TrustRadius
Magento is an open-source ecommerce content management solution originally developed by Varien Inc and presently owned by eBay. The Open Source product (formerly known as Community Edition) is for developers and tech-savvy merchants that is available as a free download, and is supported with free upgrades from the Magento Community.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Uw/AB/1F0U2C8PXHKN.PNGIs Magento the Best eCommerce Platform? Opace Say YesOur agency Opace use Magento day-in-day-out for e-commerce clients, we also specialize in other open source platforms, including WordPress, WooCommerce and Joomla. However for e-commerce, especially larger stores with large inventories and/or an international presence, Magento is always our platform of choice and we find that customers are usually very happy with the solution. The one limitation, where a combination like WordPress and WooCommerce outperforms Magento, is ease-of-use and flexibility. Magento isn't the most straight forward of platforms to use or maintain, not without some level of technical knowledge. That said, Magento is very powerful and migrations to Magento 2 are becoming more straight forward. For more information on a study we've conducted and a comparison to other e-commerce platforms available, you can view our infographic here.,Multiple storefronts - the ability to power multiple Magento stores from a single install/database. Extensibility - the ability to grow your e-commerce store using the vast selection of available extensions.,Not the simplest of solutions to use or maintain from an end-user perspective Other platforms are better with regards to SEO in our experience Fairly sluggish and slow compared to other platforms without the correct server specification and performance optimization work.,8,Better Total Cost of Ownership than bespoke e-commerce solutions due to being open source and the wide range of free/commercial extensions available to extend the platform. Often more extensive to set up and maintain than other open source alternatives, such as WooCommerce.,WooCommerce,WooCommerce, WordPress, Joomla!,Not available,BothApparently Open Source means lower publishing standards. Be prepare to hire a software developer.Magento CE is our current eCommerce platform in a business which also has a B2B and Retail units. We conducted the upgrade from WooCommerce after experience of outages and problems which were limiting growth. Currently online customers use this platform for direct ordering, our marketing team does some design work, and customer service accesses the platform to find order-related information. We planned the development to allow for growth into a B2B ordering platform and potentially more.,Magento 2 CE has a very robust document workflow which mirrors most mid-large ERP systems. There's a "papertrail" which mimics your business processes, and each part of the process is exposed to the API which makes for some great integration potential. Magento 2 CE is also great for tracking customer history, saves a record for each and allows you to understand customer interests better. Magento 2 CE is highly expandable, with a full marketplace of free and premium modules that should accomplish some pretty niche sales or service goals.,Magento 2 community is full of known and new bugs with long-pending pull requests and the community is on the hook for changes. Submit an very obvious issue to the github repo, and you will likely be met with a "this is open source and you use at your own risk." I counter this poor attitude with the fact that open source community has standards, and we do not label a "release" until those standards are met. Otherwise it's just a alpha, beta or numbered build. We don't release obviously bad software until it's fully working. Magento is expensive to maintain. You will need a well-paid php developer with apache and hosting knowledge, or you will have to hire an external firm. Either option will turn your website into an additional $100k/yr cost center, so you'd better be ready to ramp up sales. Every feature update or bugfix in the past year has uncovered more bugs, which my devs fix, but at the cost of timelines and billed hours way outside of my budget and target dates.,3,Delays in development leads to missed timelines and opportunity loss. High cost of development and maintenance may currently outweigh the growth. Better handling of customer and order information makes for better customer service. Excellent API has been a boon for integration with our ERP,WooCommerce, BigCommerce and Shopify Plus,WooCommerce, Avaza, Vagrant, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop, Final Cut Pro X,$20,000 to $100,000,B2CMagento - the developer's choice in e-commerce platformsWe are a software company that builds e-commerce sites for companies. We mostly use Magento because it is very flexible and powerful and we are able to integrate it with any other 3rd party system as needed. Our sites are built for both B2B and B2C (direct sales) companies.,Magento is fully extendable so that you can accomplish any special needs for a client without having to build a custom site. Magento is powerful and fast on the proper web server. It can handle a huge number of products and customers successfully. Magento has a very flexible catalog structure so that you can sell most any type of product or product combination. Magento is easy to integrate with other systems. Magento is great for non-technical people to be able to update content, as it's also a full CMS system.,Magento is well known for its bugs in early releases of each version. Luckily, there is a great community always providing temporary fixes and patches. Magento should allow you to add user-defined fields for customers. It allows you do do this for products, but for customers, you must be able to program in order to create user-defined fields. Magento should have built-in support for dimensional shipping methods. I think in