Matillion Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 30, 2020
Matthew Burr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) is built around the Microsoft ecosystem; we needed something that was either "ecosystem-agnostic" or focused on AWS, which Matillion is. SSIS has very limited ability to parameterize jobs/packages compared to Matillion, reducing the reusability of jobs/packages.

Pentaho was too difficult to set up, and was also relatively limited in its parameterization, so that jobs weren't as reusable.

Ultimately, we select Matillion for its ease of use, its ability to create reusable jobs, its fit for our ecosystem, and its cost.
Read Matthew Burr's full review
November 24, 2020
Sudarshan Kothari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Matillion offers the unique capability of digital platform connectors (API connectors) and special functionality for Snowflake (which is our primary database). Also various sources including AWS S3, sFTP and various databases connection. In Pricing, the matillion option has economical than Informatica with our usage and Talend doesn't resonate well with flexibility, which we were looking for.
Read Sudarshan Kothari's full review
August 14, 2020
Britton Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I did not make the purchase decision, but Data Services has a very high upfront cost and is not cloud-native not *was* Snowflake capable (it may be now). It's a good piece of software though.
Read Britton Gray's full review
August 13, 2020
Hyrum Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used Airflow for a year before switching to Matillion. We switched to Matillion because the Airflow servers were not stable, and we didn't have any in-house expertise that could manage the Linux OS which Airflow is built on. We were constantly frustrated by the fact that we had to wait for a consultant whenever we wanted to manage one of the servers, or if something was down we had to wait for someone to fix it. Also, Airflow doesn't have a GUI that is drag and drop. It is a lot more work to manage the flow of the scripts in Airflow, and requires a lot more explanation, especially for an entry level data engineer. There is a lot more coding in Airflow, which is fine if you are a good coder. However, Matillion offers a bigger tool set for those who just want to focus on building an ETL pipeline, and don't care to do a lot of coding.
Read Hyrum Ward's full review
October 06, 2020
Adel Helal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It is much easier to use in terms of GUI capabilities. The only reason we would use an ETL tool other than our own manually written SQL scripts, is to be able to allow other engineers to use it without having one domain expert stuck on the inner working of complex scripts. So the GUI is essential for that, otherwise we wouldn't bother considering an off the shelf product.
Read Adel Helal's full review
October 05, 2020
Dan Reiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have direct experience with a number of ELT tools: SAS, Informatica, Pentaho, and others.
Matillion's ability to interface directly with Google BigQuery, the quality of its design, and the ability to be immediately productive made it the only product in the marketplace that we evaluated for this effort.
Read Dan Reiland's full review
October 01, 2020
Paul Cebulski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It's all in the Google ecosystem so integration with various offerings from Google is seamless. We can connect to various Google products with very little extra config.
Read Paul Cebulski's full review
September 08, 2020
Viswanath Manne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

If you choose the Pentaho community edition, you need to take care of all deployment, server costs, etc.
I'm not sure how much an Enterprise Pentaho Edition costs though. In the case of Matillion, deployment is handled seamlessly, so it makes it ready to use. At the same time, you might feel there are good features missing in Matillion compared to Pentaho.
Read Viswanath Manne's full review
September 03, 2020
Aleksa Topalović | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Before the ETL tool we made the decision to stick to Redshift as a database. Compared to listed products (that I used) I would say that the decision was easy if we consider the sync with AWS and Redshift, cloud-based solution, team collaboration, built-in scheduling, and monitoring.
Read Aleksa Topalović's full review
August 29, 2020
Antonello Supino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Pentaho was used initially but the support was terrible. It was taking years to fix bugs and the scheduler was buggy, and it took an eternity to get the issue with the misfired job on the quartz Java scheduler to become made reliable. Informatica is a great tool that was considered, but Matillion was chosen as it is younger, cheaper and specific to Redshift. Jenkins is another tool we used. It is very reliable and free, but it was so difficult to create a simple and clear workflow to understand.
Read Antonello Supino's full review
August 26, 2020
Andy Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

