Magnolia Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-12 of 12)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 31, 2021
JP Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Canon Canada uses Magnolia as the primary CMS platform for managing and building out the pages for their main consumer website: Canon.ca. It is used by multiple departments within the company with varying levels of web expertise and solves the main problem of simplifying the process of publishing and managing web and product pages for everyone involved.
  • Clean and organized user interface
  • [The] flexibility of building out templates for users
  • Good security and access to [the] visibility of user records
  • Give users specification details and or tips for module items and fields (ie. explain what the fields would do to the front end-user)
  • Batch upload drag and drop for assets/images
  • [The] simpler way to find out the URL of a page without publishing for both EN/FR users
  • No way to revert to past versions of a page that hasn't been published live
  • A way to copy a specific module on a page with all the fields and settings completed and paste it to a different page
Based on my experience, Magnolia is well-suited for companies and users who do not need the flexibility of having advanced HTML pages and don't need pages built and added to the front-end of the website fairly quickly with user feedback (ie. Blogs). Although overriding CSS styles to templates is possible, [it's] very cumbersome and can often create template errors that can ruin all progress done to a page.
Although the back end of Magnolia is extremely clean from a design perspective and is pretty straightforward once the user learns and has experience with it, there are a few items and modules that could be more simplified and has some unnecessary extra steps. I think the biggest problem is since there are so many streamlined features in the back end, there needs to be a quick and accessible way to find out what each item does for the end-user.
My favorite features [are] the overall simplified UI and the draggable components and modules for page building. I also like the ability to
preview pages in real-time before publishing them with mobile, tablet, and desktop views.
Read JP Lopez's full review
March 30, 2021
Bohdan Valentovic | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magnolia as the content management platform for our corporate website. It is used across the company and enables users to take control of the relevant content, without involvement of technical staff.
  • Good control of publishing content.
  • Easy to use by the end users / publishers.
  • Very flexible for adding functionality.
  • Excellent support for development efforts.
  • Steep learning curve for the admins / developers.
  • Some user interface features don't always work, sometimes even crash the system (deleting messages in bulk for example).
Solid content management platform for situations where content is changed often.
I would consider it overkill for smaller websites where content is not changed very often.
Basic, common things are easy to achieve. However, the learning curve can be steep. Magnolia offers a lot of flexibility, but if experienced Magnolia users / developers are not available, it takes time to learn enough to be productive.
My personal favourite feature of Magnolia is that it gives users full control over content that they need to publish - what they need to publish, and when, and they can do this without any involvement of IT staff. IT staff only gets involved when changes in functionality of Magnolia are needed. IT staff can work on these separately from what users are doing, and deliver it as needed. This separation is something that most users of content management systems take for granted, but it is not always present, especially in custom home grown CM systems.
Read Bohdan Valentovic's full review
January 27, 2021
Marvin Kerkhoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia is used in Marketing and IT Department to manage user journeys on all digital clients. As a customer of Magnolia you can build up a complete content strategy to fulfill a consistent experience and behaviour on all channels. If you want to use it as an easy to use CMS or as content pool for apps or services is up to you.
  • Ease of use / Usability
  • Flexible for all kinds of integrations
  • Modularity - not a heavy lifted suite
  • Technology stack has a steep learning curve
  • Could improve mass data management
  • Speed of Performance
Magnolia is a very flexible and great way for a couple of system landscapes. But I wouldn't recommend it for small single site building projects. It's just too much for the small companies and finding good java developers is not that easy as it is probably on other technology stacks. But besides that, I highly recommend it because it is easy tp use and the flexible integrations.
Magnolia has a very easy to learn interface. For some people it might look a bit old fashioned but on the other hand it is extremly easy to use and most people understand it without ever used it. You have your tree of content data, you click edit and get your site in a nice WYSIWYG Editor. It doesn't need much experience.
You always get an answer based on your SLA. But you always get a solution. That's the successfactor in this case. To often i was frustrated about people in a company without even a clue what there product is about or how to solve a problem. Magnolia's Support Team does a very good job and try to help you in most of the cases.
Read Marvin Kerkhoff's full review
March 19, 2021
Sunil Mugalavally | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia is used as an enterprise-wide content management application for a number of public-facing websites in our organization. It helps to create and manage content for our website using a user-friendly interface, rather than needing to work directly with the code. Basically, it makes managing a website much easier for users of all technical levels.
  • Its developer friendly
  • The customizations that can be done on top of the product is definitely a plus
  • The interface is user friendly
  • Magnolia comes with a standard set of extensions/third party libraries that can be easily integrated to provide business users the functionality they need.
  • The publishing of content is driven by workflows and is highly extensible.
  • The product can be used in various forms for different business needs for example it can be used as a runtime engine serving the website to customers or be it used as a headless CMS via rest.
  • Magnolia comes with a dedicated product support and technical help.
  • Most importantly, its easy to use and comes as a fully functional CMS.