general the shipping integrations are weak. Most people need to purchase add-ons to get really accurate shipping rates.,9,Magento will definitely give you a good ROI if you are prepared to invest in a good site. Even B2B companies are more and more expected to provide online resources for their customers. Magento, being easily customized to work with any 3rd party system, allows you to provide these resources to help you keep and grow your customer base. A well-designed site will also increase your search rankings and draw more traffic to your site. Being easily incorporated with Google Analytics and Tag Manager, you can tweak your site to increase traffic and sales.,BigCommerce and WooCommerce,Trello, Slack, Google Drive, Evernote,Not available,BothMagento is a Heavy Hitter; Make Sure You Can Carry ItWe help manage, update, maintain and customize websites built with Magento Open Source (Community Edition) - among many other CMSs and frameworks - for our clients. Magento enables building highly customizable e-commerce websites, with a solid core set of features and a large variety of extensions available to extend it further, and a framework that allows further extension by an expert programmer.,Flexibility of code - almost any part of the system can be customized Extensions - high availability of free and paid pre-built extensions Documentation - for the latest iteration (2.x) Multi-language/Internationalization Multi-store websites,Updates - historically patches and updates, due to the frequent high customization, can be difficult User Experience of Management - managing the store is not as intuitive as some other systems Frontend Development and templating - while very flexible and modular, they are much more complex than many other systems,8,As a framework, it allows more efficient implementation of many features (depending on the feature and what you compare it to) The options for customization open up many possibilities,WooCommerce, Shopify, BigCommerce and X-Cart,Kinsta,Not available,BothScalable but expensive to customizeWe used Magento as an eCommerce solution for our company. We sell lots of different products, so scalability was an issue and we were recommended to use Magento. We didn't use it as fulfillment, only for processing orders and everything else was done outside of it. We published products from an API outside the store too.,Magento scales very well. That means if you keep adding more products, there's no significant performance decline. This sounds like a very technical and unuseful thing but actually it's very important and depends heavily on the type of eCommerce solution you are providing. In our case, we were supposed to have many products (+15,000) so we never have many scale issues with it. Exporting information works reasonably well. It is relatively fast and has decent built-in capabilities. Attributes are well built considering other eCommerce options. It's very flexible and you can modify many things, including brands, easily. Multistore (differente languages/places) seems to work fine but we didn't use it. I'm just referring to what I've read,The community around Magento is very poor compared to other software. We migrated to WooCommerce and definitely there's more support there. More plugins, extensions, developers, etc., and at a reasonable price. This is one of the key points why we migrated. Magento is very expensive and slow to develop here. For WooCommerce there are plugins for everything, from popular analytics software to loyalty. This is a HUGE point to consider. Debugging is painful. Some times you get an error that shut downs your entire store, and why did it happen? No clue. There's no documentation, there are 20,000+ files and at least for us, the framework on which it is built is not that user-friendly. This is expensive and there are not that many options compared to other software. Changing the design or making changes is also very hard, because of the framework, the many files, and how complex Magento is.,8,It definitely let us start with a decent store and scale from 0 to 15,000 products without many performance issues. But that comes with a cost: we were unable to change the design of the checkout, SEO was poor, and adding banners or more store-related things was very time consuming. Debugging is hard and you will break your head with some errors that break your store, and you don't know how to solve them. This was one of the reasons why we left it.,WooCommerce, PrestaShop and Shopify,PrestaShop, Dropbox, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Office 2016,$100,000 to $500,000,B2C
Unspecified
Magento Open Source
76 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Magento Open Source Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Magento Open Source
76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 76 vetted Magento Open Source reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David Bryan profile photo
December 26, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "Is Magento the Best eCommerce Platform? Opace Say Yes"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency Opace use Magento day-in-day-out for e-commerce clients, we also specialize in other open source platforms, including WordPress, WooCommerce and Joomla. However for e-commerce, especially larger stores with large inventories and/or an international presence, Magento is always our platform of choice and we find that customers are usually very happy with the solution. The one limitation, where a combination like WordPress and WooCommerce outperforms Magento, is ease-of-use and flexibility. Magento isn't the most straight forward of platforms to use or maintain, not without some level of technical knowledge. That said, Magento is very powerful and migrations to Magento 2 are becoming more straight forward. For more information on a study we've conducted and a comparison to other e-commerce platforms available, you can view our infographic here.

