Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

The best Analytics platform to keep your privacy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With Matomo Analytics you have total control of your platform, whereas with Google Analytics you never know how they'll be using your data. Being an open source platform allows you to build plugins and themes for this great platform. Some of the users have already build some plugins freely available and some are commercial.
Read Jean Franco's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Free analytics that you own

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have used Google Analytics before for one of our online tools and we switched to Matomo for the other web applications we have. We did that because Matomo is free but mostly since we wanted us to own the data on these sensitive apps and not share it with third parties. Since we have the data locally, we can now apply machine learning techniques to improve the systems even more.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Erik Rühling | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

Piwik Analytics for those who know

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Google Analytics in the past and still do for our clients who wish to use it, although I am not absolutely familiar with its features. AWStats & Urchin of course analyze the raw server logs, but are not as feature rich or configurable as Piwik.
Read Erik Rühling's full review
Stephan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Own Your Data, Know Your Users and Protect Their Privacy with Piwik

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Google Analytics, Site Catalyst, and Awstats as well as Piwik. There are some features that Google Analytics and Site Catalyst have that aren't available currently in Piwik, but most of those I don't currently need. Owning my data is more important to me than bells and whistles. Piwik is a modern analytics package that beats old school Apache log parsers like AwStats hands down.
Read Stephan Miller's full review
Sharon Hurley Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2014

Rich Analytics with Open-Source Piwik

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used a number of analytics products, including Google Analytics, Clicky and GoSquared. The winning feature of Piwik is the compact, rich data tables, which make it a good addition to the analytics mix. While I'm not throwing out the others, I've continued to find Piwik useful.
Read Sharon Hurley Hall's full review
Jeff Wallace | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2014

Piwik Analytics - Funny name... Seriously good analytics!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Google Analytics,bing webmaster tools,Google Webmaster Tools
We are a pretty small company and even smaller Marketing shop. We use tools from both Google and Bing but have not had the financial freedom to explore additional tools out there. I have looked at Moz and would really like to evaluate that one at some point. For real hard-core Analytics, look into the Adobe products such as Business Catalyst. I had the opportunity to experience that for a little while at a previous employer.
Read Jeff Wallace's full review
Hendrik Schaper | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2014

Piwik - I liked it from the start!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Moz,Google Analytics
Moz is not directly a competitor, but it lacked (and still lacks) Piwik integration. Compared with Google Analytics the most important advantage has been the different approach to Privacy, GA has long been not compatible with German law and data is not in your own hands. Second most important is the Presentation of Data. With Piwik I see in one second where I need many clicks with Analytics.
Read Hendrik Schaper's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Piwik let's you own your data!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Most services do not give us the fine control over our own data. They have access to information they are choosing not to share with us, notably IP addresses. Even if it's anonymized (last digits dropped), we should have the access to this data!
Read this authenticated review
Maison Tan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2014

Piwik is awesome and Everyone should use it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used both Piwik and Google Analytic. I still prefer Piwik for it's more user friendly interface compared to Google Analytic. For most users, Piwik would be sufficient to provide the statistics required for planning. Google Analytics has more functions that complicates matter and makes things more confusing. Most users would find a cheap, easy to implement option and more importantly, easier to manage option to be a better solution.
Read Maison Tan's full review
Mike Tihonchik | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2014

Piwik review by Mike Tihonchik

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used NewRelic in the past. Currently using Adobe Analytics.
Overall, Piwik provides big volume of advanced data (just like its bigger competitors). Being easy to setup and maintain, as well as being free, is a huge plus. I liked the idea that I could access analytics data in my local server's database (I have not seen that feature anywhere else).
Read Mike Tihonchik's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Piwik as an AWStats replacement for hosting platforms

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we were initially evaluating the replacement for our AWStats setup the first alternative we looked at was Google Analytics. The main reason we started with the Google product was because, well, it's Google, plus I had used the Google Webmaster Tools kit at several other positions and thought that it might prove to be a good fit. The statistics worked out well, and the use of reporting and keywords for campaigns was great. The problem that we ran into that made us choose otherwise was the ease of integration into our current hosting platform infrastructure. Piwik allowed us to create the backend infrastructure and code the provisioning of the site to the dashboard into our own custom provisioning API without having to jump through the Google authentication hoops. Also, there are a large number of libraries available to allow us to use Piwik for generation of statistics for our own internal provisioning tools and to track our sales numbers based on specific API calls.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2014

Piwik 1.8 - free analytics without giving your user data away.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

At the time we did try Google Analytics and Urchin, however, due to our need for the upmost privacy using a product hosted on Google was difficult to sell. If you are looking for something that you can maintain separately without giving your data to Google with most of the same functionality this product is perfect.
Read this authenticated review

About Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik)

Matomo is an open-source web analytics platform, used on over 1.4 million websites in over 190 countries and translated into over 50 languages. Matomo says it values privacy protection, 100% data ownership and no data sampling.

It has two different hosting options - cloud and on-premise. Cloud takes the hassle out of installation, whereas On-Premise is the free, open-source and self-hosted PHP/MySQL software you can install on your own server, which gives you max. flexibility.

This premium web analytics and conversion optimisation tool is designed to give you the most conclusive insights with a complete range of features such as heatmaps, sessions recordings, goals, form analytics, ecommerce and funnels.

It provides real time updates on the details of your visitors; has goal conversion tracking to track business objectives; event tracking to identify and measure interaction of the user with your website; and A/B testing which helps you optimise your website campaigns by experimenting and running A/B tests.

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Features

Has featurePrivacy Compliant Analytics
Has featureWeb, E-commerce, Intranet, App Analytics
Has featureCustomizable Dashboard
Has featureVisitor's Journeys
Has featureGoals and Conversion Tracking and Funnels
Has featureEvent Tracking
Has featureContent Tracking
Has featureSite Search Analytics
Has featureReal Time Data Updates
Has featureStrong Focus on Software Security & Full control of your data
Has featureWide Range of Free and Premium Features
Has featureForm Analytics
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureHeatmaps
Has featureSessions Recording
Has featureTag Manager
Has featureMedia Analytics
Has featureAcquisition
Has featureEcommerce
Has featureCustom Reports
Has featureVisitors Behaviour
Has featureRoll-Up Reporting
Has featureWhite Label Analytics
Has featureNo data limits

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Screenshots

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, WooCommerce, Shopify, Magento Commerce, Joomla, vBulletin, phpBB, Vanilla, iOS/Android SDKs, PHP, Java, Python, SharePoint, Overall 100+ integrations

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free download (open source)$0
Content Optimization Bundle$579per installation
Growth Bundle$1,149per installation
Premium Bundle$1,499per installation
Email Support Subscription$2,090per installation
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Essential$9number of pageviews (monthly traffic)
Business$29number of pageviews (monthly traffic)
Enterprise$199your requirements and monthly traffic
Free 30 day trial$0limited to 30 days

On-premise Edition is free to download and install on your own servers: free download at https://matomo.org/download/ Individual features can be purchased from $19/year: see all features at https://plugins.matomo.org/premium SaaS Edition (Matomo Cloud) starts from $9/month: see transparent pricing at https://matomo.org/pricing

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Over 55 languages