It has a drag-&-drop graphical UI, which makes it easy to connect all the components together. It's very fast to set up from cloud marketplace. It supports many data sources and it also provides a customizable data source component.
Read Andy Lai's full review
August 16, 2020
Daniel Zielinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SQL Server Integration Services was the only application that we examined since most of our primary data sources are built in the Microsoft environment. Matillion's ease of use and cloud-based architecture allows our team to have a single entry point to examine the most recent version of code and make modifications to it. Matillion seamlessly integrates with Snowflake and is a much easier product to work with, especially from a source control perspective.
Read Daniel Zielinski's full review
August 14, 2020
Avishua Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Similar simple GUI but Matillion's is much cleaner, easier to manage and debug, and easier to connect to cloud databases. Matillion is also much faster.
Read Avishua Stein's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Matillion provided much more flexibility than the other products we tested, at a much lower price point. Other products, in my view, had a cleaner/simpler UI but I also felt that they offered much less functionality. A key design pattern we had to deliver was to perform delta loads on the warehouse (i.e. updating only those records updated in the database since the last execution). Some other tools seemed to assume that you were accessing data from transactional databases where records were not updated, only ever created. This meant that we could not use them to deliver our Warehouse.

Other tools that did have equivalent flexibility/functionality were a lot more expensive than Matillion.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At that time, ~3 years ago, none of the competitors were as easy to start using as Matillion. As our team was not so experienced with ETL, Matillion was the best and easiest way to get our hands dirty with defining pipelines.
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Matillion is cloud-native, therefore it doesn't need virtual machines to set up. It is easier to use some of them. It always does query pushdown, while other ones don't'. It is integrated with Snowflake, while other ETLs need to use workarounds in order to perform the same steps.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Microsoft SSIS in the past to collect, transform, and organize data. SSIS is harder to learn the details of. Additionally, it is harder to follow and understand. SSIS documentation is lacking and does not have relevant documentation in the product. You must google everything.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Matillion easily integrates with Snowflake which is a huge selling point. It is also affordable fro the amount of data source connections that it comes with.
Read this authenticated review
August 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Matillion is very initutive and easy to learn, when compared to other tools. GUI is simple, not crowded, support is awesome
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (86)
8.3
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (53)
7.5
Simple transformations (87)
8.7
Complex transformations (85)
7.6
Data model creation (34)
7.6
Metadata management (41)
6.6
Business rules and workflow (75)
7.4
Collaboration (75)
6.8
Testing and debugging (77)
6.2
feature 1 (4)
8.2
Integration with data quality tools (23)
6.6
Integration with MDM tools (21)
6.3

What is Matillion?

Matillion is data transformation for cloud data warehouses. According to the vendor, only Matillion is purpose-built for Amazon Redshift, Snowflake, and Google BigQuery enabling businesses to achieve new levels of simplicity, speed, scale, and savings.

Quickly develop custom Transformation jobs by combining Filters, Joins, Aggregates, Calculators, Ranks, as well as more complex transformations such as Rankings, window calculations, and change-detection by dragging and dropping these onto a canvas GUI. Use Orchestration features to automate your ETL workflows with scheduling, notifications and alerting, and control flow.

Once your jobs are built, run them with confidence with component level validation and data sampling. For any custom or unique needs, Matillion also has Bash and Python Script components giving you the ultimate extensibility and flexibility.

Shared Job templates, Dynamic and Grid variables, and Version control help your development teams share resources across your Matillion instance.

Enterprise customers benefit from additional auditing and permissions, automatic job documentation, data lineage and more. Learn more about enterprise features here.

Each product comes with a set of warehouse specific features that help you get the most out of the platform. See our Product Feature pages on matillion.com for more information.



Categories:  Data Integration

Matillion Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging

Matillion Screenshots

Matillion Videos (6)

Matillion Integrations

Matillion Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Billed directly via cloud marketplace on an hourly basis, with annual subscriptions available depending on the customer's cloud data warehouse provider.

Matillion Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matillion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English