Matillion Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 86)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 30, 2020
Matthew Burr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

We were able to get up and running with Matillion within a month. With no real training in the tool, we were able to develop useful jobs and an entire job framework on Matillion within that month. As we got more familiar with it, within three months, we were able to take advantage of additional features to create a framework where bringing new data in from our application is as simple as adding an entry to a table.
Read Matthew Burr's full review
November 24, 2020
Sudarshan Kothari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Matillion being ELT cloud tool offers easy to implement which requires an AWS EC2 instance and licensing.
Training on Matillion and getting the development team on-board was quite a challenge. Would require immense experience to explore the core functionality of Matillion. Matillion was running with-in a week time after acquiring a license but for the development team to work efficiently it took a couple of weeks.
Read Sudarshan Kothari's full review
August 14, 2020
Britton Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

We were able to get up and running very quickly. This is really Matillion's strength. Once we got past the peculiarities of setting up our environment, we could connect to data sources right away and ingest data into our data lake. Putting on more pieces after that was easy.
Read Britton Gray's full review
August 13, 2020
Hyrum Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

We tested Matillion for about two weeks. By the time we were done testing, we were writing transformations. At that point, we were extremely comfortable with the tool, and we successfully migrated all of our existing code over to Matillion in a few weeks. The learning curve for Matillion is shallow.

Our entry level Data Engineers don't need any hand holding with this tool. A very quick demonstration is generally all that is required. After that, the tool is intuitive enough that even a beginner can use it.
Read Hyrum Ward's full review
October 06, 2020
Adel Helal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

From the moment we bought it on AWS marketplace to connecting to our monolith database it took a matter of hours. Deciding the Redshift table structure we needed for storage actually took longer than the actual setup time! That is a definite plus for anyone who wants to get up an running as soon as possible.
Read Adel Helal's full review
October 05, 2020
Dan Reiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Our initial POC demonstrated that migrating to Matillion was the logical next step for our organization. Our expectation had been six months to migrate our production loads from legacy tooling to Matillion. We were able to migrate complex production workflows, validate the result, and promote the Matillion generated artifacts in less than two months. Processing time for each workflow was cut from three days to a few hours. The productivity gains were stunning. Team members have been freed to focus on deeper and more valuable work as a direct result of our implementation.
Read Dan Reiland's full review
October 01, 2020
James Hull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Used the trial edition initially and was able to set up an ETL process for production, which then started populating real reports in 6 weeks. Previous process was quite manual, a combination of Alteryx and Excel which took a lot of time.
Read James Hull's full review
September 03, 2020
Aleksa Topalović | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

After just two months we had complex processes running on a production environment. And now after six months, we became really proficient users of Matillion which are also taking care of optimization improvements and not just a development.
Read Aleksa Topalović's full review
August 31, 2020
Eduard Matei | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

It takes less than two hours for Matillion to be up and fully operational. If creating a backup instance, all code and settings can be downloaded as json files and then reuploaded in the new instance.
Read Eduard Matei's full review
August 29, 2020
Antonello Supino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

We got Matillion from the AWS marketplace, and we got up and running within less than a week. Starting the server was simple, then we had to do a bit of configuration and integrations with our servers adding the credentials, git repos etc. The experience was really good as Matillion blends perfectly within the AWS ecosystem.
Read Antonello Supino's full review
August 26, 2020
Andy Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

It took me about a few days to study those advanced features, due to not much community support, but I still was able to get support from Matillion. For those standard features, you can run it maybe within a few hours.
Read Andy Lai's full review
August 16, 2020
Daniel Zielinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Matillion was already implemented at our company and any time requirements to learn the tool was based on my ability to translate my previous ETL coding experience into Matillion's structure. Our team inherited an existing ETL process built-in Matillion and were able to add/modify/delete new objects and components within several weeks of having access to Matillion. It was necessary to understand the business rules prior to making any changes, but the tool itself is very intuitive.
Read Daniel Zielinski's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Within a month of getting Matillion we had an established pipeline that was extracting data from the company's application database and updating the corresponding data in the warehouse. Additional data source (e.g. Salesforce and Netsuite) were quick to implement (c. 2 weeks per data source) including any relevant testing.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

To migrate an existing ETL solution from an old product to Matillion, will require a compete rework with some redesign.
Estimate depends on the complexity required. Would estimate anywhere between 3-9 months.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Within 2-3 weeks from starting Matillion, we had our first simple pipeline in production: extracting data from our operational database and putting it into data warehouse.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

About 1 week which included hands on and looking at online documentation. Part of the delay was just getting access to internal company data.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Took 1 day to deploy, get logged in, and connect to Redshift.

Took 1 month to make it useful in production, and 9 months in, I'm still learning features and quirks of Matillion.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

It has to be taken into account that the learning curve is high. It is a new tool that requires some understanding about its myriad of functionalities. However, jobs and ETLs can be done fast after getting a grasp on its components.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

Proof of concept took a couple of weeks. Getting access to private SQL databases was a little fiddly as we needed to install some drivers which we would have expected to be installed as default, but once up and running, we have had no issues. Tweaking firewalls settings to allow Matillion access took a while.
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Matillion Time to Value

It took some days in order to figure out how to configure the environment and all the basic configurations. Writing simple jobs took a really short time to learn (hours), while in some other days I was able to prepare a full orchestrator. Parameters configuration is a little more complex and I had to figure it out in some hours together with a colleague of mine.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (86)
8.3
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (53)
7.5
Simple transformations (87)
8.7
Complex transformations (85)
7.6
Data model creation (34)
7.6
Metadata management (41)
6.6
Business rules and workflow (75)
7.4
Collaboration (75)
6.8
Testing and debugging (77)
6.2
feature 1 (4)
8.2
Integration with data quality tools (23)
6.6
Integration with MDM tools (21)
6.3

What is Matillion?

Matillion is data transformation for cloud data warehouses. According to the vendor, only Matillion is purpose-built for Amazon Redshift, Snowflake, and Google BigQuery enabling businesses to achieve new levels of simplicity, speed, scale, and savings.

Quickly develop custom Transformation jobs by combining Filters, Joins, Aggregates, Calculators, Ranks, as well as more complex transformations such as Rankings, window calculations, and change-detection by dragging and dropping these onto a canvas GUI. Use Orchestration features to automate your ETL workflows with scheduling, notifications and alerting, and control flow.

Once your jobs are built, run them with confidence with component level validation and data sampling. For any custom or unique needs, Matillion also has Bash and Python Script components giving you the ultimate extensibility and flexibility.

Shared Job templates, Dynamic and Grid variables, and Version control help your development teams share resources across your Matillion instance.

Enterprise customers benefit from additional auditing and permissions, automatic job documentation, data lineage and more. Learn more about enterprise features here.

Each product comes with a set of warehouse specific features that help you get the most out of the platform. See our Product Feature pages on matillion.com for more information.



Categories:  Data Integration

Matillion Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging

Matillion Screenshots

Matillion Videos (6)

Matillion Integrations

Matillion Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Billed directly via cloud marketplace on an hourly basis, with annual subscriptions available depending on the customer's cloud data warehouse provider.

Matillion Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matillion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English