Matillion Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
144 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 88)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 30, 2020
Matthew Burr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Matillion to bring together data from multiple sources - our application, Salesforce, Qualtrics, etc. - into a central data warehouse for use throughout the business in reporting, both internally and externally. Matillion performs the ETL that transforms this raw data into a structure in Redshift useful for reporting.
Read Matthew Burr's full review
November 24, 2020
Sudarshan Kothari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

iQuanti is a Digital Marketing organization, which drives strategic decisions based on a data-driven approach and for this we use Matillion as our ETL solution tool for our organization, which is consumed by our Data Management team. We have large numbers of the digital platform from which we report and analyze the performance. Matillion helps us to automate most of our reporting needs by providing connectors to digital platforms like Google Analytics, Google Adwords, Facebook, Bing, JIRA, Google BigQuery, and various Data source connectors like Postgres, SQL, MongoDB along with AWS support as SNS, S3 etc, which provides lots of flexibility in today's world.
Read Sudarshan Kothari's full review
August 14, 2020
Britton Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it to take data from many sources and ingest them into our data lake. We then use Matillion to orchestrate transformation jobs on that data to eventually land it in our data warehouse.
Read Britton Gray's full review
August 13, 2020
Hyrum Ward | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is being used by Data Engineering, which is a part of the Purple Analytics department. No other departments are using it. Matillion helps us automate our data pipelines. It gives us a platform on which we can schedule Python scripts, and provides an easy workspace where we can design and implement our workflows. The Matillion server is easy to maintain, which was a problem before we switched from our previous platform. Matillion makes it easy to perform ETL operations on our data, whether it starts in our data warehouse or not. It gives us plenty of flexibility in how we design our jobs. And it's super easy to use.
Read Hyrum Ward's full review
October 06, 2020
Adel Helal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We still have an old-fashioned process in our monolith environment to extract-transform-load from a SQL server data store. Currently the monolith is the main product of the CM brand and is still being heavily maintained. The way we are moving forward is to "unlock" the data from its current storage in order to have better analytics using event streaming. For the time being, the only way we are able to extract large amounts of data from our relational SQL data store is using the ETL process through Matillion into our data warehouse solution in Redshift.
Read Adel Helal's full review
October 05, 2020
Dan Reiland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is primarily used by our Data Engineering team to produce highly curated datasets for use by our clients. We transform extensive volumes of client and vendor data into a highly clean and valuable artifact. Matillion is our primary ELT tool and has displaced a number of other tools previously used by our organization.
Read Dan Reiland's full review
October 01, 2020
James Hull | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is our ETL tool to populate our data warehouse running in Google BigQuery. In conjunction with Google Data Studio, we have a daily process used across the whole business with up to date financial, commercial and project data. It is managed by the Technology Team but the whole business sees the results.
Read James Hull's full review
October 01, 2020
Chandana M | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion has been used to clean, integrate and transform data from multiple sources are prepare data for data visualisation to answer key business questions at our organisation. Our business problem was finding an ETL solution as we moved towards Cloud data warehouse. We right away knew Matillion is the best fit for us.
Read Chandana M's full review
October 01, 2020
Paul Cebulski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Matillion a couple years ago across all areas of our business. We use this tool to gather data from various data sources (SQL, Google Sheets, API calls, etc.), and transforming it and eventually outputting to our data warehouse for data visualisation.
Read Paul Cebulski's full review
September 08, 2020
Viswanath Manne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Here at ReportGarden, we use Matillion to fetch data from multiple databases and construct a compact and easily referable database using various data blending techniques with the help of various blocks like Python script, SQL, joins, etc. We use the combination of SNS and Lambda to make sure tasks run seamlessly every day and to stop EC2 instances once tasks are done, which is of great use in saving unnecessary costs.
Read Viswanath Manne's full review
September 06, 2020
Dan Dow | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as our ETL tool across the entire organization including marketing, finance, customer service, and support. We pull data from our proprietary product use as well as Salesforce to merge data about our product use, customer service, employee time, billing and finance information, and process handling in our AWS cloud core.
Read Dan Dow's full review
September 03, 2020
Aleksa Topalović | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Within the Business Analytics team, Matillion was introduced as a new ELT tool after team extension. In that time, we had four active BI developers and the main need was a centralized project repository that will make the daily workload easier. We are using Matillion for development and maintenance of the data warehouse and integration of more than 20 data sources.
Read Aleksa Topalović's full review
August 31, 2020
Eduard Matei | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Matillion as the main ingestion tool within the business intelligence department.
We use it to ingest data coming from different legacy systems, outputting data in the cloud datalake solution.
It's really easy to learn, configure and spend less time ingesting the data and more time getting insights from the data.
Read Eduard Matei's full review
August 29, 2020
Antonello Supino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Matillion for Redshift as to orchestrate data pipelines as our main data integration tool. We are pleased by the usability and reliability along with multi-user interface, git integration, and lots of plugins. Matillion has helped us to have strong data pipelines that we can monitor to run hundreds of jobs a day. Support is also proactive. It's overall a great ELT tool.
Read Antonello Supino's full review
August 26, 2020
Andy Lai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Matillion for one project. I use Matillion to solve my data loading issue because Matillion supports many data sources. I use this to aggregate all the data sources to my data warehouse. Before using Matillion, I needed to write my own data loader, which was very time consuming and created a lot of stability issues. By using Matillion, I can load my data within an hour to my warehouse.
Read Andy Lai's full review
August 16, 2020
Daniel Zielinski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Matillion to transform data from multiple source systems into a cloud-based database. Our department is the sole user of Matillion and is managed exclusively by our team. Matillion allows our organization to consolidate our various data sources into a singular environment where our dashboard tools access data to provide valuable insights into the various units within our organization.
Read Daniel Zielinski's full review
August 14, 2020
Avishua Stein | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used by our BI team, to ingest data into our Data Warehouse and distribute primarily to clients via Tableau, GSheets, emails, SFTP, etc. We also use it internally. Almost all our usage is for loading data although we use some transformation components when bringing in semi-structured data. Our team supports the entire organization.
Read Avishua Stein's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is being used by the BI Team to orchestrate the population of the Data Warehouse. The Warehouse, in turn, is used to produce a range of reports across all business functions in the organisation. We use Matillion to ingest data from an application database (hosted in AWS), Salesforce, Netsuite and Google Analytics
Read this authenticated review
January 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Matillion for Redshift to ETL data from various sources into our data warehouse which is used across the organization with the desire to share it with external users in the market too. It allows us to seamlessly integrate within the AWS stack and even outside so we don't have to think twice about whether we will be able to ingest data from any new source.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion was used in order to create a Redshift Data warehouse solution. Where the Data warehouse followed the Inmon module and on top of that is a Data mart with multiple aggregations.
It was the product of choice for BI needing to move from an old ETL tool and DB.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is being used only by data engineering team, which is part of Data Science department. It's our ETL tool to populate our data warehouse on Snowflake. Orchestration jobs are running on a daily basis and are basis of BI reports, which are used across the whole organization. Except that, it's used to generate new feature sets for data scientist for modelling.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Matillion is being used primarily by the Analytics team, which is part of engineering, to orchestrate data transformation jobs from our application databases to our data warehouse.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as an ETL tool to process data from Redshift and other software, create tables in Redshift, and transform data as it goes.
Read this authenticated review
September 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used by developers and business analysts in the IT department to extract and transform data into our Snowflake data warehouse. We have different data sources after a company merger and needed combined reporting. We also needed to pull data from third-party data sources such as Xero, Google Analytics, and so on.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Connect to traditional data sources (86)
8.3
Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL (53)
7.5
Simple transformations (87)
8.7
Complex transformations (85)
7.6
Data model creation (34)
7.6
Metadata management (41)
6.6
Business rules and workflow (75)
7.4
Collaboration (75)
6.8
Testing and debugging (77)
6.2
feature 1 (4)
8.2
Integration with data quality tools (23)
6.6
Integration with MDM tools (21)
6.3

