TrustRadius
Mavenlink provides advanced project management and task collaboration software for small to mid-sized professional services companies. Features include resource management, project dependencies, time and expense tracking, file sharing, versatile user permissions, private messaging, planning and utilization, custom branding, reports and analytics, vendor invoicing and payments, and integration with leading financial and business applications. Mavenlink provides 24/7 live support.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Fl/Fi/I2UFBIH3PLJM.pngThoughts on Mavenlink after 2 years...My company offers our proprietary marketing SaaS solutions to other businesses and we use Mavenlink to manage implementation projects. We use it mostly in one department - professional / client services and it is deployed across the globe as we have 15 offices worldwide. Mavenlink is integrated with Salesforce and it allows us to instantly create projects from templates as soon as a new opportunity is closed. Since we started using Mavenlink, our projects are moving quicker and customers are happier. In addition to that, we are able to track resource utilization and make hiring decision better better. All our projects are very transparent and organized so no stakeholders have to question the status of their projects at any time. That builds trust and creates a better collaborative environment with our clients.,Friendly user interface - very modern and clean, easy to use even for a non-experienced project managers or clients. It also comes with a mobile app and even browser add-ons. Robust feature set - variety of alert settings, project templates, permission system, detailed analytics and reporting, billing, estimates, and planning modules. Integrations - Salesforce, JIRA, and many other which is possible thanks to Mavenlink API. Customer service - very helpful and available 24/7. Easy to access from the user interface which is great.,Task management - not easy to copy/paste tasks and milestones within the same project, can't select multiple tasks to do some mass changes/actions. User interface significantly slows down once you have 30-50 tasks expanded. Also, default view is "collapsed" and you have to "expand" milestones and tasks one by one in a project. User permission system is there and pretty good but not always intuitive. It's not easy to move people from between two participating project parties or switch leads (you have to demote existing admin and make someone else an admin first).,8,Projects take less time to complete than before because both parties can see what is left and collaborate in one space. Customer satisfaction and NPS are higher because of projects' transparency, pace, and quality. Employee onboarding time and frustration levels reduced since Mavenlink is easy to use and teach.,Sciforma, Celoxis, Workfront, Teamwork Projects, Podio, ProjectManager.com, Easy Projects, ProWorkflow, LiquidPlanner, Genius Project, Project Insight, Wrike and EPM Live,JIRA Software, Slack, Salesforce.com, Adobe Photoshop, HipChat, Microsoft Office 365, Zendesk, Atlassian Confluence, Lesson.ly, Paylocity Web PaySolution of management of projects in the cloud.The Mavenlink software is being used throughout my company. The main benefit of using Mavenlink is that we do not necessarily have to meet rigid deadlines. Mavenlink gives the company the ability to change or customize the deadlines based on any comment or any other factor.,The prices of the plans are scalable. The business intelligence functionality (Enterprise plan) is excellent. File sharing through the Google Drive integration. Mobile functionality. The possibility of creating project templates that can be reused in the future.,Advanced reporting features are only available with Premier and Enterprise plans. Mavenlink has a steep learning curve.,10,Mavenlink is easy to use, to have it set up correctly one the time to seize the main functions of Mavenlink, such as master planning tool and statistics should be taken. It takes time, training and group wideband to configure it properly.,ClarizenMavenlink Ain't Perfect, but it's About the Best AroundOur whole organization uses it for managing our projects. For us it is primarily a project management tool that tracks the hours and gives us an idea of project profitability.,Tracking project financials Store housing project communication Managing sub-tasks for a project,Its integrations aren't the best. The Google Drive and QuickBooks integrations are flawed enough to make them unusable for us. They need a mobile app bad. They tout the responsive version of their web app as the answer to this, but it is so stripped down it is useless. This is a significant disappointment for us. They don't handle recurring projects (those that happen every month) well at all.,7,We've been able to see pretty clearly which projects are making us money and which are not. It's made it easy enough for staff to track their time that they will actually do it.,Function Point Productivity Software, Basecamp and Asana,Asana, Basecamp, QuickBooks Pro, Adobe Send & Track, G SuiteMavenlink was the perfect solution for our tech and telecom pr, marketing and event planning firmAs a tech and telecom PR, marketing and event planning firm, we use Mavenlink to manage all of our projects that involve design and/or outside freelancers to help us all have one easily accessible, easy to use, organized portal to keep projects in motion, and for a simplified way to keep track of all tasks, revisions, pricing, invoicing and more.,Great user interface Portal allows us to easily stay organized for projects Portal allows for easy collaboration,None I can think of right now,10,Greatly improved productivity by saving time and improving project organization and team collaboration,Dropbox,Cision PR Software, TrendKitePerfect Tool for Growing CompaniesMavenlink is our entire company's project management solution. As a music production company, we struggled to find different solutions that would work for our team. We needed a highly customizable tool that did not come off as too cumbersome or "corporate" looking for our creative departments to be able to utilize. Mavenlink provides a simple and clean user interface that is easy to navigate, has clear data visualization tools, and lets our project managers see the exact information they need. We use it across all our departments. Our operations team sets up the backend information, from budgets to planned hours, and goes over it with our creative and account teams. The account team manages the project hours and milestones, where our creatives manage their own expenses. We've set it up in a way that allows for checks and balances for approving invoices, and have also customized several reports ourselves. Mavenlink even provided me with their training tools they give to report building employees so I can learn and create them on my own.,Graphical User Interface - it's extremely easy and intuitive to navigate Customization Rate Cards and Budgeting Integrations,Timesheets - cannot push previous week's projects/tasks to current for easier entry. You have to manually select the projects/tasks each week, every other time tracking software has a push previous week feature Bulk editing - cannot bulk assign users to tasks. Makes it extremely tedious to do each project Rate Card Issues - you cannot choose which roles are active/inactive on rate cards. Causes several duplicates/zeros for unused roles on rate cards. Timesheets - there's no accountability for having people track their time. No option to lock accounts or notifications that they're behind on time tracking Too robust in areas - there are several areas in Mavenlink that I would likely want to take advantage of but just don't know how to operate. Did not get adequate training on newer features. Maybe webinars? Tasks - no hours tasks vs. expense tasks. Hard to prevent user error from tracking hours to expense tasks which causes the budget to burn.,7,Positive - decreased project timelines Positive - decreased time required to actualize jobs Positive - increased budget accountability,,Pipedrive, QuickBooks for Mac, Box, Skype for Business, Slack
Unspecified
Mavenlink
39 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

