Magnolia

Magnolia

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.0 out of 100
Top Rated
Magnolia

Overview

Recent Reviews

Magnolia Interview

9 out of 10
January 11, 2022
Currently, I develop web pages with Magnolia. The problems that we find mainly are due to the way of storing magnolia since it constantly …
Continue reading

Magnolia, That Great Unknown

7 out of 10
January 10, 2022
Development of content in Magnolia, such as components, content-apps, pages, etc. with headcounts. [In my experience,] the problem that we …
Continue reading

A Feature-Packed DCX Solution!

10 out of 10
November 17, 2021
I have been using Magnolia for a little more than 3 years. Magnolia is used company-wide. One of the biggest reasons for us using Magnolia …
Continue reading

Magnolia is a Really Nice CMS.

9 out of 10
October 02, 2021
Proximus is using Magnolia CMS for 3 different projects. I am working on all of them. Coordination with businesses and informing them that …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021

Popular Features

View all 16 features

Role-based user permissions (56)

9.3
93%

Publishing workflow (59)

8.8
88%

Page templates (58)

8.6
86%

Admin section (56)

8.1
81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Magnolia, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Magnolia?

Founded in 1997 with a vision to create the first truly open content management system, Magnolia is presented as the fastest way to launch digital experiences. With a mission to help clients move fast and stay flexible, and boasting users among brands like Atlassian and The New York…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.magnolia…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

7 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Contentful?

Contentful is a cloud based CMS solution that provides the ability to manage content across multiple platforms.The editing interface allows for managing content interactively and provides developers the ability to deliver the content with the programming language and template framework of their…

What is Umbraco CMS?

Umbraco CMS is an Open Source ASP.NET CMS boasting over 500,000 active installs worldwide. The source code is free and available under the MIT License, so it can be downloaded for free. Umbraco is based on C#, JavaScript, and Razor with MVC and Visual Studio supported. The CMS is designed to…

Features Scorecard

Security

9.3
93%

Platform & Infrastructure

8.7
87%

Web Content Creation

8.3
83%

Web Content Management

8.7
87%

Product Details

What is Magnolia?

Founded in 1997 with a vision to create the first truly open content management system, Magnolia is presented as the fastest way to launch digital experiences.

With a mission to help clients move fast and stay flexible, and boasting users among brands like Atlassian and The New York Times, the vendor states a new wave of companies in industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications have made Magnolia their DXP of choice to move fast, using the DXP's enterprise power and headless agility to help them stay ahead.

From humble beginnings in Basel, Magnolia's footprint is now global with offices on five continents and more than 200 certified Magnolia Partners strategically located around the world.

Magnolia Features

Web Content Creation Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Code quality / cleanliness
  • Supported: Content versioning
  • Supported: Admin section
  • Supported: Page templates
  • Supported: Mobile optimization / responsive design
  • Supported: Publishing workflow
  • Supported: Form generator
  • Supported: Content scheduling

Web Content Management Features

  • Supported: Internal content search
  • Supported: Content taxonomy
  • Supported: SEO support
  • Supported: Browser compatibility
  • Supported: Bulk management
  • Supported: Page caching
  • Supported: Availability / breadth of extensions
  • Supported: Built-in e-commerce / shopping cart
  • Supported: E-commerce / shopping cart extension
  • Supported: Community / comment management
  • Supported: Import / export
  • Supported: Website analytics

Platform & Infrastructure Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Internationalization / multi-language

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: User-level audit trail
  • Supported: Version history
  • Supported: Simple roll-back capabilities

CMS programming language or framework Features

  • Supported: Java

Magnolia Screenshots

Content hub: Curate rich content pools ready to be reused across experiences.Omnichannel delivery: Deliver to traditional web pages, interactive apps, web-to-print, digital signage - any touchpoint.Global search: It instantly brings the relevant content, no matter where it lives.Customer experience: Bring together content and audiovisual digital assets to form more compelling digital experiences.Metrics in context: Magnolia's native analytics integration framework lets you take advantage of data directly in the authoring UI, coupled to content.

Magnolia Videos

See the strengths of Magnolia in 100 seconds.
See how you can manage content in Magnolia efficiently
Magnolia headless with no limits
Introducing the Magnolia Visual SPA Editor
Magnolia - Built for speed

Magnolia Downloadables

Magnolia Integrations

Magnolia Competitors

Magnolia Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)57%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)33%

Magnolia Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Magnolia's best feature?

Reviewers rate Role-based user permissions and Form generator and Content taxonomy highest, with a score of 9.3.

Who uses Magnolia?

