MariaDB Reviews

43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Anson Abraham | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

MariaDB: good OLTP db

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Fast writes. Writes are fast, where it depends on the hardware.
  • Reads are fast. Putting into memory is easy.
  • Functions and procedures are easy to implement.
  • Paritioning is nicely implemented.
  • Bloating. Can't reduce the size of idx log file, especially when data is truncated from tables. Space is not reclaimed. Need to find way to "shrink" file.
  • Writes are dependent on hardware. If hardware isn't great, writes will be effected. If that can still be solved through software.
  • Flushing of cache data is not as fast as it should be. There can be cases of malformed data.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

MariaDB: solid DB with nice scaleability and open source sensibility

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • MariaDB does well with PHP or Python (django) in a web environment. Developers are able to work quickly.
  • MariaDB is extremely well documented and has a gigantic support community. If you need ask a question on how to do things you can go to many placces online and find answers quickly.
  • MariaDB is fast! Queries with tens of thousands of rows are quick.
  • MariaDB is highly compatible with Oracle's MySQL. Basically the same thing but more open and with a brighter future.
  • With MariaDB it is so easy to import and export data, and backups are a cinch. This saves me so much time as compared to other RDBMS.
  • I can honestly sat that there is no area where MariaDB needs improvement. Nothing is hard to use, the learning curve is just the nature of the product. I see no missing functionality, add ting things would only be unwanted bloat.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Set developers free to create high-performance applications with MariaDB.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Reliability - MariaDB handles heavy usage loads well for high-traffic applications.
  • Easy Administration - For those who are familiar with MySQL, MariaDB is easy to administer and configure.
  • Cost - MariaDB is free to use.
  • Driver Support - Some third party applications use database drivers that cause unexplained slowness with MariaDB. This can be worked around by using the MySQL drivers, but it's not clear what causes the problem in the first place.
  • Support - While online communities are helpful in diagnosing problems, there isn't as much professional documentation/support available for MariaDB as some of the other major database options.
  • Data Visualization - It would be helpful if there were more built in options for analyzing statistics and generating reports.
Read this authenticated review
Feng Cai | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2019

Easy and simple RDMBS based on an open-sourced platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Standard RDMBS which runs on an open-sourced platform
  • Performance is enough for small to medium-sized applications
  • Low cost
  • Within our organization we put so much effort into maintaining software security, do we believe MariaDB should handle the security patch better.
  • Certain that join performance could improve
  • Support model is still a concern for mission critical applications
Read Feng Cai's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

MariaDB Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Stores data
  • Backwards compatible with MySQL
  • Opensource
  • Simple to setup
  • Easy query language
  • Query language doesn’t support working with arrays.
  • Doesn’t support full outer joins.
  • Not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Mahoney | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2018

MariaDB vs. MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are seeing more security releases than we did when we were running MySQL
  • Very large queries complete more quickly on MariaDB than they do on MySQL
  • Setting up Master-Master replication is more straightforward in MariaDB than it is in MySQL
  • MariaDB doesn't yet have a Memcached interface
  • CHECKSUM TABLE can give different results in MariaDB than in MySQL
Read Dan Mahoney's full review
Parry Ghuman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2018

Easy to store data with minimum CPU resources

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It gives better performance with a large amount of data.
  • Easy to switch from SQL database.
  • Help to take backups for integration and testers.
  • Hard to implement relational queries.
  • The graphical user interface should be more attractive.
  • It does not show or allow to add a filter to the execution plan.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Stênio Pereira Filho | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Great Database server with free license and many features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Synchronous multi-master cluster that permits to develop high availability applications
  • Compatible with applications developed to MySQLDB.
  • Not much modification required
  • Quicker security releases. You don't need to wait about 2 or 3 months to security patches.
  • MariaDB is developed fully in the open: all development decisions can be reviewed and debated on a public mailing list of in the public bug tracker
  • We still do not have confidence in using MariaDB in our administrative systems because we do not have experience to use it in critical systems
  • We can consider that It is developed mainly by a small company and the future of MariaDB maybe is uncertain (!) (?).
  • On the other hands, we didn't find other cons of this software
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
Casey Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

MariaDB > MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It has many speed improvements over MySQL.
  • It offers better time precision over MySQL.
  • It adheres to open source methodologies and testing, which MySQL has moved away from since Oracle took it over.
  • It could use a memcached interface.
  • Although it is traditionally thought of as a binary drop-in replacement for MySQL, some incompatibilities have come up since version 5.1
Read Casey Smith's full review
Rytis Slatkevičius | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2016

Drop-in replacement for MySQL, but without crashes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The primary reason for me to migrate from MySQL to MariaDB was its stability. I experience more than one crash with data corruption on MySQL's standard MyISAM and InnoDB; I haven't seen any with MariaDB.
  • I love progress reporting for ALTER TABLE queries. In MySQL you would be facing a long running ALTER TABLE query and have no way to know when it finishes. With MariaDB you see the progress in the process list (especially important if there's a boss breathing down your neck!)
  • I haven't done significant benchmarks, but MariaDB seems faster than MySQL. I think it is mostly evident when using subqueries.
  • MariaDB has added a lot of extra features over MySQL. However, I think one in particular is still missing - and really, just the one - an ability to compute median values from the data. I miss it in my work quite often.
Read Rytis Slatkevičius's full review
Brandon Cluff | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2016

MariaDB Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A bunch of third party storage engines.
  • Various performance enhancements.
  • Parallel replication and multi-source replication.
  • The future of MariaDB is uncertain. It is developed mainly by a small company that may not have as strong a future as Oracle. There have been and will continue to be MySQL improvements that will never make it into MariaDB.
  • MariaDB has basically forked off of MySQL 5.5, and it will not acquire all the features of MySQL 5.6 or future releases.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

SQL database you can count on

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to switch to it from MySQL. No client side re-configuration or re-programming is needed.
  • Developed by open community.
  • Widely supported in all environments and software.
  • It's not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL (especially newer versions). However I've never encountered problems with this.
  • Could have some UI tools incorporated into it like its competitors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

MariaDB implemetation first phase

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gives us the flexibility to design data structures which can be joined to give data served by our APIs.
  • Provides us options to use multiple storage engines based on the data being stored.
  • Replication technology can definitely improve. Currently we face lot of issues with replication causing table locks.
  • Provide better troubleshooting tools out of the box, for example a comprehensive GUI like SSMS for SQL Server.
  • Alter table and add indexing is an overhead on large tables which causes replication and storage issues.
Read this authenticated review

About MariaDB

MariaDB Platform is an enterprise open source database for transactional, analytical or hybrid transactional/analytical processing at scale. By preserving historical data and optimizing it for real-time analytics, all while continuing to process transactions, MariaDB Platform provides businesses with the means to create competitive advantages and monetize data – everything from providing data-driven customers with actionable insight to empowering them with self-service analytics.
Categories:  Open-Source Database

MariaDB Competitors

MariaDB Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No