TrustRadius
Magento is an open-source ecommerce content management solution originally developed by Varien Inc. While the Magento Open Source (formerly Community Edition) is for developers and tech-savvy merchants, the small business and mid-enterprise level solutions offer cloud services and integrations with business intelligence and order management tools.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/7I/Jd/XO1912908GOC.PNGMagento Commerce Pros and ConsMagento offers a great flexibility and power for mid sized retailers who want to create a high quality online experience for their users. Although the platform requires a fair amount of technical expertise to set up, maintain and host the access to the source code and the ability to customize virtually any aspect of the platform means that virtually anything is possible when using Magento.,Highly flexible with open source code make expanding capabilities and customizing experiences virtually limitless Huge community of developers and extensions to solve problems and provide support Great set of out of the box features that provide a foundation for a best in class web experience,The platform is difficult to tune and can be slow. Even with expensive best in class hardware the platform performance can be an issue. Even with caching poor coding can lead to unacceptable performance and user experiences. The total cost of ownership for the platform can be quite high as a great deal of technical expertise is required to modify, develop, troubleshoot and maintain the platform. The costs of initial development are only a down payment on what a Magento store will cost. For mid size companies with substantial web revenues this can be overcome for smaller businesses the total cost of ownership may be prohibitive. Security of the platform can be an issue. Magento is often targeted by hackers and much of the security is the responsibility of the store owner.,7,Great for SEO. We have been able to build out a huge number of highly targeted pages on the site that have propelled our SEO to the next level Magento plugs in with many third party tools including ERP's, CRM's, shipping tools. It is a core part of our tech stacks and has allowed us to improve our capabilities as a business. Has enabled us to provide a best in class web experience for our customers. We are constantly expanding the capabilities of Magento and to improve sales and grow our business.,Shopify, Shopify Plus, BigCommerce, SAP Hybris and Oracle ATG Web Commerce,TaxJar, Acumatica 5.0, SysTools G Suite/Google Apps Backup,$10 to $50 million,Both,Yes,Price Product Features Product Reputation Third-party Reviews,Overall I am happy with the decision but it would have been good to learn more about what would be required to maintain the platform moving forward during the development phase. I also wish I would have asked more questions about performance and speed for the platform and the things that we could do to make it fasterPowerful Software but Frustrating to UseWe use Magento to support our multiple e-commerce websites for all brands and all locations, execute transactional emails, manage warranty registrations, sync order data to our Email Service Provider, run promotions, and manage pricing/shipping/order follow-up info, and other development items. Primarily Marketing and IT use Magento to support our e-comm websites, with our call center using a section of Magento to reference customer information.,You can do SO much with Magento (that can cause it to be highly overwhelming). It allows for a lot of custom development so you can accomplish the goals you want to achieve with your site. Creating simple promotions (such as 10% coupon codes for signing up for your emails or Free Shipping codes) is really easy to execute and test. You can create your own codes or auto-generate codes with a set character count (or specific prefix/suffix) and set effective & end dates. Creating a new subcategory and adding products you already have loaded is really easy and efficient.,You will not be able to accomplish a Buy Two X and Get Y Free promotion. It is literally impossible. There are extensive articles on StackOverflow and elsewhere that state this, in addition to Magento's own site. You can Buy 2 of the same and Get Y (of yet again the same) free, but that is the extent of that ability. Creating other seemingly simple promotions can be very difficult as it was clearly built by developers for developers, not by developers for marketers/merchandisers. That leads to a lot of time being inefficiently spent testing these promotions instead of other more valuable work. The amount of time it takes for some things to update is ridiculous in 2018, especially when there is a host of other software that do this way more efficiently and effectively. It can take over an hour after moving a few items around in the Visual Merchandiser. Really? Support is severely lacking. There is no easy way to contact Magento to get support. I am not the account owner and I have no way to get easy support when I run into an issue. If our developer is very busy or away on vacation, I am stuck sifting through countless articles and navigating dev sites I'm not highly familiar with to get a seemingly simple answer. Magento has made it painful to move away to another platform but equally as painful to stay. It's clunky, but it is powerful. There needs to be a balance for people like me (and most of my team) who are not developers but use it for hours on a daily basis.,5,Magento definitely lets us get a return on our investment. Because we have developers who can customize Magento to our needs, we have been able to create a beautiful and effective website, run promotions, and serve up customized product display pages that are effective and beautifully branded. Magento has also caused a lot of time to be invested in doing something that seems simple, but without a lot of knowledge, end up taking far more time than could otherwise be better-spent. We have had to outsource some of our development work due to Magento being developer-focused rather than marketer/merchandiser-focused. I've used other website management software that is comparable to Magento's capabilities but is far easier to use, that even someone like me (with basic HTML/CSS skills) can customize the front-end without requiring a back-end developer to intervene.,,Monetate, Trello, JIRA Software,More than $100 million,B2CMagento is a solid choiceI have used Magento in many different capacities. From a point of full utilization of the shopping cart, payment processing, inventory, configurations of product, and anything else it does, to as little as implementing it solely for the use of the coupon engine (simply because it was all there and I did not want to recreate the wheel). I will be using it in conjunction with Wordpress and other quick-to-market CMS systems that are already in place.,Overall site and underlying structural organization. SEO is native. Couponing engine rocks!,Configurations of products can be daunting. Bulk import could be improved so that extremely large catalogs of products can come in completely configured. AMP natively built in.,10,Magento is great for fast paced initiatives. Completely scalable even up to an enterprise level.,nopCommerce, AspDotNetStorefront and Wix,Not available,BothFor Large E-Commerce Websites, Magento should be your first choice!I have used Magento Open Source for several years for client's e-commerce websites. As an ecommerce solution, Magento is an excellent open source software. Magento offers a really strong backbone for building ecommerce websites and offers a strong community of open source developers to back it up. Extensions make it easy to extend Magento to accommodate many needs.,Magento's database really handles large amounts of data very well and is very scalable.....I actually only recommend Magento for larger ecommerce websites because I know it will easily scale to the needs. Magento has an incredible support system with it's community of open-source developers . Magento has many built in features that many other open-source ecommerce platforms don't have out of the box. And extending on those features is easy with extensions. Of course you can't go wrong with the fact that the Community Edition of Magento is open-source, meaning free to download and use!,The Magento admin is not as user-friendly has other e-commerce platforms, and this is why I never recommend it for smaller ecommerce stores. You absolutely need a skilled developer to customize and extend Magento. A skilled developer can make Magento amazing, but if you're looking for a DIY website option, Magento will frustrate you. Magento takes a lot of server resources, so you will not be able to run on it a shared hosting account. You will need a dedicated server for it.,9,The scalability of Magento is extremely useful for large scale e-commerce websites with large amounts of products, making it easy to grow quickly. The fact that Magento has many great features standard in the base software is a plus for stores that don't need a lot, meaning less work to get up and running. Magento can be time consuming to get set up if you need a lot of specialty customization as it does require experienced developers, this can be much more expensive vs. other options.,WooCommerce, OpenCart, BigCommerce and Shopify,Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, OpenCart,$20,000 to $100,000,BothFlexible, easy to use platformWe use Magento across multiple departments, mostly for our marketing team and IT/engineering team though. Magento is used to manage our website and web links. I personally use it for landing pages, web pages, URL redirects, etc.,Flexible solution - it gives us the flexibility to build our own website navigation easily Easy to use - easy to learn and manage Powerful - we use it for part of our customer management too. You can build your logic to search the database that you want to target,Sometimes Magento can run pretty slow, but it could be our internal issues Uploading images can be a little tricky sometimes, but again, it could be adjusted from our engineering team I believe,8,We successfully serve over 10000 customers online through Magento Magento helps us target the audiences we want to target,,Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Google Analytics, Google Search Console, Hootsuite Free, Humanity, HubSpot, HubSpot CRM, HubSpot Sales, Ahrefs Site Explorer, Moz,Not available,Both
Unspecified
Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)
142 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Reviews