The most common users of Magnolia are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (95)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 64)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Manuel Alejandro Lupión Jiménez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently working on a project where we make use of magnolia for the creation of an airline website in which magnolia manages all the content of this. This content is consumed in two ways. On the one hand via headless from other front platforms, and on the other from the pages generated within the content manager.
  • Multisite management
  • Page translation module
  • API Rest
  • Message and workflow management
  • Improve performance on heavily loaded contentApps
  • Generation of contentApps with different nodetypes
I think that magnolia is prepared for the generation of webs were to show static content managed directly by the cms itself. Due to the internal management that JCR does, I think that magnolia's performance should be improved when the data that is retrieved from the Rest api is very heavy, for example, a content app in which more than 500,000 records are stored.
The user interface is fully customizable, allowing the different content Apps to be grouped into sections, which can be given different roles for different types of users. Visually it is easy to use and easy to find the different functionalities that cms provide. The approval flow is simple and effective, allowing to validate the content that is going to be published on the web. Pages edition through components is easy to use and customize.
what I like the most about magnolia is the customization capacity it has in every way. For example, at the template level, there are many different components that I have implemented with a multitude of customizable fields, for example rendering the component on different platforms. The possibility of creating custom traits that, for example, detect if the user is logged in or not if they have certain permission ... On the other hand, one of the things I like the most about magnolia is the live copy module, which allows you to manage different sites in a very easy way.
January 12, 2022

Magnolia is cool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magnolia in a project developed for an airline. Specifically, it is used to host the website and all its related content (images, files, and other contents in content apps developed specifically for this) and to host content that we serve headless that is consumed by other source platforms.
  • Api Rest
  • Page translation
  • Multisite management
  • Management of informative messages to the user
  • Improve performance on heavily loaded content apps
  • Information and control of the livecopy actions carried out
I think that Magnolia is especially well trained to generate and manage multisite web pages and all their content. Regarding the scenario in which magnolia is less appropriate, I think it is directly related to the management of large volumes of content in the same content apps. Especially when sharing these contents via api rest.
I think that Magnolia has a very positive character and is that it is quite intuitive when used by users. For example, dividing content apps into groups makes it easier to use and the possibility of enabling or disabling actions based on the roles of the users generates a better handling of the application and a lower possibility of errors.
I love the way to manage multisite content through live copy. Only by creating a page for one site can I have an exact replica on the other sites. This allows me a very fluid content update. At the same time, it is very versatile and I can generate specific content for another site and block it from being overwritten.
January 11, 2022

