Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Magnolia

Magnolia

Overview

What is Magnolia?

Founded in 1997 with a vision to create the first truly open content management system, Magnolia is presented as a fast way to launch digital experiences. With a mission to help clients move fast and stay flexible and boasting users…

Read more
Recent Reviews

Magnolia CMS

10 out of 10
March 30, 2024
Incentivized
Magnolia is our front end CMS serving the content for our B2B website serving 24 countries and 18 different languages. The Magnolia CMS …
Continue reading

Personalisation is key

7 out of 10
October 16, 2023
About 3 years ago we looked at updating our CMS solution to something that was more adaptable and allow us to be more personalised with …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 16 features
  • Page templates (73)
    8.9
    89%
  • Role-based user permissions (70)
    8.0
    80%
  • Admin section (71)
    8.0
    80%
  • Publishing workflow (74)
    7.5
    75%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Magnolia?

Founded in 1997 with a vision to create the first truly open content management system, Magnolia is presented as a fast way to launch digital experiences. With a mission to help clients move fast and stay flexible and boasting users among brands like Atlassian and The New York Times, Magnolia…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

45 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is ExpressionEngine?

ExpressionEngine is a content management system from EllisLab in 2002, a successor to pMachine Pro, a blogging system, which is written in object-oriented PHP and uses MySQL for data storage. ExpressionEngine is their flagship Content Delivery Platform.

What is Square Online?

Square Online (formerly Weebly) is a basic content management system with blogging and eCommerce features. It can be utilized for building standard websites or specialized webpages for online stores.

Return to navigation

Features

Security

This component helps a company minimize the security risks by controlling access to the software and its data, and encouraging best practices among users.

8
Avg 8.2

Platform & Infrastructure

Features related to platform-wide settings and structure, such as permissions, languages, integrations, customizations, etc.

8
Avg 7.7

Web Content Creation

Features that support the creation of website content.

8
Avg 7.7

Web Content Management

Features for managing website content

7.5
Avg 7.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Magnolia?

Founded in 1997 with a vision to create the first truly open content management system, Magnolia is presented as a fast way to launch digital experiences. With a mission to help clients move fast and stay flexible and boasting users among brands like Atlassian and The New York Times, Magnolia DXP supports industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications, offering enterprise features and headless agility to help them stay ahead.

From humble beginnings in Basel, Magnolia's footprint is now global with offices on five continents and more than 200 certified Magnolia Partners strategically located around the world.

Magnolia Features

Web Content Creation Features

  • Supported: WYSIWYG editor
  • Supported: Code quality / cleanliness
  • Supported: Content versioning
  • Supported: Admin section
  • Supported: Page templates
  • Supported: Mobile optimization / responsive design
  • Supported: Publishing workflow
  • Supported: Form generator
  • Supported: Content scheduling

Web Content Management Features

  • Supported: Internal content search
  • Supported: Content taxonomy
  • Supported: SEO support
  • Supported: Browser compatibility
  • Supported: Bulk management
  • Supported: Page caching
  • Supported: Availability / breadth of extensions
  • Supported: Built-in e-commerce / shopping cart
  • Supported: E-commerce / shopping cart extension
  • Supported: Community / comment management
  • Supported: Import / export
  • Supported: Website analytics

Platform & Infrastructure Features

  • Supported: API
  • Supported: Internationalization / multi-language

Security Features

  • Supported: Role-based user permissions
  • Supported: User-level audit trail
  • Supported: Version history
  • Supported: Simple roll-back capabilities

CMS programming language or framework Features

  • Supported: Java

Magnolia Screenshots

Screenshot of the customer experience: Brings together content and audiovisual digital assets to form more compelling digital experiences.Screenshot of the Magnolia App Launcher, used to switch between workspaces and manage pagesScreenshot of Magnolia's native analytics integration framework, used to take advantage of data directly in the authoring UI, coupled to content.Screenshot of global search that brings relevant content, no matter where it resides.Screenshot of customizing the ecommerce experience.