Mavenlink Reviews

Mavenlink
39 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 39 vetted Mavenlink reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alexander Bekhterev profile photo
January 29, 2018

User Review: "Thoughts on Mavenlink after 2 years..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company offers our proprietary marketing SaaS solutions to other businesses and we use Mavenlink to manage implementation projects. We use it mostly in one department - professional / client services and it is deployed across the globe as we have 15 offices worldwide. Mavenlink is integrated with Salesforce and it allows us to instantly create projects from templates as soon as a new opportunity is closed. Since we started using Mavenlink, our projects are moving quicker and customers are happier. In addition to that, we are able to track resource utilization and make hiring decision better better. All our projects are very transparent and organized so no stakeholders have to question the status of their projects at any time. That builds trust and creates a better collaborative environment with our clients.
  • Friendly user interface - very modern and clean, easy to use even for a non-experienced project managers or clients. It also comes with a mobile app and even browser add-ons.
  • Robust feature set - variety of alert settings, project templates, permission system, detailed analytics and reporting, billing, estimates, and planning modules.
  • Integrations - Salesforce, JIRA, and many other which is possible thanks to Mavenlink API.
  • Customer service - very helpful and available 24/7. Easy to access from the user interface which is great.
  • Task management - not easy to copy/paste tasks and milestones within the same project, can't select multiple tasks to do some mass changes/actions.
  • User interface significantly slows down once you have 30-50 tasks expanded. Also, default view is "collapsed" and you have to "expand" milestones and tasks one by one in a project.
  • User permission system is there and pretty good but not always intuitive. It's not easy to move people from between two participating project parties or switch leads (you have to demote existing admin and make someone else an admin first).
Mavenlink is perfect for software integration and deployment projects. We have evaluated other tools like Celoxis, Sciforma, Workfront, Pro Workflow, Eclipse, and others against our criteria list and so far Mavenlink score the highest. I wouldn't recommend Mavenlink in case you are doing software development projects since it's not the best for issue tracking (maybe look at JIRA or Redmine).
Read Alexander Bekhterev's full review
Nereida Betancourt profile photo
May 02, 2018