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)
142 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 142 vetted Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 28)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jeff McRitchie profile photo
October 01, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento Commerce Pros and Cons"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento offers a great flexibility and power for mid sized retailers who want to create a high quality online experience for their users. Although the platform requires a fair amount of technical expertise to set up, maintain and host the access to the source code and the ability to customize virtually any aspect of the platform means that virtually anything is possible when using Magento.
  • Highly flexible with open source code make expanding capabilities and customizing experiences virtually limitless
  • Huge community of developers and extensions to solve problems and provide support
  • Great set of out of the box features that provide a foundation for a best in class web experience
  • The platform is difficult to tune and can be slow. Even with expensive best in class hardware the platform performance can be an issue. Even with caching poor coding can lead to unacceptable performance and user experiences.
  • The total cost of ownership for the platform can be quite high as a great deal of technical expertise is required to modify, develop, troubleshoot and maintain the platform. The costs of initial development are only a down payment on what a Magento store will cost. For mid size companies with substantial web revenues this can be overcome for smaller businesses the total cost of ownership may be prohibitive.
  • Security of the platform can be an issue. Magento is often targeted by hackers and much of the security is the responsibility of the store owner.
If you have complex requirements, need flexibility and like having control and access to the code base Magento can be an awesome choice. If you are on a limited budget, are not a developer or can't hire a developer or if you can live with the out of the box features from a smaller SAS platform Magento may not be a great fit.
Read Jeff McRitchie's full review
Steffany Winkelmann profile photo
September 11, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento): "Powerful Software but Frustrating to Use"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento to support our multiple e-commerce websites for all brands and all locations, execute transactional emails, manage warranty registrations, sync order data to our Email Service Provider, run promotions, and manage pricing/shipping/order follow-up info, and other development items. Primarily Marketing and IT use Magento to support our e-comm websites, with our call center using a section of Magento to reference customer information.
  • You can do SO much with Magento (that can cause it to be highly overwhelming). It allows for a lot of custom development so you can accomplish the goals you want to achieve with your site.
  • Creating simple promotions (such as 10% coupon codes for signing up for your emails or Free Shipping codes) is really easy to execute and test. You can create your own codes or auto-generate codes with a set character count (or specific prefix/suffix) and set effective & end dates.
  • Creating a new subcategory and adding products you already have loaded is really easy and efficient.
  • You will not be able to accomplish a Buy Two X and Get Y Free promotion. It is literally impossible. There are extensive articles on StackOverflow and elsewhere that state this, in addition to Magento's own site. You can Buy 2 of the same and Get Y (of yet again the same) free, but that is the extent of that ability. Creating other seemingly simple promotions can be very difficult as it was clearly built by developers for developers, not by developers for marketers/merchandisers. That leads to a lot of time being inefficiently spent testing these promotions instead of other more valuable work.
  • The amount of time it takes for some things to update is ridiculous in 2018, especially when there is a host of other software that do this way more efficiently and effectively. It can take over an hour after moving a few items around in the Visual Merchandiser. Really?
  • Support is severely lacking. There is no easy way to contact Magento to get support. I am not the account owner and I have no way to get easy support when I run into an issue. If our developer is very busy or away on vacation, I am stuck sifting through countless articles and navigating dev sites I'm not highly familiar with to get a seemingly simple answer.
  • Magento has made it painful to move away to another platform but equally as painful to stay. It's clunky, but it is powerful. There needs to be a balance for people like me (and most of my team) who are not developers but use it for hours on a daily basis.
If you have a strong development team who is familiar with Magento (or willing to learn its nuances), it is a very powerful e-commerce tool that can accomplish a lot for your brand. If you don't have someone (or multiple 'someones') that can be dedicated to Magento development/management on a daily basis, you will be very frustrated and it will not be a viable solution. Other tools in the platform are fairly easy to use, but without backend support from a knowledgeable developer, you will not be successful with Magento.
Read Steffany Winkelmann's full review
Brad Ranks profile photo
August 06, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento is a solid choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Magento in many different capacities. From a point of full utilization of the shopping cart, payment processing, inventory, configurations of product, and anything else it does, to as little as implementing it solely for the use of the coupon engine (simply because it was all there and I did not want to recreate the wheel).