Magnolia Videos

The strengths of Magnolia in 100 seconds.
How to manage content in Magnolia more efficiently
Magnolia headless with no limits
Introducing the Magnolia Visual SPA Editor
Magnolia - Built for speed

Magnolia Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal

Frequently Asked Questions

Reviewers rate Page templates highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Magnolia are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Magnolia Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)57%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)33%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(119)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 79)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We build solutions based on Magnolia for our customer's needs. These needs include intranets, web pages, eCommerce, etc. Also, our customers come from a wide range of industries, such as banks, wholesalers, or [travel] companies.
  • API Rest calls
  • Organising contents
  • Usability by non-technical people
  • User interface
  • Administration site performance
  • More consistency when indicating if a content is published or not
Magnolia is well suited for almost every scenario you can [imagine]. It is less appropriate for very basic web pages where other tools like WordPress are more specialized.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Magnolia as the platform to centralized all our content and content production in one place. Leveraging on Magnolia's open architecture, we are able to quickly connect to our e-commerce platform to generate reusable front-end components and churn out programmatic SEO pages to scale up our SEO keywords. This allows us to scale our digital footprint without corresponding increase in manpower, while achieving our business objectives.

In addition, because of Magnolia's open architecture, we were able to easily connect to the GenAI services of our choice. This help us leverage on Generative AI to scale up our content production and serve as a "co-pilot" for content author.

Magnolia's connectors to CDP allow the organization to connect to our CDP and deliver personalized content across multiple "owned" website and apps.
  • Open Architecture
  • APAC Team, always willing to work with Client to expand our use case
  • Visionary Product Road-map, allowing them to stay ahead of time to leverage on the best technology out there
  • Easy to use and setup unlike major DXP out in the market
  • Not enough connectors - While there is a great marketplace, there is still a lack of connectors to cater for all other MarTech Platform
  • Lack of a SaaS solution for smaller website that do not need a PaaS or on Premise installation
Magnolia is a very capable DXP, that provides client with lots of flexibility in composing its own stack. While the core of the platform is a content management system, the open architecture of Magnolia DXP allows it to connect to any platform, allowing client to extend the capabilities.

One scenario would be a centralized content hub - where through a single platform, content authors can choose which channel to distribute what content. For example, long form content for consumers viewing on a laptop, short form content for those using a mobile browser. This allow the client to personalized the experience based on channels.

Another scenarios would be leveraging on GenAI - using Magnolia's built-in connector to ChatGPT. If that is not the service that one desire, you can always connect to another AI service such as Google Gemini. With GenAI, connected, content author can use AI as co-pilot to help them scale up their content production.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our digital platform consists of different parts: SAP commerce for products and their details, Magnolia DX CMS as the main part to add content and some microservices. Magnolia fits perfectly in our system architecture and enables us to invent all necessary organism our editors need. It is easily possible to connect the CMS to other services via interfaces in order to establish communication in all directions. Our editors have to add a huge amount of marketing pages (more then 10000) and also further information to products to the websites. Therefore we need a powerful CMS that fits our requirements.
  • Headless
  • Connector Packs
  • Support and Consulting
  • Freedom in development
  • Easier drag and drop functions
  • Form module inflexible
  • find the right structure to overwrite given functions
  • documentation could be more detailed for new user
If you need a business CMS that brings along a good amount of features and also give you the chance to develop features on your own, Magnolia would be a good choice. Even if you have not the fitting infrastructure around, Magnolia provides you different ways like SAAS oder PAAS. If you have to review your code our have any problems the team behind will helps in a short time.
Without using the connectors it is not so easy to connect special functionalities like Marketing tools or optimization tools. The DAM is very slow if you have an huge amount of documents and pictures to store for your website - you have to add an external DAM.
March 30, 2024

Magnolia CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Magnolia is our front end CMS serving the content for our B2B website serving 24 countries and 18 different languages. The Magnolia CMS allows our content author to verify, approve , test and publish contents to public instances serving the website contents. It serves both CMS content pages and eCommerce related pages.
  • Content authoring
  • Content publication
  • Workflow
  • OOb components
  • accelerators
  • performance
  • headless offering
  • probably time to go for microservices architecture
Magnolia is well suited for both B2B and B2C enterprise sites covering multiple geographies and languages. The platform has evolved over the period of time and offers extensive customization options. The inbuilt applications e.g. pages app etc are a very good starting points. With so many oob components and options to create or customize existing is a good offering from CMS point of view. Magnolia might not be suitable for smaller sized website where you just need few static/dynamic pages with limited capabilities.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Good Things Foundation delivers the National Digital Inclusion Network - a set of hubs and services that support people excluded from the digital world. We needed a modern web platform to build our corporate web site and to build a "members area" for members of the Good Things Network. This needed to have all the essential capabilities of a web site plus a signup/login area for content supporting our network. We were also after a single unified platform, a PAAS/SAAS solution, migrating from legacy inhouse built technology.
  • Speed of development - time to delivery from zero to MVP was excellent
  • Ease of use - the authoring experience is very easy to build and train
  • PAAS/SAAS - the managed service platform removed the traditional overhead of running in-house technologies, meaning we could focus on value add, with less time spent keeping the lights on.
  • Online documentation was out of date in some rare but critical instances
  • There are relatively few people who know the in-depth detail, responsiveness was generally good from support tickets but occasionally it can take a while to get the right answer.
  • The use of Freemarker and time to MVP was resoundingly good, but we were slowed down a little by needing to go to Java to manage what felt like basic requirements to manage the pipeline into web services and this environment seemed to be difficult to setup and manage with dependencies on very specific Java versions ...etc. Room for improvement there.
I have little to say on where it is not appropriate - I've used other high end CMS systems and this is by far the best. There seems to be a focus on the CMS market for headless CMS with a front end delivery framework and that is really only appropriate when using significant multi-channel sites. For a small charity as we are, the ability to have an integrated CMS and delivery front end was excellent. I am sure Magnolia would also perform well as headless, so supporting both is crucial.

