Mailchimp Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1800 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 246)

Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Mailchimp to the Rescue

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Contact list creation - this is a real strength because I can either enter individuals in separately or from a database or Excel spreadsheet.
  • The ability to time the release of communications is especially helpful. I am involved in a volunteer capacity and Mailchimp allows me to do the work I need to do when I want to do it - and then send it out at a predetermined time!
  • The templates are embedded in a hierarchy that doesn't make them hard to find - just not intuitive.
  • The formatting of the contacts is little clunky. If the information is input through Excel or a database template - no problem - but the individual entry submittal process could be streamlined a little - for example if any part of an address is input then the entire address must be input. We don't always have that.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
Valie Robbins | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

MailChimp -- a great product that allows businesses of all markets compete!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great tools to create custom invitations which stand out in a crowded field.
  • Easily schedule e-mail blasts for clients
  • Great analytics, which help with cleaning up databases and identifying prospects that might be overlooked by sales and marketing teams! Also by keeping databases clean - ensures that your client doesn't get grey listed and future e-mails end up in the their prospects spam folder.
  • Ease of use so that anyone can create a great invitation, schedule a blast, and get the results they are striving to achieve!
  • Creating the initial e-mail invitation was a little tricky at first. It took some time to figure out the tools.
  • An app for the phone would be great so that you can review blast results on the fly.
  • Grey listing and spam folders are becoming a big issue with the amount of e-mails that are being sent - clients are very concerned about their e-mails not getting to their prospects - would like to see more information regarding bounces so that we can assist our clients with keeping their databases in tiptop shape.
Read Valie Robbins's full review
Megan Russell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

MailChimp is perfect for nonprofits and small businesses.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Email campaigns - the template builder is easy to use and easy to customize.
  • Email Automation - This feature is also easy to set up and base off of a date, a segment, a list or much more.
  • Something that is different and I really enjoy is that MailChimp sign up forms ask for birthdays, and you can set up email automation based on birthdays. for someone who is trying to do customer appreciation, having a built-in birthday date or automation option is so great.
  • I wish their wordpress plugin form was better. It's really not as pretty as other forms.
  • The template builder can sometimes be a little wonky, delays or spacing issues
Read Megan Russell's full review
Jessica Meadows Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

A funny name but a serious e-marketing solution!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to Import Contacts: MailChimp accepts a number of files and formats, so no matter where your contacts are currently, you'll likely be able to import them fairly quickly without much issue.
  • Customization options: There are templates to choose that can allow you to fairly easily make your design look like it's yours. If you happen to also have access to a graphic designer, then you can really take advantage of the customization options to make the design match your brand.
  • Analytics: Being able to review data points like open rates and click-thru has allowed us to improve our communications and reach more people.
  • Backend organization: I'm used to it now but initially it was very difficult to navigate the dashboard. I still get confused from time to time and have difficulty finding what I'm looking for. The organization just isn't very intuitive.
  • The payment structure and credit system are incredibly confusing. We use the free version but had at one point considered paying for the full version. We had difficulty understanding how many credits we needed and abandoned the idea.
Read Jessica Meadows Rich's full review
Vicki Lesage | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

MailChimp is easy to use and affordable -- you'll be up and running in no time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mobile-friendly email templates -- You can always trust that MailChimp's templates will work well across the most common email clients and devices. Much more efficient than hand-coding!
  • Easy-to-use WYSIWYG editors -- You can do almost anything you want in an email with MailChimp's easy WYSIWYG interface.
  • Customizing the sign-up process -- You can brand each page and make it look good while still keeping it streamlined.
  • I think the pop-ups (to encourage users to sign up to your mailing list) could have more flexibility in their design. I was designing one the other day and it had limited choices for the image sizes, so I had to play around with it quite a bit to get it to look good.
  • It's great that they now integrate with Facebook Ads but the reporting is really basic and I find it hard to make changes mid-campaign. For example, I have not been able to find aggregate stats -- I have to hover over the number of each day in the chart and add up the stats for the month. And you cannot extend a campaign more than 3 days before it ends, so you better remember to mark your calendar and update it before it ends with you!
  • The list segmenting is pretty basic. I can do a few of the things I want but nothing too complex at the same time.
Read Vicki Lesage's full review
Jason Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Send mass emails with ease with Mailchimp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sending email campaigns. It's extremely easy and efficient to create campaigns with templates or on your own, and repeat those campaigns so you don't have to recreate them every time.
  • Customer service. They actually only have chat and email support, but I've utilized the chat function numerous times and rarely waited more than a few minutes. Everyone I've chatted with has been extremely competent and a few folks actually went into my campaigns and helped me create them.
  • Analytics. It's very important to have the open and click rates of campaigns, and you can download the list of people who opened your campaigns and what links they clicked, and which links.
  • Phone support. While the chat function is extremely effective, it can be helpful with certain questions to speak with someone over the phone.
  • I'd like the ability to unsubscribe someone to all campaigns. Currently, if someone unsubscribes to a campaign, they will never receive that exact campaign again. But if their email address is on multiple lists or gets added on another list by someone who is unaware that they unsubscribed, that person will receive another email. Many recipients have been angered by this, telling me that the unsubscribed - which they did - but I have to explain that the process is not universal, and sometimes we forget to include the "exclude" list.
  • The payment structure goes by the number of email addresses that are stored on Mailchimp, so to stay below a certain billing threshold, I have to periodically delete lists of stored email addresses. This gets to be cumbersome because I regularly need to delete and re-upload many of the same lists of people.
Read Jason Carlage's full review
Ron Rothstain | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Professional and easy way to send to the masses!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use and updates to application have been very customer focused.
  • Love the amount of services you receive from them at absolutely no cost to you. You can add up to 2,000 subscribers for free.
  • Compatibility with our CRM and HubSpot which enables us to target our email marketing efforts.
  • Great customer service. Any time issues arose or questions needed to be addressed, their customer service team was very responsive and helpful.
  • Outstanding email analytics which allows us to measure many metrics for our email marketing campaign.
  • I wish that the uploaded files were easier to manage in that I would like to delete older versions of uploaded files that I no longer need. However, they are "layered" in the Content Manager section and I am not able to un-layer them to delete versions I do not need.
  • It can get expensive quickly, particularly if you have over 2,000 subscribers which we do (close to 5,000 subscribers).
  • Sometimes the formatting of an email newsletter-type communication can be tricky for a novice on Mailchimp, but after doing it once or twice, you get the hang of it and it becomes much easier.
Read Ron Rothstain's full review
Maria Clara Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