  • Multiple storefronts - the ability to power multiple Magento stores from a single install/database.
  • Extensibility - the ability to grow your e-commerce store using the vast selection of available extensions.
  • Not the simplest of solutions to use or maintain from an end-user perspective
  • Other platforms are better with regards to SEO in our experience
  • Fairly sluggish and slow compared to other platforms without the correct server specification and performance optimization work.
Definitely well suited to larger e-commerce stores, in particular where multiple store-fronts are needed. Not so well suited to smaller online shops.
Read David Bryan's full review
Brendon Brown profile photo
November 30, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "Apparently Open Source means lower publishing standards. Be prepare to hire a software developer."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento CE is our current eCommerce platform in a business which also has a B2B and Retail units. We conducted the upgrade from WooCommerce after experience of outages and problems which were limiting growth. Currently online customers use this platform for direct ordering, our marketing team does some design work, and customer service accesses the platform to find order-related information. We planned the development to allow for growth into a B2B ordering platform and potentially more.
  • Magento 2 CE has a very robust document workflow which mirrors most mid-large ERP systems. There's a "papertrail" which mimics your business processes, and each part of the process is exposed to the API which makes for some great integration potential.
  • Magento 2 CE is also great for tracking customer history, saves a record for each and allows you to understand customer interests better.
  • Magento 2 CE is highly expandable, with a full marketplace of free and premium modules that should accomplish some pretty niche sales or service goals.
  • Magento 2 community is full of known and new bugs with long-pending pull requests and the community is on the hook for changes. Submit an very obvious issue to the github repo, and you will likely be met with a "this is open source and you use at your own risk." I counter this poor attitude with the fact that open source community has standards, and we do not label a "release" until those standards are met. Otherwise it's just a alpha, beta or numbered build. We don't release obviously bad software until it's fully working.
  • Magento is expensive to maintain. You will need a well-paid php developer with apache and hosting knowledge, or you will have to hire an external firm. Either option will turn your website into an additional $100k/yr cost center, so you'd better be ready to ramp up sales. Every feature update or bugfix in the past year has uncovered more bugs, which my devs fix, but at the cost of timelines and billed hours way outside of my budget and target dates.
If you have a lively dev department and are selling $5m+/year, then this may be an option for you. But then you should probably be using Magento Enterprise anyway. I am convinced that Magento allows and follows the Open Source version not to provide any meaningful support but to glean new ideas to attract Enterprise customers.
Read Brendon Brown's full review
Lynn Thames profile photo
September 25, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento - the developer's choice in e-commerce platforms"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a software company that builds e-commerce sites for companies. We mostly use Magento because it is very flexible and powerful and we are able to integrate it with any other 3rd party system as needed. Our sites are built for both B2B and B2C (direct sales) companies.
  • Magento is fully extendable so that you can accomplish any special needs for a client without having to build a custom site.
  • Magento is powerful and fast on the proper web server. It can handle a huge number of products and customers successfully.
  • Magento has a very flexible catalog structure so that you can sell most any type of product or product combination.
  • Magento is easy to integrate with other systems.
  • Magento is great for non-technical people to be able to update content, as it's also a full CMS system.
  • Magento is well known for its bugs in early releases of each version. Luckily, there is a great community always providing temporary fixes and patches.
  • Magento should allow you to add user-defined fields for customers. It allows you do do this for products, but for customers, you must be able to program in order to create user-defined fields.
  • Magento should have built-in support for dimensional shipping methods. I think in general the shipping integrations are weak. Most people need to purchase add-ons to get really accurate shipping rates.
It is well suited to a company that is willing to invest in proper development, web server capacity, and ongoing maintenance. It's not a good solution for a DIY'er unless they are very technical. But if you need any type of custom integration and are willing to invest in your solution, it will definitely give you a good ROI.
Read Lynn Thames's full review
Chris Putnam profile photo
January 07, 2019