The weakness I pointed out means that if there are authentication and other integrations needed, more complex development is also needed. I suspect a little bit of alleviation on that would resolve it. Overall its excellent for many use cases for low to high end.

The PAAS/SAAS is not also excellent if not always within the reach of smaller organisations but Magnolia proved proportionate in their pricing model, recognising who we were, which definitely helped.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Magnolia is the DXP that we use to manage our 4 websites. Magnolia allows us to update content quickly, manage our campaigns, an offers incredible flexibility from a development perspective. We are able frequently complete and release weekly sprints. We are exploring Magnolia's connection to AI along with personalisation to be able to provide an improved user experience to our guests.
  • They provide excellent support
  • The platform is fast, reliable and incredibly flexible
  • Put their customers first
  • Improve the scheduling functionality
  • Implement a content clean-up tool for unused imagery, etc.
Magnolia is extremely well suited to our situation, it provides us with everything we require and if there are features that we would like they are always more than happy to work with us to implement them. Magnolia's cockpit is good as a base but we would recommend exporting data to an external solution for more advise detail into logs, etc.
October 16, 2023

Personalisation is key

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
About 3 years ago we looked at updating our CMS solution to something that was more adaptable and allow us to be more personalised with our customers.
Magnolia gives us the ability to not only create variations of pages for different users, but also a easy to use UI for our editiors to build pages quickly and deploy to production with no real time delay.
  • Personalitation
  • Flexibility
  • Integrations
  • Adobe Analytics integration could be improved
  • Dashboards for magnolia users could be improved
We use magnolia to be able to provide a different journey to our users depending on authentication status or persona so we can better target and convert users. Magnolia makes this very easy and is a key factor to us using with the business, also being a headless CMS system allows us to deploy in a variety of ways across a range of platforms.
Andrew Elia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We mostly use and recommend Magnolia for enterprise clients who want a lean, easy to use platform for managing their content (not just on the web). However we do also use it internally for our own website as well.

It's not the only solution our clients use as everyone has different requirements. Why do we use it and recommend it to others when we do see a fit ? Quite simply, it's a well engineered product which has always been ultra reliable whenever we've deployed it to the dozens of clients who we've worked with it on. We don't like implementing solutions that we have to constantly prod and patch to keep working, and for us Magnolia saves us time, money and credibility. Our clients are always happy to use it because it is simple to use and takes minimal training.
  • Reliability
  • Ease of use
  • Rapid development and deployment
  • Performance
  • Robust and secure architecture
  • Improve coverage in North America and the Middle East
  • Arab and Mandarin languages in admin central
  • Less reliance on JCR for back end storage interface
Magnolia is very well suited to scenarios where there are multiple end points for content eg. apps, remote devices, websites etc. and with multiple users. Magnolia is very good at working with different "shapes" of content so it's not necessarily all about HTML content for the web which tends to be the default for a number of other products of this nature. This means that it's more logical for people to work with structured data and easier for the applications to sort and manage that content when they receive it.
This works really well when you have multiple team members (often in multiple locations). We've had clients who've had people in twelve European locations with sixteen languages and they can share skills and resources between them but still manage their own content.