Mavenlink Review: "Solution of management of projects in the cloud."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Mavenlink software is being used throughout my company. The main benefit of using Mavenlink is that we do not necessarily have to meet rigid deadlines. Mavenlink gives the company the ability to change or customize the deadlines based on any comment or any other factor.
  • The prices of the plans are scalable.
  • The business intelligence functionality (Enterprise plan) is excellent.
  • File sharing through the Google Drive integration.
  • Mobile functionality.
  • The possibility of creating project templates that can be reused in the future.
  • Advanced reporting features are only available with Premier and Enterprise plans.
  • Mavenlink has a steep learning curve.
Users of teams and professional plans have access to a knowledge base to get answers to their questions and problems. We can also access a video training library and webinar recordings. In addition, we can send a support ticket or participate in a live chat with a technician.
Read Nereida Betancourt's full review
Spence Hackney profile photo
December 13, 2017

Review: "Mavenlink Ain't Perfect, but it's About the Best Around"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization uses it for managing our projects. For us it is primarily a project management tool that tracks the hours and gives us an idea of project profitability.
  • Tracking project financials
  • Store housing project communication
  • Managing sub-tasks for a project
  • Its integrations aren't the best. The Google Drive and QuickBooks integrations are flawed enough to make them unusable for us.
  • They need a mobile app bad. They tout the responsive version of their web app as the answer to this, but it is so stripped down it is useless. This is a significant disappointment for us.
  • They don't handle recurring projects (those that happen every month) well at all.
It's particularly well suited if you're doing project work and are young enough in your business cycle that you're willing to adapt your business model to how Mavenlink is structured.
Read Spence Hackney's full review
Karissa Campbell profile photo
December 13, 2017

Review: "Mavenlink was the perfect solution for our tech and telecom pr, marketing and event planning firm"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a tech and telecom PR, marketing and event planning firm, we use Mavenlink to manage all of our projects that involve design and/or outside freelancers to help us all have one easily accessible, easy to use, organized portal to keep projects in motion, and for a simplified way to keep track of all tasks, revisions, pricing, invoicing and more.
  • Great user interface
  • Portal allows us to easily stay organized for projects
  • Portal allows for easy collaboration
  • None I can think of right now
Mavenlink is the ideal tool for all business-related projects that involve a lot of planning, task-oriented details, team collaboration and more.
Read Karissa Campbell's full review
No photo available
December 14, 2017

Mavenlink Review: "Perfect Tool for Growing Companies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink is our entire company's project management solution. As a music production company, we struggled to find different solutions that would work for our team. We needed a highly customizable tool that did not come off as too cumbersome or "corporate" looking for our creative departments to be able to utilize. Mavenlink provides a simple and clean user interface that is easy to navigate, has clear data visualization tools, and lets our project managers see the exact information they need.

We use it across all our departments. Our operations team sets up the backend information, from budgets to planned hours, and goes over it with our creative and account teams. The account team manages the project hours and milestones, where our creatives manage their own expenses. We've set it up in a way that allows for checks and balances for approving invoices, and have also customized several reports ourselves. Mavenlink even provided me with their training tools they give to report building employees so I can learn and create them on my own.
  • Graphical User Interface - it's extremely easy and intuitive to navigate
  • Customization
  • Rate Cards and Budgeting
  • Integrations
  • Timesheets - cannot push previous week's projects/tasks to current for easier entry. You have to manually select the projects/tasks each week, every other time tracking software has a push previous week feature
  • Bulk editing - cannot bulk assign users to tasks. Makes it extremely tedious to do each project
  • Rate Card Issues - you cannot choose which roles are active/inactive on rate cards. Causes several duplicates/zeros for unused roles on rate cards.
  • Timesheets - there's no accountability for having people track their time. No option to lock accounts or notifications that they're behind on time tracking
  • Too robust in areas - there are several areas in Mavenlink that I would likely want to take advantage of but just don't know how to operate. Did not get adequate training on newer features. Maybe webinars?
  • Tasks - no hours tasks vs. expense tasks. Hard to prevent user error from tracking hours to expense tasks which causes the budget to burn.
Mavenlink would be well suited for smaller companies I feel since it does seem to lag a bit when it's having to process a lot of information. With individuals who only have a smaller number of projects, this might work well. But Mavenlink seems to be constantly pulling from all the data from the company and not just what's relevant to that specific user.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 22, 2017

"Review on Mavenlink for Creative Agency"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink is used by our Branded Department. We use the tool to track the production of all projects our department receives. We rely on the Timeline tab to track our deliverables to be sent to clients so they understand the length of a project and when they are responsible for feedback. We use the time tracking tool to help up understand how much effort is being put into a project. We use this as a gauge for if we are over spending or meeting the mark on a project.
  • Create custom fields specific to our department.
  • Easily track time on projects and tasks.
  • Creating timelines with templates so we aren't starting from scratch each time.
  • A better resourcing tool. Its difficult to schedule time to a person.
  • Cleaner section for communication.
  • A better reporting functionality. No way for someone not on every project to see the big picture.
Mavenlink is well suited for a company looking to create schedules for projects and help teams stay on track. It becomes less helpful for when the quantity of projects increases. If you need to tool to understand how much work is on your team's plate it is not as useful unless you have great reporting skills.
Read this authenticated review
Ben White profile photo
September 01, 2017

