
  • Great variety of classes!
  • Breaks down each subject and lets you bookmark where you are and save it.
  • Has great materials (workbooks) to accompany the class.
  • I find it helpful to have more interactive pieces to accompany the lessons and not just the workbook that you do as you watch the video. But something to practice a few more times after to make sure the lessons sink in.
I have found Lynda.com very helpful to brush up on my Excel skills. It's great for employees to learn new skills and strengthen skills they already have. I love that there are lessons for project management which help to make employees more valuable to your company and help them gain upward mobility in the company.
Read Erika Schaefer's full review
Michael Martinez profile photo
February 16, 2017

lynda.com Review: "Great tool for professional development!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using Lynda.com for professional development and cross-training. We have employees take training based on what they would like to learn as well as filling in the gaps on what others know. It is being used across our organization but we are using floating licenses.
  • Great database of trainings.
  • Search feature is spot on.
  • If you have the additional access to use exercise material, the material can be very helpful depending on the course.
  • Not all topics are covered to the same extent.
  • Some courses are better than others.
  • Having to pay extra for the examples can lead to the course not being as effective.
lynda.com is very good for getting information and training based on a topic. If you have the additional examples, it can also help with experiential learning. However, if you do not have the examples, you will be watching the videos and have to practice on your own. If you are trying to learn something, the practice is invaluable.
Read Michael Martinez's full review
No photo available
December 14, 2016

lynda.com Review: "Develop both Professionally and Personally"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Lynda.com across the whole organization as a tool for our employees to develop themselves both profressionally and personally. The library of courses enables us to offer a wider variety of training videos than we would be able to develop on our own or purchase from a third party vendor (which would not include as many and would be much more expensive).
  • Variety of Courses
  • Volume of Courses
  • Easily Accessible
  • User Friendly
  • From a management perspective, it can be difficult to manage the users' rights as you purchase rights.
  • Some of the courses have been reported as boring or monotone. I think the addition of interactive videos in the future would be beneficial.
It is well suited for outside the classroom training. It has business related courses and non-related courses enabling a company to provide developmental opportunities for employees on a personal level (hobbies, interests, etc.).

It is less appropriate for classroom trainings as the videos are not always tailored towards policy enforcement and training exercises.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 14, 2017

lynda.com Review: "Easy way into learning new skills"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lynda provides our developers with an impressive breadth and depth of training videos. Bleeding edge technology is covered with comprehensive tutorials.
  • Deep dive into subjects
  • Wide range of subjects
  • Professional quality tutorials and great user interface
  • Could introduce more interactive learning elements
When taking first steps with a new programming language or framework, Lynda is a really solid place to start. Tutorials are clear and give you a comprehensive grounding in the what/why/how of technologies.
Read this authenticated review
Tejashwi Kumar profile photo
November 09, 2016

lynda.com Review: "Lynda - Blessing in a sea of online platforms"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a medium to train people on various finance and accounting topics. We have also used it to help people clear CFA Level 1 exams in the past. The most important problem that Lynda solves is [having] the connectivity to a wide audience and it makes it easy to market your course. Also Lynda is important in terms of using online resources during video classes to help my clients to better understand a concept.
  • Lynda.com connects you to the most diverse and wide set audience.
  • It helps you market your course/videos.
  • It is very cheap and economical when compared to some of the other competitors.
  • Safety of videos is important. Lots of videos are leaked on Torrent and other sharing sites. This is very demotivating.
  • Trial period is really too short to make a call, it should be 1 month at least.
  • Should be available in live format as well as recorded videos format.
Lynda.com is best suited when you wish to record some videos and then market them to a wider group and hope that a lot of them will buy your course. Also if the course requires live classes or live interaction then I am afraid Lynda.com is not the best platform currently. So make your choice wisely.
Read Tejashwi Kumar's full review
Steve Surya profile photo
November 08, 2016

lynda.com Review: "Lynda organize the training videos well"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Lynda.com is being used within our organization for technical training. Our team uses a number of technologies to help with building mobile apps and web applications. Our team checks the video training on Lynda.com. Most of our software engineers use Lynda.com for training videos. We use it to train our team for various technologies.
  • Lynda.com training videos are really easy to understand. The trainers have done an excellent job to walk us through the courses. Their English is easy to understand.
  • The exercise files are helpful along with the videos. It helps with practicing the explained courses within video training.
  • Videos are organized well within categories which helps with searching for a video easily.
  • A few new tools and technologies are not available to learn in lynda.com. So if they can get all trainings available immediately after a new tool comes to the industry, it would be great.
  • CRM training would be great to have within PipeDrive.
  • User management would be great. If I can have multiple users for my team under my account, then I can manage access easily.
lynda.com is best for learning new technologies and tools. It helps with reviewing information easily and gets a hands on training to the users. It works great with people who want to review something quickly and easily. Since videos help a lot with quick learning, lynda.com is one of best platforms for learning purposes.
Read Steve Surya's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (1)
8
Course catalog or library (2)
9.0
Player/Portal (2)
8.5
Learning content (2)
8.0
Mobile friendly (1)
8
Progress tracking & certifications (2)
8.5
Assignments (2)
8.0
Compliance management (1)
8
Learning administration (1)
9
Learning reporting & analytics (1)
8
Social learning (1)
9

About lynda.com

lynda.com is a learning management platform. Lynda.com is a LinkedIn company since May 2015.

lynda.com Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No