I will be using it in conjunction with Wordpress and other quick-to-market CMS systems that are already in place.
  • Overall site and underlying structural organization.
  • SEO is native.
  • Couponing engine rocks!
  • Configurations of products can be daunting.
  • Bulk import could be improved so that extremely large catalogs of products can come in completely configured.
  • AMP natively built in.
Magento is great for anyone looking for a shopping cart and is selling products. I have steered away from it for a single services company, since it is more geared towards product sales. It does an amazing job out of the box and the administrative management is simple. 5 gold stars.
Read Brad Ranks's full review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "For Large E-Commerce Websites, Magento should be your first choice!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Magento Open Source for several years for client's e-commerce websites. As an ecommerce solution, Magento is an excellent open source software. Magento offers a really strong backbone for building ecommerce websites and offers a strong community of open source developers to back it up. Extensions make it easy to extend Magento to accommodate many needs.
  • Magento's database really handles large amounts of data very well and is very scalable.....I actually only recommend Magento for larger ecommerce websites because I know it will easily scale to the needs.
  • Magento has an incredible support system with it's community of open-source developers .
  • Magento has many built in features that many other open-source ecommerce platforms don't have out of the box. And extending on those features is easy with extensions.
  • Of course you can't go wrong with the fact that the Community Edition of Magento is open-source, meaning free to download and use!
  • The Magento admin is not as user-friendly has other e-commerce platforms, and this is why I never recommend it for smaller ecommerce stores.
  • You absolutely need a skilled developer to customize and extend Magento. A skilled developer can make Magento amazing, but if you're looking for a DIY website option, Magento will frustrate you.
  • Magento takes a lot of server resources, so you will not be able to run on it a shared hosting account. You will need a dedicated server for it.
For large-scale e-commerce websites on a dedicated server with a good web developer on staff/on call, Magento is an excellent option.