What is Matillion?

Matillion is data transformation for cloud data warehouses. According to the vendor, only Matillion is purpose-built for Amazon Redshift, Snowflake, and Google BigQuery enabling businesses to achieve new levels of simplicity, speed, scale, and savings.

Quickly develop custom Transformation jobs by combining Filters, Joins, Aggregates, Calculators, Ranks, as well as more complex transformations such as Rankings, window calculations, and change-detection by dragging and dropping these onto a canvas GUI. Use Orchestration features to automate your ETL workflows with scheduling, notifications and alerting, and control flow.

Once your jobs are built, run them with confidence with component level validation and data sampling. For any custom or unique needs, Matillion also has Bash and Python Script components giving you the ultimate extensibility and flexibility.

Shared Job templates, Dynamic and Grid variables, and Version control help your development teams share resources across your Matillion instance.

Enterprise customers benefit from additional auditing and permissions, automatic job documentation, data lineage and more. Learn more about enterprise features here.

Each product comes with a set of warehouse specific features that help you get the most out of the platform. See our Product Feature pages on matillion.com for more information.



Categories:  Data Integration

Matillion Features

Data Source Connection Features

Has featureConnect to traditional data sources
Has featureConnecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

Has featureSimple transformations
Has featureComplex transformations

Data Modeling Features

Has featureBusiness rules and workflow
Has featureCollaboration
Has featureTesting and debugging

Matillion Screenshots

Matillion Videos (6)

Matillion Integrations

Matillion Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Billed directly via cloud marketplace on an hourly basis, with annual subscriptions available depending on the customer's cloud data warehouse provider.

Matillion Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matillion Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: English