Magnolia Interview

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, I develop web pages with Magnolia. The problems that we find mainly are due to the way of storing magnolia since it constantly exceeds disk space constantly. However, the rest is satisfactory.
  • Functional development in Magnolia
  • Technical development in Magnolia
  • Maintenance at Magnolia
  • the interface
  • The usability in creating folders and pages
  • Information storage
It adapts perfectly to the creation of any web page, whether it be e-commerce, landings, etc.
The interface is very intuitive, except in some cases where you have to click too many times to perform certain actions.
Content API: Simple to include in developments, content creation interface: very intuitive, content preview: very useful for inexperienced editors, customization: Very easy to add all the customizations you want, analysis: a bit slow conflict analysis
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Development of content in Magnolia, such as components, content-apps, pages, etc. with headcounts. [In my experience,] the problem that we find at a technical level is the slowness of Magnolia when there is a heavy load of nodes in [the] workspaces. The speed is slow when it comes to solving problems, [like] when we open tickets in Magnolia. Additionally, Magnolia 6 has removed proper functionality from Magnolia 5.
  • Shows page content
  • Easy development
  • Intuitive
  • Content loading times
  • Documentation in the absence of examples
  • Content that applies [across] different types of nodes (Example: 2 types of nodes within a content app)
Magnolia is put to good use [when] creating a basic website with limited content. It is very easy for both the developer and the customer to contribute content. [In my opinion,] the part [that needs improvement] is in the documentation. Content and examples are missing [when trying to] develop certain properties. [In my opinion, the] Magnolia modules should be explained better in the documentation. In the interface, [I find that] it is difficult to move elements and nodes sometimes. [I also believe that] content loading is sometimes very slow when there are more nodes on the account.
At the user level, it is a rewarding and intuitive experience when it comes to creating websites, components, and content within content applications. Although, [in my opinion,] there is [a] slowness when it comes to going through the workflow when publishing. To add permissions at the administrator level (going through a PM role) is not very intuitive and a bit messy to give permissions to [other] roles and users.
[The] content API development is effective, but, [in my opinion,] more documentation is needed. Magnolia's interface is very intuitive and easy to use. It is easy to implement new modules and modify their settings.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company where I work has been a Magnolia partner for almost a decade. I started working with the product more than 5 years ago and since then I have been involved in many different types of projects, covering customers in areas such as tourism, aviation, and public administration. My work with Magnolia consists of developing the functionality needed by each of these customers, doing version migrations, and solving the problems that we encounter.
  • Ease of page setup for user editors
  • Personalization of content based on the characteristics of the visiting user
  • Open source makes developers' lives easier
  • Intuitive interface
  • Use of JCR limits the amount of content that can be handled efficiently.
  • The latest version has made it more complicated to customize content apps than in previous versions.
  • It has a steep learning curve for new developers.
Magnolia is well suited for cases where Magnolia is going to be used to make web pages where an editor needs to make changes or edit the content on certain pages. In cases where you have a small volume of content and want to customize the content based on user characteristics. Also if you want to use it as headless. Magnolia does not fit when you want to use the CMS as a back-office or to manage a large amount of content that needs to be referenced as you would in a relational database. It is not suitable for content that is related to other content and has different types of content as children.
Magnolia makes it easy to use for content editors, everything is focused on making it easy to use for this type of user. However, the learning curve can be steep and the concept of publishing can be complicated at first for certain types of users. As for the administrator or developer user, I see it as more complicated and the documentation could be improved.
The best features of magnolia are the possibility of customizing pages, both through fully customizable components and through the use of the customization module and its traits. The possibility of creating actions and commands to be used by end-users, and the ability to customize some of its features to suit customer needs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build solutions based on Magnolia for our customer's needs. These needs include intranets, web pages, eCommerce, etc. Also, our customers come from a wide range of industries, such as banks, wholesalers, or [travel] companies.
  • API Rest calls
  • Organising contents
  • Usability by non-technical people
  • User interface
  • Administration site performance
  • More consistency when indicating if a content is published or not
Magnolia is well suited for almost every scenario you can [imagine]. It is less appropriate for very basic web pages where other tools like WordPress are more specialized.
Intuitive and user-friendly interface. Pretty easy to create new page templates and components for your pages.
Content Apps, personalization, Cookies Apps together with Marketing Tags App, how to implement new components...
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
our [development] team develops a headless solution for a tourism-sector Spanish company. We provide many endpoints for a front-end team that use them to consume with angular front end framework as front end solution and also we provide an interface in admin central magnolia's interface for a better [business usage].
  • fast data search
  • fast assets provide
  • huge structural data
  • UX
  • form interface ussage and composition
  • logotipe
Magnolia is well suited to use in huge content sites containers like Amazon, Netflix, or something like that. As well as is a very good solution for e-commerce, research solutions, and companies with huge data volume to use inside their sites. Also, it provides a very high secured solution as it's providing content safety mode with author-public instances.
because it's a nice and easy-to-use solution. It's a very useful tool indeed and the workflow it's very intuitive. Java-based it's the best option for safety side use in my opinion and the architecture implemented it's a nice safety side solution to protect content and data storage.
The authoring interface it's very nice and it has a user experience I have never seen before. Personalization's the strongest point of value and analytics too. Content APIs maybe be the weakest point I guess, because usually, we make our own endpoint solution. Content previewing is very good by using Vaadin, it's nice.
January 10, 2022