Great email platform for communications, testing and segmentation

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Segmentation, including dynamic lists
  • Robust drag and drop template interfaces
  • Server time is sometimes a problem
  • New validation email required every time you log in or security questions answered is tedious
Read Maria Clara Daly's full review
Stella Olsson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

Mailchimp offers a new experience in doing Email Marketing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The templates it offers are really good and easy to customize.
  • Their prices are very flexible, allowing the user to select the plan that best suits.
  • Mailchimp informs if an email was delivered correctly or not and if it was opened or not.
  • Its email editor is very comfortable and easy to use, allowing you to easily include images, audio, videos, etc.
  • The report generator is very easy to understand.
  • The interface is robust for new users.
  • They should include tutorials on the proper use of their tools as it is a bit frustrating trying to guess how it works.
  • Text formats are very limited.
  • Hopefully they include a form of mass addition of contacts to save time and not do it one by one.
  • The learning curve is a bit long when starting from scratch.
Read Stella Olsson's full review
Barbara Hinkle | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

Perfect for increasing traffic!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Useful and necessary tools to improve web activity and sales.
  • Detailed panel to observe the procedure of the advertising sent.
  • It is possible to send mass emails.
  • It is possible to improve advertising in case it is not very well received by customers.
  • In some cases, advertising is lost and does not reach users or is simply lost in spam.
  • The panel can be improved by adding more tools like text, color palette.
Read Barbara Hinkle's full review
Len Gordon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2020

Great for building an email list on a budget

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • For one, its free to use, so it's great to use it to grow and maintain your mailing.
  • It very easy to use no matter your skill level is and the tooltips are very clear and explained.
  • It boosts a very great list of tools to help to build and engage with an audience.
  • Some of the templates within the free and paid plan are very limited in design aesthetics
  • They could possibly add in some new features that support using your own email templates.
  • Would like to see more advanced email automation.
  • The costs mount up quickly once the emails start adding up in your lists and you might end up looking for a better deal to send your newsletters.
Read Len Gordon's full review
Manan Vora | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Great list builder for individual and small team entrepreneurs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Creating a comprehensive list - Mailchimp integrates with literally everything under the sun, so its easy to use it to collect subscribers.
  • Creating and sending emails - Their template creation and email sending process is very simple.
  • The way Mailchimp's Setting page is set up is a little confusing to use.
  • Ability to edit the look of the ready Subscribe Forms Mailchimp provides.
Read Manan Vora's full review
Michelle Messenger Garrett | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Mailchimp is the best for small business newsletters

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows you to easily design the newsletter and offers different templates. Very easy to drop in text and photos.
  • It is free as long as your list is less than 2,000 - which is really important to a small business owner on a budget.
  • You can set it up to send out a "welcome" message when new people sign up for the newsletter.
  • Hmmm...I really like the ease of use. I guess it could maybe automate more things - it could "learn" your habits and anticipate adding the date automatically, etc.
  • I wish it would be easier to replicate my monthly campaign.
  • I wish Mailchimp would add more ways to grow my list.
Read Michelle Messenger Garrett's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Bulk email giant - Mailchimp