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento is a Heavy Hitter; Make Sure You Can Carry It"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We help manage, update, maintain and customize websites built with Magento Open Source (Community Edition) - among many other CMSs and frameworks - for our clients. Magento enables building highly customizable e-commerce websites, with a solid core set of features and a large variety of extensions available to extend it further, and a framework that allows further extension by an expert programmer.
  • Flexibility of code - almost any part of the system can be customized
  • Extensions - high availability of free and paid pre-built extensions
  • Documentation - for the latest iteration (2.x)
  • Multi-language/Internationalization
  • Multi-store websites
  • Updates - historically patches and updates, due to the frequent high customization, can be difficult
  • User Experience of Management - managing the store is not as intuitive as some other systems
  • Frontend Development and templating - while very flexible and modular, they are much more complex than many other systems
If you need to sell your products in multiple languages and/or via multiple websites (e.g. targeting different demographics), then Magento may be a good fit. If a high amount of customization is needed, Magento could be a good fit. You will need an experienced programmer in this case, and expect to have ongoing costs in hosting, maintenance and updates.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
Santiago Valdés profile photo
August 27, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "Scalable but expensive to customize"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Magento as an eCommerce solution for our company. We sell lots of different products, so scalability was an issue and we were recommended to use Magento. We didn't use it as fulfillment, only for processing orders and everything else was done outside of it. We published products from an API outside the store too.
  • Magento scales very well. That means if you keep adding more products, there's no significant performance decline. This sounds like a very technical and unuseful thing but actually it's very important and depends heavily on the type of eCommerce solution you are providing. In our case, we were supposed to have many products (+15,000) so we never have many scale issues with it.
  • Exporting information works reasonably well. It is relatively fast and has decent built-in capabilities.
  • Attributes are well built considering other eCommerce options. It's very flexible and you can modify many things, including brands, easily.
  • Multistore (differente languages/places) seems to work fine but we didn't use it. I'm just referring to what I've read
  • The community around Magento is very poor compared to other software. We migrated to WooCommerce and definitely there's more support there. More plugins, extensions, developers, etc., and at a reasonable price. This is one of the key points why we migrated. Magento is very expensive and slow to develop here. For WooCommerce there are plugins for everything, from popular analytics software to loyalty. This is a HUGE point to consider.
  • Debugging is painful. Some times you get an error that shut downs your entire store, and why did it happen? No clue. There's no documentation, there are 20,000+ files and at least for us, the framework on which it is built is not that user-friendly. This is expensive and there are not that many options compared to other software.
  • Changing the design or making changes is also very hard, because of the framework, the many files, and how complex Magento is.
Magento is good for stores that have high volumes of traffic and lots of products (20,000+). Also stores that are in many countries or need to have different stores but with the same stock.