Magnolia review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build custom Magnolia applications for our clients, as Magnolia CMS has the following capabilities our clients need: Editing and viewing instances separation: Allowing publisher users to preview/modify content before public users Possibility of implementing custom workflows Possibility of having more than one public instance in order to achieve high availability Headless capacities Centralize the different content types in custom Magnolia Content Apps Possibility of serving different pages/components depending on the language of the user or region from which it connects
  • Custom workflows
  • Headless capabilities
  • Different Author / Public instances
  • Traits
  • Multi-site capabilities
  • Publishing mechanism is slow if the number of elements to be published is high
  • Allows only one content type per content app in the newest versions
  • Common problems with Lucene indexes
Magnolia is perfect for Building simple landing pages Building complex websites Providing a simple way to allow the marketing users to manage the information that will be displayed in the public pages Allowing different users (With different groups and roles) to edit the content at the same time, On the other hand, Magnolia is not so well-suited to, for example, build Intranets, since there are specific products for this case.
Clean layout, apps organized in groups for better understanding, ability to edit content in one instance and visualize it in a different one, ability to have custom publishing workflows, ability to connect to Magnolia using the own organization's active directory, possibility of creating variations of pages/components at the click of a button
Magnolia REST Module: Allow us to use Magnolia as a headless system, providing the content in JSON format to different mobile/web apps Author / Public separation: It allows the users to manage the content in an instance which is not visible for end-users and therefore validate it before publishing DAM Module / Image variations: It reduces the overall size of the document, making it faster to load
David Caviedes Márquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are official partners of Magnolia, so we implemented Magnolia DXP in multiple customers with multiple use cases: e-commerce webs, industry services, tourism operators, airline companies, government, etc. Each of these use cases is different, with different needs, but, in the end, Magnolia facilitates the state of the art on customer business, and plays as a central platform for digital strategy
  • Headless approach
  • Easy to use (minimum learning curve)
  • Reduced time-to-market
  • DXP capabilities
  • Open source
  • Documentation
  • Support
  • Modular architecture
  • e-commerce capabilities
  • Cloud services
  • New major versions upgrade process
Magnolia adapts well to various types of scenarios, thanks to its fast time-to-market, agnostic front-end, and DXP capabilities. Some examples of well-suited scenarios could be: Company services Thanks to its content app approach, it is easy to model different types of contents, like services, and thanks to front-end capabilities, it is [easier] to expose these content to end-users Aviation, transport Retail
Magnolia, as a DXP platform, has multiple capabilities that make it easy for users to manage the platform, for example, WYSIWYG Editors are very easy to use because you can test it in development time how end-users will see the web pages Mobile capabilities Agnostic front-end development, makes visualization work perfectly across different channels
Some of my favorite Magnolia features are: Editor capabilities REST API Default REST API permits multiple headless approaches and facilitates communication with third-party platforms Content management Easy way to manage contents, WYSIWYG editors, SPA editors, etc Personalization Personalization tools helps to adapt content to particular situations, like campaigns, types of users, etc Open source Its open-source philosophy helps to adapt Magnolia platform to customer needs in an easy way
Jonas Lesy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By working together with Magnolia CMS, our company manages to deliver some of the best content management experiences for our customers. They continue to shape the composable DXP world as we know it today. We can seamlessly integrate many of the different external tools our customers have with Magnolia CMS without too much effort. From managing assets in external DAMs to displaying product information retrieved from already-owned PIMs, centralization is key. They manage to allow you to optimize and boost the reusability of any type of content a customer may have. Their recently released PaaS solution also offers a lot of flexibility and we're happy to be one of the first teams to work with/on it.
  • Customer support
  • Communication
  • Innovation
  • Documentation
  • Training
  • A few more options for image manipulation in their DAM would be nice.
Magnolia is well suited when you have a lot of different types of content. From images to products, from blog articles to FAQ sections, Magnolia's app system allows you to manage them in a very structured way. If you're looking for a DAM management tool, Magnolia might not be what suits you best. However, you could use an external DAM system (which has more asset-specific features) and connect it with Magnolia.
Their user interface is very nice and user-friendly. Since the release of Magnolia 6.0, their UI is on another level. Everything is easy to find by using their find bar. Even development-wise, by being open-source out-of-the-box, code can easily be adapted to implement the feature you just can't seem to create yourself.
The way Magnolia creates interaction through APIs is amazing. There's no system that can't be connected, from SSO to an external email application. Since 6.0, the user interface [has truly been] amazing. It's super intuitive and easy to use for people who are not tech-savvy at all. The out-of-the-box components and modules get you a long way and allow developers to provide customers with a mix of both basic components as well as fleshed out tools, without having to write a single line of code. These components can also be used as a base to create more niche, advanced features.
Kelvin Gregory | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia has been an excellent content-easy marketing software that can be used by any user and its dual deployment is effective. The content publishing using Magnolia is extremely great, helpful with electronic signatures, and the Magnolia Mobile accessibility is effective. The cloud capabilities offered by the system for workflow configuration are profitable.
  • Perfect for easy audio file management.
  • Documentation through Magnolia is nice.
  • Easy marketing content management with Magnolia.
  • The digital asset provides easy management.
  • The Magnolia cloud setting is confusing.
  • Data migration through cloud deployment is not easy for any operator.
  • For Magnolia to perform well, you will need a stable computer machine in my opinion.