Magnolia is less appropriate for SMEs who have fewer digital assets and content. It's not to say that it can't be done but it's more that the budget would not necessarily fit.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Magnolia as a content management system for our public website. We also have several headless implementations and we are serving content to other apps.
  • Managing content
  • Personalization
  • Headless CMS
  • Light development - use of YAML to define apps
  • More documentation needed, more examples
  • Search could be improved
  • Tasks app is rather slow
Magnolia is a versatile and robust enterprise grade Content Management. It is not as well suited for regular users or small companies as it requires rather a complex setup. The customer support is providing quick guidance on most of the areas, but you will still need a pretty big team to manage it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our clients like Magnolia for its flexibility and extensibility. We’ve been successful with Magnolia’s hybrid headless approach and multi-channel content distribution for both established companies and growing startups. In addition to leveraging the out-of-the-box features, we’ve built detailed components, layouts, and customized functionality to help meet our clients’ needs. They love that our answer is almost always “yes!” when they ask us “can Magnolia do X?” and the easy-to-use author controls make training and handoff a breeze.
  • Hybrid headless
  • Integration
  • Easy to use UI
  • Robust permission controls
  • Extended DAM features
  • Internal site search (currently is handled through optional 3rd party).
For omnichannel content distribution, Magnolia does a great job of allowing us to create user-friendly content apps and content models, categorize content, manage taxonomies, etc. We've used it for marketing sites, e-commerce, apps, and more. We also like the built-in checkers and workflows for task management and QA. It can be as powerful or as simplistic as you want, but it's really great for scalable content management for rapidly growing businesses.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My department manages most of the websites (50+) for our organization, with a variety of audiences. Internal business partners across our organization in different lines of business have access to Magnolia in order to be able to update the content on the websites they own. My team manages the development and maintenance of these sites. Before Magnolia, all content updates had to come through my team for development and testing. With the amount of sites we manage, this limited the amount of new work we could take in (new sites, enhancements to existing sites). Using Magnolia has allowed us to free up our developers to work on higher priority work without neglecting our run-the-business content updates. In my role, I train and support our business partners in Magnolia, as well as review all content updates before they are published.
  • Easy to onboard new users - using components is fairly intuitive.
  • Once standardized components are built, propping up a new site is pretty easy and quick.
  • Workflows allow my team to stay hands off with editing, but still review changes before they go live.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Can send direct links to edit a page
  • Cannot revert to previous version if it hasn't been published.
  • Individual users cannot delete failed publishes and messages (which makes it look like there are open requests).
  • Publishing larger folders of images is often not possible.
  • We had to design our own preview link solution for sites integrated with Angular
  • Doesn’t always play nice with Angular
Magnolia is great for managing multiple sites within an organization. We are able to managed over 200 business users with access to 50+ sites with business users only having access to their sites. A few of these sites are integrated with Angular and the integration with Magnolia doesn’t always play nice. We’ve had to design some of our own solutions for this.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Development of content in Magnolia, such as components, content-apps, pages, etc. with headcounts. [In my experience,] the problem that we find at a technical level is the slowness of Magnolia when there is a heavy load of nodes in [the] workspaces. The speed is slow when it comes to solving problems, [like] when we open tickets in Magnolia. Additionally, Magnolia 6 has removed proper functionality from Magnolia 5.
  • Shows page content
  • Easy development
  • Intuitive
  • Content loading times
  • Documentation in the absence of examples
  • Content that applies [across] different types of nodes (Example: 2 types of nodes within a content app)
Magnolia is put to good use [when] creating a basic website with limited content. It is very easy for both the developer and the customer to contribute content. [In my opinion,] the part [that needs improvement] is in the documentation. Content and examples are missing [when trying to] develop certain properties. [In my opinion, the] Magnolia modules should be explained better in the documentation. In the interface, [I find that] it is difficult to move elements and nodes sometimes. [I also believe that] content loading is sometimes very slow when there are more nodes on the account.
December 24, 2022