  • It could definitely improve in the area of cloud deployment.
  • User interface could use some improvement
  • Getting used to the platform takes a while for newcomers
Magnolia is well suited for traditional website content management.
It has a very user friendly interface although there is room for improvement.
Some of the favs of magnolia are personalization, headless capabilities, content creation and publish
With personalization, we are able to segment our customers and target promotions based on customers shopping patterns and preferences.
Read Sunil Mugalavally's full review
March 31, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Magnolia is our company's content management system. It is used by multiple departments in the organization. It is used to create and publish content [on] the company's website. It offers us an easy way to deliver a digital experience to our consumer, business, and professional audiences. It allows multiple teams within the organization to communicate with an external audience.
  • It's intuitive
  • It's customizable
  • The version we currently use (Magnolia 5) is [aesthetically] pleasing
  • With virtual mapping, it would be useful for there to be a way to organize items in groups and to filter (e.g., alphabetically).
  • Still, with virtual mapping, it would be easier if a page didn't become redirected until the virtual URI is published. Currently, the page being redirected becomes inaccessible once a vanity URL is created, even if left unpublished.
  • More online references/documentation for front-end users.
  • An edit mode that lets you make changes to the actual page (i.e., what the page looks like to a website visitor), which would be a separate edit mode [that] currently exists (editing to the back-end, which looks more like a database).
  • The ability to multi-task in the CMS. For example, if approving publishing requests, the ability to edit pages while the CMS processes the approvals.
Magnolia has worked well for our organization, where there are multiple users in different departments needing to access the same pages. While it can be overwhelming at first, the CMS is intuitive to new users once they have hands-on experience. For basic needs - creating simple pages - works well for front-end users with little to no CMS experience or Java knowledge.
It's very intuitive and allows even inexperienced website creators to build pages. Java knowledge is not necessary to create and post content. Adding users, and managing roles and users is simple. The templates are easy to use and allow for a consistent-looking website. The ability to duplicate pages and components helps will productivity.
The ability to customize modules has allowed us to be creative in our page designs while still maintaining a consistent look. I find the interface of Magnolia 5 to be pleasing (not as crazy about Magnolia 6 at the moment). The ability to duplicate components and pages has simplified some of our workflows.
Read this authenticated review
March 31, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magnolia as the CMS for our main corporate website. It was implemented as part of our re-design and re-launch in 2019, a project by the corporate and IT team. Today, there are multiple groups of users, including the communications/web team, the customer support teams, as well as the various product marketing teams, few who have "web design experience." It allows us to create and publish webpages in an easy and efficient way.
  • Easy interface to adopt to publish webpages.
  • Great standard components/templates used as building blocks to build your pages.
  • Customizable to suit specific business needs.
  • Site speed has been an issue in the past, but has gotten better.
  • Customer service has been a bit hit/miss in the past, but has also gotten better with our latest account exec.
  • A few years later, we are seeing errors/mistakes in the way some customizations were done by our agency, something the benefit of customization, also lends itself to.
It has been great for our external corporate website, which hosts particularly content/text. Our ecommerce website is built on another platform, but unsure how Magnolia would be suited for this kind of instance. Similarly, we have investigated Magnolia for our use in our internal corporate website but opted to use Sharepoint, a system already in-place, that could be turned around more quickly. We are finding challenges with some of our users who continue to create landing pages outside of Magnolia (using Wordpress or other CMS/design platforms), which they have found 'easier' to implement alongside their marketing automation software.
From a CMS user perspective, it has great overall usability. For 95% of the use cases that our team(s) use Magnolia for - creating products, publishing new campaign pages, updating press releases - it works great. In some cases, where the ask is over and above that, or the ability to design new components, integrating non-Magnolia forms, etc., it takes time/effort to test/implement and hope it doesn't break the site.
Magnolia's content authoring interface is great and easy to use, as someone who has used a dozen of different CMS's. It makes it easy for anyone to be able to build a webpage - i.e. if you can create a slide on PowerPoint, you can create a webpage through Magnolia. This was one of our main objectives for finding a CMS for our corporate site, given that it is junior marketing teams, not front-end developers, who would be creating the webpages.
Read this authenticated review
April 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Magnolia for our corporate website. Multiple departments with[in] our organization use this product to share product information and marketing content. We moved from a custom-developed tool to Magnolia, as it offered IT the ability to develop and build banners and tools for the users. While giving the users the ability to create, manage and publish their own content with no IT involvement.
  • Very good support and training team
  • Straightforward publishing/approval process
  • Highly customizable with banners and customer content
  • Steep learning curve
  • Documentation written for development teams and lacking for User Admins
Magnolia works in our environment with a development team to build banners, customize the system and end users who can build out pages using the banners and customizations built. As the end users bring forward ideas for improvements, our development team can investigate how to make this happen. A lot of features are present in Magnolia and once configured, meet the needs of our users.
Once your initial configuration and set up is complete, Magnolia is very easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