I recommend Magnolia as a perfect and effective cloud marketing system that can effectively manage multiple business information and creation of productive marketing content. Magnolia has easy features that any user can easily adapt to how they work. Also, its cloud services quality is on top and even the content searching tools are very powerful.
An easy and accessible dashboard for even new users to understand Magnolia's capabilities without much struggling. Magnolia, when deployed on cloud services, is effective on easy data migration and the data analytics that the user can access using Magnolia is productive. The publishing of marketing content is a very easy operation.
Authoring tools and the ability to view marketing content in a relevant manner are excellent and the data analytics tools are very flexible with great performance. Magnolia interface is very clean and professionally designed with effective features accessibility by the users and the tools are also responsive to the user's commands.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Magnolia for a little more than 3 years. Magnolia is used company-wide. One of the biggest reasons for us using Magnolia is the user-friendly interface and unlimited options to customize it as per our requirements. There are multiple project and report templates that one can choose to start with.
  • It's easy to use and custom reports can be generated.
  • Once the initial configuration is done, anyone without technical knowledge can manage the digital content.
  • Search Engine Optimization can be done with extra filters configured from within the main console.
  • The initial setup does take a bit of time to complete.
All tools to develop applications in the Digital Experience Module are built-in and a developer does not need to export or import project files from VisualStudio or Java. The content management experience is wonderful since some APIs are already available that can be used to perform that function. Depending on the requirement, Magnolia can be hosted on the cloud or on-premises as well.
Magnolia provides both regular end-users and developers the tools to develop digital content easily. Once a developer builds tools and makes them available in Magnolia, the product specialists or the marketing team can use those tools by simply dragging and dropping them to preview website changes. This gives more control and options for all types of users.
The different connectors like the analytics connectors make everything very easy. Reports can be viewed on dashboards and the required information can be automatically shared with respective audiences as and when it is generated. SSO is another feature that is great and lets only authorized users access the Magnolia system.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use Magnolia primarily to manage digital content. All our e-commerce and digital platforms have Magnolia as the backbone. It's easy to get all the requirements and modification requests into one central dashboard and then make changes to the respective digital spaces. Magnolia also works as a Sandbox environment for extensive testing before the modification to the website has been deployed.
  • Interfaces and dashboards are easily customizable.
  • Multiple External Plugins can be easily integrated.
  • After-sales support is phenomenal.
  • I think some detailed descriptions of the features and functionalities would be good.
It is one of the best solutions to use in an enterprise-level Web App and Web Service development environment. There are ready-made templates available that a developer can tweak to save time during massive deployments. Reporting is also fairly straightforward and can be configured quickly. In case application support is required, the Technical Experts are just a call away.
As mentioned earlier, the user interface is very well designed and third-party plugins developed on VisualStudio and RubyonRails can be integrated with a few clicks of a button.
One of the best features that I like is content tags. When we deal with bulk web application modification, having tags to quickly jump to relevant sections of a project is important. Magnolia also has everything configured to adhere to GRPR regulations. This helps us be compliant whenever there is an audit. All user roles can be defined at any stage of the project.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, [we] create a lot of content and archive and manage data, which is a crucial part of the job. With Magnolia, we have been able to consolidate everything and our content has been managed more professionally and effectively [than] ever before. Currently, we have implemented Magnolia in our Finance and IT departments and we [are] looking into implementing it company-wide. For us, Magnolia has been a helping hand in securing and managing confidential and valuable data. I can proudly say that over the past year, we have been able to cater to all our departmental digital requirements, which [have,] ultimately, resulted in [the] effective and financially sound health of the company.
  • The compatibility to fit any site
  • Strong backup
  • User-friendliness at its best
  • Notifications of all kinds
  • Content compatibility
  • Customer management and engagement
  • Easier and smoother migration
  • Admin authority and level of clearance
  • Pricing
Magnolia best fits with bigger companies who can afford it and also someone who needs additional hands for content compilation and management. If you are looking for something cheap and trendy, Magnolia might not be an option for you. This is the next level of efficiency, but it comes with a price.
Magnolia is an amazing tool for content, especially when it comes to [the] web. However, to me [it is an] 8 out of 10, almost the best. There [are] some other services we have used which do the same job, but way out of our budget so for this reason and the value for money, I guess, Magnolia does it all.
The security with Magnolia is next level. The ability to fit Magnolia on any site makes it even more enchanting. The overall experience of using Magnolia has been phenomenal. It has been doing great for us and especially the pre-built connectors, which expand as your business grows, so hats off.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proximus is using Magnolia CMS for 3 different projects. I am working on all of them. Coordination with businesses and informing them that sometimes their ideas are not feasible.
  • Update content quickly
  • Introduction of the new site
  • Template engine (FreeMarker easy to use)
  • Split content into workspaces
  • Publishing
  • Move content from one environment to another
Content can be published in a few minutes. Website workspace is the most important and the communication between other workspaces is easy. In the worst case, publishing may fail due to locked nodes.
I [have used] Magnolia for 4 years and it is easy to use it.
Personalization with audience traits, etc. is perfect. Content apps are good.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia is used across different business departments (3 Magnolia systems supporting several portal sites). The main business problem being addressed is to split different authoring/editing activities into multiple teams. There is heavy usage of light modules so many separate frontend teams can focus on creating frontend apps on top of Magnolia systems.