Review: "Mavenlink Your Way to Success - Your Team Will Love You For It"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pearl Marketing Group is using Mavenlink to help us cement new process flows and better manage our day-to-day tasks. Though there are many different departments at Pearl Companies, currently Marketing is the only department using Mavenlink. However, other departments that have seen what we're doing with the software are excited by what they see, and envious of our access to it. Mavenlink allows our Marketing department to address problems involved with the high volume of incoming projects and deadline organization.
  • Process Solidification - Mavenlink allows us to intuitively plan new processes and rework old ones within a template mode, that we can then convert into any number of projects that we need to. It's great to have the ability to rework templates as we see fit to optimize our workflow without needing to alter projects that are already in-process.
  • Time Tracking is important to some of our clients. Our team enjoys how integrated time tracking is [done at] the task level. It's always right there near the task you're working on, so there's no time wasted by managing time in other external modules or softwares.
  • Our team appreciates being able to know, right away, what the day's task load looks like. Mavenlink does an amazing job of showing what the team's workload looks like for the day, next 2 weeks, month...whatever you want. And it can get either as simplified or as granular as you need it to be in terms of hour allocation down to the person or by project. Mavenlink has mastered the 30,000-ft. view of the team's workload. It lets us make decisions at a glance, rather than rifling through project documents, trying to hunt due dates.
  • For as much as I use Mavenlink's templating capabilities, it is rather finicky to learn at its current version. There is a "steeper-than-I'd-recommend" learning curve associated with it. However, once you learn what works and what doesn't, it's no longer an obstacle. I will say, though, that Mavenlink is amazing when it comes to listening to the user that has feature recommendations and bug notifications. I'm on a first-name-basis with my support contact at Mavenlink, and she is absolutely amazing as my personal liaison direct to the Mavenlink engineering team.
I would recommend Mavenlink to any creative/production team that has projects with a defined set of processes time after time. The automation that the software provides is outstanding. The more attention and thought that you put into Mavenlink at the beginning of a project, the smoother your team and the project will go throughout the process.
Read Ben White's full review
Amir Deihimi profile photo
August 31, 2017

Mavenlink Review: "Best Project Management Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mavenlink across the whole company for time tracking, project budgeting and scheduling.
  • Seamless time tracking.
  • Project budget controlling using the time sheet entries.
  • Precise budget and scheduling reports.
  • Great access level management based on the organization charts.
  • No deficiencies as far as we are concerned. The tools are really user-friendly and easy to implement.
Scheduling, Budgeting and Time Tracking.
Read Amir Deihimi's full review
Haider Alleg profile photo
September 15, 2016

Review: "Mavenlink is rocksolid for Consulting Firms"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink is used by all users from the front to the back office. We have a specific department called Kaizen Services that implements best practices within the company, based upon Maven features. Based on our year of work, we saw tremendous up-take of performance within departments, especially hidden time that was consumed for reasons we couldn't track. In the past we thought simple tools were always the best (coming from Asana) but projects are complex, and require a powerful tool to tackle complex variables such as human beings.
  • Planning with Gantt and risk views
  • Booking resources across the whole company
  • Contextualising the info in a single view
  • Integrations of popular tools (Mailchimp, BaseCRM...)
  • Price is heavy and can slow us down (maybe a start-up package?)
  • Loading pre-made templates, exporting or importing them is a plus
Mavenlink requires some getting used to, which can scare people getting on-board. It requires a strong process for implementation internally, and everyone must use it. When project info is put in maven + Google Drive, it is a really strong combo.
Mavenlink is a little less well-suited for the pre-sales stage in a project, and a CRM could make it a killer app.
Read Haider Alleg's full review
Micquella Anthony profile photo
April 22, 2016

Review: "Mavenlink is here - put the .mpp down and slowly back away!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses Mavenlink for time tracking, project management, and resource management (last two are primarily used by PM/AM, traffic managers, and senior managers).

