MariaDB Reviews

43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

MariaDB: good OLTP db

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Vital db for quite a large number of our applications used internally and externally. The database is used for some management tools used by the infrastructure team. Externally it's being used for reporting to our customers as well as holding some of the metadata. MariaDB is tied into Galera which also helps out considerably for high availability.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

MariaDB: solid DB with nice scaleability and open source sensibility

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MariaDB is being used for all our academic computing and research projects at Pomona College where an relational database is needed. The problem that is solves for us is that we can get projects and development up quick on MariaDB without having to have to worry about complex DBA stuff or dealing with expensive licences. Lot's of out online infrastructure uses MariaDB and most anything that is currently on MySQL will be moved to MariaDB.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Set developers free to create high-performance applications with MariaDB.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MariaDB to host databases for applications used by both employees and customers. It is managed and hosted by IT, but is used to host data for a wide variety of mission-critical services. Because MariaDB is free software, we are able to use it without some of the licensing concerns that we face with other database systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

MariaDB Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MariaDB is being used across our entire organization for various databases. Various different teams use MariaDB and rely on it to maintain their backend application. We implement monitoring and metrics for MariaDB to ensure we are getting the best performance out of our databases. MariaDB can be replicated on other servers for high availability
Read this authenticated review
Dan Mahoney | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

MariaDB vs. MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MariaDB is being used across a division of the company (Aviation division). It is the primary database server for our internal business tools.
Read Dan Mahoney's full review
Stênio Pereira Filho | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Great Database server with free license and many features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

MariaDB actually is used in our Eduroam Authentication Service thats provide authentication to +200 thousand local wifi users. It is being used as database server in other important service called Stoa, that is a big social collaborative net and learning platform used by students and teachers. Security is a special focus for ours developers and we happy with MariaDB. When some critical security issue is discovered, we receive immediately a new version of MariaDB to get the fix.
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
Andrew Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2017

MariaDB Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use MariaDB for monitoring solutions and an open source project. It's easy to use and I can always find great support. I also have it in a replicated scenario so if something were to happen then I have a backup. This is a great product and would definitely recommend it for someone trying to learn new things!
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
Casey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

MariaDB > MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're currently using MariaDB to store flattened data from other various sources for quick searching. It addresses the problem of needing to work with data from disparate sources.
Read Casey Smith's full review
Andy G Teasdale | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2016

Maria DB Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Maria DB was utilised as a data storage tool for asset and geo calibration data. On its own, Maria DB would have struggled to meet the requirements of the users in question as they did not have sufficient experience in using command line. However Maria DB was successfully leveraged using the front UI of Heidi SQL.
Read Andy G Teasdale's full review
Rytis Slatkevičius | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2016

Drop-in replacement for MySQL, but without crashes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use MariaDB as a drop-in replacement for MySQL. We benefit from the fact that it does not require changing the client side at all - we maintain some legacy applications that would not be easy (or even possible!) to change. At the same time, we benefit from the performance and stability upgrades that MariaDB offers over MySQL.
Read Rytis Slatkevičius's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

SQL database you can count on

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used in both internal applications and also in applications and services that are sold to external customers. The software that is being developed in-house uses MariaDB as a database and it is also used when the software is deployed to clustered production environments. MariaDB works as a free and open solution for software that requires a database to function.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

MariaDB implemetation first phase

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Engineering department uses MariaDB for its OLTP system. It solves the problem we had with NoSQL databases to give us an ACID compliant reliable database storage engine.
Read this authenticated review

About MariaDB

MariaDB Platform is an enterprise open source database for transactional, analytical or hybrid transactional/analytical processing at scale. By preserving historical data and optimizing it for real-time analytics, all while continuing to process transactions, MariaDB Platform provides businesses with the means to create competitive advantages and monetize data – everything from providing data-driven customers with actionable insight to empowering them with self-service analytics.
Categories:  Open-Source Database

MariaDB Competitors

MariaDB Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No