August 20, 2015
Maurizio Müller | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Magnolia CMS is a great product to develop enterprise websites, extranets and intranets. At the moment, the community is growing day by day but so far not many extensions are available. Magnolia is an enterprise CMS, the initial learning curve takes time, to learn all its functionalities and how to customize it is necessary to know Java. When one wants to develop just a simple website without complexity which doesn’t need any specific features such as workflow, versioning, environment separation between staging and public, etc. it is preferable to choose another CMS.
  • The usability of Magnolia is appreciated, a content editor easily learns how to manage the content in two hours only.
  • Magnolia is open, flexible and extendible and it is possible to modify or improve the standards features. Using Java API, REST, SOAP, CMIS, XML, etc. makes it possible to integrate other software or legacy data.
  • Magnolia as a modular architecture, a module has its lifecycle, configuration, version handing and dependency: this is a good approach for package content and functionality.
  • Magnolia is written in Java, the platform of choice for enterprise IT systems. It is scalable, stable and secure, and Magnolia separates the staging from public environment.
  • Magnolia lacks of an administrative dashboard showing all the workflow, possibly in a graphical representation of their status.
  • The audit module only logs in a file: having a dashboard for the audit would be a nice improvement.
  • When the time comes to configure templates and components in the Standard Templating Kit is quite complicated and boring at times. A widget to help the developer would be a very interesting job. In addition, having the possibility to configure template and component in the Standard Template Kit by code would be nice.
  • Implementing a customization in the administrative UI or in the dialogs isn’t simple and the developer must know Vaadin.
  • Migrating from the previous major release is complicated and expensive, since Magnolia 5 isn’t compatible with the old major versions (Magnolia 4).
Magnolia CMS is a great product to develop enterprise websites, extranets and intranets. At the moment, the community is growing day by day but so far not many extensions are available. Magnolia is an enterprise CMS, the initial learning curve takes time, to learn all its functionalities and how to customize it is necessary to know Java. When one wants to develop just a simple website without complexity which doesn’t need any specific features such as workflow, versioning, environment separation between staging and public, etc. it is preferable to choose another CMS.
Read Maurizio Müller's full review
March 08, 2014
Davide Dispenza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage the sites of the customer I work with. We use as a front end application, with a custom module we made. We don't use the authentication module to let the users login, but our secure servlets. the product lets us solve the problem of finding a templating system and a CMS application to not let IT employees change the contents of the web pages.
  • Easy to use for end users
  • You can use both jsp and ftl
  • It lets you easily develop a site for both mobile and desktop (V5 only)
  • Nice templating mechanism
  • Uninstalling modules it too messy
  • Almost no documentation
  • It uses 2 dbs (one on filesystem) and so it is impossibile to get back in case of errors when publishing new version of self made modules
It is a great CMS for websites of large companies, but not suited for small companies nor blogs or simple services websites. Not so good for selling sites or intranet sites. Still good for documentation pages, showing images and videos, commercials, informative persistent sites, governative sites and so on.
I think it is still a little bit tough to update from one major version to another due to the lack of documentation.
Read Davide Dispenza's full review
February 21, 2014
Andrea Castelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the official CMS.
It is used across the whole organization.
Licence costs.
  • Easy to create and move pages
  • Easy to do custom development
  • Easy to integrate with other frameworks
  • The admin interface could be easier to use
  • It would be good to have more modules provided by the community
Well suited for medium - big enterprises and to integrate with other systems.
Read Andrea Castelli's full review
July 07, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall it is a good CMS product, but sometimes it has issues with publishing content. It is open source and pure Java. It is easy to deploy and maintain. Also, it has a good community to ask questions. We can customize on our demand. Java developers learn it very quickly without any knowledge curve.
  • Deployment
  • Development
  • Open Source
  • Easy to Maintain
  • Publishing
  • Content Management
  • Subscribe
It is open source so from a budget perspective it is a good choice. It is Java based, so Java developers can learn it fast and it is easy to maintain. It has an author and subscriber model, so you can distribute content to multiple servers without any problem. It is a JCR support Oracle database so the content repository is safe.
Read this authenticated review
March 08, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Magnolia CMS for a prototype solution for a range of multilingual websites that are managed by their own department in that country. We investigated the product to create a solution for the client, who were looking for a content managed website solution.
  • The product allowed the site to be skinned easily.
  • The product allowed developers to create dialogs to enable the content editors to enter content for the website.
  • The product is a powerful content management tool.
  • The set-up of Magnolia CMS seemed to be a little fiddly.
I think that Magnolia CMS is a powerful tool, but I only had a limited experience of using it. I think it is probably costed effectively, but I prefer Adobe CQ5 CMS and find it easier to use and easier to set up. Magnolia CMS is very similar because it uses the JCR (technology).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (8)
7.3
API (4)
7.9
Internationalization / multi-language (7)
7.1
WYSIWYG editor (7)
6.7
Code quality / cleanliness (7)
7.1
Admin section (8)
7.0
Page templates (8)
7.5
Library of website themes (1)
7
Mobile optimization / responsive design (6)
7.4
Publishing workflow (8)
7.8
Form generator (8)
6.5
Content taxonomy (7)
7.4
SEO support (7)
6.8
Bulk management (6)
5.5
Availability / breadth of extensions (7)
6.5
Community / comment management (4)
8.2