Before Mavenlink, we had no easy way of comparing our scheduled project time to actual time - our resource schedules were completely disconnected from all of our project plans. This meant all reporting calculations were done in Excel reports. Now, we have much more powerful reporting capabilities.
  • Reporting: Mavenlink has extensive reporting capabilities that fulfill almost all of our needs. We used Analytics for basic, daily reporting, and we use Insights for a "deeper dive". When we need something different from what Insights provides out-of-the-box, we can build custom reports & dashboards.
  • Resource planning: Mavenlink far surpassed all other tools when we looked for their attention to resource planning capabilities. Managers are very happy with the ease of use and flexibility when looking to see their reports' schedules.
  • Customer service: the support we've gotten from all levels of the Mavenlink team is outstanding, whether it's getting questions answered, hearing suggestions for features, providing training, or giving process input.
  • Finer points of building a project plan: Mavenlink has a solid foundation for project plans - creating and assigning tasks/dates/metadata is pretty simple. Unfortunately, the Task Tracker and Gantt views don't have all the same functionality or show the same information, so we have to use some workarounds or work specifically in one view to keep all the timelines accurate. Since our implementation, Mavenlink has released a number of improvements in this area, and I'm told there are more to come.
  • Time tracking: A basic timesheet is available, but some of our staff have qualms with the usability of the timer and the experience of entering their time. Mavenlink was receptive to our feedback, and they're planning on addressing the issues in a future release.
Mavenlink is a great option if you have complex reporting needs or an immature resource planning tool.

In our case, the team that researched tools and managed the Mavenlink rollout also became the resident Mavenlink power-users. Having some "go-to's" on staff was important for my company's acceptance of the organizational change - this isn't Mavenlink-specific, but an important consideration nonetheless.
Read Micquella Anthony's full review
Kate Battle profile photo
April 14, 2016

Mavenlink Review: "Management Consultant who did full analysis of many PM Collaboration Tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small management consulting firm and use Mavenlink mainly for time tracking, project tracking, budget/expense tracking, resource planning, and analytics. Everyone in our organization uses Mavenlink to submit hours and expenses and management uses it for detailed margin, budget, and utilization tracking.
  • Time tracking is incredibly easy and intuitive allowing for you to add time to multiple projects on a single sheet - also easy to distinguish between billable and un-billable time.
  • As an admin it is really easy to add people to projects and change cost and bill rates quickly.
  • The financial analytics when you include the insights module is very well done and easy to slice and dice the data.
  • We don't use it for detailed project management much (more for the time and budgeting features) but it's really easy to add a project, add some tasks, and assign people to it with their cost and bill rates.
  • The resource planning tool is really neat as well - we are still playing with it but I can see it adding a lot of value for us.
  • There are a lot of training resources available and videos as well as a live chat feature that helps take questions off my back.
  • Expense reporting and approvals is really easy.
  • Our accounting manager was not able to integrate it with QuickBooks as easily as we hoped but I'm not sure why.
  • The resource forecasting function is great but you have to get a little more detailed than we would need to so its a bit extra work.
  • We would love for you to be able to add company holidays and PTO for individuals into the tool to subtract from the "possible" hours in the utilization calculations.
  • Would be great to be able to distinguish between a full time and contract employee for margin calculations.
  • Risk and Issue tracking is available but it's not very intuitive - needs some work.
I love Mavenlink and personally did a lot of research on similar tools to find the one that fit our organization's needs. This tool is really comprehensive and can be scaled up and down depending on your organization's needs. I can easily see this working for both a small or large organization and we have even considered recommending this to clients! Also, they have a really great R&D team and roll out new features and updates regularly.
Read Kate Battle's full review
Kristin Stull profile photo
April 29, 2016

User Review: "Mavenlink"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have fully integrated Mavenlink as our time tracking, project management and invoicing platform. This is a global company platform and has allowed us better visibility on projects, resources and tracking.
  • Project Tracking: able to keep info on one project all together with expenses, time and finances
  • Resource allocating: planning for resources and Gantt chart views for projects
  • Invoicing: lots of options on method of invoicing
  • Still growing into their platform so some fine tuning with minor features
Mavenlink is very flexible and there are always updated features for client needs.
Read Kristin Stull's full review
Steve Goldsmith profile photo
April 27, 2016

User Review: "Real Mavens use Mavenlink"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink is being used for multiple projects organization from engineering to marketing to financial communications. It's mostly used as an internal organizational tool but more recently being implemented to communicate with contracted vendors.
  • Task list management
  • Integration with Google apps
  • Scheduling timelines
  • Resource management
  • It does so much that you really need to dedicate yourself to training ...like any good platform.
Using Mavenlink for strictly internal management rather than outside vendor/client relationships is a bit tricky but can be overcome and harnessed to great benefit.
Read Steve Goldsmith's full review
Danielle Evennou profile photo
April 26, 2016

