TrustRadius
Mandrill is Mailchimp's transactional email software.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/oN/fT/QMDNWZT2PTTC.PNGA straight-forward, secure transactional email serviceMy company was tasked with building a coupon campaign for a large recycling firm, which required an affordable transactional email provider.,The integration with our proprietary platform was seamless, and the emails were delivered reliably with very low bounce-rates. The UI is clean and intuitive. It's a snap to create custom email templates. Their documentation is extremely well made and laid out.,We weren't pleased when they switched from a freemium model to require that you also use MailChimp; however, MailChimp itself is my preferred email service, so this wasn't a significant hindrance. They could have a more robust set of analytics available on-site, as opposed to leaving it to Google Analytics to do the heavy lifting, but it's hard to fault them for not trying to re-invent the wheel here.,7,It's a transactional email service, so it did its job. It cost us nothing outside of engineering time (which was minimal) so any return is considered a net positive.,Mailgun,Atlassian Confluence, Harvest HCM Compensation Management Software, JIRA SoftwareA Product worthy of your Transactional Emails, if you don't mind the pricing structure tied to MailChimpWe have used Mandrill for our internal email sending and also transactional emails. We have it wired up to our CRM and it has always been a trustworthy solution for sending emails. Mandrill has a great user interface and developer experience with integrations into many other online and web solutions. Even though we started using it when it was free, we decided to remain on the platform during and after the transition to paid because we were so comfortable and tied to their platform.,Search and Logs of Sent Emails Integrations and Client Libraries Templates and Merge Fields (almost as flexible as MailChimp) API is fantastic.,Pricing, although fair, is unfortunately tied into MailChimp and not a standalone service anymore. Sometimes support is iffy via their ticket system.,8,We rely on it to get our emails to their destination. This it does great. And when there is a question, the logs show us what we need. It has sped up development time and offered a great deal of value to our internal tooling and products. The lock-in we experienced was a little tough when they forced it behind the MailChimp paid account, but we are overall mostly happy with the product still.,Mailgun and SparkPost,Kendo UI, React, BitbucketEasy to use yet powerful toolWe use Mandrill for automated email sending. It doesn't require much attention as it is reliable and works without interruptions. It is easy to check statuses of the sent emails in Mandrill quickly.,Easy to use Reliable Great API,You can only use Mandrill if you have a Mailchimp account Analytic part could be stronger,9,Mandrill ensured high deliverability of automatic emails sent,Slack, Teamgate CRM, ZendeskMandrill Power!We use Madrill for automated email sending from internal and external resources generated by task and actions in our software service. If we need to send someone a password reset email, the action is carried out by Mandrill once the request has been made. This also allows for our team to track the emails sent as well. There are a number of functions that our software provides that include email sending. Mandrill gets this done and gives us eyes on delivery and receiving.,Mandrill is reliable. We rarely find that the information in Mandrill is incorrect. Mandrill emails can be tracked from start to finish. We can have full view of the lifespan of an email sent using Mandrill. Automation is game changing for our team. The ability to have email action generated from a prompt on our site is awesome!,We've had moments (very few), where emails have gotten "clogged" up and not sent out. Once the issue was resolved, the emails eventually were sent out. Would love to see the metrics made less clunky. Kind of a bummer that you can't get Mandrill on its own. You have to buy mailchimp first.,9,We didn't have to build and support our own email generator. The API integration saves us a lot of time. Having a reliable email generation gives our users a consistent experience when using our product. When someone says that the email never sent, we can check and verify that to be true or not. Sometimes the emails just go to the spam box.,Asana, Zendesk, OlarkGoing Transactional with MandrillMandrill has a great API that allowed our microservice based system to enable email communication on a transactional basis. Tools to monitor and debug as well as consistent availablity made it a great solution for third party email functionality.,Dependable - we never encountered down time with the service in the three I developed against it. Scalable - our typical use was several messages a second to bursts of 100/s. This level of requests was easily processed by the system. There were rare cases where there were delays of upwards of 10 minutes for messages to be delivered but it was always very rare. Well documented - the API has very good documentation. It's a bit quirky in some implementations but the documentation makes it easy to implement.,Logging - understandably due to the volume of messages the system processes it would be a challenge to log messages older than the current few hours. But it would be ideal if there were webhooks for error events to allow for the creation of custom error notifications. UI - A slick admin UI but very limited in some areas. MailChimp - it's unfortunate that Mandrill has been brought back from its autonomous state to now being just a part of the large MailChimp suite of email products. I worry it's going to get lost if it's not a part of the MailChimp vision.,8,As our user base grew to 5 million users that needed transactional messaging Mandrill easily scaled to sending 100/sec message rates.,
Unspecified
Mandrill
20 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Mandrill Reviews

Mandrill
20 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 20 vetted Mandrill reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-8 of 8)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kyle Reichelt profile photo
June 26, 2018