Beware that the road will be painful: expensive developers (and not that many), little support or documentation, and hard to change the design to suit what you want to do. If you want to start a small store without many problems and don't have much budget, just go with WooCommerce. It's easy, fast and works pretty well for basic stuff (we had to invest some in scaling it, but now it works great.)
Read Santiago Valdés's full review
Brian Halstrom profile photo
December 14, 2018

Magento Open Source: "Magento Helps Us Achieve Our eCommerce Strategy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses the Magento eCommerce platform to sell retail bowling equipment to thousands of customers around the world. Magento is flexible to configure to our needs as we've implemented many different extensions from payment gateways, search engine optimization, upgraded search features, and more. What's nice is that we've been able to launch multiple stores using the same install and database. I would recommend this platform for companies that have a lot of products and need the flexibility to add a lot of categories and product attributes.
  • Ability to create unlimited attributes and attribute sets to describe products
  • Ability to launch multiple stores with one install
  • Tons of extensions available to integrate and optimize an eCommerce store
  • Resource intensive, recommended that you host this on a dedicated server
  • Updating site layout is not intuitive, developers may be needed at an additional expense
  • Extensions can be costly, and typically developers are needed to install
For eCommerce stores with a lot of products and numerous categories are needed, I think Magento would be the ideal choice. For stores looking to see a few products, I think Magento would be overkill as there are different eCommerce solutions available that can be launched in less time.
Read Brian Halstrom's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "Our site would not exist without Magento Open Source"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Magento Open Source to manage our ecommerce website. We have been using it for years and have had great success. Our website development team uses Magento Open Source. This includes our e-ops team, UX team and back-end developers. It allows us to manage all the products, shipping rates, taxes, multiple stores across multiple countries, SEO, categories, redirects, etc. It really takes care of most needs we have for our site.
  • Magento Open Source allows us to manage thousands of products in an easy to view and edit manner. We can make bulk changes to hundreds of products when necessary in just a few minutes.
  • Magento Open Source is incredibly flexible from a developers perspective. We have been able to develop many custom solutions that Magento Open Source didn't offer out of the box without any difficulty.
  • Magento Open Source allows us to pull reports very quickly. The product grid screen (Manage Products) allows you to customize the data columns you see which allows you to pull a report of just the data you want. We use this multiple times per day to see data on our catalog.
  • Magento Open Source makes it very easy to set URL redirects when we change product pages or category structure. This is incredibly useful in our daily use of Magento.
  • Like I mentioned previously, Magento Open Source allows us to develop custom solutions for areas where it did not offer a feature out of the box. While the ease of development is good, had these features been available out of the box, it would have been even better.
  • We occasionally find that some third party vendors do not work well with Magento Open Source. We have had to come up with work-arounds or abandon certain vendors all together because of our use of Magento Open Source.
  • This isn't really a drawback of Magento Open Source itself, but finding developers that are familiar with Magento can be difficult.
  • When you are first getting familiar with Magento Open Source, navigating the menus can be very intimidating. There are seemingly hundreds of pages and tabs in Magento and until you are familiar with it, you can very easily get lost.
Magneto is very well suited for larger e-commerce businesses. Our catalog of thousands of products across multiple stores and storeviews is very easy to manage with Magento Open Source. I can imagine that for a smaller start up company, Magento Open Source would be overkill. If you are looking for a platform with a lot of built in extensions and customizations, Magento Open Source is probably not best for you. Expect to do some custom development if you are going to go with Magento Open Source.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

Review: "Magento Open Source is ideal for large e-commerce shops"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento Open Source is my top selection for large/complex e-commerce websites. There is really no better open-source e-commerce solution that can scale for large shops or accommodate specialty customizations. I use Magento for my clients that need a platform that can scale with thousands of products or complex product configurations.
  • Scalability is excellent, Magento Open Source can handle hundreds, thousands, ten thousands of products.
  • Inventory management is excellent.
  • Excellent set of core features and extensions to expand and extend it are exhaustive.
  • The community behind Magento is top-notch.
  • Magento can be difficult to learn for a non-technical person, and requires an experienced developer to set it up properly.
  • To really get the most of out Magento, you must run it on on a dedicated server with extensive server customizations.
  • Not really geared for small shops - I don't recommend it for little e-commerce websites.
I highly recommend Magento Open Source for large e-commerce websites, or e-commerce websites that require extensive customizations. It is always my first choice for clients that need a complex e-commerce system that can scale well. I do not recommend it for smaller e-commerce websites or simple basic shops and would encourage using a simpler system.
Read this authenticated review
Max J. Jennings profile photo
April 30, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "The best platform for large-scale e-commerce but maybe not the best for hobbyist or startups."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a digital marketing company specializing in web design and SEO. Our company has been building Magento websites for years for our clients. For both large and small scale clients, Magento has been implemented to serve as an e-commerce platform has overall has been very successful. Since we primarily deal with small to medium-sized businesses who have no in-office IT department, we often find ourselves supporting the websites as well.

Magento has allowed us to build sophisticated and feature-rich stores for clients who are looking to sell their product online. It is easy to set up, easy to maintain and reasonably easy to navigate.
  • Magento makes it easy to build out sophisticated pricing options as our clients usually have a complicated pricing structure.
  • For the most part, setting up Magento is easy and straightforward. It's a lot easier than the old days of custom coding.
  • The newly designed UI is so much easier to use. With the old design, we found it difficult to navigate and so did our clients. The newly designed UI is a huge improvement.
  • I am not a big fan of the extensions directory and all of the paid upgrades. There are some basic features that I feel should be included but you have to pay for. By comparison, WooCommerce is better in that regard.
My organization has been using Magento for many years now, and it is by far one of the best e-commerce platforms that we have used. That's not to say that it doesn't have its drawbacks, but it is the best use for any large-scale or enterprise e-commerce solutions. For the most part, I would say that we recommend Magento to our clients when they are looking to build a website that anticipates more than 3000 orders a month. Anything less than that we are going to recommend a platform like WooCommerce or Shopify.