Mavenlink Review: "A Planner's Paradise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink has helped our organization keep track of our many projects while enhancing the ability of our units to connect with one another.
  • Mavenlink gives us the ability to create and keep track of complex work plans.
  • Mavenlink provides a place to share information and store files related to the development of new scopes of work for projects.
  • Mavenlink's template feature helps us think through the planning of frequently executed deliverables.
  • Our project timelines change frequently. Having an ability to easily view older "archived" versions of the task tracker would be helpful, so that we could easily see the history of the changes made to the task tracker in a given project.
  • We love the "Master Planning" section of Mavenlink. Rather than planning out staff hours, we wished the Mavenlink gave us the ability to plan with "assigned tasks" using a similar tool.
Mavenlink is helpful for planning with internal staff. We are not yet using Mavenlink to collaborate with our partners.
Read Danielle Evennou's full review
Amanda Davenport profile photo
April 22, 2016

User Review: "Meaningful Data from Mavenlink!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is using Mavenlink throughout our delivery organization. We use it to integrate nicely with Salesforce so that we're bridging the gap between our sales and delivery teams.

Mavenlink is helping us with project management, resource planning, time tracking and invoicing. It really is proving to be a one-to-shop for all of our needs we were looking to address.
  • Insight reporting allows us to view our business in different layers.
  • Easy-to-use interface.
  • Provides variety in viewing projects and different time tracking options to allow the user to pick which choice they're most comfortable with.
  • We would love for Mavenlink to provide a view of available hours (vs. scheduled) on the master planning sheet.
  • We would really like to see insights use the custom workweeks for each user when looking at utilization reports vs. just a standard 40 hour work week.
  • It would be helpful to be able to customize invoices (batches across clients) vs. having it set up to go to an email.
  • It would be helpful to be able to export invoices in Excel or Word vs. just PDF.
Mavenlink's interaction from the beginning of our relationship all the way through implementation has been extremely positive. Our Client Success Manager, Chase Redfield, really led our implementation team through every step of our process in a professional and timely manner. He was supportive and consultative which proved us to be successful.
Read Amanda Davenport's full review
Carlton Smith profile photo
March 30, 2016

Mavenlink Review: "Used it for 2 years, and still find it hard to use. Pricing not as simple as it seems on the surface."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Mavenlink daily to manage client projects myself, and also allow clients to have access.
  • I think the UI has improved a lot for the most part. I still find some basic things -- like adding Tasks -- have more steps than necessary when compared to other tools like Basecamp, ProjectBubble, and Redbooth.
  • I like the Time Tracking functionality -- very good for myself and contractors who use it.
  • The ability to link together discussion threads to tasks is very seamless and easy.
  • The process of adding new users is totally confusing.
  • Invoice feature is very weak and seems like an after thought.
  • I think the UI behind adding a Task -- the cornerstone of any project management software -- is confusing and doesn't allow for enough flexibility. The Description field is incredibly tiny. I get that the Discussions can easily attach to the Tasks, but it also seems kind of clunky and not very intuitive. Clients I introduce to Mavenlink never seem to grasp this feature intuitively, which I think is a problem. Overall, I think it is a good project management software, but it does have a learning curve. Time spent watching their videos (which are great) should be a priority. Still, this is something I think a lot of small business owners like myself have time for, and I know my clients don't.
Mavenlink is probably best suited for larger agencies and for people who have actual experience with project management. Smaller companies should maybe look elsewhere.
Read Carlton Smith's full review
Massimo Emilione profile photo
February 29, 2016

"Mavenlink Review from a consultant"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Mavenlink for project management for all of our projects. It allows us to create tasks and assign them to users within the project. We also use this application for time management where we can record all hours for the project for review by customers. In addition we have begun to try to use it for expense reporting.
  • Mavenlink allows for task tracking. At a quick glance you can see which tasks remain and which resource is allocated for that task.
  • Mavenlink provides for a common collaboration platform. Users on the project can ask or provide comments into a project that can be seen by everyone on the project. This allows for quicker communication on the project without the use of email.
  • Time Tracking is great as it provides the ability to input the time for each project. This has allowed us to consolidate different time reporting applications into Mavenlink. Users can now input their time while on a project at the same as completing a task.
  • We need the ability to do mobile expenses. Most of our time and expenses are entered on the road. It is easiest to utilize a phone to add receipts.
  • Too many notifications when collaboration is being done. Need the ability to consolidate the emails when a lot of collaboration is going on.
  • Setup is a little cumbersome for small projects as it requires the same effort for medium and larger projects.
Project management has been great for us as a good use case. We are using it for time management where can determine if a resource is available for a project and to document the total number of hours a consultant works. We are experimenting using Mavenlink for other uses like expense management.
Read Massimo Emilione's full review
Jeffrey Butterick profile photo
February 29, 2016