Meh

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I train developers how to use, build and customize every nook and cranny of Magnolia.
  • Allows easy/fast development/configuration via yaml.
  • Allows devs to override out of box functionality.
  • Allows many integration points.
  • Admincentral UI is clunky and animations make it feel slow.
  • Admincentral UI layout fosters a frustrating experience w/ many misclicks wasting time.
  • Documentation as of late has been inaccurate and hard to follow.
A colleague here being another business. Magnolia is on its way to being a 'good' product but the 6.2 implementation simply isn't there yet (6.2.26 as of this writing). The admincentral UI could use a complete overhaul to be better streamlined for devs and content editors (the two who actually use it).
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use this product to implement CMS solutions for the clients our organization contracts with. Clients may be looking to move away from platforms such as WordPress to a solution that is more customizable and can be integrated with external systems.
  • Use of YAML to define content models with code.
  • Versatility of defining actions for custom handlers.
  • Reloading classes when code is modified in a local dev environment is nice. While it doesn't seem to work when changes extend beyond the method body (i.e., adding methods), it remediates the pain of long startup times.
  • The documentation provides samples that are often out of context, and difficult to know where the provided example code should be implemented. More tutorials providing the full project or step-by-step instructions on how to implement subject material would help greatly. Baeldung is a resource I would consider the gold standard in how this is done in other spaces.
  • The use of JCR and Nodes makes object serialization/deserialization painful. Jackson compatibility or similar would be a welcome enhancement to the developer experience. Maybe leveraging code-gen from light modules to build model classes when possible could help accomplish this.
  • Modifying the home layout from light modules is frustrating. It seems that any configuration overrides made merge with the default rather than overwriting, which makes for a difficult combination of guess-and-check while referencing the documentation to see what should be in each row/column when making changes.
  • Including "mark all as read" or "delete all" in the notifications app would be a great quality of life improvement. It seems that by default, users have to individually select messages and operate them.
It's well suited when there are requirements and handling for content after it's been authored, and highly specific workflows. I would not recommend Magnolia to anyone who wants something that "just works."
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Magnolia is used in our Business to build our brochure websites. Currently we have 25+ websites live in Magnolia, however are undergoing a migration from our old content management system over to Magnolia where all of our 180+ websites in 80+ countries will be managed. My role within Magnolia is to document the requirments for new features and enhancements and ensure we maintain Magnolia to the latest updates. Long term Magnolia will be used in the business for other functions such as our logged in portals and other applications.
  • Managing content
  • Easy to edit content
  • Easy to build and deploy new functionality
  • Ecommerce within the single platform
  • More personalisation required. - Changing content based on page visited / city user is in.
The speed you can update and publish content is far superior to our old cms.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Managing content per channel for one of our websites. Looking to roll out across the business as part of a wider CMS strategy. User base is circa 3500 users currently. We chose Magnolia because of it's superb out-of-the-box capabilities for personalisation and ease of implementation. The support from the company has been second-to-none.
  • Ease of implementation
  • Personalisation
  • Customisability
  • Easier configuration options
  • Software as a Service option
If you need to get up and running quickly then Magnolia is a great option. For more complicated user requirements, then the stack can be unfriendly in terms of configuration. Documentation could be improved.
Ivan De Paz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Magnolia in our day-to-day business in several different ways
  • As a content management system for pages in which we display useful information to our customers.
  • We also have several headless systems in which we send different information dynamically from banners to regions of the home page to display depending on the type of device that connects (Desktop browser, Mobile browser, Native App).
  • ContentApps in which we send literals according to languages selected by the user.
  • The flexibility it offers us to be able to implement all the needs we have.
  • To be able to perform Front development in the technology that best suits your needs, VueJS, ANGULAR, ReactJS.
  • Constant version upgrades make Magnolia a 100% reliable product.
  • The active community behind it to provide support and help.
  • Flexibility and simplicity of creating ContentApps that can be attacked via APIs
  • As a developer the learning curve is long, you can start developing relatively quickly but getting to know the platform in depth takes time.
  • Having a history of modifications not only at the page level but also at the Content Apps level would be very useful.
I firmly believe that Magnolia is a very flexible tool so it can be adapted to any situation, both as a pure static content manager, as well as providing content through APIs according to defined rules.

Chris Chard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Magnolia is our designated Content Management System for all internet and extranet facing websites.
  • Creating & Managing Web-Content
  • Flexibility for custom requirements
  • Developer friendliness
  • Suitable for enterprise use
  • Usability for editors should be improved
  • Java module developement is only suitable for experienced developers
  • Ease of deployment into third party Cloud infrastructure
Magnolia is very well suited for enterprise grade Content Management and digital experience portals.
It is not suited for casual users, small company or private websites.
Mario de Vicente Fernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Magnolia is actually taking care of all the Corporate Sites of Prosegur, covering all the footprint of the company worldwide and all our businesses
  • Agility to create new contents
  • Customization capabilities
  • Roadmap of the product
  • Reporting of activities performed by contributors (changes, publications, accesses...)
  • Log information related with the operation of the platform
  • Only five versions for each conten are usually not enough
Magnolia allows you to create your web sites in a really easy and fast way. No coding and enough available tools to create fancy sites. Also in case something additional is needed, customization is easyly supported so you can create new content apps can be greated expanding its capabilities. The main improvement area from my point of view are the reporting features. There is no easy way of obtaining information about how your users are using the platform. Especific ad-hoc reports can be built, but the platform does not support it out of the box.
Manuel Alejandro Lupión Jiménez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am currently working on a project where we make use of magnolia for the creation of an airline website in which magnolia manages all the content of this. This content is consumed in two ways. On the one hand via headless from other front platforms, and on the other from the pages generated within the content manager.
  • Multisite management
  • Page translation module
  • API Rest
  • Message and workflow management
  • Improve performance on heavily loaded contentApps
  • Generation of contentApps with different nodetypes
I think that magnolia is prepared for the generation of webs were to show static content managed directly by the cms itself. Due to the internal management that JCR does, I think that magnolia's performance should be improved when the data that is retrieved from the Rest api is very heavy, for example, a content app in which more than 500,000 records are stored.
January 12, 2022