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It offers a freemium plan, which is free up to a limited number of subscribers, generally 2000. Which is a good start for small organisations to begin with email marketing on a low budget.
  • It has one of the best custom email designing tool with lots of templates available, allowing us to design custom emails without wasting lots of time in the designing part.
  • It can easily handle large numbers of email receivers or subscribers (in their terminology). It helps medium and large organisations to stay away from chaos due to a large number of users.
  • Though it's free initially, for a large number of users its plans are so expensive. We have to burn our pockets if we have large numbers of subscribers to send marketing emails on a regular basis.
  • It still doesn't have perfect automation. Mailchimp has very good auto responders etc., but coming to automation part, it doesn't have required advanced automation.
  • The worst thing I found in Mailchimp is that emails sent via Mailchimp generally go directly in promotion tab of Gmail or even in spam sometimes. This affects the conversion ratio, as the conversion comes less than expected.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Renea Hanks | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Mailchimp Is Much More Than an Email Campaign Tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User friendly. Extremely easy to learn!
  • Pricing. It's free until your get your email list up which is very helpful for startups!
  • The templates are boring. Unless you are a designer or graphics artist, your emails will look very MailChimpish which makes the brain immediately say "Seen this before." which is totally what you DON'T want.
  • You can get suspended! If people keep say you are spam, even if they signed up and decided later they don't want it, you can get banned. Not fun.
Read Renea Hanks's full review
Sarah Bandy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Mailchimp - An Intuitive Email Marketing Option

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Design and templates are easy to manage and tweak to fit our messaging clearly.
  • Mailchimp makes it easy to schedule and see how often you send out email blasts to your lists to keep them engaged.
  • I found myself slightly frustrated by some of the design elements - some felt slightly clunky and I had to sift through some less than optimal design work.
  • I think the email address Add Contact form could be more streamlined.
Read Sarah Bandy's full review
Eric Chin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Mailchimp is an impeccable software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is a very customizable marketing automation software.
  • It is effective and time-saving thanks to its methods of mass emails, which allow us to send large amounts of emails in seconds.
  • Emails can be configured to activate at specific events.
  • It has a very good system of automation and creation of social digital marketing, also has a WYSIWYG email editor technology.
  • It does not have a system that allows visitors to follow our websites.
  • It should not be used in low-end equipment as it is impossible to send large numbers of emails in these.
  • It does not offer tools to evaluate potential clients.
Read Eric Chin's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (205)
8.5
Dynamic content (200)
7.8
Ability to test dynamic content (193)
7.9
Landing pages (146)
7.6
A/B testing (168)
7.8
Mobile optimization (205)
8.6
Email deliverability reporting (223)
8.8
List management (220)
8.3
Triggered drip sequences (144)
7.7
Lead nurturing (2)
7.0
Lead scoring and grading (1)
10
Data quality management (1)
10
Automated sales alerts and tasks (1)
10
Calendaring (1)
10
Event/webinar marketing (1)
10
Social sharing and campaigns (2)
10.0
Social profile integration (1)
10
Dashboards (62)
7.7
Standard reports (218)
8.2
Custom reports (40)
7.4
API (2)
9.0
Role-based workflow & approvals (1)
10
Customizability (2)
6.5
Integration with Salesforce.com (2)
8.5
Integration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM (2)
8.5
Integration with SugarCRM (2)
8.5

About Mailchimp

Mailchimp is an all-in-one Marketing Platform for small businesses. The vendor says its goal is to help small businesses market smarter so they can grow faster. Mailchimp aims to be the backbone for customer relationships, with AI-powered, user-friendly tools. Mailchimp is designed to put the audience at the center so users can send marketing emails and automated messages, create targeted ad campaigns, build landing pages, send postcards, facilitate reporting and analytics, and sell online. The vendor reports that millions of businesses and individuals - from community organizations to Fortune 100 companies - use Mailchimp to connect with their audience with the right message, at the right time, in the right place. Founded in 2001 and based in Atlanta, GA, Mailchimp has 1000+ employees and is privately held.

Mailchimp Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Has featureDynamic content
Has featureAbility to test dynamic content
Has featureLanding pages
Has featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Lead Management Features
Does not have featureLead nurturing
Does not have featureLead scoring and grading
Does not have featureData quality management
Does not have featureAutomated sales alerts and tasks
Campaign Management Features
Does not have featureCalendaring
Does not have featureEvent/webinar marketing
Social Media Marketing Features
Does not have featureSocial sharing and campaigns
Does not have featureSocial profile integration
Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Does not have featureCustom reports
Platform & Infrastructure Features
Does not have featureAPI
Does not have featureRole-based workflow & approvals
Does not have featureCustomizability
Does not have featureIntegration with Salesforce.com
Does not have featureIntegration with Microsoft Dynamics CRM
Does not have featureIntegration with SugarCRM

Mailchimp Screenshots

Mailchimp Integrations

Mailchimp Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Mailchimp Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Live Chat

Mailchimp Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android