User Review: "Mavenlink - Do you really need it?"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mavenlink (ML) was used by a small consulting firm to log and track hours, by individual, to project milestones and deliverables. ML was far too robust a program for our needs and should not have been purchased, as alternative programs provide the necessary information for considerably less investment. The business problem of determining margin by project was achieved on less than 5% of all projects due to a lack of data input by employees. This is not a problem with the program but with internal commitment by employees.
  • Margin analysis for all projects in a single view.
  • Time logging to tasks and deliverables is quite good.
  • Allowing clients to participate with a selective and protected set of project views.
  • Importing a project plan from MS Project does not properly carry start and stop dates into ML, requiring manual adjustment for each task.
  • Hours by individual for a specified time period could only be properly done using an export into MS Excel to delete all entries outside of the required time period.
  • Some on-line chat representatives were exceptional, yet several gave incorrect information that required further time for correction.
Mavenlink is not appropriate for small companies that can use an alternative program to achieve their goals.
Read Jeffrey Butterick's full review
Kyle Culpepper profile photo
March 18, 2016

User Review: "Mavenlink, its what you might want."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to use Mavenlink as a way to track the projects of our engineering department.
  • Awesome Gantt chart.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Creating projects and tasks is done very intuitively.
  • Mavenlink does not make it easy for you to add hyperlinks to your tasks/projects.
  • Mavenlink does not provide as competitive of a pricing model as you might expect.
  • Mavenlink has too much functionality built into it that is wasted on smaller compaines.
Mavenlink is great for medium to large size companies. Any company with under 50 employees should look into an alternative product.
Read Kyle Culpepper's full review
Jodi Jahrling profile photo
June 27, 2015

Mavenlink Review: "They started out good for the price."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for tracking client projects to include tasks and deadlines. We also us it to evaluate employee productivity and efficiency. It is used across the entire organization.
  • QuickBooks integration
  • They did not perfect the basics of user interface before adding more functionality. The dashboard is fixed width, non-responsive and not customizable.
  • Locked into a contract with no control over software change impact.
  • Poor customer service. Quote company policy and user agreements only.
They started out good for the price. Now their customer service is subpar, their product has not evolved well, and they are charging more. The dashboard is non-responsive and non-customizable. They lock you into a contract and quote user agreement when you question their changes and usability. Would never recommend to anyone.
Read Jodi Jahrling's full review
Claire Wilburn profile photo
June 03, 2015

User Review: "Love Mavenlink, even with a few bugs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire team uses Mavenlink. We use it to create and manage projects, schedule and bill time, and to keep things organized. This helps us to see who we have on each project and to manage their weekly time in an amazing way. We also can keep track of when people are scheduled for PTO, when our freelancers are billing time, etc.
  • As an administrator, I love that I can see a detailed view of everyone who is scheduled for the week. I love that I can see what people were planned to do at the beginning of the week, and what we actually have them scheduled for.
  • I really like that when I click to schedule in hours on a task for a particular person, I can see what other project they are scheduled for and which project specifically it is for.
  • It is helpful for me to be able to see the amount for a budgeted task, and how many hours are planned for each task. I like that overall I can see the budget for the project and how much is budgeted total for all of my tasks.
  • You can budget out the whole project, and you can put in a budget for your expenses, but when you add an actual expense, it doesn't bill against the total used budget of the project. If I want to add time under a user other than myself, it's relatively easy to do. If I want to add an expense under someone else, I'm actually unable to do it. The program doesn't have the capability.
  • I'm sad that it doesn't have a native app for notifications/contact.
  • If I change something - like a task budget - it automatically saves it. That's great, but sometimes people make mistakes and it doesn't show what it USED to be. I find this a little frustrating. I wish there was a "changed from" notification or something, even if it only pops up for a couple seconds.
I would use this as a project manager for any field where you would like to stay on task, track a budget, and keep track of billed time. You have the ability to run different analytical reports, send out invoices, etc. The in-app communication leaves a little to be desired, but overall it's a great product!
Read Claire Wilburn's full review
Natalie DeVito profile photo
March 30, 2015