  • Easy to start authoring (simplicity during editing pages/ components) as the UX is straightforward for newcomers.
  • Flexibility by proving light modules that helps front-end developers work independently compared to backend/Java modules' developers.
  • The personalization mechanism is easy to use (the variants/traits logic is really simple to familiarize yourself with).
  • The multiple site mechanism is easy to set up (for EE version) even for non-developers.
  • YAML configuration flexibility is easy to change on the fly (for developers).
  • There is a need for out of the box ready & reusable components (customizable components, e.g. banners).
  • Resource (js) loading mechanism (resources can be added at multiple levels: e.g. pages, components, files, etc.) is very hard to manage sometimes in real projects.
  • The drag 'n drop of components in UI author is not supported.
  • Documentation needs a lot of improvement, especially for migration to the newest version (Magnolia 6.2).
  • It would be nice to add integrations with other CMS systems (e.g. Adobe AEM, Hybris, etc.) or other systems in general.
  • I would appreciate more dynamic renditions for images/assets (e.g. now there are only predefined dimensions - thumbnails/medium, etc.).
  • I would appreciate improved functionality for publishing & unpublishing during a specific date & time.
Well suited for Systems with big website content & multiple sites to manage (if set up properly - performance is very good), many different teams/users that are authoring different sites/business areas, and custom content apps for simple data units (and rest entities). Less appropriate for: Systems maintaining more complex data structures (including big data etc.) and integrations with other systems (e.g. commerce) when other CMS products include ready solutions.
The usability of the system is pretty good, especially for editors. There is some lack of documentation, especially for developers for the newer Magnolia system (6.2).
REST Content API: Easy to achieve any crud actions. Groovy scripting mechanism: Easy to create scripts for manipulating content, etc. that is very helpful during content migrations. Content authoring interface: Simple to use/publish content. Personalization/trait mechanism: Easy to add page/component variants and manage content for different perso experiences.
Yes
The release was smooth during deployment. However, lots of issues were found during analysis and real implementation. Sometimes, documentation was lacking for features or migration guidelines from Magnolia 5.7 to 6.2.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia is being used by us as our leading CSM platform and we were able to manage our diversified content over the web and run targeted campaigns towards potential customers using this wonderful platform. It is easy to customize and manage multiple web pages and edit designs and contents while using Magnolia as CSM. It also helps to monitor traffic on your web contents and campaigns and allows you to integrate multiple tools and plugins, like Google Analytics, for analyzing the overall status of the campaign within no time. The initial setup is not straightforward for the new users, but once the CSM is set up and content is aligned, it is super easy for routine usage and has a very understandable platform to get detailed analytics and use them for your content management and data enriching. We have implemented this tool in a few key departments of the organizations, which are directly or indirectly involved with the marketing strategies.
  • It helps to create and manage multiple web pages at a time and content management is very easy.
  • We can easily integrate third-party plugins and tools to get detailed analytics of web data and content.
  • The CSM platform tool is user-friendly and platform tabs are easy to handle and understand.
  • The automated management and pre-built templates are great.
  • Initial loading time is much more than it should be.
  • Sometimes, it is hard to understand the tools and plugins integration processes through codes for new users.
Magnolia has great functions and abilities to handle multiple web pages and campaign contents at once and large contents can be easily managed and edited through this multifunctional tool. There is everything available within this tool to run successful campaigns and web pages for the organizations over the web in a synchronized manner. I would recommend it to any organization that is looking for an effective and detailed CSM platform.
Magnolia has multiple functions and extensions within its CSM platform and there are a lot of designs and templates available for the users, which makes it easy for the users to manage and edit their web content. Overall, usability is easy and great for people with some knowledge about the platform, but it is a little bit hard to understand multiple tools for the starters.
My favorite features in Magnolia are its ability to integrate multiple tools and plugins without much effort and easy personalization of the web pages and contents through a few clicks across multiple content destinations. The analytics part through Google Analytics integration is another wonderful feature in the Magnolia CSM as it has helped us a lot to monitor and manage traffic over the web pages and plays a vital role in our business decisions accordingly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To begin with, Magnolia is not used in whole of our company or other departments. I am a software/web application developer. Given that I had the decision making power over what tool we should use for CMS and SEO management for a website, I went with Magnolia for our use case.
  • SEO management is quite automated and powerful. I lacked knowledge of SEO as a backend developer but the tool made my life much easier.
  • The headless CMS is awesome. It allowed me to use Magnolia as a central data warehouse for my web app.
  • Analytics and traffic monitoring offers great way to research which components are gaining traction a and what needs to be improved.
  • It also has payment systems built in. I did not use it but it shows how complete of a software suite it is.
  • Feature deprecation: There have been cases where some of the features I used were gone or changed in newer releases. This made updating website code mandatory and hence increasing the cost.
  • Difficult for beginners. Especially not from technical background.
For someone who wants to build websites quickly, targeting ecommerce, newsletters, CRM, SEO then Magnolia can be one of the best options. For developers alike, the tool is really well suited since it has API to integrate Magnolia functionalities in web apps. For example, integrating data coming from CMS into something like a Reactjs application is totally possible.
I would categorize usability into three aspects : Features, Learning Curve and Community Support.
  • Features: As mentioned before, it is a complete suite for lightening fast web development and post development management and marketing.
  • Learning Curve: Again, it is a bit difficult to learn but not for all of course. As a developer, it was actually easier for me.
  • Community Support: It seems to have fairly decent community support and documentation.