Right off the bat one of the immediate drawbacks is that the extension library seems limited when compared to other platforms like WooCommerce. On top of that most, the extensions that you do one include some form of charge. Whereas other platforms seem to offer free solutions Magento always seems to come with some level of payment.
Read Max J. Jennings's full review
No photo available
March 28, 2018

Magento Open Source Review: "Powerful ecommerce solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento Community Edition as our solution for e-commerce retailing.
  • Compared to other solutions, Magento has far more control over exact nuances of e-commerce such as discounting, customer segmentation, and multi-site control.
  • Magento as a whole is reliable and can be made very fast thanks to built-in fullpage caching on Magento 2.
  • Magento is scalable and can handle huge traffic, or it can be built for a small site.
  • Small bugs and issues affecting performance could be handled more quickly, but the rate of bug fixes and improvements is much better now than it used to be!
  • The built-in image lightbox uses an extension that is no longer supported. This could be improved.
  • Extensions from "certified developers" are often buggy or extremely unreliable. A better certification process for third-party extensions could save a lot of time and stress for users.
Magento is well-suited for any full-fledged retail store. I would recommend a simpler solution for anyone seeking an e-commerce presence for just a few products (Shopify, etc).
Read this authenticated review
Matt Railey profile photo
September 19, 2017

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento is a robust but complex e-commerce solution"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented Magento CE as the e-commerce management solution for clients.
  • Comes with APIs built-in
  • Lots of extensibility and customizability
  • Can handle a very large product catalog
  • Magento is complicated to use and has a high learning curve from a management user point of view.
  • We found it difficult to upgrade when newer releases came out.
  • The front-end templating system seems needlessly obtuse and is difficult to develop. Smaller front-end elements are individual files and layouts are controlled through XML files.
It is definitely not a product for a small team looking for minimal hands-on development time. However, if you do have time/budget for a team of developers to develop and maintain a Magento storefront, then it gives you a lot of flexibility and customizability in terms of customer user experience.
Read Matt Railey's full review
Joe Dingley profile photo
July 18, 2017

Magento Open Source: "Magento Community Edition Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento as our eCommerce platform across our 4 sites. It is mostly used by the eCommerce team directly, however, we have trained brick and mortar employees to use simple functions custom made specifically for them to help with order fulfillment.
  • Easy WYSIWYG editor
  • Compatible with hundreds of platforms
  • Pre-built extensions
  • Security patching causes long term development downtime
  • Not the quickest platform
Great for eCommerce retailers, allows room for massive growth without need to switch platforms. Not appropriate for tiny catalogue, a lot to learn if managing only few products. Simpler solutions would be advisable.
Read Joe Dingley's full review
Nick Jastrebski profile photo
April 13, 2017

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento Community Edition - a Great Place to Start and Grow Online Sales"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magento is the primary CMS used for e-commerce across the market for good reason. It's open source and built specifically for e-commerce, and the best part of this CMS is it's FREE! It's not as popular a CMS as WordPress, but WordPress isn't built specifically for e-commerce and is well know for it's security issues. It's a great place to start, and can scale with your business as you grow. The benefits of being able to start out for free and grow your online business are difficult to beat.
  • As stated before, it's open source and it's free.
  • Magento CE is scalable as you continue to grow your online business.
  • It is high performance, and highly scalable.
  • A key benefit to being open source is that there's a large community and plenty of developer support.
  • If you have a large number of products, performance will degrade continually. 10-20 products is no problem but 20,000 or more and there's a noticeable slowdown.
  • Your site will not load quickly with community edition.
  • It's difficult to roll back changes if you make a modification by mistake. Backup/restore options are not great with CE.
If you're looking to get your e-commerce site off the ground Magento CE is a great place to start. It's highly flexible and supports all different kinds of devices for end users. It's multi-tenant so with one backend, several different sites can be setup within it. Lastly, it's very easy to integrate Magento with 3rd party tools.
Read Nick Jastrebski's full review
Chris Coppenbarger profile photo
March 30, 2017