For small scale e-commerce, or starter website, Magento is not the best option, and will leave your pulling your hair out.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Flexible, easy to use platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento across multiple departments, mostly for our marketing team and IT/engineering team though. Magento is used to manage our website and web links. I personally use it for landing pages, web pages, URL redirects, etc.
  • Flexible solution - it gives us the flexibility to build our own website navigation easily
  • Easy to use - easy to learn and manage
  • Powerful - we use it for part of our customer management too. You can build your logic to search the database that you want to target
  • Sometimes Magento can run pretty slow, but it could be our internal issues
  • Uploading images can be a little tricky sometimes, but again, it could be adjusted from our engineering team I believe
It's good for companies who want to build and manage a more sophisticated and comprehensive website. You may want to have a dedicated IT team that manages it though. If you are a small business that just started a website, you can start with a cheaper and less complicated solution.
Read this authenticated review
Zach Shelley profile photo
April 27, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Reliable, Stable, Typical"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We own and operate 4 separate eCommerce domains, 3 of which are platformed on Magento. 1/3 of our staff uses Magento daily for various reasons:
  • Order Processing (Customer Service)
  • Merchandising and Product Management
  • User Experience Development
  • Reporting and Analytics
  • etc.
Marketing, Customer Service, Operational Support, Category Management, Product Information, etc. are all departments who work daily in Magento through various roles.
  • Internal Referencing or Search is easy within Magento. Accurately researching previously relevant information is intuitive and simple.
  • Magento's category, product and customer information structure, while not being robust, is simple and accessible.
  • The ability to assign permissions by role and create specific access for varying accountabilities allows for greater internal security and more specific accountabilities.
  • Magento's "out of the box" solution (pre-internal development) has odd areas that are negatively affected by a lack of intuitive user options. For example, there are no means by which to assign a priority to products within a category page. The "default" sorting option for pages only allows for a few specific sort orders, with no available customization.
  • The Magento Admin Panel as it relates to customer service is time-consuming and less than intuitive. It is often easier for CS Agents to "back into" a customer account to place an order on the site, rather than processing the orders through a more robust or usable Magento Admin portal.
  • As a non-IT/Dev user, Magento errors messaging can be confusing, requiring translation from individuals or support staff.
Magento has been a reliable platform that allows for a considerable selection of app or plug-in choices while also integrating with internally developed solutions. There are many who finds its structure limiting and clunky, but for commodities and part search specific industries, it fits the bill nicely. Our IT/Dev team makes good use of its organizational options but does have to spend a significant amount of time building some of our necessary functions into the platform and continually keeping them up to date with a well-structured sprint schedule.
Read Zach Shelley's full review
Stephanie Reed profile photo
January 23, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Not the best solution for a small business"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento for our e-commerce website. The whole website is developed in Magento and the payments for our products are processed through it. We used it as it was described as a scalable solution for our future growth and a very solid platform for our needs and those of our customers.
  • Reliable
  • Scalable
  • Secure
  • Very hard to learn and use, not intuitive
  • Quite clunky and slow
It's well suited for a big organisation who needs a bespoke solution and a strong and reliable e-commerce platform. However, for a smaller one with not that many others, it's very hard to learn and use, as well as make changes without the need of a developer, so I would not recommend it.
Read Stephanie Reed's full review
Anne Ducale profile photo
March 20, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento is good but has room for improvement"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The marketing team uses Magento to add products to the website, add new promotions and general marketing. We had a very old, out-dated website so it modernized our web presence.
  • Automation
  • Custom Integrations
  • Mobile friendly
  • Scheduling website updates
  • Everything seems cumbersome
Our company is a big/small company. So there are a lot of features we don't utilize.
Read Anne Ducale's full review
No photo available
April 02, 2018