Analytics, SEO management and Content APIs are the stuff I used. These are topics I am hesitant or lazy to work on as a developer (it is repetitive) .I love the fact that all these features integrated flawlessly into my application and the performance was good enough from user's perspective.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company uses Magnolia for the purposes of developing an e-commerce platform, which accepts universal cash-out out cart, for swift and global transaction. Furthermore, Magnolia assist in developing media content like product catalog and web page information, which provides solid and first hand information to the audience we serve. The CMS also provides us with ready developed page templates, which allows us develop our web content. Nonetheless, the product is customizable, and hence, efficient for us to develop our templates. Finally, Magnolia has a multilingual support, hence, giving us freedom of hosting the web sites in different space/areas.
  • Magnolia is sufficiently configurable/flexible, allowing us deploy our plugins and content.
  • Besides, Magnolia supports numerous language, giving us the global presence.
  • The substantial and powerful editing approaches from the application advances our companies communications process.
  • Lastly, through e-commerce support, the company obtains a worldwide competitive edge.
  • The process of designing some web page content requires an expertise in ICT field.
  • Besides, the learning process of Magnolia is hectic and time consuming.
  • Lastly, the problem of uploading and publishing files that are enormous/large is felt from Magnolia.
For a customizable and rational program that concentrates with digital media sharing and content upload on web sites, Magnolia is a fulfilling app. More so, through blogging, ad management, and catalogs, the process of marketing is enhanced. Magnolia is the application that defeats the barriers of languages, as it is multilingual, and hence, globally viable and functional. The integration with external agencies, social networks, managing of digital presence and audiences, among others makes Magnolia recommendable.
Magnolia portrays the right reputation of a company, as it manages our brand through marketing, development and designing of informative websites, and social site integrations. The transformation of a business from traditional operational approach to the e-commerce system also affirms that the program is relevant and usable. Further, the external integrations and navigation assures the effective nature of the program, to both the subscribers, and the clients (existing ones and prospects).
Page landing is a constructive feature that Magnolia contains, as this helps the company come up with a working plan of inviting audiences through event planning, which is a form of making our brand known. Furthermore, Magnolia accepts plugins, as it is a customizable program, and adding themes or images is a straightforward process. The program has automated the analytical processes, which are vital in discovering the marketing space that our brand lies. Magnolia has involved SEO concept, which is digital, and vibrant in brand management and advanced marketing.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magnolia as a digital content manager adapted to the creation of eCommerce and our intranet. This CMS has numerous options for creating product catalogs and other advanced tools, such as pricing and discounts. It also offers us the possibility to choose default templates or create our own templates. It has numerous options to customize the website by adding code. It may not be a well-known content manager, but it is one of the best for creating scalable web pages with a certain degree of complexity. For example, we often use it to create intranet websites. It has very interesting functions, such as multi-language support or the possibility of hosting numerous websites from the same installation.
  • Includes intuitive posts and content management options.
  • It provides a powerful editor that allows us to format our content with ease.
  • It is highly customizable, thanks to the thousands of plugins and themes.
  • It has a strong and very active community.
  • Includes support for multilingual websites.
  • It allows us to manage multiple sites from a single installation.
  • It makes it possible to share data and tools between our websites.
  • In any case, it is more focused on users with experience in web development and in the design of complex web pages.
  • High learning curve.
It has its own market for templates and themes, both free and paid, with which you can forget about design and maintain consistency between elements, since you can implement the base in all components without the need for complex development processes. If you prefer to customize it, this platform offers you a very intuitive drag & drop system with which you can modify and adapt the pages, with the modules you want, you can even create your own with simple knowledge of HTML and basic CSS.
If you are looking for a CMS that helps and facilitates the day-to-day life of marketers, this tool has a unified database that optimizes and improves the experience of the lead in your landings or blog and also allows your team to align the content with processes and sales with its comprehensive system.
Unlike other recognized CMS such as WordPress, which is open source and allows you to customize your blog or website through various tools and plugins, Magnolia offers us a simple platform to create content and automate our conversion flows without the need for complicated processes development or extra software.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Magnolia to manage content on our websites. Our company has three websites and Magnolia has been really helpful in managing our content. With this software, publishing is easy and the software also offers other features to make the whole process of content management seamless. Some of these features include editing and coding capabilities, an amazing admin panel, SEO support features, Responsive Design Capabilities, Form Generator and many more. The software have therefore been very helpful and we use it across two departments - IT and Digital Marketing Departments.
  • Magnolia is an all in one CMS software - it houses many features making it very capable.
  • The software is easy to understand and use.
  • Magnolia is secure and this ensures only people with clearance can access it.
  • Magnolia makes web design page fast and easy thanks to page templates. In addition, for customization needs, there are coding options as well.
  • Magnolia works well until you try publishing/loading big files. It can be problematic.
Since I have had a good experience with Magnolia, I would definitely recommend Magnolia. It handles all issues CMS pretty well. When you need it for publishing or designing web pages among other functionalities, the software does not disappoint.