Mandrill Review: "A straight-forward, secure transactional email service"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company was tasked with building a coupon campaign for a large recycling firm, which required an affordable transactional email provider.
  • The integration with our proprietary platform was seamless, and the emails were delivered reliably with very low bounce-rates.
  • The UI is clean and intuitive. It's a snap to create custom email templates.
  • Their documentation is extremely well made and laid out.
  • We weren't pleased when they switched from a freemium model to require that you also use MailChimp; however, MailChimp itself is my preferred email service, so this wasn't a significant hindrance.
  • They could have a more robust set of analytics available on-site, as opposed to leaving it to Google Analytics to do the heavy lifting, but it's hard to fault them for not trying to re-invent the wheel here.
It is completely appropriate as a transactional service if you're already using MailChimp for marketing. If you're not already using MailChimp, then you're probably going to want to look at another service like Mailgun.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
No photo available
June 27, 2018

Mandrill Review: "A Product worthy of your Transactional Emails, if you don't mind the pricing structure tied to MailChimp"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Mandrill for our internal email sending and also transactional emails. We have it wired up to our CRM and it has always been a trustworthy solution for sending emails. Mandrill has a great user interface and developer experience with integrations into many other online and web solutions. Even though we started using it when it was free, we decided to remain on the platform during and after the transition to paid because we were so comfortable and tied to their platform.
  • Search and Logs of Sent Emails
  • Integrations and Client Libraries
  • Templates and Merge Fields (almost as flexible as MailChimp)
  • API is fantastic.
  • Pricing, although fair, is unfortunately tied into MailChimp and not a standalone service anymore.
  • Sometimes support is iffy via their ticket system.
I would say that this question is conditional. If you already have MailChimp and are happy with it and need Transactional email, then Mandrill is a no-brainer. Outside of already being a MailChimp Customer, it's a little harder to recommend. The service is fantastic for what it provides and It is hard to fault it when we rely on it so much and it has never let us down.
Read this authenticated review
Vitalija Golceva profile photo
October 04, 2017

Mandrill Review: "Easy to use yet powerful tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mandrill for automated email sending. It doesn't require much attention as it is reliable and works without interruptions. It is easy to check statuses of the sent emails in Mandrill quickly.
  • Easy to use
  • Reliable
  • Great API
  • You can only use Mandrill if you have a Mailchimp account
  • Analytic part could be stronger
Mandrill is great for your transactional emails as it is easy to use, highly reliable and a powerful tool.
Read Vitalija Golceva's full review
No photo available
August 02, 2017

User Review: "Mandrill Power!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Madrill for automated email sending from internal and external resources generated by task and actions in our software service. If we need to send someone a password reset email, the action is carried out by Mandrill once the request has been made. This also allows for our team to track the emails sent as well. There are a number of functions that our software provides that include email sending. Mandrill gets this done and gives us eyes on delivery and receiving.
  • Mandrill is reliable. We rarely find that the information in Mandrill is incorrect.
  • Mandrill emails can be tracked from start to finish. We can have full view of the lifespan of an email sent using Mandrill.
  • Automation is game changing for our team. The ability to have email action generated from a prompt on our site is awesome!
  • We've had moments (very few), where emails have gotten "clogged" up and not sent out. Once the issue was resolved, the emails eventually were sent out.
  • Would love to see the metrics made less clunky.
  • Kind of a bummer that you can't get Mandrill on its own. You have to buy mailchimp first.
Mandrill is great for using the API features to create automated email functions for our system's users. It's completely white labeled to our product, making it smooth and easy for our users. We have the ability to track all emails sent, as well as customize any email sent and what triggers the emails to send.

If you have no use for MailChimp, Madrill is a little on the pricey side, since it's not available "a la carte". The interface is a bit clunky, but it gets the job done and is very reliable.
Read this authenticated review
Darren Douglas Lee profile photo
February 27, 2017

User Review: "Going Transactional with Mandrill"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mandrill has a great API that allowed our microservice based system to enable email communication on a transactional basis. Tools to monitor and debug as well as consistent availablity made it a great solution for third party email functionality.
  • Dependable - we never encountered down time with the service in the three I developed against it.
  • Scalable - our typical use was several messages a second to bursts of 100/s. This level of requests was easily processed by the system. There were rare cases where there were delays of upwards of 10 minutes for messages to be delivered but it was always very rare.
  • Well documented - the API has very good documentation. It's a bit quirky in some implementations but the documentation makes it easy to implement.
  • Logging - understandably due to the volume of messages the system processes it would be a challenge to log messages older than the current few hours. But it would be ideal if there were webhooks for error events to allow for the creation of custom error notifications.
  • UI - A slick admin UI but very limited in some areas.
  • MailChimp - it's unfortunate that Mandrill has been brought back from its autonomous state to now being just a part of the large MailChimp suite of email products. I worry it's going to get lost if it's not a part of the MailChimp vision.
Any system that requires transactional email message functionality as an external service. The benefits of a well managed and vetted server to maintain reputation as well as being reliability is well worth the effort needed to integrate towards the API specs.
Read Darren Douglas Lee's full review
Jim Rubenstein profile photo
February 24, 2017

Mandrill: "Great service - easy to integrate, lots of features"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Mandrill is used 100% by our engineering department. Most everyone else probably doesn't know what it is or how it works, unless they've heard engineers talking about it.

