Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Free analytics that you own

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We can see the analytics of our web applications and thus having the insight of the systems' behavior.
  • It helps in improving the performance and scalability of our web application.
  • It helps us improve the user experience on our sites; seeing the user's activity we can take decisions to make it better.
  • A cost-effective tool, since it is free.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Erik Rühling | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

Piwik Analytics for those who know

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As with any analytics program, Piwik has enabled us to look at where the traffic is going and how to optimize for that traffic. In particular, the nightly email reports keep the design and account staff engaged with the sites and give them a 'big picture' view.
Read Erik Rühling's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2018

Matomo (formerly Piwik) review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Ease of see who visits your page - Gives total number of users who visited your page in an easy to read chart.
  • Ease of seeing how many people visit your page - Allows you to look at total visitors versus new visitors in a very readable chart. It makes it easy to demonstrate/display how well your website is visited.
  • Ease of seeing the time you have the most traffic - Lays out in a readable chart the time when you have highest traffic.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Wallace | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2014

Piwik Analytics - Funny name... Seriously good analytics!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Piwik has enabled us to determine the value of content offered for download
  • It is has provided a more granular view of geographical engagement
  • By having access to more data and insights, we are better able to guide our marketing efforts
Read Jeff Wallace's full review
Hendrik Schaper | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2014

Piwik - I liked it from the start!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Really fast overview on visits, so you can clearly see with one look, if numbers go down because of technical or other problems
  • My clients like the clean and customizable interface
  • I really like Piwik, I have a good feeling using it and can totally recommend it!
  • On ecommerce sites it gives really fast overviews on real and potential purchases
Read Hendrik Schaper's full review
Maison Tan | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2014

Piwik is awesome and Everyone should use it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • By using Piwik, we can better identify keywords used to search for the website and by targeting those keywords on search engine advertising (Google, Bing, Yahoo), it helps with conversion and also saves us money by cutting down guess work.
  • By using Piwik graphs, it helps to save our employees time in creating pie charts and bar charts to present to upper management.
  • Since Piwik is free to use, there is no reason not to implement it. Most likely, with your website, you will already have access to SQL and hosting package. There is minimal cost to implementing Piwik.
Read Maison Tan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 30, 2014

Piwik as an AWStats replacement for hosting platforms

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ROI in terms of user impact and usage in our beta test has proven to be excellent. In comparison to our AWstats system that was tracking stats based on the htaccess logs, Piwik gives the customer the ability to see stats on an almost realtime basis versus a day behind due to file processing.
  • Lead conversion is definitely easier with a robust system like Piwik. Trying to hunt down leads using a straight up htaccess logs polling system is much more difficult for non-technical users.
  • Customer service calls have dropped since the stats data is now stored in a MySQL backend rather than flat files. With a database driven system efficiency has improved with respect to response time from a customer perspective by well over 150%.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2014

Easy to use, open source Web Analytics

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Made our products more efficient and marketable. Tracking is a critical component of our product.
  • It has helped our clients with customer engagement, track and generate sales.
Read this authenticated review

About Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik)

Matomo is an open-source web analytics platform, used on over 1.4 million websites in over 190 countries and translated into over 50 languages. Matomo says it values privacy protection, 100% data ownership and no data sampling.

It has two different hosting options - cloud and on-premise. Cloud takes the hassle out of installation, whereas On-Premise is the free, open-source and self-hosted PHP/MySQL software you can install on your own server, which gives you max. flexibility.

This premium web analytics and conversion optimisation tool is designed to give you the most conclusive insights with a complete range of features such as heatmaps, sessions recordings, goals, form analytics, ecommerce and funnels.

It provides real time updates on the details of your visitors; has goal conversion tracking to track business objectives; event tracking to identify and measure interaction of the user with your website; and A/B testing which helps you optimise your website campaigns by experimenting and running A/B tests.

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Features

Has featurePrivacy Compliant Analytics
Has featureWeb, E-commerce, Intranet, App Analytics
Has featureCustomizable Dashboard
Has featureVisitor's Journeys
Has featureGoals and Conversion Tracking and Funnels
Has featureEvent Tracking
Has featureContent Tracking
Has featureSite Search Analytics
Has featureReal Time Data Updates
Has featureStrong Focus on Software Security & Full control of your data
Has featureWide Range of Free and Premium Features
Has featureForm Analytics
Has featureA/B Testing
Has featureHeatmaps
Has featureSessions Recording
Has featureTag Manager
Has featureMedia Analytics
Has featureAcquisition
Has featureEcommerce
Has featureCustom Reports
Has featureVisitors Behaviour
Has featureRoll-Up Reporting
Has featureWhite Label Analytics
Has featureNo data limits

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Screenshots

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, WooCommerce, Shopify, Magento Commerce, Joomla, vBulletin, phpBB, Vanilla, iOS/Android SDKs, PHP, Java, Python, SharePoint, Overall 100+ integrations

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free download (open source)$0
Content Optimization Bundle$579per installation
Growth Bundle$1,149per installation
Premium Bundle$1,499per installation
Email Support Subscription$2,090per installation
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Essential$9number of pageviews (monthly traffic)
Business$29number of pageviews (monthly traffic)
Enterprise$199your requirements and monthly traffic
Free 30 day trial$0limited to 30 days

On-premise Edition is free to download and install on your own servers: free download at https://matomo.org/download/ Individual features can be purchased from $19/year: see all features at https://plugins.matomo.org/premium SaaS Edition (Matomo Cloud) starts from $9/month: see transparent pricing at https://matomo.org/pricing

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Matomo Analytics (formerly Piwik) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Over 55 languages