"Mavenlink Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has been using Mavenlink over the last few months to support our project management. Mavenlink makes it easy for us to stay on top of tasks and deadlines while keeping all parties involved and on board.
  • Task Tracking
  • Deadline Management
  • Integrating with other calendars (Microsoft Office)
  • Sending reminder emails for approaching deadlines
I think the product management system is suitable for various scenarios.
Read Natalie DeVito's full review
Eric Adams profile photo
January 13, 2014

User Review: "Eric Adams Mavenlink"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While I worked for the School of Rock as an IT Systems Manager I used Mavenlink on a daily basis. The company used the product to track progress while opening new schools(franchises) and averaged about 3 new school openings every 2 months. Many employees within the operations department of School of Rock also used Mavenlink to track their responsibilities while completing each project. From the time the franchise agreement was signed to when the school opened its doors all the necessary activities and milestones were tracked using Mavenlink. The tasks included getting leases signed, completing build-outs, hiring employees for the site, setting up IT assets and other various tasks. Mavenlink was a great tool as it was easy to track your own progress as well as hold others accountable for their duties and responsibilities.
  • Holds users accountable through transparency.
  • Each project flows well on the page and is easy to understand.
  • Box.com and Docusign integration.
  • Sometimes hard to find all open tasks across various projects.
  • Support team not always easy to get a hold of.
I believe it is well suited for projects that have stakeholders who are not face-to-face on a consistent basis. I found it easy to connect with people from across the country at odd times of the day through Mavenlink. I would gladly recommend this product again.
Read Eric Adams's full review
No photo available
May 22, 2013

User Review: "Mavenlink for an accounting intern"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Tracking billable time
  • Tracking Receivables
  • Managing projects with large teams and many parts
  • Modifying project details after they've begun
Looking back, and seeing that there are now more options for similar feature sets, I might have looked for something less expensive but Mavenlink works well for me now and I will likely use it for as long as I freelance.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (21)
8.3
Resource Management (19)
7.1
Gantt Charts (19)
7.9
Scheduling (20)
5.8
Workflow Automation (3)
8.2
Team Collaboration (21)
7.1
Document Management (21)
6.2
Email integration (18)
8.1
Mobile Access (15)
5.3
Timesheet Tracking (20)
8.6
Change request and Case Management (15)
6.5
Budget and Expense Management (18)
7.6
Quotes/estimates (1)
7.3
Invoicing (12)
6.5
Project & financial reporting (13)
7.7
Integration with accounting software (9)
6.5

About Mavenlink

Mavenlink provides project management and task collaboration software for small to mid-sized professional services companies. The vendor says the software was built for teams whose mission is to provide exceptional service while balancing ever-changing parameters such as budgets, timelines, and people. The software is geared towards:

  • Marketing Agencies
  • Advertising Firms
  • PR Teams
  • IT Service Providers
  • Management Consultants
  • Architecture Firms
  • Engineering Teams
  • Software & Technology Developers
  • Commercial Property Managers

Mavenlink Features

Project Management Features
Has featureTask Management
Has featureResource Management
Has featureGantt Charts
Has featureScheduling
Does not have featureWorkflow Automation
Has featureTeam Collaboration
Does not have featureSupport for Agile Methodology
Does not have featureSupport for Waterfall Methodology
Has featureDocument Management
Has featureEmail integration
Has featureMobile Access
Has featureTimesheet Tracking
Has featureChange request and Case Management
Has featureBudget and Expense Management
Professional Services Automation Features
Does not have featureQuotes/estimates
Has featureInvoicing
Has featureProject & financial reporting
Has featureIntegration with accounting software
Additional Features
Has featureBudget and Time Estimates
Has featureInvoicing and Online Payments
Has featureCustom Branding
Has featureAPI Access
Has featurePerformance Analytics
Has featureProject Templates
Has featureUtilization Reporting

Mavenlink Screenshots

Mavenlink Integrations

Salesforce.com, Zendesk, Google For Work, Intuit QuickBooks, Microsoft Office

Mavenlink Competitors

OpenAir PSA, Clarizen, Workfront, Basecamp, Deltek TrafficLIVE, Workamajig, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas), TeamWork

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Teams$19annually, for up to 5 users. Additional Users: $4/month/user
Premier$49For larger customers, price can go as low as $10.
Professional$29per user, per month

Mavenlink Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials

Mavenlink Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:Asia, Australia, Canada, China, Europe, India, Latin America, Middle-East and Africa, United Kingdom, United States
Supported Languages: English