Mailchimp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1903 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 251)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 31, 2020
Kilby Lungu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the contact list creation feature. I am able to enter individual details totally separately or I can use an Excel sheet. This is a great plus.
  • The idea of being able to schedule the timing of sending emails whenever I feel appropriate enables me to work as I please. Mailchimp has a provision that allows the user to release communications at a scheduled time, and that is especially helpful for me.
  • I also like the interoperability with my marketing automation and Spotify that enables me to target my email marketing efforts.
  • Landing page designs are too restrictive and have limited options.
  • I had a tough time when I first subscribed. Some of the templates in the free plan are very limited in design aesthetics.
Read Kilby Lungu's full review
October 20, 2020
Kristi R-C, CTS, CQT | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Templates help facilitate the layout
  • blasts can be set up ahead of time
  • Once you learn it - it's easy to use
  • Steep learning curve to get started
  • Wish there were more educational resources to help get is up to speed.
Read Kristi R-C, CTS, CQT's full review
January 13, 2021
Damini Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mailer design features - drag and drop with image and video embedding options
  • Pre-built templates are very helpful and has good design aesthetics
  • Mailchimp has increased the pricing lately which makes it unaffordable for startups and mid-size companies
  • Most of the templates and features are premium now
Read Damini Gandhi's full review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The workflows for our communications department are very efficient and easy to follow.
  • The analytics - open rates, trends, reports are very detailed and helpful.
  • For our industry, some of the language and functionality used is inappropriate (very sales-oriented, we provide private education and while this language is only used internally on the platform, it rubs some people the wrong way).
  • The benchmarking data for our industry is not applicable, but would be handy if it were.
Read this authenticated review
August 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Possibility to copy and paste the signup form into website to get new contacts divided by groups really helps the marketing administrators in their campaigns.
  • The customization to create the landing page helped us to create good call to action to get new leads.
  • Reports of the A/B test email marketing helped us understand which email was the best conversion.
  • When I was editing the layout of the signup form, I had difficulty using the colors of the branding. The tool could be easier for users to customize the signup form the way they like. There are many buttons and options and the creation is limited.
  • Many times I had to change the content on the email marketing creation page, as they do not process images in high quality and many icons, causing the email not to reach the recipient's address. So I had to simplify the email and make it lighter so that it was sent to the recipients.
Read this authenticated review
July 06, 2020
Freddy Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email automation, which contributes to improving marketing campaigns and promotions. It provides multiple templates that makes it much easier to manage the sending of pre-processed emails, according to each situation quickly and easily.
  • Database for contacts, importing various documents from wherever you are to always keep the database updated.
  • Expand our ability to communicate with clients and colleagues.
  • Optimization in the configuration and customization process of each aspect of the platform as I need and want it.
  • The process of removing a client from a specific campaign can be complicated, because it does not provide an effective search system to eliminate the user from all the campaigns where he is registered. It is necessary to review campaign by campaign to be able to remove it from each one of them. Mailchimp needs better tools.
  • The process of updating the customer list database is not automated at all, it can be annoying to manually review and update each list.
  • When it starts it can be difficult to know the functions of each tool, and it does not provide the tutorials or demos necessary to properly understand its use.
Read Freddy Stephen's full review
February 03, 2020
Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Contact list creation - this is a real strength because I can either enter individuals in separately or from a database or Excel spreadsheet.
  • The ability to time the release of communications is especially helpful. I am involved in a volunteer capacity and Mailchimp allows me to do the work I need to do when I want to do it - and then send it out at a predetermined time!
  • The templates are embedded in a hierarchy that doesn't make them hard to find - just not intuitive.
  • The formatting of the contacts is little clunky. If the information is input through Excel or a database template - no problem - but the individual entry submittal process could be streamlined a little - for example if any part of an address is input then the entire address must be input. We don't always have that.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