Magnolia is cool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Magnolia in a project developed for an airline. Specifically, it is used to host the website and all its related content (images, files, and other contents in content apps developed specifically for this) and to host content that we serve headless that is consumed by other source platforms.
  • Api Rest
  • Page translation
  • Multisite management
  • Management of informative messages to the user
  • Improve performance on heavily loaded content apps
  • Information and control of the livecopy actions carried out
I think that Magnolia is especially well trained to generate and manage multisite web pages and all their content. Regarding the scenario in which magnolia is less appropriate, I think it is directly related to the management of large volumes of content in the same content apps. Especially when sharing these contents via api rest.
January 11, 2022

Magnolia Interview

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Currently, I develop web pages with Magnolia. The problems that we find mainly are due to the way of storing magnolia since it constantly exceeds disk space constantly. However, the rest is satisfactory.
  • Functional development in Magnolia
  • Technical development in Magnolia
  • Maintenance at Magnolia
  • the interface
  • The usability in creating folders and pages
  • Information storage
It adapts perfectly to the creation of any web page, whether it be e-commerce, landings, etc.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The company where I work has been a Magnolia partner for almost a decade. I started working with the product more than 5 years ago and since then I have been involved in many different types of projects, covering customers in areas such as tourism, aviation, and public administration. My work with Magnolia consists of developing the functionality needed by each of these customers, doing version migrations, and solving the problems that we encounter.
  • Ease of page setup for user editors
  • Personalization of content based on the characteristics of the visiting user
  • Open source makes developers' lives easier
  • Intuitive interface
  • Use of JCR limits the amount of content that can be handled efficiently.
  • The latest version has made it more complicated to customize content apps than in previous versions.
  • It has a steep learning curve for new developers.
Magnolia is well suited for cases where Magnolia is going to be used to make web pages where an editor needs to make changes or edit the content on certain pages. In cases where you have a small volume of content and want to customize the content based on user characteristics. Also if you want to use it as headless. Magnolia does not fit when you want to use the CMS as a back-office or to manage a large amount of content that needs to be referenced as you would in a relational database. It is not suitable for content that is related to other content and has different types of content as children.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
our [development] team develops a headless solution for a tourism-sector Spanish company. We provide many endpoints for a front-end team that use them to consume with angular front end framework as front end solution and also we provide an interface in admin central magnolia's interface for a better [business usage].
  • fast data search
  • fast assets provide
  • huge structural data
  • UX
  • form interface ussage and composition
  • logotipe
Magnolia is well suited to use in huge content sites containers like Amazon, Netflix, or something like that. As well as is a very good solution for e-commerce, research solutions, and companies with huge data volume to use inside their sites. Also, it provides a very high secured solution as it's providing content safety mode with author-public instances.
January 10, 2022

Magnolia review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We build custom Magnolia applications for our clients, as Magnolia CMS has the following capabilities our clients need: Editing and viewing instances separation: Allowing publisher users to preview/modify content before public users Possibility of implementing custom workflows Possibility of having more than one public instance in order to achieve high availability Headless capacities Centralize the different content types in custom Magnolia Content Apps Possibility of serving different pages/components depending on the language of the user or region from which it connects
  • Custom workflows
  • Headless capabilities
  • Different Author / Public instances
  • Traits
  • Multi-site capabilities
  • Publishing mechanism is slow if the number of elements to be published is high
  • Allows only one content type per content app in the newest versions
  • Common problems with Lucene indexes
Magnolia is perfect for Building simple landing pages Building complex websites Providing a simple way to allow the marketing users to manage the information that will be displayed in the public pages Allowing different users (With different groups and roles) to edit the content at the same time, On the other hand, Magnolia is not so well-suited to, for example, build Intranets, since there are specific products for this case.
Return to navigation