Understanding the many features of Magnolia as well as using them is easy. Besides an amazing UI, there are also training materials available on the internet. However, it can be challenging for people with zero coding experience that is why I do not give it a 10.
Publishing works well more so when done in bits (small files).
The admin panel offers better control.
Page template makes adding and designing pages easy.
The security features ensures no unauthorized access.
There are also some basic collaboration features which I like.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Magnolia for publishing content, designing web pages, handling basic SEO, and generally all our CMS needs. In my department, I handle the publishing part and the software works well. However, when it comes to publishing large files, the software is slow and can take forever to load. I'm therefore forced to upload in bits. But overall other features are great including the page templates, editor, among other features.
  • Magnolia is great when uploading small files.
  • Customizing pages and designing new ones is easy.
  • The page templates save time.
  • The software is relatively easy to use.
  • While it can publish content seamlessly, it is not always great when handling large files.
If you or your business is looking for a CMS software, then I would recommend you try Magnolia. It is easy to use and offers helpful features. It can handle a number of things including publishing, web page design, SEO optimization, and much more. Most importantly, it is not pricey.
Using Magnolia is easy thanks to the training materials online. In addition, the user interface makes it easy to use and interact with the software.
The user interface of this software is well thought of and you can find every features where you would want it to be.
The publishing capabilities are also at par.
The design features such as the editor and page templates are also amazing.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For more than 3 years Magnolia has been used in our website, marketing team manages the content and configurations of the website based on the business need. Admin UI of Magnolia is user-friendly where users can apply the changes, review and verify in author and make it available for the public without any interaction with the developer. And the developer can focus on customization requests based on the business needs instead of managing content.
  • Helps in decision making, content can be replaced with new or edit content, based on few configuration changes in Magnolia.
  • Customization is done based on the business needs and that will improve the business process.
Magnolia is well suited where content does not change at frequent intervals. E.g. on our website, the page is created for every product, and the content of the page change so often.
And for the less appropriate, where the content is changed at frequent intervals and maximum of the content comes after the heavy calculations or rules.
From the Front End developer perspective, I am creating the components in React for my website, and those are easily embedded into the websites via a free marker template, and when that component is rendered is depends on the configuration in magnolia.
Then marketing team decides when to use those components by changing the configurations.
There are many features which I liked much but the most one is the publishing mechanism, where users can review the changes in the author's environment and decide to make it available to the public or not. Many times I did the code changes in FTL in the author and make the things live due to quick deadlines.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web developer at my company, I have been using this software with my team to better our website. Magnolia can handle different aspect of our website and this includes managing content and handling some SEO needs. In addition, this software comes with page templates which ensure even those with poor or no coding skills can design web pages. While Magnolia is not deployed across the organization, employees in the marketing and IT department have full access.
  • Designing web pages is easy with Magnolia.
  • Handling web optimization and ensuring that every page is responsive (mobile friendly) is easy with Magnolia.
  • The software is also amazing when it comes to publishing - (small files - large files takes forever).
  • The publishing workflow capabilities are also top notch.
  • Magnolia can be annoying when publishing huge files for instance photos and videos.
  • While it is easy to use, the UI could be better and needs improvement.
When it comes to all issues CMS, there is no better tool than Magnolia. Not that it is perfect but it performs well by offering industry leading features all in one. With Magnolia, you have a one stop solution to better your website. Everything from designing web pages that are responsive, handling the SEO part, as well as publishing and content management is taken care of. Therefore the software is ideal when working on a new website or when managing your website(s).
Regarding usefulness or ease of use, I rate it 9/10. This is because the user interface is clean and not everything needs coding meaning even the digital marketing team that has little knowledge on coding can as well benefit from Magnolia.
SEO support - helps us easily optimize web pages.
Form generator.
Security features.
Web page template.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our real estate company has two websites and we have been using Magnolia as our main CMS. Besides publishing and managing website content, Magnolia offers more than that. Our in-house website developer uses this software to design and optimize web pages as well as making pages responsive while I and the rest of the team in the marketing department concentrate on website content. The software has been serving as well and no regrets so far. However, the developer needs to address the issues of uploading large files which can be 'painful' sometimes.
  • There is a lot to celebrate about this software. First, it is so easy to use thanks to the amazing UI and well outlaid features.
  • Magnolia offers many features making it easy to handle design, SEO, and publishing.
  • Magnolia also wins when it comes to security. It is very secure and this is an important feature.
  • I haven't experienced any other problems besides the issues of slow loading when publishing large files.
If you have several or just one website and you need to make it SEO friendly, responsive and have great and easy to use web pages besides publishing content regularly, then Magnolia is what you need. It is a very helpful software and you need to try it.
Magnolia is fairly easy to use. Whether you are an experienced web designer or a digital marketer like me, there are features for everyone. If you cannot code, there are features that requires no programming background.
Well, about my favorite features, I will start with the admin panel which offers better control.
Another great features is the editor.
Not to mention the Page Templates which makes designing pages easy.