Our use-case for mandrill is to send transactional e-mails to users as needed across our several platforms. Examples would be email invitations to resources in our application, forgot password/password reset requests, individual account updates and alerts, etc. We also use it to send higher volume marketing messages that are triggered by specific actions taken on our properties. Mandrill makes it easy to integrate to your existing software and send these types of emails quickly.

  • Ease of integration.
  • Availability of API logs and email send history.
  • Email deliverability.
  • The rate-limit system can be troubling. If you are switching providers and already have a large e-mail volume, you're going to want to transition slowly. The per-hour send limits are initially very low, and if you have any deliverability or complaint hiccups, they will plummet quickly. The Mandrill support staff is very helpful in this area - they will not (and claim that they can not) manipulate send limits for any account at any time for any reason.
  • Billing is combined in with a paid MailChimp subscription, which didn't used to be the case.
  • No free tier.

Mandrill has got a lot of features that most people will find perfectly adequate. Their deliverability is great, and their management interface (while not visually stunning) provides all the information and configuration options you're likely going to need. For these reasons, it's a good option for most people.


My main complaints have to do with how they changed their billing practices in 2016, removing the free tier, and bundling the service with a paid MailChimp subscription. If you're not already paying for a MailChimp subscription, there are other services that offer 12,000-25,000 emails, per month, for free.


My other gripe is the rate-limit issue. If for any reason users start complaining about your messages, your rate limit (number of messages you can send per hour) will be slashed dramatically. This is for a good reason, but the limits look to be very strict, and they have no issue with taking your account from 10,000 messages an hour to 150 messages an hour. This can absolutely kill a SaaS provider, and they are 100% unwilling to make concessions.

Read Jim Rubenstein's full review
Josh Holloway profile photo
February 24, 2017

Mandrill Review: "Rock-solid transactional email with strong MailChimp integration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business used Mandrill as an outbound email infrastructure for our entire organization. Our primary use case was as a robust transactional email platform for sending notifications and newsletters to new and existing users. We used the Mandrill API and SMTP services and integrated them in with Wordpress and a custom-built form engine to send messages to users and internally to our own team as notifications. Mandrill replaced a free but flaky transactional email platform with one that was much more reliable and easy to troubleshoot and report on.
  • Mandrill is extremely reliable. We switched from using a platform that was very hit-or-miss, but we never had a single deliverability issue with Mandrill's transactional API. Every email was sent reliably and quickly.
  • Mandrill's reporting and debugging features made it easy to ensure that all our messages were getting delivered to the right place in a timely manner. In fact, Mandrill's tools were so robust that we used it as an end-around way of debugging another failing service we were using.
  • Mandrill is a very affordable add-on to an existing MailChimp account. Adding an extra layer of reliability was a no-brainer, and made the cost essentially negligible to our organization.
  • Mandrill used to be a standalone service, but now requires a paid MailChimp account to use. This is unfortunate for users of other email platforms.
  • Mandrill's analytics sometimes leave a bit to be desired. The interface is nice and clean, but drilling down into deep analytics can be cumbersome.
  • Mandrill lacks a mobile app similar to the ones offered by competing transaction email platforms.
If you are already a paid MailChimp user or considering moving to that platform, Mandrill is an obvious choice for your transactional email approach thanks to its high reliability, ease of use, and powerful debugging tools. If you're not an existing MailChimp customer, however, the additional cost of a MailChimp account plus Mandrill message blocks can be prohibitively expensive versus other platforms, but should not be ruled out completely.
Read Josh Holloway's full review
No photo available
February 24, 2017

Mandrill Review: "Transactionally gaining transactions"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mandrill is the platform we use to send Cart Recovery and other transactional emails for clients who use MailChimp. Prior to its integration directly into the MailChimp account, we used it for clients across Email Service Providers. Depending on the level of service, this could be implementation of Mandrill, usage assistance/education, or even direct control of the account and campaigns on behalf of the client.
  • Enables transactional email sending via MailChimp which opens up a ton of communication opportunities via Order Confirmation, Cart Recovery, or other transactional emails.
  • Monitors sub-accounts send reputation and notifies of high bounce/rejection rates.
  • Has a very friendly, usable UI and enables smaller companies to dedicate resources to transactional emails without as much setup work as other transactional platforms.
  • The platform is now limited to only MailChimp users whereas before it was open to anyone.
  • There's not a lot of support for advanced merge tag usage or using dynamic data in transactional emails.
Well obviously Mandrill is well suited if you are a MailChimp client looking to send transactional emails. The most obvious benefit is the ability to send things like Cart Recovery emails, which are large revenue generating campaigns, to anyone who abandons a cart, not just people who are subscribed in your MailChimp account. Without Mandrill, MailChimp would have no way of accomplishing that type of transactional email.
Read this authenticated review

Mandrill Scorecard Summary

About Mandrill

Mandrill is Mailchimp's transactional email software.
Categories:  Transactional Email

Mandrill Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No