What is Magnolia?

Today’s DX productions have become big operations involving many, independent teams collaborating over decoupled technology. So Magnolia's DXP aims to enable users so that they can achieve digital excellence at speed and scale.

With Magnolia, the vendor states users get a robust content hub, feature-complete multi-experience creation tools, and API-first architecture to integrate business applications, any front-end frameworks and deployment infrastructure.

Connector packs natively extend Magnolia's CMS into other core digital systems. Users get blueprints for integration, off-the-shelf connectors, and the ability to change products at any time.


Magnolia Features

Web Content Creation Features

Has featureWYSIWYG editor
Has featureCode quality / cleanliness
Has featureContent versioning
Has featureAdmin section
Has featurePage templates
Has featureMobile optimization / responsive design
Has featurePublishing workflow
Has featureForm generator
Has featureContent scheduling

Web Content Management Features

Has featureInternal content search
Has featureContent taxonomy
Has featureSEO support
Has featureBrowser compatibility
Has featureBulk management
Has featurePage caching
Has featureAvailability / breadth of extensions
Has featureBuilt-in e-commerce / shopping cart
Has featureE-commerce / shopping cart extension
Has featureCommunity / comment management
Has featureImport / export
Has featureWebsite analytics

Platform & Infrastructure Features

Has featureAPI
Has featureInternationalization / multi-language

Security Features

Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Has featureVersion history
Has featureSimple roll-back capabilities

CMS programming language or framework Features

Has featureJava

Magnolia Screenshots

Magnolia Videos (5)

Magnolia Downloadables

Magnolia Integrations

commercetools, SAP Commerce Cloud (formerly SAP Hybris), Salesforce Commerce Cloud, BigCommerce, Bynder Brand Portal, CELUM ContentHub, Cloudinary, Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik), Adobe Analytics, Google Analytics, Marketo, Adyen, Siteimprove, Elasticsearch, Pivotal RabbitMQ, Apache Solr, Oracle WebLogic Application Server, WebSphere Application Server, GraphQL, REST APIs, Magento Commerce, part of Adobe Commerce Cloud, CommerceKit, S3, Movingimage, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Across Translation, Microsoft Translator, Translations.com, Google Translator, Biocryptology, Netlify, Spring Framework, Bootstrap, JBPM, CAS, LDAP, Ehcache, Memcached, SiteMesh, Wildfly

Magnolia Competitors

Magnolia Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Magnolia Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
57%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
33%

Magnolia Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Live Chat
Onsite

Magnolia Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Magnolia's best feature?

Reviewers rate Community / comment management highest, with a score of 8.2.

Who uses Magnolia?

The most common users of Magnolia are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.