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Prepare your pockets: fitting your needs is VERY expensive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Magento CE 1.9 for our eCommerce company. We have over 15,000 products and sell mostly on the internet.
We had two softwares, one for selling (ecommerce, in this case, Magento) and another for internal stock management and logistics. That software connected to Magento to publish the products and manage stock levels.
Magento was used by most departments (sales, customer service, marketing), but as we are a small startup, communication is fluid in case somebody can't achieve what they're trying to do.
  • Magento is excellent at scalability. You can have 20,000 products and performance is not an issue at all. It can manage a lot of sales, customers, etc. without problems. I think the database and software is extremely optimized for scaling.
  • Exporting data is excellent too. With the proper extensions, you can export your catalog very easily and with a lot of information.
  • Filtering is reasonably quick, considering the amount of products we have.
  • Coupons and promotions are VERY good. You can easily create a discout for 5,000 products in a blink.
  • Magento is A HUGE PAIN to modify. Compared to alternatives (like WooCommerce) it is very hard to change things. Mostly because of how it's built with the Zend Framework and 20,000 files. If you would like to change a comma, good luck. It's going to take a whole day. The waterfall model on the theme helps, but it's very, very hard to change behaviors on the platform.
  • Developer community is very small compared to alternatives (again, WooCommerce). There aren't that many plugins, devs, and in general a community to ask for help. It's expensive and plugins (which are called extensions) are not very well maintained. Also, templates are hard to find. You have Ultimo (we used that and support is great) but besides that, there's not that much.
  • Updating Magento is SO painful. You never know what will happen. Expect anything.
  • Creating static content is hard to manage. At least I couldn't find any plugin for easily managing banners or blog pages.
  • The interface is so old and overwhelming at the same time. There are SO many options, but it's hard to find what you want. At least for me, it wasn't comfortable. You can get used to it, but it wasn't great.
  • The API was not that easy to manage. We had some troubles connecting with it.
  • Trying to debug an error is impossible. Good luck finding documentation on Stack Overflow.
I would recomment Magento for someone who needs a store for multiple countries very quickly, who will manage lots of stock and who will have huge pockets for buying services (design, modifications, etc.) and plugins. You'll need them.

