Matillion Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Matthew Burr | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2020

Ease of Use and Reusability for Excellent ROI

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
It's very easy to use because of its graphical nature. Ultimately, it is a wrapper for activities you could do using SQL, Python, and AWS services, and by presenting those activities in a simple interface it makes it easier to perform them without having to worry about a lot of extraneous details.
Read Matthew Burr's full review
Sudarshan Kothari | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2020

Matillion Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
Matillion providing underline features of the database and unique functionality in connectors, increase our day-to-day work solution using the tool. For example, Snowflake database supports for JSON file system and thus using Matillion with Snowflake offers to flatten as an additional component is exceptional. Another example: Data could relive under FTP, sFTP, Cloud system (S3), databases and matillion have support to all, thus increasing the usability.
Read Sudarshan Kothari's full review
Britton Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2020

Good for Quick Starts, but can be a bit pricey for small enterprises at scale.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
Pretty good UI, especially for a completely web-based system. Source control integration is a bit clunky at times, but overall makes code versioning and branching much more simple, since it's largely within the same context as the rest of the code. Finding some core settings can be difficult - they're just not where one would expect them to be.
Read Britton Gray's full review
Hyrum Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2020

Matillion Is Easy Data Pipelines!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
Matillion is drag and drop. It is extremely flexible, intuitive, and easy to get started with. Python scripts allow you to do pretty much anything you need. If you don't know scripting, there are widgets that can do what you need as well.

Scheduling a job is a few clicks. Couldn't be easier.
Read Hyrum Ward's full review
Dan Reiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2020

I'd bet my job on Matillion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
Matillion has a clean and consistent interface that is readily approachable by anyone experienced with a visual or flow based ELT tool. The ability to rapidly onboard new users, reaching productive output in a few hours, is a key part of the value proposition. That it is usable by a wide range of skill levels is testament to the thought put into its overall design.
Read Dan Reiland's full review
Chandana M | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2020

Fell in love with Matillion in less than a week!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
I can say Matillion can improve on a few things as answered in the previous question. But, I would still rate it 10 because I am completely dependent on it in my day to day activities. One of the reasons I took up a job is to be told in the interview that they were intending to purchase Matillion and they did!
Overall, Matillion is quite easy to use for any one with basic understanding of SQL. Can integrate external data sources with simple setup. For me, helps in answering all the business questions from my stakeholders with Tableau as data visualization tool.
Read Chandana M's full review
Aleksa Topalović | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2020

Matillion: the last puzzle piece in modern analytical solutions

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
I'm really satisfied with the whole Matillion/AWS/Redshift environment. For me, it was easy to switch to an ELT approach and to rebuild all jobs. After just two months, I felt familiar with the tool itself and built some complex stuff really fast. I measured my experience, and after working with different enterprise BI tools, I can say that Matillion is really user-friendly and useful for many business cases.
Read Aleksa Topalović's full review
Eduard Matei | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2020

Matillion - the swiss knife of ETL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
Regardless of one's needs, Matillion has different tools to address even the most complex issues that can occur in the ETL process.
It's easy to use and get along with, whether it is using the drag and drop of built components or creating your own from scratch.
Read Eduard Matei's full review
Antonello Supino | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2020

Robust ELT with Matillion for Redshift

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
The interface that can be edited by multiple users at the same time makes it very usable. It's not a script based tool but it can be so it is great for all levels of professionals. The interface is responsive and there is no need to install desktop clients which is great. Sometimes after upgrades, we have to manually clear browser cache which is a bit annoying.
Read Antonello Supino's full review
Andy Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2020

Simple and powerful data aggregation tool

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

7
Matillion has a graphical user-friendly interface, you can drag and drop to control the details of the component and connect to others. The version stays updated and you can easily update to the latest version. It provides an easy way to set up from the cloud marketplace. It is easy to schedule jobs.
Read Andy Lai's full review
Daniel Zielinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2020

My experience as a newbie to Matillion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
In previous organizations and projects, I utilized Microsoft's SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) to perform all data transformation. I found the transition to Matillion to be much easier and flexible to fit the needs of our organization. The key benefit that we experienced with Matillion is the reduction in the amount of time required to deploy changes and work through modifications to the code. Being a cloud-based system, it is very easy for all of our team members to access the most recent code and not have to concern themselves with source control problems.
Read Daniel Zielinski's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2020

Building a data warehouse from the ground up with Matillion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
I find Matillion very intuitive and quickly got to grips with it. I have found that developers with a more purist coding background have struggled to get to grips with it more, particularly in relation to managing variables. For me personally, this has not been an issue and the online documentation has been excellent in digging deeper into specific functional areas
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2020

Simple and Powerful

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

10
User experience is very intuitive and takes no time to get hands on it. There are lots of documentation which go pretty much into deep details.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2020

Matillion: flexible and complex

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

6
It's a mixed bag of usability: takes some getting used to, learning curve (not sure why some components can be used in "transformation jobs" but not "orchestration jobs" ?) but once you understand it, it's fairly usable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 08, 2020

Visual ELT at its best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

9
Works well for people that like to visualize things, as each job and transformation is displayed on a graphical interface. A job or transformation can be a large set of tasks or can be broken down into individual ones so that diagrams do not get too complicated and out of hand.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2020

Ease and complete tool, I would suggest it!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Usability

8
It is good. Matillion is easy to use, the connection is web-based, fast, and always works. The "search" into each object simplifies the construction of transformations and joins. The SQL is always retrievable from jobs, therefore the debug phase is also easy to analyze. Moreover, in case of need, you can also write your own SQL into the appropriate object.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (86)
8.3
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (53)
7.6
Simple transformations (87)
8.6
Complex transformations (85)
7.5
Data model creation (34)
7.6
Metadata management (41)
6.6
Business rules and workflow (75)
7.4
Collaboration (75)
6.8
Testing and debugging (77)
6.3
feature 1 (4)
8.2
Integration with data quality tools (23)
6.6
Integration with MDM tools (21)
6.3

About Matillion

Matillion is data transformation for cloud data warehouses. According to the vendor, only Matillion is purpose-built for Amazon Redshift, Snowflake, and Google BigQuery enabling businesses to achieve new levels of simplicity, speed, scale, and savings.

Quickly develop custom Transformation jobs by combining Filters, Joins, Aggregates, Calculators, Ranks, as well as more complex transformations such as Rankings, window calculations, and change-detection by dragging and dropping these onto a canvas GUI. Use Orchestration features to automate your ETL workflows with scheduling, notifications and alerting, and control flow.

Once your jobs are built, run them with confidence with component level validation and data sampling. For any custom or unique needs, Matillion also has Bash and Python Script components giving you the ultimate extensibility and flexibility.

Shared Job templates, Dynamic and Grid variables, and Version control help your development teams share resources across your Matillion instance.

Enterprise customers benefit from additional auditing and permissions, automatic job documentation, data lineage and more. Learn more about enterprise features here.

Each product comes with a set of warehouse specific features that help you get the most out of the platform. See our Product Feature pages on matillion.com for more information.



Categories:  Data Integration

Matillion Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging

Matillion Screenshots

Matillion Videos (6)

Matillion Integrations

Matillion Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Billed directly via cloud marketplace on an hourly basis, with annual subscriptions available depending on the customer's cloud data warehouse provider.

Matillion Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matillion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English