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento CE provides the out of the box functionality for your online retail presence"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement and provide support for Magento Community Edition for most of our clients. Most of our clients are needing a platform that offers products to buy and Magento meets those needs very well. It has a base setup from which you can build off of with modules and custom theming to provide the experience the clients need to present to their customers.
  • Out of the box product display allows for you to quickly get your products shown to the consumers
  • Customizable product options allow for a wide variety of selection of products
  • Customizable payment and shipping options allow for many different use-case scenarios for the consumer.
  • It is still using a lot of xml for it's configuration which can make things complicated.
  • Updating has gotten better, but very specific requirements make it difficult at times.
  • Very specific requirements for installing also make it difficult.
Magento Community Edition is very well suited for B2C/B2B sales of consumer and business products. It allows for the out of the box configuration of a wide variety of products. It is not well-suited for a simple website or a simple content management system. It is a content management system, but mostly for products to sell.
Read Chris Coppenbarger's full review
Brian Keary profile photo
March 29, 2017

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento CE is a cost effective solution for your E-Commerce website."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web developer, I use Magento CE for some of my clients. We build them a website using the CMS system. It is a very efficient system as it helps our clients quickly and cheaply get their product/service out there.
  • It is a great solution for mid to large sized E-Commerce companies who want to quickly get their product to market
  • It's cost effective as there are a number of extensions available extending the capabilities of the system.
  • The websites created using Magento CE are responsive and ready to set up. Just upload a few products and modify some colors and you're good to go.
  • One feature of Magento CE that I feel needs improvement is with the structure of the system. Many of the important SEO factors like minifying the CSS files don't work without causing some issues on the site. It does take someone skilled to get a site working properly. It's not built for the novice in mind.
Magento is very efficient CMS system, that is cost effective and viable for almost any type of E-Commerce business.
Read Brian Keary's full review
Bret Williams profile photo
September 25, 2014

Magento Open Source Review: "Magento CE Solves SMB E-commerce Needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magento CE for our www.MageRevolution.com website. We also have done many installations for clients. Magento CE allows us to build robust, flexible, enterprise level e-commerce solutions are a much more affordable level than many comparable systems. We have clients with as many as 90,000 sku's and, if installed and tuned properly, Magento is capable of providing a rich shopping experience. In addition, there are so many resources available that a Magento store owner won't feel isolated or restricted by their developer or platform.
  • Flexibility to add or enhance functionality as needed.
  • Great assortment of inexpensive add-ons and designs, although care should be taken to insure compatibility and use.
  • Low cost of entry relative to other robust systems.
  • Despite its popularity, successful implementation requires not only an in-depth experience with Magento, but true knowledge of how e-commerce works. It is a complex platform with poor, Magento-provided documentation.
  • Many — you could almost say "most" — of the add-ons created for Magento are not of great quality. There are plenty that are, but you have to be very careful.
  • Designers may feel overwhelmed by the complex template structure.
Magento is really for those who have outgrown simpler systems like Shopify or Big Commerce, or who need more complex integrations with ERP, distribution and other systems. If a business is in the $1,000,000 - $100,000,000 sales range, Magento is probably a great choice. Costs of basic implementations run around $10,000 to start.
Read Bret Williams's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Product catalog & listings (15)
8.5
Product management (15)
7.9
Bulk product upload (15)
7.3
Branding (14)
7.3
Mobile storefront (15)
7.8
Product variations (14)
8.4
Website integration (15)
8.0
Visual customization (14)
6.9
CMS (15)
6.5
Abandoned cart recovery (12)
6.2
Checkout user experience (15)
7.8
eCommerce security (14)
8.2
Promotions & discounts (15)
8.9
Personalized recommendations (13)
6.2
SEO (15)
7.0
Multi-site management (13)
8.8
Order processing (14)
8.9
Inventory management (15)
8.2
Shipping (13)
7.8
Custom functionality (14)
8.2

About Magento Open Source

Magento is an open-source ecommerce content management solution originally developed by Varien Inc and presently owned by eBay. The Magento Open Source version (formerly known as Community Edition) is for developers and tech-savvy merchants that is available as a free download, and is supported with free upgrades from the Magento Community. Because it is free and open-source, users will enjoy the ability to alter the code. This version still presents a fully capable eCommerce presence with multiple, mobile-accessible sites, SEO optimization, targeted promotions, the ability to alter themes and and change the layout, taxes and shipping management, and more.
Categories:  Digital Experience,  Ecommerce

Magento Open Source Integrations

Magento Open Source Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No