Besides that, I wouldn't recommend it. It eats servers, it's hard to maintain, hard to start with, hard to modify... there are many sweet alternatives if you don't want to be a HUGE megastore. WooCommerce, Shopify... even PrestaShop (which I tried a couple years ago and didn't like much) seems better suited.
Read this authenticated review
Tanzeem Ahmed profile photo
September 29, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento at a Glance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
From the outset, I would like to say that Magento has always been my initial choice for any product that we developed for ourselves or for any third party. Although we could not use it for developing one of our last projects The Movie Korner, we could not do without the flexibility and affordability provided by Magento for our current project www.themerchantice.com . We are currently using it only for the webfront and most of our other departments are outsourced. One thing that truly compels us to adopt it is that most of the third party solutions that we use have plugins compatible mostly with Magento. None of the other platforms, we have learned from our extensive research, provide this kind of adaptability.
  • Total Control when it comes to development.
  • Most of the products that come up, do make an effort to provide necessary API's for Magento
  • The dashboard is an absolute dream to work with.
  • A lot of generic problems could be bundled by Magento and implemented. Choose by Image in the custom option for instance
  • Bulk upload is a major issue. Magmi does a wonderful job. Something like Magmi integrated with Magento could be a powerful add-on.
  • Search could be improved a lot.
Magento is great if you have a good set of developers who can control this monster of a product. For less technical users, something like a Shopify would be better.
Read Tanzeem Ahmed's full review
Michael Huey profile photo
August 31, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento - Top notch e-commerce platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We integrate with Magento and work with many clients who use Magento as their primary e-commerce platform. We do not do Magento setups, but we have worked with data customizations, integration usage, and collecting and working with customer data from Magento. We are a data science company focused on retention automation.
  • Easy to integrate unique tools into the base platform, plus a large community of developers creating their own extensions or modules.
  • Enough features that you really don't need to add modules unless there is something that you really like in another module.
  • Easy to use and understand from the internal user admin panel, plus great developer tools.
  • Some not-so-intuitive features like product category setup. Looks as expected on the website, but doesn't record as expected in the database.
  • Definitely not an easy initial implementation. Unless you have a Magento developer on staff, you should pay a reputable third party for setup.
  • Not all integrations play nicely with one another and some can actually cause others to malfunction or stop working completely.
Any e-commerce company with development resources for implementation should definitely consider Magento. If your company is smaller and doesn't have as many resources to devote to an in-house dev team or hiring a third party for setup, there are definitely other smaller e-commerce platforms, but you lose a lot of functionality. Easy to scale Magento once the setup is complete and nearly limitless options for growth and customization.
Read Michael Huey's full review
Chris Metropulos profile photo
July 19, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento: Your best option for an e-commerce platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento was selected as the new ecommerce platform for a series of interrelated web storefronts with unique domains. It is being used across the entire organization and holds responsive history, resources, and order capabilities of a variety of brands. As a web facing company, 91% of the business is done digitally. Thus, it was important to have a platform that managed large amounts of content and products with security required for any business.
  • Great adaptability with a variety of POS/CRM systems.
  • Great open source community that supported questions, themes, and more.
  • Able to support and organize a large amount of content.
  • Easy to find and design modern content.
  • More information regarding platform updates. Recently moved to a 2.0 and there is much that needs to be transitioned.
  • Easier integration of customer order notification feature.
  • Simpler, reliable security integrations with CloudFlare.
  • Simpler importing for new products. A lot of back-end cleanup is required.
If you are supporting an e-commerce webpage, this is a great solution. For large amounts of content however, it is superfluous to use such a system. If you are using platforms that are trending, Magento does a great job of creating links to those if it isn't already possible. Great for retail businesses.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review
Jeff Moriarty profile photo
August 04, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "7 Year Magento User Here...and Now I am Finally Switching"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento is being used by the entire company. From customer service, to purchasing, to marketing. Ever since we used it, seems like we always had issues. Went through three different development companies and all still had issues. We are constantly spending between 4k and 10k per month just to maintain it. And issues still happen. It might be great for a huge organization with a Magento team in house and huge budgets, but not good for small to medium size businesses.
  • Customization
  • Theme/Designs
  • Support/Community
  • Conferences
  • Too many bugs
  • Every time a patch comes out, many mods break
  • Reporting is not very good
It's great for huge businesses with unlimited budgets, but for small and medium companies that have to hire outside and maintain their own website, go with a cheaper platform.
Read Jeff Moriarty's full review
No photo available
November 30, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento): "Magento Review as developer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are building Magento shopping carts with our clients; my clients put Magento in as their internal and external shop.
  • Support of configurable product
  • Strong API support
  • Easy to use CMS
  • Clear Order summary
  • Checkout flow
  • Product setup flow
  • Flexibility on order status update
Magento is well suited for people with some basic IT knowledge and have a strong sense of how eCommerce works.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 02, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "One of the best solutions for stable ecommerce"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Magento enterprise for our fashion stores all around the world. It is used by all organization for every aspect of the eCommerce. We are only using an external service for printing labels and to connect with carriers. Stocks, emails, and management is completely done within Magento.
  • Stock management (if implemented with custom fields for location).
  • Transactional emails. Really well done and easy to config.
  • Access to data and accountancy.
  • Difficulty in creating plugin from scratch.
  • Difficulty to implement external technology (like ReactJS).
  • Out of the box stock management could be improved.
Magento is really good for big stores. It scales really well and, if supported by the right server, you'll have no problem. Even if you have a small website you can benefit from it. Magento can, in fact, be enough by itself for covering all the aspect of your business.
Read this authenticated review
Bryan Bielefeldt profile photo
May 12, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento from an agency's perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use (build manage and maintain) Magento websites for a range of industries and uses from B2C to B2B use cases, with clients ranging from small to enterprise level.
  • With Enterprise the page caching and speed is much better.
  • Plentiful e-commerce functionality of of the box. Being and e-comm platform it really covers all the standard use cases well.
  • The use of content blocks and includes in the content areas makes it easy to create global assets and modules.
  • The ability to create a page builder UI for marketing pages is non existent and for non technical users it is impossible.
  • The need for blogging/news and events is common and any/all modules for this type of content really cant compete with other platforms and usually require the installation of another platform to manage this content.
For custom theme development depending on the level of commerce the client does it doesn't always make since to suggest Magento due the the time needed for development. If the commerce volume is low we actually suggest a different platform with lower overhead for custom theme development. For clients that have a larger catalog and or more complex business rules we always suggest Magento.
Read Bryan Bielefeldt's full review
Louisa Nicholson profile photo
April 05, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento is a GREAT Choice"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Magento both in my agency as well as with other agencies who have built and managed Magento stores for clients internationally. It easily addresses the need for e-commerce capability into a content management system for stores from small to large. It is very easy to use for clients to update and add information and [they] have been very happy with Magento.
  • Magento handles product data very well.
  • It's able to handle publishing content just as well as publishing products.
  • It handles a lot of complex store, coupon, and shipping rules for operations and fulfillment needs.
  • I would like to see updates be easier to do with less difficulty.
  • I would like to see more rules with coupons.
  • I would like to see complex rules around recurring payments.
Magento is definitely well suited for stores that want complete server and code control. It is less appropriate for smaller shops who do not want to control the hosting or server environment. It might also take a lot of work compared to other solutions to set up for a small shop. This is definitely for the medium to large shops.
Read Louisa Nicholson's full review
Elizabeth Bottomley profile photo
March 24, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento): "Magneto review from a Project Manager"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Magento on behalf of my clients to solve their e-commerce business needs - including selling, stock management, and communications. We use Magento as a build and CMS platform and train our clients to use it to manage their products and their shop front - I have used it with a range of clients across various industries and sizes of businesses and found it very scalable.
  • Ease of product management
  • Ease of reporting and range of reporting tools
  • Fast build time
  • Range of payment gateway options
  • Security support for older systems
Magento is well suited to businesses that want fast and adaptable e-commerce solutions - it is especially useful for smaller businesses where users manage a lot of their services in one space - CRM data, product data, stock information and logistics etc. However, it is less appropriate for businesses that need bespoke solutions and complex integrations.
Read Elizabeth Bottomley's full review
No photo available
March 31, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento - the ins and outs, and ups and downs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento is used across our organisation as a B2B ordering site for our worldwide customer base. The ability to define language and currency per store view is a key advantage for us.
  • Being able to pull product data from our SAP system and upload to Magento with little reworking makes keeping catalogs up to date relatively easy.
  • It's really easy to customise Magento for our customers across different countries which is key during their purchase experience.
  • There is a huge range of add-ons - if Magento can't handle something out the box, there's bound to be an add-on ready and waiting.
  • It would be nice to see more in depth and accurate reporting.
Magento is great at handling multiple stores. Data can be shared across each store with a click making initial set up easy, but also allowing for personalisation and customisation to let each store look completely different.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2017