January 28, 2020
Valie Robbins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great tools to create custom invitations which stand out in a crowded field.
  • Easily schedule e-mail blasts for clients
  • Great analytics, which help with cleaning up databases and identifying prospects that might be overlooked by sales and marketing teams! Also by keeping databases clean - ensures that your client doesn't get grey listed and future e-mails end up in the their prospects spam folder.
  • Ease of use so that anyone can create a great invitation, schedule a blast, and get the results they are striving to achieve!
  • Creating the initial e-mail invitation was a little tricky at first. It took some time to figure out the tools.
  • An app for the phone would be great so that you can review blast results on the fly.
  • Grey listing and spam folders are becoming a big issue with the amount of e-mails that are being sent - clients are very concerned about their e-mails not getting to their prospects - would like to see more information regarding bounces so that we can assist our clients with keeping their databases in tiptop shape.
Read Valie Robbins's full review
April 27, 2020
Stella Olsson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The templates it offers are really good and easy to customize.
  • Their prices are very flexible, allowing the user to select the plan that best suits.
  • Mailchimp informs if an email was delivered correctly or not and if it was opened or not.
  • Its email editor is very comfortable and easy to use, allowing you to easily include images, audio, videos, etc.
  • The report generator is very easy to understand.
  • The interface is robust for new users.
  • They should include tutorials on the proper use of their tools as it is a bit frustrating trying to guess how it works.
  • Text formats are very limited.
  • Hopefully they include a form of mass addition of contacts to save time and not do it one by one.
  • The learning curve is a bit long when starting from scratch.
Read Stella Olsson's full review
March 20, 2020
Barbara Hinkle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Useful and necessary tools to improve web activity and sales.
  • Detailed panel to observe the procedure of the advertising sent.
  • It is possible to send mass emails.
  • It is possible to improve advertising in case it is not very well received by customers.
  • In some cases, advertising is lost and does not reach users or is simply lost in spam.
  • The panel can be improved by adding more tools like text, color palette.
Read Barbara Hinkle's full review
March 01, 2020
Len Gordon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For one, its free to use, so it's great to use it to grow and maintain your mailing.
  • It very easy to use no matter your skill level is and the tooltips are very clear and explained.
  • It boosts a very great list of tools to help to build and engage with an audience.
  • Some of the templates within the free and paid plan are very limited in design aesthetics
  • They could possibly add in some new features that support using your own email templates.
  • Would like to see more advanced email automation.
  • The costs mount up quickly once the emails start adding up in your lists and you might end up looking for a better deal to send your newsletters.
Read Len Gordon's full review
February 27, 2020
Brendon Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great list management tools
  • Decent onboarding process
  • The general structure of Mailchimp, navigating through the tools, is not intuitive.
  • Rich template design options mean hard-to-design options
Read Brendon Brown's full review
February 04, 2020
Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating a comprehensive list - Mailchimp integrates with literally everything under the sun, so its easy to use it to collect subscribers.
  • Creating and sending emails - Their template creation and email sending process is very simple.
  • The way Mailchimp's Setting page is set up is a little confusing to use.
  • Ability to edit the look of the ready Subscribe Forms Mailchimp provides.
Read Manan Vora's full review
June 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This software has amazing user interface. I can easily navigate through this application.
  • The deliverability of this software is extremely good. It delivers 100 percent emails without spamming.
  • Template editor of this software is very intuitive. It has all the tools which are required to make beautiful email templates.
  • Sometimes its sign-in annoys me because of authentication via OTP even if I sign in with the correct password.
  • It has a small number of pre-designed email templates.
  • It does not allow users to delete subscribers for a week or so after sending a campaign.
Read this authenticated review
February 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Audience tags--this has been such a great add-on in the toolkit.
  • Drag-and-drop email design--not every marketing mail system uses this kind of design editing tool; it's a timesaver, there are a lot of options. Adding graphics with captions and boxed text relieves me of a lot of formatting issues.
