Matillion Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 30, 2020
Matthew Burr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Matillion has dramatically decreased the time it takes to create new ETL
  • Matillion has reduced the amount of time it takes to execute our daily ETL processing (by 50% or more)
  • Matillion has increased the number of people who can develop ETL by making ETL development easier
  • Matillion has increased the variety of data sources we can bring into our data warehouse
  • Matillion has made it a little harder to manage source control and deployment
Read Matthew Burr's full review
November 24, 2020
Sudarshan Kothari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our organization focuses on Data-Driven Digital Marketing Strategies, so not investing time and resources on getting the data, we ensured the time utilized much more in analyzing the data and for this purpose, Matillion was our solution and was right on a positive track.
  • Matillion has been performing positive since it's consumption in our organization in terms of investment.
  • With increasing functionality and stability in Matillion system, we could look for greater return than just replacements.
Read Sudarshan Kothari's full review
August 14, 2020
Britton Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Cost is okay, but is going up significantly soon. Value proposition is dwindling.
  • It made it easy to get up-and-running as far as getting data into our data lake. Good for a "quick win."
  • Pay-as-you-go model is good for smaller organizations.
Read Britton Gray's full review
August 13, 2020
Hyrum Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Matillion is an essential part of our stack, which has transformed how we use data to make business decisions. The value is immense, though hard to quantify in a review.
Read Hyrum Ward's full review
October 06, 2020
Adel Helal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Considering our specific use case is to provide analytics "for free" to our existing customers of all tiers, the added investment is hard to measure since this is an internal cost in order to keep up with our competitors. We are still trying to quantify customer retention directly related to the new analytics we provide because of what Matillion has helped us achieve.
Read Adel Helal's full review
October 05, 2020
Dan Reiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Matillion allowed us to increase the productivity of our data engineering team by an order of magnitude.
  • Matillion created a culture of standardization within our organization: the team uses a consistent approach to working with client data that is repeatable, testable, and easily automated.
  • The ability to rapidly iterate, and receive meaningful feedback from the tools, allows our teams to experiment with new approaches to working with client data.
Read Dan Reiland's full review
October 01, 2020
James Hull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved time in report production - from 2 weeks to automatic in minutes.
  • increased quantity of reports available to the business.
  • Allowed production of external MI to be automated.
Read James Hull's full review
September 06, 2020
Dan Dow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have not had to hire a crew of SQL coders to create our analytics service.
  • We have a crew of people who are not coders that actually understand the data flows.
  • For the most part, our data delivery is reliable.
  • When it's not reliable, fixing it is very time-consuming because, for example, Matillion doesn't tell things like what record broke the flow.
Read Dan Dow's full review
September 03, 2020
Aleksa Topalović | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Shorter time to market. Development from a month decreased to two weeks including testing.
  • Developers are more focused (>80% of the time) on a specific topic instead of searching for different technical solutions.
Read Aleksa Topalović's full review
August 16, 2020
Daniel Zielinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our team can dynamically make modifications to code and deploy them immediately.
  • Source control and access via the cloud has enabled us to onboard new employees quickly.
  • The only negative is that it is relatively new to folks and it takes a little time to ramp up, however, the long term ROI pays off.
Read Daniel Zielinski's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Matillion has been essential in the successful implementation of a data warehouse in our organisation.
  • It is unlocking client opportunities for us to provide a "warehouse as a service" as part of our company's offering.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Modifying code and deploying to production is very simple and takes very little time.
  • Easy UI and simple flow creation enabled us to create pipelines in a very short time, rather than spending lot of man-power to get to the same level with other tools.
  • In the long run, requirements and complexity grow a lot, it might not be the best solution. Perfect for small-medium sized companies.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allowed us to migrate an existing data store to a new data warehouse without needing to hire an additional team.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allowed us to replace an ancient tool (pentaho) and move forward into the new era.
  • Quick deployment and smooth upgrades make us look good to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
September 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Not a high ROI, as it is a high-priced service--more even for start-ups
  • Jobs can get done fast. Delivering is a plus. Reports are made faster.
  • It requires infrastructure monitoring, another "hidden" cost.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Essential in rolling out our data warehouse strategy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (86)
8.3
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (53)
7.5
Simple transformations (87)
8.7
Complex transformations (85)
7.6
Data model creation (34)
7.6
Metadata management (41)
6.6
Business rules and workflow (75)
7.4
Collaboration (75)
6.8
Testing and debugging (77)
6.2
feature 1 (4)
8.2
Integration with data quality tools (23)
6.6
Integration with MDM tools (21)
6.3

What is Matillion?

Matillion is data transformation for cloud data warehouses. According to the vendor, only Matillion is purpose-built for Amazon Redshift, Snowflake, and Google BigQuery enabling businesses to achieve new levels of simplicity, speed, scale, and savings.

Quickly develop custom Transformation jobs by combining Filters, Joins, Aggregates, Calculators, Ranks, as well as more complex transformations such as Rankings, window calculations, and change-detection by dragging and dropping these onto a canvas GUI. Use Orchestration features to automate your ETL workflows with scheduling, notifications and alerting, and control flow.

Once your jobs are built, run them with confidence with component level validation and data sampling. For any custom or unique needs, Matillion also has Bash and Python Script components giving you the ultimate extensibility and flexibility.

Shared Job templates, Dynamic and Grid variables, and Version control help your development teams share resources across your Matillion instance.

Enterprise customers benefit from additional auditing and permissions, automatic job documentation, data lineage and more. Learn more about enterprise features here.

Each product comes with a set of warehouse specific features that help you get the most out of the platform. See our Product Feature pages on matillion.com for more information.



Categories:  Data Integration

Matillion Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging

Matillion Screenshots

Matillion Videos (6)

Matillion Integrations

Matillion Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Billed directly via cloud marketplace on an hourly basis, with annual subscriptions available depending on the customer's cloud data warehouse provider.

Matillion Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matillion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English