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento Simple and Functional"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use magento to manage a company website and its sales. I highly recommend magento for a new business, that wants to start professional selling through their websites and such. I can confirm that magento will make this process a lot easier for them. Only a certain department in our company has involvement with magento, which is more than enough to manage it and it is very easy to manage.
  • Website organization
  • Stock management
  • Very organized and categorized
  • Allows for very detailed and organized product page creation
  • Only limited things that can be changed or edited
  • Needs to have more options available
  • Have to be able to make connections with other market places easly
If you are a new business, I highly recommend Magento, but if you are a huge corporation I would recommend something more advanced.
Read this authenticated review
Christian Kern profile photo
April 05, 2014

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "The good the bad and the ugly from a developer's perspective"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web development agency which focuses on implementing resourceful, creative and reliable solutions for our clients' business needs, we are big fans of Magento. With a strong corporation backing development and tremendous growth as an eCommerce platform, Magento continues to improve and set new standards in terms of functionality and security.
Magento comes out of the box with a wealth of functionality which fits most business needs. For most use cases a huge variety of third party modules exists to extend Magento beyond its native capabilities.
  • Easy integration with popular payment systems like Paypal (both companies are owned by eBay)
  • Powerful sales / promotion / pricing engine
  • Lots of features out of the box
  • Community edition which has most features of the enterprise edition is free
  • Trying to customize Magento functionality requires in-depth knowledge of the platform
  • Magento does not support more complex internal review processes / publishing workflows
  • Magento is more b2c focused, implementing b2b models can be challenging
  • Some features like gift registry or compare functionality are not very sophisticated
For most b2c scenarios from small to big size companies Magento is an affordable comprehensive and well-supported eCommerce platform. While most product types are handled, some customization might be required for specific cases.
Read Christian Kern's full review
No photo available
September 30, 2015

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento is the only eCommerce solution you will ever need."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento as a tool to reach our direct customers. We are able to integrate it with XIP and SAP. With Magento we are able to be more flexible.
  • User friendly interface. Very easy to start using Magento right out of the box.
  • Lots of useful free and paid extensions. Lots of free themes to differentiate your business.
  • Scalability. Magento can be used for a store of 10 products and 10,000 products.
  • Re-indexing can use some improvement. It still take a long time.
  • Some features such as one page checkout, no PO box shipping, or ability to edit a cart in admin view without creating a duplicate order should be standard by now.
  • Better fraud detection features would make it even stronger.
Great for a business that cannot afford a team to support their eCommerce initiative. Magento can be supported by a single person. Make sure to check the requirements to be able to run the application. And if you are not running your own servers, make sure to selecting a hosting platform that is well suited to run Magento.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2015

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Affordable, full featured platform for companies willing to trade some site speed for flexibility"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Magento Enterprise for three B2B ecommerce websites. The websites are managed by our ecommerce marketing department, and are updated and maintained by two in-house developers. We choose Magento because it offered an open source solution that could be customized to some unique business needs. We also liked the fact that is had a large user base, which means that there is a lot of resources available for users.
  • Open source allows for complete flexibility & customization
  • Large library of extensions provide an easy & inexpensive way to "plug & play" with additional features & functionality.
  • Due to the large user base, there are hundreds of forums where people discuss ideas & trouble shooting for Magento
  • Magento is slower than other comparable platforms, especially during checkout.
  • Technical support included in the Enterprise plan is generally slow to respond, and not very helpful.
  • Magento doesn't allow import/export of category data which means all edits have to be done manually.
  • Magento doesn't have a great CMS for content pages (Customer Service, Company Page, Other Resources). This type of content has to be loaded in HTML blocks in a library, and they the blocks have to each be assigned to the pages(categories) manually. The library is sorted by creation date, so it is a pain to scroll through a very long list to find/edit blocks. It would make a lot more sense if there were multiple HTML fields for each page (category) that could be used to populate content directly into the page.
Magento provides a lot of flexibility, but requires developers to make customizations. If a business is looking for a standard website, and needs little to no customization, a simpler platform may work better.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 08, 2015