  • Issues with MS Outlook--because Outlook (so I've read and heard) depends on coding particular to MS Word, as opposed to more generic html-based formatting code, things can get really wonky in an email viewed in Outlook, such as text not wrapping properly around graphic images, horizontal line of images showing up vertically, etc. It's a coding issue. Believe me, my IT friends roll their eyes when we discuss this, and my non-tech clients' eyes glaze over when I try to explain why they should look at their test emails in their browsers or other mail software for a proper viewing rather than in Outlook.
  • Feedback tab interrupting the right scroll bar. What a pain to lose the scrollbar for a half-inch of screen area.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy and effective at creating campaigns and managing lists and respective segments.
  • Rich variety of professionally-done templates and powerful tools for fast customisation.
  • Text editing is cumbersome (e.g. no spell check, some quirks in formatting restrictions). It almost seems like they're a bit behind the market on that.
  • Some segmentation limitations (depending on how granular and how many segments you want)
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mailchimp makes it easy to add email and name information
  • There is plenty of room for contacts in the free version of Mailchimp
  • Learning the lingo in Mailchimp could be easier and more intuitive
  • Creating an email to send to multiple groups, or audiences, could be more user friendly.
  • There is too much trial and error to set up and send a simple email.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email marketing
  • Email automation
  • Reporting
  • Mailchimp is simple and easy to learn how to use.
  • Mailchimp is one of the more expensive email marketing softwares out there.
  • The free version is quite limited in terms of email automation.
  • Mailchimp has not updated its product offering much in the last few years.
Read this authenticated review
January 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Lets us know who opened the emails.
  • Provides analytics on campaigns that help towards future initiatives.
  • It can save templates to make it easier to resend emails.
  • Make it easier to edit the "to view in another browser" link.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User friendliness - Super easy to use which is a win for saving time
  • Free use - There's no catch on their free plan, and the amount of tools you have available within the free plan is more than most other email marketing platforms I looked into
  • Very basic templates - Although very user-friendly, the templates don't allow for much space to move from their original design
  • Steep Pricing - The free plan I'm on is great, but the minute I need to up my plan the numbers hike up pretty quickly
Read this authenticated review
March 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mailchimp is the best free software for email marketing for 2500 people or less.
  • Great reporting.
  • It is easy to learn and use.
  • The paid versions are very expensive.
  • Mailchimp has not been innovating very much and so it's competitors are coming out with better features and products.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (210)
8.5
Dynamic content (205)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (198)
7.9
Landing pages (151)
7.6
A/B testing (173)
7.8
Mobile optimization (210)
8.6
Email deliverability reporting (449)
8.8
List management (225)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (148)
7.7
Lead nurturing (2)
6.9
Lead scoring and grading (1)
10
Data quality management (1)
10
Automated sales alerts and tasks (1)
10
Calendaring (1)
10
Event/webinar marketing (1)
10
Social sharing and campaigns (2)
10.0
Social profile integration (1)
10
Dashboards (62)
7.7
Standard reports (223)
8.2
Custom reports (40)
7.3
API (2)
9.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (1)
10
Customizability (2)
6.3
Integration with Salesforce.com (2)
8.4
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (2)
8.4
Integration with SugarCRM (2)
8.4

What is Mailchimp?

Mailchimp is an all-in-one Marketing Platform for small businesses. The vendor says its goal is to help small businesses market smarter so they can grow faster. Mailchimp aims to be the backbone for customer relationships, with AI-powered, user-friendly tools. Mailchimp is designed to put the audience at the center so users can send marketing emails and automated messages, create targeted ad campaigns, build landing pages, send postcards, facilitate reporting and analytics, and sell online. The vendor reports that millions of businesses and individuals - from community organizations to Fortune 100 companies - use Mailchimp to connect with their audience with the right message, at the right time, in the right place. Founded in 2001 and based in Atlanta, GA, Mailchimp has 1000+ employees and is privately held.

Mailchimp Features

Email & Online Marketing Features

Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences

Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureStandard reports

Mailchimp Screenshots

Mailchimp Integrations

Mailchimp Competitors

Mailchimp Pricing

Starting Price: $10

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Mailchimp Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Live Chat

Mailchimp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android