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "MagentoGo is dead. Long live Magento"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Magento Go as we planned at some point to move to community but where our business was at the time we need it to be a quick and easy solution that we could easily port over at a later date. It was very easy to set up and install.
  • Lots of features that allow it to compete with the biggest platforms out there.
  • The marketplace usually has a few dozen suppliers of each non-standard feature you could want.
  • Lots of people know how to use Magento now
  • MagentoGo has been retired as of 2015 but we saw this coming and were already in the process of moving
  • Updates and 3rd party compatibility has always been a problem historically
  • Lot's of people will tell you that Magento is slow and a drain on server resources but I've seen some very quick examples so optimisation is key.
I'd always tell people that they will usually need to make some compromises when selecting an ecommerce platform but Magento does as much as any (and often more) than some of the largest platforms out there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 30, 2014

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Review: "Magento Enterprise - Enterprise Class, Affordable Price Point"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a professional services and systems implementation and integration firm. We assist our clients in leveraging Magento to its fullest potential. It enables merchants, manufacturers, and distributors to market their products and receive orders from online channels. For its price, it has some incredibly impressive features.
  • Multi-Site Implementation - Magento Enterprise has the ability to filter and manage content, customers, and products for multiple sites within one instance and admin panel. This gives online merchants a great deal of flexibility and functionality to target multiple markets with a relatively low cost of ownership
  • Customer Segmentation - Within Magento Enterprise's marketing engine there is a great deal of flexibility in the ability to slice and dice customers by their behaviors and purchase history
  • Flexibility and Extend-ability - Magento Enterprise implementation of the software and open source nature gives it a great deal of flexibility
  • Breadth of Features - Magento Enterprise has a incredibly wide range of features and, although the depth of the features themselves is not incredibly complex, Magento's flexibility allows for some pretty extensive customizations within its framework
  • Low Cost of Ownership - Magento Enterprise license is at a relatively low price-point given the number of features present in the system out of the box
  • Module Marketplace Quality - There are way too many malfunctioning and improperly implemented modules (both theme and Magento Functionality) on Magento's Marketplace
  • Company Immaturity - Magento, although owned by Ebay, is a bit immature as an organization. There has been a great deal of turnover since the acquisition and their ability to support their product, at times, has been suspect. (i.e. the 1.13 issues)
  • Partner Quality - This item is much, much, better than years passed, but Magento's explosive growth has spawned a great deal of professionals looking to simply capitalize on a hot market rather that provide a quality good or service. That being said, Magento has been working on improving this piece and there have definitely been some noticeable enhancements in this regard
Magento (either enterprise or community) is best suited for merchants who want a fully-featured and extendable eBusiness system. It is for individuals or organizations that require a complex system and is not for merchants who do not have the resources (either time or money) to support it. From dynamic marketing to order management to APIs for integration, it provides a feature set and flexibility that, for the price, is unmatched.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (20)
8.1
Product management (20)
8.3
Bulk product upload (17)
7.0
Branding (18)
7.2
Mobile storefront (20)
7.4
Product variations (20)
7.7
Website integration (20)
7.5
Visual customization (20)
7.1
CMS (20)
5.8
Abandoned cart recovery (16)
6.0
Checkout user experience (19)
6.4
eCommerce security (19)
7.9
Promotions & discounts (20)
8.2
Personalized recommendations (17)
6.8
SEO (19)
7.1
Multi-site management (18)
8.1
Order processing (19)
8.2
Inventory management (20)
7.9
Shipping (19)
7.4
Custom functionality (19)
7.3

About Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento)

Magento was originally developed as an open-source eCommerce content management solution by Varien Inc., and was acquired by eBay in 2012 and then by Adobe in 2018. Magento Open Source (formerly Community Edition) is still available for developers and tech-savvy merchants. However, Adobe also offers small business and mid-enterprise level solutions that offer cloud services and integrations for business intelligence and order management tools.

Visitor data is used to segment customers and personalize the shopping experience with targeted promotions, suggestions and coupons. Sites generate SEO-friendly URLs, a Google site map, and customized meta tags to help products get discovered. Site-wide or segmented and targeted recommendations are generated from rule-based product-relations logic, to increase up-sells and cross-sells, and interactive features including "likes" and tweets allow visitors to broadcast their choices and create buzz around products.

The paid versions of Magento Commerce Cloud solutions are highly extensive and include product integrations such as business intelligence, order management, and an extensions marketplace.
Categories:  Digital Experience,  Ecommerce

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Integrations

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Competitors

Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No